Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana

"decent trip"
Posted by: teddy on Jul 1, 2014
see all reviews

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Reviews
Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Pictures and Information
Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#14
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 33 reviews

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Information


The Punta Cana Princess offers an exclusive location with a white sandy beach bathed by the Caribbean Sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Reviews

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 4.1 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  11
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
21 - 30 of 33

"I will be happy to help you not make the worst mistake ever."

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura and Steve from RI  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
296 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 15 2009
I have followed reviews of this resort for a couple of months prior to going there. The only good things about this resort are the pool and beach. Nelson at the pool bar was great and bartenders at lobby bar- that is it. Upon arrival to resort, we wanted something to eat so we went to the beach restaraunt where all there was to eat was chips and cold melted cheese. We were then told to move outside (this happened multiple times to other people in the middle of eating) to order food so they could set up the dinner tables, so we thought ok no big deal. We waited outside at wet tables for 30 minutes with no order taken. There was no where else to go get food so pool bar it was. We thought maybe we just didn't know the system yet, but were a little shocked being new arrivals and not having any service at all. When you go for dinner, 50% of the time you will sit at your table for at least 20 minutes before you are even acknowledged or receive a glass of water. Italian food was ok but the only spice known seems to be salt. Fondue restaraunt seemed really cool but it wasn't. Again service sucked and we only made it thru the appetizer before walking out. Tex Mex- worst service of all. Wait was over an hour at all times and we kept getting asked if we had reservations(there is no reservations) Very rude waitstaff. At Tex Mex I ordered a steak, on the menu it said comes with mixed vegatables. I have a severe allergy to mushrooms so I asked them if there are any on this steak dish (which I heard was supposed to be really good). They said no. When I received my plate, my steak was covered with mushrooms! Again I said I can not eat mushrooms and I need a new cooked steak. He said ok, brought the plate back, and the chef took the plate and wiped the mushrooms off and gave it back!!!!!!!!!!!! I watched him!! At that point I was so disgusted and again walked out.

Don't order room service if you are very hungry. This was only the second night of our stay. Expect a 2 hour wait and half of the room service menu you have to pay for. Room service options: continental breakfast or you can pay for eggs and bacon, before 10 pm- pizza, hot dog, soup and salad, and chicken, flan and fruit. After 10 pm- hot dog, pizza and chicken. Nothing is good-tried it all. Certainly wasn't going to pay for the food- I was at an all inclusive resort! Lunch and dinner are ok and only at the main buffet. This is not about being a picky eater, it is about bad quality and horrible service. Don't go to the Dominican Beach night! We thought it would be a nice time eating on the beach, however before you could even get to the beach, you had to walk thru multiple local vendors that were allowed to set their tables up and try to sell you everything. No is not an option to them, they will keep persisting you buy something!! They would even grab your arm if you tried to walk away after saying no thank you! One poor woman even got her drink spilled all over her dress by them grabbing her arm! With this being said- we didn't even make it by the first table! Who wants to be harrassed on vacation? With all of these problems- our last two days were at another resort because we could not stay at Punta Cana Princess any longer! We called from the other resort to check out and they said we had phone charges worth $12 (which could not be paid over the phone) So my response was "you should owe me money- I left 2 days early!" I told him I left because of the service and food and I was told that it was not their problem we didn't like it and that they didn't force us to go to Punta Cana Princess! I was told I was speaking to the Guest Service Manager. So needless to say, I would not even refer this resort to my worst enemy and wouldn't return for free! The best thing about the trip to this resort was the people we met (which had all the same problems just shared). Please email with any questions- I will be happy to help you not make the worst mistake ever.

Rooms::
nothing fancy

Restaurants and Bars:
horrible restaurants. pool bar and lobby bar are great beach bar not so great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
buggy tour

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great Adults Only Resort."

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gail & Peter from Whitby, ON  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
296 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Oct 6-13-2009
What a great Adults Only Resort. We arrived by Sunwing flight which was great. Arrived 1/2 hour early and we were at the hotel within an hour after arriving. Fast check in with welcome drink and buffet was still open for us to enjoy.

Rooms:
We were in Building # 3 and the room was very spacious and clean. Lots of drawers for clothing. Stocked mini fridge every day. Cleaning staff were great and friendly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet restaurant had all you could need for meals. Big variety of foods. We did try the Tex Mex restaurant twice, once for filet mignon which was fab. Italian restaurant lasange was great. The wait staff were very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Punta Cana beach is the greatest. We've been coming to Punta Cana for 20 years off and on and it is the best. Because this is a small resort the beach is a bit crowded. We found an ideal spot near the boat house. Must go early in the morning to get your spot (6am). The grounds were all spotless and well taken care of.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Because we have been to Punta Cana many times we don't do any tours anymore. We would recommend Santo Domingo and Soana trips.

Other Comments:
Overall this is a great resort. From check in, guest services, wait staff and cleaning staff we were very inpressed.We would certainly return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beach is beautiful!!!"

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie from New York  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009
281 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 06th to August 11th 09
Very polite people. Julio the bartender on the beach great, Hector your afterbnoon bartender in the lobby great, Gabriel waiter in a.m. @ the buffet & then @ Mare Nostrum for lunch great, Angela waitress great. The animacion people were very nice. We went next door to see Lion King-Very Good! the night activities in our lobby were good but tooo hot!!!

Rooms:
Some of the rooms can be updated, but they were comfortable

Restaurants and Bars:
The Tex-Mex RIO GRANDE was very good, Italian IL Bacio good, Mare Nostrum was good but you're outside(no ac) so when you're dressed you sweat!!!! If you want to eat there sit by the outside porch(to get some breeze). La Fondue you are going to work for your food!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful!!! The grounds around the resort are soooo fabulous my husband & I were talking about it all the time. Pool was nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My husband went fishing-it was good. I had a massage @ the mini spa. Very good!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you want to relax and just have a quiet getaway, this is for you."

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Caroline from Maine  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
273 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2009
we had no problems upon arival they take your picture you buz through customs, picked up our luggage and were on our way. Had no problem with people trying to take your bags, a simple no thanks worked great.

Rooms:
The room was great, clean, well stocked with any thing you wanted to drink. service was wonderful. If you keep your sliding door closed you will have no problem with bugs.

Restaurants and Bars:
We tried all the restaurants and they were all great, although the fondue place was not my fave. Steakhouse is a must, yum. If your just looking to grab a quick bite the buffet has something for everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great, pool was great. The grounds were well kept, everything was clean, people were very friendly. get to the pool early if you want a palapa. Later in the afternoon had more spaces.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every day they had something going on around the pool, fun if you chose to participate not intrusive if you wanted to just relax.

Other Comments:
If you want to relax and just have a quiet getaway, this is for you. No kids is such a bonus. If your looking to party all night you might have to shuttle to another resort. We look forward to going back next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great time at PCP and will be returning."

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gerritt from Ontario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
241 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 17 -April 24
It was a pretty eventful arrival. About 45 minutes till we land and there was a medical emergency onboard the plane, Something right out of the movies asking if a medical doctor was onboard etc. Then our bus broke down and we were standing on the side of the highway waiting for another bus to arrive. Now in the DR it seems as though traffic laws are pretty laxed I felt as though we were taking our lives in our hands standing there! Ohh... not to mention the van that pulled up with military personnel brandishing Machine guns! Finally we arrived at our hotel! what a Beautiful resort! we were greeted with a friendly Hola! and a drink. Check in was smooth and our bagged were tagged and would meet us in our room.

Rooms:
WOW I was rather impressed! I sent the hotel an email a couple weeks ahead of time requesting Building 5, 3rd floor as close to the beach as possible. I was pleasantly surprised when that is EXACTLY what we received! the view was gorgeous and the room more then what I was expecting. There was a fruit basket and a bottle of rum, which helped! after our long ordeal in getting to the hotel :)

Restaurants and Bars:
There were 4 al a cartes and the main buffet, the food in our opinion was very good! sure there were the odd things that we did not care for (Stewed Goat) but over all we were pleased with the selection of foods available to us. Most of our time was spent at either the Pool Bar or Mare Nosturm.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immaculate! this is the cleanest resort I have ever been too. The beach was cleaned daily (seaweed) and the grounds were spotless! all without the cleaning staff being bothersome. I was sure to tip the employee that scrubbed the pool by hand a few times :)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation team... they were fun, if you wanted to participate, and if you did not they were not hounding you. We also went on a deep sea fishing trip with Mike... I would recommend this to anyone!! We had to cut the trip short though due to the wife developing motion sickness... a first class operation all the way thanks Mike!

We also hit up one of the sister resorts to catch a show, while it is not Broadway it was a good way to spend a couple hours together.

Other Comments:
If you are looking to party all night long this is not the resort for you, It is a smaller quiet adults only resort :) free from children!! (we have 5 kids, so this was a HUGE bonus!) sure you can hit the bars 24 hours.. but there is no entertainment, but you can take the free shuttle to the other resorts if you want a bit of nightlife. We had a great time at PCP and will be returning.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everything that we wanted in a resort was there"

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roberta from Cape Breton, NS  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
238 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 19 to May 3
Great, very fast.

Rooms:
Stayed in building 4. Great room.

Restaurants and Bars:
All were awesome.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not to crowded and always clean

Other Comments:
My review is very short. All I can say is that we will be returning to this resort next year. Everything that we wanted in a resort was there. Food and staff were out standing. Hola until next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely resort, no complaints"

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Polly from Ilderton, ON  on Apr 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
246 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 6 - 13
Smooth as a Bahamamma !! Lobby is open air and has gleaming tile floors! Welcomed with a warm Ola, a cool cloth and a yummy drink. We were in our room withing 10 minutes.Bags delivered right away . Room 5013 which is the building closest to the beach and our view was gorgeous.

Rooms
Clean as a whistle and the bed was comfortable. Bedspreads could use to be updated but the sheets and pillows were clean and fresh. The fridge was stocked daily with pop , water and 2beers and we asked for 2 more beers because we like to sit out on the balcony first thing in the morning and have a beer.(just joking)! The room was on the third floor with a vaulted ceiling so it seemed huge. For the most part the rooms were very quiet but towards the end of our week, we had new , very loud neighbours who watched a StarWars movie in the middle of the night. We could hear it enough to know the movie, so we pounded on the wall(plaster) very hard shouting and they turned it down somewhat! Bring a flashlight with you bc there are no lights in the outside hallways and can be quite dark at night and the early morning when you go down the throw a towel on a chair if you want a to reserve a Palapa. Many people do this but if you don't, it's not a problem getting a chair later.

We loved the fact that the beach and pool were right there . The lobby was a 5 min walk.
Restaurants and Bars

Everything was tasty and plentiful. The main Buffet has a huge assortment (especially breakfast) . The A LaCarte restaraunts are fine but if you are latish eaters , be prepared to wait for a table. My husband thought at first that the portions were too small, however after dinner he was satisfied. Plus you could pretty much get snacks 24/7 at Mare Norstom. The vegetables served with meals were scrumptuously prepared(lots of broccoli and cauliflower) at all the restaurants but Salads as we know them were not always available. But there were always interesting choices for appetizers. Our least favourite place was the Petite Fondue, as my husband thought it was too much fussing to get fed. The windows are always closed(I assume bc there are no screens in them) and with all the Fondue pots boiling with oil , it was a bit heavy/greasy in the air. We found the staff at this restaurant very limited in english and not so friendly, but in my opinion, the fresh fruit dipped in chocolate was worth visiting this restaurant.

The MareNorstum Bar(open air) located right at the beach was awesome with comfortable/ casual rattan furniture and swinging chairs to relax in and have a drink/snack/lunch while looking out at the ocean.

Bars:
Well, we had no complaints about the drinks or the service, especially at the pool bar. Just give the very competent servers a nice tip , smile, be friendly, try to speak their language and chat with them and they will bend over to give you great service . Lobby Bar, very nice place to go in the evening for some very light , fun entertainment and top shelf drinks. Yes, even Baileys!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
OMG- this beach is incredibly beautiful !! I didn't think there was too much pedalling but then again when we saw venders we simply walked with our feet in the water and looked out to the ocean if we didn't want to make eye contact. Sometimes they would shout out to you but just ignore and they will keep moving on. Mid afternoon walks are as long or as brief as wish bc the beach never ends and a great time of day to cool off by the water. Always a breeze and for a few days, downright WINDY !! But not a drop of rain until we boarded the bus headed for the airport.

Grounds are so interesting with tons of Palms, fun sculptures and lush flowing bushes. From our balcony one morning we watched staff shimmey up palm trees, thinning them out (there are so very many palms on this property so getting shade is never an issue) and also cutting down the coconuts. One day by the pool, the staff were making drinks in those coconuts. The grounds keepers and pool cleaning staff do such a great job . The public washrooms at the resort are spotless all the time!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We have access to the some of the other Princess Resorts very very nearby so we walked to see them. Not as nice as the PCP ! I think the main big difference is the business of the resort. PCP-small and not crowed ! Also bc it caters to adults the pace is more pleaseant.

The entertainment staff at this resort are really nice and did a great job getting people going. But if you didn't want to participate, not an issue ! Day or night!

We did do the Saona Island Tour (the upgraded tour with Seafood/Lobster Dinner and a gorgeous Catamaran excursion $139.00ea/US )The island is in the Carribean Sea (calm waters and much hotter) and is protected by the government much like our National Parks. No resorts but gorgeous beaches, restaurants and lounge chairs. Long Day 8 am pick-up at Resort and we arrived back at 9pm . We loved the tour. Our tour guide Johnny( very knowledgeable Dominican fellow ). He spoke Spanish, German, French and English and did so throughout the day seamlessly. It was interesting to drive through the City of Higuey on route to the South side of the Island ! It gave us a feel for urban life in the DR. And of course during our 1.5 hour drive to get there, we saw much rural life as well. The bus was comfortable but no washroom on board.
This tour was well worth the day !

Other Comments
Lovely resort, no complaints. Just make sure you bring some mosquito repellent for the lobby at night. I would and will be visiting this resort again!

3orch@sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Beach and Beach Beds are as good as anywhere"

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave, US  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
236 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 21 - Mar 1
For the amount of travelers at the airport, the time at airport was very short. We caught a $38 no stop 32 min shuttle. The front desk person was not friendly, the guy that handed out internet access was the best person at the property.

Rooms
Stayed in Rm 5010. The Room was nice, LCD Flat screen with a variety of channels. Plenty of hot water, clean well kept. A little smelly if you do not have the A/C on during the day. One strange thing is at 10:30PM on two nights a maid came to the door to swap out beach towels.

Restaurants and Bars
Our favorite resturant was mare Nostrum then Fondue, our least fav was II Bacio. We are not picky eaters and could find something tasty everyday. The Beach party on Tues was very fun, bring a jacket.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
All the bars are fine, the bar tender at Mare was rude to alot of people. I would rate grounds and pool areas very high. They have Red/Rose/White wine, all very drinkable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The tables setup near the Buffet had VERY AGGRESSIVE sales people. If you are not going to purchase anything DONOT stop and look. Up the beach near the RUI Resort they have many shops selling the usual array of items. My wife an I went in one, looked at a couple of things, a sales person handed us a calculator and asked us how much we wanted to pay? My wife said we were not interested in anything and started to walk out, he grabbed her by the arm and demanded that she tell him want we were willing to pay. It was freakie, if we were in the states I would have called a cop. I had to step between him and my wife as we made our escape. We did get a few things at a shop down the way and the guy was fine. I would recommend to everyone DO NOT GO TO THIS AREA. The sales people here are vicious.

Other Comments
The Beach and Beach Beds are as good as anywhere. Adults only is a BIG plus. I have to agree with comments on the amount of bugs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This property is 3.5 stars."

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda, Canada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
234 people found this review helpful

Firstly, this property is definitely not a 5 star. Secondly the reviews on this property are clearly deceiving.

Our carrier was Air Canada. Flight and service was excellent.

Arrival:
Well…it was raining heavily…plus you could not get to CUSTOMS because you were obliged to have your photograph taken. Once this was done everything went smoothly. We took a taxi to the resort. It’s about forty five minutes ride. The roads are not great and the rain did not help.

Resort:
Our first impression was this resort is very dated. The lobby is basic, old and boring. The check-in service was poor. The Manager was arrogant and rude. Regardless, professionalism and common courtesy is expected in the service industry. We travel two/three are year rarely encounter problems at check-in. The room was large and clean and the maid service was excellent. The washroom is very small and old. Even though there were two sinks in the bathroom. The shower is very, very small. The resort is not big. The rooms are laid out in a circle most of them facing the courtyard/pool and restaurants. There is an enclosed area just before you enter the buffet and is used as the A La Carte restaurants. There is the Fondue Restaurant…very, very small, be prepared to smell of the food you cooked. The lobby really needs an upgrade.

Sous Chefs:
Their aprons we truly disgusting. None of the servers were wearing gloves. When they cleared the buffet to set-up for the meals, they would touch the breads and rolls with their bare hands. There were so many flies sitting on fresh fruit and breads/rolls. The milk for the coffee is powdered, mixed with water and poured into stainless pots-“Agh”. The main buffet was okay, not too much variety. The drinks are not top shelf. In the room your water bottle got refilled?? …scary).

Conclusion:
The wait staff is very friendly. Front desk staff was just plain rude. This property is 3.5 stars. Needless to say were checked out earlier than the week we booked. We were afraid if we became ill. This resort is more for older people/retirees. Maybe we are fussy. We believe that if you eat/drink and live comfortably at home, you should not have to put up with poor service or food. We would be the first to say that we should try and be considerate to the less unfortunate. However, you are still paying for a service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Four star quality"

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa
User Rating:  Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rowena from Canada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
228 people found this review helpful

We traveled by Air Transat from Toronto on one of the planes with the newer seats with lots of legroom –very comfortable. They did not check weight of carry-on at departure, just the total weight of our two checked bags. There was a long line but with lots of attendants at check-in, it didn’t take long. A pleasant flight - on time departure! - with edible food catered by Quiznos.

Arrival:
On arrival at Punta Cana, the planes land and a large flight of steps are brought up to the plane. There was a long row of large planes from several countries there. We had a long walk from the plane to the entrance to the thatched roof terminal. The line went very slowly, since each couple has to stop to have photo taken with a couple of costumed girls (for sale at departure). Once past this, things went rapidly past customs officials. There are two official forms given to you on the plane: a credit card sized tourist pass and a form to be filled in with name, passport number etc. They don’t look at them - just throw them in a bin and wave you on to the next station for passport stamping. We then had to find our luggage, which took awhile to be unloaded from the plane. The signage is not good for the luggage carousels or for finding the buses, but just follow the crowd. Just as you head out, a gauntlet of semi-official looking locals are very eager to grab your bags and carry them the 100 yards to the bus for you for a tip. A simple No, gracias is sufficient. Then you get to a semi-open area with little booths – look for the one for your tour operator to find out which bus is yours. There were NO Air Transat people outside to direct us to the bus (there was a lot full of busses and vans), but a helpful Nolitours rep pointed it out to us. It seemed mass confusion from the time we left the plane until we were processed and on the bus, but the hundreds of people (at least 2 plane loads) were on the buses and on their way in about 30 minutes.

To the Resort:
It was a nice modern bus, with air con but no bathroom on bus. The ride took about 35 minutes, slightly bumpy but no big deal. Not surprising there is malaria in the Punta Cana area, since there are numerous swampy areas near most resorts (Check with your doctor about prevention!). We were able to get a glimpse of the local area on the way- stores and resorts and some dwellings. The driver and rep dropped others off at their resorts first then the PC Princess – only a couple of minutes apart – they were next door to each other.

Punta Cana Princess::
Check in was smooth, with a cold cloth and a tasty cocktail. Our room was ready (about 2:15 pm). Our large luggage was tagged and we walked over to find our room, to find the bags delivered about 5 minutes later. Excellent room, large, clean and in good condition. Flat screen TV to watch the news and weather – 30+ channels and several in English! Mini bar with beer, sprite, coke and water- refilled daily. The roomy bathroom with two sinks had lots of hot water to shower, and toiletries.. It compares to a good Canadian hotel room, except there was no Kleenex. The room safe is free, and there are also slippers, robes, coffee maker, beach towels and an umbrella for your use.

Yes, people reserve chairs in spite of the sign, but we always found some, sun or shade as wanted – on the beach and by the pool. A lovely downpour one morning at 9 AM fixed those who left towels out early! We saw several (when they turned up several hours later) wringing the water out of their towels. Fresh beach towels were put in the room with the evening turndown service and the bar was replenished if necessary during the daily maid cleaning and in the evening.

Food:
The Buffet was good, some dishes somewhat repetitive but no one will starve. You are greeted with a different cocktail each evening on the way in. On a couple of nights 3-4 tables of souvenirs were outside the buffet with extremely aggressive salespeople. A firm No, Gracias and for one the raised hand did the trick. The buffet has theme nights: Mon- Italian, Tues – Dominican, Wed – Asian, Thurs- Gala, Fri –Mexican, Sat – Sea Food, Sun – International. We took a pass on the Dominican night (rabbit and goat) and went to the TexMex a la carte- very good. The best we found was the Mexican night at the buffet –great! As we have found with buffets the world over (including U.S. & Canada) sometimes the food was not as hot as it should be. Check the metal dish (carefully) if you are in doubt and point it out to staff if it is cool. The squeaky wheel usually gets results eventually. A great variety of cheese and fresh fruit was almost always available – and excellent yogurt –not too sweet. Every night there is a pasta bar where they will make to your order. There was a roast of some sort every night, and fresh chicken breast and fish, which was cooked to your order. Veggies were salad, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower and some green beans - which needed more moist cooking! There were usually one or two more unusual veggies too. Bread was great - with whole wheat always available. The “La Petite Fondue” is a must visit. The servers are very attentive, and show you how to do everything. Our favourite appetizer – the shrimp! You dip the shrimp in egg , then bread crumbs and then 20 seconds in the hot oil. Excellent. The Bailey flavoured chocolate dessert fondue was absolutely decadent!

OH the Beach!
We walked a long distance along the beach every morning, past several resorts. The beach is miles of fine white sand, with shallow water. Wonderful! The yellow flag was out the whole time we were there, with 1-4 foot waves, but the sand slopes gently into the water so it was fun to play in the surf. A little seaweed washed up at high tide but not a big deal. To the left down about 2 resorts was a flea market, with many booths selling tourist junk and very suspicious looking bottles of liquor and cigars.

Time Share Pests::
There were a number of time-share pests along the beach, usually hanging out at the boundary between the resorts, but once one accosted us on the resort. They have a very smooth patter, making you think they are actually from the resort and you can get a deal if you go to their resort the next time, but beware of them if you don’t want to have an hour or two of sun time wasted by high pressure sales people. Time-share pests can be identified by the rectangular, black rimmed ID card worn on a cord around their neck. They are usually wearing white shirts. Hotel staff usually has distinctive uniforms with the resort name embroidered on them.

Check-out Procedure - simple!
Phone the desk to collect the bags, the porter is there in a couple of minutes to carry or drive your luggage to the lobby. Just turn in your keys and wait for the bus. The slip of paper you are given at checkout is needed for the bus, and be sure you are on the right one (and your luggage). There are LONG lines at the airport ticket counters, very poor signage as to which line you should be in. Here they weigh both the bags and the carry-ons altogether. It is expensive to be over weight - $20 (U.S.) per kg.

Punta Cana Airport
Very poor for souvenirs – one store for general souvenirs and liquor – very overpriced. I bought a little car in the Resort gift shop for about $3 US and saw it at the airport for $12. Good choice of fast food, pizza was cold, though. Great viewing of planes coming and going!

Punta Cana Princess
Pros – Four star quality, lots of food variety, only 250 rooms, adults only, lots of little bonuses like no hassle beach towels, free bottle of rum etc., beautiful, clean, not crowded, pleasant staff, great pool and beach, interesting a la cartes, access to food & entertainment etc. at 2 other Princess resorts and Casino by shuttle bus.

Cons – could have some more lively entertainment in evenings, needs something like a piano bar for evenings – lobby is too big and spread out for people interaction.

Yes, we recommend it to others. We might go back again, but like to try new places and new islands. If we return anywhere, this would be high on our list

wtrgdn@eagle.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube