Paradisus Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Paradisus Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Paradisus Punta Cana  

Playa Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana

"so beautiful.."
Posted by: nelson on Aug 26, 2014
see all reviews

Paradisus Punta Cana Reviews
Paradisus Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Paradisus Punta Cana Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#15
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.4

Based on 12 reviews

Paradisus Punta Cana Information


All-inclusive five star resort located in Bavaro Beach Punta Cana. The Paradisus Punta Cana All inclusive four star Resort located in Bavaro Beach Punta Cana.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradisus Punta Cana Reviews

Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 12 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (8)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 12

"Beach in punta cana is beautiful."

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from Toronto  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
584 people found this review helpful

Arrival: November 2008
Arrival through the airport and transport service was a breeze as always. We travelled with our 2 year old and had no difficulties. Arrival at the hotel was horrific. Some how they did not have our reservation despite the fact that the transfer bus did. We waited for over 5 hours in the lobby with a 2 year old, the hotel did not seem to care. There was no manager available to talk to, and the "complaints" desk that they had set up in the lobby was of little to no help. They were happy to get us a room if we paid again and then once they confirmed our reservation they would reimburse.

Rooms:
Room was adequate. Nice size and good location related to proximity to the beach,restaurants and regular pool. We were not in the new section which was fine. However the kids club and kids pool is.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and service was good. The hotel was under renovation and we were not advised that many restaurants were closed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach in punta cana is beautiful and the reason we go back. Grounds are lush and well kept. Pool was great, lagoon style so it was easy for our 2 year old to walk in and out.

Other Comments:
This could be a good hotel. Just be aware of what you are buying. I booked this accomodation based on the kids club and pool. I was very very disappointed. The pool and club were great but if you were not in the reserve section you could not get a drink or food in this area as an adult. The nearest bar and restaurant was a distance. The hotel felt that the kids club was only meant to serve "other" guests if you drop and leave your child there. I was not prepared to leave my 2 year old. I wanted to stay with her and utilize the facilities. In the end we did use the facilities a couple of times and as a result I was glad after what I witnessed that I did not leave my child unattended.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great experience."

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Stacey from Kingston  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
760 people found this review helpful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The company had events at Imagine--beautiful banquet centre set about 30 min away from the resort (Close to airport) and at the Punta Cana Golf Course (also close to the airport) Both beautiful spaces - nice to be able to see something other then the resort.

Other Comments:
I have stayed in the Dominican twice before, (Catalonia Bavara, and the Ocean Blue) and although those resorts were an enjoyable experience, this was a little better.

My friend and I just returned from the Paradissus (Feb 3-7) on a 5 day business trip that her company paid for as they were honouring their top sales staff.

We did not stay in the Reserve, however the experience was still fantastic. There was never an issue with towels, getting a lounge chair, nor was there ever an issue with the cleaning staff - granted you may get your room cleaned a little later in the day - but it did not bother us as we were out of the room for most of the day anyways. There was always hot water for the showers, and we had a relatively quiet villa so we heard no additional noise, etc. Room service was always there within 20-30 min and they were quick and friendly.

The entertainment staff was accomodating as we had rain the last 2 days of our trip so most guests were gatthered around the lobbies and bars so most people were playing games, dancing, etc. Still a great way to spend a trip - better then dealing with the snow back home.

Food was good, we ate at the Italian restaurant, and the buffets on the beach and the Hybiscus. I am a picky eater and I was always able to find foods I liked. Never an issue with getting drinks, although maybe a small wait. I firmly believe you get treated the way you treat others - so maybe if was our friendliness and kindness that allowed us to receive great service. Bartenders were fantastic regardless of what bar you were at on the resort. We found they all understood basic english, and our drinks were always served properly. We found the club on the resort, The Red Room, was a litte hard to get drinks, but that was because there were only 2 bartenders usually with a crowded bar. For the most part we were done drinking by the time we got to that bar. Another great bar to go to is the one right beside the resort--it is attached to the neighbouring resort - its a great mix of tourists and locals - safe feeling and its open later and has great music. Lots of Canadians were in there--so it was comfortable.

This resort is mostly retired couples,and families - which was fine as we there were some great people to meet and share stories with. There were a few weddings there and company events, so overall a great mix of people. If you are single and looking for a younger crowd it's limited at this resort--although we still found a great number of people to hang out with. Of course Canadians always find each other - haha.

Overall it was a great experience. Nothing stolen, I even left an envelope of cash out on the table by mistake, and it was still there in its entirety after the room had been cleaned.

I would definately reccommend this resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Honeymoon Nightmare"

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanna  on Mar 7, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
803 people found this review helpful

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Lots of bugs and not very clean. I got so sick on my honeymoon and when I got back home for weeks also. Food horrible, due to the bugs. Very hard time getting change from anyone. Not so friendly. Also, it was our honeymoon and they didnt beleive us. Had to have my Mother fax over a marriage certificate and then finally on the very last night of our stay, they sent a bottle of champagne and strawberries and lit some candles for us and drew us a bath. Although it was nice to come in and see this, this was what they should have done for us the whole trip, especially for the price we paid to stay there. Over priced and would never go back to Punta Cana or any Paradisus resort. It is beautiful to look at, but not worth it if you can't get past the bugs, rude people and horrible food! Stay aty Iberostar if you are debating between the two resorts. Trust me!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed the extras provided by the 5*"

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carolyn & Troy from Halifax, NS  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
752 people found this review helpful

We are a mid thirties couple and this was our 3rd trip to Punta Cana. We spent 1 week from April 9 - 16th at Paradises Punta Cana. We enjoyed our trip and would recommend this to others. We have stayed at 4* and 4.5* in Punta Cana in the past and really enjoyed the extras provided by the 5*. After a couple of days you will have the layout figured out and find the hotel easy to navigate.

Punta Cana Airport
At the airport here are some tips we find useful. We pay for luggage support as we travel with two bags and two sets of golf clubs. They can quickly navigate the lines and get you to your bus. We always pick up a beer on the counter when heading to the parking lots (right side - $4US). The beer is Presidente Beer - nice and light. On the way to your hotel they often stop at a corner store to pick up another is you are thirsty.

Check in
Check in was simple. Our room was ready even though it was noon and official check in is 3 PM. They provide you with a map of the hotel at the desk. This is called a passport booklet and includes lots of info. A staff walked us through the map - highlighting the towel hut, the restaurants etc.

Room
We were in room 3148 - ground level two beds with a sitting area. The room was recently updated and very comfortable. Room had a safe that was free and you select an access code upon arrival. There is a mini bar with water and soft drinks. In your passport book you have a number to request beer - included in all inclusive. Restaurants & Bars
For a resort with 500 rooms there are lots of restaurants. There is a combination of reservation and walk in. All restaurants except one are down by the beach.

Hibiscus buffet is the buffet open for breakfast and dinner.

Terra is the steak house and requires reservation

Japanese requires reservation

French requires reservation

Feugo is located up at the lobby area and this turns into the red lounge later in the evening. Restaurant requires a reservation

Brazilian, Italian, Chinese and Seafood are walk in. (Italian is also open at lunch)

Lobby bar and a lounge area outside of buffet restaurant.

Note: you can request beer in a bottle or can at the bar is you would prefer. As well, when you order wine at dinner the often leave the bottle. A lot of Spanish and South American wines are available and are of decent quality.

Note: there is room service included. We ordered Breakfast as this we had an early departure and this was a nice detail.

Staff and Service:
Overall we had positive feedback on the staff. Felt staff were willing to assist when requested and that restaurant service as best at the al la cartes as the buffet you might have multiple servers and drinks could take some time.

Beach
Great beach with plenty of shade. There are comfortable lounge chairs and bed like chairs for two. The water is great for swimming (limited coral in the water and lower surf).

Water activities
There is an activity hut at the beach and there is kayaks, catamarans, windsurfing. Another nice feature was boat trips for snorkeling to a coral reef and a boat wreck.

Golf
Included with your all inclusive at the Cocotal Golf Course. Transportation is included and the pick up times posted at Guest Services. We booked directly with the golf course to ensure morning tee times. There was a $10 service charge. If you wish you can book with Guest Services at the hotel. There is a mandatory golf cart rental of $30. We picked up water and took a couple beer in tins as the golf carts have coolers and will provide ice (they say not to do this but as long as you are discrete you will be OK).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most Memorable Trip/Wedding Ever!!!"

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fabi  on May 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
839 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived in Punta Cana the evening of April 17, 2010. The baggage pick up at the Putna Cana airport was a breeze and our buses were ready and waiting to take us to the resort. The ride was swift and fun!!
Not gunna lie, once we got to the resort it was a little messy. The bus dropped us all of at the "Reserve" side when we were supossed to check in at the main lobby. Once we were picked up from the reserve side to be taken to the appropriate check-in, people's luggage was left behind, therefore had to go back!! No one was too bothered by this, as we were all so excited to be there. For anyone who hasn't figured it out yet from reading other peoples reviews, the "Reserve" is a resort within the Paradisus resort if that makes sense. You need a special bracelet to use most of the facilitites located within the reserve section. The resort is massive so you get around by trolly most of the time.

Rooms:
Our room was gorgeous. Upon arrival, my fiance and I were upgraded to the Royal Service. We were getting married at Punta Cana F.Y.I and had a 50 person group with us!! Our fridge was stocked daily. Rose petals and little gifts would be left in our room everyday. Our room would be cleaned once a day, but when we would leave at night, they would sneak back in and make swans out of towels and re-stock our fridge again for when we strolled in at 3 in the morning. The bathroom was huge, our view was ocean front. We were in building #1, and we wouldn't have changed anything about it. Expect there aren't alot of drawers to put your clothes in. Actually I dont think there wre any! Our room was right on the beach as I mentioned and we were close to the restaurants and the main pool. We could call for a trolly when we were ready for dinner and it would be right outside our room within minutes. F.Y.I. it is a nice 7 minute walk to the restaurants. NOt as bad as some poeple make it out to be.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were average. My favorite was the Italian and the Japanese. Unfortunately 7 days was not enough time to try all of the restaurants, especially since you cant make reso's so you have to wait in line, early, to get into a place. The steak house was also very good. Being from Canada we have some of the best beef, but I must say, I had the tenderloin (a little rare for my taste) but the most tender piece of meat I have ever had in my life!!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was unreal!! Im not a big ocean swimmer so we hung out at the main pool most of the time, plus there was the swim up bar there, but the beach was gorgeous. The best I have ever seen. They have beds scattered everywhere. If you are in the Royal Service there is a little part of the beach that is sectioned off. There are always beds available there.
The royal service also has there own nice quiet pool, but we ventured over to the main pool most of the time beacause thats where our group would hang out.
We never got a chance to visit the Reserve pool (if you have the Royal package you can use the facilities in the Reserve section) which was very unfortunate.
The grounds were unlike anything I have ever seen in my life. Gorgeous greenery everwhere you look. I actually can't explain how nice it was.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the day before the wedding the girls went to the spa (a little over priced) and the boys went golfing. They said the golfing was amazing for you men out there. The spa was great too. Best massage I've ever had. Sat in the massive hot tub after as it started pouring rain outside while we were getting our massages.
Some of our group did the Catamaran. Sorry can't remember which one, but it takes you to a natural pool. Waist deep water. Warm. Absolutely beautiful. The staff on our boat were amazing. They also took us snorkling. I had never been before so I don't have anything to compare it to, but everyone else who did said it was great.

Other Comments:
For a group of this size (50) people the resort was a little large. It was just hard to keep track of everyone, but as the days went on people figured out where the usual meeting spots were so dont worry about that sort of thing. For anyone who is planning on getting married here DO IT. it was the most amazing day of my life. The wedding planning staff on site are amazing. I can actually say that everything was perfect!! If any brides out there have any questions please dont hesitate to ask.
I would recommend this resort to anyone and everyone. Thanks Paradisus for making my wedding week the most memorable week of my life!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As long as nothing goes wrong, you'll have a good time."

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin  on May 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
827 people found this review helpful

The quality of a resort, or of any product for that matter, is not measured by when things go right, but rather when things go wrong.
When things go right, Paradisus Punta Cana is pretty decent. It occupies a large property and the guests are housed in two-storey apartment blocks, which has two immediate results: you do a lot of walking to get from one place to another and the beach isn’t as crowded as many other resorts we’ve seen. The property is beautiful and well-maintained, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the food is respectable but not spectacular (though if you want to go to any of the theme restaurants you should be there as soon as they open for dinner as the alternative is a one- to two-hour wait).
Things started to go wrong for us almost as soon as we arrived.

Your Arrival:
Of the crowd that got off our bus, we and a few other couples were singled out as targets for up selling to a “vacation package”. Flustered from our trip and somewhat confused about the offer of a better understanding of the resort, we agreed to meet our concierge for breakfast the next day. At breakfast, once it became clear that we were being asked to do a 90-minute tour to discuss a vacation package, we declined and said that if they wanted to sell us on it they would start first with the price, not the amenities. After a couple days of back-and-forth on this whenever we saw the concierge in passing, one of the sales reps sat down with us and laid out the price: $40,000 for one week per year for 50 years. Save yourself the 90 minutes and decline any offer of a tour of the “preferred guest” accommodations.
When we got to the room, we found that the plug in the bathroom sink was broken and the back door leading to the patio would unlock just by shaking the door. Maintenance arrived in fairly short order but the results were less than stellar: the plug in the bathroom sink closed but wouldn’t seal and the patio door still wouldn’t stay locked. We decided to live with the plug problem but it took three attempts and a little bit of shouting over the next two days to get the door fixed. Thankfully, we’re not paranoid about security.
One thing we had forgotten to pack was dish soap for the baby bottles. I called and asked for some and was promised immediate delivery. Several phone calls, a couple visits to reception, and two days later we finally got some dish soap.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The babysitting service was pretty good; certainly, the night time babysitter we had arrived on time and was very good with the kids. On the day we were scheduled to go on a dive trip, my wife came down sick and was unable to go. In hindsight, that was actually a good thing.
We had scheduled a babysitter to come that morning well before the dive trip bus was supposed to pick us up. The babysitter was so late that we would have missed the bus. The agreement was that the babysitter would watch the kids for a couple hours and then take them to the kids’ play zone for the day, something we obviously didn’t need. My wife turned the babysitter away but ultimately decided that she wanted a day to herself anyway and took the kids to the kids’ zone shortly after they opened. That’s when she learned that the kids’ zone requires that parents take care of the lunches; the staff won’t take the kids to the restaurants or bring food in. If you want to do any kind of day trip without the kids, forget it.
The shop at the resort is decently stocked with most of the vacation amenities (t-shirts, toys, sunscreen, snacks, etc.) but I was very surprised to find that they didn’t carry baby formula. We can’t have been the first parents to run out of the stuff on vacation; I took a walk into town with my rudimentary high school Spanish and was able to find some, but I should have been able to find it at the resort.
While at the shop, I bought a flotation toy for our baby son, only to find that the valves would open themselves after only a couple minutes of use. Since we didn’t relish the idea of playing Titanic with our son, I took it back to the store for an exchange, only to find that all of them suffered from the same problem. When I asked for a refund, they pointed me to a sign stating their “no refunds” policy. I told them that I have a policy of not buying defective merchandise, but to no avail. I eventually walked out of the store, leaving both defective toys (the original and the replacement) on the counter. Even upper level hotel management was unable to do anything for me (apparently because the store is not owned and run by the resort) though they sympathized (sympathy doesn’t mean much to me when I’m out of pocket). Memo to customer service personnel: if you’re going to annoy a customer, make sure you do it over something more worthwhile than an $8 plastic toy.

Other Comments:
Since we had skipped the tour operator’s welcome meeting on first morning of our stay, we apparently missed the instructions for the bus to the airport. Crucial information like that should be included in the handout you are given on arrival (it wasn’t; we checked) and not left to the chance that regular resort-goers like ourselves will pass on the sweetness and sunshine dished out at these presentations and instead spend the time more productively on the beach.
This shouldn’t be a big deal, we thought, so while I was in reception towards the end of our stay I asked the concierge at the desk what to do about transportation to the airport. He ask what time our flight was and told us that all we needed to do was be at the front of the resort three hours prior to our flight and we could catch the next bus.
It doesn’t work that way. Every bus is there for a specific list of passengers and there was simply no way to get to the airport except by taxi as our bus had left half an hour or so earlier. Arguably the $35 we spent is our own fault for having missed The Briefing, but the concierge should have known better. We’ve been to many resorts that had the “any bus will get you there” setup and reasonably expected that the concierge would know what he was talking about.
Finally, there was the Internet.
For $15 a day, you can rent a wireless network card that will get you online through the local cellular provider. Everything worked perfectly; the setup instructions were almost idiot-proof and we were able to catch up with email (we each run our own businesses) in the evenings after the kids were asleep. As we had to leave early Friday morning and the business centre wasn’t open, I returned the wireless card to the reception desk when we checked out.
Imagine my surprise to find a charge for $120 on my credit card a couple weeks after we got home. It took a week of calling to get a vague statement that the wireless card was damaged on return and a month of calls after that to get someone at the management level to contact me. They were adamant that a card that was working perfectly for me Thursday night was broken on return to them Friday morning; they further insisted that I should have returned the card to the business centre rather than the reception desk (something I couldn’t have done without forfeiting a day of the service I paid for because of their hours) and they have refused to refund the damage deposit. When I then said that the card was now my property and that I would appreciate it being shipped to me, they agreed, as long as I paid the shipping charges. Why exactly they still had possession of a card six weeks after declaring it damaged is beyond me; I guess it wasn’t so broken after all.
We will never again stay at Paradisus Punta Cana and will never again visit a Sol Melia resort. You’d be well advised to do the same.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Downhill fast!"

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margaot  on Jun 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
736 people found this review helpful

My Husband and I have been going to Paradisus PC for 13yrs now with 2 other couples and have "never" had a complaint, but, this year we've had plenty and it would be the year we decide to stay 14days. When we arrived we were informed that the air conditioning was out in most of the resort, were put into The Reserve and was told "don't unpack your bags, air will be fixed by tomorrow"!!! We left this past Sunday 19th and the air still wasn't working in the building we were supposed to go into. We also arrived to only 4 of the advertised 11 restaurants open on any given night. There was food they had none of, like shrimp in the Seafood restaurant?, and no serloin in the steak restaurant, etc, etc. We had a meeting with the General manager and was told they had "plenty" of shrimp and steak.....still by the time we left on Sunday, no shrimp or serloin appeared!!!!! Staff had their hands full here, just dealing with the irate customers!!!! Certain Staff members from Royal Service are all to be commended for their professionalism, but, most of the waitstaff has a lot to be desired, when we started going there 13 yrs ago, they all spoke little English and it has improved over the years until this year, where most of the waitstaff understands little or no English, making it hard to communicate, we are guests at their resort, we should not have to learn Spanish to go there! Maid service always forgot something, everyday...basics like toilet paper, water shampoo and bodywash had to be called for, pretty annoying when you have to do it everyday!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradisus Punta Cana: Royal Service is the best!!"

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Feb 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
564 people found this review helpful

Room selection: Royal Service Garden View.

Resort check in: We always choose the Royal Service and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is adults only with a private RS pool and beach section. Upon arrival to the resort you are taken to the Royal Service offices for check in which is very fast and courteous. More about RS below.

Main Pool: Is large, clean and has many little alcoves for floating and relaxing. Always enough chairs and umbrellas for everyone. Pool bar is both upper (out of pool) and lower (in pool) and those guys hustle. Plus the little grill at the bar is great for quick burger & fries.

Beach: Long, clean and beautiful. We would walk a few times everyday from one point to the other. Seemed to go on forever. From our walks I can say that the Paradisus beach is one of the cleanest areas. The crews are out every morning around 6:30am raking and there is always some persons walking around during the day picking up glasses, cigarette butts and such.
* There were issues regarding the beach chairs. Since I am an early beach walker (5:30 am) and usually on the beach for the start of the day by 7:30 we never had any troubles. But those coming out late mornings, did not always find the shady spots that they were hoping for.

Grounds: The grounds at the resort are amazing. So lush and green with flowers and trees everywhere. The maintenance crew is always working on something and it shows. We were really surprised that for a resort of such size just how clean the grounds always were. No cigarette butts, empty glasses or any other debris anywhere. There are also flowing ponds stocked with Koi (bring a roll from breakfast and they will love you) and beautiful statues throughout the resort.

Royal Service: We chose the Royal Service and I would highly recommend it to anyone. From the moment we booked our trip I was in contact the Royal Service department and they were wonderful. They took care of our room request (we have been there so many times we like to have the same room if possible), made all our dinner reservations before our arrival and even offered to book our golf times ahead for us. The Royal Service lounge offers free internet access, daily newspapers and an assortment of books and movies. They also have a wonderful little restaurant that we used for breakfast occasionally. The variety was the same as the larger Hibiscus but much more personal service. You can get beverages there all day long including espresso. Also, they have cookies and canapés at 4:00 pm and cocktails before dinner. Royal Service guests also have a reserved spot on the beach and have waiter service for its guests in that area. There wasn’t anything that you couldn’t ask of the staff of the Royal Service. They were highly efficient, very knowledgeable and still the nicest persons you could ever meet.

Room Block:
Royal Service

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise at the Reserve Paradisus Punta Cana"

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  SuperEggz1  on Jul 12, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
471 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just got back from Punta Cana and we stayed at The Reserve section of the hotel and I must say that it was an amazing hotel and our 2nd time in Punta Cana. I have to say I was reluctant to visit the country again after staying at the Barcelo Palace Deluxe back in 2010. That hotel is a disaster. The Paradisus renewed our love with the Dominican Republic. I also have to say that the Reserve section is the best. I wouldnt waste any money on the Royal Service.

Room Number:
1404

Room Block:
40

Arrival:
Quick and Easy, We arrive to the Reserve Section of the hotel and had a quick check in. We were welcomed home! It felt great that we didnt have to wait and everything went smoothly on that end. We got upgraded to a One Bed Room Master Suite instead of the Junior suite

Rooms:
We stayed on the first floor in Section 40 and had a pool view which i highly recommend since the garden view has the golf cart trolley passing over the cobble stones. The windows are really sound proof as we were split by the Childs pool section and never heard a thing. Also there are no elevators in these building sections and so its easier not to walk or carry suit cases if your staying on the first floor. Our room was HUGE!!! The living room, dining room table, our separate bed room was amazing. The mini bar was stocked with drinks and plenty of water bottles all around the room. You can set the AC to your liking and we had great plush chairs on our little terrace and had an amazing time. The king size bed was very comfortable and we never had a bad night. The room was clean and not a single major complaint to be had.

ROOM CONS - Sadly there is no Ipod docking station.. They have a small stereo alarm clock that played CD's and the time kept disabling after I set it numerous time. In the living room there was a stereo system with a cassette and CD player. You can bring an IPOD wire to connect it but really this is 2012, Get a docking system instead of these 90's Stereo systems. Also we had no slippers to go with our robes. The floors are marble and freezing cold.. so bring slippers to walk in the room. (these are small complaints and are more tips for the resort to pick up on and help make this resort greater then it is)

Restaurants and Bars:
Not the greatest, the resort loses points here. The Gabi Restaurant for Breakfast was great, who can mess up eggs. Vento was absolutely disgusting and the dinner buffet was less to be desired for. The Terra Steakhouse was the best place to eat. Vita was a good Italian restaurant but I must warn you that they put bacon on many choices. Make sure that you ask the waiter because I ordered soup and it had bacon, I ordered a shrimp pasta and it came with bacon. I dont eat any pork and I got upset because they put Bacon on a lot of there items and its not specified on there menus that they do. Rodizio has phenomenal chicken!! Your not going to starve but it wasnt 5 star cuisine either.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH - The beach was long and beautiful but sadly there was A LOT OF SEAWEED. I cant fault the resort for something mother nature does and they try extensively each morning to clean it up. The resort offers free scuba and snorkeling plus kayak and other fun activities to do. the ocean was rather rough shockingly with the waves but I actually enjoyed them with a boogie board they offer for free. The Reserve section of the beach is right next to the Royal Service section and we were side by side with the general section. Yes there are a few people who play the "towel game" for the palapas but you have plenty of chairs to choose from and relax and get a nice tan. Mikey Mike (Maiker) is hands down the best!! He makes your experience fun and brings you drinks all day long. Mikey Mike is in the house!! That is another reason why your wasting money for the Royal Service. Your chair lounge section is adults only but the water is for everyone. So your sharing the ocean with the kids. We were in the reserves and honestly it wasn't that big of a deal. There are people walking up and down the beach selling cigars, shells and other trinkets if you wish to buy them. We walked passed different resorts on the strip and enjoyed the beautiful ocean. If you just want to relax, grab drinks and walk to the buffet/ BBQ grill and order fish, burgers, chicken. Delicious

POOL - I visited the regular pool section and left within 5 minutes. Though if you want more shade, the pools in the regular section have more trees. The Reserves section is better IMO as the gabi lounge is right there and we have our own waiter coming around bringing drinks and we can order Pizza and Burgers from the grill. The Pool is large and it is clean. Yes you share with the kids but its really not that loud and we always closed out the later part of the afternoon by the pool.

The grounds are beautiful, I mean they really went out of there way not to effect the ecosystem. If your a fan of the TV show LOST you feel like your walking through the compounds of the Dharma Initiative. The golf trolley passes bye frequently but we preferred to walk and sometimes you actually arrived to your destination quicker then waiting for people to hop on and off. Plenty of staff/Security around to ensure that you are safe regardless if its day or night and it has plenty of lighting. I was very hesitant staying at this hotel and considered it many times to upgrade to the Royal Service just to be closer to the beach but trust me.. YOU DONT NEED IT. The walk is great and its not that far and you really enjoy the view.

Other Comments:
the service is 5 stars, there wasnt a single complaint as opposed to the Barcelo properties we experienced 2 years ago. WOW the service is night and day!! Everyone here was friendly and genuine. They work really hard to make sure you are pampered and so please tip them because they took care of every concern and handled any request. I cant honestly say anything bad about the service. Mike, Luis and the bartenders by the lounge in the main lobby make your experience a fun one. I could really go for a Planters Punch right about now!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not good at all."

Paradisus Punta Cana
User Rating:  Paradisus Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dorota  on Nov 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
331 people found this review helpful

Very bad experience. I have got my room at 6:00pm. I was with infant 21 month old and handicapped husband. I did not have place to change baby to feed her and all I hears was you have to wait.

Room Number:
2376

Arrival:
not well organized

Rooms:
Cleaning very poor. Room was cleaned after 6:00pm every day eventhough I called a few times to clean it earlier.

Restaurants and Bars:
Just ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
poor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube