IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Higuey, La Altagracia

"IFA is worth it !!!"
Posted by: Ronnie Sue  on Jun 11, 2014
see all reviews

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Reviews
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Pictures and Information
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#17
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 2.9

Based on 11 reviews

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Information


The IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa is a spectacular hotel complex located in the privileged area of Punta Cana: The paradise Playa Bavaro. Considered one of the ten most beautiful beaches in the world, Playa Bavaro has turquoise-blue crystal waters, a resplendent white sand beach, a magnificent natural coral barrier and a considerable length of coastline.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Reviews

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 2.9 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  4
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Group (2)
Solo
With friend
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 10 of 11

"IFA is worth it !!!"

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ronnie Sue  on Jun 11, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
62 people found this review helpful

I have been to Punta Cana about 20 times in the past 17yrs and I have always had an open mind regarding reviews. Before going this time I was surprised at the poor reviews it got but I remained open minded and I'm glad I didn't listen to any of the bad reviews !!!!!! This resort is great, it is not as good as lets say Dreams, or Excellence but it was a great time, the food was very good, the entertainment is exactly what Punta Cana has at most resorts. The staff were good.
I am an American and over 50, (had to say that before the next paragraph)

While I was standing in line to check in, there were 3 couples (all over the age of 50) and all Americans. They were complaining about their rooms not being in the location that they wanted......I was so embarrassed !!! Have you guys never visited other countries before and/or do you expect everyone to bow down to your every whim ??? stay home !!!

The beach, pools,drinks, staff, entertainment were of Punta Cana quality and I would go back to this resort without any hesitation.

oh by the way, no bugs that I could see that didn't belong on a tropical island !!!!!!!

Room Number:
4103

Room Block:
4100

Arrival:
arrival was effortless. $10 or $20 for the safe I forget.

Rooms:
room was just as I saw on the website. nothing more nothing less

Restaurants and Bars:
I enjoy the buffets, we ate one night at the Caribe (seafood) no big deal, I like the idea of buffets then out to the bar areas.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
PERFECT

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
didn't do any this time but have in the past, snorkling trips are always fun

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was awful"

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Mar 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
101 people found this review helpful

I will list in point form the good and the bad.

The good.

1. My room was on ground level, overlooking the pond. Nice birds, and peaceful.
2. The quiet pool.
3. The Beach.

The bad.

1. The food. It was absolutely awful all around. The Pizza was okay. One of my family members did get sick, and ended up in hospital with multiple infections. She managed to have one day at the beginning.
2. The staff. No smiles, no "Hola" as they passed by, They just seemed unhappy. Room was serviced once in 4 days.
3. The vendors. It was getting ridiculous how many times I had to say "no thank you" They were aggressive and annoying. They should not be allowed on the property. I came here to relax and not dodge pushy sales people.
4. The prostitutes. Discovering that my room key did not work, I walked to the lobby to get a new one. I was called over by a woman, and was asked if I was happy. I did not clue in at first, then walked away. Some other of the make members were also approached at the disco. Again, this should not be on the property.
5. The fitness club. I walked in, and asked to make sure that my running shoes were appropriate for this facility. They were fine. However when the second attendant arrived, I was asked rudely to leave as my running shoes were not acceptable.
6. The information desk. A couple of us went to the courtesy desk to make reservations for the a la carte. Upon getting there, we were forced to wait 5 to 10 minutes while the attendant was on the phone with his girlfriend. I do speak spanish, so I can understand.
7. The bathroom. I was in a room alone, however, if you were sharing with a friend or other family member, there is absolutely no privacy. There really isn't an actual door to the bathroom. The mold growing on the poor rope decorations was really bad.
8. The pillows. One of the pillows had some red stains on the pillow case. No blood, but dirty none-the-less. The other pillows smelling like cigarette smoke.

All in all, not only did I not like this resort at all, but it soured my thoughts on the destination as well. I found everything so much better at a Grand Bahia in Playa Del Carmen.

Room Number:
4612

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I will never go there again"

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carrie  on Dec 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
577 people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at this resort. Upon arrival at the resort No information was given to us regarding anything about the resort in English. There were ants in our room. I asked everyday at the desk and through sigln language to the housekeeper to change our sheets and it was never done. I saw a rat running around. The food was horrible. The wifi never worked. We had two glorious massages and enjoyed the beach. We went on three excursions which ended up making me sad. They didn't care if you had lotion or oil on when you snorkels. Nobody cared if you touched the reef.. There weren't enough life jackets for everyone while we boated. Can you tell I was displeased? I was also displeased with the company we went through to book the vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible, left after the first night"

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  DEENNA  on Aug 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
721 people found this review helpful

It took almost 2 hours just to check in. The property is just plain ugly. The food is barely edible. My 8 year old would not even eat the pizza. The beds felt like you were sleeping on plywood, and the dresser and bathroom were infested with ants. Do not believe the pictures on their website. You can only eat on their schedule, otherwise the restaurants are closed, even the buffets. We checked out after the first night and stayed at Sol Melia resort just 5 minutes away, and what a difference, we didn't want to leave. Please save your hard earned money and book at any hotel OTHER than Ifa. I have stayed at 2 other resorts in Punta Cana, and this was the worst experience ever!!

Arrival:
8/13/2011

Rooms:
1

Restaurants and Bars:
BUFFET & PIZZA BAR

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"bad experience"

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Feb 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
771 people found this review helpful

We were at this resort 6 years ago and just loved it. The food was great and so was everything else. This year we decided to go again with friends. The food was terrible. The buffet was never hot.The pizza was never really hot at the pizzeria unless it just came out of the oven. The birds were flying around and landing on the tables while you ate and making messes all over the chairs. The flies were landing on the pizza also. The birds and flies were a problem in the buffet also. There were 8 of us on this trip and all 8 of us were sick-vomiting and terrible diarrhia. There was a group of 50 also there and over half of them were sick. One of our ladies even went to the doctor's twice and was never charged. The rooms were nice. They made them bigger by getting rid of the balconies. I really missed them. It took us a good week at home to start feeling better. We were there for 2 weeks and will never be back. We have been going on vacation for 15 years and have never been sick. All the alchol bacsically came out of machines (as well as pop). The fancy drinks were terrible. They were all made with slush mixtures and were not thick.

Room Number:
4120

Room Block:
4100

Arrival:
We arrived on January 25, 2011 and left on February 8, 2011. The check-in was very smooth and easy to understand. Some of the people did not understand us. They didn't understand english. We never encountered this the last time. The waitresses and bartenders were very friendly last time. This time they were all business.

Rooms:
The rooms were very nice. They were larger than before because they did away with all the balconies. We really missed the balconies.

Restaurants and Bars:
The specialty restaurants were very nice. They got rid of one of the buffets. The beach grill which was a steak house at night was gone. They had turned it into a buffet. I never went ther. I was sick that night. the rest of them said that it was worse than the other buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great. The only thing was that they never cleaned up all the debris on the shore. The pools were nice but some could have used railings to get into. The first step was really low and if you had balance problems you could very easily fall. The concrete walkways were all replaced with a cobblestone (little rocks) effect. It was very hard to walk on since it was all uneven. The grounds were very lovely.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not participate in any of the activities. We took one excursion and it was great. We went on the Bavaro Runners and had lots of fun. We are all over 60 so we did not feel like participating in the activities. We went to relax and walk the beach.

Other Comments:
We will m\not be back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort really caters to the locals on the weekends and holidays."

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis & Lucy  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
801 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov.6th-13th 2009
We traveled in a group of six adults, myself,my wife and four of our friends. We booked this resort because we got a pretty good deal on the price and after checking it out on internet sites( especially Oyster.com)we decided to go for it.

Rooms:
Our first rooms were in the villas because that is what we booked and paid for and they are a good example of you get what you pay for. These rooms while they say were renovated in 2008 have the worst lighting of any room I have ever stayed in.The rooms are quite small and over crowded with two double beds. The villas are very close together so there is no privacy and as reported in reviews they are a long way from reception and even further from the beach but they do have a shuttle service that runs all day so you don't have to walk if you don't want to.We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to rooms in the beach area after a couple of days for a cost of $8 U.S. per person per day, money well spent. These rooms are much larger and brighter and offer some privacy as they are not so close together. These rooms are the ones that are shown on every website as standard rooms for the villa bavaro but they not,they are upgrade rooms.Although they may be a standard room if you boo! k the village bavaro or the beach bavaro.These rooms look like they have beem renovated in 2008 as they are clean and updated with a unique bathroom with a seperate walkin shower,seperate toilet area, and a nice sink and vanity area with a hair dryer.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was very repetative with little selection no matter what meal you were having.Yes they had a station cooking eggs in the morning and a pasta station at lunch and supper and a hot grill area at lunch and supper but after that it was just not very good.Service at the buffet was good though. The best place to eat lunch was at the beach bar and buffet.They served great fried chicken,grilled fish,burgers,salad,fruit,nachos with chilli and/or cheese.The bars at this resort are a huge disappointment.The drinks were weak(unless you asked for double shots)and very inconsistent from one bar to another.Drinks are domestic alcohol and if you wanted what they called premium liquor such as kaluha in a coffee it cost between $7 and $10 U.S. per drink.The mexican alacarte is really a buffet but you have to make a reservation to go to it.The night we went there I was not feeling well so I didn't eat much(half a quasadilla and a bite of a deep fried burrito)so I can't comment on the taste of the food.

The oriental alacarte I thought was quite good with pretty good sushi and dim sum noodles but it is very dark so it makes it hard to read the menu.The caribe alacarte is the best restaurant on this resort.The food is excellent and presented in an upscale manner and the service is very good.As a matter of fact the service in all the alacartes was very good.The cafe dominicano was a nice place to sit and relax and enjoy a coffee or a cocktail.We would all like to say thankyou to Queily(pronounced Kaley) who was our server here as she made sure she took care of us every time we were there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I did not use the pools so I don't know if they were warm or cold but they looked very clean. The main centre pool is not as large as it is advertised to be(oyster.com).The beach is very nice with beautiful carribean sea blue water and powdery white sand.If you like to walk you can stroll the beach for at least a mile but you will have to say no to a few venders on your way.There is a lot of motor boat activity at the beach(mostly from other resorts and excursions) and the noise can be a pain sometimes.There are lots of chairs at the beach and the pools but there are no palapas at either one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort has an activity board with the activities and the times they will be taking place but we found they did not stick to this time table as some days there were not any activities at the beach even though they were posted on the board. We went to one show at night and it was pretty good but very loud. Other nights we went to the stage area to see the show but they decided not to have the one that was posted but instead they were doing something at the disco.My wife used the gym and she said it was ok. We did not go on any excursions but we walked to the Palma Real shopping centre. This is about a five or ten minute walk and when you get there you think you have been transported to an upscale plaza in mexico with all the marble and coral tiling.I could not believe how ornate this plaza was for a place in the dominican republic. Of course with the upscale building came the upscale prices at most of the stores.But we did get a nice cold presidente at the Hardrock Cafe.

Other Comments:
This resort is not too bad as long as you don't have to deal with some of the people at reception and customer service(customer service now that is a joke).This resort really caters to the locals on the weekends and holidays.They get all the rooms in the village and beach areas so if you are in the villas you cannot upgrade until they are gone and it seems like they get a later check-out than other tourists get.We asked a person at reception to call our cab service the day before we were leaving to confirm our time but she told us no,and we would have to go back to our room and call from there at a cost of 18 pesos per minute.I could not beleive she would not make this call.I told her I wanted her to do it because of the language as she was spanish and the cab service was spanish and I thought it would be easier for her to communicate with them but she still said no and the cab service would probably understand english.So she really did not mind refusing a service and pissing off a customer for a mere 18 pesos. When we got moved to our upgraded room we found that our phone did not work when our friends tried to call us from thier rooms so I told the customer service rep about it and he said it would be fixed the next day. When it was not fixed I went back and told the customer service rep again and he said it would be fixed the next morning.When it was not fixed again I went back and told him and he said it would be fixed on friday and since I was leaving on friday I didn't care any more if it ever got fixed. I told him I would be writing a complaint about the incident on the hotel survey that they give you to fill out and he said go head I don't care what you write about me.That sums up how most of the people working at reception seemed to feel about you or any problems you might have,they really didn't seem to care.So would I go back to this resort ,no, would I recomend it to people, maybe, if this was all you could afford. This resort could really be a nice place with a little tweaking by management and friendlier reception staff. This place has a very nice beach and the rooms at the village and beach areas are nice but they need better food and variety at the buffet and they need to replace a couple of staff people to make this a place to return to.But remember you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A really nice resort."

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Pauline from Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
836 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 28 - March 7
We booked with Sunwing, from Ottawa, flight was great, airport was quick and check in at the resort, was quick as we were only two couples dropped off at the resort and it was evening when we arrived.

Rooms
Rooms were very basic, nothing fancy, compared to other resorts we have stayed at, but were very clean, quiet (villa # 1133) near the hot tubs, far enough away from the main pool and the lobby. It was nice not to have the noise that you sometimes have in buildings. The maids did a wonderful job.

Restaurants and Bars
Bars, were amazing, quick service, they all had Expresso Machines, that was a real bonus for us, as we love Dominician coffee.
The Restaurants, were ok, Mexican was buffet, which was disappointing, Caribe was good, excellent service at all restaurants, including buffet. The food at the buffet was good, but very repetitive and unlike other resorts, presentation was lacking. This is were I would say it is really a 3 star, I would not have enjoyed staying here more than one week. The pizza and fries are amazing that are served at the Pool Bar Terrace,

Beach/Pools/Grounds
This resort is huge, our villa was a good 15 minute walk to the beach, I didn't mind the walk, the beach was nice, but like most resorts you have to get out early a reserve your chairs at the beach or pool or you will not get one, this drives me crazy, to watch chairs with blue towels on the them, and no one around ever. The grounds were amazing, clean and really nicely kept, with turkeys, chickens, ducks, and peacocks enjoying themselves. This resort is 5 star as far as Beach/Pools/Grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We didn't go on any tours, but we did walk around the little community around the resort area, were they have homes, other villas and apartment, we found the mall which is about a 7 minute walk up the road to your right at the main gates on our last day, I wish someone would have mentioned this to us prior, I did not find our Tour agent very helpful at the orientation. But we've been to DR so many times, there isn't much new or change. They had a great band playing every night, which was enjoyable.

Other Comments This is a really nice resort, I would recommend it to anyone that does not mind doing alot of walking as this property is very large. And to be realistic as far as the food, this is good everyday, not fancy food.
Same every day, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perhaps one could go to the Mall there is a Hard Rock Cafe there a Pizza Place. I would not go back to this resort unless I got a really good deal.

We did not have the best weather when we were there, it was very windy so we didn't enjoy the beach as much a usual. The pools were really nice and it was a relaxing vacation and really that's what we were looking for. paradisepauline@yahoo.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The IFA beach was much cleaner then the surrounding resorts."

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica & Nick  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
781 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 28 to February 11
Basic flight in and a basic flight out of the country.

Rooms
Room was nice; it was close to the ocean. Our TV didn't work for the first 5 days and it took 3 requests to get a service man out. Also our ceiling leaked in the bathroom area, no one ever came to look at that. The rooms were really dark which made it hard to get ready in front of the mirror. Maid was really random at when she would clean our room. Some days it was done by 11:00AM other days not until 7:00PM. They had done a good job with all the reno's, since I was there 2 years ago.

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet food got really old fast!! The food is meant for people there for 1 week, however we were there for 2 and walked out of the buffet 3 times because there was nothing decent to eat. Pizza bar was amazing, best pizza ever. The a la cartes were okay, Mexican and Japanese were better then the Caribe. There were 2 less bars from 2 years ago.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Everything was perfect. The IFA beach was much cleaner then the surrounding resorts, there was a crew who raked up the seaweed. The grounds were keeps really clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Saona Island tour, which was amazing it was worth the money!

Other Comments
Travel agencies should update their information for this resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was in fact, the best place I have been to."

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Monique & Paul from Gatineau, Quebec  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
823 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 7 to 14 Arrived at the airport at 10 a.m. Went through customs really quickly and picked-up our luggage, also really quickly. Got to the Hotel within approximately 30 minutes after leaving the airport at approximately 1:00 p.m. Checked-in quickly, but had to wait until 3:00 p.m. to get our room as it was getting cleaned. Rooms Very very nice room and very clean. Air conditioning was a bit noisy, but it was working. Room was pretty sound proof as we could not hear any noise other than, once during the room, partyers coming late. First day after we got there, our room was not cleaned until 5:00 p.m. I had left 10 pesos (thinking it was worth approx. 3$ US) Next day, I left 3$ US, and each morning after also, and our room was cleaned ealier every day. Restaurants and Bars There were 3 a la carte restaurants, all very good. There were 3 bars (including one on the beach) and there was also one in the pool. There was a buffet at lunch time on the beach, which was excellent. There were two buffets for breakfast and for dinner, on the resorts, one of which was not open for lunch. The food was always warm and fresh. It was also good. They had a good variety although I did not taste everything (I'm fussy). However, we have no complaints about the food. Beach/Pools/Grounds Grounds were kept so clean. Every morning, the ladies were wahsing the grounds with javex and water and brooming. I have never seen a resorts so clean, including restrooms. There were 3 pools, all of them very clean and beautiful. The main pool was busier as the animation was there. The other two pools were more quiet. Chairs vere almost always available except for those ones which are reserved (pair of sandals on them) and not used all day long. Some of the tourists are irrespectful in that manner. Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel There was always some kind of animation on the beach and at the pool which was interesting to watch or to participate. Shows at night were ok although not as interesting from one night to the other. Animation staff was always very pleasant. Other Comments In general, I was happily surprised with this resort and would recommend it anytime. It was in fact, the best place I have been to. However, I was happy to be staying in the Village part and not the villas section as the villas were far away from the activities and the beach. But there was a little train going by all day long.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not good!"

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA
User Rating:  IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Shannon from Hamilton, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
814 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 4 - 11
our arrival was okay, we got our bags and began following the herd of other people and that led us to a pile of buses so all we could do was ask the drivers which bus was ours and got on. the bus was hot inside. that was ok though, we were greatful for the warm weather after leaving behind -30 degree weather. on the way there a man spoke to us on a microphone welcoming us to punta cana that was exciting. all was well i guess until the next day..the next morning the rain started and never stopped the entire time. day and night. until they day we left. i think by day 4i was in tears. thats when i learned from the weather forcast posted in the lobby it was going to rain the entire week.

Rooms
when we got there we noticed the room had ants just a few so no biggy we thought. My husband and i ended up being bitten all over our bodies by bedbugs. we slept everynight covered in muskoil insect repellent we brought from canada we had the doors shut. but every morning we awoke there were more welts and bites. bites in 3's. the way bedbugsbites bite. they call it breakfast lunch and supper. the tv broke for 2 days. 10 calls, 2 days,4 technicians later,of sitting inside during the rain they brought a new tv. this was after i went to the manager. the people at the front desk liked hanging up on us. or leaving us on hold never asking us to hold. just blank no one on the line over and over. finally the tv worked but with no english channels we were told that was 8$ a day extra so we paid for that and PPV. none of it ever worked. the manager himself tried fixing it and after a while just left. we never got our money back. towels were taken and piled on the ground outside our room. they would sit there all day and sometimes were not replaced until the next day when we asked. sink was never cleaned the maid would empty the garbage and make the bed. nothing more.

Restaurants and Bars
the food was terrible, nothing to write home about. my husband got food poisoning the first night we were there. be prepared to be ignored for long periods of time for coffee and drinks. we would have to ask for these things they never did them for us like they did for older people. we always tipped generously but they assumed because we were younger folks we would not. rediculous if you ask me. same at the bars and shows. we would have to wait to get a drink then tip them sit down then maybe they would come back to serve us. but if u sat down no one would aknowledge you at all. my husband caught the bar tender pouring water in the rum bottle. we couldnt believe that! no 2 drinks were the same. you order the same thing twice and it wouldnt be the same! usually watered down.

The bartender was grossly perverted tellin us his penis is large and licking his fingers while looking at me when my husband was turned away. gross! also if u had pesos the bar tenders lied and said they were worth less then they were so we ended up tipping large amounts! beach grill had hamburgers sitting there all day dried up with flies on all the food. the guy flatout refused to cook a fresh burger for us. when the suhar was gone for the cappachino machine the guy said finito. he refused to get us more. we paid another guy to do it. there so rude and greedy down there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
chairs bolted down and u will never get one because people leave sandals and towels on then for there entire vacation. over night the same peoples things were left so each day you never got a chair, we actually moved someones towel at one point no one was there all day then the french people came onver and screamed at us to get our of the chairs. we told them to take there towels and stayed. we got one hour of sun that day for the whole vacation because it rained every 10minutes the whole week.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
we got one excursion froma guy on the beach we took a speed boat the a coral reef and got to snorkle for a half hour for 100US. in the hotel the nolitours rep said 130US so its better off going to the beach and getting a deal. nolitours reps, are nothing but sales reps. they make 50% so they will tell u to use them. the trip was fun until the rain started then it felt like hail on our skin. i was terrified of being eaten by a shark so i got back in the boat after a few minutes. i never saw any colorful coral reef it was all white with little fish. again nothing to write home about.

Other Comments
a la cartes were bad. mexican is a buffet with little to choose from. all the coca colas had a bad weird after taste no matter where u got it. to shopping centre there is the biggest ripoff. 5$US for a bag of chips. tan oil 20US can of pop 1.50 US pringles 5$ u name it it was more then double of what we pay here. i saw dollar store body wash they wanted 15$ for! god that made me mad. i would never go back here. we asked to change rooms and they flat out said no. the shows are the same all the time they suck and are very sexual in nature. and were not prudes but there were children there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube