Sosua by the Sea Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Sosua > Sosua Hotel Index > Sosua by the Sea reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sosua Hotels with Similar Ranking

New Garden Hotel

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 7, 2011

Villa Almonte

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 27, 2014

Caribe Campo Club

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Sol De Plata Beach Resort

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 10, 2014

Casa Marina Beach

2.8 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Club Tropicana

2.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 18, 2014

Sosua by the Sea  

Calle B. Phillips - Sosua,

"Tranquil, quiet, restful."
Posted by: robin  on Mar 29, 2010
see all reviews

Sosua by the Sea Reviews
Sosua by the Sea Pictures and Information
Sosua by the Sea Sosua Dominican Republic

#4
of 26 Hotels in Sosua

User rating 4.8

Based on 4 reviews

Sosua by the Sea Information


Hotel Sosua By The Sea beckons you to sample its tropical atmosphere, it's friendly staff and it's tranquil surroundings. The hotel is truly the finest hotel on the beach...

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sosua by the Sea Reviews

Sosua by the Sea Review: 4.8 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 4 of 4

"Tranquil, quiet, restful."

Sosua by the Sea
User Rating:  Sosua by the Sea Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  robin  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
845 people found this review helpful


Restaurants and Bars:
Town is walking distance and busy enough for those looking for night life but also quiet enough for those that aren't.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Private secluded cove and beach around bend in walking distance from busier resort beach. Small waves and crystal clear water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
AN ABSOLUTE MUST is to find Chiquito on the beach and sign up for his horseback riding excursion. The most fun I've had on a trip so far and I'm not one to leave the beach. Very local experience through the mountains and galloping in the river then home cooked meal for lunch by his sister in her village. His number is 809-977-4619. Tell him Robin sent you!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place if you want to actually relax"

Sosua by the Sea
User Rating:  Sosua by the Sea Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sean  on Apr 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
883 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Excellent. Quick, to the point, not a million people trying to sell you timeshares or activities. They get you to your room quick so you can relax after the flight.

Rooms
My room was perfect for me, great king sized bed,spacious, a/c worked great. The only thing I would suggest is when you book a room, request that they don't give you one on the side of the entrance to the Public Beach , at times it got noisy.

Restaurants and Bars
One restaurant that was included with the all-inclusive,and 2 bars. There was another restaurant that offered ocean front dining that was not included in the all inclusive price, so I didn't check it out. Honestly didn't even need it, the food was awesome in the all inclusive restaurant,some days it was buffet and other days it was menu items. I loved the fact that one some days they included Dominican food as choices, nothing like Huevos con mangu lol

Beach/Pools/Grounds
No beach, but 10 feet away was the public beach. Pool wasn't that big but never crowded. Only thing that was annoying was the scuba school used the pool for an hour in the morning everyday. Grounds were very well maintained.

Other Comments
Great place if you want to actually relax. No crazy loud activities, or sales people . The staff was great,very very friendly. The hotel does not allow "outside guests" so there is no drunken debauchery going on. Gotta mention the view from the back of the hotel looking out at the water and the waves crashing on the rocks............absolutely breathtaking.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sosua by the Sea"

Sosua by the Sea
User Rating:  Sosua by the Sea Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vinnie  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
879 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
As our party of six were the only ones arriving at the time, the check in was quick and easy. My sister did not like her room, so they showed her another room and moved her there instead.

Rooms:
The rooms were very modern (boutique)and clean. We had a room that overlooked the pool and you can see past to the ocean. The beds were really comfortable and the pillows and bedding were great.

The first night, we had no hot water which alarmed us. We were told that they were working on replacing the tank that day, but I was sceptical. It turned out, they were telling me the truth because for the remainder of our two weeks there we had hot showers. The bathrooms were pretty small and basic though. Good thing we didn't have to spend a lot of time there.

Because there was no balcony in our room, it was hard to hang dry your bathing suits. A line in the bathroom would have been good. We had our laundry done at a little place across the street where I also had a pedicure and both my son and husband had haircuts for 200 pesos each.

Restaurants and Bars:
We took the all inclusive package but thought if we didn't like the food, we could try the local restaurants. Right from the start, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and presentation of the meals at the hotel restuarant. Usually, all the lunches and dinners had a choice of chicken, meat, fish or pasta and there was always something that appealed to us. The meals were a nice combination of either ala carte or buffet. There was always soup, fresh salad, fruit and desserts each day. On the few occassions where the kids were fussy about what was on offer, the kitchen accommodated them quite well. We enjoyed the meals so much that we didn't end up eating out at all except when we were on excursions.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The private beach, unfortunately, was washed down the bay two weeks before we arrived however, it didn't stop us from making the trek to where a new beach had been created. In fact, because it was a bit of a hike (10 minutes), it was very secluded. The beach, shared by the hotel next door, was battered by the waves which gave us quite the show on several days of our stay. Twice, we decided to go to the public beach in Sosua where the waves were a bit more tamed. If you can manage to go through the gauntlet of shop keepers and other hawkers (just walk fast and say "no thank you" a lot), you'll really enjoy this beach.

The pool at the hotel was well kept and very fresh. The grounds were not spectacular but well kept and very clean.
Watch out for the floors though, they can get very slippery.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The nice thing about this hotel is that you didn't have people hounding you to participate in activities. The music was kept to a minimum so you can actually hear the waves and enjoy a conversation or a book. If you wanted to go on tours, Mel Tours is just around the corner and they had some good tours. We took the Paradise Island tour which we do not recommend unless you enjoy a 2.5 hour bus ride (both ways) in a crampt bus and ending up on a crowded island with many, many people. I suppose if we didn't have such rough seas, we would have enjoyed the snorkeling a bit more, but for us, it was not worth the time or money. We did do the 7 Waterfalls trip, which was way more interesting and impressive. Before we arrived at the waterfalls, we spent the whole morning touring the countryside and taking in some interesting sites. Our guide, Elvis was incredibly knowledgeable and engaging. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The waterfalls were a lot of fun and well worth the hike. Both excursions included a nice lunch.

We went to Cabarete a couple of times and enjoyed the beach there. On one of the outings, we also went to El Choco which is a national park west of town. We took a tour with July our guide and he took us through the grounds and into a couple of small caves. It was short and sweet, but worth the side trip. We had Pizza on the main strip in Cabarete, and it was the best pizza we've had in a while. Again, you'll have to go through the gauntlet of shop keepers inviting you to visit their shop but there are some nice ones there. All along the beach in Cabarete are lined with bars and hotels. If you are into Kite-surfing this is the place to be. There must have been 50 of them in the air on one of the days we were there.

Other Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sosua by the Sea. The nicest thing about the hotel was the staff. Each and every person we encountered were super friendly and helpful. We can tell that many of the guests were returnees, because of the greeting and hugs from the staff. After 14 days we had gotten many high fives and hugs from the staff too. Please, please do tip them. I know it's suppose to be included in the price, but show them your appreciation as they all deserve it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect stay for us"

Sosua by the Sea
User Rating:  Sosua by the Sea Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Helen  on Jan 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
889 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 25/08 to Jan 8/09 OK

Rooms:
GOOD. Nice and clean and bright. We wish the bathroom area was upgraded and brighter.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good. Friendly service and fun.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No beach due to wash out. Pool was clean and the grounds are lovely.

Other Comments:
Perfect stay for us. Quiet and low key. New Year's was done well. Food on this resort is OUTSTANDING!!!!! Service is very good but they could have some better formal training to make it 100%. They try very hard and are so kind.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube