Barcelo Capella Beach Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Juan Dolio > Juan Dolio Hotel Index > Barcelo Capella Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Juan Dolio Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Real Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 12, 2011

Coral Costa Caribe

2.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 21, 2014

Barcelo Capella Beach  

Calle Carretera Nueva, Juan Dolio

"well maintained hotel"
Posted by: mabel on Jul 10, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Capella Beach Reviews
Barcelo Capella Beach Pictures and Information
Barcelo Capella Beach Juan Dolio Dominican Republic

#2
of 16 Hotels in Juan Dolio

User rating 2.8

Based on 6 reviews

Barcelo Capella Beach Information


Located on the shores of Villas del Mar Beach, in the Dominican Republic, the Barceló Capella Beach Resort is a tropical paradise in a world of its own, offering its guests all the amenities of the most prestigious resorts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Capella Beach Reviews

Barcelo Capella Beach Review: 2.8 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"Avoid this resort!"

Barcelo Capella Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Capella Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith  on Jan 19, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
873 people found this review helpful

My wife and I like to travel and have found the Caribbean area quite nice for a winter getaway. However this all changed between 12/25/09 & 1/1/10.
I have made a list of all the problems that we had encountered in all of the different rooms that we had stayed in.
Problems with rooms 3319
(1) Mold on walls in bathroom.
(2) Thermostat was only held in place by wire that connected it so it rotated which made it impossible to control temperature in room. (3) Room cramped with too much furniture.
(4) Buttons on chair in room rusted, brown stain on white beach cover up.
(5) Dust on Stucko walls made it look like room was painted 2 tone.
(6) Lock on door fell off because screws had been stripped.
(7) All fixtures in room are corroded (rusty).
(8) Phone and TV wires hanging out of wall boxes.

Room 4104
(1) Sewage and sewer gas backing up into bathtub and sink, water seeping up thru floor.
(2) Sliding door in room very hard to move (my wife could not move it) and lock doesn’t work.

Room 4319
(1) Air conditioner only has 1 fan speed and temperature unable to adjust, have to adjust temperature in room by opening sliding door.
(2) Mattress on bed is pillow top down and very uncomfortable.
(3) Wicker chairs on balcony worn out, have to be careful so that don’t get cut by broken wicker.

Your Arrival:
When we arrived there where another couple checking in and 3 attendants at the front desk, we were ignored because the only one that could speak English was helping the other couple but finally did get our room.

Rooms:
It is suggested that it is a 5 star and upon arrival the room that we received 3319 had numerous maintenance problems and I would give it a 1star (*) at best. I went to the front desk and attempted to get a room change on the first day of our stay and was turned down. My thoughts were that being in a foreign country and not speaking Spanish we will just have to make the best of it.
On Monday of our stay I went to the front desk again and after getting loud the attendant found another room that we moved to 4104 which on 1st moving to this room we felt that we had been upgraded (4 star) still not what is advertised. I called the front desk Tuesday and reported that the bath tub was not draining and was told that someone would be there to check, no one showed up to check problem. Then Wednesday after spending the day on the beach my wife had gotten to much sun and wanted to come back to the room and just relax before our reservation for dinner because she had a headache. When we arrived in our room there was a maintenance person with an electric hammer outside of our room and the noise in our room was overwhelming, I asked him what was going on and he informed me that there was a problem in the room next door and that he would be done making all the noise in 30 min. I told him that he had to stop the noise and went to the front desk to report the problem. Upon returning to my room I found the bath tub filled with sewage and water on the floor by the sink we were unable to use the bathroom so then I went to the front desk again, this time they offered a different room so I packed our entire luggage again (My wife feeling worse after all the noise and sewer smell in our room was unable to help) and moved it to another room (4319) and missed our reservation that evening. I informed the desk that the air conditioner in this room would not adjust fan speed or temperature and that the TV had very poor reception and was told that they would repair immediately, they did nothing.
My experience is that your hotel is very much lacking in maintenance and that the front desk and maintenance lacks sense of urgency and the only way to get attention is to get loud while other guests are at check in. I have not experienced this on any of my previous travels which have included the Dominican Republic as well as many other destinations.
The maid service was very inconsistent one day leaving beverages and the next day leaving the fridge empty, towels had to be removed from the room and washed before new towels would be put in room, we asked for wash cloths and they didn't know what we wanted.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurants had a few good items but mostly it was not appealing to my taste. We did find the reservation restaurants quite nice and food was good and some was even exceptional.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is quit nice except for all of the cigarette butts and locals that come on the weekends, many venders roaming the beach but if you ignore them or tell them that you are not interested they will leave you alone. If you do decide to purchase something negotiate the price because most of the time you can buy for 1/4 the price that they initially ask.
Trash was not picked up until completely full, lights along walks moistly just flashed on then off.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Shows in evening are OK but not as good as have seen at all of the other places that we have stayed. We did take a tour to Santa Domingo and had a very good time, alot of history and went to some shops as well as street vendors, this was quite the experience.

Other Comments:
In all I suggest that if you want to have a vacation that you will never forget go the Barcelo Capella Beach in Juan Dolio but if you want to have a relaxing vacation find another location. After complaining about the accommodations or lack of we did receive a letter from the director offering us a 2 night 3 day stay for free but have declined this offer because I don't believe the 2nd trip would be any different than the 1st.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Shame on you barcelo Capella dominican republic"

Barcelo Capella Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Capella Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Miguel  on Jan 12, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
508 people found this review helpful

I known this hotel chain to be one of the best operating in the Dominican Republic, however, I'm very disappointed on the last two visits to resorts that they manage, this time, Capella, located in Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic, here are my bullet points:
1- Check in a disaster, the front desk was packed with angry customers for various reasons, I couldn't get my room until about 5:00 P.M.
2- Rooms look old and not kept well in general.
3- Unable to get beach towels as they do not have enough.
4- Had to use the buffet for all my meals as they said that since I only booked one night I couldn't reserve for a la carte.
On the positive side:
1- Meals are OK. for the price,
2- Friendly service at the restaurant.

Room Number:
2226

Arrival:
January 3rd-the 4th,2012

Rooms:
Needs lots of work.

Restaurants and Bars:
OK

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
OK

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
n/a

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Holiday was nice, I would change a few things...."

Barcelo Capella Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Capella Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Krista  on Nov 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
628 people found this review helpful

The hotel was nice,The elevators are slow...and the main floor is zero...our room was 2211 on the 1st floor...hmmm... We stayed in room 2211 it was VERY MUSTY and everything was damp all week..everything...the sheets..pillowcases..everything!!! The grounds/garden are amazing the maintenance staff were very friendly..MOST of the resturant staff are rude...the food was goodI got the feeling it was too much to ask for a glass of water.Fri-Sun the locals are at the hotel and seats at the buffet are hard to find. The back pool with the water slide could have been cleaner....but with the rain it's hard to keep the leafs out of the water. The vendors on the beach did not bother me..I just said "no thank you" and they left me alone...my mother on the other hand would stop...as how they were doing...making small talk...and after the week she had over 150 dollars of product...lol...they can be very persistant...stay stong(but polite) and just say "no thank you"...and they walk away...either way enjoy the sun!!!

Room Number:
2211

Room Block:
second building

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Almost perfect"

Barcelo Capella Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Capella Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  DAVID  on Nov 15, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
155 people found this review helpful

Hotel: well laid out, extremely well maintained

Room: Oceanfront room however no balcony or terrace, bit musty smelling, very good water pressure, and excellent air conditioning, only problem was getting maid service completed every other day, tardy or forgetfull, very clean and spacious

Beach: beauitifull sandy beach with ample chairs, ocean utself was very rocky (large rocks) but i knew that coming in, very good swimming areas but very few water activities

Pools: numerous and spotless, some with swim up bar

Dinning: more than adequate buffet, the only night i booked the only a la cart I was ill and coulld not eat, the restaurant was quite nicely appointed

Staff: all staff very friendly and courteous although very few of them were fluent in English, getting service in the buffet for a single vtraveller bwas difficult

Shows: entertainment 6 nights with one beach party, active disco

Transport: coming from Canada you had to land in Punta Cana and then take a 3 hour bus ride to the hotel, the drivers both bus drivers and locals drove like maniacs to the point of endangering everyone, this is why I would not make a return trip

Conclusion: other than the transportation this resort is on the verge of being 4 stars at a lower level, I recomend you take the driving risk once and visit

Room Number:
1305

Room Block:
1000

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel"

Barcelo Capella Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Capella Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leatrice  on May 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
502 people found this review helpful

We returned last week from Barcelo Capella in Juan Dolio. We have traveled to the Dominican Republic many times, but this was our first time on the southern part of the island.

We were very happy with the Barcelo Capella. The grounds were very well maintained and the food was good. The service was good, but not overly friendly.

The beach was beautiful. It was shallow and tranquil, so we were able to do a lot of snorkeling. There was plenty of shade, which is important to me, as I tend to burn. My boyfriend is a scuba diver, and he was very satisfied with the dive center at the hotel.

My only complaint is that there is not a lot to do in Juan Dolio, and I was a bit bored. But if you are looking for a relaxing vacation of sitting on the beach, I would definitely recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"well maintained hotel"

Barcelo Capella Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Capella Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mabel  on Jul 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
30 people found this review helpful

I went to this hotel during my annual vacation and stayed here for 5 days. As usual, before I go to any hotel, I have to read reviews about the place online before going. For this hotel, I saw good reviews and then made up my mind to go and when I got there, it was exactly as people have described it. It is a very nice place to stay while on vacation in DR. It is my first time in DR and I had an amazing time out here. Generally, the hotel is a nice and comfortable place with well maintained grounds and great management. The location is great as it is located near a beach which is an amazing plus to the good side of this hotel, the rooms were perfect, large enough, clean, comfortable beds and the basic amenities were present in the room and also they were all working. The bathrooms are clean and big enough with hot water running. The maid in charge of housekeeping was nice and polite so it was easy to chat with her. The food served here are okay and delicious with nice restaurant staff smiling at you. The beach here is beautiful and clean, hardly saw seaweeds on it just maybe once and it was later free of it. The staff was all nice and polite, they were happy to be here and that was really great. I had an amazing experience at this hotel and will be coming back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube