Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center  

Carretera Bavaro. Km. 1

"it was paradise"
Posted by: leo on Jul 10, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Reviews
Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Pictures and Information
Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#16
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 2.8

Based on 12 reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Information


The Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center (only adults), located on the first line of beach, amidst wonderful Cocotal is the center of life for Excellence Playa Bavaro, the authentic Bávaro Beach. The ideal environment for people who love watersports, for quiet honeymoon couples, and a fun and safe environment for couples with children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 2.8 of 5 12 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  3
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (9)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 12

"I would definitely vacation at this resort again"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra ~ Mississauga, Ontario, Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
443 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Arrived just before midnight, a short wait at the reception area, however this is nothing new, things move at a slower pace in other parts of the world, especially in Carribbean resorts.

Rooms
Having read some of the reviews posted, my expectations were not high, so I was thrilled with the room - although the age of the room showed, it was clean and large with everything operational. We did not experience any problems with water, electricity or air conditioning. The only issue that we had was that the safe was left closed by the previous occupants, so we needed to request maintenance to have the safe opened in order to store our passports and cash. With our late arrival I was told that someone would come by to fix it first thing in the morning, so to ensure that they had not forgotten I called again and was very pleased when a maintenance employee showed up in less than 5 minutes.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffet restaurants were identical to other resorts in the DR (I have stayed at approximately 10 hotels in DR), however I thought that the Beach Grill was outstanding and much better than anything that I have experienced before, including 5 star resorts on other Islands and in Mexico. The Beach Grill offers a selection of fresh meats, fish and seafood on a daily basis along with a salad bar, paella, french fries and pizza slices. You choose the food item and wait while it is grilled, this takes a bit longer but the beef tenderloin steaks are incredible as is the selection of fish, of which I tried the salmon, red snapper and shrimp, just have a glass of wine or a drink while you are waiting. Italian and Mexican restaurants were fabulous (located at the Caribe and Beach resorts). I had read that there were long waits at the bars, however I did not find them long, I viewed the wait time as an opportunity to look at the spectacular views of the ocean or have a quick conversation with another vacationer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was spectacular and kept very clean, you can walk for hours in one direction and about 30 minutes in the other direction. The groundskeepers are always at work in the mornings, sweeping and washing away the sand around the pool area. The seaweed on the beach is also being constantly raked up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did not leave the resort as we are beach/pool bunnies, but we did hear from many that the Saona catamaran trip was very enjoyable. You can participate in the usual activites organized by the Animacion team such as Pool and Beach aerobics, dance lessons, bocce ball, darts, etc., or you can sit and observe others participating.

Other Comments
A great resort, employees are friendly, resort is clean and well maintained, I would definitely vacation at this resort again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We Love this place"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debra from NH  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
462 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 19 - July 25, 2009
We Love this place. This is our second visit this year and plan to go back next year. The people are all nice. Remember they speak Spanish in the Dominican Republic. Brush up before you go. Learn the basics. How are you, have a good day, thank you, how much. The staff appreciate if you make the effort to speak to them and thank them for taking care of you.

Rooms:
If you want a newer modern room. Stay at the Palace Junior Suites. The rooms are clean, the bathroom has a huge shower with two of those big ceiling shower heads and 2 hand sprayers. We had a room on the end, 2nd floor, right on the beach. The deck has a hot tub. There is plenty of storage, robes, king size bed and large screen TV. Hint: Tip your maid, we did $5.00 a day, she will take care of you. Overstocked minibar and the better towels refreshed each day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots to choose from. Our favorite was the Steak House. Buffets are good, lots to choose from. We never had to wait at the bar like some people have said. Hint: Tip the bartender a dollar - they will remember you and you'll get your drinks faster.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the cleanest I have seen. The grounds crew work really hard to keep it that way. Never have to search for a beach chair. Pools are nice too but we prefer the beach. Hint: Get to the beach by 10am to get a chair under one of the tree'd areas. This will allow you to move your chair from the shade to the sun and avoid getting burned.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort has a casino, small compared to US standards, golf course, tennis courts, pools, peddle boats, wind surf boards, Hobie Cats and Kayaks. All but golf is free. We spent hours on the Hobie Cats. Hint: Book your Hobie Cat with the beach crew early. Check at 10 minutes after the hour, if someone has not shown for their appointment, you can get one. In one day we spent three hours on one. You can also cruise out to Dolphin Island and see the Dophins for free.

Other Comments:
This is all inclusive but a little tip, $1.00 or so, goes a long way. The staff will remember you and take extra care of you. The small gift shops are very expensive, bring enough suntan lotion - they charge up to $43.00. Don't kid yourself the sun if strong even when overcast. If you run out go to the flea market at the end of the resort past La Pina - you will pay less than half price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never again."

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrea from Halifax  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
838 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2009
We were to stay at the Palace, which is the 5-star hotel in the complex but were dropped off at a different hotel. We waited in a long line up before the mistake was noticed and even then, the staff didn't seem to know where we should go to check in. When we finally did get to where we had to go, check in took another couple of hours for all of the guests registering there that afternoon. Not sure what the problem was.
Check out was not better. We could not keep our room for the entire day and then our flight was delayed, but nobody bothered to inform us and we ended up waiting in the lobby for our airport transfer for many hours...without being anyone letting us know what was going on. We asked, but it was like pulling teeth.

Rooms:
Modern decor, but not overly clean. There was a large dead spider in our bed and a blood engorged musquito that had been squashed on the wall that was never cleaned up the entire time we were there.

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible. We've been to Cuba and heard the food there was not comparable to places like DR or Mexico, but Cuba was an exquisite culinary experience compared to this place. There were SWARMS of flies on the food. I couldn't even get food from underneath, there were that many flies. We tried all the restaurants and it was pretty much the same. The least disgusting restaurant was the Golf resort. The a la carte restaurants were a bit better but the line ups were very long. The red wine was so watered down, it was pink.
After 36 hours, we became physically ill to our stomachs and it took us a few months to recover.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was crowded and noisy. The motorized watersports and helicopters were incessant - I felt like I was in a war-zone. It was impossible to get a lounger and the beach area was packed. The pool areas were like a big frat party, but yet it wasn't Spring Break.
The most unrelaxing vacation ever.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No, I just wanted to go home.

Other Comments:
Never again. We spoke with many guests who were repeat customers and they all said the resort had changed - the food was terrible and that the wine was watered down. They too said they would not be coming back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved it."

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Feb 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
867 people found this review helpful

Its been a number of years since I've stayed here. This time I was the leader of 16 people that came from cold snowy Wisconsin. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and complex. The food was very good as we tryed almost every restaurant in the complex. Service we thought was very good. Friendly and accomodating. The beach and grounds were well cared for. One thing I did notice on this trip was the lack of hawkers walking up and down the beach. There were a few but not near the number there used to be. And I didn't miss them. the consensus was that we would all go back again and stay here.

Rooms:
Were clean and well cared for. Make friends with the cleaning staff on the first day and they take extra care of you for your whole stay. Extra beer or pop in the refrig, or extra coffee etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints on the food or the drinks. Alsways good to try something new.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immaculate. The beach area was cleaned every morning usually by 7 am. Other hotels down the beach weren't cleaned until later in the day.

Other Comments:
Overall a good stay. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff, grounds and beach save the hotel."

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Apr 5, 2010  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2010
1841 people found this review helpful

At the start of my Dominican Republic trip, I decide to stay one night at the super sized Barcelo Palace Hotel.

My cab driver Carlo charges 1000 Dominican Peso’s ($ 28 US) for the ride from Punta Cana airport to the Barcelo Palace Hotel. One hour after landing I enter the Barcelo Palace lobby. It is the Friday before Easter and the hotel is filled up to the brim. It has not been easy to get a one-night reservation for a single room ( I am a women travelling on my own) since hotels in Punta Cana avoid this kind of bookings.

My room, # 6029, does not feature a frontal ocean view but thankfully I can see the Ocean from my terrace on the ground floor. Very refreshing after plowing through a nasty winter. Still I cannot deny feeling slightly depressed this first night of my DR arrival. This might have something to do with my 10-hour flight or the fact that I am not a huge fan of all inclusive vacation resorts. Having said that, I always felt quite all right staying in Melia (Paradisus) resorts elsewhere. Maybe I feel this way because from the first moment onwards, the Barcelo Palace comes across like a resort where routine reigns. I suppose that to some extend this is normal, but I feel more processed rather than welcomed.

Check-in::
Despite it is the Easter weekend, there is only one gentleman in front of me at time of check in and after 30 minutes I am walking with a porter to my room # 29 in building six. It is not easy at all to get the porter to leave my room and although I have plenty of experience travelling in the Caribbean, I feel slightly uncomfortable with this pushy male in my room.

Room::
My room is big, has a tile floor en smells moldy. Like always I look underneath my bed, here I discover lots of piled up dust. The bathroom also looks like it has been cleaned in 30 seconds. The mattress cover and curtains don’t look fresh, towels are old, the soap dispenser is dirty and needs replacement, the poster on the wall is way to small for the size of its frame and the base of the large standing light is rusting as are the two iron chairs and table on the terrace. Time doesn’t take it easy on most of everything.

The airco also has its routine as it kicks in every half hour with a noise that in combination with the disco nearby guarantees a sleepless night. The television channels come in fuzzy and the sound of TV is almost as awful as that of the airco. I always wonder:" Why do hotel rooms always have so little outlets available for the time you want to plug in your laptop ?" Well you get it, the room is a total disaster but to be fair I have to mention it is also sunny and the water pressure of the shower is ok. The bed is also nice and big and the safety chain on the door is a feature, which I, being a woman travelling “solo”, highly appreciate.

The minibar holds two beers, Coca Cola (light and regular!), a large bottle of water and some other types of soft drinks. There is an ice bucket available but this is of no use to me since the ice compartment ironically needs to be de-iced before it can become functional again.

Grounds::
The wide beach is nothing less than spectacular; white powder sand, palm trees and of course a marvelous blue sea. Lots of loungers too! The surrounding grounds are kept up perfectly by gardeners who are picking up leaves, pruning trees and harvest the coconuts just before they might fall on someone’s head. I see some little birds flying up and down with twigs, building their nests high up in the palm tree. Evidently spring also has arrived here.

The pathways towards the beach, restaurants, lobby and rooms gently wind through a landscape made up by lush vegetation and a vast number of palm trees. Nicely done!

Restaurants::
During the check-in process, I learned about the various restaurants of Barcelo Palace. One is closed which seems awkward during the busy Easter weekend. I can imagine that once you arrive for the first time in a large resort like this one, you feel kind of overwhelmed by all the (restaurants) choices, which are at your disposal; at least that happened to me. I decided therefore to hit the lobby bar first. The white wine is inelegantly poured out of an, also super sized, plastic bottle. After sitting down at one of the small tables, a friendly waitress offers me some bite size sandwiches decorated with combinations of cheese, tomato, ham, chorizo and some kind of caviar. Nicely and not so nicely dressed families pass me by on way to the restaurants which all are located nearby the pool. After my drink, I also decide to find out which restaurant can offer me a relaxed and quiet table to eat.

The French restaurant Chez Palace is non-smoking en does not look cozy at all due to way to much white light. The menu displayed at the entrance looks attractive to me but “ambience” is more important to me. I move on to the buffet, which many families with children seem to prefer and where the noise level on a scale from 1-10 is about eleven. After crossing the small bridge over the swimming pool I find a nice, small restaurant with a large number of folks waiting outside for a table. Not exactly what I planned to do so I move on to the Dominican Restaurant around the corner, which hugs the beach and offers local specialties. I like this! The restaurant is not busy at all; this might have something to do with the fact that many visitors are unfamiliar with the dishes explained on the menu and their Caribbean ingredients. Local food is local, so I pick Yucca Soup, rice, beans in a special sauce, fried chicken pieces and fried banana. My desert consists of a popular traditional sweet made from condensed milk with a caramel topping, which is called “flan”. All in all I enjoy a great meal although I have my doubts if the red house wine has not been watered down;)

Breakfast in the buffet restaurant is just fine. Lots of choices, friendly staff, fast and good service and fresh squeezed juices made from fruits of my choice.

Activities::
Because I only stay here one night and I have to confront the inevitable jetlag, I skip the evening show and go to sleep right after dinner. In the lobby I did see an activities board with lots of options and two desks with representatives where you can book off-resort excursions as well as various information desks.

Pool::
Way to small! Especially when the hotel is packed!

Internet::
In these modern times I think that it is a rip-off when hotels charge you for Wi-Fi. This should be a standard service! Internet costs at the Barcelo Palace run from $5 US for 15 minutes using one of the 4 PC’s in the lobby to $ 60 US for Wi-Fi, which covers the whole complex, on your laptop.

Other comments::
I imagined the Barcelo Palace to be much more luxurious, offering services of a much higher level. In my opinion this is a commercial tourist factory, lacking a sense of romanticism, a place where they forget to enhance the experience of staying on a truly fantastic beach. Maybe a new management with a fresh approach could bring a much-needed change and couple a brilliant location with a superb resort experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I liked the hotel.. it was a 4 star hotel room in a 3 star resort."

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  SuperEggz1  on Apr 11, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
851 people found this review helpful

I finally had time to sit down and write my review.. I got back 2 weeks ago and sadly my tan is fading away. Here is my break down:

I liked the hotel.. it was a 4 star hotel room in a 3 star resort. Me and my wife booked this hotel just to escape the horrible winter we had here in the north east and it did the trick. If your planning a trip with your friends or spouse just to get away this hotel is for you. If your looking for a romantic getaway this is certainly not the place!!

Your Arrival:
CHECK IN - TOTAL NIGHTMARE We arrived Via Turniter travels at 3:30pm as check in was 3pm. The line was long and our room wasnt ready yet. We went for lunch and came back and waited on a longer line. They give us our room key and a small map and say enjoy your stay. We will send something over to your room as a token for waiting this long. (nothing ever came) Finally got to our room at 5:30 and The safe was broken!! It took an hour to get someone up to fix it. It needed to be re programmed!!

Rooms:
ROOMS - We had the Junior deluxe suit and it was a great room. Ill tell you know dont waste your money on an ocean view or ocean front. there are 4 blocks in a U shape and the ocean view is the center of the block and the ocean front is right up front but its where everyone walks and you get no privacy. Plus the sprinklers come on and soaked people who were relaxing. Its all the same exact room your just paying more!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH - ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! This is where the hotel rebounds. It was beautiful and quiet.. There were plenty of chairs and there were places under neath the trees for shade and you can bring the chairs any place you wanted. I bought a small plastic cooler cause I heard from others that there is no service at the beach itself I bought a small one that fits about 6-8 beers and it worked perfectly. There is no waiter service and trust me you would die of thirst if there was. If You drink beer buy a cooler.. Or just fill it up with coke and buy a bottle of rum. The service at the bar is a disaster also. Also beware of women going topless.. Trust me its not as glamorous as you might think.

POOLS - over crowded on the other sections but the pools on our specific resort was deep and it had a diving section which was fun and more open. we had fun there but some moron spilled his drink in the pool and they never cleaned it up. Seriously the pina colada streak was in the pool for 2 days. They never cleaned it at night.

Other Comments:
RESORT - We traveled around the resort on the trolley and saw the other hotels which were not that good. This hotel was the best part of the whole resort. Me and my wife really enjoyed our stay but wished the hotel had better service. If you are spending this kind of money it would be nice that your treated well. I used to be a waiter and I am not a demanding person but some of the staff people looked like they didnt even want to be there!!

At Night time - It dimly lit by the beach and the side walk area where you travel to the resorts. Kinda dangerous because you really cant see that far but nothing to worry about.

We checked out.. Dropped off our keys and they kept us in the lobby area waiting for security to check out the room for any damage. THis hasnt happened to me since my college days.. I was not happy. We laughed about our experience on the bus going to the airport with others because they all agreed the service was terrible and for a resort this big a small map and no English speaking employees.

This is my 2nd time in Punta Cana.. I dont think I will be returning to this country again unless I come across an amazing deal. Mexico is 10000 times better!!!

I think me and my wife are going to explore the rest of the Caribbean from here on out.

SERVICE:
SERVICE - Non existent !!!! I mean it is horrible.. If you dont speak Spanish GOOD LUCK!!! I have been to Mexico numerous times and never once had a problem with service. We didnt bother with restaurants because the lines were always long. We stuck to the buffets and you would grab food and then have to wait for someone to bring you a drink. First you had to get them to take your drink order and then wait 10 mins for the drink. I am from NYC.. I need coffee first thing before I eat.. Good luck waiting for coffee!!! If you speak Spanish you will get top service cause it was insulting on how they took care of you. Tipping didnt help either!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jenny  on Apr 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
820 people found this review helpful

This is a poor excuse for an all inclusive resort!! This is not our first trip to Punta Cana but our first stay at Barcelo Bavaro Palace and will be our last. After 2 days, even with beautiful weather and a beautiful beach, I was ready to come home; accommodations were awful.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was OK; a bit of a wait because the people ahead of us 'had a problem of some sort' (this should have been our first clue).

Rooms:
Awful!! The pictures they show in no way represented our room. Very old - had to be original, dirty, refrigerator rusty and only re-filled when I complained, patio furniture ready to fall apart and the worst was the bed and bedding. King size bed that was so old and broken down that we both had back problems all week. They put a flat queen size sheet on a king size bed as the bottom sheet, no mattress pad, which meant you ended up on the dirty, and I do mean dirty, old mattress during the night. I got up regularly to try to cover up the mattress so I could get alittle sleep. Some days no clean towels - ended up getting clean pool towels one day so we could take a shower and this was after 5:00 pm. I always wore shoes in the room as I felt like nothing was clean. Maids not friendly or accommodating in any way. We usually left our room by 9:00 AM and did not come back until after 4:00 and our room still would not be cleaned most days and I DID hang out the sign to clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars are too small to accommodate the number of people. And at night, the lobby bar was so crowded you might be lucky to get a drink. In our complex was the buffet, a SMALL Italian restaurant, one other small restaurant which is another story, and the French restaurant which you had to pay additional for (was never crowded). Food was often cold in the buffet; nice variety if you aren't American. Very little English spoken.
Lobby bar/stage area was dominated in the evenings until 10:00 pm by small chilren and a clown with LOUD music. What about some nice adult music and find some other place to entertain the kids? You couldn't even talk nor could you hear the piano player by the bar. The 'other small restuarant' - sits on the beach - we came in from beach, no shoes but shirts on and was turned away because we did not have shoes on BUT one young lady with a thong on and no cover-up was seated immediately. I personally could care less how much skin they show but think this was a bit off.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach area!! And usually plenty of chairs. Some broken that need replaced. Pool area too small for the number of people (it seemed that guests from two other complexes used the pool because they did not have one) and if you wanted a chair, you had to get out by 7:00 AM. Grounds were nice and the buildings looked nice from the outside until you walked into your room. No drink servers on the beach.

Other Comments:
Not the good experiences that I have had at other all-inclusives in Punta Cana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"INEXPENSIVE RESORT, BUT VERY DISAPPOINTING!!"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  jason manning  on Jul 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
874 people found this review helpful

the staff super freindly/wellcoming,the security was awesome,pool is way 2small,dirty & gets very roudy/wild with all the local dominicans,the food OMG!horible 1000% we vomited for 5days stright,the liqour( SUCKS ) isnt watered down, its produced with very little alchohal so poeple dont get out of hand,it, i drank 3 full cups of stright bacello rum and i had only a litebuzz!, i ended up buying a good bottle of brugal outside the resort.i heard from a staff member that the resort,is catering more 2 familys,so thats y they dont have many nite/adult activities, they basically keep the resort dark at nite so u got to sleep,wake up early & spend allday buying tours, This resort is ran as a $ machine nothing more,unless ur buying tours,ur very bored,basically everything they include for "free" in ur package SUCKS and its of low quality,the taxi bus( included in our package) from the airport is a ripoff $40 and its a 15min ride & according to our package it was included, on the way back we hired a private taxi off the street it was only 15bucks.everything in this resort its made out 2 look expensive but its not, the niteclud waslike 110degress at 2am,it was super loud/crowded & offcorse as anywere in the resort the liqour waslike alchohal free, the beach veryy noisey & the waters r rough with a million tour boats,helicopters & all sorts of motorized activites, in this resort they just want to keep spending a tons of money each days ur there,i call it the factory resort,becuse it looks like a factory , i will certainly go back to DR, i love the country & the poeple & the dollar goes a longway, but not at this resort sorry,i couldnt wait to get back home..

Rooms:
our room facing the beach was beautifull,very clean,great service,huge LCD tv,beautifull bathroom, the top of the line room we stay at facing the beach was excellent i will say that..no complaints about the rooms.be ready 2 b woken up at 4am with plenty of drunken poeple screaming/runing/fighting.

Restaurants and Bars:
huge selections of resturants/foods but they all suck!,flies all over the foods, what ever is leftover from the nite b4 they chop it up & turn in2 a salad,many dirty plates too,the water is warm & if u put ice in it get ready for the vomiting and dieahria the nextday.very long fusterateing line 2 eat anything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the pool super small,super crowded with loud agressive poeple,it looked like a collage poolparty,cups by the dozens in the pool.poeple doing bellyflops, my beer got full of water a dozen times,not a plesant exerpince esperically on fridays and sat, when they allow the local dominicans in the resort 2party..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
theres plenty of activities if u want to spend a fortune ( they want u 2do that).unless u r buying tours, u will be very borded,theres nothing 2do but to buy into those expensive activites..

Other Comments:
i will certianly go back to DR..like i said there great humble poeple,the country is beautfull,its very cheap to travle there,but i wont be going to any barccello resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"NO, DO NOT GO!!! THEY DO NOT CARE, THEY GIVE YOU PAID ROOM AWAY, THEY HAVE MOSQUITOS!!!!!"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Belkys  on Aug 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
867 people found this review helpful

11 persons in my vacation, all but one adults, one age 3. my parents 72, and 71, everyone else from age 25 to age 52, all professionals, non-drinking 9 persons, only 2 drinks if any for the two persons that do drink. They do not care, who visits the hotel. They do not Care!! that is the conclusion we have ended with. They do not want to speak to you if you are not Happy or having a problem. They just have to give you a room, and check the room when you check-out to make sure you did not take anything!!!! even if it was not there when you checked in. MAKE SURE YOU REPORT IN WRITING!!!! ANYTHING MISSING AT CHECK-IN. MUST DO SO, DO NOT FORGET. The missing plastic ice holder, which was not in the room since it was cleaned the 2nd day, was the hold up for 2 1/2 hours at check - Out, We did not ever use it so, so we did not report it missing. I'll be more than happy to open my bags and have them checked in the lobby, infront of everyone, I have nothing to hide. They never gave us an answer, I waited hours for them to find the plastic ice holder, Did they find it??? I still do not know. What kind of people visit this Hotel? they have to check the rooms at your departure. WOW. they will not be visited by my friends and Family, that is for sure.

Arrival:
1. Arrived on 7/30/10 around 9 PM, Barcelo Bavaro Palace, they say this is not the hotel take your things and you will be transported to the next hotel Palace Deluxe, they have your rooms, ok,
2. Arrived at 2nd Hotel Palace Deluxe, they are asking me why we are there? Because I was send by the 1st. hotel here to check in, we do not have your rooms. you have to go to the 3rd hotel Palace Family (the new one) they have your rooms. What are you saying? This is crazy we have confirmed and paid reservations. Why do you not have our rooms? "I can not help you, I do not have the rooms, you will be at Family one tonight and then tomorrow you will move to the other correct hotel." NO WAY, I will not be moved any more, You have the rooms and the guy at that desk is shaking his head, because of what you are saying. what game is it you play? I have elderly travelers and a small child, what is wrong with you? do you really think we are going to send our vacation moving hotel rooms? NO NO, I will sit here until you get this matter and our rooms solved here, not moving. I will be here, and we will all sit here, until you can get this mess together. I do speak Spanish, so do not get nasty, in Spanish, I do understand.
4. Called our travel agent.
5. Called lady at 1st., hotel. she gave us an apology for the mistakes, and said you will be taken care of. ok, I said. thank you.
6. We finally had rooms (5) rooms, 2 persons per room, as reserved. they were two rooms next to each other on 1st floor of building 4, one in the 2nd floor, one in the 4th floor and in building 3, one in the 3rd floor. But why say anything, we had rooms!! Happy. The rooms are beautiful, the mosquitos NOT!!!! everyday all day, Mosquitos!!!! and more Mosquitos. WHY???

Rooms:
NICE CLEAN and Great.....!!! Really Great. Take inventory of all things every thing, make a list and take to them at chekin. DO SO. They think you take things, even if you do not.

Restaurants and Bars:
everyday all day, Mosquitos!!!! and more Mosquitos. Chicken Soup was GOOD, Great, Bread was good, Desserts fantastic.
8. the other, Food was not too tasty?? all the same in every restaurant. well, that's life. The workers (cooks, maids and helpers, bag boys, bell boys, VERY VERY NICE!!!!!! love them all. they work hard.

11. The restaurants at the Casino, Hotel, smells BAD, BAD water smell!!!!! you can not eat, at this restaurant because you can smell is so bad, so this restaurant is always with less visitors, wander why???...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
10. Truly, the beach temperature was great!!!, Love it, but the beach was not clean, they need to clean and take care of the Mosquitos,

Never visited the pool too far from my hotel, they are building a new one infront of the room I was staying in, wanderful, for the next person to visit, not for me.

Distance is too much for elderly my parents, they walk, but this was too much for them, because of the temp. weather also affected the situation.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
9. Unless you go to ALL the area Hotels and see the calenders you have no idea if there are shows? or parties? or what ever, no itinerary or calender to help plan your days, and activities, WHY they are a Big Well known hotel??? NO organization for the programs offered, not good with the amount of persons checking in daily. They have to get organized and have an organized schedule for persons wanting to do things.
12. They need more help in the Casino, you wait for over 5 minutes for someone to help if a machine is not working. Not GOOD...
13. Stores in the Barcelo Barvaro inside shops, they need to be organized and updated, too much stuff, but nothing to really buy, you can not find anything nice at any price. they are old things and dusty, not clean, Gum is $4.50 and up??? why??? If they do not have good sales, there is a reason why. they need uptodate stores, since you really can not go outside without a taxi and allot of planning. They need a good BUYER!!!
They should organize going to the nice outside stores, a bus tour, you could sign-up for, a trip once per week or twice, morning or afternoon. they may get people to put money into the area this way.

Other Comments:
14. I requested to speak to the person in charge on the last day at the facilities and no one ever came. why? No one ever spoke to us.
15. Wheel chairs look like I just got them from the 2nd hand store, WHY??
16. They need to be supervised by a general manager that cares, seems as if no one cared, what you had to say, good or bad. no reactions, no one is in charge of anything, or gives an answer to anything.
17. Owner and investors of this Barcelo Bavaro need to wake up, and look around, they are building more, without fixing big problems.
I would love to speak to the investors and ask them why? are they so big that they do not care if a few customers are not happy? Paradise or Mosquito infested dream.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A piece of heaven"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vivian  on Apr 1, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
782 people found this review helpful

The Barcelo Bavaro Beach and Convention center is part of the complex which includes the Palace, Casino and Golf sections. The Palace section is all new within the last few years. The Beach section (where we stayed) is what used to be the old Palace section before the renovations. The section now called the Beach is adults only which was nice. We had access to all parts of the resort.

Room Number:
3070

Room Block:
3000

Arrival:
Wednesday, March 23 Direct flight from my home city - a first and it was wonderful. We arrived at the airport around noon, and since there were only 2 couples from the flight going to this resort, we had a van for transportation, and arrived at the resort in no time! We checked in - our room was ready! We had lunch and were on the beach by 2PM!

Rooms:
The rooms are starting to show their age. However everything worked and it was clean. There was lots of space in the room, and we had a small balcony. The room was well laid out. There were elevators, but mostly we used the stairs.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was as good at this resort as at any other we have been to. We mainly ate at the buffets. We went to one a la cart and it was lovely. It appeared that some a la cart restaurants are heavily used while others are way under utilized, as are the buffets which were never crowded. We ate lunch at the beach grill most days. The bars were never crowded either, and the service was great. Sometimes in the morining, it was difficult to find a waiter to refil your coffee, but we kept sitting in different sections till we found a great waitress!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools at this resort are huge, and not at all crowded. In fact we never encountered crowds anywhere at anytime. We asked the travel rep if the resort was experiencing a low time, and she said it was 98% booked. There were tons of extra lounge chairs at both the beach an the pool. The beach also has lots of trees for shade, yet lots of open space for sun. The grounds are really nice and the maids do not pick the flowers, so they are everywhere to be enjoyed. Since this is practically the last resort on the beach, there are not a lot of people walking by all day as there are at other resorts up the beach. However there is a lot of motor boat activity in front of this resort, and that gets a bit noisy from time to time. If you are on the beach around 10AM and can see the dolphin pens, keep an eye on that as you will be able to see the dolphins jumping. Also, the beach at this resort is much more protected than others, and you do not get the waves here that you get at other resorts, so you can almost always go out in the kayaks and pedal boats, etc. The water sport equipment all looks new.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We do not do tours. We go to enjoy the sun and the beach. We did snorkle off the beach a few times, and if you are patient you are sure to see lots of interesting fish. I even saw a big eel in the grass!
However, we do run each morning. This resort is spread out along about 2 km of beach, and the sand is relatively flat and well packed. As well there is not much motor traffic on the roads within the resort (aside from the 'trains' that take people from one place to another within the resort). There is a 500m paved sports track around some soccer fields, AND there is a golf course. Now you are not supposed to be on the golf course if you are not golfing, but we went out around 6:30 each morning (the first Tee time is at 7AM) and ran the back nine. It was awsome!

Other Comments:
We have been to 5 or 6 resorts in the Punta Cana area. This is my favourite - mainly because of the beach and the running opportunities. The direct flight from my home city was a big bonus for this trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube