Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 19, 2012

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 68 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 12, 2013

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center  

Carretera Bavaro. Km. 1

"Stressful and Frustrating Experience"
Posted by: Lostris21 on Mar 9, 2012
see all reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Reviews
Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Pictures and Information
Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#17
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 2.6

Based on 11 reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Information


The Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center (only adults), located on the first line of beach, amidst wonderful Cocotal is the center of life for Excellence Playa Bavaro, the authentic Bávaro Beach. The ideal environment for people who love watersports, for quiet honeymoon couples, and a fun and safe environment for couples with children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 2.6 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 12 of 11

"We Love this place"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debra from NH  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
455 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 19 - July 25, 2009
We Love this place. This is our second visit this year and plan to go back next year. The people are all nice. Remember they speak Spanish in the Dominican Republic. Brush up before you go. Learn the basics. How are you, have a good day, thank you, how much. The staff appreciate if you make the effort to speak to them and thank them for taking care of you.

Rooms:
If you want a newer modern room. Stay at the Palace Junior Suites. The rooms are clean, the bathroom has a huge shower with two of those big ceiling shower heads and 2 hand sprayers. We had a room on the end, 2nd floor, right on the beach. The deck has a hot tub. There is plenty of storage, robes, king size bed and large screen TV. Hint: Tip your maid, we did $5.00 a day, she will take care of you. Overstocked minibar and the better towels refreshed each day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots to choose from. Our favorite was the Steak House. Buffets are good, lots to choose from. We never had to wait at the bar like some people have said. Hint: Tip the bartender a dollar - they will remember you and you'll get your drinks faster.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the cleanest I have seen. The grounds crew work really hard to keep it that way. Never have to search for a beach chair. Pools are nice too but we prefer the beach. Hint: Get to the beach by 10am to get a chair under one of the tree'd areas. This will allow you to move your chair from the shade to the sun and avoid getting burned.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort has a casino, small compared to US standards, golf course, tennis courts, pools, peddle boats, wind surf boards, Hobie Cats and Kayaks. All but golf is free. We spent hours on the Hobie Cats. Hint: Book your Hobie Cat with the beach crew early. Check at 10 minutes after the hour, if someone has not shown for their appointment, you can get one. In one day we spent three hours on one. You can also cruise out to Dolphin Island and see the Dophins for free.

Other Comments:
This is all inclusive but a little tip, $1.00 or so, goes a long way. The staff will remember you and take extra care of you. The small gift shops are very expensive, bring enough suntan lotion - they charge up to $43.00. Don't kid yourself the sun if strong even when overcast. If you run out go to the flea market at the end of the resort past La Pina - you will pay less than half price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would definitely vacation at this resort again"

Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Beach & Convention Center Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra ~ Mississauga, Ontario, Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
438 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Arrived just before midnight, a short wait at the reception area, however this is nothing new, things move at a slower pace in other parts of the world, especially in Carribbean resorts.

Rooms
Having read some of the reviews posted, my expectations were not high, so I was thrilled with the room - although the age of the room showed, it was clean and large with everything operational. We did not experience any problems with water, electricity or air conditioning. The only issue that we had was that the safe was left closed by the previous occupants, so we needed to request maintenance to have the safe opened in order to store our passports and cash. With our late arrival I was told that someone would come by to fix it first thing in the morning, so to ensure that they had not forgotten I called again and was very pleased when a maintenance employee showed up in less than 5 minutes.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffet restaurants were identical to other resorts in the DR (I have stayed at approximately 10 hotels in DR), however I thought that the Beach Grill was outstanding and much better than anything that I have experienced before, including 5 star resorts on other Islands and in Mexico. The Beach Grill offers a selection of fresh meats, fish and seafood on a daily basis along with a salad bar, paella, french fries and pizza slices. You choose the food item and wait while it is grilled, this takes a bit longer but the beef tenderloin steaks are incredible as is the selection of fish, of which I tried the salmon, red snapper and shrimp, just have a glass of wine or a drink while you are waiting. Italian and Mexican restaurants were fabulous (located at the Caribe and Beach resorts). I had read that there were long waits at the bars, however I did not find them long, I viewed the wait time as an opportunity to look at the spectacular views of the ocean or have a quick conversation with another vacationer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was spectacular and kept very clean, you can walk for hours in one direction and about 30 minutes in the other direction. The groundskeepers are always at work in the mornings, sweeping and washing away the sand around the pool area. The seaweed on the beach is also being constantly raked up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did not leave the resort as we are beach/pool bunnies, but we did hear from many that the Saona catamaran trip was very enjoyable. You can participate in the usual activites organized by the Animacion team such as Pool and Beach aerobics, dance lessons, bocce ball, darts, etc., or you can sit and observe others participating.

Other Comments
A great resort, employees are friendly, resort is clean and well maintained, I would definitely vacation at this resort again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube