Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bayahibe > Bayahibe Hotel Index > Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bayahibe Hotels with Similar Ranking

Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

4.3 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 22, 2014

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed May 19, 2014

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

3.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 19, 2014

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus  

Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, República Dominicana

"Wonderful vacation!"
Posted by: A  on May 1, 2011
see all reviews

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Reviews
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Pictures and Information
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Bayahibe Dominican Republic

#3
of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe

User rating 3.9

Based on 9 reviews

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Information


Iberostar's reputation for excellent cuisine in the all-inclusive category has helped to make this resort one of the best in the D.R. and cemented its popularity as an incentive destination for corporations.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Reviews

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 3.9 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (4)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 9 of 9

"Bad experience "

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  nick  on Apr 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Business | Solo
873 people found this review helpful

1. They note down credit card information on note full information (credit card number and

expiry date), they did it at least two occasions with me.
2. Front-desk associate watching intolerable contents on laptop, and avoiding basic services

by not giving EVEN room key while check-in, customer has to ASK for the key, they are so

busy in watching laptop.

3. Gym was not working for 7+ weeks, repeatedly mentioned about it and no response.

4. Dan Karki never ever respond to any of my voice mails on customer issues, at least Dan

Karki not called back on 4 voice mails.

5. Bugs were found on pillows and bed sheet, reported the bugs with pillow to front-desk

"Dimitry".

6. Reward points were stopped without communicating to customer; Customer should be first

communicated before taking away something from Customer.

7. When I file complain to corporate office , Dan Karki was so mad and rude that he threaten

customer and said he can evict the customer any time from the property and will make sure to

not allow again to reserve the room in future.

8. Mostly travel groups are there in hotel and they don’t care about any new business and

behave horribly with customers, since manager Dan Karki have created this culture I have no

doubt all other associate following this same attitude and work culture.

9. Worst hotel to stay in bay area and ruin your vacation or trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An incredibly frustrating experience."

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lauren from Annapolis, MD  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
990 people found this review helpful

I chose to do a destination wedding because I'm not a picky bride and wanted an intimate setting for my close friends and family (approx 50 people). I wanted a stress-free simple wedding and loved the idea of having someone taking care of my plans. My dad, who has stayed here a couple of times, highly recommended the resort to me. In July 2008, I contacted the resort through their website and confirmed a wedding date in January.

I viewed the resort in September 2008. I met with ***** and he gave me a small tour. He gave me absolutely no insight into what my wedding would be like... I had to pry everything out of him. Ie) wedding time, marriage paperwork etc. I should have been concerned from the start, but just passed things off believing it was due to a slight language barrier or different culture. The wedding preview trip was an absolute waste of my time and money... I learned more on their website and bloggers.

When I arrived back home, I confirmed with him that I would be having a beach wedding and beach reception.

Over the next couple of months, I emailed him constantly, but received no replies. At one point, we had to call the corporate office to have someone force him respond to my emails relating to simple plans for my wedding. It was an incredibly frustrating experience.

After I had my final guest list in December, I tried following up with him once again. When I received no response, my travel agent had to call the corporate office to get him to communicate with me. He finally responded saying everything was in order. (He didn't even have my cake, flower, music, etc requests).

On New Years, ***** sent me an email stating that he set my spa appointments and nonchalantly mentioned that I couldn't have my beach party reception. He said it was my fault because I never confirmed it so they gave it to an incentive group.

Two weeks before my wedding, I find out the horrible news that he double booked my reception. I have emails from both him and me stating that I was to have the beach reception back in October. He tried to blame the whole situation on me. He later admitted that the wedding department didn't talk to the incentive department and that's how it happend. His only solution to me was that I could have my wedding Saturday and reception Sunday. Then I received no contact from him for a week! My travel agent and I emailed the corporate office, called the hotel, no one responded to us! My dream of having a stress-free wedding turned in to a nightmare. I had no idea what I was going to do. Iberostar knew I was powerless to do anything and didn't care.

Fortunately, a friend of mine was married at Casa de Campo. She gave me her wedding coordinator's info and I contacted her immediately. Luckily, they could make room for my wedding in Altos de Chavon and we started planning right away. When I sent ***** a letter canceling my wedding, he replied in less than 10 minutes! How pathetic. He never responded to anything I sent him over the past week when I was begging to know what would happen to my wedding. His response to my cancelation was that he was sorry, that he fixed the problem, and that I was still having my wedding there. I had to send numerous other emails to get him to understand the wedding wasn't happening at IHD.

I stayed 3 days at IHD before my wedding to spend time with our guests since it was too late for everyone to change their reservations to Casa de Campo. When I checked in, they were still under the impression I was getting married there. Then, everyone at the resort acted like nothing happened. No one called me to apologize etc. ***** did tell one of my guests to tell me that he scheduled a personal dinner for everyone the Friday before our wedding. He never contacted me personally to know that we had a Catamaran trip planned.

Iberostar never compensated me for anything and never offered a formal apology. I had 42 guests staying there for my wedding who would of otherwise not stayed there. I cannot believe the resort did this to me on one of the most important days of my life so they could have an incentive event.

In the end, ***** did me a favor. My wedding at Casa de Campo was incredible and everything I ever wanted. My coordinator, Betty, was extremely responsive and helped me plan a beautiful wedding in less than two weeks. Please feel free to contact me if you want. I don't want to see this happen to another bride.

My critque of IHD:

Positives:

-Rooms were clean
-Nice grounds, big pool

Negatives:
- Mixed drinks overly sweet and no top shelf liquor -Food is mediocre. Mexican restaurant is decent.
-Beach is nice, but overcrowded.
-No drink waiters on beach
-Gym= gross/ not air conditioned
-Strict reservation policy and said they were full, but when visiting restaurant no one was there -No help with lost and found. A few of my guests had items "disappear" (ie cameras/cellphones) -Pushy photographers with animals -Disco smells like feet -Limited TV stations -Room keys constantly didn’t work -Odd outlets that weren't quite European or American

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We need to hear an explanation about this matter"

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leon  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1015 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been long time loyal customers of the Iberostar chain. We have been visiting your resorts for over a decade. For the past three years we have been going to the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicaus. Our most recent vacation was the week of December 2nd, 2009. Everything was going great until the last day. We were scheduled to be picked up by VIP transportation at 12:00pm. To be on the safe side, we came to check-out to the front desk at 9:00am. The clerk looked over our records but we were not able to check out as we forgot our passport numbers. So we went back to the room and decided to come back at 11:30am. At that time the clerk told us that we needed to see the Guest Service Clerk. The Guest Service Clerk then told us that the balcony window in our room is broken. We were shocked by this statement as we just left the room and saw no indication of a broken window. When we first checked in the room we didn't inspect the room since it was not our first stay at your hotel and we familiar with the rooms. Throughout our stay there the curtains were closed due to the sun. The clerk stated that he took a picture and has been trying to reach us for over two days about this issue. That, however, was completely untrue as we were in the hotel the entire time and there were no messages, no phone calls and no attempts whatsoever to contacts us. Even when we first attempted to check-out at 9:00am that same morning no one had mentioned anything to us about the broken window.

I asked him to show me the picture. The clerk brought back a digital camera and showed us a picture of a crack in a window. The picture had no date stamp and no indication that it was taken in our room. We went back and forth and the conversation was leading nowhere. By this time it was almost 12:00pm and our transportation was arriving. We asked to speak with the manager, at which time the clerk proceeded to make several phone calls. This lasted for almost 15 minutes making us late for our transportation. Finally the clerk told us that he didn't have proof that it was our fault and that we could leave. He didn't even apologize for the allegations. I believe that if he was not sure who caused the damage or even when it was caused, he should have had some professionalism and not have thrown around accusations. We thought that this was incredibly rude. Accusing someone of personal property damage is a serious matter and we felt very insulted.

We need to hear an explanation about this matter as it is simply inexcusable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* A really beautiful hotel, with good service"

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Feb 1, 2002  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2002
867 people found this review helpful

February 23 to March 2, 2002

Arrival:
We traveled from Punta Cana to the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, which is approximately 1-1/2 hours. We had made prior arrangements for Rafael from RS Taxi to pick us up and take us to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus.

The Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus is a new hotel located near the Village of Bayahibe, 90 minutes from Punta Cana, 20 minutes from La Romana Airport, and about an hour and 45 minutes from Santo Domingo Airport. It opened on November 15, 2001.

We arrived at the hotel around 2:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. My first impression was “wow”. This was my first visit to an Iberostar hotel, so I can’t compare it to other Iberostars, but the lobby is absolutely amazing! I’ve never seen such a large lobby area. And the décor is beautiful. Huge chandeliers, beautiful tables, comfortable chairs, wall decorations, porcelain vases, etc.

Our room was not ready yet and we were told it would be 30 minutes. When we returned to the front desk, we were told some repairs had to be done in the room, so it would be another hour. They offered us a different room, but after seeing it, we decided to wait for the original room we had been given. The front desk staff was very courteous, however, and trying to do the best they could, as the hotel was fully booked. A short time later we were taken to our room on a golf cart with our luggage. Housekeeping and maintenance were still in the room finishing up. A last minute check revealed that our toilet was leaking around the base, which apparently has been a common problem at this hotel. However, by the time we returned to our room that night, it had been repaired. The TV remote we had been given on checkin did not work. We called the front desk and someone arrived promptly with two remotes, handed them to us and left, not taking the one that didn’t work, so now we had three, so if there was anyone there that week that couldn’t get a remote for their TV, I apologize :)

Rooms:
Our room was really lovely, there was a full bathroom with good lighting, king-sized bed, dresser, couch and table. It was on the point of the building, so had the added bonus of an extra window and two balconies and had a partial view of the pool. We were in Building 6, which is a central location, halfway between the pool/beach and the restaurants/lobby. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom, as well as daily supplies of shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer and bath gel. There was also a shampoo and bath gel dispenser in the bathtub area. Water pressure was good and we always had hot water. There is a minibar in the room with soft drinks, beer and a gallon jug of water. This is refilled every two days. If you run out of something in the meantime you can ask for it and they’ll bring it to you. There is no clock/radio or coffeemaker in the room. We bring our own small travel kettle and coffee/teabags. We bought milk at a store just down the street to the right of the resort, they don’t sell any in the hotel shops. You might want to bring your own mugs, we didn’t and the maid kept taking the cups that we brought from the restaurant. I hid them one day so she couldn’t take them, but I left them out again after the room had been cleaned and when we returned to our room that night the maid had been in, and the cups were gone.

There is a mini-safe in the room. When the hotel first opened the safes were free, but they started charging for them the week we were there, the cost is 200 pesos per week.

Most North American appliances should fit into their plugs, our travel kettle was fine, but my travel iron, which has worked in other places, had a left-hand prong that was just a little too wide to fit. Pat performed surgery on it with the nail clippers, though (the iron plug, not the outlet) and did get it to fit. After traveling to the DR so many times you learn to improvise.

There are 496 rooms at Iberostar Hacienda, in 7 two or three storey buildings. Map of Resort The whole resort is built in sort of a horseshoe shape, and you can actually walk from one building to another under cover if it is raining. Each building has a central courtyard, each with different decoration and landscaping. Very beautiful. Standard rooms come in two types – one with a full bathroom, king-sized bed, couch and table, like the one we had, and the other has a large walk-in shower (no tub), an armoire instead of a couch, and two beds (they call these double beds, but I saw one of these rooms and it is more a ¾ size bed, not much larger than a twin.) They also have 36 Junior Suites with ocean view. The only difference I could see from a regular room was that the living area where the couch is is a little bit larger.

The Beach, Pool, and Grounds:
he resort is huge. Considering there are only 496 rooms I was surprised at how big it is, it’s almost as wide as it is long. There are fountains, ponds, gardens, topiary sculptures, trees, benches to sit on, they seem to have gone all out in the decoration of this resort. The vegetation is young and the palm trees are a little sparse right now, but these will grow quickly.

There are 3 pools. The main pool is very large, with a swim-up bar. There is a sports pool, which is about 3 feet deep, and another circular pool which is deeper than the others, about 5 ft. There are lots of shade palapas around the pool area. The week we were there the beach seemed to be the most popular spot, and there were always lots of chairs by the pool and shade available. There is a kiddie pool located at the Kids Club, which was not yet operational. Several days when we went for lunch we saw a maintenance person standing there looking into the kiddie pool, I think there was some problem, but it didn’t seem any closer to resolution by the end of the week.

The beach is beautiful, the water was crystal clear, different shades of blue. The water was a little cool, but not too cold to go in. The sand on the beach is quite deep, it’s not natural, it has been trucked in and I found it a little difficult to walk in. It’s not white sand like Punta Cana. The palm trees on the beach are very sparse and don’t offer much in the way of shade. They do have shade palapas, but they need to add some more, (and I understand that they are going to) as the ones they have fill up very quickly. They are trying to solve the issue of saving chairs early in the morning by not allowing anyone to put their stuff on them before 8 a.m. unless you are going to stay there. The first day we headed to the beach around 7:30 a.m. and were greeted by the security guard waving his arms, saying “no reservations”. Meanwhile another guard was coming from the beach with an armload of towels, bags, books, clothing, etc. which was taken “someplace” for the owners to claim later. I don’t imagine this went over very well, but at least they’re trying. For the rest of the week Pat would go down about 7:15 a.m. and put our stuff out and stay there, as this is what everyone else was doing. I’d come down just before 8. As long as you stayed with your stuff until 8:00 a.m., you could go for breakfast at that point and leave your stuff there.

You can walk a long way on the beach in either direction. Lots of topless sunbathing along this beach.

To the left of the Iberostar is the Ventaclub Dominicus, then some vendors stalls, and then the Coral Canoa Hotel. To the immediate right are more beach vendors and Club Dominicus Palace and Club Dominicus Resorts.

Weather and Bugs
No mosquitos and no bugs to speak of! This area had the same windy weather the week prior as we had in Punta Cana. Overall the weather this week wasn’t bad, but still more clouds and wind than usual. I think there was one day when it was quite cloudy and windy. But when the sun came out, it was very hot.

Restaurants

There are 5 restaurants:
The main buffet restaurant is very large. There is a huge variety of food to choose from and it is very good. Most items have a sign identifying what it is. This restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is a dress code in the evening for men, long pants or Bermuda shorts are allowed. Sandals for men are questionable, the thong-type beach sandals are definitely a no-no, other types some were allowed and some weren’t. We were sitting near the entrance one night and I was watching as people came in. The hostess turned away one man because of his sandals and a couple minutes later someone came in with what I thought was a very similar type and he was allowed in, so I’m not sure of the criteria here. Suggest you pack a pair of long pants and regular shoes. This restaurant does have a no smoking section.

Some of the tables for 2 are very close together. The first night we ate dinner around 7:30 p.m. and it was not that busy, but when we came out around 8:30 p.m. there were about 50 people lined up waiting to be seated. That’s the only time I ever saw a lineup. Otherwise service was very good. If you ask for coffee, be sure to say “with milk” if you want it, otherwise they will bring it without, and it doesn’t seem possible to bring the milk afterwards, they will take the black coffee away and come back with another cup of coffee with milk in it. (In the morning they go around with a pot of coffee and a pot of milk) House wine is available at lunch and dinner, but I did not see a wine list available. I noted they had a raised balcony for a band in this restaurant – unfortunately we didn’t see the band playing here the nights we ate in this restaurant.

The Beach Grill and Snack Bar is open during the day for continental breakfast and lunch, until around 4 p.m. It’s close to the beach and the pool. A t-shirt/coverup is required. We always had our lunch here. The food was good, they had hot items – pasta, chicken, rice, vegetables, seafood (there are no signs in this restaurant saying what the food is, which would have been helpful, you had to ask if you weren’t sure, ie. During the week I had both fried calamari rings and onion rings, and you couldn’t tell from looking which one it was). They also had hamburgers, French fries, as well as salads and sandwich items, nachos with cheese, icecream, other deserts. Note that you are not allowed to take food out of the restaurants. They do have a self-serve coffee/tea, soft drinks, juices and water bar set up just inside the restaurant.

A couple of days they had a beach party barbecue set up just outside the restaurant, with a band playing.

There are 3 specialty restaurants that you have to make reservations for. You make these reservations in the lobby between 9 and 12. I went the second morning we were there and was able to make reservations for all the restaurants. I got there around 5 minutes to 9 and waited in line about 20 minutes to half an hour. A copy of the menus is available there for you to look at.

The first restaurant we tried was the Steakhouse, which is located in the Beach Grill and is open-air. I ordered a rib-eye steak medium well and it was a little too well done, but was good anyway. Pat had the ribs. Before the main course you can help yourself to the appetizer buffet, which included salad items, fish appetizers, shrimp, etc. Then they bring a “blooming onion” and some dipping sauce to your table, which I had never seen served in the DR, thought that was a Canadian thing. It was good. The main course came with a baked potato and sour cream, stewed tomato and corn. Service was excellent.

The next night we went to the Japanese restaurant. This restaurant is enclosed and air-conditioned. Most people are seated around the show tables, although there were some regular tables around the sides of the restaurant. The night we were there, it wasn’t very full and there were lots of empty tables. You could order from a menu, which had quite a large choice. Some menu items were prepared in the kitchen and served to you, while others were prepared in front of you. You are served several courses of appetizers, soup, suishi, your main course and then desert. Again, service was excellent, no complaints.

On our last night we went to the Mexican Restaurant. This is also enclosed and air-conditioned. This restaurant had the most elegant atmosphere, it was beautiful. I’m not a huge fan of Mexican food, but I really enjoyed this meal. They had an appetizer buffet which could have been the full meal, it had so many items on it. Very good, and good service.

Late-night snacks are available at the Mexican Restaurant, can’t tell you what they had, we never felt hungry. Food and drinks are available pretty much 24 hours a day.

Bars
Lighthouse bar at the beach – this was the most popular bar during the day. There were times when they could have used another bartender, though.

Beach Grill Bar – near the pool area.

Swimup Bar/Icecream bar at the pool

There was a bar in the disco and in the theatre.

Lobby Bar
This was where we spent a lot of evenings after dinner, comfortable chairs and tables, with table service. A nice place to sit and chat. Some premium liquor is available, as well as Heineken beer.

Staff and Service
Considering the hotel has only been open for a few months, I thought the service was excellent. Staff are friendly and many speak English.

Activities
The “Star Friends” activities staff work hard to provide daily activities – water polo, beach volleyball, water volleyball, basketball, dance lessons, aerobics. There are 2 tennis courts (lit). There is a video game room and billiard/games room. Movies are shown at 4:00 p.m. every day.

One night they had a Manager’s Cocktail Party in the theatre, followed by the show, which were Dominican Folklore dancers, it was excellent. This is the only professional group they have in, the activities staff put on the rest of the shows. They do a good job, good effects and costumes, and of course they have the usual audience participation shows. We only saw two shows, it was too easy to get comfortable in the lobby bar.

After the show the disco opens. Just took a peek in one night, it’s decorated in a nautical theme.

Watersports Facilities
Dressel Divers operates the watersports. There is catamaran sailing, windsurfing, kayaks, snorkeling, diving clinics. Lessons cost extra, ie. Windsurfing class is $20 US per hour, private lessons $30 US per hour, Sailing classes $25 US per hour, private lessons $35 US per hour. Diving is available at $52 US with equipment. They have dive packages as well as open water certification courses. Local snorkeling trips are $29 US + taxi charge, snorkel and equipment rental $5 US, Waterskiing $35 US, Banana ride $9 US.

There is a gym, beauty salon, spa with sauna and Jacuzzi, as well as massages and other beauty treatments.

Kids Club
There is Lucy’s Kids Club for kids 4 to 12, with supervised activities from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. The kids seemed to be enjoying themselves, and at lunchtime they take them into the Beach Grill for a supervised lunch. There is also a Kiddy Disco at night before the adults show.

Internet Access
There is an internet access room, they have 4 computers, although only 3 were working the week we were there. They will be charging for this service in the future, it was still free the week we were there.

Golf/Casinos
There is a casino trip available to Santana Beach Resort, not sure I think it’s about an hour away.

Golf is available at Casa de Campo’s Teeth of the Dog golf course, a world-class golf course.

Tours and Shopping
There are jeep safari tours, trips to Catalina Island and Saona Island, Santo Domingo, just to name a few. See your tour operator at their desk in the lobby for full details on trips. We didn’t go on any as we have done all of these trips before. A couple we met went on the Saona Island tour by catamaran, and really enjoyed it. You can go into the village of Bayahibe, which is about 5 minutes away by car or local bus, or if you go down the road to the right of the hotel, there is a souvenir shop/convenience store. If you go to the left and then cut back towards the Club Dominicus Palace, there are shops there, artwork, crafts, souvenirs, etc.

Going Home
Checkout was a long process, as there was only one person on the checkout desk. As they had just started to charge for the mini-safes that week, there was some confusion about returning the safe key (the safe is electronic, but there is a key on the inside of it, which we didn’t even know that it had because it was there already). Now that you have to pay for the mini-safe, you will be given this key at checkin. Just be sure you have your towel cards, remote, and key safe with you when you check out.

If you are leaving from La Romana airport, note that almost all luggage is searched at checkin, as they don’t have x-ray equipment for the checked luggage yet.

Summary
A really beautiful hotel, with good service, which should only improve with time. An enjoyable week. A special thankyou to Angelica Martinez, Juan Llinas, and Yahaira Tejeda.

And hello to Dave and Janet!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel will be our number one destination whenever we go back to the DR"

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joe and Mary from Winnipeg  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
1034 people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at IHD with our daughter, her husband and their two sons, age 3 years and 15 months.
The tickets were booked with Signature in August 2008.
The flight was straight to Punta Cana, on return we stopped in Puerto Plata to leave some tourists there and pick up tanned ones.
The flight was smooth, on time and the flight attendants did a great job helping us travel with small kids.

Check In/out was pretty good, our daughter emailed the resort in September with a wish list: the two rooms to be side by side in building #7 and have a quick check-in because the boys will be tired from the travel.

Rooms: we had some problems in our room, the next day we got another room, however there we found other issues. Those we solved with the help of Jesula and Javier, guests service representatives.

Kids club: excellent place, our older grandson enjoyed it, and Lucy (Esther) was his favorite person - no surprise, she is fantastic with kids!

Pools: we are not pool people, so we didn’t even try them out, nor did we try the swim up bar.

Beach: very nice! To our biggest surprise there were always tens of beach chairs empty, and room under palapas - regardless of time of day. We couldn't imagine what the issue was for some earlier reviewers in regards to this. (Granted I don't know the chair situation at the pool area...) The water was warm, crystal clear for about 10 days and a bit choppy in last day or so. Pretty decent snorkeling at the artificial reef in front of the hotel - I mean you'll see about 15 species of fish plus other creatures. A bit deeper the snorkeling was amazing, with my son-in-law we saw a jewfish which was 300 lbs for sure. A monster! Big octopus, lobster and other creatures and things that make snorkeling memorable.

Activities: not as good as in other resorts, but enough if you want to keep yourself busy... We did some kayaking, played games by the pool and some beach games.

Entertainment: pretty good, a nice touch is the piano bar in the lobby area. A great place to have a drink and listen to some soft music before dinner.

Drinks: good, but they did run out of some premium drinks (Campari) and were sending the last and only bottle from bar to bar, depending on which bar we were asking for it... That was funny. They got back to normal in our second week.
Also there were pretty good expresso coffees available.

Food: very good at the buffet - a good variety and quality. The biggest problem was always: at what point to do we stop adding goodies to our plates... The fish was our favorite meal and very close runner up was the chicken. Prepared in almost any way imaginable. The pork was OK, veal almost OK, beef just acceptable. It is hard for somebody who loves beef coming from Canada or the US to find the same quality as at home.
The grill at the beach was also good.
The speciality restaurants had a good appetizer selection and tasty. But the main courses didn't really please any of us (Mexican, Steak, Japanese).

The personnel in the hotel, with a few exceptions, met our expectations. As I mentioned, Jesula and Javier are just the right people for the job and we hope we'll meet them next time. It is hard to list everybody who was great. Yan at the Lighthouse bar is as fast as a bartender can be, and he always has a smile for everybody. The personnel we were least happy with were the guys at the reception. Not very helpful. This was, the only bad thing in the two week holiday.
After we got home I wrote Britta a letter with my (our) observations. She very pleasantly replied and promised to correct the things I had mentioned in the letter. That is the key to good hotel management!

All in all: the hotel definitely will be our number one destination whenever we go back to the DR. Photos will be posted on my site under Iberostar, La Romana DR at: www.joecan.smugmug.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful vacation!"

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  A  on May 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
661 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
7022

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
Airport was efficient, and families like ours with babies were able to have a separate line for customs. 20 minute drive from airport (including stops at other hotels). Check in was good - we got an intro to the resort, a welcome drink and our package & keys. Luggage was brought to room a few minutes later.

Rooms:
We were in building 7, first floor, right at the pool. We had a 2 double bed room (as per our request) and got an extra bed for our baby to sleep on. Room was spacious and comfortable. Not overly fancy, but we liked it. Bathroom got hot/humid but was a good size. Shower was good (we did not have a tub) and did not leak onto the bathroom floor as we've had happen at other resorts. Air conditioning worked great! There was a hair dryer, iron, and safe in the room. Also, a drying rack was provided on the balcony.

Our room maid was great and very helpful! Got us anything we needed and kept our room spotless. Floors were cleaned daily, sheets changed, and everything was really very clean. Great job!

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the main buffet each morning/evening and at the beach grill for lunch. Always lots of selection and great service! "Our table" was ready for us each moening/evening before we even walked into the buffet! There are egg stations and lots of yummy treats at breakfast. Burgers, hot dogs, salads and hot items at lunch at the beach grill, along with pop corn to snack on and a soft serve ice cream machine! great touch! Dinner always had lots of choices, with different themes every night. Great pasta station!
Service at the buffet was great - we sat in the same section at each meal. Staff was super friendly!

We ate at the steakhouse. That was the only a la carte we did, as we did not want to commit to a reservation as we had a 7 month old with us and usually worked around her sleep schedule for dinner. Steak house was good with lots to choose from. Food was good. Service a little slow, but we were on vacation and were not in a hurry, so it did not bother us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Our little one did not like the beach much (even though my husband and I are both beach bums). We did go there on a couple occasions. Gorgeous beach! Crystal clear blue waters. Rocks in the water when walking, but if you walk to the right then it clears up. Nice calm waters.

Pool was great! Always nice and quiet, and large enough for everyone. Lots of shade and lots of spots for sun as well. The main pool is really nice, with palms all around and in the middle. Great for kids to play in, with a gradual walk-in area and even a very shallow sitting platforms for smaller kids and for tanning. Separate smaller deeper pool, for swimming/relaxing and a third activities pool.

There is always someone cleaning up and the pool itself is always being maintained - walls & filters being cleaned, chlorine levels checked, etc. I have never seen so much care being taken at a resort pool before. Great!!! Lots of greenery as well around pool, with birds. very relaxing!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not do any activities of attend any shows as we were with our baby and wanted to just relax. Animation staff were very friendly and not pushy at all.

Other Comments:
This resort really is one of the best we have ever been to (and we've both been to our fair share of resorts in Cuba, Mexico and Dominican). It is beautiful, with great food and wonderful staff. An amazing beach and great pool! I cannot see how someone can have a bad time here. It is not a "party" hotel, but is definitely fun and relaxing. We are Canadian, and found that most guests were European, mainly French, Italian, Russian, Spanish. We were fine with that as everyone was nice and respectful. Staff is great and always friendly (from grounds keepers, to servers, reception, maids, and anyone else we came in contact with).

I highly recommend this resort for a relaxing vacation. It's great for couples and families and I will definitely love to return!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We have been at this resort now five times, it is truly a beautiful resort"

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brain  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
983 people found this review helpful

This was our fifth time at this resort it's truly beautiful and the staff are very friendly. If you're American and you only speak English, you might feel a bit out of your comfort zone as there are very few Americans that vacation here, mainly French Canadian, French, Russian, Italian, and other Europeans. If you only speak English, it's not a problem as most of the hotel staff speak 3-5 languages.

Rooms::
First off, we have been at this resort now five times, it is truly a beautiful resort.
Room was spacious and clean, housekeeping was excellent. We did have some problems with mosquito's and would recommend that you pack some bug spray as my son and wife got bitten quite a bit.
We did have a problem with a theft in our room. My wife had $20 dollars removed from a bag that she had left in the room and she also had a bathing suit stolen from the balcony (we were on the first floor).

Restaurants and Bars::
The main buffet had a wide variety of food and every night they would have a theme with some specialty dishes. We often ate dinner in Hector's area and he was extremely attentive and provided excellent service
We tried the Japanese and Mexican restaurants this trip and were very pleased with the food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach area was a bit crowded; you needed to get up early to get a good seat. We stayed mainly by the pool area and had no real problem getting seats. Overall all the pool area is nice but it is starting to show its age with some missing tiles and cracks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Beach area was a bit crowded; you needed to get up early to get a good seat. We stayed mainly by the pool area and had no real problem getting seats. Overall all the pool area is nice but it is starting to show its age with some missing tiles and cracks.
Since we've been down here multiple times, we did not take any tours. We did however dive with Scuba Fun (14 dives) and had an excellent time. Highly recommend Scuba Fun as they are much more price competitive than Dressel divers and my son and I would be in groups of 2-4 divers. John Sack Jr. the owner and his staff are very attentive to your needs.

Other Comments::
Overall a very nice vacation. Would highly recommend this resort. I would also highly recommend that while it is an all inclusive, consider tipping the various staff as they work extremely hard and provide excellent service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great fun "

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  kyle  on Mar 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
739 people found this review helpful

everything about the resort was great.

Room Number:
4108

Room Block:
4

Rooms:
the rooms were very nice, clean, the cleaning staff always did a great job. Large shower and we were lucky to stay in the building only steps away from the beach.

Restaurants and Bars:
the restaurants were great, as a family we ussually don't like buffets but this one was excellent, it had great roasts, potatoes and fresh fruit. The gourmet restaurant was amazing with excellent lobster. The other 3 reasturants were also very good. On the website it says 3 a la cartes but we were able to book 5 by being friendly with the staff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
we didn't spend much time at the pool, mostly at the beach. the beach was wonderful, large with many possible activities. The ocean was always calm and safe for all ages. the ocean was very sandy which was great and there was also some great fish that could be observed while snorkeling. Many people said the beach was busy, there were a lot of people but it was still quite easy to find a spot, if you head out around 9 it is easy to find a seat.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were plenty of activities going on, as a young man i was engaging in the numerous sporting events. The staff try very hard to get people up and to play volleyball, soccer, water polo, water aerobics and much more. There are activities for everyone from sports to dancing lessons to yoga.

Other Comments:
I recommend this resort to anyone, the staff were very friendly, the weather was great and ocean was excellent and the rooms were clean and nice. There were quite a few french and other nationalities but i did feel like i could not communicate, because the staff all spoke 3 to 6 languages.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort was fabulous."

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
User Rating:  Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Luz from New Hampshire  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009
1001 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 10/26/2009 thru 10/31/2009
This resort was fabulous. The service was outstanding, the food was good, and the rooms were clean. The beach was beautiful and the landscaping was gorgeous. I would recommend it to anyone.

Rooms:
Clean and comfortable. I went with my husband and 2 children. They had 2 queen size beds and a full size bed for my 6 years old. They also put a crib for my 1 year old. It was a nice surprise.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet restaurant had great food. The Mexican restaurant was always recommended to me but I was not that pleased with the food. The Japanese restaurant was good too. I did not go to the other restaurants. the bars were good too. The waiters/waitresses and bartenders were very nice and friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were lush and niceley manicured. The pool was good, but I spent most of my time at the beach, since I prefer the natural things. The beach was beatiful, although rocky as it gets deeper.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the tour to Saona island and it was magnificent. The natural pool there was spectacular. My kids had a great time dancing at the mini show. My husband and i did not go to the adult shows.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube