Excellence Punta Cana Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Better than ever"
Posted by: don on Feb 18, 2014
see all reviews

Excellence Punta Cana Reviews
Excellence Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Excellence Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#30
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.4

Based on 15 reviews

Excellence Punta Cana Information


At Excellence Punta Cana, all-inclusive luxury is more than a label, and excellence more than a goal. It's who we are, every day, every night, for every guest. Come see what it really means to get away from it all —at Excellence Punta Cana, the all-inclusive luxury resort and spa.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Excellence Punta Cana Reviews

Excellence Punta Cana Review: 4.4 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 15

"Better than ever"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  don  on Feb 18, 2014  >  3 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
105 people found this review helpful

Excellence Punta Cana has managed to improve since we were there 7 years ago and said it “deserved a 5-star rating.” Though we went at a prime time, we never had to wait for anything.
ADEQUATE SUPPLY OF CHAIRS: There were plenty at the beach under umbrella trees, as well as the pool. Enough towels too.
SMOKING: This was a concern at some locales back then, but no longer.
BEACH: Still the best, practically private at .45 miles long. Big waves, and meticulously groomed (no seaweed).
ENTERTAINMENT: We went only to circus night, and the talent was as good as on “America’s Got Talent.”
TENNIS AVAILABILITY: Three courts, but I think only one other group ever used them..
FOOD VARIETY: On our last trip, I was impressed with getting caviar one morning. This time, there was caviar every morning, as well as sushi, fresh honey, mimosas and bloody marys. Food was not hot at the outdoor barbecue. Overall, the food was average, with some items excellent, and others mediocre.
BARS: Nice sports bar by the tennis courts with sandwiches, ice cream and desserts.
NON-HARRASSMENT: Vendors never approached us.
TV STATIONS: Major network and cable available. Newspapers were free every morning.
QUIET: The pools were mostly quiet. Likewise, the beach.
STAFF: They seem to enjoy helping guests. On our first night, we needed more hangers. We asked a maid three buildings away for some, and I wasn’t sure she understood, and had no confidence our request would be fulfilled. When we got back to our room: a dozen more hangers.
CLEANING: Two days out of seven our room wasn't cleaned in the morning, and a call got a maid before too long.
GROUNDS: Included an ecology trail with geese and ducks..
ROOM: Nice hammock in our first-floor yard. Bathroom walls made of glass though, so light shines in room when someone uses at night. High-tech shower, nice jacuzzi. Toiletries were “made in China” (bad idea).
WRISTBANDS: No nonsense with bands IDs or reservations for restaurants, not even a credit card request when checking in.
CASINO: Odds on slots seem stingy. Customer-contact personnels’ English inadequate.

Last time I said “ it's not the best we've been to.” This time I think it is.

Room Number:
12002

Room Block:
12

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Experience!"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Apr 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
493 people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at the Majestic Elegance CLUB and it was absolutely wonderful! The rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. The beach is CLEAN and not overcrowded with staff bringing drinks to you. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Arrival:
If you stay at the CLUB you get special check-in services with NO lines.

Rooms:
Clean, big and very comfortable.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach at the CLUb is not crowded and very close to the Concierge lounge. The pool is cold and needs to be heated.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"musty mouldy rooms"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Jan 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
547 people found this review helpful

Punta Cana Excellence rooms musty – but you be the judge!

Ten of us were there for Christmas but our initial accommodations experience started out BAD.

We arrived after a one hour ride from the airport to be greeted with champagne and my thought was WOW! This is great. Check-in went fast. We were escorted to our rooms. The second we entered the room the mould smell was over whelming. My nose started burning. We were very clear with the bellman that this was not OK and needed a room change that evening.

A similar problem occurred with several other family members’ rooms, with mould/must smells dominating their rooms. One of our family members soon became very ill due to the overwhelming mould smell; we had to request onsite medical care due to such reaction.

THE RESORT IS VERY AWEAR OF THE MOULD PROBLEM! The rest of our family had dampness in their beds and linens never felt dry. Most rooms have a faint musty smell on lower floors in buildings 1, 2, 3, 6, 7.

Finally the second rooms (upper floor) we were given was much better. NO SMELL. We were very frustrated to have booked in April but given rooms which we on the ground level when we had requested higher floors initially. However our travel representative was great in the process and had told us he had to help others move out of their rooms due to MUSTY, MOLDY SMELLS.

We want to be fair to the resort and staff they really did try to MAKE IT RIGHT! We have noticed that some reviewers have scolded people for saying anything about this problem; I am just telling travelers what we experienced.

We have been to Dominican 3 times and you can have a little musty smell BUT THIS WAS VERY BAD. All I can say is even if it is a 5 STAR if your health is affected by poor room conditions you will not be able to enjoy the rest of the great stuff resort offers. Be careful as this mould can damage your health, and can affect your immune system.

Apparently early booking for choice custom rooms means nothing. So check trip advisor reports and be your own judge as others experiences can make a difference. If this had not happened to us we would have had nothing really negative to say about this resort. If the rooms do not get corrected quickly then their 5 star rating will be questionable in near future.

Vendors they allow on the resort can be very pushy. None the less the beach is very beautiful; the resort grounds lobby areas and hallways are well kept and clean. The ocean can be rough having red flags displayed everyday in December January but enjoyable. The food choices and restaurants are good but could be more consistent for a 5 star resort. French and Mexican are ranked the best most often. However, do not accept staying in a room you’re not comfortable with as this is what will force changes and improve things for others down the road. Happy Travels.

Room Number:
1202

Arrival:
dec 22

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Excellence" Punta Cana is well below average"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Garry  on Apr 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
802 people found this review helpful

We waited 3 hours in the exclusive excellence club until well past check-in time for a room that once was nice but under new owners had fallen into disrepair. Self-locking shower doors, motion sensing lights that go on and off all night, few of the amenities promised. After spending a couple of hours fixing lighting problems so we could see and then sleep, we went out. The food reminds you of an all-you-can-eat Florida buffet with nothing as advertised on the menu. If you order steak its a coin-flip whether you get fish or chicken. The low quality extended to the beer with Miller as the only foreign alternative of an "all-inclusive" resort. The French restaurant had a lump of whipped meat passing as pate. The meats are very tough although the resort does do potato dishes well... and frequently. The staff are nice but not motivated. We are mercifully leaving tomorrow.

Room Number:
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite

Rooms:
For $800 dollars a night the shower door shouldn't trap you inside, there should be some of the first class accessories promised, and the staff should be able to fix the lighting issues. At 10 pm on our next to last day we were offered another room but the thought of repacking and being or having a handyman in another room for one day was too depressing. If you go here, the excellence club is unnecessary. The sign-in was slower and you will spend no time there. For the extra $500 per day the only difference is a couple of bottles of liquor twhich is free anyway. Save your money.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice wait staff but low-quality food that was rarely what we ordered. Unless you are drinking the local beer or wine you will get something to drink that will surprise you. Best bet is avoiding the theme restaurants and eating at the buffet where you can see what you are getting. Room service is slow, cold and pretty tasteless. If you eat in decent restaurants on a regular basis you will be disappointed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach. Great pool. Plenty of beer at pool-side bars. Guests from the more economically side of the resort come to the "excellence club" pool very early and stake claims to club pool and beach chairs for the entire day. If you go here there is no reason to pay more. Lots of tatoos everywhere.

Other Comments:
Owning a marketing company, many of this resorts reviews seem to be written by one person. They may be unique but that would surprise me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellente"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gale  on Mar 12, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
800 people found this review helpful

We had an amazing vacation at Excellence. The food, drinks, service, staff were all amazing. The resort is kept immaculate. The grounds are beautiful. There is so much to do all day and always entertainment in the evening. We had a cabana bed at the pool almost every day. They serve drinks at the pool and the beach all day. We stayed at a Sandals resort 2 years ago and they do not compare to the Excellence. This is the first resort we have stayed at that we will definitely return to. Be sure to look up Jose the bartender. He will keep you laughing. Highly recommend the Excellence for an excellent vacation.

Arrival:
Arrival was fast and smooth.

Rooms:
Our room was great and kept spotless. Mini bar stocked daily with beer, pop and water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Every restaurant we visited was awesome. Lasagna in the italian restaurant was great. No reservations and no limits to your visits for any of the restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful altho the water was rough. Pool is amazing and again, clean at all times. Lots of activities at both.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Outback adventure tour is great.

Other Comments:
Overall an amaizing resort. Congratulations to the owners, managers and most of all, the staff!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Trip of a Lifetime"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
865 people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 10 glorious days at this resort and really did not want to come home! The weather was perfect, the service was second to none and the food was sumptuous. Our butler, Dionisio bent over backwards to see that all our requests and needs were met. When he had a day off he made sure someone else was there to take over for him. The concierge was just downstairs from our room and although there were different employees on different days, we found them all to be very helpful. I witnessed a fellow Canadian giving the concierge on duty a very difficult time but his situation was handled professionally with a smile and never a cross word or elevetion in his voice. The Dominican people seem to be a very happy people. Even the gardening staff welcomed you with a greeting and smile if you allowed them to. I noticed people haveing problems getting clean towels but some of these people wanted towels relaced several times a day which obviously made it difficult to keep up with demand. There was never a shortage of lounge chairs at the ocean or by the pools.
People attempted to help us to understand their language by teaching us some of the basic greetings etc. I wish I had taken a Spanish course beforehand.

Room Number:
3238

Room Block:
B

Arrival:
We arrived on 1/24/11 and left 2/3/11. We celebrated an anniversary there and hope to do so again in the future. This is the 4th time in the DR but never
did we have such a wonderful time! Since we are both retired, it may be a long time before we can return.....the sooner the better!
A heartfelt thank you to all staff at this magnificent resort, right down to housekeeping, who all did their respective work with a smile and greeting!
THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Rooms:
Elegant and beautlfully furnished-made us feel like royalty!

Restaurants and Bars:
We attended the French restaurant on three occasions only to come away with a smile on our face. The food was excellent and the service would rival any high end restaurant any place one could imagine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Maintenance of all of these was ongoing. If a plastic cup was left by a patron, it was picked up and disposed of almost immediately by the staff.
There was never a shortage of lounges which is definitely a situation we encountered at previous resorts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were activities to suit all ages. Something was ongoing every day. If you could not find something that you could enjoy, then you were not looking!

Other Comments:
The only thing that I am afraid of is going on another vacation and not being able to return here....therefore not being able to duplicate this wonderful experience. I would definitely rather wait a few years to travel so that I can return here!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just booked for a third year"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gwen  on Aug 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
937 people found this review helpful

For many years, have I taken a sunshine winter holiday (from London, UK) with a long-standing friend. We have both travelled extensively and for our special winter break simply want to spend time together lazing by the pool, soaking up the sunshine on the beach, sharing a pleasant dinner, reading lots books. We first stayed here in 2008 and it was the first time either of us had been to an all-inclusive resort. Towel cards (what are they?), wrist bands (we know what they are and we certainly wouldn't want to wear them!) and restaurant bookings are unknowns to us. We're pleased we stay at the Excellence which is still our only all-inclusive experience.

I've just booked for our January 2011 2-week trip so let's hope that nothing's changed for the worse.

Oh - by the way, if you don't like the idea of being escorted into meals (I agree with another reviewer, I absolutely HATE it. Can't think why they do it - it's creepy!) then DON'T DO IT. In fact, my male companion makes a joke of it, takes the waitresses arm and gets escorted himself. AND if you don't like the long tables (we don't because we like to gossip about other people!) then change the seats so that one sits on the short side and the other on the long side. After a few days when the staff saw us coming in to breakfast, they changed the seats and place-setting for us. That sums up the Excellence - good service from the local team.

Arrival:
It's great to hear the "pop" of the fizz as you step into the lobby. Check in has been quick for us and if you are a returning guest they make sure they welcome you "Back". It's a nice touch.

Rooms:
I agree with others, don't waste your time viewing rooms on the "upgrade" tour. The first year we were upgraded to a suite because of a problem with the air con in our room, but in fact I prefer having one large room. If something isn't quite right, have a word with the room maid and it will be put right. I speak a little Spanish (European - my "th" pronunciation for "ci" is always good for a laugh) and know how to communicate in simple, slow, basic English.

Restaurants and Bars:
Essentially ALL THE FOOD IS THE SAME whichever restaurant you eat in, it's just the ambience that's different. I suspect they have a central kitchen and simply apply different sauces and offer different presentations. No, it's not gourmet, fine dining, but hey, it ain't going to kill you and it's mostly wholesome. Better than most meals I've had in the USA (sorry guys, us Europeans eat differently). Breakfast is probably the best meal of the day and we make the most of it after taking a long walk or shorter run (either on the beach or on the road outside the resort - not exciting view but good exercise).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is lovely, cleaned daily. I'm normally not a great beach person (don't like the sand getting mixed up with my sun lotion) but for some reason I like this beach - breeze is great and I love watching the breaking waves. Undercurrent extremely strong. I'm a confident swimmer, but wouldn't swim here. Pools nice. Grounds well kept and pleasant for a stroll.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We just stay on the resort. When I've been in the US, I've bought clothing made in the DR. I wonder where all the clothing factories are situated and why there isn't any outlet shopping??

Other Comments:
Yes, the little shopping area on site is expensive and yes, Nancy's is great. Vendors not nearly as aggressive as in Bali or Africa. A pleasant smile, a "no thankyou/gracias" generally does the job. Small denomination US$ (1s and 5s) useful for tips. When my travel companion was unwell during this year's trip with a heart glitch (a pre-existing problem) the Resort doctor was on hand very quickly - good to know.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good hotel, nice rooms, great service, nice restaurants, rough ocean"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julie  on Jul 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
898 people found this review helpful

We had a good time, relaxed and had fun, weather was mid-80's and VERY humid, short thunderstorms almost daily, which is to be expected in July, but was pretty uncomfortable at night when you were dressed up.

Beautiful hotel, no wristbands needed. The resort is much larger than you first think, every time you walk around you discover something new, their map was a little hard to follow. Good service, nice people, great public bathrooms.

The orientation was useful, although they waited too long for no-shows.

Arrival:
Fine, nice people, lobby is beautiful, a nice place to hang out, bellman are great, they give youa warm welcome, champagne and an ice cold washcloth, we checked in and out quickly, although had to wait 2 hours until our room was ready because we arrived early (had a nice lunch and walked around). They provide change, but bring lots of small change for tips (USD, 1's and 5's) because sometimes it takes them a while to find some. Concerge was very helpful.

Rooms:
Great, very clean, garden view King, my husband is 6'5" and was very comfortable, layout and closet space was fine, plenty of room for your stuff, view was OK, giant palm trees, very private porch. Request the 3rd floor! Better view, quieter, high ceilings! Nice Jacuzzi, huge bed. 24x7 room service (limited menu), well stocked beverage bar, coffee maker, snacks were disappointing, TV was fine. Maid service 2x a day (use your Do Not Disturb sign!) Nice maids. They have elevators, but we didn't use them.

Restaurants and Bars:
Beautiful restaurants, great service, no AC - wear loose, cotton clothes! They escort woman to their tables, we didn't get a chance to hit every restaurant, but all were fine, except the Lobster House was full of gnats. Food was good, but we both experienced major diarrhea, do not touch tap water, bring Immodium!!!; do not not ignore warning signs (stomach pains) and stay away from coconuts. Grill on the beach was fun, great ribs. Sports bar was fun, ice cream and snacks. Drinks are good, top shelf.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were nice, but shallow. Swim up bar was fun, and large. People are bad with reserving lounge chairs, and not picking up their wet towels when done. The hotel could have more baskets for garbage and wet towels to encourage clean up, and could do a beter job of cleaning up cups, garbage, etc. on the beach and pools. They often ran out of towels mid-afternoon (and after surprise rain) but would bring them to you when ready. They have nice lounge chairs with cushions, nice towels, and side tables. If you see chairs with rolled up towels, they ARE available!

Beach was fun, nice view, quiet, NO boats (too rough?), a little windy, but that means no bugs and a cool breeze. We received no bug bites (sand fleas) but used bug spray on our feet. Beach and ocean were clean and nice for walking, but undertow / surf was very rough, they recommended NO swimming the 7 out of 8 days we were there (people went in anyway); we walked the beach in the daylight away from the resort and felt safe. The drink service was OK, could be a little better. Public bathrooms were very nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We ziplined, which was fun but quite the workout (if you're over 55, overweight or a smoker, or afraid of heights, watch out), you walk through the hot, humid jungle climbing tall platforms. Everyone was dripping with sweat. We bought the CD for $20, it was OK, but 90% is pictures of other people (you can't bring a camera on the rides, you lock up all personnel belongings in a locker, bring Deep Woods off). Guides are excellent (the lead guy is hot!), very experienced, safe and nice. Wear sneakers! The open air bus trip was interesting, dirt roads in the jungles, don't bring a lot of stuff with you. Ladies - this is a glamorous sport (go easy on the makeup). Go in the AM!! We were gone 8:15 to 1 PM, it's not a 2 hour event like they tell some people.

We also did the Somoa Island booze cruise, it was OK but I recommend 1 or the other, and not back to back like we did, the AC bus ride was LONG, and the same roads as zip lining so it was boring to me, bring a change of clothes and leave them in the locked bus, it rained when we got to the island and the entire way back so we were wet and chilly, many people on our boat got very sick from too much rum. The vendors attack you from the bus to boat, very annoying. One way is nice large Catamaran boat, one way is open air, small speed boat.
Again, beware if you're older or overwight, you have to climb up swim ladders and hop over seats. Beach barbecue was just OK, swimming was OK.

The water at the resort was so rough, we did no included water sports. We went horseback riding along the beach, which was fun, go the day after their day off when they're fresh, go in the AM! (cooler), they let you gallop (if you want) and take your pix, horses were surpringly responsive. Don't pay for the extra horse riding.

No golf, but we didn't care.

Other Comments:
We had a good time. A variety of people and ages, most seemed to be from the tri-state area (US) so we had a lot on common. Many honeymooners, some families, some couples in their 40's and 50's, a few older. It was romantic and relaxing. Played a lot of pool volleyball.

The hotel (as they all can) could make a few small improvements, but overall it's a nice place and I would recommend it.

Our only real complaint was the rough ocean. We've been to Jamaica and on the other side of the DR island and loved the water.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellence Punta Cana"

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Mar 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
900 people found this review helpful

We just returned from Excellence in Puna Cana and it was excellent. The bus ride from the airport was about 1 hour 15 minutes but we were in a comfortable bus and the scenery was good and we had smooth roads.
The regular garden rooms were a little tired but we had lots of supplies, towels, a bar fridge with water, soft drinks and beer. The cleaning staff came every morning and we had turn down service every night.
The food was excellent with numerous choices every meal-2 Italian, the grill with excellent steaks, Asian, French, Mexican, the Lobster house, Mediterian and beach grill.
The drinks were great with bar service at the pools and the beaches plus about 10 other bars.
The entertainment was wonderful with a variety of entertainment every night- ABBA show, circus show, Micheal Jackson, Dominican Folk Show, singers and dancers.
The only downside was the flys and moisquittos. We brought OFF and were not bothered by them but a new bride from England was covered from head to toe with bites that swelled up. We have travelled extensively in the Carribean and have never saw so many insects.
The best part of the Excellence resort is their staff-they are so kind and helpful. Some of their English is poor but we managed to get along fine.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellence vs Dreams Punta Cana "

Excellence Punta Cana
User Rating:  Excellence Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doug  on Jan 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
982 people found this review helpful

Stayed at each of these properties for 2 weeks recently (Dreams in Dec; Excellence in Jan). These are both 5 star properties 2 miles apart on the same beach. Both are very nice and far better than most other 5 stars in punta Cana. Both have no dinner reservation policies, no towel cards, 24 hr room service etc. Excellence is Adults only.

Rooms:
I stayed in the preferred area in both properties. Rooms are about equal; large, good amenities. Excellence room was quieter and had flat screen TV plus direct view of ocean. Dreams room had larger bathroom. One note is the exterior of the excellence buildings need to be updates/painted. But inside was fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellence had overall better food, larger menu choices, more consistent quality. Dreams quality was good but after 2 weeks was lacking in choice. However Dreams has a buffet option for dinner (Excellence does not) and the restaurants on the beach are really nice. Drink quality (good) the same at either with lots of choice and many bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Both are absolutely perfect. Beautiful quiet location and lots of beach to walk on. Note Excellence has NO water sports/sailing etc.due to wave action. Both have great restaurants/bars/restrooms close to beach.
Excellence property is smaller and much less walking. Dreams is a bit better maintained (walkways/pools/bridges etc)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excellence had outstanding nightly entertainment. Since it is adults only, entertainment was more "show" oriented. Dreams had good entertainment but more family oriented.
Why anyone pays for excursions in Punta Cana is beyond me. Nothing to see really and tours are very expensive. Save your $$ and stay at the beach.

Other Comments:
Service at both is very good, perhaps a slight edge to Dreams. Dreams has very nice kids area; Excellence adults only. Beaches and amenities at both are first rate. Really you cannot go wrong at either. But better quality of food and entertainment probably would give Excellence a slight edge.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube