Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Punta Cana. reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana.  

Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Do Not Go There"
Posted by: vic on Nov 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews
Barcelo Punta Cana. Pictures and Information
Barcelo Punta Cana. Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#4
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 51 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Information


Barceló Punta Cana is a Barceló All-Inclusive for adults, singles and families, where all meals, wines, local and international beverages, land sports and non-motorized watersports with equipment and some instructions, entertainment, and other activities are included in one single price.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.9 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  35
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (23)
Party (2)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 51

"Do Not Go There"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  vic  on Nov 16, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2015 | Leisure | With Group
268 people found this review helpful

Arrived on a long weekend for the Dominicans. Our friends booked an ocean view like us. We got our ocean view they did not. When asked why we were told that the hotel was booked for the long weekend. When a room becomes available our friends will have to come down and make arrangements to change the room. Another couple who did not get their ocean view room were upgraded to the Premium package. A lot of good that did. A lot of the extras in the package were not available to them. Spoke to a few people who paid for the package and they felt that they did not get what they paid for. Most of the times the little perks were not available. (Tonic for gin and tonic)

Went to the bar and asked for some drinks. Had to wait for some time as there was two bar tenders at the main bar. The bar tenders were taking care of the Spanish speaking people before anyone else. The reason was that their English was not that good. Most of the staff were poor in communicating in English. You would think that with the Barcelo being open for so many years that their staff would be more fluent in English, French and German. This was the same at any of the bars that we went to.

We had a pool party one day with over 120 people. We asked about having another bar tender. At first the manager thought we wanted another bar. It took them a few minutes to realize that we were asking for another bar tender. Well that did not happen.

One night for dinner wine was ordered. I t was a terrible house wine. When we asked for another selection of wine, we were told that we would have to pay the bottle of wine.

The beef at the resort was always tough

Out of all the people that were with the group I did not speak with one that said that they would come back to the resort. We were at Ocean Blue last year and all said that they would go there, no problems.

Very, Very disappointed.

Room Number:
2102

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
Checking in was slow and tedious.

Rooms:
Clean. Had to ask to have water and pop replenished daily.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet and snack bar did not have a vast varied selection of choices daily. It was the same choices each day.

Bars had there local booze. Other choices were few and far between. Not sure but it appeared that the bar tender would order there choices for the day and if they ran out then they would tell you they were out. (technically true). If you went to another bar they may have the selection you were looking for.

In one instance they ran out of "COKE". It took almost an hour before they would have some available.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools needed some maintenance.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Nov 11, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
274 people found this review helpful

jack hammering under our balcony,sawing and hammering dawn to dusk outside our room,room wasn't ready till after 5:00pm on arrival they totally ignore tourist cater to the locals at both bars and restaurants,staff are very unfriendly while having dinner one night they decided to apply a lacquer finish to the steps next to our table(nice smell) most of the week we where there they where out tonic water( gin and tonic) my drink of choice wasted my money upgrading to the Premium Club,been to the Domincan 7 times,by far this was a vacation from hell

Room Number:
3236

Room Block:
Bldg 3

Arrival:
Nov 7th 2015

Rooms:
Ok after they removed the peeling paint from the ceiling and repainted it while we were there

Restaurants and Bars:
Food ok service as stated above was given preference to locals at both bars and restaurants

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was clean as stated construction happening all over the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ok

Other Comments:
Will never return to this resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"bad food"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  joanne  on Mar 13, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2015 | Party | With friend
164 people found this review helpful

The place is very nice the beach super and the pool but the food at supper is disgusting we had one not to bad meal the last night we were there The people at the reception are not very friendly but the rest of the staff was very nice you have to ask all the time for them to fill up the little fridge you have to ask to have towels in your bath room it was our first time at that hotel and it will be the last it is to bad because we were looking for a nice place with good food for our daughter's wedding but it won't be there
7310

Room Number:
7310

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
people at the reception are not friendly it looked like they don't care if you are happy or not

Rooms:
always missing towels we had to ask to filled up our little fridge we were allowed to have some beer we never got it fast cleaning

Restaurants and Bars:
the food at supper time was horrible 4 nights in a roll they had a peace of beef who looked disgusting and tasted like rubber same with spare ribs the only thing eatable was the pasta with the very friendly chef

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was beautiful and the pool too also the grounds

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they took us to shop at Nicole no deal there you should just go the the shopping center next to the hotel people are nice and you can make a deal

Other Comments:
it is not worth the money

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful and active hotel"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  netter  on Jul 9, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
499 people found this review helpful

Words are not enough to describe how beautiful and active this hotel is; I had the best time of my life here at this hotel during my vacation and stayed here for an amazing 10 days without any form of regret. The best thing about this place was the beach, it’s very beautiful and clean with lounge chairs, all I did was just sit at the beach and relaxed while watching people interact, snorkeling and all forms of beach activities. It was crazy but fun in a good way. The pools are nice and clean and you will always see people there having fun. The food here was great, I specifically loved the French and Mexican restaurants, they offer the best dishes I have had compared to other hotels I have been too as this is not my first time visiting DR. The staff was so amazing, they were very polite, accommodating on a professional level and also fun and that made me so happy. The staff here tries their best to communicate with the guests and even though their English language is a bit on the low side, it was nice knowing that they tried. The rooms are great, simple but modern, the bathrooms are large and clean with hot water, and they have the necessary amenities. I had a room here with the ocean view and it was beautiful, I will definitely come back here again on my next vacation. Thanks for the wonderful holiday you made me have, cheers!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The right time at the right place.."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth (mra)  on Dec 11, 2013  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
663 people found this review helpful

BARCELO PUNTA CANA - CLUB PREMIUM/PRESTIGE
November 10 - 17, 2013
Ruth (mra) & Dave - Belleville ON, Canada


We had the opportunity to take a “very last minute” vacation to Punta Cana & after finding what we thought to be an excellent price, we booked the BARCELO PUNTA CANA -Club Premium/Prestige for 7 glorious days !

FLIGHT: Because of some personal scheduling, we had a 3 day flying window and found that flying from Montreal was going to be much better than flying from Toronto. We chose Transat Vacations due to the fact that they still had Option Plus seating with extra leg-room available on our “last minute flight” & the price fit our budget.
Departure was from Pierre Elliott Trudeau Airport in Montreal at 7:00am. We had Options Plus booking & had also pre-booked our Emergency Row seating for the extra leg room..both for the Outbound & Inbound flights. It was a quick check-in at the Airport & going through Security was a breeze…from start to finish, about 20 minutes, with boarding starting at 6:25am. Our plane was big, holding approx 340 pax & we were loaded and ready to taxi by 7:05am. A pleasant flight with great staff.










Arrival:
AIRPORT ARRIVAL: Touch down is 12:08pm & getting off the plane was easy…getting into the Arrivals area was another thing, as we were “herded” onto a couple of buses & driven around past the air planes to the Arrival walkway. We could have walked it much faster ! It was a quick line through Immigration and then the stupidity/kaos started at the luggage carousel. You have 340 pieces of luggage coming off one plane, and as the luggage came around, the baggage handlers just took the suitcase off & jumbled them all together. There was no rhyme or reason and people had difficulty finding their possessions. We eventually found our suitcases & were off to find our transfer bus. And it was the best we’ve ever had…a van with 6 people ! 4 of us to Barcelo Punta Cana & 2 people to Dreams. The other best part?? The drive on the new highway was only 25 minutes long !!

RESORT ARRIVAL: We had been instructed by our Resort contact to come, with our luggage, immediately to the Club Premium Lounge on the 3rd floor. The porters, after unloading our luggage from the van, didn’t want us to do that, so they instead took us to the Reception. And it was them who figured out that we should be upstairs at the Lounge anyway !. So up we went to be warmly greeted by Rosa .
Our room was ready for us, but we could not get into it until later in the afternoon due to some water leakage from the shower in the room above ours. Rosa & Yessica got us checked in & we received our wrist bands & information package, complete with a la carte reservations for the entire week! Off to explore & have some lunch, we returned to the Lounge to check on the status of our room. And since the repair in the room above us couldn’t be done until 4pm, Rosa found us another room that we could use until that time.

Rooms:
ROOMS: Finally, we are able to access our room we were so overwhelmed by what we saw upon opening the door! Our room is a Club Premium Suite…with room to spare ! A full bathroom on the left as we come in the door… a walk-in shower with rain-head shower heads, toilet & full sink and the most beautiful tile work that I’ve seen in a long time. Walking into the living room we have a futon-type couch that could sleep 2 children if needed, 3 comfortable chairs, a big coffee table that is holding a “fresh fruit plate”, a desk with 3 storage drawers & a low credenza with 6 more storage drawers. Along the wall is a “coffee bar” with a tray holding the coffee maker, 2 mugs & a basket of coffee supplies. Under the coffee bar is the mini-fridge, complete with water, beer, & soda pop. To the right of the “coffee bar” is a bank of closets/shelves with room enough to hang jackets and the storage of suitcases for the week, plus it is the location of the electronic safe. Located on a shelf that had easy access and for us, the cost of the safe was included in our package.
From the living room, we go into the bedroom & our senses were greeted by 4 towel swans surrounded by red rose petals on the bed. And on the credenza is a bouquet of red roses. It was simply stunning ! There is another full wall of closet/shelving space in the master bedroom, plus a desk & credenza with drawer space. On each side of the bed was a bedside table with lamps & switches that controlled lights & the ceiling fan. There was also an Ipod docking station/radio/alarm clock on one of the tables. There were hangers, although I did bring some plastic ones with me & left them behind. The suite included robes & slippers, plus an iron and ironing board.
The master bathroom had a Jacuzzi bathtub with shower & there was also another walk-in shower with a rain-head. The sink/counter area was large and had plenty of space to accommodate our essentials ! I was very impressed with the “basket of bathroom amenities” that was available in both bathrooms. And it was nice that we could both get ready for dinner at the same time ! The king-size bed was very comfortable & the pillows were spot on!…the first resort that I’ve not had to grumble about pillows !
We check out the view from our 3rd floor balcony…a more beautiful view I could not have !! Looking out over the quiet pool we could view the ocean, the pool, the El Mexico Lindo restaurant and in the distance we could see what was suppose to be Roco-Ki
Our maid did a great job with our room during the week, usually having it done by mid-afternoon. And most evenings, we’d have a “turn down service”, complete with rose petals, chocolates & towel art. Water, pop & beer is replaced in the mini fridge daily…we would leave a note as to what items we required, along with a tip, and we were kept filled during our stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
LOBBY/RECEPTION/LOBBY BAR(S): The Lobby is quite big and seems to be able to handle the amount of people that come through it, but for me there was nothing really special & outstanding. In fact the sitting area & Lobby looked very bland & I thought it could do with a fresh coat of colour ! There are 2 Lobby Bars for this resort…Alhambra to the right of the Reception Desk and just outside of the main dining room, & the Marien, located to the left of the Reception Desk and just opposite the Guest Services Desk. The hum of activity each night was at the Alhambra Bar, the Marien was much quieter. We did spend a bit of time at these bars people watching & listening to some entertainment that was in the “piano bar”, but most of our time was spent upstairs in our Club Lounge where things were a bit quieter.

FOOD & RESTAURANTS: This is where we had some problems, as we found the food to be generally un-appealing & very repetitive. And if it hadn’t been for the fact that we had a la carte dinner reservations for the full week, I know that we would have been disappointed. As it was, we were disappointed in the variety of food during lunch in the Alcazar (main dining room) and were happy instead, to be able to order off the menu at at the Mexico Lindo Restaurant just off the beach. There is also a Don Simon Pizzeria located in the upper rafters of the Mare Nostrum (Marlin) Poolside Restaurant, open during lunch only, from 11am to about 4pm. Unfortunately, the Pizzeria was open on the weekend only during our stay, but at least we were able to eat there once.
I must say that the a la carte restaurants were very varied. Our choices for the week included the Tokio Japanese, Mare Nostrum (what used to be known as El Marlin), El Conuco (Dominican), Le Comedie (French), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo. Our favourites were Le Comedie, Mare Nostrum & La Dolce Vita. For breakfast we were content to eat in our Club Lounge where a buffet of eggs, bacon, cereal, toast, croissants, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, cold meats, tea, coffee, juice & milk greeted us every morning…with no line ups !

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE RESORT & GARDENS: This resort is fairly well kept but we did notice a few areas that needed a bit of TLC…some paint, some weeds pulled from the garden and even a few more flowers could be added. What gardens are there, did not reflect the beauty of the area…some of the bushes were flowering, and other areas were pretty bland. Maybe it was just the time of year ! The walkways, paths & ramps were well taken care of & those of the maintenance staff we saw, were busy all the time. Security staff was in full view during the day & evenings.

POOL(S): We had 2 pools available for our use …the quieter one located opposite Bldg 3 & the activity pool with swimup bar, located opposite Bldg 4. Our favourite was the quieter pool with a “hidden Jacuzzi area” in the centre. There was also Jacuzzi tubs opposite Bldg #7. The pools were well kept …netted & cleaned every morning. The pool area didn’t seem to be too busy during our week’s stay & although “the towel game” was played the resort wasn’t busy enough for that to make much difference. There were plenty of loungers & palapas available for those who wanted them.

THE BEACH: This resort is located on a nice stretch of beach in the Playa Arena Gorda area of Punta Cana. The sand is pristine & is beautiful and very walkable….to the right of the Barcelo is the remnants of the Grand Paradise Bavaro, soon to be the new Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash; followed by the Majestic Colonial & the Majestic Elegance. To the walkable left of the Barcelo is the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino & in the distance is what was suppose to be the Roco Ki . There are no palapas on the beach for the Barcelo, but there is a nice bank of palm trees that give off plenty of shade for those who need & want it. Loungers were plentiful & there did not seem to be too much of “the towel game” being played here either. Staff kept the beach area clean, as did vacationers due to the fact that garbage bins were very prevalent. Two Lifeguard Stations are manned daily from 10am to 5pm & flags fly to advise swimmers of the water conditions. For most of our week, the “red” flag was flying, but that didn’t stop people from taking advantage of the waves. The one main problem I had with this beach area & it was the same with our stay at the Grand Palladium…there were no chairs available for those who would rather sit than lay. If we wanted a chair, then we had to “borrow” some from the lower pool bar & hope that they were still available for our use the next day !

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ENTERTAINMENT: We did not have the chance to take in any of the shows during our week, but enjoyed a couple of entertainers in the Alhambra Piano Bar area.

DAILY ACTIVITIES: As well as the swimming, lounging, walking & excursions that you do while on vacation, the Animacion Team kept guests as busy as they wanted to be with Merengue lessons, Spanish lessons, horse shoes, darts, funny games, twists & turns on the Trapeze & scrambles up the Rock Climbing Wall. A tennis court, a games room/Sports Bar & Gym are also available for guests. There was also a great Kids Area, with Barcy’s Water Park & Barcy’s Mini Club. A wide variety of things to do!

Other Comments:
GOOD BYE; Our week of relaxation & beautiful weather came to an end and it was time to say goodbye to our new friends Rosa, Yessica & Angela in the Club Premium Lounge. We had a quick trip back to the Airport and our check-in was very smooth, although the Senoritas who were taking pictures were not happy that we walked right through without having ours done. The flight back to Montreal was on time & it was a surprise to go “from beach & palm trees to all things Christmas” !

We had a wonderful vacation & so glad that we chose this resort. Would we recommend this resort ?? …yes, but spend the extra & go Club Premium or Prestige if you can. And yes, we will return when the time allows.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible Resort "

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jess  on Jul 30, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Party | With Group
751 people found this review helpful


Where to begin? The experience begins with the Check – In, it took us 2 hours to get our room keys and bands. When we walked into the rooms! I was in shock what I saw on the website was nothing like in real life. The website is VERY deceiving, what they show you on their website as a standard room is not what you get when you walk into that room. The rooms that are on the website are Premium Rooms that you basically have to pay extra for and even after you do its still a dump!. We had 5 rooms and all 5 rooms had to be changed 3 times for the next 3 days. We had broken beds, bed bugs, ants on our beds, and all of the counters and we were on level 3. There is no water pressure in the showers or the toilet. At one point the toilet stopped working at night and had to flush in the morning.

Beware of locals, I think this resort specializes in having locals around from Friday – Sunday. When that is the case becareful there is no food left over after 7:30pm.
The Snack Bar is Horrible!! Like you don’t even want to look at! Bugs dead and there are flies everywhere on the food.
The buffet is pretty good but its very repetitive, although they did have a Mexican night and a Asian theme night that was really good!. If you think you can take food out of the buffet area for a nighttime snack because the snack bar is disgusting, think again they will not let you take it out! They will make you throw out everything you have in your plate

The front desk and the Manager of this place don’t do anything for you until you argue and fight with them! The managing for this place is horrible! The corporation for Barcelo really needs to look at this place and reevaluate it.

My cousins shoes got stolen the 3rd day there, we filed a stolen report when he kept going there for 3 days they said they were still investigating, finally I ran into the manager of this place. He assured that he would have everything figured out the DAY we leave at 12pm when we check out (this is the day before when it should have been resolved and I talked to him) At 12pm he didn’t have anything ready! I yelled at this guy for 2 hours and so did my cousin our whole last day was basically spent at the front desk! They Don’t Do Anything!!You have to sit them down and yell and argue with them that there facts are totally wrong! They basically investigated the problem in-front of us even though they said it would have been ready but in fact they don’t do anything! We wanted our money compensated but they told us they would give us a gift card to shop in their gift shop! At that point both my cousin and I freaked out! In the end he gave us a voucher from the travel agent we booked out ticket but that took them 3 hours! (Still haven't seen the money yet)

All in all this trip was horrible you have to fight to get everything done! Best advice PLEASE don’t book this resort you will regret it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not good at all"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deb  on Feb 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
784 people found this review helpful

We had a very bad time. The same food all week. Not a very clean place at all. Could not understand anyone that was bad! Lots of bed bugs I have bits all over me. The people were not friendly at all. Lots of little kids.beer water down.just a very bad time.there was not a lot to do there.

Room Number:
7212

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4.5 star"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis  on Dec 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
791 people found this review helpful

We have been to Punta Cana 15 times at many resorts and our stay at the Barcelo Punta Cans was very disapointing. I had read some of the reviews before hand and as always some of them I took with a grain of salt. Well...I was wrong. The rooms leaked, the room service for the fridge bar was poor to non existent. The resturants were not very good with the exception of the Japanese one. The breakfast selection was poor and this is the first place I have been to that have a hundred ways to sever hot dogs. They had hot dogs in stew, chopped up fine for your omlets, sliced, skewered and many other intersting wasy to use thme up. I'm sorry but this resort was not up to the standards that I have seen in Punta Cana. Beware of this place.

Room Number:
1210

Room Block:
1200

Arrival:
Ait Transat was very good and the pick up to the hotel was great.

Rooms:
Poor. We took the premium package and this was a joke. The refubished rooms still need a lot of work. We were a family of seven and had 3 rooms with the same problems. Lots of small ants arounf also.

Restaurants and Bars:
I only enjopyed the Japanese but the rest were not up to standard. Fish is very salty and most of the food seems to be of poor quality.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were very nice and the beach was great. The grounds could use more fixing up on the entrance.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The disco is filled with hookers, pimps and drug dealers. My son and daughter wetn to it one night and left very soon.

Other Comments:
I think Air Transat should take this resort off their list.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful until "spring breakers" arrived!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  lynne  on Mar 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
1038 people found this review helpful

This is a truly great resort.. the staff were fantastic, always friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be there. We were there for two weeks and enjoyed the pools, the fantastic beach and ocean. Food was OK... there were options during the day, buffet, burgers etc at the pool, and the snack bar at the kids pool.The salad bars were excellent and the bread so so good.There was the same sort of food every day but unless you are very picky you will never go hungry for sure. Try the pasta line.The staff were wonderful and seemed to get to know you quickly and brought you what you wanted before asking. The a- la-cartes we went to (we went to 5 different ones) were all great.We were on the 3rd floor and the small issues we had with our room (which was immaculate)were fixed very quickly.
The only downside of our whole trip was the arrival of (it seemed like thousands) spring breakers. Our room was surrounded by them, 4 to a room and we found them very entitled, rude, disrespectful and NOISY! The noise when they returned from the disco around 3 am would wake the dead! Not to mention they seemed to tke over the whole main pool, yelling, screaming drunk and making a huge mess. How the staff kept their cool and were courteous to them throughout all this blew my mind. Every morning you would see the results..the staff furiously cleaning the pool area of hundreds of plastic glasses and the mess left behind.The security staff tried to control the noise etc I know but the kids showed no respect for them at all. Must have been frustrating for them... I know it was for us!
Lesson learned... never ever go where sping breakers are !!!!! Consider yourself warned if you want a nice relaxing holiday!
Thanks to the Barcelo staff for all your great attention... you were truly one of the best parts of our vacation.

Room Number:
5234

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 rd time Lucky"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Mar 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
971 people found this review helpful

We have been to RD three times with our children for wonderful holidays. We stayed at Barcelo twice and will return again next year. Unfortunately this year we ended up staying the week that Wisconsin college students were on break. I'm sure their parents would be proud of the amount of free alcohol they can consume in 1 day. We did find that food was lacking late afternoon. Between lunch and when the buffet opens or a la carte dinnner reservations begin can be 6- 8 hours. There were hamburgers and hot dogs late in the afternoon by the pool but those ran out and the buns were very dry.
However, these are very minor points. The hotel is clean, the staff very friendly and the new theatre (massive) was a great addition for something to do in the evening. The beach is very good, always clean with no seaweed at all. Our group ranged from 4 to 54 years and we all gave our vacation a 10 out of 10. 4 of our group are 20-22 years old. They had a blast!

Room Number:
1313

Arrival:
February 24, 2012

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the cave club wasa fantastic!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube