Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Punta Cana. reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana.  

Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic

"beautiful and active hotel"
Posted by: netter on Jul 9, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews
Barcelo Punta Cana. Pictures and Information
Barcelo Punta Cana. Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#4
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.0

Based on 48 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Information


Barceló Punta Cana is a Barceló All-Inclusive for adults, singles and families, where all meals, wines, local and international beverages, land sports and non-motorized watersports with equipment and some instructions, entertainment, and other activities are included in one single price.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  35
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 48

"beautiful and active hotel"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  netter  on Jul 9, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
71 people found this review helpful

Words are not enough to describe how beautiful and active this hotel is; I had the best time of my life here at this hotel during my vacation and stayed here for an amazing 10 days without any form of regret. The best thing about this place was the beach, it’s very beautiful and clean with lounge chairs, all I did was just sit at the beach and relaxed while watching people interact, snorkeling and all forms of beach activities. It was crazy but fun in a good way. The pools are nice and clean and you will always see people there having fun. The food here was great, I specifically loved the French and Mexican restaurants, they offer the best dishes I have had compared to other hotels I have been too as this is not my first time visiting DR. The staff was so amazing, they were very polite, accommodating on a professional level and also fun and that made me so happy. The staff here tries their best to communicate with the guests and even though their English language is a bit on the low side, it was nice knowing that they tried. The rooms are great, simple but modern, the bathrooms are large and clean with hot water, and they have the necessary amenities. I had a room here with the ocean view and it was beautiful, I will definitely come back here again on my next vacation. Thanks for the wonderful holiday you made me have, cheers!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The right time at the right place.."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth (mra)  on Dec 11, 2013  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
218 people found this review helpful

BARCELO PUNTA CANA - CLUB PREMIUM/PRESTIGE
November 10 - 17, 2013
Ruth (mra) & Dave - Belleville ON, Canada


We had the opportunity to take a “very last minute” vacation to Punta Cana & after finding what we thought to be an excellent price, we booked the BARCELO PUNTA CANA -Club Premium/Prestige for 7 glorious days !

FLIGHT: Because of some personal scheduling, we had a 3 day flying window and found that flying from Montreal was going to be much better than flying from Toronto. We chose Transat Vacations due to the fact that they still had Option Plus seating with extra leg-room available on our “last minute flight” & the price fit our budget.
Departure was from Pierre Elliott Trudeau Airport in Montreal at 7:00am. We had Options Plus booking & had also pre-booked our Emergency Row seating for the extra leg room..both for the Outbound & Inbound flights. It was a quick check-in at the Airport & going through Security was a breeze…from start to finish, about 20 minutes, with boarding starting at 6:25am. Our plane was big, holding approx 340 pax & we were loaded and ready to taxi by 7:05am. A pleasant flight with great staff.










Arrival:
AIRPORT ARRIVAL: Touch down is 12:08pm & getting off the plane was easy…getting into the Arrivals area was another thing, as we were “herded” onto a couple of buses & driven around past the air planes to the Arrival walkway. We could have walked it much faster ! It was a quick line through Immigration and then the stupidity/kaos started at the luggage carousel. You have 340 pieces of luggage coming off one plane, and as the luggage came around, the baggage handlers just took the suitcase off & jumbled them all together. There was no rhyme or reason and people had difficulty finding their possessions. We eventually found our suitcases & were off to find our transfer bus. And it was the best we’ve ever had…a van with 6 people ! 4 of us to Barcelo Punta Cana & 2 people to Dreams. The other best part?? The drive on the new highway was only 25 minutes long !!

RESORT ARRIVAL: We had been instructed by our Resort contact to come, with our luggage, immediately to the Club Premium Lounge on the 3rd floor. The porters, after unloading our luggage from the van, didn’t want us to do that, so they instead took us to the Reception. And it was them who figured out that we should be upstairs at the Lounge anyway !. So up we went to be warmly greeted by Rosa .
Our room was ready for us, but we could not get into it until later in the afternoon due to some water leakage from the shower in the room above ours. Rosa & Yessica got us checked in & we received our wrist bands & information package, complete with a la carte reservations for the entire week! Off to explore & have some lunch, we returned to the Lounge to check on the status of our room. And since the repair in the room above us couldn’t be done until 4pm, Rosa found us another room that we could use until that time.

Rooms:
ROOMS: Finally, we are able to access our room we were so overwhelmed by what we saw upon opening the door! Our room is a Club Premium Suite…with room to spare ! A full bathroom on the left as we come in the door… a walk-in shower with rain-head shower heads, toilet & full sink and the most beautiful tile work that I’ve seen in a long time. Walking into the living room we have a futon-type couch that could sleep 2 children if needed, 3 comfortable chairs, a big coffee table that is holding a “fresh fruit plate”, a desk with 3 storage drawers & a low credenza with 6 more storage drawers. Along the wall is a “coffee bar” with a tray holding the coffee maker, 2 mugs & a basket of coffee supplies. Under the coffee bar is the mini-fridge, complete with water, beer, & soda pop. To the right of the “coffee bar” is a bank of closets/shelves with room enough to hang jackets and the storage of suitcases for the week, plus it is the location of the electronic safe. Located on a shelf that had easy access and for us, the cost of the safe was included in our package.
From the living room, we go into the bedroom & our senses were greeted by 4 towel swans surrounded by red rose petals on the bed. And on the credenza is a bouquet of red roses. It was simply stunning ! There is another full wall of closet/shelving space in the master bedroom, plus a desk & credenza with drawer space. On each side of the bed was a bedside table with lamps & switches that controlled lights & the ceiling fan. There was also an Ipod docking station/radio/alarm clock on one of the tables. There were hangers, although I did bring some plastic ones with me & left them behind. The suite included robes & slippers, plus an iron and ironing board.
The master bathroom had a Jacuzzi bathtub with shower & there was also another walk-in shower with a rain-head. The sink/counter area was large and had plenty of space to accommodate our essentials ! I was very impressed with the “basket of bathroom amenities” that was available in both bathrooms. And it was nice that we could both get ready for dinner at the same time ! The king-size bed was very comfortable & the pillows were spot on!…the first resort that I’ve not had to grumble about pillows !
We check out the view from our 3rd floor balcony…a more beautiful view I could not have !! Looking out over the quiet pool we could view the ocean, the pool, the El Mexico Lindo restaurant and in the distance we could see what was suppose to be Roco-Ki
Our maid did a great job with our room during the week, usually having it done by mid-afternoon. And most evenings, we’d have a “turn down service”, complete with rose petals, chocolates & towel art. Water, pop & beer is replaced in the mini fridge daily…we would leave a note as to what items we required, along with a tip, and we were kept filled during our stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
LOBBY/RECEPTION/LOBBY BAR(S): The Lobby is quite big and seems to be able to handle the amount of people that come through it, but for me there was nothing really special & outstanding. In fact the sitting area & Lobby looked very bland & I thought it could do with a fresh coat of colour ! There are 2 Lobby Bars for this resort…Alhambra to the right of the Reception Desk and just outside of the main dining room, & the Marien, located to the left of the Reception Desk and just opposite the Guest Services Desk. The hum of activity each night was at the Alhambra Bar, the Marien was much quieter. We did spend a bit of time at these bars people watching & listening to some entertainment that was in the “piano bar”, but most of our time was spent upstairs in our Club Lounge where things were a bit quieter.

FOOD & RESTAURANTS: This is where we had some problems, as we found the food to be generally un-appealing & very repetitive. And if it hadn’t been for the fact that we had a la carte dinner reservations for the full week, I know that we would have been disappointed. As it was, we were disappointed in the variety of food during lunch in the Alcazar (main dining room) and were happy instead, to be able to order off the menu at at the Mexico Lindo Restaurant just off the beach. There is also a Don Simon Pizzeria located in the upper rafters of the Mare Nostrum (Marlin) Poolside Restaurant, open during lunch only, from 11am to about 4pm. Unfortunately, the Pizzeria was open on the weekend only during our stay, but at least we were able to eat there once.
I must say that the a la carte restaurants were very varied. Our choices for the week included the Tokio Japanese, Mare Nostrum (what used to be known as El Marlin), El Conuco (Dominican), Le Comedie (French), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo. Our favourites were Le Comedie, Mare Nostrum & La Dolce Vita. For breakfast we were content to eat in our Club Lounge where a buffet of eggs, bacon, cereal, toast, croissants, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, cold meats, tea, coffee, juice & milk greeted us every morning…with no line ups !

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE RESORT & GARDENS: This resort is fairly well kept but we did notice a few areas that needed a bit of TLC…some paint, some weeds pulled from the garden and even a few more flowers could be added. What gardens are there, did not reflect the beauty of the area…some of the bushes were flowering, and other areas were pretty bland. Maybe it was just the time of year ! The walkways, paths & ramps were well taken care of & those of the maintenance staff we saw, were busy all the time. Security staff was in full view during the day & evenings.

POOL(S): We had 2 pools available for our use …the quieter one located opposite Bldg 3 & the activity pool with swimup bar, located opposite Bldg 4. Our favourite was the quieter pool with a “hidden Jacuzzi area” in the centre. There was also Jacuzzi tubs opposite Bldg #7. The pools were well kept …netted & cleaned every morning. The pool area didn’t seem to be too busy during our week’s stay & although “the towel game” was played the resort wasn’t busy enough for that to make much difference. There were plenty of loungers & palapas available for those who wanted them.

THE BEACH: This resort is located on a nice stretch of beach in the Playa Arena Gorda area of Punta Cana. The sand is pristine & is beautiful and very walkable….to the right of the Barcelo is the remnants of the Grand Paradise Bavaro, soon to be the new Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash; followed by the Majestic Colonial & the Majestic Elegance. To the walkable left of the Barcelo is the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino & in the distance is what was suppose to be the Roco Ki . There are no palapas on the beach for the Barcelo, but there is a nice bank of palm trees that give off plenty of shade for those who need & want it. Loungers were plentiful & there did not seem to be too much of “the towel game” being played here either. Staff kept the beach area clean, as did vacationers due to the fact that garbage bins were very prevalent. Two Lifeguard Stations are manned daily from 10am to 5pm & flags fly to advise swimmers of the water conditions. For most of our week, the “red” flag was flying, but that didn’t stop people from taking advantage of the waves. The one main problem I had with this beach area & it was the same with our stay at the Grand Palladium…there were no chairs available for those who would rather sit than lay. If we wanted a chair, then we had to “borrow” some from the lower pool bar & hope that they were still available for our use the next day !

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ENTERTAINMENT: We did not have the chance to take in any of the shows during our week, but enjoyed a couple of entertainers in the Alhambra Piano Bar area.

DAILY ACTIVITIES: As well as the swimming, lounging, walking & excursions that you do while on vacation, the Animacion Team kept guests as busy as they wanted to be with Merengue lessons, Spanish lessons, horse shoes, darts, funny games, twists & turns on the Trapeze & scrambles up the Rock Climbing Wall. A tennis court, a games room/Sports Bar & Gym are also available for guests. There was also a great Kids Area, with Barcy’s Water Park & Barcy’s Mini Club. A wide variety of things to do!

Other Comments:
GOOD BYE; Our week of relaxation & beautiful weather came to an end and it was time to say goodbye to our new friends Rosa, Yessica & Angela in the Club Premium Lounge. We had a quick trip back to the Airport and our check-in was very smooth, although the Senoritas who were taking pictures were not happy that we walked right through without having ours done. The flight back to Montreal was on time & it was a surprise to go “from beach & palm trees to all things Christmas” !

We had a wonderful vacation & so glad that we chose this resort. Would we recommend this resort ?? …yes, but spend the extra & go Club Premium or Prestige if you can. And yes, we will return when the time allows.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible Resort "

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jess  on Jul 30, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Party | With Group
294 people found this review helpful


Where to begin? The experience begins with the Check – In, it took us 2 hours to get our room keys and bands. When we walked into the rooms! I was in shock what I saw on the website was nothing like in real life. The website is VERY deceiving, what they show you on their website as a standard room is not what you get when you walk into that room. The rooms that are on the website are Premium Rooms that you basically have to pay extra for and even after you do its still a dump!. We had 5 rooms and all 5 rooms had to be changed 3 times for the next 3 days. We had broken beds, bed bugs, ants on our beds, and all of the counters and we were on level 3. There is no water pressure in the showers or the toilet. At one point the toilet stopped working at night and had to flush in the morning.

Beware of locals, I think this resort specializes in having locals around from Friday – Sunday. When that is the case becareful there is no food left over after 7:30pm.
The Snack Bar is Horrible!! Like you don’t even want to look at! Bugs dead and there are flies everywhere on the food.
The buffet is pretty good but its very repetitive, although they did have a Mexican night and a Asian theme night that was really good!. If you think you can take food out of the buffet area for a nighttime snack because the snack bar is disgusting, think again they will not let you take it out! They will make you throw out everything you have in your plate

The front desk and the Manager of this place don’t do anything for you until you argue and fight with them! The managing for this place is horrible! The corporation for Barcelo really needs to look at this place and reevaluate it.

My cousins shoes got stolen the 3rd day there, we filed a stolen report when he kept going there for 3 days they said they were still investigating, finally I ran into the manager of this place. He assured that he would have everything figured out the DAY we leave at 12pm when we check out (this is the day before when it should have been resolved and I talked to him) At 12pm he didn’t have anything ready! I yelled at this guy for 2 hours and so did my cousin our whole last day was basically spent at the front desk! They Don’t Do Anything!!You have to sit them down and yell and argue with them that there facts are totally wrong! They basically investigated the problem in-front of us even though they said it would have been ready but in fact they don’t do anything! We wanted our money compensated but they told us they would give us a gift card to shop in their gift shop! At that point both my cousin and I freaked out! In the end he gave us a voucher from the travel agent we booked out ticket but that took them 3 hours! (Still haven't seen the money yet)

All in all this trip was horrible you have to fight to get everything done! Best advice PLEASE don’t book this resort you will regret it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not good at all"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deb  on Feb 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
343 people found this review helpful

We had a very bad time. The same food all week. Not a very clean place at all. Could not understand anyone that was bad! Lots of bed bugs I have bits all over me. The people were not friendly at all. Lots of little kids.beer water down.just a very bad time.there was not a lot to do there.

Room Number:
7212

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4.5 star"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis  on Dec 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
325 people found this review helpful

We have been to Punta Cana 15 times at many resorts and our stay at the Barcelo Punta Cans was very disapointing. I had read some of the reviews before hand and as always some of them I took with a grain of salt. Well...I was wrong. The rooms leaked, the room service for the fridge bar was poor to non existent. The resturants were not very good with the exception of the Japanese one. The breakfast selection was poor and this is the first place I have been to that have a hundred ways to sever hot dogs. They had hot dogs in stew, chopped up fine for your omlets, sliced, skewered and many other intersting wasy to use thme up. I'm sorry but this resort was not up to the standards that I have seen in Punta Cana. Beware of this place.

Room Number:
1210

Room Block:
1200

Arrival:
Ait Transat was very good and the pick up to the hotel was great.

Rooms:
Poor. We took the premium package and this was a joke. The refubished rooms still need a lot of work. We were a family of seven and had 3 rooms with the same problems. Lots of small ants arounf also.

Restaurants and Bars:
I only enjopyed the Japanese but the rest were not up to standard. Fish is very salty and most of the food seems to be of poor quality.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were very nice and the beach was great. The grounds could use more fixing up on the entrance.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The disco is filled with hookers, pimps and drug dealers. My son and daughter wetn to it one night and left very soon.

Other Comments:
I think Air Transat should take this resort off their list.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful until "spring breakers" arrived!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  lynne  on Mar 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
609 people found this review helpful

This is a truly great resort.. the staff were fantastic, always friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be there. We were there for two weeks and enjoyed the pools, the fantastic beach and ocean. Food was OK... there were options during the day, buffet, burgers etc at the pool, and the snack bar at the kids pool.The salad bars were excellent and the bread so so good.There was the same sort of food every day but unless you are very picky you will never go hungry for sure. Try the pasta line.The staff were wonderful and seemed to get to know you quickly and brought you what you wanted before asking. The a- la-cartes we went to (we went to 5 different ones) were all great.We were on the 3rd floor and the small issues we had with our room (which was immaculate)were fixed very quickly.
The only downside of our whole trip was the arrival of (it seemed like thousands) spring breakers. Our room was surrounded by them, 4 to a room and we found them very entitled, rude, disrespectful and NOISY! The noise when they returned from the disco around 3 am would wake the dead! Not to mention they seemed to tke over the whole main pool, yelling, screaming drunk and making a huge mess. How the staff kept their cool and were courteous to them throughout all this blew my mind. Every morning you would see the results..the staff furiously cleaning the pool area of hundreds of plastic glasses and the mess left behind.The security staff tried to control the noise etc I know but the kids showed no respect for them at all. Must have been frustrating for them... I know it was for us!
Lesson learned... never ever go where sping breakers are !!!!! Consider yourself warned if you want a nice relaxing holiday!
Thanks to the Barcelo staff for all your great attention... you were truly one of the best parts of our vacation.

Room Number:
5234

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 rd time Lucky"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Mar 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
629 people found this review helpful

We have been to RD three times with our children for wonderful holidays. We stayed at Barcelo twice and will return again next year. Unfortunately this year we ended up staying the week that Wisconsin college students were on break. I'm sure their parents would be proud of the amount of free alcohol they can consume in 1 day. We did find that food was lacking late afternoon. Between lunch and when the buffet opens or a la carte dinnner reservations begin can be 6- 8 hours. There were hamburgers and hot dogs late in the afternoon by the pool but those ran out and the buns were very dry.
However, these are very minor points. The hotel is clean, the staff very friendly and the new theatre (massive) was a great addition for something to do in the evening. The beach is very good, always clean with no seaweed at all. Our group ranged from 4 to 54 years and we all gave our vacation a 10 out of 10. 4 of our group are 20-22 years old. They had a blast!

Room Number:
1313

Arrival:
February 24, 2012

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the cave club wasa fantastic!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gorgeous outside that's about it"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  roxane  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
630 people found this review helpful

We traveled for a family wedding. Our first all inclusive. Getting there was no problem. Our room smelled moldy musty. The food was horrible! I ate bread and bananas for 5 days. And you could only get that if you went to the main buffet before 9:00 am. The whole resort smelled like the greawe everything seems to fried in. We had ants and dripping ceiling in our room. The pool and beach were immaculate that is the only saving grace of this vacation!

Room Number:
2111

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful trip! I can't wait to go back to Punta Cana!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mandie  on Oct 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
741 people found this review helpful

My friend and I (ages 21 and 22, both female) travelled to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic the second week of January, 2011. I had been to Jamaica (Ocho Rios) the previous January at an all-inclusive, so it wasn't my first time down south. My friend had also been to two previous all inclusives: one in the Mayan Riviera, and one in Varadero. The flight down was uneventful. We had red-eyes both ways, something I swear to never do again. When I have to arrive/leave somewhere when it's dark, I don't feel like going.

Arrival:
The airport in Punta Cana was beautiful, nothing like the concrete jungle airport in Montego Bay. Open air everywhere, it was great. Getting our luggage was fine, everything moved quickly. We were able to easily get on the correct bus and we left almost immediately. Our resort was the last one in the lines of resorts, so the bus dropped everyone else off before us, which was fine. By the time we walked up the front steps of the Barcelo Punta Cana with our suitcases: it was about 12:30am. I was TIRED. Check in was quick for us (we booked with Nolitours, and there was a huge group getting there at the same time who booked with Sunwing, and it took them forever to check in!). I forget the name of the bell boy, but he was the most irrational idiot I think I've ever met. He took a look at the number on our room keys and then started pointing, explaining where we had to go. This resort is HUGE! How he expected us to find our room on our own was ridiculous. Anyways, we took off looking, going up elevators and down sets of stairs, couldn't find anything. Finally we went to go get on another elevator and there was the bell boy with our luggage! Thank god, we thought. He kept waving his hand motioning us to follow him. So we went, waited as he dropped two different pairs of luggage off before leading us to our room. It is now 1:30am. We've been wandering around for an hour on our own, then after this bell boy, trying to find out room. He finds the room, and we're surprised to see the door is WIDE OPEN and the TV is blaring! I looked down at our key card again and we were at the entire wrong side of the hotel to where our room was! The guy looked again at the number and was like 'oh, follow me'... So another 20 minutes later and we were in our room. Tired.

Rooms:
Our room was nice? As nice as we could have expected. I'm not picky at all, as long as it's clean. We spend most of our time outside anyway. I found the room extremely damp though, more so than anywhere else. The air conditionr worked great, but it still couldn't kill the dampness coming in through the sliding patio door, obviously the seal on it was terrible, and sometimes it didn't slide right and jammed up. We needed to get the safe re-programmed for us, so first thing the next morning someone was sent up to fix that. Great. And we wanted a mini-bar that actually worked, the one we had wasn't cooling anything in the slightest. That same morning we had that replaced without a hitch. We didn't watch TV much (we're there to have a good time in the sand and sun! Not watch TV!), so I'm not sure what they had for channels. Sometimes I would turn it on, but not often. The language barrier was really hard, harder than I'd even imagined. Any time we needed to talk to someone they never let on that they could understand us! I even tried speaking French (which I am worse in), and they understood me better than in English. So if you are bilingual in English/French, try the French language when you want something, they understand it a lot more!!

Restaurants and Bars:
For me, I a buffet is a buffet. They're all the same, they all have the same food, and they're all a little cold. Whatever! Some people complain so much, but come on, after drinking in the sun all day, anything tastes good! The little buffet closer to the beach was often where we went for lunch, just grabbed some french fries and salad while we were in our bathing suits. On the second to last day we found the CUTEST little lunch restaurant (far right side of the resort when standing on the beach). It was the complete opposite way from our room, but it was like a real restaurant with real options and a real server at lunchtime! Dessert and everything! It was amazing, we were dissappointed we hadn't discovered it sooner, actually.

Reservations were all pre-reserved for us by Nolitours for the a-la-carts, of which there were 4. We went to 'Tokio' first, specializing in Japanese food. It was amazing! Grilled right in front of your table, each table had their own chef. It was delicious too! Next we were supposed to go to the French one 'Paris'.. But this is when my friend got sick! It was the Monday morning/afternoon. She's claiming she got sick from the water/food. I'm telling her it was most definitely the 800 or so beers we drank at the swim-up bar, ALL DAY. So we passed on the dinner that night (I was kinda bummed out about this, lol). We ordered room service though! Of course this isn't included, and the prices were crazy, but she was so sick she couldn't get out of bed, so this was our only option. It wasn't good at all... And didn't help her sickness at all. When she was feeling better we went to 'El Conuco', the specialized Dominican food place. I hated this. Mostly because I'm the pickiest eater ever, and if I don't understand what's on the menu, I'll order it wrong... Which of course I did, and I ended up with some vey vinigarry slop, lol. The last restaurant was 'Roma', the Italian one, and it was WONDERFUL! I had fediccini alfredo and absolutely loved it!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were amazing here, nice and clean, and they were large. Our room was very close to one of the pools. The beach is the reason that I will forever return to Punta Cana! It was great! Never a shortage of chairs and the sand was great! We loved riding the waves coming in, we'd just sit there for hours and soak it all in. The grounds were well kept. Occasionally this gross-looking garbage truck vehicle would make its rounds, it was disgusting and the fumes coming out of the back of it almost made you gag, but it wasn't often. Very nice greenery and water fountains all over the place too.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do too much in terms of excursions. We were scheduled to meet with our Nolitours rep the first morning we were there at 10:00am. When we had finally got settled in the night before, we knew we were going to need that alarm clock to wake us up in order to eat breakfast and make it to the meeting for 10:00am. The clock in our room was showing the wrong time, I thought nothing of it and got out my iPod to match the time with. The alarm went off the next day at 7:30am and we got up, showered, and set my friends new watch to that time before we heading out to breakfast, so we would be on time for our appointment. When we were done eating by 9:00, we were drinking waiting on our time for the meeting... We went down to see the rep at what we thought was 10:00am. Wow, we'd missed the meeting! It was in fact almost 12:30 in Dominican! The clock in our room was SLOW! When we had set it the night before it didn't move at the right speed and went SLOW! By almost 2 and a half hours! Needless to say, we were a little bummed we had missed the meeting, but instead were able to sit down with her there and talk about some options for excursions. We ended up going on the 'Bavaro Runners', which was about $85 US each, and was an allday trip. Our tour guide was amazing, gave us tons of history and was fun! First we went to a sugar cane plantation, saw how that was made & cigars, then went to a coffee plantation and saw how that was made, got to try some. And from there we went to this cool hut place to have a vry Dominican style lunch. Then we were all SO tired but it still wasn't done, though everyone wanted it to be. We went to a beach off the resort, where there were so many locals trying to sell stuff.. Finally we were brought back to our resort. I say it was worth it, only thing is by mistake we had a Russian couple on our daytrip, someone had done that by accident. Luckily the tour guide could speak Russian but unfortunately for us everything had to be repeated twice. So us English folk found it a lot longer having to listen to the same thing in a language we didn't understand. That's probably why we got back to the resort so late and it went longer than expected. I would reccommend it for sure, but definitely not for young kids- it wasn't exciting so much as enlightening.

Other Comments:
My biggest issue came the last day. I knew going down there that my flight didn't leave until 11:30pm the last night, but I didn't think it would be SO annoying to have to wait around the hotel all day to be picked up at 8:00pm. Sure, we had our bags stashed in a room which was great, but I had already thrown out all of my 'over-weight' stuff, like sunscreen, shampoos, soaps, etc. So when we'd put our bathing suit on to go lay by the pool: Surprise, I got sunburnt so bad I could barely walk! My own fault, obviously, but it made the plane ride home unbearable! I have red hair, fair skin, and freckles. I need SPF ginger kid to keep me white. Our flight was delayed on the way home, too, once we got to the airport, so that was annoying.

But all in all it was a GREAT trip! I would go back there for sure. I don't think I'll ever do the same resort twice, just because there's SO much to see! I'm heading on February 4th to Blau Natura Park, Punta Cana, so fingers crossed that it's just as wonderful!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Hotel but warning about life guards"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Glenn  on Jun 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
834 people found this review helpful

The hotel overall was excellent. dom. Republ. will always have problems with english and communications but a lot of the mgmt. are triligual. Very nice hotel .
Warning about life guards. they are useless. myself and 3 americans had to save a russian man from drownign as the life guard didn't do anything. So warning to anyone, dont trust the lifeguards, you can trust security a lot better.

Room Number:

Room Block:
3rd block

Arrival:
sat. at dinner time.
wasn't really meet in a separate line for my package but it was not busy at teh front counter.

Rooms:
rooms are being renovated a block at a time so they are very nice, and this hotel seemed to have the most drawers and closet space of any hotel i'mve been in.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good. typical of all d.r. resorts. the japaneese was great food. the italian was good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
best and biggests pools i've been in on 4 resorts in d.r.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
n/a

Other Comments:
I had a fantastic time there. the micheal jackson tribute show was excellent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube