Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Punta Cana. reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana.  

Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic

"beautiful and active hotel"
Posted by: netter on Jul 9, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews
Barcelo Punta Cana. Pictures and Information
Barcelo Punta Cana. Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#4
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.0

Based on 48 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Information


Barcelů Punta Cana is a Barcelů All-Inclusive for adults, singles and families, where all meals, wines, local and international beverages, land sports and non-motorized watersports with equipment and some instructions, entertainment, and other activities are included in one single price.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  35
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 48

"Not good at all"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deb  on Feb 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
343 people found this review helpful

We had a very bad time. The same food all week. Not a very clean place at all. Could not understand anyone that was bad! Lots of bed bugs I have bits all over me. The people were not friendly at all. Lots of little kids.beer water down.just a very bad time.there was not a lot to do there.

Room Number:
7212

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible Resort "

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jess  on Jul 30, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Party | With Group
295 people found this review helpful


Where to begin? The experience begins with the Check Ė In, it took us 2 hours to get our room keys and bands. When we walked into the rooms! I was in shock what I saw on the website was nothing like in real life. The website is VERY deceiving, what they show you on their website as a standard room is not what you get when you walk into that room. The rooms that are on the website are Premium Rooms that you basically have to pay extra for and even after you do its still a dump!. We had 5 rooms and all 5 rooms had to be changed 3 times for the next 3 days. We had broken beds, bed bugs, ants on our beds, and all of the counters and we were on level 3. There is no water pressure in the showers or the toilet. At one point the toilet stopped working at night and had to flush in the morning.

Beware of locals, I think this resort specializes in having locals around from Friday Ė Sunday. When that is the case becareful there is no food left over after 7:30pm.
The Snack Bar is Horrible!! Like you donít even want to look at! Bugs dead and there are flies everywhere on the food.
The buffet is pretty good but its very repetitive, although they did have a Mexican night and a Asian theme night that was really good!. If you think you can take food out of the buffet area for a nighttime snack because the snack bar is disgusting, think again they will not let you take it out! They will make you throw out everything you have in your plate

The front desk and the Manager of this place donít do anything for you until you argue and fight with them! The managing for this place is horrible! The corporation for Barcelo really needs to look at this place and reevaluate it.

My cousins shoes got stolen the 3rd day there, we filed a stolen report when he kept going there for 3 days they said they were still investigating, finally I ran into the manager of this place. He assured that he would have everything figured out the DAY we leave at 12pm when we check out (this is the day before when it should have been resolved and I talked to him) At 12pm he didnít have anything ready! I yelled at this guy for 2 hours and so did my cousin our whole last day was basically spent at the front desk! They Donít Do Anything!!You have to sit them down and yell and argue with them that there facts are totally wrong! They basically investigated the problem in-front of us even though they said it would have been ready but in fact they donít do anything! We wanted our money compensated but they told us they would give us a gift card to shop in their gift shop! At that point both my cousin and I freaked out! In the end he gave us a voucher from the travel agent we booked out ticket but that took them 3 hours! (Still haven't seen the money yet)

All in all this trip was horrible you have to fight to get everything done! Best advice PLEASE donít book this resort you will regret it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4.5 star"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis  on Dec 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
326 people found this review helpful

We have been to Punta Cana 15 times at many resorts and our stay at the Barcelo Punta Cans was very disapointing. I had read some of the reviews before hand and as always some of them I took with a grain of salt. Well...I was wrong. The rooms leaked, the room service for the fridge bar was poor to non existent. The resturants were not very good with the exception of the Japanese one. The breakfast selection was poor and this is the first place I have been to that have a hundred ways to sever hot dogs. They had hot dogs in stew, chopped up fine for your omlets, sliced, skewered and many other intersting wasy to use thme up. I'm sorry but this resort was not up to the standards that I have seen in Punta Cana. Beware of this place.

Room Number:
1210

Room Block:
1200

Arrival:
Ait Transat was very good and the pick up to the hotel was great.

Rooms:
Poor. We took the premium package and this was a joke. The refubished rooms still need a lot of work. We were a family of seven and had 3 rooms with the same problems. Lots of small ants arounf also.

Restaurants and Bars:
I only enjopyed the Japanese but the rest were not up to standard. Fish is very salty and most of the food seems to be of poor quality.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were very nice and the beach was great. The grounds could use more fixing up on the entrance.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The disco is filled with hookers, pimps and drug dealers. My son and daughter wetn to it one night and left very soon.

Other Comments:
I think Air Transat should take this resort off their list.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't know what those other people are talking about this hotel is nasty"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nadege  on Aug 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
513 people found this review helpful

I dont know what hotel these people stayed in but if its Barcelo punta cana in DR they are just nasty or lying. I stayed in punta cana DR AT THE BARCELO PUNTA CANA resort 8/12-8/29/2010. The place was disgusting and the rooms smelled like mold. try sleep in a place smelling like mold. The feel of the hotel was very unclean. The workers are not lazy but over worked. Many of them work 12 to 14 hr workday 14-24 days straight. the effect is unproductive workers with nasty attitudes, who don't want to work. don't forget the get paid peanuts. I still sick from the food today. I don't suggest anyone use this hotel

Arrival:
1My arrival was smooth. I thought it was going to be a wonderfel vacation. When I got in the mold smelling room, I became disappointed.

Rooms:
just plain old nasty

Restaurants and Bars:
over crowded

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the only thing that keep me sane

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great entertainment with horrible hotel. go figure????

Other Comments:
Don't go there

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gorgeous outside that's about it"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  roxane  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
630 people found this review helpful

We traveled for a family wedding. Our first all inclusive. Getting there was no problem. Our room smelled moldy musty. The food was horrible! I ate bread and bananas for 5 days. And you could only get that if you went to the main buffet before 9:00 am. The whole resort smelled like the greawe everything seems to fried in. We had ants and dripping ceiling in our room. The pool and beach were immaculate that is the only saving grace of this vacation!

Room Number:
2111

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel would be acceptable for a 2-3 star rating but not a 4star +."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
226 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 7 - 14
Premium was to have have a separate check-in, but was completely chaotic without order or organisation

Rooms
old rooms and stale, would be acceptable for a 2-3 star rating but not a 4star +. Old and small tv with fuzzy chanels, bathroom ceiling dirty and rusty. The service for room cleaning, fresh towels was mediocre.

Restaurants and Bars
Do not recommend the French restaurant, food is less than mediocre, Japanese restaurant: nice show but food was overcooked, dry and oversalted. Seafood restaurant: fish was'nt fresh and was overcooked. Overall including the buffet, the food was terrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Nice beach, nice pool set-ups. Hot tub area were closed for repairs during whole stay.

Other Comments
Extremely disapointing and misleading if you think you are paying for a 4+ star resort. Food was discusting. For the $$ we got scammed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's not a 4 1/2 star hotel!!! And don't go during March break as they gear to University students."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julie  on Mar 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
363 people found this review helpful

This resort needs to pick it up on the service to meet a 4 star rating for me. Language barriers with front desk staff and concierge service and I felt they did not want to accomodate the guests and create a wonderful experience. Entertainment staff was excellent. They were busy throughout the day and night and deserve koodoos for a job well done. Definately made our evenings enjoyable.

Your Arrival:
checkin is noted on website as 3:00 p.m. we arrived at 2:30 were told checkin was at 4:00 and did not get a room until 6:00 p.m. So pack something on your carryon and plan to sit around for awhile.

Rooms:
a little paint does not upgrade the hotel to a 4 star. This resort, at best, would be a 2 1/2 star. The rooms are cleaned but basically-floors are washed and toilets are cleaned. The sheets, towels and pillows smell like mold and I'm not sure if they even use soap. When someone showered above us, a broken pipe in the ceiling would leak in our bathroom and would create puddles on the floor and drip over the toilet. We complained 5 times, even showing the housekeeping and the inventory people (yes inventory people-apparently they are worried we are going to steal the stained lamp, dirty towels and rusty cd player in the rooms), nothing was ever done. I was able to go to each area of the resort and fellow travellers were gracious in letting me view their rooms and they were no different. This is not a new resort as noted.
our room also had an inside and outside balcony.....section 3 over the french restaurant. Don't recommend staying there as you can hear the staff cleaning and preparing for the next day in the restaurant, cutlery and chatter after 11 pm also the bar was just outside the restaurant, which is were guests gather for after dinner entertainment, so this also echoes up through the inner balcony. Plus the doors barely closed which did not provide much of a sound barrier. Balcony door did not lock.
I strongly recommend checking your room before unpacking...and good luck getting a new room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was okay at main buffet. Wide selection of food available but variety did not change daily. They did have a few speciality nights however still the same selection of food with a few add ons. Japanese restaurant was excellent, italian was okay and seafood, well I would have expected maybe seafood on the menu, but the fish was still good. we missed the french/Paris, but heard it was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pools were cleaned daily. I think the family/kids area was cleaner than the recreational area were all the university students were. it's sad to say that the children behaved better than the university students.
Towels were a hit and miss-some days you would get towels that seemed they weren't even cleaned. Some were bleached (they were suppose to be blue) you had to register or get a card to get a towel. For prestige class, towels were suppose to be delivered to your room-again a hit and miss. You'd think they'd know 3 people were in the room and would give you 3 towels.
The grounds were clean, beaches were beautiful, the ocean was a little rough to swim in but if you walked down the beach there were other areas that were calmer. It would have been nice to see the beaches combed in the evening to clean smaller debris however all in all it was nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were great. Lots to do for the kids and entertainment by the pool was good, if you can stand the obnoxious university students. The sip line, reef explorer and swimming with dolphins excursions were very good.

Other Comments:
When I travel I prefer 5 star and expect 5 star treatment as I pay extra for that. This resort was not by choice,however it is selling itself as a 4 1/2 star and giving 3 star service. If I had known it catered to university students, i would not have booked there. However, all in all the beaches were beautiful, the excursions (hosts) were great and I enjoyed my stay in Punta Cana. Would I go back? Perhaps, but I would choose a different resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not recommend this resort to others."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Caro from Calgary, Alberta  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
228 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 14 - 21
We arrived at 6:30 am adn got our room numbers fairly quickly and were told to come back at noon and get out rooms. We finally got into our rooms at 6:00 p.m. We spent day at pools but no one offered or told us we could get beach towels so we didn't have any. No explanation was given as to why our room was so late and the front desk people were very unfriendly and uninformative.

Rooms
Our room was horrible right from the start. It was on the main floor by the fromt entrance in block 7. It had a terrible musty, fusty smell. The toilet leaked all week and it didn't flush properly. After it did flush you always had to jiggle the handle or it would run constantly. The sink didn't drain and the bathtub looked horrible. We told them of the problems and they were never fixed. Being by the entrance we heard people at all hours of the night talking, yelling, singing and it seemed they were passing right through our room. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep at night. TV had a horrible picture. An ice machine was right outside our room also and every half hour it clunked and wheezed out ice. We asked for a new room on 2 different occasions and they just kept saying come back tomorrow. The front desk staff were very unfriendly and unresponsive. We finally gave up on a new room and put up with the terrible conditions. The room # is 7127 so if you get this room, don't even go there.

Restaurants and Bars
We enjoyed the a la cartes for the most part. The Dominican restaurant food was cold and we were in and out of there in 1 hour. We found the main buffet restaurant very big and noisy and preferred to go for breakfast and lunch at the outdoor El Merlin restaurant. Not as many choices but still good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beaches, pools and grounds were lovely.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went on 2 tours. On was 12 hours and went to Saona Island. 2 hour bus ride, 2 hour catamarran ride and speed boat back to busses. Very pretty and enjoyable. 2nd trip went to small plantation and saw how cocao was made, vanilla, pinepples, etc. Went through a typical house, saw a school, ate lunch and saw a sugarcane plantation and was cigars being made.

Other Comments
I would not recommend this resort to others. I found the rooms were not satisfactory. Some rooms are being upgraded but ours wasn't. The front desk was very disorganized and they need more people to staff it when the busses come in. The customer service was just not there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We paid for extras we didn't get."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wanda from ON  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
271 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Apr 30 - May 7
Arrival was untime and we got to thr resort fast.

Rooms:
Rooms are abit out dated but clean and the bar restocked every day. House keeping was great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Oriental was great the rest was not that good. the buffet was good we had no service from any where because of Dominican holidys that our agent forgot to tell us about.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean beach and pools swim up was great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No tours because of wasted time on resort they had great activities for the young nothing for 40+

Other Comments:
Over booked on the dominican holiday and the catered to them which was fine but we got no sevice we could'nt get spaces at beach or pool or entertainment and pushed and shoved at buffet. we were tipping all over the place to get better service but not . we also paid for extras we didn't get would only recommend for young people we will never go back and never us transat again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach and grounds were lovely, the food was okay but did become repetitive."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cat from Halifax  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
222 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 7 - 14
Let me start off, there were six of us all together, my husband and me, my mom, and my brother, his wife and their five year old daughter. We flew with Air Transat so with the premium package you get a separate check-in, basically a separate table set up in the lobby. Went fairly smooth, unless you wanted to change something, you would then have to go to the lobby. We arrived at 11:30, however, the rooms were not available until 3PM. I understood this to be commoon since I heard many other clients waiting at the lobby asking if their room would be ready. Our room was ready by 3PM. I had a bathing soon and summer clothing in my carry-on so I was fine, hit the beach then came back around 3PM for our room. With transat's premium package, you are supposed to get beach towels in your room upon arrival (none of us got this), a welcome cocktail upon arrival (none of us got this) and four gauranteed reservations (we all did get this with our check-in package).

Rooms
The rooms are okay but need renovating. We asked for a king in the renovated section, we got two double beds in block 5. The location was good because our balcony overlooked the pool, close to the beach and far enough from the lobby that it wasn't noisy. The rooms are musty, we travelled with family and their rooms were about the same. There seemed to be little things wrong though in all of our rooms. For our room, our phone wasn't working, it finally got fixed around day 4. The tv and remote didn't work in my mom's room, they fixed it on the second day, she got some channels, fuzzy though, and that's the best they could do. Her toilet also leaked, they did come to fix it on day 3, at 11PM! They came and fixed it the next day. My brother's room, also in block 5, when they arrived, you could tell the sheets on one of the beds weren't changed because of the smell so we found the maid and got a set of sheets and changed it ourselves. So, overall, the rooms seem to be getting renovated one at time but not ours. They were okay for the amount of time you spent in them but definitely not 4.5 stars, more like 3.5 stars. By the way, the maids don't speak much english so speaking some spanish will definetely help you. In terms of the service, they sheets don't get changed for the duration of your stay. Just make sure you start off with clean sheets (my sister-in-laws sheets smelled grosse but they came in late at night and we couldn't change them to the next day). For room cleaning, they don't seem to get cleaned until late afternoon in our block. One day, we came back at six and it still wasn't cleaned so she did come and we just hung out on the balcony. This also happened to my mom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Did the four a la cartes - Here's the summary: Paris - don't go. Marin (seafood) was okay and most of us enjoyed our food. Tokio was fun and I would recommend folks going, tell the chef to take it easy on the soy sauce as we all found it too salty. One the last night, my husband and I went to the Italian restaurant, I found this pretty good (for the Dominican Republic!) but my husband was not a happy camper. I would recommend it though as the food in the buffet becomes repetitive and it's nice to have a sit down meal where you can take your time eating and enjoying the company.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was long, clean and very nice. Lots of palm trees but only a few huts which I found disappointing compared to other resorts I've been to. There are two pools, one with the swin up bar and where they have lots of activities (near block 5) and another large pool near block 1,2,3 which is great for swimmning and calmer than the other pool. The kids pool is the nicest I've seen in a resort and my niece had a blast with all the slides. Right near this pool is a rock wall, trampoline and trapeze which are pretty cool if folks want to try something different.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Didn't do any tours, just relaxed mostly around the hotel. Wanted to parasail but too windy for my taste. If you want to buy coffee, rum, etc. Walk out of the resort, turn left and you'll see a market. You can get coffee for $2-3 per pack (compared to $6.50 at the resort and $8 US at the airport). We also bargained for the rum. Basically, you can go less than half of what they quote. If you don't like haggling and being harrassed, don't go. If you don't mind, it's the best place to buy things.

Other Comments
Overall, there were six of us. We all agreed that the beach and grounds were lovely. The food was okay but did become repetitive. It is definetely not a 4.5 star mainly because the rooms are in need of renovation and the food was much much better the last time I came to D.R. as well as other members of my family who were in D.R. the last three years. That said, I won't be coming back here but you will have a good time, we did. You can pay the extra for an upgraded suite in block 3 (which are supposed to be really nice) but that would bring the cost comparable to a five star and I would just stay at a five-star next time where the food, and everything else is five star. We were all pretty laid back so you take everything with a grain of salt, you are down south afterall. My husband though was really let down as he thought that we would have 4.5 star food and accommodations and we didn't. Plus, as the rest of us have been to Punta Cana before, we raved about the food so it was very disappointing when it wasn't what we said. If you've booked, you'll have fun. Just make sure that if anything is wrong in your room, you need to tell them right away and go to the front desk, as it's easier to talk with them. If you haven't booked and you are looking for a 4 plus, I suggest you go elsewhere. Two years ago, we booked a four star in the Mayan and the food, service, rooms were much more superior to this resort. Hasta la vista!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube