Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Punta Cana. reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana.  

Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic

"beautiful and active hotel"
Posted by: netter on Jul 9, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews
Barcelo Punta Cana. Pictures and Information
Barcelo Punta Cana. Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#4
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.0

Based on 48 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Information


Barceló Punta Cana is a Barceló All-Inclusive for adults, singles and families, where all meals, wines, local and international beverages, land sports and non-motorized watersports with equipment and some instructions, entertainment, and other activities are included in one single price.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  35
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
11 - 20 of 48

"Great family resort -- my kids aged 7,5,3 loved it."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eugenia  on Apr 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
815 people found this review helpful

We loved this resort for a few different reasons:
- it was nicely layed out along the beach, took less than 5min to walk anywhere
- the staff were friendly and loved talking to my kids
- the ammenities were great -- trapeze, rock climbing, childrens water part, kids club, great amount of pools
- the ala carte restaurants were wonderful, great food -- the buffets were good with a large variety -- food was always hot or cold depending upon what it was
- huge long beach, for the most part clean except for the stuff that the patrons left behind
- can I say that the kid water park was so much fun, my kids spent hours playing, they also loved the pool by the swim up bar as it had a shallow end
- loads of beach chairs available -- hard to find shade but you can prop up a deck chair to serve that purpose
As for the negative it would only be our room. We had a tropical suite which had two bathrooms and a seperate bedroom. The room was very clean but very dated. The beds were comfy with fresh linens daily. We had an issue with hot water but it was quicly rectified with a call to the front desk.

I would happily take my family here again -- the ammenites and staff were amazing. Our room wasn't the best but we didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway.

Room Number:
7313

Arrival:
We arrived on April 7th on a direct flight from Edmonton to Punta Cana. Flight was great, staff were great. The hunt for our transfer bus was a bit daunting but with a little patience and a few questions we found it.

Rooms:
Clean, comfy beds, fresh linens -- the room itself is in need of renovating. It wasn't up to the Barcelo standards of their other resorts

Restaurants and Bars:
The Ala Carte restaurants were amazing. We enjoyed the variety. We loved the fact that our reservations were already arranged when we arrived. Our dining time was always 730 and it worked out great for our family. The food was great with a unique variety -- sometimes the service was a bit slow but we were on holidays so no biggy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was large -- great waves for boogie boarding. The beach was clean except for things patrons left behind like drink glasses and cigarette butts. I had read a complaint regarding the cleanliness of the beach but it wasn't the resorts fault if patrons can't take their garbage and put it in the garbage cans!

** kids water park was a blast, there were six slides - the water was warm and about knee deep (on an adult) ***

Other pools were great, lots of little fountains and little nooks and crannies to explore

The staff chcked the pools two to three times a day for the Ph and such -- very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities on the resort were great -- the trapeze staff were extremely friendly and loved helping our kids. They were the same people that worked the rock climbing. We didn't experience the kids club very much but they had allot of toys and video games available. The evening entertainment was good -- we saw three shows. The Michael Jackson show was amazing -- the fellow dancing was very talented. We also enjoyed the Circua show. Again, the acrobats were very talented. We didn't experience allof the beach or pool side activites but it looked like everyone was enjoying themselves.

We were told not to go to Manatai park as its so hot out that the animals never come out. We were told to do the shark and stingray excrusion but felt that the kids wouldn't have enjoyed it as much as adults as they couldn't come that close to the holding tank plus with a crowd of adults they wouldn't have been able to see over the edge of the catamaran

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barcelo punta cana....... j ai adoré mon séjour.."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARIETTE  on Apr 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
791 people found this review helpful

Belle endroit,site tres propre ,nourriture excellente,ne manquez pas le souper Japonnais excellent..spectacle tres beau surtout michael jackson..seul chose que je reproche aucun palapas au bord de la mer ..il fesait tres chaud..besoin d ombre un peu.Vague tres forte..

Room Number:
1601

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
27 jan ua 10 fev 2011

Rooms:
tres propre tres bon lit

Restaurants and Bars:
excellent

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pas de palapas inacceptable..piscine tres propre

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
tropical storm excellent Renée animatrice excellente Parasaling WOW..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The reviews scared me but this is a great resort! Just don't go during Spring Break!!!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandra  on Mar 23, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
702 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
4104 and 4120

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
I read the reviews on this resort months before going and was a bit scared. I came to realize that some people are just never happy with anything.
Arrived at the hotel (my husband, 16 yr old daughter, and I) after a very quick trip through the airport and quick finding the right bus.
The lineup for check-in was long and a bit slow - only had two people working the desk and when the "Premium" people arrived it only left us with one worker. But our turn came and we got a room in building 4 - which he promised was a good room. If it turned out to be awful like the reviews I would ask for a different one.

Rooms:
The room was great - the TV worked; the shower worked; it was clean; and we liked how the balcony faced the ocean and overlooked the fountain and "loud" pool. We didn’t have wireless so I paid 49.00 for seven days.
On the second day we were having problems with the balcony sliding door. As we were sleeping, I heard "Thump!" and the balcony door opened wide and a guy walked in. I thought my hubby was going to kill him. When college kids get locked out of their room they jump onto and enter through their balcony door but this guy picked the wrong balcony. After calming my hubby down and the kid left, I quickly went to reception and they gave us a new room - and very swiftly (this was at 0200 hrs in the morning). Our new room was 4120 right across from our old room and now faces the front of the resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
Upon check-in he gave us three pre-booked a-la-carte reservations - I thought we were going to be able to pick our choice and timing but this was made for us. Tokio restaurant was awesome (great food and atmosphere); Paris, Italian, and Dominican were good.
We loved the food at the main buffet; BBQ by the pool was great; and we ate at the pizza place – a bit of a wait to get in but worth it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Overall: the staff was friendly and helpful. Pools were awesome as well as the beach – plenty of chairs for lounging.
Shopping: We walked the 20mins to the Barcelo Shopping Centre. We love to barter and it was alot of fun for us. If you don't like pushy vendors don't go. We also liked the vendors who came to the hotel - again pushy but they would stop if you asked.
Excursions: My husband did the deep sea fishing and loved it. My daughter and I went on the dunebuggy excursion – had an awesome time! And as a family we went on the catamaran to swim with sharks and stingrays. I would suggest this excursion to everyone!

Other Comments:
The bad. The ugly. The worst. Spring Break. Nothing worse than hundreds of college-age students yelling, swearing, spilling, and being just plain grotesque. They left garbage (solids and liquids if you know what I mean) everywhere and partied on balconies at any hour.. Half-eaten food on lounge chairs and pouring full drinks in the pool (literally pouring drinks into each others mouths but most of it went in the pool). When the pools closed they surrounded the two main bars – after taking over the pool bar all day and we couldn’t get near it. Yelling and screaming around the hallways, rooms, and balconies at any hour. I found it inappropriate that they yelled, cursed, and acted out in public the way they did – in front of children and elders. So if you want to enjoy your vacation, DO NOT GO DURING SPRING BREAK.
Kudos to the hotel staff for trying their best to keep these kids busy – I certainly would not have had the patience for them.
All in all we had a good vacation at the Barcelo Punta Cana - but only when we did our best to stay away from the college scene.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel - I have no idea where all the bad reviews come from!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leanne  on Mar 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
814 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
3201

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
We booked through Transat Holidays and flew on CanJet out of Halifax. Arrived late on the 13th to join the rest of the guests who had already arrived a couple days earlier. Check-in was smooth and quick - less than 5 minutes! Now, this may be due to our late arrival and the fact we arrived in our own transportation (IBK Servicios - which I highly recommend) because I did see line-up's at other times of the days. Our bags were put on a cart and we followed along to oceanview Room 2301 (building 2, 3rd floor, room 01). The Transat package was for Prestige Class, Deluxe Room, so we knew we were getting a renovated room. The renovated rooms are found in building/sections 1, 2 and 3. Buildings/section 4, 5, 6 and 7 are not renovated and unless you book a DELUXE room you will be in one of those sections. The unrenovated rooms aren't as bad as some people say, but not quite as nice as the renovated, no.

Rooms:
The room was large and really nice. Sandy made sure we got our oceanview room on a higher floor as I had requested. Very clean, and the maids did a great job everyday keeping it that way. We left $2US per day for the maids, and $1US for the guy who stocks the fridge. We left notes if we wanted anything particular, like extra towels or more Sprite, and we got what we asked for every time! (we wrote the notes in Spanish as the maids generally don't speak much English, but they certainly appreciated a 'hola' or 'gracias' as you passed them in the hallway.

Our room looked out over the 'quiet' pool and the gorgeous ocean. We could hear the waves rolling in and could see the view right from our bed! Only saw three tiny ants the entire vacation, so don't worry about bugs - though my brother-in-law left the patio door open one night and did have a few more ants that we attracted to some candy he had left out).

The king bed was comfy and they left six pillows! No complaints there. We watched a little t.v. before going to bed each night and while there is mainly Spanish-speaking channels (obviously), we did find lots of English ones as well. There is also a great alarm clock (which wasn't set on the right time when we arrived, oops), and it has an iPod dock if you want to listen to your own music. We used the safe to store our passports and money and never had an issue. My partner used a lock to secure his laptop to the bedframe, and again, no issues.

The air-conditioner worked perfect the entire vacation, maybe a little too perfect - it made the room so cold sometimes that I had to turn it off or go out on the patio to warm up, lol. We also had a great ceiling fan so we could forgo the A/C if too cold, or add extra coolness on those days when it was swelteringly hot. It was also great to turn the fan on to help dry swimsuits.

The bathroom was large with a huge shower with a glass half-wall - looks nice, but if you don't put a towel down on the floor there may be a puddle when you step out! The toilet clogged on a couple occassions, but we figured out pretty quick that if you don't put toilet paper in that you won't have this issue :)

Restaurants and Bars:
We mainly used the two lobby bars, which are open until 11 p.m. The bartenders are great, and a little tip every now and then never hurts ;) I'm a daiquiri fan, but these weren't some of the best - it was a strawberry sirup, very sweet, but not horrible - I did manage to drink my fair share without complaining too much, lol. The beer was always cold and there are lots of other alcohol choices - I didn't really hear any of our group complaining. We brought our Bubba Kegs to keep our drinks cold and to save on all those plastic cups.

Food/Restaurants/Buffet:
Main Buffet - pretty typical of any other AI buffet I've ever been. Lots of different 'stations' with different choices. We all found something to eat. Breakfast was the best - I love the fried cheese! lol
Pool Buffet (lunch) - again, pretty much the same, but smaller and less choices. Everyone fought over getting the last piece of pizza, lol. There is also a hot dog/hamburger hut right next to it.
French (Paris) - while the presentation was nice, the food was mediocre at best. This seemed to be the general consensus among our group.
Italian (Roma) - we ate here for my sister's wedding dinner. It was supposed to be booked off as a private party for one hour, but 20 minutes in they started letting other guests in. It wasn't too bad as they were quiet, but still not what we were promised. The food was better than the French, but still not what I would call 'great'. Lots of pasta choices.
Tex-Mex - I quite enjoyed my meal here, but my mother didn't - I ended up eating hers as well, lol. I think most people enjoyed their meal, though.
Dominican (Conuco) - again, an ok meal. Not as many 'traditional' Dominican choices as I would have liked, but nevertheless pretty nice. The traditional musical trio from the wedding night showed up here and played for tips - thankfully they're not as annoying as the mariachis in Mexico!
Marlin - we only ate here for lunch, but again, it was ok. We sat outside so we could get the breeze. The banana splits are pretty good - they use a rum-flavoured ice cream as well as chocolate.
Japanese (Tokyo) - probably the most entertaining meal of the trip. Everyone sits around the grill while the chef puts on a show. The food was alright, but I found I smelt like greasy, smoky food after sitting so close to the grill.

When you arrive you are given reservations - and if you want to change them you have to line up early in the morning at Guest Services and hope they can accommodate your request. We saw a lot of angry people in this line-up. It wasn't that big of a deal for us. We were supposed to have all the same reservations as the rest of the group, but somehow they forgot us. It eventually got fixed up and all was fine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel building and grounds are kept pretty much spotless. They are constantly sweeping and cleaning and watering, and the grounds are lush. Yes, the hotel could use a little paint here and there as it is peeling in spots (you are by the ocean and salt and humidity can do that) and some tiles are cracked, but are you buying the place?! lol Nothing that will interfere with your vacation, I promise! ;) The building is open to the outside so you will find little birdies flying about, but it just makes things more airy and cool to have the breeze blowing through.

The hotel is quite large, with over 500 rooms, but it is all contained to one building. There aren't many elevators, but this really isn't an issue. Most things are within a few minute walk.

Pools:
We actually only swam in the 'quiet' pool as I found the other pool (with swim-up bar) a little more crowded, and, well, noisy! lol That's where you'll find the entertainment team blasting music and playing games. I prefer floating around and lounging in the sun in peace. The kids pool looked awesome, and I kinda wish I was a kid again! It is shallow and has great water slides and activities. Pools were always super clean, and they close at 7 p.m. every night for even more cleaning. My only gripe around the pool is the people who leave their towels on the loungers all day 'reserving' the chair when they don't return ALL DAY. I have no problem, though, removing the towel and taking the lounger if I haven't seen you there for more than an hour! lol Also, please don't smoke in the pool, or waste your drink if you must have it in there - this is gross and tacky.

Beach:
The beach was the 2nd best I've ever seen (after Tulum, Mexico). Powdery white sand for miles. Lots of loungers to be found, but minimal shade. The waves can get quite big here and you can see them breaking on the reef in the distance. I'm not a big swimmer (in the ocean), but my partner loved jumping in the waves and said the bottom is sandy with no rocks - I'd be more hesitant to let a child out there as it looked rough at times, though.

There are lots of motorized and non-motorized sports to try out - we saw people parasailing, kayaking, on banana-boat, etc. Non-motorized sports are included in the AI price, but motorized sports are extra. You can also catch fishing boats from this location.

As well, along the beach there is a hut offering massages on the beach (for a fee), as well as hair braiding, henna tattoos, etc. They greatest part of the beach was that there are no vendors harrassing you, like in other locations!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly Shows:
We only caught the Saturday Night Fever show, and it's because of that show that we didn't go back. Extremely loud (the acoustics in the building are horrible) and the show wasn't the least bit entertaining for us. We did come across people who said the other shows were better, but I didn't care to return. The bartenders there, however, were great, and they have late night snacks, like chicken wings (which we lovingly called Flamingo wings due to the size).

Wedding:
My sisters wedding was on the 15th and held near the 'quiet' pool at the archway leading to the beach. It was decorated quite nice with white flowing fabric and accented in her fuscia pink colours. The flowers were a few minutes late getting to us, so the wedding didn't start right on time - but you have to remember, this is Dominican time, lol. The ceremony was quick, maybe 15 minutes, and was officiated by a judge in Spanish. The wedding coordinator, Arianna, translated and everything went off without a hitch. A little champagne, and some photos, and it was all over until dinner. Everyone was happy with the wedding and I recommend the location!

Other Comments:
Problems/Issues - mostly resolved:
My aunt & uncle who were part of the wedding group (but booked separately from the initial group) got bumped to the Hard Rock Hotel next door because the hotel had overbooked by 40+ guests. This was initially a big upset, but once they arrived and saw how much better the Hard Rock was they weren't too upset, especially since Sandy (the manager) arranged for them to have free bracelets/passes to the Barcelo for their entire stay so they could still come back and forth to spend time with family. Crisis averted. That said, the problem of overbooking continued all week, with all of us getting offers to get bumped to the Bahia Principe, or to take a 3-day trip to Santo Domingo and La Romana for free, including AI hotel at their sister properties, tours, transportation, etc. No one took them up on the offer from our group, though my partner and I seriously considered the Santo Domingo option, but decided against since we only had the week with family.

Also, this resort is quite a ways away from 'town' or real shopping. While there is a small shopping area outside the resort gate, you really need to go into El Cortecito, Bavaro or Punta Cana, and you're looking at a minimum $20US taxi each way - this can get costly!

Check-out/Departure:
Check-out was at noon, and luckily we could use my sisters room to store our bags as out flight wasn't leaving until 11:20 p.m. Check-out was a breeze again, but be forewarned - even local calls (ie. to the resort next door where my aunt & uncle were bumped) costs money and you will be charged at check-out. In our case it only cost $1, but others had to pay upwards of $20 that they weren't expecting. We had the entire day to lounge around before our private transfer (IBK Servicios) picked us up at 8:30 p.m. to bring us to the airport. The ride was smooth (well, as smooth as driving in the Dominican can be), and we arrived on time to check in for an uneventful flight home.

All in all a pretty great trip. Would I go back? Maybe, if the price was right...but I prefer to try somewhere new each time. Do I recommend it? Yes! But only if you do your research and have REALISTIC expectations - this is a 3 1/2 star resort at best, which we knew going in. The star rating system is NOT the same as in Canada, US or Europe.
Please feel free to message me with any questions about the resort/trip. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great overall stay."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Feb 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
700 people found this review helpful

We just returned from our vacation at the Barcelo Punta Cana. There were 9 of us in our group ranging from 6 - 50. The kids pool was great, Adult pool was alot of fun, but there was also a pool that was very quiet for family's. We enjoyed our rooms. They were always clean, I would only recommed a room on the 3rd floor pool side so that you can enjoy the view of the ocean. The buffet was great lots of variety. We enjoyed all of the restaurants. Make sure that you eat at the Japanese restaurant. It was great that the resort prebooked 4 restaurants for you. No standing in line at 7 am in the morning trying to get a reservation. All the shuttles were on time. All staff were always very friendly and very accomodating. We would return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Jan 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
461 people found this review helpful

Beach was awsome,o/view room was grate,the food was grate,disco bar was safe and fun for all ages,but if your not a prestige customer you will get 3night alacarte restaurant wich are very good but good luck getting any more because you cant book them ahead and by 9am there is none left because prestige customers will have booked them all we have been to other resort and it is a low 4 but clean also the bank machine was broke and the casino would cash your master cards but you had to play,no interac,and if you have canadian money forget it they dont want it.Oh also bring pills for diarea we were 7 and all got it but the pills worked grate and also there is plenty of bottle water everywere.

Room Number:
3207

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
1/21/2011 departure 1/28 /2011

Rooms:
very clean4

Restaurants and Bars:
food very good 4

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
4

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Feels like home"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Dec 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
478 people found this review helpful

We are headed back for the 5th time this year 2010 for Christmas and New Year. We can't say enough good about this place. We went the first time eyes wide open and it exceeded our expectations. The staff was great, food was great, everything was great! People who write bad reviews about Barcelo must be really high maintenance. What do you expect? This is a paradise and we call it our home away from home. We had a minor medical thing with a sprained ankle and the staff doctor and the hospital were fantastic. The Dominican people are warm, friendly and know everything about the world. We love it!

Arrival:
Arrival was perfect!

Rooms:
Room was perfect!

Restaurants and Bars:
Fabulous! All of them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was like a Hollywood set.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Fantastic!

Other Comments:
We don't expect perfection but the Barcelo Punta Cana was as close as you can get. Give these people some slack, they work their fingers to the bone trying to keep us happy. We love them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't know what those other people are talking about this hotel is nasty"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nadege  on Aug 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
513 people found this review helpful

I dont know what hotel these people stayed in but if its Barcelo punta cana in DR they are just nasty or lying. I stayed in punta cana DR AT THE BARCELO PUNTA CANA resort 8/12-8/29/2010. The place was disgusting and the rooms smelled like mold. try sleep in a place smelling like mold. The feel of the hotel was very unclean. The workers are not lazy but over worked. Many of them work 12 to 14 hr workday 14-24 days straight. the effect is unproductive workers with nasty attitudes, who don't want to work. don't forget the get paid peanuts. I still sick from the food today. I don't suggest anyone use this hotel

Arrival:
1My arrival was smooth. I thought it was going to be a wonderfel vacation. When I got in the mold smelling room, I became disappointed.

Rooms:
just plain old nasty

Restaurants and Bars:
over crowded

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the only thing that keep me sane

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great entertainment with horrible hotel. go figure????

Other Comments:
Don't go there

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great week"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Naj  on May 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
440 people found this review helpful

Alright first of all arriving at the airport in punta Cana was an experience on it's own, my sister an I have not been to Dominican republic for six years and it was wonderful to feel the open air and see the palm trees the moment you step off the plane. The airport is completely open as well and unique. I do suggest to book transportation to the hotel if you have not already and the best one would be coco tours. Once arriving I was hooked, the entrance is huge and very well furnished. In general the pool, the food, the shows, and the drinks are just amazing and let's not forget the most beautiful part of the hotel; the beach.

Rooms:
The rooms are very elegant and I for one was surprised to gets room like I did. Each room has a balcony so don't worry about having the one without. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable and ofcourse each room is equiped with a flat screen tv (English and Spanish channels included) and the bathroom is very well structured with a shower head that is detachable and room service is always on point.

Restaurants and Bars:
Where can I start? The buffet alcazar is the best for breakfast (I encourage to eat there every morning) a huge variety of sweet breads, crepes, pancakes, fruits, and traditional Dominican breakfast. Oh! And there is a chef that will prepare an omlette with your choice of ingredients. The other buffet called the marlin is perfect for lunch if you desire chicken, rice, French fries ect. Obove the marlin is the pizzeria don Simon...let's just say it is the best thin crust pizza I have had to date. Then there is the restaurant el mirador that is also excellent for lunch and it is only open from 12 to 3, so hurry up and eat there , the food and salad is amazing. Of course all of these are walk in restaurants but make sure you slate dried up and covered up from the pool or beach before walking in. The al carte restaurants are given to you by reservation that the hotel kindly makes for you; there is the conuco that is fancy Dominican cuisine, the Roma which is Italian, the tokio which is a habachi style restaurant and there is Paris which is french cuisine. I wouldn't know how to describe Paris because we did not get to eat there but all the al carte restaurants were beautiful in design and food to die for.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are seperated in terms of quiet pools and one with music and animation. Both are really great to spend time with family . The quiet pool is next to the kids pool and also next to the restaurant a el mirador. It is very relaxing and calming. The pool located near the buffet is full of people who want to play pool volleyball and water polo and want to watch the workers dance and well...animate the ambience. The beach is amazing; it is so clean and blue and the water is very refreshing...all there is to waorry about is going to far into the water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the grounds of the hotel barcelo you can participate in the games the workers create for you. There are salsa lessons, contest in the pool area and on the beach. Beach and pool volleyball, water polo, arobics...and just plane dancing. Every night they host a singing and dancing show in the huge ampitheater; there you can order drinks, play pool and watch the show. For lids there is the kid pool call the varcy water park ; full of slides and water falls. There is also a day care for kids and a game room for teens, a sports bar for adults and a spa as well. They also have a huge trampoline and trapeze for the daredevils out there. Of course on the beach there is parasaling, windsurfing, and all that good stuff. And I wouldn't know about outside because I never wanted to leave but they do host excursions to vie other islands and zoos ect.

Other Comments:
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and really are there to make your stay the best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved this resort!!!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kirinda  on Apr 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
390 people found this review helpful

We loved this resort. Just big enough, not too big. Loved that it was right on the beach (BEAUTIFUL beach). The food was great. Didn't really get to know the staff, not like in Cuba.

Your Arrival:
We arrived late-after midnight. Check in was quick and easy. We were happy to find that snacks and drinks were still available-fried chicken and chips!YUMMY!

Rooms:
We were told that most people choose to upgrade to the prestige class rooms for an additional fee-we didn't feel the need to. Our room was great. We had a 4th floor room which had a vaulted ceiling-nice and roomy feeling.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great food at all restaurants. Bars were plentiful! The bars were busy- it was spring break for college students too-aughhhhh!
We were very pleased to discover that our a-la-carte restaurants were already booked for us-very convenient!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Fantastic beach-very big and clean! Lots of chairs and shade if you wanted it. Pools were great, big, clean and not too crowded. Loved the lounge chairs that were built right in the pool. Grounds were clean and well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did the sharks & rays snorkling tour-absolutely fantastic!!!

Other Comments:
This was the first time in Punta Cana for us. We are going back next year!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube