Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Punta Cana. reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana.  

Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic

"beautiful and active hotel"
Posted by: netter on Jul 9, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews
Barcelo Punta Cana. Pictures and Information
Barcelo Punta Cana. Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#4
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.0

Based on 48 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Information


Barceló Punta Cana is a Barceló All-Inclusive for adults, singles and families, where all meals, wines, local and international beverages, land sports and non-motorized watersports with equipment and some instructions, entertainment, and other activities are included in one single price.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  35
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
41 - 49 of 48

"If you can't find something to eat here, you really shouldn't travel to the DR."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
192 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 23 - Mar 9
No problem with our arrival, but we got at the hotel at 11:00 pm, so rooms were waiting. I know people get upset when they get in early and their rooms are not ready, but this is a usual thing that happens. Pack your carry on with your swim suit and enjoy the day.

Rooms
The rooms are of the norm in the Domincan, nothing fancy but clean. Our friends that travelled with us, he got bite bad the frist day we were there and he though it was bed bugs, but into the 2nd week I got bites and neither my husband or his wife had a bite. So I still think it was not bed bugs. Take along a little repellant. I will say that this is our 9th trip to the DR and never before had any kind of bite, but we always went to PP area on the North coast.

Restaurants and Bars
Everything was good. If you can't find something to eat here, you really shouldn't travel to the DR. Buffet was great with lots of everything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beautiful grounds, pool and beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities are much the same as all resorts. We've done all the tours and such through the years, so this time we didn't go on any.

Other Comments
Like I said before, we travelled to the DR many times and all on the North coast in PP. We decided to try Punta Cana becauce of people raving how beautiful it was. It was nice, but for the difference in price, I would think twice about going back. In PP we could jump in a Taxi and go to 3 different towns to shop in the local markets or on Playa Dorardo complex you have a mall with a food court, shopping or even a movie. I guess, we all thought, if you didn't want to pay an average of $100.00 US per person for a tour, you were very confined. We did enjoy our trip, but I don't care if the beach has white or powder sand, so it will be PP next time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We went through 4 rooms in 4 days."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrea from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
207 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 23 - March 9
Was handled speedily and no waiting as it was after midnight. Would have been nice to have had a resort map with a listing of times snack bars and bars were opened.

Rooms
I don't know how not to sound critical. If you are traveling with AirTransat, and you don't pay for an upgrade, God help you. We went through 4 rooms in 4 days.

Room #1- We requested a king size bed and we had 2 twins. Also the balcony faced the incinerator of the neighbouring resort. Come back to see us after 3 pm

Roon #2- King size bed, no working air conditioner. Turned it on and a cloud of mosquitoes came out of it. The smell of mold and stale air was terrible, we couldn't sleep, was in the hallway crying at 4am, my throat hurt and i lost my voice. While we were laying in bed, all the pop and beer bottles froze and exploded in the fridge. Went to the front desk, my husband was livid, come back at 3pm. Slept in the lobby for awhile. In the morning I had bites over my entire lower legs that were approx 1.5" in diameter and oozing. No idea what they were (I have fully documented this all with photos if anyone needs proof or more information) Sent an e-mail to our travel agent at this point saying that either we get a better room or we want a ticket on the first plane out of here.

Room #3 - This room wasn't as bad, although still have mold inside lampshade (got pics) and cockroach (we named him Pedro) in Bathroom. Received word from our travel agent who worked with Transat in the DR to upgrade us for the low-every day wal=mart price of just $250.US.

Room #4- OMG. This room is beautiful, cedar closet, marble floor, no Pedro, robes hanging in the closet, beautiful, modern, clean. I love it....couldn't ask for more.

The first 3 rooms were in Transat block - building 5

Our good room was in building 3

Restaurants and Bars:
Loved the buffet, best selection and flavour of any resort I travelled in the DR. Tokio was great, entertaining and tasty. Our Chef Leonardo was hilarious Mirrodor (tex-mex) must try the fajahtas (yummm) Paris (french) was ok, not terrific

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Spectacular, beautiful. The beach is very windy and waves are rough, lost my sunglasses the first day :( Not good for snorkeling. Saved a baby seaturtle on the beach one day, and watched humpback whales from our balcony with binoculars one day. Can't comment on shows, but they were very very loud and we couldn't understand what they were saying because of volume, their accent and the echo of the microphone, so we only went to one and left after 15 minutes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Segway tour. was fairly reasonable. $40.00US each and was supposed to be and hour and a half. Ours was about and hour. Bought the DVD, they don't allow you to take pictures (?) cause then they can't sell DVD. $25 US. don't waste you money on DVD, the guy who films it take more footage of the girls butts and topless women on the beach, if you're not cute, save your money, you won't even be in it....

Other Comments
The gift shops on resort are overpriced, and you are captive because it's a 50.US return cab ride to town. For example a bottle of Barcello rum was more than Appleton Estate rum in my local store. Save your money and buy duty free on the Plane (not at the airport in Punta Cana).

I was at resort for 2 weeks and enjoyed it, the only problem I had was with rooms in building 5. That was the talk of the resort (how bad the rooms were)

If you go, take muskoll, polysporin, bandaids, and benedryl. You can thank me later

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Donald  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
201 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 21 - 28
WE arrived at 12 noon via Air Transat travel. WE received our room information very quickly. however we had to wait until 4 pm for our room which was not ready ubtil 5 pm. Suggest that travelers do not ask when a room wil be ready, but demand that they call housekeeping to get it ready. I did this after 3 half-hour stalls on the front desk.

Rooms
Do not expect a superior room, they are only average. We stayed in building 4 which is very centrally located to all amenities. . Prepare for some form of bug that bites at night. A number of people suffered the same bite and it appears to be bed bugs. I would suggest a powder or spray to be sure beds are clear. I was told there are newer rooms but I could find them. Forget the room, the resort is extremely well laid out and enjoyable. Restaurants and Bars
Great food everywhere. All al la cartes are fabulous and the main buffet is very well done.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
There are 7 building areas and # 1-3 are close to a new pool and rock climbing wall which are far away from the sports centre and main pool where all of the activities are held. It is very clean and quiet there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We stayed on the resort. Note that one person was attacked ooff the resort up the beach which is vacant land! Stay put uless supervised travel off the resort.

Other Comments
Beautiful resort. The beach is close to every room. Food is excellent. Staff are friendly but not fast to fix things, unless you really press and force them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Go with an open mind and come home with a smile and tan!!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kent from Regina, Sask  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
211 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 4 -11
arrived at 300pm , we were suppose to get seperate check in as we upgraded to premium package , but we checked with everyone else , not sure why , but still only took 15 min or so . but we were second in line . there was no one to take us to our room , as promised in premium package. not a big deal to us , but maybe to others . staff was freindly.

Rooms
we had a heck of a time finding our room , no one to take us there , and bell boys were busy. had to ask a maid where it was , and she spoke NO english. took about 15 minutes. once there we weren't dissapointed , but we weren't all oh's and ah's either . just a nice clean room . we had 2 queen size beds i think or very big doubles..?? bathroom was spacious and clean , and nothing smelled bad . a/c worked very well and had to turn it down or off at times. we had a 3rd floor room with a nice view of ocean , and overlooked the pool , juccuzi area. stayed in building 7. note all buildings are attached and lobby is # 3 go left to get to 1, and 2 . and right to find 4,5,6, and 7 hope that helps someone in the future. first # is building , then floor and finally room. 7310 for eg: is building 7 3rd floor room 10. no one toild us anything like this !! we had payed for upgrade and should have had a flat pannel on the wall but ended up with a regular 27 inch . we didn't spend much time watching it , but again it might mean something to others. we did find some small spiders in the room , but we just sprayed some off ( which we always carry ) and no more appeared for the week.

Restaurants and Bars
buffets are very good , lots of selection . all foods have id cards abouve them so you can tell what your eating before you take it . i found some goat stew which looked very good , but i was nervous about trying. main buffet makes omlettes to oder in morning , and fresh pasta to order in pm. beach bar is open at 8 am for brkfst and has less choice but all the basics....bacon, pancakes , fruit , omlettes to order, coffee, etc.... very good.

the beach bar at lunch is just great , the burgers are amazing, and go fast. fresh fish and chicken is also available , and i think rabbit is as well. ( if you would like to try ) we did 4 of the ala'cartes. french , sea food barbq, dominican , and japanese. all had great food to offer , and a pleasant atmoshere. the french was the only one where men had to wear long pants and closed shoes . the others you could wear long shorts and sandals as long as your shoulders were covered.

the french one had a pork tenderloin that was sooooo good. it fell apart with your fork. never waited more that 2-3 minutes at any bar for drinks , and always found room at restuarants . for the # of people going thru i was surprised. we did see some people waiting in line for supper , but they did go a little later.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was just great , no seaweed , lots of room , and chairs. and lots or people. i advise saving your chairs by 8am , or earlier if you want certain ones . tide is a little strong , and the undertow is heavy , but if your aware it should be no problem , we had our 12 yr old son and he never had an issue. the 4 pools are very nice , clean and well kept. swim up bar is open at 930 and well stocked. loungers go fast so saving by 7 is a good idea. gotta be 300 of them around the pools.kids pool looked like a lot of fun with 2 slides and waterfalls . no garbage on grounds , always some one walking around cleaning up. very nice landscaping. just a very nice place to be and relax

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
we did the parasailing off the beach, 85 tandem , 55 single i believe was the pricing . in the air for a good 15 minutes . and probably 45 min round trip with taking you out , and bringing you back. worth it to me !!

we also went to swim with the dolphins at Manati Park . 95 per person for the park entrance and swim. 30 min bus ride from resort. the park is like a nature park with lots to see in way of wild life . iguana's, crocs , parrots, flamingos , monkeys , etc.... they put on a couple of shows as well . one being a parrot show which is cute , and kind of cool . the other is a horse show of sorts. and not woth the time in my opinion . ( i have been around horses a lot so nothing for me )

the dolphin swim is ok , if you've never done it before , but it lacks in comparision tO others if you have . maybe 15 minutes in ths pool. less than 10 floating and getting to touch them ( there was 2 ) then individual interaction.......getting a dolphin kiss and a pull to the edge of pool. ( you hold onto the two under belly flippers and the swim back wards) my first time so i liked it . my wifes second ( first in cancun ) and she said it lacked. either way it was an ok way to spend 5 hrs and a 100 bucks per person. you need to sneak your drinks in . if they see them they will make you leave at front . my son had his taken away , not sure why and never really asked , think maybe someone could try to harm animals ???? or maybe they just want your $$$ at concession.

Other Comments:
all in all not a lot to complain about from us . we never had bad weather , but we did get some wind for 4 days and the sand could sting at times. we were told not to go left of your resort on the beach , as you could get robbed. we were the last resort ,and another was just being built to the left . and a couple of people did get robbed ,so please don't.

shopping is offered every 2nd night on resort , or you can go 20 minutes to shopping plaza out front of resort. just trinkets and tshits mostly. barter hard as they want your money.

remember this is a 3rd world country and it is not the faulty of the resort if you get travellers tummy , be prepared . ( pepto in the morning is a good idea , even if your not upset ) the ratings are not like those you find in north america . this resort is very nice , but not a 5 star . personally i would give it a 4.....barely. but still a 4. 5 stars are reserved for mable fountains and granduer. but you usually pay a lot more for it as well. anyone looking to get away from the snow and cold and just enjoy them selves will not be dissapointed . go with an open mind and come home with a smile and tan!!

i am including my e-mail if you want to ask anything please don't hesitate. i can also share some pics of resort if needed , i know the wbsites are terrible for that . thanks for taking the time to read and enjoy your holiday KENT kenthennig@sasktel.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed our experience."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Myles from Ottawa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
205 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 20 - Feb 27
Arrival was effortless, everything was on time. Buses were ready to take us to the Hotel.

Rooms
Our room was not large, but really beautiful. All marble floor, Superb ocean / beach view. Nice bathroom (never a shortage of hot water and always kept very clean) Really comfortable bed and good AC. Nice little balcony with table and chairs. Coffee maker in the room. We started each day with a nice sturdy Dominican coffee (All the coffee there is excellent. Visit Sandy's coffee in the lobby area for a really good espresso or cappuccino, and relax in the big, cool breezeways and read a book while the birds fly through and you can hear the ocean waves on the beach. It was so relaxing.

Restaurants and Bars
7 restaurants and 1 Buffet restaurant. The food was incredible. You could not possibly have difficulty finding food that you loved as there was so much selection. We ate at 4 restaurants - Italian, Japanese, Dominican and the Seafood Grill at the pool. Its good to bear in mind that these restuarants are the Dominican interpretation of these types of cooking. Lots of choices on the menus and the wines were really good (mainly Spanish) While I did not love everything I ate, there was something about each meal that was Superb. The Tilapia in the Dominican restaurant was to die for!!! The Chocolate cup with fruit in the Italian restaurant was a little taste of heaven. Breakfast was early and something for everyone. (I never ate so much in my life!) The dominican understand how to cook bacon...crispy and lots of it :) Fresh fruit and vegetables everyday. Bottled water available everywhere. Our room had a bar which was stocked every day with water, soft drinks and Beer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The grounds were impecably clean, always a crew working at keeping things tidy and the pools were always pristine. The beach was the BEST I have ever been on...not a sign of seaweed or anything, just beautiful fine sand...I never even saw a seashell the entire week I was there. Incredible beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Anyone interested in working out while there, Barcelo offers a truly usefull gym. Machines and free weights, I had very good workouts everyday. That was a real pleasant surprise! My companion did the Bavaro Runners Safari Adventure local tour - Horeseback riding, visiting the Sugar Cane fields, coffee and Cocoa plantation, Tabacco plantation, saw a cigar rolling demonstration, there was a zipline stop on the mountains and a visit to the the public beach. Lunch and drinks provided and since my companion had some mobility issues, she found the tour quite easy to manage, and it was a full day included Lunch and drinks (of course). She was really impressed with the diverse experience and the price was good at 100$ US for the day. At the Hotel there are many things to do as are usually offered at these resort. Lots of water activities, and on the grounds you could play volleyball, shuffleboard, there was a rock-climbing wall, and a trapeze area (very fun to watch!!) Pool aerobics and dance classes if you wanted to participate. this place has a Spa and my friend had massages on the beach which she LOVED!)The onsite shopping was adequte. US money is of course the money of choice and tipping is really how you get things you want in the Dominican. A buck or 2 US is really all you need to keep things going smoothly. We tipped our maid 2$us per day...our room was always spotless. We tipped our servers at the Speciality restaurants. We never wanted for anything.

Other Comments:
We really enjoyed our experience there, and I would definetly go back there. The staff was so friendly, and it was just a really nice property that catered to everyone. Single people, and families alike. Its a huge property with just under 800 rooms and the way it is designed over 50% of the rooms are direct ocean views, and it was the most beautiful ocen view I had ever had. (this was my third trip to Punta Cana btw. If anyone does not enjoy your stay at this resort because of the property...I'm not sure what would satisfy you. Best vacation ever in the Dominican.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff were always ready to help when they could and the beach is incredible."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lynnette from Edmonton, Alberta  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 05 - 12
We arrived early evening and as we were a Transat Holiday check in was just around the corner from the main lobby. All paperwork was prepared in advance and within minutes we were following the bellboy to our room.

Rooms:
After reading previous reviews we had made the request to stay in the 3 Block through our travel agent and as well by email direct to the hotel. We were not disappointed. Our room was very nice with a king size bed. The sewer in the bathroom smelled a little funky but heeding previous warnings I just plugged in an air freshner that I brought from home and the problem was solved. Our maid Alexandra was a little hit and miss. Our room was cleaned everyday but a couple of days we had to remind her that we needed towels. She spoke no english and we with very little spanish managed to communicate via sign language. Our mini fridge was stocked daily and once we tipped Manuel we were well stocked in Presidente! There was some problems with power outages several times over the week and as a result there was no running water but they never lasted very long and unless you were in the resort you wouldn't even know.

Restaurants and Bars: We were celebrating an anniversary and had indicated as such in our email. Rueben who was working at the concierge desk helped to arrange a Gala celebration. We were to have a romantic dinner on the beach but as the weather did not co-operate we were housed in the thatched hut normally used by the hair braiders. It was transformed. They had lowered the shades and made every effort to block the wind but we were still able to see the surf and the moon peeking through the clouds. Very romantic indeed. We were served a wonderful lobster dinner by the Banquet manager Hector who took it upon himself to choose the menu and ensure our private dinner was memorable. A once in a life time memory for sure. The ala carte's were good and we always found at least one gem on the menu. Four star dining it isn't but this resort is not about the food. We did hear that several people had stomach upsets from eating at the Marlin but as this is the one place open for the longest hours it just may be the odds. The buffet offers lots of variety with each day another theme but again remember that that are cooking for many hundreds of people for three meals a day. The bars were great and bartenders added to the entertainment. Some premium liquor is available but you may have to travel to another bar to get it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The pools are great. One is deemed the quiet pool while the other is the "lively" one. Both are beautiful and even though storms blew through, there was always staff on hand cleaning. Entertainment at the noisy pool was loud but never started until the afternoon and always fun to watch. This pool houses the swim up bar as well as water sports. You are asked to return your beach towels by 6pm and they are laundered and then available for pick up at 8 am. This often doesn't work for those people who do not return their towels as can be seen by the number hanging off the balconies. We were always at the towel hut when it opened so ensure that we would have clean ones for that day. The beach is absolutely incredible. The weather was not great (rain and strong winds for 5 of 7 days)but anytime the sun would break through the clouds we would race to the beach. We managed to get some time in the ocean every day. There is a strong undertow but it is well monitored and you will be called back if you head out too far. I must say that the beach alone is worth the trip. The grounds around the resort were all extremely well maintained and truly tropical.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Venders are allowed onto the resort every other day and they are aggressive in their sales pitches but if you enjoy the art of bartering then this is for you. And if you didn't get enough of it you can walk to the plaza market for more. There are plenty of excursions to partake and we went through Transat to book. The seas were too rough for any water trips but you can always find plenty to do.

Other Comments:
This was our first all inclusive and we really did enjoy ourselves. Remember to bring a good supply of American one dollar bills for tipping and you will always be rewarded. The staff were terrific in ensuring that our special day was acknowledged with an announcement on the daily flyer and champagne in our room. Preset reservations are not written in stone and if you are patient you can go to the concierge to see if it can be changed. We did bring some insulated mugs which were great while on the beach. Staff were always ready to help when they could and the beach is incredible.

flash8@telusplanet.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff are energetic and love to dance and have fun."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Orleans  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 09 to 16
Arrived around 2100 through the terminal in 10 or 15 min quick drive to the resort 15 to 20 min. Check in went well stayed in room 6414.
Rained heavy and very windy all night.

Rooms
Small rooms out dated and in bad need of bug spray the room was sprayed numerous times but I think the ants like it because they kept coming back every day, I know others with the same issue some changed their rooms without any luck. The bathroom was dingy, lots of towels all week I even heard of one guest having towel art in their room one day. Showers hot and cold during peek times.
Everything worked in the room, I have stayed in a lot worse but hay you get what you pay for and you are not in Kansas anymore.

Restaurants and Bars
Bars were all good be nice to the bar staff and they return the favor twice fold. Buffet Ronald makes great fried eggs, lots of selection at the buffet tables, GREAT BREAD SELECTION MMMMM. Lots of fruit as well.
Al la cart Went to three Paris great and ask for more if you like, Marlin grate stake, Japan Great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
This area of beach is beautiful but the most windy and the waves can slap down the biggest guy if not looking. Ladies watch your tops and bottoms because it makes for great guy entertainment.
If you walk east thats the direction the sun comes up from that you will not see from the resort (or sunset) about five minutes the waves and wind calm down so you can have a piecefull swim.
Not a pool person but they are nice and large and noise, great kids area almost wanted to go in myself.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Staff are energetic and love to dance and have fun great job except for the nightly shows not so good but they try, the ad hoc shows before the nightly entertainment can be quite funny with guests on the stage being the entertainment. They also have a rock wall and traipse. Did not go off the resort seen it all before.

Other Comments
Had fun maybe upgrading to the prestige class would be a good choice newer rooms and more amenities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place for kids and teenagers."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Joann from Prescott, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
234 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 10-17, 2009
We travelled with Transat Holiday, our arrival was on time, check in was quick, but we did have to wait a couple of hours for our room. Which was expected, so we just went a had a couple of drinks at the bar.

Rooms:
I emailed the resort about a week or so before we left explaining that our 25th anniversary was in Sept but we could'nt get away then so this was hour holiday to each other. I requested a room in building 3 because it is newly renovated. And I also prebooked our ala cartes. The room was just that, right in the centre of the resort with a perfect view of the ocean and pools. We felt like we could touch the water. The room was lovely, marble shower, kingsize bed, plasma t.v. and a fully stocked mini bar everyday. It was great...

Restaurants and Bars:
As far as the ala cartes we tried the Japanese, the Paris, the Seafood grill and the tex mex. They were all very good. You don't have to have seafood at the grill if you don't care for it, we had pork tenderloin and beef filet, both were very good. The tex mex is an ala carte during the day for lunch which is a nice option, beautiful view. As for the buffet, I guess this is where we were disappointed. Don't get me wrong there was always something to eat, just not very hot and not the variety we are used to at other resorts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and ground, well what is there to say. The grounds are well looking after, and as for the beach, it is Punta Cana and absolutely gorgeous....Lots of waves and plenty of room to find a chair..The pools are lovely as well. The is one with activities and a swim up bar, there is a childrens and there is a adults that is a quieter one. The were all great..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The were activies at the pool during the late afternoon, there was always something going on at the beach in the morning, and there are night shows, casino and disco, none of which we went. They also had a beach party one night. Look like alot of fun. The only thing I was hoping for was entertainment in the lobby at night, just to sit and listen to while have a drink after dinner. The was a piano but know one playing it. This is an area I think they could work on, it would do wonders for the atomesphere in the lobbys.....

Other Comments:
All in all we had a wonderful week with great weather and I would recommend this resort to anyone. Great place for kids and teenagers....just watch out for the big waves they can sneek up on you. Enjoy your holiday and remember when you go the Dominican that not everything is the same as home, after all isn't that why we went to get away from it all. Relax and go with the flow and you'll have a great vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is absolutely perfect, don't think you could get much better!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy from MB  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
217 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan.7 - 14
We arrived at the hotel about 6pm. Check-in was quick and easy. The bell-boy was taking our luggage to our rooms along with other guests luggage so we set off to find our room. It turned out we should have stayed with our bellboy as it took us a bit of time to find our room. (Found the hotel layout somewhat confusing).

Rooms:
We were in section 4 in rm 4215, these rm's had not been renovated yet but were still decent. Our beach towels were already in our room. We were a little disappointed with the maid service, one day we were given no towels, another no toilet paper. And although it is not necessary, they never made a towel arrangement (swan, ect.), like I said not necessary but always a nice little touch that puts a smile on my face. A couple things they didn't have but would have been nice were a screen on the balcony door and a towel rack on the balcony for drying bathing suits,ect., and a bottle cap opener for the pop.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were alright. Always managed to find something to eat. Buffet we found to be pretty much the same everyday. Breakfast was always my favourite, has everything you could possibly desire. A-la-cartes: Tokio-friendly and entertaining, I didn't much care for my meal as I found it all tasted like soy sauce (even my salad had soy sauce on it), but my husband and friend enjoyed it. Italian- we all enjoyed it. Surf N'Turf- I thought it was okay, my husband didn't much care for it. He ordered a seafood salad, lobster soup, and seafood maindish. We went to the Tex-Mex for lunch a couple times and we thought it was great. You don't need reservations there during the day. I would suggest going there we enjoyed it the most. Plenty of bars around to keep your thirst quenched. Note-if you are sitting down by the lobby bars it takes some time for the waitress to return with the drink you have ordered, so if you are impatient it is quicker to just go to the bar yourself.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is absolutely perfect, don't think you could get much better! Waves were pretty high someday's but its fun and great for boogeyboarding. Ladies hold on to your swimsuits. Pools were great aswell! Not once during our week did we find there would be any problem finding a beach/pool chair, at anytime of the day. They seemed to be plenty to go around, even with the towel savers! Gardens and ground were always clean. Must say we really found the layout of the hotel to be confusing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Didn't participate in any activities at the resort, but they looked fun. My husband went on the deep sea fishing excursion, they didn't catch any fish but he still enjoyed it. He did not get sea sick but a few others did. Also went on the full day catarmaran excursion. It took us by an old sunken ship, snorkeling, to big blow up slide and for lunch off shore. The snorkeling was a little disappointing as the coral was all dead, but still saw plenty of fish, also the current was so strong you would find yourself being pushed into other snorkelers (there was about 60 people on the catarmaran)!

Other Comments:
This was my 4th trip and my husband's 5th trip to D.R. We usually find the staff to be very friendly, playful, smiling and happy as they work. It did not seem the usual here for some reason, the friendly Ola's as you walk by staff, singing as they make a drink, helping us out with our correct spanish pronunciation or the eagerness to make sure we were enjoying our holiday just didn't seem the same as prior years. All in all, a great holiday! We probably wouldn't plan to go back but if a great deal popped up we wouldn't not go back. There are plenty of other resorts to see still! Enjoy your holidays everyone!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube