Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Punta Cana. reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana.  

Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Do Not Go There"
Posted by: vic on Nov 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews
Barcelo Punta Cana. Pictures and Information
Barcelo Punta Cana. Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#4
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 51 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Information


Barceló Punta Cana is a Barceló All-Inclusive for adults, singles and families, where all meals, wines, local and international beverages, land sports and non-motorized watersports with equipment and some instructions, entertainment, and other activities are included in one single price.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.9 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  35
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (23)
Party (2)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
41 - 50 of 51

"If you can't find something to eat here, you really shouldn't travel to the DR."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
309 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 23 - Mar 9
No problem with our arrival, but we got at the hotel at 11:00 pm, so rooms were waiting. I know people get upset when they get in early and their rooms are not ready, but this is a usual thing that happens. Pack your carry on with your swim suit and enjoy the day.

Rooms
The rooms are of the norm in the Domincan, nothing fancy but clean. Our friends that travelled with us, he got bite bad the frist day we were there and he though it was bed bugs, but into the 2nd week I got bites and neither my husband or his wife had a bite. So I still think it was not bed bugs. Take along a little repellant. I will say that this is our 9th trip to the DR and never before had any kind of bite, but we always went to PP area on the North coast.

Restaurants and Bars
Everything was good. If you can't find something to eat here, you really shouldn't travel to the DR. Buffet was great with lots of everything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beautiful grounds, pool and beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities are much the same as all resorts. We've done all the tours and such through the years, so this time we didn't go on any.

Other Comments
Like I said before, we travelled to the DR many times and all on the North coast in PP. We decided to try Punta Cana becauce of people raving how beautiful it was. It was nice, but for the difference in price, I would think twice about going back. In PP we could jump in a Taxi and go to 3 different towns to shop in the local markets or on Playa Dorardo complex you have a mall with a food court, shopping or even a movie. I guess, we all thought, if you didn't want to pay an average of $100.00 US per person for a tour, you were very confined. We did enjoy our trip, but I don't care if the beach has white or powder sand, so it will be PP next time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We went through 4 rooms in 4 days."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrea from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
342 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 23 - March 9
Was handled speedily and no waiting as it was after midnight. Would have been nice to have had a resort map with a listing of times snack bars and bars were opened.

Rooms
I don't know how not to sound critical. If you are traveling with AirTransat, and you don't pay for an upgrade, God help you. We went through 4 rooms in 4 days.

Room #1- We requested a king size bed and we had 2 twins. Also the balcony faced the incinerator of the neighbouring resort. Come back to see us after 3 pm

Roon #2- King size bed, no working air conditioner. Turned it on and a cloud of mosquitoes came out of it. The smell of mold and stale air was terrible, we couldn't sleep, was in the hallway crying at 4am, my throat hurt and i lost my voice. While we were laying in bed, all the pop and beer bottles froze and exploded in the fridge. Went to the front desk, my husband was livid, come back at 3pm. Slept in the lobby for awhile. In the morning I had bites over my entire lower legs that were approx 1.5" in diameter and oozing. No idea what they were (I have fully documented this all with photos if anyone needs proof or more information) Sent an e-mail to our travel agent at this point saying that either we get a better room or we want a ticket on the first plane out of here.

Room #3 - This room wasn't as bad, although still have mold inside lampshade (got pics) and cockroach (we named him Pedro) in Bathroom. Received word from our travel agent who worked with Transat in the DR to upgrade us for the low-every day wal=mart price of just $250.US.

Room #4- OMG. This room is beautiful, cedar closet, marble floor, no Pedro, robes hanging in the closet, beautiful, modern, clean. I love it....couldn't ask for more.

The first 3 rooms were in Transat block - building 5

Our good room was in building 3

Restaurants and Bars:
Loved the buffet, best selection and flavour of any resort I travelled in the DR. Tokio was great, entertaining and tasty. Our Chef Leonardo was hilarious Mirrodor (tex-mex) must try the fajahtas (yummm) Paris (french) was ok, not terrific

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Spectacular, beautiful. The beach is very windy and waves are rough, lost my sunglasses the first day :( Not good for snorkeling. Saved a baby seaturtle on the beach one day, and watched humpback whales from our balcony with binoculars one day. Can't comment on shows, but they were very very loud and we couldn't understand what they were saying because of volume, their accent and the echo of the microphone, so we only went to one and left after 15 minutes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Segway tour. was fairly reasonable. $40.00US each and was supposed to be and hour and a half. Ours was about and hour. Bought the DVD, they don't allow you to take pictures (?) cause then they can't sell DVD. $25 US. don't waste you money on DVD, the guy who films it take more footage of the girls butts and topless women on the beach, if you're not cute, save your money, you won't even be in it....

Other Comments
The gift shops on resort are overpriced, and you are captive because it's a 50.US return cab ride to town. For example a bottle of Barcello rum was more than Appleton Estate rum in my local store. Save your money and buy duty free on the Plane (not at the airport in Punta Cana).

I was at resort for 2 weeks and enjoyed it, the only problem I had was with rooms in building 5. That was the talk of the resort (how bad the rooms were)

If you go, take muskoll, polysporin, bandaids, and benedryl. You can thank me later

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach and grounds were lovely, the food was okay but did become repetitive."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cat from Halifax  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
354 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 7 - 14
Let me start off, there were six of us all together, my husband and me, my mom, and my brother, his wife and their five year old daughter. We flew with Air Transat so with the premium package you get a separate check-in, basically a separate table set up in the lobby. Went fairly smooth, unless you wanted to change something, you would then have to go to the lobby. We arrived at 11:30, however, the rooms were not available until 3PM. I understood this to be commoon since I heard many other clients waiting at the lobby asking if their room would be ready. Our room was ready by 3PM. I had a bathing soon and summer clothing in my carry-on so I was fine, hit the beach then came back around 3PM for our room. With transat's premium package, you are supposed to get beach towels in your room upon arrival (none of us got this), a welcome cocktail upon arrival (none of us got this) and four gauranteed reservations (we all did get this with our check-in package).

Rooms
The rooms are okay but need renovating. We asked for a king in the renovated section, we got two double beds in block 5. The location was good because our balcony overlooked the pool, close to the beach and far enough from the lobby that it wasn't noisy. The rooms are musty, we travelled with family and their rooms were about the same. There seemed to be little things wrong though in all of our rooms. For our room, our phone wasn't working, it finally got fixed around day 4. The tv and remote didn't work in my mom's room, they fixed it on the second day, she got some channels, fuzzy though, and that's the best they could do. Her toilet also leaked, they did come to fix it on day 3, at 11PM! They came and fixed it the next day. My brother's room, also in block 5, when they arrived, you could tell the sheets on one of the beds weren't changed because of the smell so we found the maid and got a set of sheets and changed it ourselves. So, overall, the rooms seem to be getting renovated one at time but not ours. They were okay for the amount of time you spent in them but definitely not 4.5 stars, more like 3.5 stars. By the way, the maids don't speak much english so speaking some spanish will definetely help you. In terms of the service, they sheets don't get changed for the duration of your stay. Just make sure you start off with clean sheets (my sister-in-laws sheets smelled grosse but they came in late at night and we couldn't change them to the next day). For room cleaning, they don't seem to get cleaned until late afternoon in our block. One day, we came back at six and it still wasn't cleaned so she did come and we just hung out on the balcony. This also happened to my mom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Did the four a la cartes - Here's the summary: Paris - don't go. Marin (seafood) was okay and most of us enjoyed our food. Tokio was fun and I would recommend folks going, tell the chef to take it easy on the soy sauce as we all found it too salty. One the last night, my husband and I went to the Italian restaurant, I found this pretty good (for the Dominican Republic!) but my husband was not a happy camper. I would recommend it though as the food in the buffet becomes repetitive and it's nice to have a sit down meal where you can take your time eating and enjoying the company.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was long, clean and very nice. Lots of palm trees but only a few huts which I found disappointing compared to other resorts I've been to. There are two pools, one with the swin up bar and where they have lots of activities (near block 5) and another large pool near block 1,2,3 which is great for swimmning and calmer than the other pool. The kids pool is the nicest I've seen in a resort and my niece had a blast with all the slides. Right near this pool is a rock wall, trampoline and trapeze which are pretty cool if folks want to try something different.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Didn't do any tours, just relaxed mostly around the hotel. Wanted to parasail but too windy for my taste. If you want to buy coffee, rum, etc. Walk out of the resort, turn left and you'll see a market. You can get coffee for $2-3 per pack (compared to $6.50 at the resort and $8 US at the airport). We also bargained for the rum. Basically, you can go less than half of what they quote. If you don't like haggling and being harrassed, don't go. If you don't mind, it's the best place to buy things.

Other Comments
Overall, there were six of us. We all agreed that the beach and grounds were lovely. The food was okay but did become repetitive. It is definetely not a 4.5 star mainly because the rooms are in need of renovation and the food was much much better the last time I came to D.R. as well as other members of my family who were in D.R. the last three years. That said, I won't be coming back here but you will have a good time, we did. You can pay the extra for an upgraded suite in block 3 (which are supposed to be really nice) but that would bring the cost comparable to a five star and I would just stay at a five-star next time where the food, and everything else is five star. We were all pretty laid back so you take everything with a grain of salt, you are down south afterall. My husband though was really let down as he thought that we would have 4.5 star food and accommodations and we didn't. Plus, as the rest of us have been to Punta Cana before, we raved about the food so it was very disappointing when it wasn't what we said. If you've booked, you'll have fun. Just make sure that if anything is wrong in your room, you need to tell them right away and go to the front desk, as it's easier to talk with them. If you haven't booked and you are looking for a 4 plus, I suggest you go elsewhere. Two years ago, we booked a four star in the Mayan and the food, service, rooms were much more superior to this resort. Hasta la vista!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel would be acceptable for a 2-3 star rating but not a 4star +."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
358 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 7 - 14
Premium was to have have a separate check-in, but was completely chaotic without order or organisation

Rooms
old rooms and stale, would be acceptable for a 2-3 star rating but not a 4star +. Old and small tv with fuzzy chanels, bathroom ceiling dirty and rusty. The service for room cleaning, fresh towels was mediocre.

Restaurants and Bars
Do not recommend the French restaurant, food is less than mediocre, Japanese restaurant: nice show but food was overcooked, dry and oversalted. Seafood restaurant: fish was'nt fresh and was overcooked. Overall including the buffet, the food was terrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Nice beach, nice pool set-ups. Hot tub area were closed for repairs during whole stay.

Other Comments
Extremely disapointing and misleading if you think you are paying for a 4+ star resort. Food was discusting. For the $$ we got scammed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Donald  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
315 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 21 - 28
WE arrived at 12 noon via Air Transat travel. WE received our room information very quickly. however we had to wait until 4 pm for our room which was not ready ubtil 5 pm. Suggest that travelers do not ask when a room wil be ready, but demand that they call housekeeping to get it ready. I did this after 3 half-hour stalls on the front desk.

Rooms
Do not expect a superior room, they are only average. We stayed in building 4 which is very centrally located to all amenities. . Prepare for some form of bug that bites at night. A number of people suffered the same bite and it appears to be bed bugs. I would suggest a powder or spray to be sure beds are clear. I was told there are newer rooms but I could find them. Forget the room, the resort is extremely well laid out and enjoyable. Restaurants and Bars
Great food everywhere. All al la cartes are fabulous and the main buffet is very well done.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
There are 7 building areas and # 1-3 are close to a new pool and rock climbing wall which are far away from the sports centre and main pool where all of the activities are held. It is very clean and quiet there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We stayed on the resort. Note that one person was attacked ooff the resort up the beach which is vacant land! Stay put uless supervised travel off the resort.

Other Comments
Beautiful resort. The beach is close to every room. Food is excellent. Staff are friendly but not fast to fix things, unless you really press and force them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Go with an open mind and come home with a smile and tan!!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kent from Regina, Sask  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
357 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 4 -11
arrived at 300pm , we were suppose to get seperate check in as we upgraded to premium package , but we checked with everyone else , not sure why , but still only took 15 min or so . but we were second in line . there was no one to take us to our room , as promised in premium package. not a big deal to us , but maybe to others . staff was freindly.

Rooms
we had a heck of a time finding our room , no one to take us there , and bell boys were busy. had to ask a maid where it was , and she spoke NO english. took about 15 minutes. once there we weren't dissapointed , but we weren't all oh's and ah's either . just a nice clean room . we had 2 queen size beds i think or very big doubles..?? bathroom was spacious and clean , and nothing smelled bad . a/c worked very well and had to turn it down or off at times. we had a 3rd floor room with a nice view of ocean , and overlooked the pool , juccuzi area. stayed in building 7. note all buildings are attached and lobby is # 3 go left to get to 1, and 2 . and right to find 4,5,6, and 7 hope that helps someone in the future. first # is building , then floor and finally room. 7310 for eg: is building 7 3rd floor room 10. no one toild us anything like this !! we had payed for upgrade and should have had a flat pannel on the wall but ended up with a regular 27 inch . we didn't spend much time watching it , but again it might mean something to others. we did find some small spiders in the room , but we just sprayed some off ( which we always carry ) and no more appeared for the week.

Restaurants and Bars
buffets are very good , lots of selection . all foods have id cards abouve them so you can tell what your eating before you take it . i found some goat stew which looked very good , but i was nervous about trying. main buffet makes omlettes to oder in morning , and fresh pasta to order in pm. beach bar is open at 8 am for brkfst and has less choice but all the basics....bacon, pancakes , fruit , omlettes to order, coffee, etc.... very good.

the beach bar at lunch is just great , the burgers are amazing, and go fast. fresh fish and chicken is also available , and i think rabbit is as well. ( if you would like to try ) we did 4 of the ala'cartes. french , sea food barbq, dominican , and japanese. all had great food to offer , and a pleasant atmoshere. the french was the only one where men had to wear long pants and closed shoes . the others you could wear long shorts and sandals as long as your shoulders were covered.

the french one had a pork tenderloin that was sooooo good. it fell apart with your fork. never waited more that 2-3 minutes at any bar for drinks , and always found room at restuarants . for the # of people going thru i was surprised. we did see some people waiting in line for supper , but they did go a little later.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was just great , no seaweed , lots of room , and chairs. and lots or people. i advise saving your chairs by 8am , or earlier if you want certain ones . tide is a little strong , and the undertow is heavy , but if your aware it should be no problem , we had our 12 yr old son and he never had an issue. the 4 pools are very nice , clean and well kept. swim up bar is open at 930 and well stocked. loungers go fast so saving by 7 is a good idea. gotta be 300 of them around the pools.kids pool looked like a lot of fun with 2 slides and waterfalls . no garbage on grounds , always some one walking around cleaning up. very nice landscaping. just a very nice place to be and relax

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
we did the parasailing off the beach, 85 tandem , 55 single i believe was the pricing . in the air for a good 15 minutes . and probably 45 min round trip with taking you out , and bringing you back. worth it to me !!

we also went to swim with the dolphins at Manati Park . 95 per person for the park entrance and swim. 30 min bus ride from resort. the park is like a nature park with lots to see in way of wild life . iguana's, crocs , parrots, flamingos , monkeys , etc.... they put on a couple of shows as well . one being a parrot show which is cute , and kind of cool . the other is a horse show of sorts. and not woth the time in my opinion . ( i have been around horses a lot so nothing for me )

the dolphin swim is ok , if you've never done it before , but it lacks in comparision tO others if you have . maybe 15 minutes in ths pool. less than 10 floating and getting to touch them ( there was 2 ) then individual interaction.......getting a dolphin kiss and a pull to the edge of pool. ( you hold onto the two under belly flippers and the swim back wards) my first time so i liked it . my wifes second ( first in cancun ) and she said it lacked. either way it was an ok way to spend 5 hrs and a 100 bucks per person. you need to sneak your drinks in . if they see them they will make you leave at front . my son had his taken away , not sure why and never really asked , think maybe someone could try to harm animals ???? or maybe they just want your $$$ at concession.

Other Comments:
all in all not a lot to complain about from us . we never had bad weather , but we did get some wind for 4 days and the sand could sting at times. we were told not to go left of your resort on the beach , as you could get robbed. we were the last resort ,and another was just being built to the left . and a couple of people did get robbed ,so please don't.

shopping is offered every 2nd night on resort , or you can go 20 minutes to shopping plaza out front of resort. just trinkets and tshits mostly. barter hard as they want your money.

remember this is a 3rd world country and it is not the faulty of the resort if you get travellers tummy , be prepared . ( pepto in the morning is a good idea , even if your not upset ) the ratings are not like those you find in north america . this resort is very nice , but not a 5 star . personally i would give it a 4.....barely. but still a 4. 5 stars are reserved for mable fountains and granduer. but you usually pay a lot more for it as well. anyone looking to get away from the snow and cold and just enjoy them selves will not be dissapointed . go with an open mind and come home with a smile and tan!!

i am including my e-mail if you want to ask anything please don't hesitate. i can also share some pics of resort if needed , i know the wbsites are terrible for that . thanks for taking the time to read and enjoy your holiday KENT kenthennig@sasktel.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very nice resort."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lindy from Alberta  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
344 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - March 12
Flew with Air Transat, landed in Punta Cana @ 5:30pm. Found our bus easily (rep from Air Transat is there if you need help). This was our first tropical trip, so all was new to us. We (my boyfriend & myself) went with my sister & her husband, my other sister and my brother. Took a while before we left the airport, had to wait on a few people to get to the bus. We didn't get the prestige check-in (separate check-in & drink), probably because we were so late getting there, didn't arrive at the resort until 8:30pm.

Rooms
Had trouble finding our rooms at first, but got there. The rooms we stayed in were 4121, 5220, 5413 & 5415, none of which were renovated yet. At first we couldn't get into our room, the bell-boy with our bags had to let us in, as our keys didn't work. After getting in, we found that our safe didn't work either. We went down to the front desk and they changed the keys and instantly they sent a guy up to fix our safe. Never being on a trip like this before, at first I was very disappointed in our rooms, but you do have to remember that you are in a 3rd world country. And really, how much time are you spending in your rooms anyway? We had trouble getting face clothes, we left notes, never got any. By the 3rd day we got face clothes, but no hand towels. After that, we got everything. Not a real biggie though. We left tips every day, $1 & a little gift (nail polish, hair stuff, etc). The water was cold & hot, but didn't bother us. One time the water & power did quit, we called the front desk and within 10 minutes it was fixed (it was off in the other rooms too).

Restaurants and Bars
With the prestige class, you are guaranteed 4 a' la carte restaurants. It's supposed to be that when you check in they give you your 4 reservations at that time. They didn't, but as it was our first time there, we didn't know it was supposed to be like that. After meeting with our ait transat rep the next morning they told us we should have them, so we went to the front desk and got ours. We were booked at the Paris for 7:30. Very disapponted, took us until 9 to finally get our meals. Would not recommend this place. The next one was El Conocu (Dominican) at 9:30pm, it was okay. Our Tokio one was for 6:45pm, DEFINITELY recommend this one, a lot of fun and so good! And our final one was at Roma at 9:30, it was good too. Wish our reservations were a little earlier, but as we didn't get them right away, we couldn't go back & change. The bars were good, the swim up bar was the best, the guys loved that one for sure.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was really nice, always was able to find chairs for us at any time during the day. For the beach we found we had to go out at 7am to reserve our chairs (with umbrellas) with towels. Going out @ 7:30am was late, hard to fand any with umbrellas. If you left your towel on the chair to reserve your spot, no one would sit there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Didn't go on any tours, just relaxed around the resort.

Other Comments
A very nice resort. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed our experience."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Myles from Ottawa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
323 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 20 - Feb 27
Arrival was effortless, everything was on time. Buses were ready to take us to the Hotel.

Rooms
Our room was not large, but really beautiful. All marble floor, Superb ocean / beach view. Nice bathroom (never a shortage of hot water and always kept very clean) Really comfortable bed and good AC. Nice little balcony with table and chairs. Coffee maker in the room. We started each day with a nice sturdy Dominican coffee (All the coffee there is excellent. Visit Sandy's coffee in the lobby area for a really good espresso or cappuccino, and relax in the big, cool breezeways and read a book while the birds fly through and you can hear the ocean waves on the beach. It was so relaxing.

Restaurants and Bars
7 restaurants and 1 Buffet restaurant. The food was incredible. You could not possibly have difficulty finding food that you loved as there was so much selection. We ate at 4 restaurants - Italian, Japanese, Dominican and the Seafood Grill at the pool. Its good to bear in mind that these restuarants are the Dominican interpretation of these types of cooking. Lots of choices on the menus and the wines were really good (mainly Spanish) While I did not love everything I ate, there was something about each meal that was Superb. The Tilapia in the Dominican restaurant was to die for!!! The Chocolate cup with fruit in the Italian restaurant was a little taste of heaven. Breakfast was early and something for everyone. (I never ate so much in my life!) The dominican understand how to cook bacon...crispy and lots of it :) Fresh fruit and vegetables everyday. Bottled water available everywhere. Our room had a bar which was stocked every day with water, soft drinks and Beer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The grounds were impecably clean, always a crew working at keeping things tidy and the pools were always pristine. The beach was the BEST I have ever been on...not a sign of seaweed or anything, just beautiful fine sand...I never even saw a seashell the entire week I was there. Incredible beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Anyone interested in working out while there, Barcelo offers a truly usefull gym. Machines and free weights, I had very good workouts everyday. That was a real pleasant surprise! My companion did the Bavaro Runners Safari Adventure local tour - Horeseback riding, visiting the Sugar Cane fields, coffee and Cocoa plantation, Tabacco plantation, saw a cigar rolling demonstration, there was a zipline stop on the mountains and a visit to the the public beach. Lunch and drinks provided and since my companion had some mobility issues, she found the tour quite easy to manage, and it was a full day included Lunch and drinks (of course). She was really impressed with the diverse experience and the price was good at 100$ US for the day. At the Hotel there are many things to do as are usually offered at these resort. Lots of water activities, and on the grounds you could play volleyball, shuffleboard, there was a rock-climbing wall, and a trapeze area (very fun to watch!!) Pool aerobics and dance classes if you wanted to participate. this place has a Spa and my friend had massages on the beach which she LOVED!)The onsite shopping was adequte. US money is of course the money of choice and tipping is really how you get things you want in the Dominican. A buck or 2 US is really all you need to keep things going smoothly. We tipped our maid 2$us per day...our room was always spotless. We tipped our servers at the Speciality restaurants. We never wanted for anything.

Other Comments:
We really enjoyed our experience there, and I would definetly go back there. The staff was so friendly, and it was just a really nice property that catered to everyone. Single people, and families alike. Its a huge property with just under 800 rooms and the way it is designed over 50% of the rooms are direct ocean views, and it was the most beautiful ocen view I had ever had. (this was my third trip to Punta Cana btw. If anyone does not enjoy your stay at this resort because of the property...I'm not sure what would satisfy you. Best vacation ever in the Dominican.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff were always ready to help when they could and the beach is incredible."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lynnette from Edmonton, Alberta  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
375 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 05 - 12
We arrived early evening and as we were a Transat Holiday check in was just around the corner from the main lobby. All paperwork was prepared in advance and within minutes we were following the bellboy to our room.

Rooms:
After reading previous reviews we had made the request to stay in the 3 Block through our travel agent and as well by email direct to the hotel. We were not disappointed. Our room was very nice with a king size bed. The sewer in the bathroom smelled a little funky but heeding previous warnings I just plugged in an air freshner that I brought from home and the problem was solved. Our maid Alexandra was a little hit and miss. Our room was cleaned everyday but a couple of days we had to remind her that we needed towels. She spoke no english and we with very little spanish managed to communicate via sign language. Our mini fridge was stocked daily and once we tipped Manuel we were well stocked in Presidente! There was some problems with power outages several times over the week and as a result there was no running water but they never lasted very long and unless you were in the resort you wouldn't even know.

Restaurants and Bars: We were celebrating an anniversary and had indicated as such in our email. Rueben who was working at the concierge desk helped to arrange a Gala celebration. We were to have a romantic dinner on the beach but as the weather did not co-operate we were housed in the thatched hut normally used by the hair braiders. It was transformed. They had lowered the shades and made every effort to block the wind but we were still able to see the surf and the moon peeking through the clouds. Very romantic indeed. We were served a wonderful lobster dinner by the Banquet manager Hector who took it upon himself to choose the menu and ensure our private dinner was memorable. A once in a life time memory for sure. The ala carte's were good and we always found at least one gem on the menu. Four star dining it isn't but this resort is not about the food. We did hear that several people had stomach upsets from eating at the Marlin but as this is the one place open for the longest hours it just may be the odds. The buffet offers lots of variety with each day another theme but again remember that that are cooking for many hundreds of people for three meals a day. The bars were great and bartenders added to the entertainment. Some premium liquor is available but you may have to travel to another bar to get it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The pools are great. One is deemed the quiet pool while the other is the "lively" one. Both are beautiful and even though storms blew through, there was always staff on hand cleaning. Entertainment at the noisy pool was loud but never started until the afternoon and always fun to watch. This pool houses the swim up bar as well as water sports. You are asked to return your beach towels by 6pm and they are laundered and then available for pick up at 8 am. This often doesn't work for those people who do not return their towels as can be seen by the number hanging off the balconies. We were always at the towel hut when it opened so ensure that we would have clean ones for that day. The beach is absolutely incredible. The weather was not great (rain and strong winds for 5 of 7 days)but anytime the sun would break through the clouds we would race to the beach. We managed to get some time in the ocean every day. There is a strong undertow but it is well monitored and you will be called back if you head out too far. I must say that the beach alone is worth the trip. The grounds around the resort were all extremely well maintained and truly tropical.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Venders are allowed onto the resort every other day and they are aggressive in their sales pitches but if you enjoy the art of bartering then this is for you. And if you didn't get enough of it you can walk to the plaza market for more. There are plenty of excursions to partake and we went through Transat to book. The seas were too rough for any water trips but you can always find plenty to do.

Other Comments:
This was our first all inclusive and we really did enjoy ourselves. Remember to bring a good supply of American one dollar bills for tipping and you will always be rewarded. The staff were terrific in ensuring that our special day was acknowledged with an announcement on the daily flyer and champagne in our room. Preset reservations are not written in stone and if you are patient you can go to the concierge to see if it can be changed. We did bring some insulated mugs which were great while on the beach. Staff were always ready to help when they could and the beach is incredible.

flash8@telusplanet.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff are energetic and love to dance and have fun."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Orleans  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
373 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 09 to 16
Arrived around 2100 through the terminal in 10 or 15 min quick drive to the resort 15 to 20 min. Check in went well stayed in room 6414.
Rained heavy and very windy all night.

Rooms
Small rooms out dated and in bad need of bug spray the room was sprayed numerous times but I think the ants like it because they kept coming back every day, I know others with the same issue some changed their rooms without any luck. The bathroom was dingy, lots of towels all week I even heard of one guest having towel art in their room one day. Showers hot and cold during peek times.
Everything worked in the room, I have stayed in a lot worse but hay you get what you pay for and you are not in Kansas anymore.

Restaurants and Bars
Bars were all good be nice to the bar staff and they return the favor twice fold. Buffet Ronald makes great fried eggs, lots of selection at the buffet tables, GREAT BREAD SELECTION MMMMM. Lots of fruit as well.
Al la cart Went to three Paris great and ask for more if you like, Marlin grate stake, Japan Great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
This area of beach is beautiful but the most windy and the waves can slap down the biggest guy if not looking. Ladies watch your tops and bottoms because it makes for great guy entertainment.
If you walk east thats the direction the sun comes up from that you will not see from the resort (or sunset) about five minutes the waves and wind calm down so you can have a piecefull swim.
Not a pool person but they are nice and large and noise, great kids area almost wanted to go in myself.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Staff are energetic and love to dance and have fun great job except for the nightly shows not so good but they try, the ad hoc shows before the nightly entertainment can be quite funny with guests on the stage being the entertainment. They also have a rock wall and traipse. Did not go off the resort seen it all before.

Other Comments
Had fun maybe upgrading to the prestige class would be a good choice newer rooms and more amenities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube