Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Punta Cana. reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.7 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2017

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana.  

Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Do Not Go There"
Posted by: vic on Nov 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews
Barcelo Punta Cana. Pictures and Information
Barcelo Punta Cana. Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#4
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 51 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Information


Barceló Punta Cana is a Barceló All-Inclusive for adults, singles and families, where all meals, wines, local and international beverages, land sports and non-motorized watersports with equipment and some instructions, entertainment, and other activities are included in one single price.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Punta Cana. Reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 3.9 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  35
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (23)
Party (2)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
51 - 52 of 51

"Great place for kids and teenagers."

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Joann from Prescott, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
459 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 10-17, 2009
We travelled with Transat Holiday, our arrival was on time, check in was quick, but we did have to wait a couple of hours for our room. Which was expected, so we just went a had a couple of drinks at the bar.

Rooms:
I emailed the resort about a week or so before we left explaining that our 25th anniversary was in Sept but we could'nt get away then so this was hour holiday to each other. I requested a room in building 3 because it is newly renovated. And I also prebooked our ala cartes. The room was just that, right in the centre of the resort with a perfect view of the ocean and pools. We felt like we could touch the water. The room was lovely, marble shower, kingsize bed, plasma t.v. and a fully stocked mini bar everyday. It was great...

Restaurants and Bars:
As far as the ala cartes we tried the Japanese, the Paris, the Seafood grill and the tex mex. They were all very good. You don't have to have seafood at the grill if you don't care for it, we had pork tenderloin and beef filet, both were very good. The tex mex is an ala carte during the day for lunch which is a nice option, beautiful view. As for the buffet, I guess this is where we were disappointed. Don't get me wrong there was always something to eat, just not very hot and not the variety we are used to at other resorts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and ground, well what is there to say. The grounds are well looking after, and as for the beach, it is Punta Cana and absolutely gorgeous....Lots of waves and plenty of room to find a chair..The pools are lovely as well. The is one with activities and a swim up bar, there is a childrens and there is a adults that is a quieter one. The were all great..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The were activies at the pool during the late afternoon, there was always something going on at the beach in the morning, and there are night shows, casino and disco, none of which we went. They also had a beach party one night. Look like alot of fun. The only thing I was hoping for was entertainment in the lobby at night, just to sit and listen to while have a drink after dinner. The was a piano but know one playing it. This is an area I think they could work on, it would do wonders for the atomesphere in the lobbys.....

Other Comments:
All in all we had a wonderful week with great weather and I would recommend this resort to anyone. Great place for kids and teenagers....just watch out for the big waves they can sneek up on you. Enjoy your holiday and remember when you go the Dominican that not everything is the same as home, after all isn't that why we went to get away from it all. Relax and go with the flow and you'll have a great vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is absolutely perfect, don't think you could get much better!"

Barcelo Punta Cana.
User Rating:  Barcelo Punta Cana. Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy from MB  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
436 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan.7 - 14
We arrived at the hotel about 6pm. Check-in was quick and easy. The bell-boy was taking our luggage to our rooms along with other guests luggage so we set off to find our room. It turned out we should have stayed with our bellboy as it took us a bit of time to find our room. (Found the hotel layout somewhat confusing).

Rooms:
We were in section 4 in rm 4215, these rm's had not been renovated yet but were still decent. Our beach towels were already in our room. We were a little disappointed with the maid service, one day we were given no towels, another no toilet paper. And although it is not necessary, they never made a towel arrangement (swan, ect.), like I said not necessary but always a nice little touch that puts a smile on my face. A couple things they didn't have but would have been nice were a screen on the balcony door and a towel rack on the balcony for drying bathing suits,ect., and a bottle cap opener for the pop.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were alright. Always managed to find something to eat. Buffet we found to be pretty much the same everyday. Breakfast was always my favourite, has everything you could possibly desire. A-la-cartes: Tokio-friendly and entertaining, I didn't much care for my meal as I found it all tasted like soy sauce (even my salad had soy sauce on it), but my husband and friend enjoyed it. Italian- we all enjoyed it. Surf N'Turf- I thought it was okay, my husband didn't much care for it. He ordered a seafood salad, lobster soup, and seafood maindish. We went to the Tex-Mex for lunch a couple times and we thought it was great. You don't need reservations there during the day. I would suggest going there we enjoyed it the most. Plenty of bars around to keep your thirst quenched. Note-if you are sitting down by the lobby bars it takes some time for the waitress to return with the drink you have ordered, so if you are impatient it is quicker to just go to the bar yourself.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is absolutely perfect, don't think you could get much better! Waves were pretty high someday's but its fun and great for boogeyboarding. Ladies hold on to your swimsuits. Pools were great aswell! Not once during our week did we find there would be any problem finding a beach/pool chair, at anytime of the day. They seemed to be plenty to go around, even with the towel savers! Gardens and ground were always clean. Must say we really found the layout of the hotel to be confusing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Didn't participate in any activities at the resort, but they looked fun. My husband went on the deep sea fishing excursion, they didn't catch any fish but he still enjoyed it. He did not get sea sick but a few others did. Also went on the full day catarmaran excursion. It took us by an old sunken ship, snorkeling, to big blow up slide and for lunch off shore. The snorkeling was a little disappointing as the coral was all dead, but still saw plenty of fish, also the current was so strong you would find yourself being pushed into other snorkelers (there was about 60 people on the catarmaran)!

Other Comments:
This was my 4th trip and my husband's 5th trip to D.R. We usually find the staff to be very friendly, playful, smiling and happy as they work. It did not seem the usual here for some reason, the friendly Ola's as you walk by staff, singing as they make a drink, helping us out with our correct spanish pronunciation or the eagerness to make sure we were enjoying our holiday just didn't seem the same as prior years. All in all, a great holiday! We probably wouldn't plan to go back but if a great deal popped up we wouldn't not go back. There are plenty of other resorts to see still! Enjoy your holidays everyone!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube