Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Melia Caribe Tropical reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Melia Caribe Tropical  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"good vibe"
Posted by: danette on Oct 12, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews
Melia Caribe Tropical Pictures and Information
Melia Caribe Tropical Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#3
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.7

Based on 52 reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Information


This hotel consists of 1,000 double rooms spread over 2 floors featuring a beauty salon, an air-conditioned restaurant and a public Internet terminal. There is a garage and a hotel car park for those arriving by car and room and laundry services.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.7 of 5 52 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (33)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 52

"good vibe"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  danette  on Oct 12, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
2 people found this review helpful

Immediately I got into the hotel reception and interacted with the staff present there, I just got a good vibe about the place ad knew that I was going to enjoy my stay and I was correct. Check in was pleasant and smooth thanks to the staff who explained and did everything careful while they served me a nice chilled cocktail to cool myself down and wait for things to be sorted out. I was told by someone who had used here before to ask for an upgrade that I would get if there was any available so I did and got a nice smooth room that had better view and a Jacuzzi. I loved the Italian restaurant, everything about them was great, the food tasted nice and the chef was lovely, I also went to the steak and lobster spot, it was well cooked and tasted delicious. The chefs at the few a la carte restaurants that I visited were so cheerful, they are always happy to see customers especially the Mexican restaurant and the waiters are nice people. The beach was beautiful; you would see them cleaning it up every day because of the seaweed that was there. It was a bit frustrating at the beach because of all those people who try to sell you one thing or offer or the other, I ignored them and it worked. You will always find space at the beach and also the towel service was quite efficient.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not your best bet"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  jacob  on Jan 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
124 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Melia Caribe 1st week of January 2014, first time at the Melia Caribe and second in the Dominican Republic. It is an all-inclusive resort, generally rated at 4 Stars, but that should be reevaluated. Overall our experience was fair to poor, for the following reasons:

1. The food was disappointing. Clearly a decision was made to improve profits by reducing food quality. Low cost ingredients, not many choices.
2. Service is just OK. Generally pleasant staff, though not highly motivated. Most don't speak much English, but if you speak Spanish you might be OK. We encountered one extremely rude employee, as have other reviewers. When we tried to report the incident to the Hotel Management, we were very surprised to learn that if there is actually on-site managers, they have no interest whatsoever in dealing with guests.
3. The guys in White Shirts (masquerading as Hotel Staff) are in fact selling TimeShares, and can be quite aggressive.
4. The "all-inclusive" alcohol is the same as the food - cheap. The wine in particular seems to attract the most complaints. It's a shame to have to buy a bottle of Beringer Cabernet for $34.00 because the included red wine in not drinkable.
5. Dinner reservations at their "specialty restaurants" are frequently screwed up. I don't know if "greasing the palm" of the host would have helped ensure that you could keep your confirmed reservation, but clearly something is going on here.
6. The resort is large, and you have to walk a lot. It feels like 10-15 min every time you go to eat, to the beach, etc.
7. Several reviewers have expressed serious concerns about the Hotel furnishing alcohol to minors, particularly at the bars in the evening. Apparently the color-coded bracelets must be too hard to see at night. Parents of teenage girls should be particularly concerned!
8. The reviews that they receive seem to come in 2 flavors - 1. Amazing/Incredible/Best Week of My Life etc. or, 2. OK place but I wasn't thrilled... Generally too many over-the-top reviews is usually an indicator that the business has hired a service to ghost-write unfailingly positive reviews, to pump up their ratings, and minimize the effects of the negative reviews. "If it looks like a Duck, and it walks like a Duck, and it quacks like a Duck..."

On the plus side, the buildings, grounds, and beach are very nice. If the food, and service, and alcohol were as nice, and if they retasked some of the Time Share salesmen and fixed their dinner reservation problem, and had some evidence of on-site Management that cared about their guests, this could be a very nice litte resort

Room Number:
4405

Arrival:
Arrival OK. Departure not so good. Definitely get to the airport 3 hours ahead. Pay exit tax when you get in, so your long wait in line to get to the ticket counter in not wasted.

Rooms:
Generally nice. The drain on our sink would not open. The phone did not work well, no instructions. The cabinet door in front of our refrigerator was falling off.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Get out early to stake out a claim to beach chairs, otherwise bring a blanket

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"New Melia?"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on Jan 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
116 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at this hotel 6 times in the last 10 years. We have not been there recently because our last visit was not a good one. The building was old, parts of the property needed a complete update, and the food was boring. Has anyone been here in the past 5 years? Has this place been renovated and updated? We want to go back-it was our favorite yearly getaway and we always loved everything about the Melia. We are really looking for a comment from someone who has been here recently.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be careful, not a secure place to stay"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Floriana  on Oct 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Dominican Republic
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Business | With Group
318 people found this review helpful

Be VERY careful with the All Inclusive Melia Caribe Tropical Beach Resort at Punta Cana. I was there last weekend with a group of friends. On Saturday night while my roommate and I were having dinner, someone got into our room and vandalized it, leaving a huge mess and all of our things on the floor. They stole money and my IPhone. The worst thing was that when we went to the authorities and management of the hotel, they told us, and I quote: “We are not cops; we can’t do anything about it”. They didn’t even offer an apology. So apparently, if you go to this hotel, there is no protection, no guaranties whatsoever. Thank God we were not there while that happened. It terrifies me to think about what could have happened to us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Vacation! Amazing Resort!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  D  on Sep 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
388 people found this review helpful

My wife and I are returning to Melia Caribe Tropical this fall (this will be our 5th visit) and can't wait to get there. The Melia is a first class resort on the beaches of Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic. The "Royal Service" is an upgraded service provided by the resort that is well worth the additional cost. Everyday they would draw a bubble bath for my wife complete with rose peddles sprinkled in the bubbles and around the tub - she LOVED IT. It also included a golf cart ride to and from the beach, dining in an exclusive restaurant, and more.

Melia Caribe is beautiful. Gorgeous beaches, immaculate beautiful grounds, delicious food. But the thing that separates the Melia from all the other beach type resorts is the incredible service from people who work there. A special thanks to Edquardo, the resort manager, for being so accommodating and training an excellent staff, and to Eduardo (who saw to our daily needs like we were his family), and to Jose (our beach bartender who makes an amazing pina colada). Everyone at the resort is amazingly friendly, helpful and accommodating. We love this place so much it is our 5th visit and we are planning our daughter’s wedding there. We promise you will love this place!

Room Block:
34

Rooms:
The rooms were clean and welcoming.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great! We especially liked the Japanese, Seafood and Mexican themed restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent most of our time at the beach. It was gorgeous

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They have a lot of activities at the resort, but we did not participate in too many.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Royal service not so royal!!!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica  on Jul 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
496 people found this review helpful

Upon arrival we upgraded to Royal Service, which cost each couple an add'l $500! What a waste of our hard earned money! Nothing very Royal about this service except you are getting better booze only at the Royal Service bars & it doesn't include a better wine, because the wine was the lowest grade available! The first night I wanted some wine delived via room service so all of us could have a drink before we left for dinner - well minimum wait for room service is 45 min. needless to say we never had a drink before dinner! Getting someone to transport us was almost impossible - you wait at least 1/2 hour before someone picks you up & on one occasion our friends were never picked up and one driver literally asked us to get out of the cart & take the train because he wasn't going in that direction! I asked one of the driver on Sat. night how many Royal Service drivers were there - he said "three" No wonder we had to wait so long! Food was not impressive & all restaurants were not all inclusive! To eat at the Hibatchi or the Steak & Lobster Restaurants were an add'l $40 PP. One night we decided to eat at the Steak & Lobster place - most of us asked for Medium Rare Steaks when they came out they were so well done you could hardly cut them, they were so bad we couldn't eat them & when we complained they didn't take them off the bill until over an hour later after seeing three different supervisors for approval! If you are a wine drinker - the wine is the lowest grade available & to purchase a better wine it's gonna cost a minimum of $30 for a wine that is like $8 in the US. I would never go again & would love to speak with a corporate manager as I am so disappointed!

Room Number:
3500's

Room Block:
Royal Service

Arrival:
First mistake - upgraded to Royal Service!

Rooms:
Large, but one of our shower heads were broken upon arrival and shower door was about to come away from hinge - men had to come to repair, they were prompt! Alot of bugs towards the end of our stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
No impressed at all. Food in buffets same every day & I think I got sick from some mussels I ate! Be careful! Each Ala-cart restaurant has similar food like buffets, but they make it fancier on your plate & they all have same desserts even the french restaurant. Not sure if they recycle the food, but sure seemed like it! As far as the bar well if you are Royal Service you have to go to designated Bars to have premium alcolhol, but not the wine - wine is bottom line all the time unless you are willing to spend an extra $30 for a bottle of wine that would cost us $8 in the US. Only one nightclub too :(

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I do have to say the grounds were kept very tropical and clean & so were the pools, but the beach had a ton of this seaweed stuff all over it & I thought it was normal, but when we went to visit the Hard Rock that beach was all white sand.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Was not aware of any activities, we were never informed of what was available.

Other Comments:
I would not visit this resort again - when you work so hard all year & then spend an extra $500 to get Royal service, was so very disappointing! Just about everything indicated on the Royal Service pamphlet was false & that is what I am the most upset about. Each and every person visiting an all inclusive resort should be entitled to exceptional service no matter what - we shouldn't have to wait 1/2 hour or more for a ride, room service should not take 45 minutes for a bottle of wine especially when the restaurant providing the wine is 2 minutes away, the French Restaurant should be French & if you have to pay $40 per person for better quality food, it should be prepared to your liking & it shouldn't take 3 supervisors to approve a credit to your bill if it isn't they way you asked for it! I am so happy to be home!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Top Notch"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darren  on May 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
576 people found this review helpful

First off would like to say i dont know how anyone could say anything bad about this resort. Check in was a breeze. They even served drinks to us in the lobby. Travelled with my 2 teenage kids and therefore had 2 rooms. Only took about 10 minutes to check in and maybe another 30 for our luggage to be delivered to our rooms. There are people just off the lobby who will try to talk you into having a breakfast with them for a talk about timeshare properties, but if you let them know your not interested they will leave you alone for the rest of your stay. Rooms were absolutely gorgeous. Huge bed, and bathroom. Air conditioned and ceiling fan with fridge and coffee pot. Maid was exceptional leaving nice towel sculptures in our room daily. Leaving a tip will get you special service. Wife left coloring books and crayons for her along with $2 each day and fridge was filled with cold beer and champagne upon our return. Stayed in villa 39 which is close to the restaurants. Some people complain about the long way to the beach but the walk is not too long and nice to get a bit of excercise in the morning. There are trams running continuously but we didnt use them. The beach was perfect with plenty of chairs for everyone and no one pestering you to buy excursions too much. The grounds are what makes this resort. It is kept absolutely perfect. Looks like your in a tropical jungle. The buffets have a great selection of food for all tastes. Didnt matter if it was the one at the beach or the lobby they were both quite nice. The ala carte restaurants were very good and we had no problems making reservations. There are little computer kiosks around the resort that you can use to book your reservation and we never had any trouble getting in to any restaurant. Ive heard complaints about the service and the staff being rude. This could not be further from the truth. These people go out of their way to make you feel welcome. You need to remember you are in their country and if you try to speak their language it brings a smile and they will talk to you in your native tongue. Service here is TOP NOTCH. The many bars and casino with a disco makes this a resort that anyone would find exceptional. I would definately recommend this resort to anyone and am looking forward to returning. PS. Dont bother with requesting rooms near the beach or pool. They are noisy and it is a nice 5 minute walk from the lobby villas. You can get wireless internet service if your in the ones close to the lobby. Excellent resort*****

Room Number:
3909,3908

Room Block:
39

Arrival:
Check in was fast and friendly. Refreshments were served upon our arrival.

Rooms:
King bed in one and two queens in other. Excellent quality and craftmanship

Restaurants and Bars:
All buffets and restaurants were beyond our expectations

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beutiful white sand beach that is cleaned daily. Plenty of room for everyone

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Try the snuba diving its a blast

Other Comments:
Definitely would recommend this resort. Cant wait to go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RUDE!!!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Magdalena  on Apr 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
589 people found this review helpful

The resort was okay however the staff was horrible. The momey that was spent here is not worth the aggrevation and disappointments!!! The rooms were good and spacious. If you do not speak Spanish forget about the service, you are treated as a second class citizen. Very unfortunate as this was our first time in the DR.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big disappointment"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karina  on Apr 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
544 people found this review helpful

Stayed in Melia Caribe, Puntacana Mar 24 to Mar 31,2012
very disappointed:
-I am not picky but food was really bad and very little selection, most of the La Carte restaurants were bad as well, all drinks were diluted with water and contained mostly some disgustingly sweet liquid that made you sick, so after the second day we stopped drinking them
the beach was really dirty, the service was practically non-existent,
we usually tip the waiters, but here they were coming and going and you don't even know who was looking after your table, if you ask for tea or coffee you have to be prepared to wait for at least 15 minutes.
If you ask hosts at the entrance to the buffet a question, be prepared to be attacked with all kind of sales pitch and they will not leave you alone until you tell them off,
on the day of departure we had to stay past 12:00p.m. (check out time) and offered the manager to pay extra $60, but he flatly refused and said that they charge $15 per hour per person and if we don't want to pay than we can't keep the room, on the top of everything he was extremely rude
that was our forth time in Dominican and I think that was the worst so far,
will never go back to Melia Caribe!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice hotel with some disappointments"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
622 people found this review helpful

General Thoughts - this place is a small city. It's actually two resorts side by side, Caribe and Tropical. We stayed on the Caribe side. Get ready to walk or wait for the small train that takes you around the resort. We got lost at one point. Way too big for my liking. Spent a lot of time traveling to and from the beach, or to and from the main buffet restaurant. Not enough info given upon check in, lobby staff's English not so good.

Transportation - There are cute trains to take you around. Also staff in golf carts that you could flag down if exhausted from walking or you looked lost. Which happened a lot.

Towels (previous reviews didn't mention this, so thought I would, for newbies) - You're given a card upon check in (they didn't tell us what the cards were for, we had to figure this out on our own). There's an area near the main pool bar(we were on the Caribe side) that will give you a towel in exchange for this card. When you leave you return the card to the main desk.

Rooms - very nice. We faced the disco, which could be loud at night. Occasionally a geiko or salamander wandered in. But they were very clean. Beds and pillows were comfortable.

Grounds - gorgeous. There are peacocks and pink flamingos that are quite tame. Also a white crane and several ducks.

Food - We ate mostly at the Marketplace buffet since we were with my 2-year old grandson. Meals were good, but not fabulous, like I expected. Not a lot of variety of vegetables or salad bar fixings. What they called salmon didn't look like salmon to me. Great rolls and desserts. Good pasta.

Wine/Drinks - Wine wasn't the best. Beer was better. My daughter loved the 'Coco Locos'.

Restaurant Staff - very friendly. Tipping made a difference in service.

Activities - Very good. We went zip-lining right on the resort and para-sailing. Lots of boating and excursions available. A casino and golf course very close. The animation staff were good.

Shopping - there's a high end mall just 2 minute walk from front lobby with some designer stores. It was fun, they had some neat stuff. Also on the Tropical side of the beach, you could visit the locals at a flea market. If you don't mind being pressured and hassled, you could get bargains on things like souvenirs and coffee.

Beach - Beautiful. There was seaweed, but that didn't bother me. Water was warm. You had to come early to get a spot under an umbrella, but there were always chairs by the pool.

Unexpected Events - My small grandson came down with a bad ear infection and my daughter and her husband had to stay several days longer. If it weren't for our tour operator rep (Air Transat) the logistics of staying longer and getting hold of the insurance company could have been a nightmare. The lobby and business center staff didn't seem to have a c

Room Number:
4112

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube