Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Melia Caribe Tropical reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Melia Caribe Tropical  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"Not your best bet"
Posted by: jacob on Jan 15, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews
Melia Caribe Tropical Pictures and Information
Melia Caribe Tropical Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#3
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.7

Based on 51 reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Information


This hotel consists of 1,000 double rooms spread over 2 floors featuring a beauty salon, an air-conditioned restaurant and a public Internet terminal. There is a garage and a hotel car park for those arriving by car and room and laundry services.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.7 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  16
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (32)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 51

"Food Poisoning-Spent Night in Punta Cana Hospital - Hotel Treated Us Awfully"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Arthur  on Jan 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
352 people found this review helpful

I wish this could be a better review. This was my second visit to this resort and was looking for a place for my fiance and i to get married and honeymoon. We BOTH developed fever, nausea, diarrhea, and sweats on our fifth day there. The hotel refused to compensate us, refused to return our calls, made us go after hospital records that were unnecessary, and refused to even acknowledge that someone who stayed at their hotel had suffered.

Your Arrival:
The arrival is always an adventure trying to find the right line and paying the entrance fee.

Rooms:
The rooms are spacious enough but are in need of refurbishing.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are some nice restaurants there. My issue is with the open air buffets near the beach. Lots of flies and an atmosphere of rampant germs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I was there in July and the place was overrun with kids. There are two major pools, one for kids and one for adults. Both were overrun with kids. The beach is quite nice. The vendors on the beach are very aggressive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This resort has a good golf package. Other than that, you really don't want to venture off the resort except to go to the shopping mall near the resort.

Other Comments:
My fiance and I BOTH got VERY ill after we had been there for five days. In my mind the illness came from the resort. We went to the hotel medic who said it was likely food poisoning and referred us to the hospital. The doctor on duty told us we had symptoms similar to salmonella poisoning (nausea, fever, diarhhea, lethargy, and weak). We had to stay overnight; but before we could leave, we had to pay our $3,000.00 hospital bill. It would be one thing if one of us took ill, but it was BOTH of us! We have spent the last six months obtaining hospital tests, hospital readings, trying to get the hotel to even recognize that we were harmed by our stay. Heck, we paid for six but could only enjoy four. In the end, they "offered" us a 20% upgrade on our next visit! An insult. Based on the fact that the restaurants are a health department nightmare, that we have now received emails about other occurrences of similar illness caused by food, as well as the fact that they treated us like second class citizens, I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RUN, RUN GET YOUR MONEY BACK.. .DON'T GO..."

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on Jul 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
367 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Check in was a joke... took forever - there were 11 of us... we had 4 rooms.. wanted to bump us up to a better room but the catch was 2 of us would have to share a room...
2 out of the 4 rooms were ready at 4:00 pm.. (arrived at 1:00pm) the other two were not ready until after 6:00! And, when they were ready NO TOWELS.

Rooms:
... We were located in building 28 - a very nice location close to the beach and the pool - we got this because my dad slipped the guy $20.00 bucks at check in... If you happen to get buildings closer to the Market place.. good luck getting to the beach or pool. They have a "train/tram" come around and pick up people at certain spots. Would not want to wait for the tram every time I wanted to go to and from the beach! But the grounds are so big - you have to wait... the wait is 10/15 minutes for each tram!Beds in the room were terrible to sleep on! Pillows were just as bad. We had no Wi-Fi because the "tower" was down in our area.

Restaurants and Bars:
Advertised 10 great restaurants! But what they don't tell you is you have to call and make dinner reservations for each night called 6313 - for 2 hours! Told us NOTHING IS AVALIABLE FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK FOR DINNER RESERVATIONS unless you like to eat at 9:40! We only saw the inside of ONE of those 10 great restaurants (American Grill) not that great but MUCH BETTER than the buffet! Oh, you can get into the restaurants if you want to sit through their "time share" speech every morning at 9:00 -
So my family ate 4 days - 3 times a day at the buffet! Now, you get your own food - and you start to eat... suggestion: when a waiter finally gets to asking you what you want to DRINK order 3! 3 Cokes, 3 beers, 3 of whatever because it takes FOREVER for them to serve you with drinks. The Food is very different - taste and texture! If you like good food. this isn't the place for you.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Once you get to the pool or beach you are going to need a beach towel. WHAT A JOKE THIS IS... YOU WOULD THINK THEY WOULD HAVE ENOUGHT TOWELS FOR ALL GUESTS RIGHT.. WELL, THINK AGAIN. At check in you get "towel" card. When you go to the pool - you find the Towel hut ( good luck with that too.. not very convenient to find) If you have 4 people in your family - you get 4 cards. You go to the hut and see if there is towels... out of the 5 days we were told no towels 3 times. After 2:00 you can't get any towels! We talked with people who were using the same beach towel for 2/3 days! If you don't turn in your "towel" card when you check out... you are charged $25.00 each.
They advertise an arcade for kids! What a joke.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The arcade consisted of ONE POOL TABLE, ONE PING PONG TABLE, ONE AIR HOCKEY TABLE AND ONE FOOSBALL TABLE. - THATS IT. My living room was bigger than the ARCADE.

Other Comments:
This was the worst place to be on vacation! I think it is illegal what they are doing to guests. It is a huge bait and switch!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dont let the pictures fool you"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eladia  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
348 people found this review helpful

This hotel was so awful. I will never return to the Melia. The service was terrible. The room was terrible, our first day and we had to deal with broken A.C. and fridge. Not to mention the hotel comes with a complimentary bugs and lizards in your room. I highly suggest you take your money somewhere else because this resort is not worth your stay. Unless you enjoy fustration I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be careful, not a secure place to stay"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Floriana  on Oct 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Dominican Republic
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Business | With Group
309 people found this review helpful

Be VERY careful with the All Inclusive Melia Caribe Tropical Beach Resort at Punta Cana. I was there last weekend with a group of friends. On Saturday night while my roommate and I were having dinner, someone got into our room and vandalized it, leaving a huge mess and all of our things on the floor. They stole money and my IPhone. The worst thing was that when we went to the authorities and management of the hotel, they told us, and I quote: “We are not cops; we can’t do anything about it”. They didn’t even offer an apology. So apparently, if you go to this hotel, there is no protection, no guaranties whatsoever. Thank God we were not there while that happened. It terrifies me to think about what could have happened to us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joyce  on Feb 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
395 people found this review helpful

The weather was nice and the grounds at Melia were well manicured. That said, we were VERY disappointed in our experience given that this is an Apple rating of 5...felt like it should have been a 1 or 2.

Check in started off okay, someone was there with a welcome cocktail. Then we were escorted to the "VIP guy" who ended up hounding us for days about a time share (called our room repeatedly, approached us on the beach).

The room sucked. We were in a Jr Suite. The AC blew out luke warm, musty air and would stop unexpectedly. Our mini fridge never got anything cool enough to enjoy and was hot to touch when opening door. The mattress smelled of urine and when the sheets were removed, revealed a large stain and crusty debris on the mattress. We killed mosquitos on a daily basis and bitten nightly while we slept. Also had ants, moths, spiders and even a frog in our bathroom. Mildew/moldy tub and bathroom fixtures. Finger prints and smudges on all fabric and hard surfaces. The ceiling was warped and saggy, rodent droppings fell from the corner and landed on our bathroom counter.

They boast having several restaurants but the food is basically the same whether you are eating off the buffet or have reservations. We got sick and spent one whole day confined to the room with stomach cramps, vomiting and diarrhea. For the remainder of the trip the only food we felt safe eating came from pre-packaged snacks we purchased in the gift shop.

The service wasn't the greatest unless you tipped up front.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big disappointment"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karina  on Apr 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
533 people found this review helpful

Stayed in Melia Caribe, Puntacana Mar 24 to Mar 31,2012
very disappointed:
-I am not picky but food was really bad and very little selection, most of the La Carte restaurants were bad as well, all drinks were diluted with water and contained mostly some disgustingly sweet liquid that made you sick, so after the second day we stopped drinking them
the beach was really dirty, the service was practically non-existent,
we usually tip the waiters, but here they were coming and going and you don't even know who was looking after your table, if you ask for tea or coffee you have to be prepared to wait for at least 15 minutes.
If you ask hosts at the entrance to the buffet a question, be prepared to be attacked with all kind of sales pitch and they will not leave you alone until you tell them off,
on the day of departure we had to stay past 12:00p.m. (check out time) and offered the manager to pay extra $60, but he flatly refused and said that they charge $15 per hour per person and if we don't want to pay than we can't keep the room, on the top of everything he was extremely rude
that was our forth time in Dominican and I think that was the worst so far,
will never go back to Melia Caribe!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible!!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Jul 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
544 people found this review helpful

We arrived at the airport...our ride to the resort was a broken down taxi that drove full throttle all the way making unsafe passings..we were seriously thinking this man had a death wish!!Seat belts?? Ofcourse there were none!! Arrived at the beautiful resort...welcomed by friendly people.The grounds were magnificent.The room was horrible. Hair on the bed,bathtub,toilet and sink. There were bugs on the floor...counters dirty,mirrors,glass table had left over food on it.The bathroom sink didn't drain...nor did the bathtub.This was the real trigger...we picked up a pillow and there was a cigarette under it. Sliding glass doors wouldn't lock...this place was a total nightmare.We called to get our room changed..wouldn't hear of it.We demanded to see a cleaning supervisor, they never showed up, we waited an hour.Finally our maid came and we asked her to come in and showed her what needed to be done,she didn't speak English and we didn't speak Spanish.We complained to 5 or 6 management people...after the second day they finally sent someone to clean our room...and it was beautiful...I could finally take my shoes off in the room...The food was fair..buffet morning and at lunch...same food everyday which got old.Lobster is not included in the all inclusive price...which they don't tell you.The beach was beautiful and very clean.Pools looked nice although we didn't use them.The staff was friendly and a happy bunch of hard working people.This resort needs some major help.Will never return!This was advertised a 5 star by vacations to go...I would give it a 1.We did some kayaking,sailing,really enjoyed the beach.Signed up for a free diving lesson at the pool...the guys never showed up.Hope this helps wouldn't want anyone to have been in our shoes.

Room Number:
1024

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"would not come back"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Aug 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
386 people found this review helpful

The grounds are beautiful, the service is not! Big language barrier if you
don't speak Spanish. (don't expect to get anything you ask for) My family and
myself all came home sick with stomach ailments after staying 6 days.
Pool is not clean, lots of seaweed in ocean. Good Luck getting reservations
for dinner after spending hours on phone for them. (you then get told that
restaurant is closed or full) Not alot to do on premises. They push the day
trips which cost extra. We took the quad trip (adventure boogie tour) and felt
unsafe and were bombarded by locals trying to sell their merchandise, when you
say your not interested they are very nasty to you. None of the lobbies are
air conditioned and neither are the lounges, extremely hot and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not your best bet"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  jacob  on Jan 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
112 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Melia Caribe 1st week of January 2014, first time at the Melia Caribe and second in the Dominican Republic. It is an all-inclusive resort, generally rated at 4 Stars, but that should be reevaluated. Overall our experience was fair to poor, for the following reasons:

1. The food was disappointing. Clearly a decision was made to improve profits by reducing food quality. Low cost ingredients, not many choices.
2. Service is just OK. Generally pleasant staff, though not highly motivated. Most don't speak much English, but if you speak Spanish you might be OK. We encountered one extremely rude employee, as have other reviewers. When we tried to report the incident to the Hotel Management, we were very surprised to learn that if there is actually on-site managers, they have no interest whatsoever in dealing with guests.
3. The guys in White Shirts (masquerading as Hotel Staff) are in fact selling TimeShares, and can be quite aggressive.
4. The "all-inclusive" alcohol is the same as the food - cheap. The wine in particular seems to attract the most complaints. It's a shame to have to buy a bottle of Beringer Cabernet for $34.00 because the included red wine in not drinkable.
5. Dinner reservations at their "specialty restaurants" are frequently screwed up. I don't know if "greasing the palm" of the host would have helped ensure that you could keep your confirmed reservation, but clearly something is going on here.
6. The resort is large, and you have to walk a lot. It feels like 10-15 min every time you go to eat, to the beach, etc.
7. Several reviewers have expressed serious concerns about the Hotel furnishing alcohol to minors, particularly at the bars in the evening. Apparently the color-coded bracelets must be too hard to see at night. Parents of teenage girls should be particularly concerned!
8. The reviews that they receive seem to come in 2 flavors - 1. Amazing/Incredible/Best Week of My Life etc. or, 2. OK place but I wasn't thrilled... Generally too many over-the-top reviews is usually an indicator that the business has hired a service to ghost-write unfailingly positive reviews, to pump up their ratings, and minimize the effects of the negative reviews. "If it looks like a Duck, and it walks like a Duck, and it quacks like a Duck..."

On the plus side, the buildings, grounds, and beach are very nice. If the food, and service, and alcohol were as nice, and if they retasked some of the Time Share salesmen and fixed their dinner reservation problem, and had some evidence of on-site Management that cared about their guests, this could be a very nice litte resort

Room Number:
4405

Arrival:
Arrival OK. Departure not so good. Definitely get to the airport 3 hours ahead. Pay exit tax when you get in, so your long wait in line to get to the ticket counter in not wasted.

Rooms:
Generally nice. The drain on our sink would not open. The phone did not work well, no instructions. The cabinet door in front of our refrigerator was falling off.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Get out early to stake out a claim to beach chairs, otherwise bring a blanket

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RUDE!!!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Magdalena  on Apr 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
577 people found this review helpful

The resort was okay however the staff was horrible. The momey that was spent here is not worth the aggrevation and disappointments!!! The rooms were good and spacious. If you do not speak Spanish forget about the service, you are treated as a second class citizen. Very unfortunate as this was our first time in the DR.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube