Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Melia Caribe Tropical reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium BŠvaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 68 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 12, 2013

Melia Caribe Tropical  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Repķblica Dominicana

"Not your best bet"
Posted by: jacob on Jan 15, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews
Melia Caribe Tropical Pictures and Information
Melia Caribe Tropical Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#3
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.7

Based on 51 reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Information


This hotel consists of 1,000 double rooms spread over 2 floors featuring a beauty salon, an air-conditioned restaurant and a public Internet terminal. There is a garage and a hotel car park for those arriving by car and room and laundry services.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.7 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  16
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (32)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
11 - 20 of 51

"Somewhat Disappointed"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jenni  on Nov 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
580 people found this review helpful

It is a beautiful resort and the staff is very nice. However, to say it's all inclusive is not exactly true. The rooms were OK but you could hear through the walls pretty easy which can disturb your sleep. I wouldn't go back to this resort and if I do go to another all inclusive resort I'll make sure to check reviews first.

Room Number:
1417

Arrival:
No problems. They got us checked in well and gave us drinks first.

Rooms:
Nice but thin walls.

Restaurants and Bars:
It is a beautiful resort and the staff is very nice. However, to say it's all inclusive is not exactly true. The two best resaurants are NOT free. You must pay for them. Also, many of the other restaurants were "closed" when we tried to make reservations. We were there four days and every time we tried to reserve the French restaurant it was closed. The Italian was also closed. Making reservastions wasn't exactly easy either. You never got your first choice because it they didn't have your time open or it was closed. We wondered why because every time we did get a reservation there was hardly anyone there, not even half filled. The buffet and bar by our room was only opened until 6:00 p.m. after that we had to take the tram to the side which took about 20 minutes. Hardly worth going for a drink..The rooms were OK but you could hear through the walls pretty easy which can disturb your sleep. I wouldn't go back to this resort and if I do go to another all inclusive resort I'll make sure to check reviews first.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful and clean, well groomed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There's always someone trying to sell you something anytime you go away from the Hotel. Even by the towells and on the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Week at a nice Resort"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ken  on Sep 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
633 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our week at the Melia Tropical. The positive reviews are accurate to what we experienced. Couple negatives: It was impossible to get wash cloths and the timeshare people were annoying. As someone said, they come across as helpful hotel staff then latch onto you. At one point, my wife actually offered one money to let us continue into the beach side buffet. We did have a difficult time finding our way around in the beginning, but we learned our way. The staff was extremely friendly, even without tips for service.

Room Number:
6003

Room Block:
Villa 60

Arrival:
Our trip was through Apple Vacations. Did not experience any problem from airport to resort. Check-in was not as lengthy as some have noted here, but it was slow.

We arrived at about 4 PM and were famished and jet-lagged and a little confused about where to go. All of the restaurants were closed and we were wandering around looking for a place to eat when we encountered a time-share person who was more interested in getting us to come to a presentation than assisting us, although he did show us where we could eat once the Marketplace opened at 6 PM.

Rooms:
The room was nice. We had the honeymoon package so that may have helped. Everything was clean and orderly. A little wear and tear here and there. Shower fixtures were a little funky. No light bulb in the outside patio socket. The light switches were a little crazy and required a effort to get all the lights out unless hitting the main switch by the door. Wash cloths would have been nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent in every way. The food was very good. As one person mentioned, a bit repetitive, but the selection was wide. The buffets beat those found locally in the U.S. (places I've tried once and have no plans to return) - I would pay to eat at the buffets if local. A La Cartes were excellent. We had Thai, American, Mexican, and Dominican. All were excellent with excellent service. Staff did not behave as if they were paying for the drinks and brought them without hesitation. Presidente beer was very good, and the mamajuana was excellent on ice. I appreciated that after checking out while awaiting our ride to the airport, they continued serving drinks. We never had to beg for a drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was all we imagined it to be. Seaweed was a minor difficulty. Plenty of recliners and plenty of space at the pool. There were plenty of kids but the spaciousness of the pool allowed for peaceful lounging. No problem geting towels, as I've read. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. Only negative here was that the pool closed early and the beach was a no-man's land and somewhat ominous after the sun set. We wanted to take an after-dinner stroll along the beach one evening after dark and it was deserted and we didn't stay very long.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were in bed by 9 PM every night... pretty sad and we did not encounter much of the night life/entertainment. We did the Outback Safari trip and would recommend it to anyone interested in venturing off the resort. Angel, our guide was amazing and hilarious and we had a good time with the others on the trip. Rum and beer flowed freely the entire trip. We visited a school, a plantation where we had an excellent lunch, then we saw how coffee, sugar and cocoa beans are prepared, tasted fresh hot cocoa, then went to a beautiful beach to boogie board. Also took the Don Lucas cigar factory trip - excellent gift shop with very reasonable prices and a nice variety of various gifts and a lot of cigars to choose from.

As someone mentioned, the arcade was truly sad. Almost like an afterthought.

Other Comments:
I admit that I was a little apprehensive about my first trip out of the U.S. and wouldn't have gone if my wife hadn't made the arrangements. That said, I definitely want to return to the Dominican Republic. Although I would recommend the Melia, there were other resorts we would like to try. We will probably stay elsewhere next time as Sol Melia did not win us over to the point we would only return to there, but the Dominican is an excellent destination. The people are friendly and industrious, and our visit was excellent. I hope this is helpful to other "first-timers" considering a trip to the Dominican.

Important note: Do not buy the palm leaf woven hats as they are not permitted into the U.S. - and if you really want one, I could have had one for $3 (down from the original price of $30). A man in line behind us at customs was stopped for bringing one of these hats into the US.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Vacation, honest review"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Josephine  on Aug 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
610 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that my husband and I absolutely LOVED the MeliŠ and would go back there for another vacation. However, I do want to give a fair and honest review, as not everything was as hunky-dory as I would have liked. The pros far outweighed the cons, however, so I kept an open mind throughout the vacation and refused to stress out over minor details. The key is to exert a little patience and make your requests/complaints politely.
First of all, we did not go with Royal Service. We were able to upgrade to a nicer room paying a small difference in price. But more about the room later.

Arrival:
Check-in: we arrived early and did not experience the mid-afternoon influx of people, but the process took at least 45 minutes, most of which the rep spent going back and forth between the counter and back office without any reason that I could see, and giving us the expected sales pitch to get us to upgrade. They also provide recommendations for excursions and answer peopleís questions, which add considerably to the wait.
Prior to departure I had requested a room near the lobby, as my husband takes a lot of medication before meals and didnít want to have to walk around with it. This request was ignored, but after explaining the issue they were quite accommodating.

Rooms:
Room: the room (villa 40) was very clean and tastefully decorated, but upon closer inspection we realized that it was old and run down, especially the bathroom. And yes, it did have that musty odor a lot of other reviewers mentioned. The balcony door didnít close properly and my husband ruined a brand new shirt when he accidentally brushed against the door hinge, which was caked in black grease (beware of those hinges!). I have to agree with the reviewer that said that Ďdeluxeí is a joke, as there was nothing deluxe about the room. Eight or ten years ago it would have equaled a 5-star hotel room. We felt cheated and decided to do something about it. We politely explained the issue to the service staff and were offered another room which turned out to be in identical, if not worse, condition to the first. So we complained again and were offered a Romance Suite for an extra $15 a day. Well worth it, IMHO, since this is a much nicer, newer room with a flat screen TV (the other has an ancient tube set), free cable and internet, and a Jacuzzi. And all this for just $60 for the week! The service rep didnít bother to tell us that our villa (n. 30) had free wifi, and I only found out midway through our stay. Good thing Iíd taken my little NookBook with me. It came in quite handy after that . BTW, it seems that the basic Royal Service rooms are just as run down as the first one we were in. They just get more personalized treatment and some perks. We had the better room and found we didnít need the perks. We never had a problem with bugs or mosquitoes in our room. There were some mosquitoes at night in the Caribe theater area, as itís surrounded by ponds.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food: Yes, the buffet food was repetitive but offered a wide assortment and there was always something we liked. I found that the quality was superior to that of other all-inclusives I have been to. Very good pasta and pizza and the fish filet was delicious. I was happy to get the paella every day (yummy!), so I didnít suffer for lack of variety.
We were able to try five of the specialty restaurants. The best ones were the Thai and Le Gourmet (but thatís only my opinion), the worst one the Italian. The food was nowhere close to ďItalianĒ, and being Italian ourselves we would know! But it wasnít horrible either, just passable. Itís a bit of a hassle to make the reservations, especially since youíre told to call after 9 am, at a time when most people are either having breakfast or are at the beach or the pool. After the second failed attempt to book at the restaurant of our choice we decided to try our luck and showed up every night at a different restaurant and asked to be let in. Since it was just the two of us, they always accommodated us. All the restaurant staff is professional and friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds: the grounds are gorgeous and immaculately maintained. The main resort area was always spotless and has many beautiful spots that I couldnít help photographing over and over again. It turned out that we didnít need the room near the lobby after all, as the walk from the pool area is a mere 10 minutes to the Caribe lobby and about 15 to the main buffet. We had no problem walking and hardly ever took the shuttle except at night. Whoever maintained that itís a 25 min. walk is far off the mark!
The beach was by far the best Iíve ever seen. The seaweed can be a little annoying but there are days when thereís not so much of it, and the staff do a good job of raking it up. We did notice an oily film on the water surface and it probably has to do with the many boats that are anchored close to shore. This is something they should not allow. They should perhaps build a marina separate from the swimming area. We never reserved our chairs with a towel for more than a half hour while we had breakfast but noticed that many chairs remained ďreservedĒ for hours on end. This is a minor detail that has nothing to do with the resort management, but unfortunately with peopleís bad behavior. We didnít venture far along the beach on either side but we did go to the shacks on the Tropical side to shop for souvenirs. We had to haggle a bit but we got good bargains in the end.
The pools are beautifully designed and never felt too crowded, except around the swim-up bar. The paint work did have a tired look but it didnít deduct from its appeal.

Other Comments:
Service: the staff was nice and friendly although, as I mentioned earlier, the service was a bit lacking, especially housekeeping. Our maid cleaned our room perhaps twice in the seven days we were there. We missed towels, shampoo and other supplies and we always had to call to have those things. She was in an advanced stage of pregnancy and obviously it slowed her down. But I could tell she was overworked and tired and felt sorry for her. She was friendly and adorable in her stilted English and I ended up tipping her anyway. I also gave her some school supplies for her four-year-old son that I had brought with me. BTW, they really appreciate these little gifts that are apparently expensive for their pockets.
The time-share people were never a problem. Whenever we were approached by one we would politely say that we had already spoken to a colleague of his and they gracefully backed off.
The service desk does not have a separate information counter. We had to make several trips to the service desk when our safe didnít work or one of our keycards needed to be reprogrammed and other such glitches, and we had to wait in line with the new guests checking in, which doesnít make sense at all. We could have used the precious time enjoying the beach or the pool. As for check-out, it was a breeze. I canít say the same for the Hotelbeds airport pick-up. Even after several calls to their office they kept us waiting 1 hour and a half, until we were certain we were going to miss our plane. Eventually they sent us a taxi. Not a good way to end a great vacation, but this isnít any fault of the Melia.
Just a short note on the excursions. We only took one, to Saona Island with Hotelbeds. Itís long but I highly recommend it. Aside from the tour, which was wonderful, itís an eye-opener for those who donít realize whatís beyond the resortsí walls, so to speak. Sadly, itís a very poor country. The trip to the island was comfortable and fun; they take you with the catamaran one way and the speedboat coming back, when they stop at the ďnatural poolĒ. The islandís beach is gorgeous and I could have stayed there a whole week! Who was the reviewer that said the beach was full of garbage and the starfish in the ďnatural poolĒ fake and probably made in China??? Some people are just not made to relax while on vacation!
I apologize for this extremely long review, but I didnít want to just sugarcoat the good without highlighting also the not-so-good, the areas where the resort needs some work, mainly the service. Everything else was great and, as I said before, well worth it. All in all it was a fantastic vacation and I would do it all over again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible!!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Jul 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
542 people found this review helpful

We arrived at the airport...our ride to the resort was a broken down taxi that drove full throttle all the way making unsafe passings..we were seriously thinking this man had a death wish!!Seat belts?? Ofcourse there were none!! Arrived at the beautiful resort...welcomed by friendly people.The grounds were magnificent.The room was horrible. Hair on the bed,bathtub,toilet and sink. There were bugs on the floor...counters dirty,mirrors,glass table had left over food on it.The bathroom sink didn't drain...nor did the bathtub.This was the real trigger...we picked up a pillow and there was a cigarette under it. Sliding glass doors wouldn't lock...this place was a total nightmare.We called to get our room changed..wouldn't hear of it.We demanded to see a cleaning supervisor, they never showed up, we waited an hour.Finally our maid came and we asked her to come in and showed her what needed to be done,she didn't speak English and we didn't speak Spanish.We complained to 5 or 6 management people...after the second day they finally sent someone to clean our room...and it was beautiful...I could finally take my shoes off in the room...The food was fair..buffet morning and at lunch...same food everyday which got old.Lobster is not included in the all inclusive price...which they don't tell you.The beach was beautiful and very clean.Pools looked nice although we didn't use them.The staff was friendly and a happy bunch of hard working people.This resort needs some major help.Will never return!This was advertised a 5 star by vacations to go...I would give it a 1.We did some kayaking,sailing,really enjoyed the beach.Signed up for a free diving lesson at the pool...the guys never showed up.Hope this helps wouldn't want anyone to have been in our shoes.

Room Number:
1024

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mostly an excellent stay except for 2 issues"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith  on May 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
484 people found this review helpful

There were 7 of us who stayed at the resort for 1 week in April. We found the staff and the food to be very good to excellent. All of our requests were met with a minimum delay. However, the resort should consider changing their method of reserving the speciality restaurants. You had to call everyday starting at 9 AM for the next day and the phone was busy and when were able to get an operator they were fully booked. Other resorts that we have stayed at allow you to reserve at the beginning of the week. As we were a large group we did not have much success getting a restaurant at reasonalbe hour. Second as the resort's beach has a large amount of seaweed, they should clean it up at least twice a day not only once in the morning. Over all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Number:
1022

Room Block:
1010, 1006, 1022

Arrival:
Arrived on Sunday April 17, 2011 all was ready

Rooms:
Rooms were cleaned on a regular basis

Restaurants and Bars:
Enjoyed all the restaurants and bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool and grounds were excellent. The beach itself was clean and if you did not want an excursion the sales people were not aggressive. The water had a large amount of seaweed therefore it should have been cleaned twice a day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful 2wk Stay!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Apr 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
410 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
4838

Room Block:
48

Arrival:
The first two days we were sent to The Paradisus Palm Real next door as the Melia Caribe was overbooked, We were looked after extremley well, upgraded etc etc! Once moved to the Melia Caribe we were upgraded to the Royal Service Section,all looked after,,,private check in, very nice!

Rooms:
Our room was lovely, a master deluxe suite, all the trimmings, very lovely! Even had a kitchen area! Quite big!

Restaurants and Bars:
All the restaurants and bars were nice, As part of the Royal Service Section we had the use of The Gabi restaurant, where you could order from the Menu or check out The Buffet! Very Good food on the whole resort!! We all felt like we really enjoyed, pants were tighter going home!, haha!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well the beach is simply Beautiful!, Pools were clean and the main pool at The Caribe is very nice! Royal Service Section has it's own pool and that was also very nice!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is lots to, this was our 7th time to Punta Cana and well we have done alot of excursions, this time 8 of us went on The Tropical Storm Cat for the day, Nice day on the Sea, they do a nice job!

Other Comments:
We have been to The Dominican alot in the last 11 yrs, Always going to a different resort but this trip was one of the best, service wise, food wise, overall a wonderful holiday! Cannot wait till next time! Always remember your vacation is what you make it, I read alot of negative comments all the time about places that I have been to and I think Gee was I in the same place?? Some people are alot pickier I guess,I say Enjoy!,, The Dominican is a great getaway!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a wonderful vacation"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Apr 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
416 people found this review helpful

We were very happy with the Melia Caribe Tropical.
It is a beautiful resort. Yes, it is very large since it's actually 2 resorts in one - but after 2 days we knew our way around very well. There are trains and golf carts that will take you around the property. The lobbies, restaurants, nightlife are at the front of the property and the beach, pools, beach buffets are at the back.

The food was great, there are 3 buffet restaurants and 8 a la cartes.
We ate at the French, Italian, and Mexican and they were all good.

The pool is amazing. It is very large and doesn't feel crowded. Lots of shade if you need it.
The beach is also great and you can walk for miles. We did not have a problem getting loungers by the beach or pool.

The nightly entertainment was okay. They could add more variety to it - most nights was a professional dance show (same people with a different nightly theme). They do put on an awesome Michael Jackson show once a week.

This place is all about relaxation. There are canopy beds or chaise loungers everywhere - in the lobbies, in the bars, on the beach. We could lounge around and listen to live music after dinner.

I only have 2 negative comments - one is the time share people. They are everywhere. At first you think they are staff so you are nice to them, but you quickly realize what's going on. You sometimes have to be rude and just walk away from them. The 2nd issue is check in. It is VERY slow. It took them 15 minutes to check in 1 person. We were 3rd in line and it took more than 1 hour. This is because they are trying to upsell you to a better room. They did offer us an upgrade of $20/night for a room closer to the beach & pool so we took it and were happy with our decision. Our room had a King size comfortable bed. We had no complaints with our room.

All in all, it was a great vacation and I would definitely go back to this resort. I have already recommended it to my family and friends.

Room Number:
3314

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware of overbooking"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laurie  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
444 people found this review helpful

When we arrived at the airport, we were informed that we had been "bumped" due to overbooking at this hotel. We were part of a group, and some of us were bumped and some were not. It kind of defeats the purpose of travelling with a group!
We were promised "one week free stay". We were taken to the Paradisus Palma Real (next door to the Melia) which is a higher rated hotel.
It seemed that everyone we talked to at the Paradisus was there because they had been bumped from the Melia. How a hotel overbooks this many rooms is beyond comprehension!
The thing that you are not told when they offer "compensation" of a free week stay is that the stay is only valid in the off season. So, if you want to go in July, then this would be good for you!
The grounds, beach and restaurants at the Melia Caribe are all quite decent, but we found the room to be VERY old and alot of things did not work. The cabinets had broken handles, the a/c did not work, the bed was really, really old and saggy.

Room Block:
27

Arrival:
painless, but nothing special

Rooms:
Horrible! Very, very old and tired.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were all good that we tried. Bars were good, although bartenders were grouchy!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not much to do - shows are kind of cheesy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Greatest vacation and amazing wedding"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denise  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
434 people found this review helpful

My daughter was married on February 4, 2011 at the Melia Caribe Resort in Punta Cana. It was an amazing event as well as a vacation. The wedding was a dream wedding,everything was just perfect. The hospitality at this resort was above and beyond. The food was excellent, clean beach, beautiful rooms-clean. The wedding co-ordinator was so helpful and there was nothing to do regarding wedding arrangements. Everything was taken care of. This was definitely a dream come true wedding. I would personally recommend this resort to anyone including wedding couples for their dream wedding. The evening entertainment was great. A great resort for families with children was a variety of activities for kids.

Room Number:
310

Arrival:
We arrived on February 1st, 2011 and flew back to Toronto on February 8. The wedding was Friday, February 4th.

Rooms:
We had he junior deluxe room which was perfect. A king size bed, jacuzzi in the room as well. Two person shower. Balcony with love seat and beautiful view of the vegetation and ocean. The rooms were clean each day with an added touch from the maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were incredible . The food was great, no matter what restaurant we ate at. The Bars were plentiful and the waiters,waitresses were very friendly. Some of their specialty drinks were great- very different and great tasting. The Japanese restaurant had an additional charge but the chef put on an entertainment show and the food was prepared in front of us Well worth the extra charge.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was true to its' word. Crystal white sand. Clean beach. The pools were great and super clean. The pools were in good locations and easily to locate. The grounds were gorgeous, clean and even workers willing to climb coconut trees and chop down coconuts for people interested in drinking coconut juice right from the coconut. There were plenty of golf courts available for picking up people and dropping them off to their desired location. A train also available on the resort to pick up people and drop them off as well. The grounds area is quite large but always someone available to help out finding different areas of interest.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Many activities are available on the resort for people who chose to stay on the property. The excursions are plentiful and well planned out with no worries of going off the resort.

Other Comments:
This was my first trip to Punta Cana and would return tomorrow to exactly the same resort-Melia Caribe with no hesitations. I felt very comfortable and safe with no worries at all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was our 4th time in Dominica Republic and we would go back to Melia Caribe in a heartbeat!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
387 people found this review helpful

My friend and I spent 2 wonderful weeks here and enjoyed it greatly. The staff at this hotel are happy, thoughtful and fun! Tipping goes a long way here! The food was good, short on variety but still good. My friend was under the weather one night and the staff at the Marketplace rest. went out of their way to arrange takeout for her. The Spa experience was awesome! The rooms were always clean, but remember to get a, "clean my room door sign" without this it could be late in the afternoon before you get your room cleaned. The one thing they could have done was have a bigger sign outside the area where you received your pool towels. Right across from the pool bar. The train service from one area to another is great and if you let the driver know where you want to go, he will make sure you get off at the right place. I would suggest that when a person arrives take your map and go on the train for a couple of laps and get your bearings. It's a fairly large resort. Over all I would go back to this resort in a heartbeat! It was beautiful there!

Room Number:
2014

Room Block:
Melia Caribe Tropical

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube