Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Melia Caribe Tropical reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Melia Caribe Tropical  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"good vibe"
Posted by: danette on Oct 12, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews
Melia Caribe Tropical Pictures and Information
Melia Caribe Tropical Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#3
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.7

Based on 52 reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Information


This hotel consists of 1,000 double rooms spread over 2 floors featuring a beauty salon, an air-conditioned restaurant and a public Internet terminal. There is a garage and a hotel car park for those arriving by car and room and laundry services.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.7 of 5 52 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (33)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
21 - 30 of 52

"This was our 4th time in Dominica Republic and we would go back to Melia Caribe in a heartbeat!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
396 people found this review helpful

My friend and I spent 2 wonderful weeks here and enjoyed it greatly. The staff at this hotel are happy, thoughtful and fun! Tipping goes a long way here! The food was good, short on variety but still good. My friend was under the weather one night and the staff at the Marketplace rest. went out of their way to arrange takeout for her. The Spa experience was awesome! The rooms were always clean, but remember to get a, "clean my room door sign" without this it could be late in the afternoon before you get your room cleaned. The one thing they could have done was have a bigger sign outside the area where you received your pool towels. Right across from the pool bar. The train service from one area to another is great and if you let the driver know where you want to go, he will make sure you get off at the right place. I would suggest that when a person arrives take your map and go on the train for a couple of laps and get your bearings. It's a fairly large resort. Over all I would go back to this resort in a heartbeat! It was beautiful there!

Room Number:
2014

Room Block:
Melia Caribe Tropical

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joyce  on Feb 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
400 people found this review helpful

The weather was nice and the grounds at Melia were well manicured. That said, we were VERY disappointed in our experience given that this is an Apple rating of 5...felt like it should have been a 1 or 2.

Check in started off okay, someone was there with a welcome cocktail. Then we were escorted to the "VIP guy" who ended up hounding us for days about a time share (called our room repeatedly, approached us on the beach).

The room sucked. We were in a Jr Suite. The AC blew out luke warm, musty air and would stop unexpectedly. Our mini fridge never got anything cool enough to enjoy and was hot to touch when opening door. The mattress smelled of urine and when the sheets were removed, revealed a large stain and crusty debris on the mattress. We killed mosquitos on a daily basis and bitten nightly while we slept. Also had ants, moths, spiders and even a frog in our bathroom. Mildew/moldy tub and bathroom fixtures. Finger prints and smudges on all fabric and hard surfaces. The ceiling was warped and saggy, rodent droppings fell from the corner and landed on our bathroom counter.

They boast having several restaurants but the food is basically the same whether you are eating off the buffet or have reservations. We got sick and spent one whole day confined to the room with stomach cramps, vomiting and diarrhea. For the remainder of the trip the only food we felt safe eating came from pre-packaged snacks we purchased in the gift shop.

The service wasn't the greatest unless you tipped up front.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dale  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
360 people found this review helpful

We had an amazing time...staff were phenomenal. There was a group of us that went down for my sister's wedding. The grounds were amazing, food was awesome...getting champagne and orange juice for breakfast every morning what more could you ask for. The beach made me speechless, white sand beautiful water...we had 32+ degrees everyday, not a drop of rain. I highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to go away.

Room Number:
2922

Arrival:
When we arrived it was late night/early morning, the staff at the check in desks were great, very helpful and imformative.

Rooms:
our room was beautiful, nice and cool to come into after a hot day in the sun

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were great. Food was amazing and the wait staff were awesome.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Speechless, beach was very clean, white sand, aqua blue water, pool was great, swim up bar staff were awesome. The grounds were very well kept and clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very nice despite horrible weather"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Feb 8, 2011  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
329 people found this review helpful

We are seasoned travelers, and enjoyed our 2 wk stay. Despite 2088 rooms, and almost at capacity, never felt crowded. Caribe is older section, Tropical newer. Drive took 40 mins, 2 stops. Great vacation except for weather, cannot control that. When it rained, also caused flooding, you took cover and went to plan B. Sadly, used plan B too often as days were mostly cloudy with lots of rain.

Room
Maid did a great job. Never a shortage of anything, everything worked as it should. Two large umbrellas provided, very handy!

Beach
Beautiful, very long property, lots of elbow room, no need to reserve chairs early morning. Lots of chairs and palapas, some desperately need new thatch roofs. Punta Cana is not a snorkeler's paradise, for that you have to go elsewhere. Washrooms behind beach gazebo; also by pools; kept reasonably clean. Those around the lobbies and restaurants are very clean.

Food
Very good, excellent service. Dined only at buffet (indoor and lovely outdoor section), no complaints. Beach buffet restaurants (1 on Caribe, and 1 on Tropical side) open for breakfast, lunch and snacks. All dinner venues are located by lobbies, including Market Place buffet.

Grounds and Bugs
Huge resort; many water features and gardens, repetitive, but pretty. Trains pick up and drops off guests at designated stops, usually 3 min wait. Walking from bldg 26 to lobby takes 10 mins reasonable pace. Depending on where room is, have a trek to either the beach, pools or dining.

Tiny bugs ones by sink. My husband had a few bites, I had about 30. Not bed bugs, rest assured. Mostly sand fleas, probably some mosquitoes, perhaps even spiders, "no-see-ums". Gardeners used insecticide around shrubs, never saw it elsewhere. Surely they fumigate on a larger scale, probably at night. No roaches or other bugs seen, resort is kept very clean. Only area we found dirty, not a big deal, was filthy curio cabinets throughout the lobbies. And an occasional coffee table. That was it, impressive for a resort of this size!

Rain came down very heavy in a matter of a few hrs, and continued to rain into evening and night. We were walking through 6 inches of water in areas on roadways and paths. Some weren't as bad, others worse. All restaurants except for buffet were closed that evening because of it. Turtles were washed out of their pond and floating down pathway while staff scurried to rescue them. Caribe pool was closed 3 days due to soil and muck from around gardens overflowing into it. Kudos to all of the staff who were phenomenal in keeping services going while attempting to mop up as best as they could.

Summary
Air Transat rep was Anne Lise, very nice lady and very helpful. Very nice Palma Real Shopping Village located 500 meters from main lobby. Neither one of us was sick with anything, but were itchy from bug bites. Would have enjoy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Family Vacation"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Natasha  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
342 people found this review helpful

Booked 3 Junior suites with Royal Service. Upon arrival was speedily checked in at the private lounge/check-in desk. They informed us of a complimentary upgrade to master suites(without us asking) and that alone was worth about 500$/person if booked online. We were all completely amazed at the spacious suites, huge jacuzzi tubs, nice balconies and even a dining area and LARGE fridge that was restocked every day with water, pop and beer. A bottle of rum was waiting on the counter and was replaced everytime we drained it. We were literally across the street from the private pool, bar, and restraunt. The restraunt had an excellent buffet for all 3 meals, plus a great menu to order a la carte, as well as a great room service menu. We ordered coffee and fruit every morning in our room and pizza in the evening sometimes. We only went to one "reservation" restraunt as we were travelling with older family and everyone was very content to just go to the private restraunt when we felt like it instead of having to adhere to an eating schedule. The golfcart guys were always around to drive us anywhere we wanted and this was very valuable to the old folks. The pool was clean, and ample seating all the time. It was never crowded and the waitress there was amazing. she was always around, smiling and keeping us fully stocked. The pool BBQ was great too, awesome burgers(like I make them at home) and fries, nachos and salsa..good comfort foods. The beach was nice but really crowded so we stayed by the pool daily.
The service here was excellent. The only annoying factors were the timeshare salesmen, we just told them we were broke and would not be able to afford to travel again for 10 yrs.lol. They managed to rope our 19yr old son into listening until he told them he didnt have a visa and they left him alone.
The casino was old-school vegas style and we had a blast there, playing poker with people from other countries. Major tip...everything for sale at the gift shop from cold meds(which i was forced to buy out of neccessity)to snacks, is 4x the price in Canada. A bag of chips was 6$ so bring what you need. I will say though that we are happy to tip, and so I am sure that is why we experienced such good service...others may have not had this.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grounds Are A Tropical Jungle ... Best Beach In the World ... Great Food and Accomidations ... What Else Can You Ask For!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Jan 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
366 people found this review helpful

Well…my turn, hope you like to read!

Can't listen to the @!##@!@# about towels or making reservations or staff not speaking english or how long checkin took ... and if you know how to give a tip or have any sence about you these things would not be a problem + almost everyone speaks english, except some of the maids ... but you can get along just fine.

If anyone had a problem with this resort it would have been very specific and related to their room or an event like check-in or a bad employee. I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many classes of hotels and resorts, but this one tops them all. There are very few things wrong with this resort and these people should look past these issues and describe the resort for what it is. Any problems can be resolved quickly as customer service very responsive. I did not hear any complaints from the people that we spoke to (and that was a lot) from all classes of rooms, regular to RS (Royal Service). My wife talked to one American couple that had been to a wedding in Fiji and stayed in one of those villas that stands on stilts over the ocean. They were comparing the Melia Caribe to their Fiji trip and did say the Fiji trip was far more superior in many ways. So if you run across these kinds of criticism, take things into perspective…you can get private villas on the ocean with extreme luxury for $20000/week or more. For what you pay here, even in Royal Service (RS), this resort is amazing. I went next door to the Paridisus (which is owned by the same company) and in my opinion the resort was not as lush as Melia Caribe + there is a row of Villas on your left when going to the beach from RS beach area that are the exact same construction as the Villas in RS.

Room Number:
4923

Room Block:
49

Arrival:
If you have never been to Punta Cana, even flying into the airport is a treat. The terminals have thatched roofs and look like a resort not an airport. Customs was quick and friendly + they take your picture which you can get on the way back if you wish. The ride to the resort is short, about 20 minutes. When you arrive at the resort, you are overwhelmed by the landscaping and greenery. There are Peacocks wandering everywhere, Flamingos in some areas and tropical vegetation of all varieties. Front lobby is beautiful, not too much concrete (as in some posh resorts) and blended well with the vegetation.

Arrival:
If you have never been to Punta Cana, even flying into the airport is a treat. The terminals have thatched roofs and look like a resort not an airport. Customs was quick and friendly + they take your picture which you can get on the way back if you wish. The ride to the resort is short, about 20 minutes. When you arrive at the resort, you are overwhelmed by the landscaping and greenery. There are Peacocks wandering everywhere, Flamingos in some areas and tropical vegetation of all varieties. Front lobby is beautiful, not too much concrete (as in some posh resorts) and blended well with the vegetation.

Check-in:
We had booked RS and upon arrival we were brought to a separate area for RS check-in. We arrived at about 12:30 in the afternoon, about 2.5 hours prior to check-in time. I had emailed ahead and explained that we would be there early and would appreciate a room to be ready at that time, with a list of request from pillows to bar contents…to my surprise all was taken care of. The RS lounge was relaxing and elegant. We were served a beer right away (not into the sweet drinks) and the kids got a drink of their choice. Even the bracelets they put on for RS where more like jewelry than resort bracelets (they were so nice we wanted to keep them at the end of our trip but where told that it was against hotel policy)



Rooms:
Room:
We were located in Villa #49 on the 2nd floor directly across from the Gabi pool and restaurant (recommend any of the villas across from the pool highly). We could see the Gabi bar at night light up in blue and when the kids fell asleep we could even go for a drink at the bar, if there was a problem all my 10 year old would need to do is call us from the balcony.

The room was beautiful 1 bedroom suite with two entrances to the balcony, 2 separate living areas – 1) kitchen/living room – 2)Bedroom with King size bed, large flat screen, 2 person Jacuzzi + double sink + separate washroom with shower and double sink. We have 2 kids as I mentioned above. They slept on the pullout couch in the living room. The whole place is marble. You have a full size fridge that is stocked with pop, water and beer + a bottle of rum on the counter. There is room service included from 8 am to 11 pm. If you like to get pampered get this room.



Restaurants and Bars:
Again, I cannot understand some of the negative reviews on this site re: the food. These people must be chronic complainers or are use to some kind of unrealistic standards.

The food is awesome. I am not going to breakdown the restaurants because we ate mostly at the Gabi breakfast and dinner. We went to the Japanese and Capri (seafood) and they were fine. But the Gabi has it all, great beef, chicken and seafood, on the buffet or you can order off the menu. My kids are 5 and 10. They loved the deserts, pasta and seafood at the Gabi. My last night I ordered 5 lobster tails, 3 grilled and 2 fried. As you will see, this restaurant is all open air under a thatched palm roof with incense going in the back ground and a glow of candles and candle like lighting everywhere.
On my way to the beach one day I got a ride by the Food Services Manager and he gave me a bit of a run down on the food coming into the resort. All of the food comes in frozen (for safety reasons). They do not spare anything for quality and order Black Angus beef from Argentina. And if you don’t know, this beef is hormone free as there is a ban on using hormones in Argentina. Unlike poison US and Canadian beef that is so full of who knows how many hormones and has lost its true natural taste, this beef melts in your mouth … even the regular cuts.

Oh yeah. Someone posted earlier that there is nowhere to get food after 11pm. Yes there is. It’s called the Dominican Restaurant (off the front Caribe side lobby) opened from 11pm to 6am. They’ll grill you up a small, cheap looking steak (at 2 am if you wish) that will melt in your mouth! + there are a lot of other items on the buffet.
We also had lunch beach side buffets (there are 2) + Dinner at the Market Place buffet on the Tropical side. All was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools:
There are 3 pools.
2 by the beach that are identical. One is on the Caribe side and one is on the Tropical side.
1- The Tropical side pool is the kid’s pool adjacent to Flintstone Village. The pool is massive and has a swim-up bar, a kiddy pool and close to the beach and beach side restaurant.
2- The Caribe side pool is identical without the kids theme.
3- The Gabi pool in the RS service area. This is the one we spent the most time at. It is close to the front of the resort was right in front of our Villa. There was sand on the sides making you feel like you are at the beach. The design of the pool and attached restaurant is amazing. They even have a little snack bar that is opened all day and serves great chicken, burgers, ice crème, pizza and french fries + other stuff. This was a big hit with the kids and some days we didn’t even really need to go for lunch.
At the Gabi pool bar and restaurant you can get all brands of liquor, even Canadian Whiskey, baileys, Stolichnaya, etc. … which made my day.

The Beach:
Well this is on “Playas de Bávaro” which is one of the best beaches in the Dominican. The sand is almost pure white. The only downer, if you want to look at it that way, was that you could not find shells. They were all caught up by the reef that was only 1km out and the reason for this pristine beach. There was always room in the RS area of the beach and I did not see any problems with room anywhere else along the beach. On the RS beach area you have a private bar + a waiter that serves drinks. The beach front of this property stretches for about 1km and is all beautiful, with palm trees naturally blending with the beach front.

There are local shops to the right of the resort (when looking at the ocean). Again, there are some complainers on this site that have posted negative things about locals trying to ripe them off or “beware of these areas, they are dangerous”. All I can say is Buyer Beware, use your head, ask questions and barter…you’ll have fun!

There are also shops about a 20-30 minute walk to the left. I ran every day along the beach about 10 k so I visited all these places easily. These shops are more like the front of a shopping village and when you go deeper into them, you will find stores that the locals shop at. I bought some different beer here (they only serve President beer at the hotel), they were called Bohemians; price $3/1 liter bottle…the beer wasn’t too bad.

The grounds:
Every kind of tropical vegetation you can imagine, all meticulously groomed. Peacocks, Flamingos, Wild Turkeys, and Fish in the lagoons … I think you can get the pictures. This was more like being in a well kept jungle. And that is why this huge resort did not feel so huge.

There is transportation everywhere. A train goes around the like a bus every 5 - 10 minutes. In the royal service area there are guys with golf carts buzzing by constantly and they usually give you a lift.


Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dancing and Discos:
There is a disco in the Tropical lobby. All welcome from 9-11 and 11-2 for adults only. The music is great. They also have a disco on the beach Wednesday nights (that was fun) … ask the front desk for the schedule. Oh, don’t miss a great party and show on Friday nights at the side lobby bar (I think it is on the Caribe side, but you can ask). They have fire breathing, a guy roller skating all light up with led lights and entertainers dancing to get everyone in the mood.
There is also a Kids disco in the Caribe main lobby from 8:30 to 9:30.

Shows:
Start at 10:00 in the main lobby of the Caribe. Be careful or you will probably end up on stage as one of the performers. There are all kinds of stuff ranging from comedy to acrobatics, not bad … the kids liked it and we had a good laugh most of the time. I even made it up on stage for the Mr. Caribe contest, but luckily did not make it to the finals.
There are nice mattresses in the lobby are that you can hang-out on and watch people. We had fun doing that one night for an hour or so.

Kids Activities:
This is definitely a family resort and there are things for the kids to do day and night.
As I mentioned above, there is a Kids pool on the Tropical side by the beach. Beside that pool is a kid’s area called Flintstone Village, with you guessed it, a Flintstone theme. Here you will find activities for kids from toddlers to 13 years of age. They have different programs everyday to suite the age group. My 10 year old spent on day at the camp. He went rock climbing & horseback riding + other activities. We were there at a time when a lot of the older kids were at school and my 5 year old wanted to hang-out with us, so we never really took full advantage of the village.

To make one thing clear, kids are allowed in all areas of the resort including RS pools and facilities.

There are also babysitting services offered at $15/hr if you wish. You need to reserve 1 day in advance if will require babysitting. We did not take advantage of this service.



Other Comments:
Time Sharing:
You will also find the Time Sharing people at the Caribe beach side restaurant entrance. They are not annoying as everyone seems to mention. If you say no, they leave you alone. And they seem to be in this location only and maybe in the lobby but as I said they are not as noticeable as people on this site lead you to believe.
I really did love this resort and was curious about the time sharing, so one day I turned the tables on them, hounded the salesmen down to give me a quick overview of their marketing scheme (I am a business man, so I thoroughly enjoy this kind of stuff). In short, the fist guy I talked to was from New Jersey and was working there as a salesman. I don’t think he was expecting someone like me. I told him straight out, before all the fluff, I need to see a contract and if there is a possibility that I like their program, my lawyer needs to review all the contracts. He stopped the presentation and told me that he cannot give me contracts for the lawyer to review…and I said ADIOS. He was very rude.

On my way out of their marketing office (nice set-up, looks like a North American marketing center) a manager approached me and apologized for the salesperson. He finally did give me a breakdown and when all was said and done, they wanted a minimum of $32000 for 50 years and a maintenance fee of $700-$900 /year. When he worked it out we would have saved $700 on our trip. No thanks, I can think of better ways to invest my money and I can save $700 by booking this hotel more creatively next time. No offence to the people that bought into the program…the Melia is a great chain with amazing resorts all over the world.

Service & People:
The staff all seemed to be quite friendly and helpful. You can always find one or two people that are not perfect, but with this many staff it is bound to happen. We left a tip for the morning cleaning lady and the evening cleaning lady. Always had everything prefect and fridge full of beer to boot. Take a hundred or so $1 US bills for tipping. You should always leave a tip after meals and sporadically when getting drinks. They do appreciate it but the service does not decrease if you don’t tip. Apparently their average wage is $130 - $150 US per month and as I mentioned before a large bottle of beer costs $3 … so it’s not the easiest country to survive in.

The resort is one of the best I have seen for a long time and I will be returning at the end of this month. There is something for everyone at this resort. If you can, book Royal Service, it’s worth it for the Gabi restaurant and pool alone.



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Experience!"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scherer  on Oct 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
329 people found this review helpful

All of you who complain about feeling ill are ridiculous.. DO NOT DRINK THE WATER! They tell you that everywhere. Those who complain about service, well yeah there might be a language barrier, well HELLO!! you are in their country! be patient and explain what you want. When I was there with my family two years in a row, we loved it! Both times we had a great time. The beach is a beach don't complain about seaweed each resort doesn't have a different ocean!!!! The trip was relaxing but so much fun. There were activities to participate in and quite areas to rest in. The food was good at all the restaurants. The rooms were great and this year when I return for a third year my family is staying in the royal rooms. Really looking forward to my trip!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"would not come back"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Aug 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
393 people found this review helpful

The grounds are beautiful, the service is not! Big language barrier if you
don't speak Spanish. (don't expect to get anything you ask for) My family and
myself all came home sick with stomach ailments after staying 6 days.
Pool is not clean, lots of seaweed in ocean. Good Luck getting reservations
for dinner after spending hours on phone for them. (you then get told that
restaurant is closed or full) Not alot to do on premises. They push the day
trips which cost extra. We took the quad trip (adventure boogie tour) and felt
unsafe and were bombarded by locals trying to sell their merchandise, when you
say your not interested they are very nasty to you. None of the lobbies are
air conditioned and neither are the lounges, extremely hot and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dont let the pictures fool you"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eladia  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
354 people found this review helpful

This hotel was so awful. I will never return to the Melia. The service was terrible. The room was terrible, our first day and we had to deal with broken A.C. and fridge. Not to mention the hotel comes with a complimentary bugs and lizards in your room. I highly suggest you take your money somewhere else because this resort is not worth your stay. Unless you enjoy fustration I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RUN, RUN GET YOUR MONEY BACK.. .DON'T GO..."

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on Jul 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
373 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Check in was a joke... took forever - there were 11 of us... we had 4 rooms.. wanted to bump us up to a better room but the catch was 2 of us would have to share a room...
2 out of the 4 rooms were ready at 4:00 pm.. (arrived at 1:00pm) the other two were not ready until after 6:00! And, when they were ready NO TOWELS.

Rooms:
... We were located in building 28 - a very nice location close to the beach and the pool - we got this because my dad slipped the guy $20.00 bucks at check in... If you happen to get buildings closer to the Market place.. good luck getting to the beach or pool. They have a "train/tram" come around and pick up people at certain spots. Would not want to wait for the tram every time I wanted to go to and from the beach! But the grounds are so big - you have to wait... the wait is 10/15 minutes for each tram!Beds in the room were terrible to sleep on! Pillows were just as bad. We had no Wi-Fi because the "tower" was down in our area.

Restaurants and Bars:
Advertised 10 great restaurants! But what they don't tell you is you have to call and make dinner reservations for each night called 6313 - for 2 hours! Told us NOTHING IS AVALIABLE FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK FOR DINNER RESERVATIONS unless you like to eat at 9:40! We only saw the inside of ONE of those 10 great restaurants (American Grill) not that great but MUCH BETTER than the buffet! Oh, you can get into the restaurants if you want to sit through their "time share" speech every morning at 9:00 -
So my family ate 4 days - 3 times a day at the buffet! Now, you get your own food - and you start to eat... suggestion: when a waiter finally gets to asking you what you want to DRINK order 3! 3 Cokes, 3 beers, 3 of whatever because it takes FOREVER for them to serve you with drinks. The Food is very different - taste and texture! If you like good food. this isn't the place for you.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Once you get to the pool or beach you are going to need a beach towel. WHAT A JOKE THIS IS... YOU WOULD THINK THEY WOULD HAVE ENOUGHT TOWELS FOR ALL GUESTS RIGHT.. WELL, THINK AGAIN. At check in you get "towel" card. When you go to the pool - you find the Towel hut ( good luck with that too.. not very convenient to find) If you have 4 people in your family - you get 4 cards. You go to the hut and see if there is towels... out of the 5 days we were told no towels 3 times. After 2:00 you can't get any towels! We talked with people who were using the same beach towel for 2/3 days! If you don't turn in your "towel" card when you check out... you are charged $25.00 each.
They advertise an arcade for kids! What a joke.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The arcade consisted of ONE POOL TABLE, ONE PING PONG TABLE, ONE AIR HOCKEY TABLE AND ONE FOOSBALL TABLE. - THATS IT. My living room was bigger than the ARCADE.

Other Comments:
This was the worst place to be on vacation! I think it is illegal what they are doing to guests. It is a huge bait and switch!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube