Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Melia Caribe Tropical reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Melia Caribe Tropical  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"good vibe"
Posted by: danette on Oct 12, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews
Melia Caribe Tropical Pictures and Information
Melia Caribe Tropical Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#3
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.7

Based on 52 reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Information


This hotel consists of 1,000 double rooms spread over 2 floors featuring a beauty salon, an air-conditioned restaurant and a public Internet terminal. There is a garage and a hotel car park for those arriving by car and room and laundry services.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Caribe Tropical Reviews

Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 3.7 of 5 52 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (33)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
51 - 52 of 52

"Great beach, Great pools and beautiful grounds"

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ed from Hamilton, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
244 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We requested building 11 or 12 when we booked. We were offered a room in building 5. They did make the change for us. So that was good

Rooms
Very clean. We had a small ant problem but they came and took care of it while we were at dinner.

Restaurants and Bars
Lots of great restaurants. Too many to use during a 1 week stay. Great service at the bars. We brought along $100 1 dollar bills for tips. This I am sure helped with service. Small price to pay for great service

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Great beach, Great pools and beautiful grounds

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We had 4 rounds of golf. Always had a hard time dealing with the girl at the proshop. She could never find our tee time until we turned the monitor around to show her our name. This became an inside running joke

Other Comments
This was our 3 trip and we will go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff are awesome."

Melia Caribe Tropical
User Rating:  Melia Caribe Tropical Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gary/Karen from Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
238 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2009
Left Hamilton airport an hour late due to snow, no biggie.. Got to Punta Airport and found our bus with no issues. Check in, and from what Ive read, was dismal .. 30 min to check in,, and there was us and another couple. The girl was just looking, and looking at papers, We asked if there was a problem and she said no. It was nice that a girl came by with a couple beers. I had sent an email a few days before we left, requesting a room in a choice of a few buildings.. Im hoping thats why she was so long,, trying to find a room that met our request. .It ended up we were in the area we had wanted to be.

Rooms
Rooms are ok. nothing special. patio doors are difficult to use. Safe is $3 / day, and are modern. ( no key, just use your personal PIN code) Bathroom nice and roomy, with a bidet. They always kept fridge stocked with water/sodas.

Restaurants and Bars
Steak bar was pretty good. Italian was crap. After that we just ate in the Market Grill ( buffet) Waiters are VERY good. Food was good. lots of selection.
Tip.. if you bring your own wine, take it with you for dinner.. WHite wine was 'ok'.. The champagne at breakfast is a nice touch ( you have to ask for it ) Breakfast is nicer in beach buffets. Just a nicer ambiance.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The nicest beach Ive been on. no rocks, kept very clean. You can walk out in the water with no worries of coral. Lots of activites.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
I only used the Cocotal golf course. ( you get 3 free rounds , but Im sure you get more) Very unorganized at the starting area, but the course was ok.

Other Comments
I'd say its a 4 star. They get 4 1/2 or 5 cause of all their restaurants (10). VERY big ( 2 resorts in one), if you dont have kids, stay in the Caribe part. Kind of cool with the 2 or 3 trains running around the resort to get where u want to go. we never waited more than 5 min. Staff are awesome.
My only real complaint is the fact that the beach/poor bars close around 6 pm.
so ,, if you want a drink in your room, after dinner, and you are in the buildings closer to the ocean ( which is the place to be). you have to go all the way to the front of the resort to one of the bars there. Drinks tend to spill when you're on the train.. ;o) We'd go back. but we like to try different resorts every year. and this one is just too big for us. Lots to do tho'

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube