Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Victoria Golf & Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

VH Victoria Resort and Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2011

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

4.1 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2014

Allegro Puerto Plata

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed May 25, 2014

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada

3.3 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 20, 2011

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort  

Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

"I would live here if I had enough money"
Posted by: Amanda  on Apr 10, 2010
see all reviews

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Reviews
Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#8
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.9

Based on 6 reviews

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Information


This pleasant hotel is located in the leisure district of Playa Dorada just 400 m from the nearest sandy beach where guests may make use of facilities at the hotel's beach club. The beach may either be reached by foot or using the hotelís transfer service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Reviews

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Review: 4.9 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"I would live here if I had enough money"

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort
User Rating:  Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda  on Apr 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
906 people found this review helpful

As I have stayed here more than 33 weeks i total you would be correct in thinking I love this hotel, it's staff. location, everything. But for those of you who haven't yet visited my corner of paradise I will try to explain why I and many other people return year after year, sometimes two or more times in a year. (Don't we Ruth!!)

Your Arrival:
Check-in is always easy with your rooms all ready and information given at check-in regarding the hotel facilities. While you are waiting you are given the 'welcome drink' which is a lovely non-alcoholic drink which after my 8-9 hour flight is most welcome.You get your room key and labels to put on your bags, then it's only a quick trip on the golf buggy to your room where the bellboy will explain how the room is laid out and how to use the air conditioning. (A word to the wise here there are sensors on the patio/balcony doors and if they are not lined up the air-con doesn't work, the idea is that if you want the door open you don't need the air-con trying to cool all of Playa Dorada!!)Your bags if not brought on the buggy with you will be brought to your room very quickly. The 'fridge has pepsi, seven up, water and two beers inside, restocked to this amount every day. If you prefer diet pepsi it is available, just leave a note on the 'fridge.

Rooms:
As a self professed idle bum I always ask for a room in either the first or second building and Marlyn Mendosa guest services has always managed to oblige so far!! That said even the furthest rooms are not that far from the main building. I have had a room with two doubles and another with a queen sized bed, both are lovely, for me an extra bed to spread all my 'stuff' on is wonderful.All rooms are cleaned daily and towels are changed when requested, if you want clean ones put the old one in the bath, if you don't mind using them another day just hang them up. Fridge as I've said restocked daily and room to keep any chocolate you may have brought with you.

Restaurants and Bars:
Pizzeria is wonderful and open five or six evenings a week. There is a set menu but you can mix and match any ingredients you want and garlic is available but not put on unless you specifically ask for it.
The Buffet is the main eating area. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. A wide choice of food at each meal with something for just about everyone. At breakfast the chef will cook omlettes, fried eggs, pancakes and waffles at your request as well as the many other buffet items, fruit, cheese, breads/toast,yogurts, milkshakes...you get the point. Lunch has soup, salads,burgers and again a variety of other choices.Dinner is often themed so you may have Italian, Oriental and Dominican different nights, with other foods available. The beach bar is open every lunch time and has a Mexican theme with Chilli on chips/fries, fried chicken, fish all available.The A'la Carte is open most night but has to be booked in advance, nice for special occasions but I will confess I don't always go, no problem, just my choice.
There is also the option of eating at any of the Grand Ventana's many eating places, main buffet, three A'la Cartes and a beach bar/restaurant. I have eaten at all the various restaurants and have no complaints about any of them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel is not on the beach but so close that it isn't a reason not to go here. Beach is lovely, if there has been rainy weather the sea does dump rubbish but there is always a work party cleaning it all up as soon as possible. Normally no problem getting a lounger but if you want a shelter they are popular and you may end up towards the back of the beach under the trees, away from the sea but nearer to the bar!
The pools are always clean which is a bit of a task as there is a lovely tree over the main pool which provides some shade but it does drop it leaves into the pool so some-one is normally cleaning the leaves out two or three times a day. Both pool bars open at ten, the quiet pool bar is open until six and is normally run by Anna, the main pool bar stays open until midnight.
The grounds are so well groomed they are beautiful, every day someone is doing something in the grounds, trimming, weeding or replanting.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort is now quite low key with only a little live music three or four nightsa week but if you want shows you can go over to the Gran Ventana. Regarding trips they are many and varied, I have done just about all of them except fishing trips(my stomach doesn't like boats!)I feel you need to decide what sort of trips would suit you, they can be booked through your rep, in the plaza, on the beach(not recommended) or through a local tour operator Martin Espinal of Isaira Tours, I have used Martin many times and never had any cause for worry or complaint, Martin tries very hard to make sure the trips are what YOU want to do and will adjust to suit you if it is possible

Other Comments:
This is a lovely quiet hotel that does not have any facilities for children so if you want to bring children I would suggest the sister hotel the Grand Ventana, likewise if you are party animals the Victoria is not for you. If on the otherhand you want a little peace and quiet, R & R and maybe some golf then the Victoria is just the place.You will find at least 50% of the guests are repeaters, ie. they are staying there for thier second,third or more time. That to me speaks volumes if people want to keep coming back time and time again. If like me you tend to be there at the same time each year you bump into others who are doing the same and you meet friends year after year.

Any questions feel free to join us on the travel forum and ask them, I'm amandalou.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will book again in January 2011!"

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort
User Rating:  Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth  on Mar 26, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
928 people found this review helpful

This was our 9th trip to the Victoria. We love this resort! The Victoria is small, quiet, has great staff, good food and special attention from Marlyn Mendoza of Guest Services. The one point I want to make in this review is that the Victoria has its own private beach and beach restaurant between the Barcelo and the Casa Colonial. Because it is not directly on the beach some people think they have to go to the sister resort the Gran Ventana and use their beach...not so. I also want to point out that this resort is not directly on the beach but just a 6 minute walk or a 3 minute golf cart ride. Most of the resorts claiming to be on the beach are actually off the beach behind the sand dunes and the lagoon and there is still a short walk to the beach. Not all the resorts that claim to be on the beach have beach front rooms, again they are behind the dunes and or the lagoon. The Victoria offers much more for much less! The beach bar/restaurant is the newest and best on the strip. It sits "on" the beach and is built up so that when you sit and have lunch or a drink in the bar/restaurant you have a beautiful view of the beach and the ocean. Do do not rule out the Victoria because it is not on the beach, there is always lots of room on the beach, the beach is very clean, raked every morning, they never run out of loungers and the view is spectacular.

After 9 visits and having tried other resorts in the Playa Dorada complex this is the best bang for you buck. The resort is clean, great for people wanting peace, quite and complete relation. If by chance you do want some excitment you can use all the facilites at the sister resort The Gran Ventana, the evening shows and specialty restaurants.

Ruth

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very quiet, clean, and always enough loungers.Great Restaurant with wonderful view!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We have re-booked 3 more weeks March 2nd 2010!"

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort
User Rating:  Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth  on Feb 7, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
855 people found this review helpful

This was our 9th trip to the Victoria and we just love this place. I have said it all before and nothing has changed. The resort is quiet, clean, intimate, with great food and great staff. Whether you are at the Victoria or the Gran Ventana you can use all the faciclies of both resorts. Twice the choices for the same price.

Your Arrival:
quick and easy

Rooms:
clean and spacious, we alway request 1402

Restaurants and Bars:
excellent

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the best, especially the staff at the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we loaf!

Other Comments:
Counting the days till we return. The staff make the difference, three cheers for Marlyn Medoza the guest services co-ordinator, she makes your trip special.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My favouite spot in the Caribbean and in the Dominican Republic."

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort
User Rating:  Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth from Etobicoke, Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
947 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 16 - 30
We were booked on an Airtransat flight and we arrived in POP about 8:45, we were in the resort about 10:00pm, beer in hand! Check-in was quick and easy.

Rooms
We stay in junior suite 1402 and it was just perfect. Short walk to the quiet pool bar and faceing the fareway

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants and bars were excellent. Love the food in the a la carte restaurant and the service is great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The first week was spring break so it was a bit busy but there was always lots of room around the pool and on the beach. Never a shortage of loungers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
No tours for us, this was our 8th trip to the Victoria, the second one in 2009. We just like to sit on the beach and socialize.

Other Comments
As I stated before, we were at the Victoria for 3 weeks in January and I reviewed the resort at that time. When we found a good price for March we could not resist going back. The majority of the people at the Victoria thought is was a great place for rest and relaxation. Some people who were booked at the Gran Ventanna were moved due to over booking to the Victoria and upgraded to a junior suit. They were also given a free massage at the spa. Because of the up grade they had all the privlidges at the Gran Ventanna as well. Everyone I talked to was more than please with being moved. The second week was quieter and we took advantage of eating at all the a la carte more than once.
The guest services manager Marlyn Medoza goes out of her way to make you happy. This women seems to be at the resort night and day and on the weekends. She truly is a dedicated employee and it is a pleasure to make reservation through her. She seems to have streamlined and organized the whole process.

As you all know this is my favouite spot in the Caribbean and in the Dominican Republic. We will be back in January 2010, sitting on the beach under our favourite trees spending time with Juan at the beach and Felix and Fernando at the beach bar restaurant.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A nice quiet intimate resort."

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort
User Rating:  Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth from Etobicoke, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
878 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 13th to February 4th
This was our 7th trip to the Victoria and we arrive at the resort about 4:30 pm just a 20 minute ride from the airport. There was one other couple on the bus staying at the Victoria, friends, so check-in was quick and easy. We were both repeat customers so we were assigned junior suites in the 1400 block. We were handed nice cool towels at reception to help cool off.

Rooms:
Since this is our 7th time at the Victoria we are familiar with all the rooms on the resort. I always e-mail ahead and ask for block 11, 12 or 14. Our room was 1402, a junior suite and faced the golf course. I asked for an iron an ironing board and it was delivered immediately. We were only 2 suites from the quiet pool so we could just go out the patio door and step up to the pool and get a drink from the quiet pool bar when we returned from the beach in the afternoon.The room is big and clean and has a king size bed, walk-in closet and a little kitchen.

Restaurants and Bars:
The a la carte restaurant no longer needs reservations. Needless to say we ate there 3 times in 21 days. I have always enjoyed the food at the a la carte restaurant at the Victoria. This year repeat guests were entitled by letter from The guest services manager to enjoy the steak and losbter on the menu. We chose to have this special dinnner on our last night at the resort, it was delicious!!!

The Pizza restaurant run by Anna is again the best pizza I have ever tasted and Anna manages to handle a full house very efficiently. Try the fried icecream for desert.
The buffet serves breakfast,lunch and dinner, there is lots to choose from and many theme nights to serve all tastes. We always ate breakfast at the buffet. Because we are repeat guests we took advantage of being able to eat at the a la carte restaurants at the Gran Ventana. The new guest services manager is Marlyn Mendoza and she was pleased to book our a la carte dinners for us at the sister resort. We also took advantage of the buffet at the Grand Ventana, more to choose and much bigger. The best part of our vacation are the days we spent at the beach and the food offered at the beach bar restaurant. The service at the beach is excellent Juan tends to the beach and all your needs for best spot and lounges. Fernando tends bar and is truly a wonderful young man and so good at his job. Felex is the waiter and it is truely amazing to see how Felex and Fernando work together to take care of a full house.The food offered meets all tastes and if you want to mix it up just ask. They have a ceasar salad and they have chicken pieces for sandwiches, I just asked for a chicken ceasar salad every day and it was done. All you have to do is explain what you want and you can mix and match. We loves these days at the beach and always remember them as the best part of our vacation.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is big, not crowded. There are lots of spots and loungers for everyone. You can walk forever on the beach, all the way to Puerto Plata if you want. Nice clear water, green more that Caribbean blue but that is because you are on the north side of the island. We do not hang at the pools but they are always clean and also have lots of lougers for all who want to get their sun at the pool. There is a quiet pool for aduls only...how nice is this?

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Victoria no longer has an animation team. There is no activities at the beach and few at the main pool. There was drink mixing lesson and cooking lessions. This is just fine with us, we like the quiet times. There never has been a lot of kids at the Victoria and there are no kids actvities. I would suggest going to the Gran Ventana is you want kids actvities and entertainment. The Victoria does offer guests the choice of going to the evening show at the Gran Ventana with bar service. There always had been better shows at The GV. Since this was our 7th trip we have done all the tours and are all shopped out. We just laze at the beach and veg out.

Other Comments:
The Victoria is under new management. The manager's name is Antonio Sabate. We found him to be very attentive and he listened and reacted to our suggestions and requests. I think his idea is to make the Victoria a leisure hotel for people who want quiet or want to focus on golf and tennis. The tennis courts are taken over by the Victoria and being re-sufaced. The new guest services manager is Marlyn Mendoza and she is a delight to deal with. She answers all questions and makes all reservations for dinners at the Gran Ventana if you are a repeat guest or upgrade to a junior suite (so I hear). She really went out of her way to make us happy.

There are many of us who have been going to the Victoria for years and we always use to joke about keeping it a secret because it is such a nice quiet intimate resort and we would not want to not get a booking when we wanted. When we were there we noticed that the resort was only 50% full and we worry about the viability of the business. So now we want to tell everyone to "come on down " and enjoy this little piece of paradise. Let't keep the Victoria up and running so it will be there in years to come for all of us to enjoy. The staff are amazing and it is just like going home every year. They make us feel like family! Everyone is so accomodating and will to go that extra bit just to make the guest happy. repeter@rogers.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food in this resort was the best that I have encountered at a 4 star resort."

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort
User Rating:  Victoria Golf & Beach Resort Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Brian & Jan from Clayton ON.  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
935 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan.7 2009
We arrived at Puerto Plata airport got our bags and cleared custom with out any problem and off to the resort. Check in went so so as there was a problem with the rooms assigned to us but that was cleared up quickly.

Rooms:
The rooms were clean every thing worked and they were like that all week. The mini-bar was stocked daily with beer,water and soft drinks.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in this resort was the best that I have encountered at a 4 star resort. It was one of the highlights of the trip.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are small with a bar at each of them.They are clean but I did not use them. The beach has a nice beach club, the beach is OK, the water was very warm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I went deep sea fishing and did catch 6 dorada,also went on the monster truck tour,this another highlight of the trip it was a great time.

Other Comments:
This resort was very very good and I will go back there the next time we go to Puerto Plata

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube