Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Barcelo Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

3.9 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 9, 2013

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

Barcelo Puerto Plata  

Playa Dorada , Puerto Plata P.O.Box 547, República Dominicana

"great attitude from the staff"
Posted by: carey on Jul 7, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Barcelo Puerto Plata Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#6
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 2.6

Based on 24 reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Information


The Barceló Puerto Plata is located on the north coast, in Playa Dorada, famous for its calm blue waters, beautiful landscapes and fine sand.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.6 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  5
Average
  10
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"great attitude from the staff"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  carey  on Jul 7, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
44 people found this review helpful

Vacation here was cool and this hotel was something different from what I am used to so yes, it was a nice place for me to stay. Will I come back here for another vacation? Definitely. This is my first time visiting DR and I have to say, it’s a beautiful country with lots of cheerful people and a chance to interact with people. The hotel staffs made me feel comfortable and the environment was warm as well. The hotel facilities were all in good shape and the animation team did great. I loved the rooms here and I stayed for 10 days and never regretted coming here, I visited in March 2014. They have excellent customer service and everything in the room worked fine. The room is large, clean and standard; it had the basic amenities for a standard room. They cleaned out the rooms daily making it very clean for one to stay in. Within my stay, I upgraded to the premium so I didn’t have to shuffle myself through people during breakfast or any restaurant trips. Upgrading to the premium meant discounts, free WIFI and easy access to restaurants and reservations. The presentation and attitude of the staff was great, they were very polite and caring, always trying to make sure you are okay and if there was anything they could help you out with. The location is also perfect and I wouldn’t miss this place when next I visit this part of town again. Thanks for making my stay an amazing one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyed our stay and would return!"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  BJ from Gananoque  on Feb 26, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
37 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barcelo for one week. Had great weather and went to the beach every day. The beach is beautiful like in Punta Cana. The Brazilian, Seafood, Italian and Pizzareria a la Cartes were all good. Men must wear long pants to some of them. We only went to the buffet two nights and it was okay, not great but I never went away hungry. I found it hard to get a table at breakfast some mornings and am staff very low to get coffee.

Our rooms were in a private area with its own private pool. Highly recommend this area (2302). It was close to everything. The room was very good. The only issues were that you could not shut off the a/c and the fan was rather loud; and my hot water pressure was terrible. Other than that all was great. The bed and pillows were awesome!

The band that played each evening was excellent. The entertainment after the band was the usual Caribbean entertainment.

In general the resort is well maintained and the staff were very nice. The beach vendors can be very annoying. I think they really need to do something about this.

The pools looked clean although I never went in. There were daily activities and the times were listed on the board by the entertainment area.

It was very handy to go next door to the shopping plaza. The prices over there were very good. The sports bar over there was also great. We watched the Olympic hockey games there!

All in all I would return to this hotel. This was my second stay. I stayed back in 2006 when it was an Occidental.

Room Number:
2302

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horriable trip"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth  on May 18, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
209 people found this review helpful

This was the worst trip i have ever had. The service was not good at all.Our mini bar never had beer in it we had to beg for it. Bars closed at 2 am and never opened till 10 am. The food was not very good at all always the same food...buffet was very small with not alot of variety. We stayedat BlueBay in 2009 and it was amazing and that was a smaller resort! We will never nerver never be back!!! Don't go there it is horriable!!!

Room Number:
9103

Arrival:
not greeted at all....entrance was not nice at all

Restaurants and Bars:
Italian was good and Pizza was good everything else was half cooked! No bars open after 2 am not even the disco which was not even a disco tiny dance floor not big enough for 8 people!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
shows were pretty much the same every night...notvery good at all!

Other Comments:
Staff were not very nice at all...like they had no time for us...not helpful even when my husband tipped them. It's not some place i would reccomend to anyone!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not up to Barcelo standards"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane K  on Jun 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
703 people found this review helpful

my husband and I arrived at the Barcelo Hotel in Puerto Plata on June 12, 2011, my birthday. Flight was good

Room Number:
103

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
My husband and I arrived at the Barcelo Hotel in Puerto Plata on June 12, 2011, my birthday. Flight was good. Service at Reception was disgusting. The front desk was very busy. The gentleman working the desk went to the backroom to get help. A gal came out and said, "Are you being helped?" I answered no and she walked away. I got the attention of the gentleman and he apologized and went to the "back room" again and came out with another young lady and she asked if we were being helped, I said no and she walked away to help some of her countrymen. I said, "Excuse me Miss, you were waiting on us." Her reply was, they were here first. We had been standing there for over a half hour and the guys had just walked up as she came out of the backroom. I raised my voice (something I don't usually do) and we were finally taken care of. We were asked to pay $15.00 for a safe key. Have traveled the world and never been charged to use the safe. We were sent off to our room with no "orientation" as to the amenties of the resort.

Rooms:
We were put into Room 103, Bldg 14. The room was large but in need of a face lift. TV very old. Minibar had only one bottle of water and one Coca Cola. very quickly things went downhill. On night one, we woke up sweltering-the AC had pooped out. We called and it was fixed, pretty promptly, by Maintenance. It died on the last day we were there, but by this time I was near hysterical so it didn't matter. Then, one fine day, the toilet overflowed like a tsunami-quickly called front desk and twenty minutes later the flood continued with no response. Called again, another 20 minutes passed with no assistance so my husband ran out into the courtyard and was able to find someone who helped-but not until the room was flooded with contaminated water from who knows where. Rooms were made up each day-after awhile enough towels and washcloths were left. I was bitten adt 100 times by (I hope) mosquitoes and had to buy Benadryl to stop the itching.

Restaurants and Bars:
Did not use the restaurants, only the buffet and the Grille on the beach.
The buffet was either too salty or the food had no taste at all. Some of it was unrecognizable. Many of the meat offerrings could not be swallowed as you couldn't chew them up enough to get them down. One thing tho-the Staff were super and very attentive.

The Grille had the same food everyday-dried out hot dogs and hamburgers. And a lovely board who flew around from table to table crapping whenever he felt the urge. Staff at the grill were very nice in spite of all this.

We found it safe to eat the same thing everyday: scarambled eggs and a roll and juice for breakfast, beans and dried out white rice for lunch and cold cuts and salad for dinner.

I was amazed at how tasteless the fruit was?

My husband and I do not drink as a general rule but once in awhile I like to have a pina colada. it was terrible-not made with crushed ice-just coconut mix poured over ice cubes. Yuck!!

The free drinks made for some dangerous situations. While we were there there was a domestic violence episode fueled by fire water. Drunken people and pools are also not a good combination.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are absolutely beautiful, lush, verdant and simply beautiful. The upkeep was always in progress.

The pools were great-water always nice and warm.

Beach was also very nice but the Vendors were a pain. You feel very sorry for them, but they can become a nuisance.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Were not able to participate in any activities; see other Comments

Other Comments:
On June 14th, I miss stepped leaving the Reception area and fell down the stairs and injured my left foot. Being a Nurse of 38 yrs, I knew that it probably was broken. Security were very good and very kind with getting me to the Hotel MD. I was then sent to Gregorio Hernadez Clinic Puerto Plata proper. They were waiting for me on my arrival via ambulance and I was whisked through the ER and Xray. Diagnosis: fractured left foot. I was medicated, given antithrombosis injection (for the flight home) and a half cast was applied. I was really impressed with the service.

I wasn't impressed when I returned to the hotel. No one seemed the least bit concerned that I had fallen and sustained a medium serious injury on their property. Nor did they know if they were laible (they weren't, I tripped). My husband asked about bringing me food from the buffet. He was told food could not be removed from the area. Hmm, now what was I supposed to eat for the next four days? Finally after a lot of screaming and yelling my husband was granted permission to "feed me" with the proviso that he eat his meal in the dining area!!! No one ever called to ask how I was or if I needed anything. The only staff who were very attentive were security and housekeeping.

We could not get out of there fast enough.

The Barcelo chain should not be represented by this property.

Also, their practice of letting the locals in to pay reduced rates while the guests pay full price is ridiculous.

Horrible, horrible-that front desk needs a course in Customer Satisfaction!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Below average resort"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  T.J  on Mar 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
763 people found this review helpful

My wife and i left Halifax Mar.21.7:00 am. No problem with airport,flew first class,great start,everyone happy ! Touch down Puerto Plata just after 10.Airport very user friendly,very quick. Hotel check-in... nightmare,one girl working Transat counter,took too long.Fellow vacationers were like angry mob,bad start of vacations. Ederly lady ahead of us,wanted room changed to first floor,we had first floor room .. so we switched,out of respect for age.Big mistake,lady wanted different first floor room than we offered,but too late for us.We couldn't get original room back, no problemo.. until 5p.m we finally gotten room. Didn't really worry,we're on vacation.Upgrade to prestege class,waste of money.Fruit basket means warm fruit on plate covered with clear wrap.Fruit fly thingies (wingless) loved it! So much so, had to fumagate our entire unit 2 days later.I hope DDT is banned in D.R. OK " we're on vacation" At Barcelo resort,wealthy Dominicans can buy inclusive day or weekend passes( not sure of fee's)who then it seems to have priority for services.Lots of french Quebec guests,some rude,most not.Don't bother to learn Spanish ,learn French,communication easier.Food at buffet too repeatitive,and way too salty.Wait staff very friendly and fast.Al-carte restaurants were O.k.Brazillian rest. sword skewers of meat,and meat,and more meat,felt like rock in stomach when finished.Other al-carte's OK. Disco... don't bother,way too dark.Only lights are flashing strobe,felt nausas and dizzy.Music good 3-4 American dance songs 7-8 spanish beat music( not good beats)Pool was too quiet,we don't want spring break crazy,but something in background would've been nice.( maybe Spanish beat music,lol)Beach clean,water warmer than pool,except motor oil from excursion boats floating with you.Entertainment was good,starts late9:30 over at 10:30-11 ,then nothing,except disco.Lots of seniors there,so felt like retirement home,not being disrespectful but I mean 75 plus.

Room Number:
310

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Airport -Quick , Check-in very slow

Rooms:
Air too cold first day,then stopped working. Fruitfly thingies everywhere. cd player/alarm clock doesn't play burnt cd's.Bed ( 2 3/4 beds pulled together) too short,I'm 5'10 and feet over hang, from ankles on.Fridge not cold enough,no adjustment.2 Coke 2Sprite 2 water 1 beer. Maid service very good,cleaned daily about 3p.m

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby bar too quiet,no music. Bar service terrible.Table service excellent,she had to make her own drinks too,I hope she didn't share her tips.Carmen,wonderful server,practiced some Spanish with her,gave me the short terms of speech.Very nice.Makes an awesome latte.Evening lobby bar servive ,after show... don't bother unless you can find a spot at bar counter and speak Spanish and look like Dom. super model.Pool bar busy,locals have one side of bar,tourists have other.Room for for 4 customers on tourist side.Ask for drink(in English)if they don't understand you get rum/coke.Above pool bar,snack bar excellant,no problems with drinks and snacks.Show bar closed as soon as show finished.If you're waiting at that time...too bad-closed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean,some sellers ,not too bothersome.Lots of chairs,find them early though.You can buy them with your fridge drinks the day before though,offer your drinks for chairs the next day,even security with help you with that,or money. Pool chilly until 11, closes at 6p.m a little early i think.Ground very mature growth and clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
same pool activities every 3 hours.Night time shows were o k some funny,some not.did Puerto Plata /Sousa beach tour.Should call it shopping tour,every where you visited,something(usually same things) for sale.Guide "Andy" very informative and very personable.

Other Comments:
Thinking problem is ... We've stayed at Melia ,Punta Cana 5* last vacation,and compared Barcelo to it. Barcelo 3.5* not 4 ,and certainly not 5*

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick  on Mar 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
794 people found this review helpful

We spent a week at this resort in 2008 and were very imprespred hench our return in 2011. The staff is as great as they were the first time but the guests have gone down hill. The Quebec French are more ignorant than last time as far as treating the staff like crap and the local visitors are just as bad.
We booked a trip and it became controled by Quebecers, not fun if you are an English speeking Canadian avoid this resort and Transat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not bad, Could be better"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jo-Ann  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
753 people found this review helpful

I have read so many reviews on the Barcelo. Most of which are true.
With just a few improvements this could easily be a 4.5 to a 5 star.
ROOMS
We had a group of 13 of us, we were all in the same building #10. If you want to go to bed before 11:00 ask to be moved. You are right by the entertainment. We were fine with it. Some nights we went to bed early and slept through it.
The rooms were dated but how much are you in them.
SERVICE
The service was good, always got what you asked for. It may be on Dominican time but you always got it. We had to wait for beach towels the first day but then we had no problem.
FOOD
The food was a lot of sea food. Not good for some picky teenagers. I myself had no problem. I can live off salad and pasta.
Some of us did not enjoy the Italian at all. The stuffed chicken was great. The ceasar salad was very fishy I do not like fish at all.
The Brazilian was great they gave me all the salad I wanted you will eat lots of meat. The beef was very rare I could not eat it.
Most of the time we did lunch at the buffet it had more variety.
BEACH
The beach was amazing.
The first day we had a problem getting chairs but we did not get to the beach till 11:00.
After that we had no problem because we were down there by 9:00.
Lots of vendors, we stayed at the Grand Vantana 8 years ago and new what the vendors were like but these were to much they were all over the place.
POOL
We would move up to the pool around 1:00 and still had no problem getting chairs.
Swim up bar excellent had drinks all the time.
DRINKS
We had lots of them!!!!! If the machine that had the slushy drink mix was not working they would use ice and a blender.
ACTIVITIES
We wanted to do archery so we found out when it was. We had to bug them to do this they . Now we know why it was a mickey mouse arrangement. We had to help them set up the target in front of a pad (not very big) in front of a large cement wall.
The arrows most of them did not have tips on them and by the time we were done with this there was only one arrow left to use.
If we missed the target the arrows would bounce back at us from the cement wall we had fun but it was dangerous.

I would say 85% of the people that were at this resort were English speaking we could talk to almost everybody. That was great.
There are a lot of smoking. I guess we are spoiled here with our great laws. It was all over the place. But not in the restraints.

Now would we go back. Probably not. We like to try different places. It was not the best place we have been to.

Room Number:
10110

Room Block:
10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"the best"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nana  on Dec 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
769 people found this review helpful

i stayed at barcello resort from 12-9-2010 to 12-14-2010. I had the best time. the food, staff, entertainment is the best. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. I will definitely stay there again

Room Number:
11-203

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
it was chile so I didnt go to the pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Long anticipated vacation ruined - buyer BEWARE"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  chris  on Oct 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
781 people found this review helpful

I'll keep this long nightmare of a story as short as possible. We were robbed, literally. The 2nd night at the resort, we had all of our cash, our credit cards, and our driver licenses stolen from our room. The items were hidden inside of clothing, which was placed inside dresser drawers and inside our luggage. Guest Services & security more-or-less treated us as criminals rather than victims. They even tore apart our room (even dismantled the bed) looking for the items, or rather ensuring that we weren't lying to them. "Why didn't you use the lock-box?, you ask. We tried, twice: once before the robbery, and once afterward. Both times, the guest services employees told us, "we're sorry but the keys aren't available yet. Please come back later." Huh? The remainder of our 8 day "vacation" was spent having meetings with resort personnel continually rescheduled, filing police reports in Puerto Plata (against Guest Service's wishes), waiting for some resolution to the resort's "investigation", trying to work with our local travel reps., and being watched very closely. Did I mention that we carried every valuable item we still possessed everywhere we went, because we weren't granted the luxury of having a key for our lock-box? We wouldn't even leave our sun glasses on the dining table in order to visit the buffet. We didn't receive so much as an apology until the day before our departure, and that came from the resort director himself. There's so much more to tell, but would it matter?

Arrival:
The expected mass-confusion, but not bad. I feel sorry for the employees at the front desk... it seems nothing they need to be able to work efficiently is located at the desk. They CONTINUOUSLY have to walk into an office located behind the desk to verify reservations, obtain documentations, get room keys, etc.

Rooms:
The first room we were in had many issues: A/C didn't work, mini-fridge didn't work, electrical hazards, the A/C in the room below ours worked so well that our tiled bathroom floor formed condensation which created a dangerous/slippery surface, the ceiling fan was mounted so poorly that we were afraid to leave it running. We honestly thought it was going to fly off the ceiling it wobbled so badly. The second room we were placed in was comfortable, minus the whole "being robbed of everything" problem. I guess we should count ourselves lucky.... they did leave our passports so that we could leave the country.

Restaurants and Bars:
Seafood - excellent. Brazilian - Excellent, if you really like meat. If not, stay away from this one. Italian - Excellent. Pizzeria - disappointing. Quite frankly, the pizza from the buffet was better. Mexican - we didn't try this one.

The "grille" located closest to the beach wasn't good at all. We even witnessed birds eating from the buffet tables... I didn't know birds would like rice. :)

The "grille" located near the pool was ok: however, most of the food wasn't kept warm enough.

The buffet was very good at any time of day. The only complaint I would have is the access to the buffet tables was somewhat restricted. I witnessed a LOT of near-miss collisions between guests and employees.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool: during the week, very nice, for the most part. On the weekends, many locals vacation at the resort, and the pool becomes overrun. If I was the resort directory, I'd remove the bar from the pool. There were way too many intoxicated adults "hanging" at the pool all day long.

Beach: nice. Nothing too noteworthy, good or bad, to report. The beaches in Punta Cana are much nicer, but the beaches here weren't bad. The large number of vendors is a bit annoying.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Be very careful when deciding to purchase excursions. We chose one, and it did not deliver. We chose the full-day Puerto Plata tour. The tour bus was 45 minutes late picking us up, and had us back to the resort in just over 4 hours. Half the "stops" were missed, the promised lunch never happened, and the tour guide was obnoxious (beware of hotelbeds tour company).

Nightly entertainment was very good, in my opinion.

Kids activities: I have a 5 year old, and to be honest, I wouldn't consider taking her to this resort. I'm not sure how they can get away with advertising as a "family resort". The kids club? What kids club? The kids activities consist of 45 minutes of dancing to kids songs, every night. They do have a small, segragated, pool for kids, but just as many adults use it as children.

Daytime/Pool activities... Uuum, I saw the schedule, but I rarely saw these activities taking place... perhaps 4 or 5 activities (total) during the 8 days we were here.

Other Comments:
If we hadn't been robbed, and hadn't had to deal with the persecution that followed, I would probably recommend this resort for adult vacations. Unfortunately, having this happen to us really allowed us to see exactly how the resort thinks of its guests. My conscience simply can not recommend this resort to anyone.

If you do decide to stay here, do yourself a favor... DON'T LEAVE THE FRONT DESK UNTIL YOU HAVE A LOCK-BOX KEY IN YOUR POSSESSION - NO EXCEPTIONS!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"terrible"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  rouseouse  on Sep 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
816 people found this review helpful

the costumer service is bad, and they don't care about you since you are in the hotel, the pools were dirty also one was broken for 3 days, the lock on my door was broken we were locked out for one night they couldn't fix it 'till next day, unfortunatly that night was raining they gave us a another room which the bathroom and the bed were dirty and it was leaking water from the roof all night.

Rooms:
in need renovation

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
none

Other Comments:
it was a big mistake to go to this hotel , next time we will make a better choice...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube