Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Barcelo Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

3.9 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2016

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

Barcelo Puerto Plata  

Playa Dorada , Puerto Plata P.O.Box 547, República Dominicana

"great attitude from the staff"
Posted by: carey on Jul 7, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Barcelo Puerto Plata Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#6
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 2.6

Based on 24 reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Information


The Barceló Puerto Plata is located on the north coast, in Playa Dorada, famous for its calm blue waters, beautiful landscapes and fine sand.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.6 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  5
Average
  10
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"The entertainment at night was great for kids and adults."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
409 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Trip from Toronto to hotel was very long as we were delayed in Toronto for 4 hours, upon arrival at airport very quickly went through customs no problem, looked for our bus very well organized very informative on the bus ride to the hotel.

Rooms:
As we were late arriving our rooms were ready for us very clean we were in the prestige rooms bathrobe and slippers were there for us, beds were turned down everynight bar was well stocked, had problem with toilet phoned down was fixed in no time

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet and all of the al la cartes, snack bars, pizza bar were excellent, food was well cooked atmosphere was very nice in all al la cartes...SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They were always cleaning the grounds no garbage was anywhere very efficient in picking up anyy plastic glassses around the pool and even on the beach. You could walk on the beach for miles....it was hard finding chairs but that is at any resort...vendors on the beach not bothersome you said no they did not pressure anyone to buy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our kids went on the dune buggy tour for 3 hours in the rain had a fantastic time would do it again in a second

Other Comments:
I found this resort to be very entertaining no one got sickwhich is wonderful and says a lot for any hotel in that area as I have been to the Dominican before and always got sick, there was 5 of us no one got sick everyone and a wonderful time, service was fantastic, rooms very clean, security excellent felt very safe when you were even out walking around the complex after dark.
There entertainment at night was great for kids and adults, the staff that entertained with different events during the day were fantastic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I liked this resort although I wasn't in love with it."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Julie, Regina  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) SOUTH GEORGIA AND THE SOUTH SANDWICH ISLANDS
Visited on: Jan, 2009
429 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 23 - 29
We left the Regina airport knowing that a long trip awaited, as we had to sto pto pick up Saskatoon passengers before heading out on the 6 1/2 hour flight to Puerto Plata. All we went well on the Skyservice flight, which was booked with Transat Holidays.

We saw on the television screens we were flying over the Dominican Republic -- odd, since Puerto Plata is right on the north coast. We were told it was raining too hard in Puerto Plata for the flight to land, and so we were diverted to La Romana, another tourist destination located in the southeast corner of the island.

We had to stay overnight and wait in the airport the entire next day until being flown to Santo Domingo and bussed 6 hours to Puerto Plata.

Arrival at the Barcelo wasn't as smooth as I assume it usually is. We were all arriving at an unscheduled time, and guests who couldn't leave Puerto Plata on account of rain were staying an extra night. We didn't get the room requested, but it was clean.

Rooms:
We stayed in 10-122 and it didn't have the greatest view (of a fence) but was quite close to everything, which we enjoyed. The room was a little tired overall. Some days we would get snacks (chocolate bar and chips) and other days we wouldn't. Your room wouldn't get cleaned unless you left a sign on the door and sometimes we forgot and had to call for the room to be cleaned later on, and they came promptly. The TV and mini-bar worked fine,but the hot water wasn't great until about the fourth day.

Restaurants
The buffet was pretty good. The best was the individually-made omlettes in the morning or pasta at lunch or supper. Some nights there were different themes to mix things up. The snack bar by the pool was great during the day, with really good burgers and fries. At night food was out at the disco, which was the same sort of food and great to have. The a la carte restaurants were awesome. There are five on the resort, but we only tried three. All had a few courses and brought lots of appetizers until your main course. The Mexican and Italian were great -- the food expected, and the Oriental was amazing. Be sure to book as early as possible to get into the restaurants you want. The Seafood grill was on the beach and supposed to be good, and the Brazilian restaurant we heard was good if you liked meat. Important -- men must wear long pants and closed shoes to the a la cartes. Whichever restaurant we were ate, the service was absolutely excellent and often servers would go the extra mile to make the dinner great for you.

Bars
There was a lobby bar all day, a beach bar, a swim up bar, and a bar near the theatre at night.

Photos: http://www.tpiworldwide.com/JulieFolkTPI/gallery.asp

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Every day we would hear about people getting robbed."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ann, Canada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
462 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 4 - Feb 11
Did not have to wait long for luggage. Found bus and 15 min drive to resort.

Rooms: Not well kept old and worn down. Toilet broke, tv not working until 4th day into stay fixed after talking to guest services, dimly lit no bulbs in lamp , bulb above bed not working but miraculously starting working after talking to guest services without changing bulb. Hot water sporadic at times. No replacements of towels last 2 days of stay. Called guest services 3 times and finally had to go down and speak in person to get towels. Beds made but not changed during entire stay. Safe in room but heard many people in building had safe and rooms broken into, money and electronics stolen. So we did not feel safe leaving passports and money in room. We stayed in building 11. It backed onto the woods with fence behind.

Restaurants and Bars: 1 buffet (jimmy's buffet) and 4 ala carte restarants. Food very bland and very similiar every day. Fruit questionable at times. Especially bananas. Had only 2 good meals during entire stay. Thank god for omelettes at breakfast! Also alot of people used pasta bar. Recommend Japanese and Mexican a la carte but very hard to get into. Serice not great service not too attentive. The best service first day there and went downhill from there. Bar service was pretty good but we tipped well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds: Pool nice but we had only 2 hrs of sun over 7days. It rained alot.... We were surprised to see beach littered with garbage at 1130 am Thought could be better maintained. Red flag every day, swim at own risk. Not a place for small children as undertow. No paddle boats etc none in sight. We were looking forward to walking to beach but it was very short. The best thing was the sound of the ocean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: Big problem! It rained for 7 days straight only 2 hrs of sun/pool time. You would think animation team would have lots of activities but did nothing most of time. People waiting around for activities. It was very boring during day. Loved the evening show ,the dancers were great. They work really hard and they were compensated with a good tip on our last day. They had a lot of audience participation activities which we enjoyed. Went to Sousa once which we enjoyed but know you will be hassled to buy something and went on jeep safar with Angel. Had a great time going to countryside to see poor. We brought lots of toys,school supplies, hats for children. It was the highlight of our trip. I recommend bringing supplies for these people as they are very poor. Went to nice beach on excursion which was nicer than resort beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not be afraid to recomend it to my best friends."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  France, New brunswick  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
457 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 12 to 26
Flew from Quebec City via Can Jet, plane left 2h late due to bad weather. Verry good service on plane. 30 lugages were left in Quebec and only arrived the next day. We had some thing to change from our travel cloth in carry ons so it was not a problem. Trip to the hotel was fast and plesent. Cool drink upon arrival,and fairly quick to cheek in.

Rooms
Got our room 30 min later. Were satisfied with it so did not have to change. The room was very clean and every thing worked well. Cleaning lady or ladies, (diferent lady at night when they come to get the room ready for sleep, and change the towels a second time) are very efficient and do a good job always clean, and they leave face cloth. They work very hard to satisfy you.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants were good we went to all of the a la carte and the pizeria and were verry satisfied . the buffet is also good especialy at supper time, they change theme every night so the menu changes. In the morning the omelets are verry good. At noon time it is more repetetive but that is ok the choice is quite bigger at the buffet than at the beach or pool restauraunt. The pizeria is an excelent place to have a meal their calzone is the best I have had in the south.The bars are very good and bartenders always have a smile(tips or no tips). My favourite drink was a caipirinha.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is nice wide and endless to walk, booth ways. The water was warm and a nice turquoise color after a few days. When we first arrived it had been raining for the last few days and the water was not very calm and full of sand so it was rather brown. Every morning workers were comming to gather the sea weeds that the sea had left on the beach during the night. Workers woul pick the glasses and straws that vacationers had not have the sense to put in the garbege. The grounds wer juse immaculate, gardners every day would trim the trees and lawns.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to the Isabella Mountain by way of the Teleferique, it was breath taking worth every penny, it was my 3rd time in Puerto Plata and I had not yet done that activity, now I am very glad I did you have to do it just for the view from the top of the mountain. If you are afraid of the Teleferique you can go by car.

Other Comments
Was a little septique before going because of the age of the resort... I should not have wasted tome wondering, it is in good shape they are repainting and fixing every thing that is in need. I would not be afraid to recomend it to my best friends. The entertainment is also very good they have the best band consisting of 10 members. I missed the small 3 member bands at the a la carte restauraunts though.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had an extremely relaxing trip."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
492 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 26 to Mar. 12
Arrival was speedy and efficient, only a 20 minute ride to the resort, our rooms were ready and waiting.

Rooms
Rooms were spacious, clean and modern-- very nice. Mini bar was stocked every day with Coke, Sprite, water, Presidente Beer. They even left a small bag of chips and a chocolate bar each day. A small bottle of premium Barcelo rum and a fruit plate was delivered upon arrival. They also offered 'Turn Down' service every evening - a nice touch!

Restaurants and Bars
Food was very good- NOT spectacular, especially the a la cartes. The Oriental was excellant as was the Mexican, Brazillian and Itallian. The bars have good service with refreshing Presidente beer on tap. The best drink for us was a 'Tai Pina', basicly a Mojito without the mint.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool was huge with a waterfall and swim up bar. The lounges were reserved early as they also were on the beach. You have to get up early if you want shade.
The beach (Playa Dorada) is very nice with mountains and palm trees making a spectacular vista. Keep in mind that the beach sand is light brown instead of white as it is in Punta Cana.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Lots of trips available but are quite expensive, we chose to stay on the resort. There was lots to do there if you desired, beach vollyball, games, aerobics etc.
The evening entertainment was by far the best we have ever seen in the DR. a live 10 piece band, 4 singers, 10 dancers --NO lip syncing here!

Other Comments
We had an extremely relaxing trip and will be returning, obviously we will also highly reccomend this resort to our friends. This property is spotless with a very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were highly deceived!"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gilbert, Montreal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
454 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2009
Barely a 3 stars

We spent a 2 weeks vacations at the Barcelo Peurto Plata last March, and unfortunetly were highly deceived. We have been in D.R. 5 times now, and in various Barcelo's hotel 4 times. But this one doesn't live up to Barcelo Premium standards. I can't beleive you are giving this hotel a 5 stars rating !

Rooms:

The rooms are old and in need of some investment. The rooms were supposed to have been renovated ! Changing the curtains can't be called a renovation, but that's all that was done. We had a large suite on the ground level in building 8. It's was generally OK but no more. The bed was long overdue for a trip to the garbage bin. It was very uncomfortable, and the maid didn't bother to get king size sheets for the bed. So we ended up with sheet to short for the bed. We complained about it and a supervisor came to fix the sheets, but it was back to square one a few days later when they changed the sheets again.
Our bathroom had a drainage problem, so by the time we were done taking 2 showers, the bath was half full of water. Hot water what not always available either. Building 8 was supposed to be noisy because of the Coco Bongo disco across the street. Well the room air conditionner is so noisy, it covers up the disco noise. One advice, bring ear plugs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Since we had the Transat Premium package, we should have had garanteed reservations at the specialty restaurant. The hotel management didn't seem to care about it, so we had to get in line every morning like everyone else the get a reservation. The food at the buffet was OK, but not great. The service is lousy at best, and we frequently had to deserve our table ouselves to make room, since the tables are small and the place crowded. Wine, both red or white is terrible, but I never found acceptable wine at any Barcelo. The general conscensus in our group about the specialty restaurant is way below average. The Mexican and Asian are OK, but the Italian and Brasilian are awfull. In fact in the Italian restaurant, it's the first time I saw a ceasar salad that was brown ! At the sea food you have to pay 20 $ U.S. for lobster, but it was avaible all you can eat for free at the buffet on Friday's ! Go figure this one. We could not try the pizzeria, since it's an open air !
terrace, and was open only weather permitting. In our case we had 10 and half days of cloud, rain and win, so no luck.
Bar service is very variable, and they use the lowest quality alcool they can find.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff here is great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Helena, NS  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
564 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 11 - 18
Hotel is only 15mins from airport so you don't lose a lot of time in transportation. Check-in was uneventful, needed to wait for ~1 hour for room to be avail. but 3:00 check-in is pretty standard. Our bathing suits were in our hand baggage so just a quick changer-oo and then off to the pool we went!

Rooms
It is what I affectionately refer to as Dominican 4* (not to be confused with North American 4*). Rooms were slightly dated, some minor repairs needed, but clean and with all the amenities we needed. Fridge in room was stocked with H2O, Beer and pop, plus coffee maker. Hair dryer, and bedside clock were also handy. Housekeeping was a little inconsistent in keeping it filled but no biggie. When asked, they were quick to respond.

Restaurants and Bars
just keep in mind - you don't go to the DR to get the same as what you eat at home! Accept that it is going to be different and you will be fine! LOTS of choices to meet everyone's tastes. The Oriental is hard to get a res at because there's only about 30 seats. The Brazilian is extra fun as the meat is cooked on a long sword-like skewer which they present at your table and serve from. The pizza place is really good - pizza's are made to order in a genuine pizza oven! yum~

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is cleaned daily, pools were immaculate and groundskeepers were always busy. The usual towel games take place every morning with people 'reserving' their chaises early in the am by placing towels, books on them. Seemed to be plenty of chaises to go around, I guess if you were really picky about where you wanted to lay for the day this would be an idea...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Catamaran day tour with Banana Republic Party Cat. See 'Hector the Protector' on the beach for a good deal. We could've went with AC Vacations at $84/pp but Hector had the exact same tour for $64! We gave him a deposit and paid the remainder on the day of the tour. We also asked him to show us a previous client to get their feedback (which he found for us!) and it was all good. Pick up at 0900 and back by 1530. Sail to the snorkeling area, swim/snorkel, eat lunch then more snorkeling at another location. Great thing to do for the day. The Playa Dorado complex 'mall' is right next door if you want to do a little shopping, $ exchange, etc.

Other Comments
TIP! The staff here is great. Very pleasant and eager to please. Bring a few bills to leave behind to show your appreciation.
You will get asked on the beach for souvenirs, hair braiding, time share, etc. A simple no gracias will usually do.
If you do buy something, remember to haggle - it's expected!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An okay holiday but I would not go back."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle,BC  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
482 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12th
After landing it was quick getting to the resort which was nice as it is a 7 hour flight for us. Our check in was quick but not very friendly or inviting. there was no welcome drink and they just herded you through without barely a hello. You were then told to wait over there for someone to take you to your room which took about 15 minutes.

Rooms
Our room was in building 14 on the second floor and it was very basic.The balcony was nice and large and it had 2 double beds that were very hard!Our first problem that arose was the toilet didn't work. We had to wait till the next morning to get someone to come and fix it.There is a mini fridge in the room with bottles of pop 2 water and 2 beer. We wanted to have a pop but there was no opener so we phoned down and they said they would send one up but it never arrived. Also they have coffee in the rooms but no cream and it was also very difficult to get someone to bring some. It took 2 days!

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet at this resort is very small and the food was always cold! The only thing that we enjoyed was the fruit, cheese and fresh omelettes. They also had a guy that does pasta in the evenings.

We tried 3 of the Al A Cartes. The Brazillian was awful! Cold Rice and lots of very tough meat. The only thing good there was the salad and buns.Next we went to the Seafood Restarant which was okay We didn't try the seafood as anything that I wanted (lobster,crab,scallops) was all around $18.00 extra so we just got the mushroom steak which was petty good. The last one we tried was the Italian. This was good we had Ceasar Salad ,Lasagna. and chocolate Mousse for dessert. We had 2 more that we could have got into but they were all booked solid so the last night instead of the buffet again we went over to the complex and had Pizza Hut! The bars were all good and the bartenders were always friendly.You never had to wait to long to get your drink which was nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach and pools were nice but you could never get a chair! Everyone at this resort does the chair saving thing. It really is aggravating.We ended up just removeing towels and not once did the people come back before we were ready to leave so if you want a seat this is the only way unless you get up before 7:00 am to reserve your own.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Ocean World which we really enjoyed but 5 hours is about all you need there. We spent the last 1 1/2 just sitting having a beer.

Other Comments
Overall it was an okay holiday but I would not go back to this resort as it is definittly not a 4 star. I would give it a 3 star rating and that is pushing it abit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The atmosphere of the resort was great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tracy, Vancouver  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
481 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12
The arrival was alright, I had a friend that was already at the resort so she was able to show me where to go to check in for the premium guests. There was a bit of confusion as she had already checked in but the staff were able to figure everything out after a couple of minutes and have me sign the contact and get my wristband. When we got into the room our fruit plate and rum were waiting for us.

Rooms
The room were great for what we needed them for, Sleep! We didn't stay in our room very much as we were outside enjoying the sunshine. We did request 2 beds however when we got into the room there was one big giant bed. We didn't bother asking to change rooms as the bed was huge and it wasn't a problem. The room also had a very nice balcony overlooking the other buildings. The bathroom was your average bathroom sink, toilet and shower. Make sure to put both curtains in the bathtub when your having a shower, we made that mistake and there was water everywhere. We didn't have any problems with anything breaking or was broken when we were arrived so we were very happy with the rooms.

Restaurants and Bars
The a la cart restaurants were to die for, We were able to try every one and enjoyed them all equally. Make sure on your first day to go and book your reservations as it does book up very quickly. If i had to pick a favorite it would be the oriental it was amazing and also very hard to get into so book it right away. The buffet was also very good, we loved the omelet station in the morning it does create a bit of a line up however it's worth it, they were very yummy. I found that the buffet was always changing, yes there were some of the same things everyday however they did change the hot food a lot and we found that there was quite a variety. The buffet is huge there including a very yummy dessert section for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bars were really great, we became friends with a couple of the bar tenders so they knew what we drank as soon as we would come up to the bar. I found that they were happy if they were getting tipped or not getting tipped and you never felt pressure to tip. We waited until the last day and gave our bartender a really big tip and some merchandise from Canada. The lobby bar is quite busy at times but i found if you headed over to the theater bar it was less busy. The swim up bar got crowded at times but there was always a place to squeeze in and order a drink.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We sure had a great time."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  TK, Hamilton  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
578 people found this review helpful

The check in was pretty quick and painless, although no one there told anyone about the “Premium” check in which was around the corner from the main reception. I only knew to check there after reading other reviews here, so a big GRACIAS to those that mentioned it!!!. Of course our rooms were not ready until 3pm but we were poolside and enjoying ourselves within 20-30 minutes of arrival. We were located in Building 10 on the top floor overlooking the pool. I was concerned as it was right beside the entertainment area, and was concerned about the noise, but it ended up being just fine as they always finished by 11 and then it was quiet. It was a very spacious room with high vaulted ceilings, 2 comfortable beds with 4 pillows to choose from, what decadence. The bathroom was quite large and spotless and we had trouble getting hot water the first night, but I think that was because the hotel was so full as we had no problem after that. Another nice touch to the Premium package was we had a bottle of rum and fruit tray waiting in the room; we also got snacks left, it wasn’t much but some days that chocolate and chips were just perfect and we also got turndown service and fresh towels each night.

We encountered a problem right away with our room or rather with the door to our room, the deadbolt lock would not lock. I’m not sure if it was from humidity or what, but we got one of the room maids that was in the hallway and she put in a call to maintenance, and he was there in no time and fixed the door. I was impressed with such quick service, so in the first few hours they really set the tone for the service we were to receive the whole week there. The staff was just awesome, friendly, accommodating and really made the resort!!! The bartenders were awesome: Front lobby- Roman and Aristalco who made “mi bibidos especial” every day; Swim up bar -Leo; Pool bar - Placido & Jeffrey and I can’t forget Nelson the chef at the pool snack bar. He greeted up with hugs/kisses everyday and told us what was on the menu for lunch and would search high & low for salsa picante for us. Faustino down at the beach bar/restaurant was always there to fill up our drink or water glasses at lunch.

I thought the resort was nicely laid out, with gardens, walkways, especially down to the beach there was a lovely fountain area. The pool & surrounding area was one of the nicest I’ve been to. The pool itself was huge and kept clean, and it was easily accessible with the sloped in area, a great swim up bar and even a waterfall. There always seemed to be plenty of chairs around, and yes I did reserve chairs at 6am, but I wanted good positioned chairs in the sun, I didn’t’ want to be anywhere near the palapas. It was also nice that the deck around the pool didn’t get so hot in the afternoon, you could still walk around in barefeet.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube