Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Barcelo Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

4.0 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2014

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

Barcelo Puerto Plata  

Playa Dorada , Puerto Plata P.O.Box 547, República Dominicana

"great attitude from the staff"
Posted by: carey on Jul 7, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Barcelo Puerto Plata Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#6
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 2.6

Based on 24 reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Information


The Barceló Puerto Plata is located on the north coast, in Playa Dorada, famous for its calm blue waters, beautiful landscapes and fine sand.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.6 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  5
Average
  10
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"Every day we would hear about people getting robbed."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann, Canada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
255 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 4 - Feb 11
Did not have to wait long for luggage. Found bus and 15 min drive to resort.

Rooms: Not well kept old and worn down. Toilet broke, tv not working until 4th day into stay fixed after talking to guest services, dimly lit no bulbs in lamp , bulb above bed not working but miraculously starting working after talking to guest services without changing bulb. Hot water sporadic at times. No replacements of towels last 2 days of stay. Called guest services 3 times and finally had to go down and speak in person to get towels. Beds made but not changed during entire stay. Safe in room but heard many people in building had safe and rooms broken into, money and electronics stolen. So we did not feel safe leaving passports and money in room. We stayed in building 11. It backed onto the woods with fence behind.

Restaurants and Bars: 1 buffet (jimmy's buffet) and 4 ala carte restarants. Food very bland and very similiar every day. Fruit questionable at times. Especially bananas. Had only 2 good meals during entire stay. Thank god for omelettes at breakfast! Also alot of people used pasta bar. Recommend Japanese and Mexican a la carte but very hard to get into. Serice not great service not too attentive. The best service first day there and went downhill from there. Bar service was pretty good but we tipped well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds: Pool nice but we had only 2 hrs of sun over 7days. It rained alot.... We were surprised to see beach littered with garbage at 1130 am Thought could be better maintained. Red flag every day, swim at own risk. Not a place for small children as undertow. No paddle boats etc none in sight. We were looking forward to walking to beach but it was very short. The best thing was the sound of the ocean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: Big problem! It rained for 7 days straight only 2 hrs of sun/pool time. You would think animation team would have lots of activities but did nothing most of time. People waiting around for activities. It was very boring during day. Loved the evening show ,the dancers were great. They work really hard and they were compensated with a good tip on our last day. They had a lot of audience participation activities which we enjoyed. Went to Sousa once which we enjoyed but know you will be hassled to buy something and went on jeep safar with Angel. Had a great time going to countryside to see poor. We brought lots of toys,school supplies, hats for children. It was the highlight of our trip. I recommend bringing supplies for these people as they are very poor. Went to nice beach on excursion which was nicer than resort beach.

Other Comments: Safety was a big issue on this resort! Every day we would hear about people getting robbed, safes broken into money stolen. We did not feel safe. It was dimly lit. So don't walk by self if female. We had security guards at our building but they seemed to lurk outside our door on 3rd floor. Always heard security did nothing for people who were robbed even tried to intimidate them. So be careful! Overall we were not happy with our stay at this resort. We are not picky people. This was my first time to a resort and my friend has gone to several. It is a 2-2.5 star not a 4 star spend the extra $200-$300 and go somewhere else. You will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Long anticipated vacation ruined - buyer BEWARE"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  chris  on Oct 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
795 people found this review helpful

I'll keep this long nightmare of a story as short as possible. We were robbed, literally. The 2nd night at the resort, we had all of our cash, our credit cards, and our driver licenses stolen from our room. The items were hidden inside of clothing, which was placed inside dresser drawers and inside our luggage. Guest Services & security more-or-less treated us as criminals rather than victims. They even tore apart our room (even dismantled the bed) looking for the items, or rather ensuring that we weren't lying to them. "Why didn't you use the lock-box?, you ask. We tried, twice: once before the robbery, and once afterward. Both times, the guest services employees told us, "we're sorry but the keys aren't available yet. Please come back later." Huh? The remainder of our 8 day "vacation" was spent having meetings with resort personnel continually rescheduled, filing police reports in Puerto Plata (against Guest Service's wishes), waiting for some resolution to the resort's "investigation", trying to work with our local travel reps., and being watched very closely. Did I mention that we carried every valuable item we still possessed everywhere we went, because we weren't granted the luxury of having a key for our lock-box? We wouldn't even leave our sun glasses on the dining table in order to visit the buffet. We didn't receive so much as an apology until the day before our departure, and that came from the resort director himself. There's so much more to tell, but would it matter?

Arrival:
The expected mass-confusion, but not bad. I feel sorry for the employees at the front desk... it seems nothing they need to be able to work efficiently is located at the desk. They CONTINUOUSLY have to walk into an office located behind the desk to verify reservations, obtain documentations, get room keys, etc.

Rooms:
The first room we were in had many issues: A/C didn't work, mini-fridge didn't work, electrical hazards, the A/C in the room below ours worked so well that our tiled bathroom floor formed condensation which created a dangerous/slippery surface, the ceiling fan was mounted so poorly that we were afraid to leave it running. We honestly thought it was going to fly off the ceiling it wobbled so badly. The second room we were placed in was comfortable, minus the whole "being robbed of everything" problem. I guess we should count ourselves lucky.... they did leave our passports so that we could leave the country.

Restaurants and Bars:
Seafood - excellent. Brazilian - Excellent, if you really like meat. If not, stay away from this one. Italian - Excellent. Pizzeria - disappointing. Quite frankly, the pizza from the buffet was better. Mexican - we didn't try this one.

The "grille" located closest to the beach wasn't good at all. We even witnessed birds eating from the buffet tables... I didn't know birds would like rice. :)

The "grille" located near the pool was ok: however, most of the food wasn't kept warm enough.

The buffet was very good at any time of day. The only complaint I would have is the access to the buffet tables was somewhat restricted. I witnessed a LOT of near-miss collisions between guests and employees.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool: during the week, very nice, for the most part. On the weekends, many locals vacation at the resort, and the pool becomes overrun. If I was the resort directory, I'd remove the bar from the pool. There were way too many intoxicated adults "hanging" at the pool all day long.

Beach: nice. Nothing too noteworthy, good or bad, to report. The beaches in Punta Cana are much nicer, but the beaches here weren't bad. The large number of vendors is a bit annoying.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Be very careful when deciding to purchase excursions. We chose one, and it did not deliver. We chose the full-day Puerto Plata tour. The tour bus was 45 minutes late picking us up, and had us back to the resort in just over 4 hours. Half the "stops" were missed, the promised lunch never happened, and the tour guide was obnoxious (beware of hotelbeds tour company).

Nightly entertainment was very good, in my opinion.

Kids activities: I have a 5 year old, and to be honest, I wouldn't consider taking her to this resort. I'm not sure how they can get away with advertising as a "family resort". The kids club? What kids club? The kids activities consist of 45 minutes of dancing to kids songs, every night. They do have a small, segragated, pool for kids, but just as many adults use it as children.

Daytime/Pool activities... Uuum, I saw the schedule, but I rarely saw these activities taking place... perhaps 4 or 5 activities (total) during the 8 days we were here.

Other Comments:
If we hadn't been robbed, and hadn't had to deal with the persecution that followed, I would probably recommend this resort for adult vacations. Unfortunately, having this happen to us really allowed us to see exactly how the resort thinks of its guests. My conscience simply can not recommend this resort to anyone.

If you do decide to stay here, do yourself a favor... DON'T LEAVE THE FRONT DESK UNTIL YOU HAVE A LOCK-BOX KEY IN YOUR POSSESSION - NO EXCEPTIONS!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not up to Barcelo standards"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane K  on Jun 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
719 people found this review helpful

my husband and I arrived at the Barcelo Hotel in Puerto Plata on June 12, 2011, my birthday. Flight was good

Room Number:
103

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
My husband and I arrived at the Barcelo Hotel in Puerto Plata on June 12, 2011, my birthday. Flight was good. Service at Reception was disgusting. The front desk was very busy. The gentleman working the desk went to the backroom to get help. A gal came out and said, "Are you being helped?" I answered no and she walked away. I got the attention of the gentleman and he apologized and went to the "back room" again and came out with another young lady and she asked if we were being helped, I said no and she walked away to help some of her countrymen. I said, "Excuse me Miss, you were waiting on us." Her reply was, they were here first. We had been standing there for over a half hour and the guys had just walked up as she came out of the backroom. I raised my voice (something I don't usually do) and we were finally taken care of. We were asked to pay $15.00 for a safe key. Have traveled the world and never been charged to use the safe. We were sent off to our room with no "orientation" as to the amenties of the resort.

Rooms:
We were put into Room 103, Bldg 14. The room was large but in need of a face lift. TV very old. Minibar had only one bottle of water and one Coca Cola. very quickly things went downhill. On night one, we woke up sweltering-the AC had pooped out. We called and it was fixed, pretty promptly, by Maintenance. It died on the last day we were there, but by this time I was near hysterical so it didn't matter. Then, one fine day, the toilet overflowed like a tsunami-quickly called front desk and twenty minutes later the flood continued with no response. Called again, another 20 minutes passed with no assistance so my husband ran out into the courtyard and was able to find someone who helped-but not until the room was flooded with contaminated water from who knows where. Rooms were made up each day-after awhile enough towels and washcloths were left. I was bitten adt 100 times by (I hope) mosquitoes and had to buy Benadryl to stop the itching.

Restaurants and Bars:
Did not use the restaurants, only the buffet and the Grille on the beach.
The buffet was either too salty or the food had no taste at all. Some of it was unrecognizable. Many of the meat offerrings could not be swallowed as you couldn't chew them up enough to get them down. One thing tho-the Staff were super and very attentive.

The Grille had the same food everyday-dried out hot dogs and hamburgers. And a lovely board who flew around from table to table crapping whenever he felt the urge. Staff at the grill were very nice in spite of all this.

We found it safe to eat the same thing everyday: scarambled eggs and a roll and juice for breakfast, beans and dried out white rice for lunch and cold cuts and salad for dinner.

I was amazed at how tasteless the fruit was?

My husband and I do not drink as a general rule but once in awhile I like to have a pina colada. it was terrible-not made with crushed ice-just coconut mix poured over ice cubes. Yuck!!

The free drinks made for some dangerous situations. While we were there there was a domestic violence episode fueled by fire water. Drunken people and pools are also not a good combination.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are absolutely beautiful, lush, verdant and simply beautiful. The upkeep was always in progress.

The pools were great-water always nice and warm.

Beach was also very nice but the Vendors were a pain. You feel very sorry for them, but they can become a nuisance.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Were not able to participate in any activities; see other Comments

Other Comments:
On June 14th, I miss stepped leaving the Reception area and fell down the stairs and injured my left foot. Being a Nurse of 38 yrs, I knew that it probably was broken. Security were very good and very kind with getting me to the Hotel MD. I was then sent to Gregorio Hernadez Clinic Puerto Plata proper. They were waiting for me on my arrival via ambulance and I was whisked through the ER and Xray. Diagnosis: fractured left foot. I was medicated, given antithrombosis injection (for the flight home) and a half cast was applied. I was really impressed with the service.

I wasn't impressed when I returned to the hotel. No one seemed the least bit concerned that I had fallen and sustained a medium serious injury on their property. Nor did they know if they were laible (they weren't, I tripped). My husband asked about bringing me food from the buffet. He was told food could not be removed from the area. Hmm, now what was I supposed to eat for the next four days? Finally after a lot of screaming and yelling my husband was granted permission to "feed me" with the proviso that he eat his meal in the dining area!!! No one ever called to ask how I was or if I needed anything. The only staff who were very attentive were security and housekeeping.

We could not get out of there fast enough.

The Barcelo chain should not be represented by this property.

Also, their practice of letting the locals in to pay reduced rates while the guests pay full price is ridiculous.

Horrible, horrible-that front desk needs a course in Customer Satisfaction!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were highly deceived!"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gilbert, Montreal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2009
Barely a 3 stars

We spent a 2 weeks vacations at the Barcelo Peurto Plata last March, and unfortunetly were highly deceived. We have been in D.R. 5 times now, and in various Barcelo's hotel 4 times. But this one doesn't live up to Barcelo Premium standards. I can't beleive you are giving this hotel a 5 stars rating !

Rooms:

The rooms are old and in need of some investment. The rooms were supposed to have been renovated ! Changing the curtains can't be called a renovation, but that's all that was done. We had a large suite on the ground level in building 8. It's was generally OK but no more. The bed was long overdue for a trip to the garbage bin. It was very uncomfortable, and the maid didn't bother to get king size sheets for the bed. So we ended up with sheet to short for the bed. We complained about it and a supervisor came to fix the sheets, but it was back to square one a few days later when they changed the sheets again.
Our bathroom had a drainage problem, so by the time we were done taking 2 showers, the bath was half full of water. Hot water what not always available either. Building 8 was supposed to be noisy because of the Coco Bongo disco across the street. Well the room air conditionner is so noisy, it covers up the disco noise. One advice, bring ear plugs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Since we had the Transat Premium package, we should have had garanteed reservations at the specialty restaurant. The hotel management didn't seem to care about it, so we had to get in line every morning like everyone else the get a reservation. The food at the buffet was OK, but not great. The service is lousy at best, and we frequently had to deserve our table ouselves to make room, since the tables are small and the place crowded. Wine, both red or white is terrible, but I never found acceptable wine at any Barcelo. The general conscensus in our group about the specialty restaurant is way below average. The Mexican and Asian are OK, but the Italian and Brasilian are awfull. In fact in the Italian restaurant, it's the first time I saw a ceasar salad that was brown ! At the sea food you have to pay 20 $ U.S. for lobster, but it was avaible all you can eat for free at the buffet on Friday's ! Go figure this one. We could not try the pizzeria, since it's an open air !
terrace, and was open only weather permitting. In our case we had 10 and half days of cloud, rain and win, so no luck.
Bar service is very variable, and they use the lowest quality alcool they can find.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are nice and clean, but over-crowded. The beach isn't very nice, nor very clean, and is full of vendor that will anoy you every 2 minutes for 8 hours straight. Forget about resting at the beach. The beach is also vey crowded and they lack at least 100 chairs on the beach. Lot's of people had to sit in the sand on their towels. Also, the surrounding swamps around the complex dumps a lot of debris in the ocean. All these debris are washed back on the beach, so some days the water was almost black for the first few feet.
The grouds are generally clean, and well kept. But 2 advices. First, beware of the speeding service cart on the pathways, employees wont slow down for you. Second, one of the pathway leading to the disco is full of holes, and as no lighting. So ladies in high heels beware.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Because of the poor weather wa had, we couldn't do much activities other than shop for umbrella's. In fact boat tours we frequently cancelled because of bad sea conditions. But I admit this is exceptionnal.

Other Comments:
Don't bother buying anything from the beach vendors. You can find the axact same things at the shopping mall across the street, usually for less than they charge on the beach. And there is a Pizza Hut in the mall.
If you hope to find a lounge chair either at the beach or pool, bring an alarm clock and get up at sunset every morning to reserve one, or bring your own one from home.
If you really want to go in D.R. and youre on a thight budget, then consider this resort knowing the drawback, otherwise shop around there are far better resorts that this one even on the North Coast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My rating is a 3 and that's being generous."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Katya & Misha  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2009
375 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 09
Although I had a good time overall and met alot of really nice people I would never stay at this hotel again or any other Barcelo, just to be sure. My rating is a 3 and that's being generous. We felt like people constantly trying to get something from you which is not the most pleasant feeling and although I love Cuba and Mexico I probably would not go back to Dominican again.

Rooms:
The room was older even though we were told it was supposed to be newly renovated. Nothing worked in the room the air condition broke down several times sometimes in the same day, a shelf was broken, the hairdryer, the coffee machine and the toilet also had to be fixed. We had 2 single beds which we pushed together instead of the king size bed we were supposed to have.

Restaurants and Bars:
We had the prestige package so we had unlimited ala carte of which we took full advantage the Brazilian as stated elsewhere was terrible, raw chicken and over cooked, low quality beef which you can't chew. We ordered lobster which we paid 20$ for in the seafood that tasted like porridge it was so soft and it tasted like it was old and had been frozen and refrozen several times. The steak in the Italian (also paid for) suffice to say-it was unedible. The front bar and the 2 bartenders Marciello and Jose were the best part of this hotel they are very funny and entertaining unfortunately it closes at 1:00 every night and after the disco at 2 you cannot get a drink anywhere in the hotel. The nightly entertainment was quite good I thought, the only night we watched Misha got dragged onto the stage and into a spanish speaking contest (his spanish is terrible) looks like they enjoy making fun of the tourists, but all in good fun. All the alcohol is of the cheapest quality unless you pay for that; the white wine is so sweet it isn't drinkable and actually comes out of a large silver bag with a spout i saw this with my own eyes. The vodka was some very low quality brand that I never heard of and tasted terrible so i had to pay $4 a shot for grey goose and spent about $20-40/ night on bottles of wine with dinner. Suffice to say I drank rum most of the time I was there, the only thing you can get half decent which you don't have to pay for. (Paying for food and alcohol sort of negates the point of staying at AI, don't you think)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We never sat by the pool which was always very busy; lots of kids families and game playing went on. We just prefer the beach that's why we go to tropical countries we love the ocean. The Beach was nice and could always find loungers to lay on. The water usually warm, was beautiful but not nearly as nice as Cuba or Mexico I gotten bitten alive by mosquitoes i must have had over 100 bites on me by the time i left (mostly happened at night I think) We were constantly harrassed on the beach and a polite no gracias does not usually work as it does in Mexico, alot of them are very aggressive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Do not buy excursions from the beach. They are cheaper but you have no guarantee what you are getting they tell you one thing and you can end up getting something completely different. We went to paradise island which we were told would be 1 hour on the bus but turned out to be 3 hours each way and then instead of a catamaran we went for a half hour nightmare ride on a very bumpy speedboat? where all my stuff got soaked including my camera. We also booked horse back riding on the beach but when we went there we were told nobody informed them we wanted to go on the beach so we got taken to the mountains where we weren't allowed to ride hard, so we ended up having to pay again for the beach and we did have a really lovely day.

Other Comments:
There were alot of Dominicans staying there especially on weekends which doesn't bother me except for the fact that we and other europeans staying there felt that they were treated better and usually served 1st. I was surprised how little most of the staff spoke English, luckily i can get by in Spanish but it was very difficult for other people we met who also didn't speak english well. The people who worked the front desk were downright rude most of the time. We stayed for 2 weeks and after 1 week my bracelet ripped off when i asked for a new one they wanted to charge me $40 for a lost bracelet!!! Lucky i had kept the one that fell off but i thought that was ridiculous but typical of our experience. DO NOT pay what they tell you for taxi's from the hotel they charge $17 us to Puerto Plata but i only paid 200 peso ($6) for the way back also they ask $33 to airport but its really only 500 peso or less than half that. Do not buy US dollars to go there you will lose money buying and selling. Anything you buy on the beach be very wary and pay only 1 third to a quarter of what they ask you this will be closer to the true price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"terrible"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  rouseouse  on Sep 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
831 people found this review helpful

the costumer service is bad, and they don't care about you since you are in the hotel, the pools were dirty also one was broken for 3 days, the lock on my door was broken we were locked out for one night they couldn't fix it 'till next day, unfortunatly that night was raining they gave us a another room which the bathroom and the bed were dirty and it was leaking water from the roof all night.

Rooms:
in need renovation

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
none

Other Comments:
it was a big mistake to go to this hotel , next time we will make a better choice...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horriable trip"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth  on May 18, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
227 people found this review helpful

This was the worst trip i have ever had. The service was not good at all.Our mini bar never had beer in it we had to beg for it. Bars closed at 2 am and never opened till 10 am. The food was not very good at all always the same food...buffet was very small with not alot of variety. We stayedat BlueBay in 2009 and it was amazing and that was a smaller resort! We will never nerver never be back!!! Don't go there it is horriable!!!

Room Number:
9103

Arrival:
not greeted at all....entrance was not nice at all

Restaurants and Bars:
Italian was good and Pizza was good everything else was half cooked! No bars open after 2 am not even the disco which was not even a disco tiny dance floor not big enough for 8 people!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
shows were pretty much the same every night...notvery good at all!

Other Comments:
Staff were not very nice at all...like they had no time for us...not helpful even when my husband tipped them. It's not some place i would reccomend to anyone!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff here is great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Helena, NS  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
348 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 11 - 18
Hotel is only 15mins from airport so you don't lose a lot of time in transportation. Check-in was uneventful, needed to wait for ~1 hour for room to be avail. but 3:00 check-in is pretty standard. Our bathing suits were in our hand baggage so just a quick changer-oo and then off to the pool we went!

Rooms
It is what I affectionately refer to as Dominican 4* (not to be confused with North American 4*). Rooms were slightly dated, some minor repairs needed, but clean and with all the amenities we needed. Fridge in room was stocked with H2O, Beer and pop, plus coffee maker. Hair dryer, and bedside clock were also handy. Housekeeping was a little inconsistent in keeping it filled but no biggie. When asked, they were quick to respond.

Restaurants and Bars
just keep in mind - you don't go to the DR to get the same as what you eat at home! Accept that it is going to be different and you will be fine! LOTS of choices to meet everyone's tastes. The Oriental is hard to get a res at because there's only about 30 seats. The Brazilian is extra fun as the meat is cooked on a long sword-like skewer which they present at your table and serve from. The pizza place is really good - pizza's are made to order in a genuine pizza oven! yum~

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is cleaned daily, pools were immaculate and groundskeepers were always busy. The usual towel games take place every morning with people 'reserving' their chaises early in the am by placing towels, books on them. Seemed to be plenty of chaises to go around, I guess if you were really picky about where you wanted to lay for the day this would be an idea...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Catamaran day tour with Banana Republic Party Cat. See 'Hector the Protector' on the beach for a good deal. We could've went with AC Vacations at $84/pp but Hector had the exact same tour for $64! We gave him a deposit and paid the remainder on the day of the tour. We also asked him to show us a previous client to get their feedback (which he found for us!) and it was all good. Pick up at 0900 and back by 1530. Sail to the snorkeling area, swim/snorkel, eat lunch then more snorkeling at another location. Great thing to do for the day. The Playa Dorado complex 'mall' is right next door if you want to do a little shopping, $ exchange, etc.

Other Comments
TIP! The staff here is great. Very pleasant and eager to please. Bring a few bills to leave behind to show your appreciation.
You will get asked on the beach for souvenirs, hair braiding, time share, etc. A simple no gracias will usually do.
If you do buy something, remember to haggle - it's expected!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An okay holiday but I would not go back."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle,BC  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
272 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12th
After landing it was quick getting to the resort which was nice as it is a 7 hour flight for us. Our check in was quick but not very friendly or inviting. there was no welcome drink and they just herded you through without barely a hello. You were then told to wait over there for someone to take you to your room which took about 15 minutes.

Rooms
Our room was in building 14 on the second floor and it was very basic.The balcony was nice and large and it had 2 double beds that were very hard!Our first problem that arose was the toilet didn't work. We had to wait till the next morning to get someone to come and fix it.There is a mini fridge in the room with bottles of pop 2 water and 2 beer. We wanted to have a pop but there was no opener so we phoned down and they said they would send one up but it never arrived. Also they have coffee in the rooms but no cream and it was also very difficult to get someone to bring some. It took 2 days!

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet at this resort is very small and the food was always cold! The only thing that we enjoyed was the fruit, cheese and fresh omelettes. They also had a guy that does pasta in the evenings.

We tried 3 of the Al A Cartes. The Brazillian was awful! Cold Rice and lots of very tough meat. The only thing good there was the salad and buns.Next we went to the Seafood Restarant which was okay We didn't try the seafood as anything that I wanted (lobster,crab,scallops) was all around $18.00 extra so we just got the mushroom steak which was petty good. The last one we tried was the Italian. This was good we had Ceasar Salad ,Lasagna. and chocolate Mousse for dessert. We had 2 more that we could have got into but they were all booked solid so the last night instead of the buffet again we went over to the complex and had Pizza Hut! The bars were all good and the bartenders were always friendly.You never had to wait to long to get your drink which was nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach and pools were nice but you could never get a chair! Everyone at this resort does the chair saving thing. It really is aggravating.We ended up just removeing towels and not once did the people come back before we were ready to leave so if you want a seat this is the only way unless you get up before 7:00 am to reserve your own.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Ocean World which we really enjoyed but 5 hours is about all you need there. We spent the last 1 1/2 just sitting having a beer.

Other Comments
Overall it was an okay holiday but I would not go back to this resort as it is definittly not a 4 star. I would give it a 3 star rating and that is pushing it abit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The atmosphere of the resort was great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tracy, Vancouver  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
275 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12
The arrival was alright, I had a friend that was already at the resort so she was able to show me where to go to check in for the premium guests. There was a bit of confusion as she had already checked in but the staff were able to figure everything out after a couple of minutes and have me sign the contact and get my wristband. When we got into the room our fruit plate and rum were waiting for us.

Rooms
The room were great for what we needed them for, Sleep! We didn't stay in our room very much as we were outside enjoying the sunshine. We did request 2 beds however when we got into the room there was one big giant bed. We didn't bother asking to change rooms as the bed was huge and it wasn't a problem. The room also had a very nice balcony overlooking the other buildings. The bathroom was your average bathroom sink, toilet and shower. Make sure to put both curtains in the bathtub when your having a shower, we made that mistake and there was water everywhere. We didn't have any problems with anything breaking or was broken when we were arrived so we were very happy with the rooms.

Restaurants and Bars
The a la cart restaurants were to die for, We were able to try every one and enjoyed them all equally. Make sure on your first day to go and book your reservations as it does book up very quickly. If i had to pick a favorite it would be the oriental it was amazing and also very hard to get into so book it right away. The buffet was also very good, we loved the omelet station in the morning it does create a bit of a line up however it's worth it, they were very yummy. I found that the buffet was always changing, yes there were some of the same things everyday however they did change the hot food a lot and we found that there was quite a variety. The buffet is huge there including a very yummy dessert section for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bars were really great, we became friends with a couple of the bar tenders so they knew what we drank as soon as we would come up to the bar. I found that they were happy if they were getting tipped or not getting tipped and you never felt pressure to tip. We waited until the last day and gave our bartender a really big tip and some merchandise from Canada. The lobby bar is quite busy at times but i found if you headed over to the theater bar it was less busy. The swim up bar got crowded at times but there was always a place to squeeze in and order a drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was beautiful, sure it didn't have the white sand found in Punta Cana, but the water was warm and the view extraordinary. They had a team come by the beach everyday to clean up what had washed up on the shore the night before. It seemed like every where you looked a staff was working on something fixing, painting cleaning it was a very clean resort. We stayed poolside for most of the trip but i would recommend getting up early and claiming a lounge chair for the day with your towel or sunscreen. If you look for a chair in the afternoon it's really hard to find one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The resort staff was amazing they had so many activities going on at the resort at every time of the day. We really enjoyed the Crazy games that they would play at pool. Be warned they don't take no for an answer if they ask you to play, you play! :) At night they would have their shows which were pretty good, our dinner time was at 9pm so we missed half of the shows but we were able to sit in the theater for the preshow where the staff would come and pick girls and guys to dance with them. Again they dont' take no for an answer! :)I didn't go on any tours as i was pretty content on staying poolside for the week however we did head down to the little market on the beach it's about a 20 min walk away from the resort but very worth it. There is about 30 little shops most of them carry the same things but some shops have different stuff, this is where you can bargain your little heart out. We did and we got some very good stuff for very cheapy cheapy

Other Comments
I would recommend this resort to anybody, i went with my friend and we had the best time. We were able to grow friendships with some of the staff as well as some other people who were at the resort. If you have some time really try and get to know the staff and the culture as it is much different then home. They are a lot of fun and they really do remember you, we made friends with Bobby Brown right away and every time he saw us walking around the resort he would come up to us and give us a big hug and ask us how we are doing. The atmosphere of the resort was great and i felt very safe in the resort and there was plenty of things to do. My only negative thing was the vendors they were everywhere and always trying to get money out of you however if you just say no thank you and keep walking they were pretty good at leaving you alone. I was very surprised to see just how many of the staff did know English and french as well and the vendors are all very good at English. I would go back to Barcelo in a heartbeat this was a great resort that made our week away paradise :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube