Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Barcelo Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

4.0 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2014

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

Barcelo Puerto Plata  

Playa Dorada , Puerto Plata P.O.Box 547, Repķblica Dominicana

"great attitude from the staff"
Posted by: carey on Jul 7, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Barcelo Puerto Plata Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#6
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 2.6

Based on 24 reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Information


The Barcelů Puerto Plata is located on the north coast, in Playa Dorada, famous for its calm blue waters, beautiful landscapes and fine sand.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.6 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  5
Average
  10
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"The entertainment at night was great for kids and adults."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
203 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Trip from Toronto to hotel was very long as we were delayed in Toronto for 4 hours, upon arrival at airport very quickly went through customs no problem, looked for our bus very well organized very informative on the bus ride to the hotel.

Rooms:
As we were late arriving our rooms were ready for us very clean we were in the prestige rooms bathrobe and slippers were there for us, beds were turned down everynight bar was well stocked, had problem with toilet phoned down was fixed in no time

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet and all of the al la cartes, snack bars, pizza bar were excellent, food was well cooked atmosphere was very nice in all al la cartes...SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They were always cleaning the grounds no garbage was anywhere very efficient in picking up anyy plastic glassses around the pool and even on the beach. You could walk on the beach for miles....it was hard finding chairs but that is at any resort...vendors on the beach not bothersome you said no they did not pressure anyone to buy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our kids went on the dune buggy tour for 3 hours in the rain had a fantastic time would do it again in a second

Other Comments:
I found this resort to be very entertaining no one got sickwhich is wonderful and says a lot for any hotel in that area as I have been to the Dominican before and always got sick, there was 5 of us no one got sick everyone and a wonderful time, service was fantastic, rooms very clean, security excellent felt very safe when you were even out walking around the complex after dark.
There entertainment at night was great for kids and adults, the staff that entertained with different events during the day were fantastic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I liked this resort although I wasn't in love with it."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julie, Regina  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) SOUTH GEORGIA AND THE SOUTH SANDWICH ISLANDS
Visited on: Jan, 2009
231 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 23 - 29
We left the Regina airport knowing that a long trip awaited, as we had to sto pto pick up Saskatoon passengers before heading out on the 6 1/2 hour flight to Puerto Plata. All we went well on the Skyservice flight, which was booked with Transat Holidays.

We saw on the television screens we were flying over the Dominican Republic -- odd, since Puerto Plata is right on the north coast. We were told it was raining too hard in Puerto Plata for the flight to land, and so we were diverted to La Romana, another tourist destination located in the southeast corner of the island.

We had to stay overnight and wait in the airport the entire next day until being flown to Santo Domingo and bussed 6 hours to Puerto Plata.

Arrival at the Barcelo wasn't as smooth as I assume it usually is. We were all arriving at an unscheduled time, and guests who couldn't leave Puerto Plata on account of rain were staying an extra night. We didn't get the room requested, but it was clean.

Rooms:
We stayed in 10-122 and it didn't have the greatest view (of a fence) but was quite close to everything, which we enjoyed. The room was a little tired overall. Some days we would get snacks (chocolate bar and chips) and other days we wouldn't. Your room wouldn't get cleaned unless you left a sign on the door and sometimes we forgot and had to call for the room to be cleaned later on, and they came promptly. The TV and mini-bar worked fine,but the hot water wasn't great until about the fourth day.

Restaurants
The buffet was pretty good. The best was the individually-made omlettes in the morning or pasta at lunch or supper. Some nights there were different themes to mix things up. The snack bar by the pool was great during the day, with really good burgers and fries. At night food was out at the disco, which was the same sort of food and great to have. The a la carte restaurants were awesome. There are five on the resort, but we only tried three. All had a few courses and brought lots of appetizers until your main course. The Mexican and Italian were great -- the food expected, and the Oriental was amazing. Be sure to book as early as possible to get into the restaurants you want. The Seafood grill was on the beach and supposed to be good, and the Brazilian restaurant we heard was good if you liked meat. Important -- men must wear long pants and closed shoes to the a la cartes. Whichever restaurant we were ate, the service was absolutely excellent and often servers would go the extra mile to make the dinner great for you.

Bars
There was a lobby bar all day, a beach bar, a swim up bar, and a bar near the theatre at night.

Beach The beach was nice, although not the white sand found at Punta Cana. The resort is in a bay so the water, while not calm, isn't completely wavy. Because of the resorts stretching each way, it is possible to run or walk along the beach which is awesome. Loungers were easy to find, unless you wanted one in the shade. There are also trees at the back of the beach you can find shade in. Watch out for the vendors -- we found the closer you were to the water, the less they bothered you. Pool The pool atmosphere was great. Lots to do and lots of music -- although it did get a big repetitive after a few days. This is where you wanted to be for lots to do, eat, and drink. If you want quiet, then head to the beach. Grounds The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained and clean. Entertainment on Resort This was really good. During the day there were activities all around the pool, although we didn't find out about beach volleyball and kayaking until our last day there. At night there was a band and singers every night that were awesome and very professional. There were also some fun nights such as Karaoke night. The Disco on the beach was open every night from 11 pm to 2 am. Excursions The Puerto Plata Runners Safari Adventuretour was awesome.We went through Puerto Plata and up the mountain into the countryside. Our jeep safari took us to a true Dominican household, beautiful views, horseback riding, a traditional Dominican lunch, a beautiful beach where we could boogie board, and the tasting of hot chocolate, coffee, coconuts, and cigars. We learned how cigars were rolled and learned even more from our excellent guide, Giovanni. We went on a national holiday so didn't get to tour the school, which is usually part of the day. Some tours include waterfall tours. The tour operator excursions do not include this as part of their tour as it is deemed unsafe by the Canadian government, but the excursions you buy on the beach will take you there. Quads/Dune Buggies If you don't like to get wet or muddy, don't do this tour! But if you don't mind it, then hop in a dune buggy or stay a little cleaner on a quad, and spend three hours through the mud and a Dominican village. You even venture out onto the roads a bit. I heard the Paradise Island tour was very nice. If we had known earlier, we would have booked horseback riding with Cowboy Bill. He sits in front of the lobby bar at the Barcelo -- you'll know him because he is the only one in a cowboy hat. He is a Canadian who lives there now doing horseback riding tours. He has three different tours - a full day, morning, or sunset tour, and we would have loved to gone if we had found out about him earlier. Departure/Check-out Went smoothly, although ther was a long line when we went to check out at the checkout time of one o'clock. Other Many Canadians stay here, and many of them are French Canadians. The staff spoke fairly good English and many spoke French as well. We also got a massage and it was awesome - completely worth the money. If you are in the Prestige class, make sure you get your complimentary bottle of rumn and fruit tray -- we had to ask for ours. Often when we went to the reception, we were sent to guest services, and then sent on to the Prestige Class services and then even sometimes the Transat representative... we just had to be patient as we figured out who to talk to for each. If you're stuck go to the Transat rep first if there isn't a line. Overall, I liked this resort although I wasn't in love with it. I might try somewhere else next time, although I think for what we paid for our vacation, it was great value.

Photos: http://www.tpiworldwide.com/JulieFolkTPI/gallery.asp

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Every day we would hear about people getting robbed."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann, Canada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
260 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 4 - Feb 11
Did not have to wait long for luggage. Found bus and 15 min drive to resort.

Rooms: Not well kept old and worn down. Toilet broke, tv not working until 4th day into stay fixed after talking to guest services, dimly lit no bulbs in lamp , bulb above bed not working but miraculously starting working after talking to guest services without changing bulb. Hot water sporadic at times. No replacements of towels last 2 days of stay. Called guest services 3 times and finally had to go down and speak in person to get towels. Beds made but not changed during entire stay. Safe in room but heard many people in building had safe and rooms broken into, money and electronics stolen. So we did not feel safe leaving passports and money in room. We stayed in building 11. It backed onto the woods with fence behind.

Restaurants and Bars: 1 buffet (jimmy's buffet) and 4 ala carte restarants. Food very bland and very similiar every day. Fruit questionable at times. Especially bananas. Had only 2 good meals during entire stay. Thank god for omelettes at breakfast! Also alot of people used pasta bar. Recommend Japanese and Mexican a la carte but very hard to get into. Serice not great service not too attentive. The best service first day there and went downhill from there. Bar service was pretty good but we tipped well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds: Pool nice but we had only 2 hrs of sun over 7days. It rained alot.... We were surprised to see beach littered with garbage at 1130 am Thought could be better maintained. Red flag every day, swim at own risk. Not a place for small children as undertow. No paddle boats etc none in sight. We were looking forward to walking to beach but it was very short. The best thing was the sound of the ocean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: Big problem! It rained for 7 days straight only 2 hrs of sun/pool time. You would think animation team would have lots of activities but did nothing most of time. People waiting around for activities. It was very boring during day. Loved the evening show ,the dancers were great. They work really hard and they were compensated with a good tip on our last day. They had a lot of audience participation activities which we enjoyed. Went to Sousa once which we enjoyed but know you will be hassled to buy something and went on jeep safar with Angel. Had a great time going to countryside to see poor. We brought lots of toys,school supplies, hats for children. It was the highlight of our trip. I recommend bringing supplies for these people as they are very poor. Went to nice beach on excursion which was nicer than resort beach.

Other Comments: Safety was a big issue on this resort! Every day we would hear about people getting robbed, safes broken into money stolen. We did not feel safe. It was dimly lit. So don't walk by self if female. We had security guards at our building but they seemed to lurk outside our door on 3rd floor. Always heard security did nothing for people who were robbed even tried to intimidate them. So be careful! Overall we were not happy with our stay at this resort. We are not picky people. This was my first time to a resort and my friend has gone to several. It is a 2-2.5 star not a 4 star spend the extra $200-$300 and go somewhere else. You will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not be afraid to recomend it to my best friends."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  France, New brunswick  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
247 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 12 to 26
Flew from Quebec City via Can Jet, plane left 2h late due to bad weather. Verry good service on plane. 30 lugages were left in Quebec and only arrived the next day. We had some thing to change from our travel cloth in carry ons so it was not a problem. Trip to the hotel was fast and plesent. Cool drink upon arrival,and fairly quick to cheek in.

Rooms
Got our room 30 min later. Were satisfied with it so did not have to change. The room was very clean and every thing worked well. Cleaning lady or ladies, (diferent lady at night when they come to get the room ready for sleep, and change the towels a second time) are very efficient and do a good job always clean, and they leave face cloth. They work very hard to satisfy you.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants were good we went to all of the a la carte and the pizeria and were verry satisfied . the buffet is also good especialy at supper time, they change theme every night so the menu changes. In the morning the omelets are verry good. At noon time it is more repetetive but that is ok the choice is quite bigger at the buffet than at the beach or pool restauraunt. The pizeria is an excelent place to have a meal their calzone is the best I have had in the south.The bars are very good and bartenders always have a smile(tips or no tips). My favourite drink was a caipirinha.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is nice wide and endless to walk, booth ways. The water was warm and a nice turquoise color after a few days. When we first arrived it had been raining for the last few days and the water was not very calm and full of sand so it was rather brown. Every morning workers were comming to gather the sea weeds that the sea had left on the beach during the night. Workers woul pick the glasses and straws that vacationers had not have the sense to put in the garbege. The grounds wer juse immaculate, gardners every day would trim the trees and lawns.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to the Isabella Mountain by way of the Teleferique, it was breath taking worth every penny, it was my 3rd time in Puerto Plata and I had not yet done that activity, now I am very glad I did you have to do it just for the view from the top of the mountain. If you are afraid of the Teleferique you can go by car.

Other Comments
Was a little septique before going because of the age of the resort... I should not have wasted tome wondering, it is in good shape they are repainting and fixing every thing that is in need. I would not be afraid to recomend it to my best friends. The entertainment is also very good they have the best band consisting of 10 members. I missed the small 3 member bands at the a la carte restauraunts though.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had an extremely relaxing trip."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
280 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 26 to Mar. 12
Arrival was speedy and efficient, only a 20 minute ride to the resort, our rooms were ready and waiting.

Rooms
Rooms were spacious, clean and modern-- very nice. Mini bar was stocked every day with Coke, Sprite, water, Presidente Beer. They even left a small bag of chips and a chocolate bar each day. A small bottle of premium Barcelo rum and a fruit plate was delivered upon arrival. They also offered 'Turn Down' service every evening - a nice touch!

Restaurants and Bars
Food was very good- NOT spectacular, especially the a la cartes. The Oriental was excellant as was the Mexican, Brazillian and Itallian. The bars have good service with refreshing Presidente beer on tap. The best drink for us was a 'Tai Pina', basicly a Mojito without the mint.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool was huge with a waterfall and swim up bar. The lounges were reserved early as they also were on the beach. You have to get up early if you want shade.
The beach (Playa Dorada) is very nice with mountains and palm trees making a spectacular vista. Keep in mind that the beach sand is light brown instead of white as it is in Punta Cana.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Lots of trips available but are quite expensive, we chose to stay on the resort. There was lots to do there if you desired, beach vollyball, games, aerobics etc.
The evening entertainment was by far the best we have ever seen in the DR. a live 10 piece band, 4 singers, 10 dancers --NO lip syncing here!

Other Comments
We had an extremely relaxing trip and will be returning, obviously we will also highly reccomend this resort to our friends. This property is spotless with a very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were highly deceived!"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gilbert, Montreal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
242 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2009
Barely a 3 stars

We spent a 2 weeks vacations at the Barcelo Peurto Plata last March, and unfortunetly were highly deceived. We have been in D.R. 5 times now, and in various Barcelo's hotel 4 times. But this one doesn't live up to Barcelo Premium standards. I can't beleive you are giving this hotel a 5 stars rating !

Rooms:

The rooms are old and in need of some investment. The rooms were supposed to have been renovated ! Changing the curtains can't be called a renovation, but that's all that was done. We had a large suite on the ground level in building 8. It's was generally OK but no more. The bed was long overdue for a trip to the garbage bin. It was very uncomfortable, and the maid didn't bother to get king size sheets for the bed. So we ended up with sheet to short for the bed. We complained about it and a supervisor came to fix the sheets, but it was back to square one a few days later when they changed the sheets again.
Our bathroom had a drainage problem, so by the time we were done taking 2 showers, the bath was half full of water. Hot water what not always available either. Building 8 was supposed to be noisy because of the Coco Bongo disco across the street. Well the room air conditionner is so noisy, it covers up the disco noise. One advice, bring ear plugs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Since we had the Transat Premium package, we should have had garanteed reservations at the specialty restaurant. The hotel management didn't seem to care about it, so we had to get in line every morning like everyone else the get a reservation. The food at the buffet was OK, but not great. The service is lousy at best, and we frequently had to deserve our table ouselves to make room, since the tables are small and the place crowded. Wine, both red or white is terrible, but I never found acceptable wine at any Barcelo. The general conscensus in our group about the specialty restaurant is way below average. The Mexican and Asian are OK, but the Italian and Brasilian are awfull. In fact in the Italian restaurant, it's the first time I saw a ceasar salad that was brown ! At the sea food you have to pay 20 $ U.S. for lobster, but it was avaible all you can eat for free at the buffet on Friday's ! Go figure this one. We could not try the pizzeria, since it's an open air !
terrace, and was open only weather permitting. In our case we had 10 and half days of cloud, rain and win, so no luck.
Bar service is very variable, and they use the lowest quality alcool they can find.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are nice and clean, but over-crowded. The beach isn't very nice, nor very clean, and is full of vendor that will anoy you every 2 minutes for 8 hours straight. Forget about resting at the beach. The beach is also vey crowded and they lack at least 100 chairs on the beach. Lot's of people had to sit in the sand on their towels. Also, the surrounding swamps around the complex dumps a lot of debris in the ocean. All these debris are washed back on the beach, so some days the water was almost black for the first few feet.
The grouds are generally clean, and well kept. But 2 advices. First, beware of the speeding service cart on the pathways, employees wont slow down for you. Second, one of the pathway leading to the disco is full of holes, and as no lighting. So ladies in high heels beware.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Because of the poor weather wa had, we couldn't do much activities other than shop for umbrella's. In fact boat tours we frequently cancelled because of bad sea conditions. But I admit this is exceptionnal.

Other Comments:
Don't bother buying anything from the beach vendors. You can find the axact same things at the shopping mall across the street, usually for less than they charge on the beach. And there is a Pizza Hut in the mall.
If you hope to find a lounge chair either at the beach or pool, bring an alarm clock and get up at sunset every morning to reserve one, or bring your own one from home.
If you really want to go in D.R. and youre on a thight budget, then consider this resort knowing the drawback, otherwise shop around there are far better resorts that this one even on the North Coast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff here is great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Helena, NS  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
354 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 11 - 18
Hotel is only 15mins from airport so you don't lose a lot of time in transportation. Check-in was uneventful, needed to wait for ~1 hour for room to be avail. but 3:00 check-in is pretty standard. Our bathing suits were in our hand baggage so just a quick changer-oo and then off to the pool we went!

Rooms
It is what I affectionately refer to as Dominican 4* (not to be confused with North American 4*). Rooms were slightly dated, some minor repairs needed, but clean and with all the amenities we needed. Fridge in room was stocked with H2O, Beer and pop, plus coffee maker. Hair dryer, and bedside clock were also handy. Housekeeping was a little inconsistent in keeping it filled but no biggie. When asked, they were quick to respond.

Restaurants and Bars
just keep in mind - you don't go to the DR to get the same as what you eat at home! Accept that it is going to be different and you will be fine! LOTS of choices to meet everyone's tastes. The Oriental is hard to get a res at because there's only about 30 seats. The Brazilian is extra fun as the meat is cooked on a long sword-like skewer which they present at your table and serve from. The pizza place is really good - pizza's are made to order in a genuine pizza oven! yum~

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is cleaned daily, pools were immaculate and groundskeepers were always busy. The usual towel games take place every morning with people 'reserving' their chaises early in the am by placing towels, books on them. Seemed to be plenty of chaises to go around, I guess if you were really picky about where you wanted to lay for the day this would be an idea...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Catamaran day tour with Banana Republic Party Cat. See 'Hector the Protector' on the beach for a good deal. We could've went with AC Vacations at $84/pp but Hector had the exact same tour for $64! We gave him a deposit and paid the remainder on the day of the tour. We also asked him to show us a previous client to get their feedback (which he found for us!) and it was all good. Pick up at 0900 and back by 1530. Sail to the snorkeling area, swim/snorkel, eat lunch then more snorkeling at another location. Great thing to do for the day. The Playa Dorado complex 'mall' is right next door if you want to do a little shopping, $ exchange, etc.

Other Comments
TIP! The staff here is great. Very pleasant and eager to please. Bring a few bills to leave behind to show your appreciation.
You will get asked on the beach for souvenirs, hair braiding, time share, etc. A simple no gracias will usually do.
If you do buy something, remember to haggle - it's expected!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An okay holiday but I would not go back."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle,BC  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
273 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12th
After landing it was quick getting to the resort which was nice as it is a 7 hour flight for us. Our check in was quick but not very friendly or inviting. there was no welcome drink and they just herded you through without barely a hello. You were then told to wait over there for someone to take you to your room which took about 15 minutes.

Rooms
Our room was in building 14 on the second floor and it was very basic.The balcony was nice and large and it had 2 double beds that were very hard!Our first problem that arose was the toilet didn't work. We had to wait till the next morning to get someone to come and fix it.There is a mini fridge in the room with bottles of pop 2 water and 2 beer. We wanted to have a pop but there was no opener so we phoned down and they said they would send one up but it never arrived. Also they have coffee in the rooms but no cream and it was also very difficult to get someone to bring some. It took 2 days!

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet at this resort is very small and the food was always cold! The only thing that we enjoyed was the fruit, cheese and fresh omelettes. They also had a guy that does pasta in the evenings.

We tried 3 of the Al A Cartes. The Brazillian was awful! Cold Rice and lots of very tough meat. The only thing good there was the salad and buns.Next we went to the Seafood Restarant which was okay We didn't try the seafood as anything that I wanted (lobster,crab,scallops) was all around $18.00 extra so we just got the mushroom steak which was petty good. The last one we tried was the Italian. This was good we had Ceasar Salad ,Lasagna. and chocolate Mousse for dessert. We had 2 more that we could have got into but they were all booked solid so the last night instead of the buffet again we went over to the complex and had Pizza Hut! The bars were all good and the bartenders were always friendly.You never had to wait to long to get your drink which was nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach and pools were nice but you could never get a chair! Everyone at this resort does the chair saving thing. It really is aggravating.We ended up just removeing towels and not once did the people come back before we were ready to leave so if you want a seat this is the only way unless you get up before 7:00 am to reserve your own.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Ocean World which we really enjoyed but 5 hours is about all you need there. We spent the last 1 1/2 just sitting having a beer.

Other Comments
Overall it was an okay holiday but I would not go back to this resort as it is definittly not a 4 star. I would give it a 3 star rating and that is pushing it abit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The atmosphere of the resort was great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tracy, Vancouver  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
277 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12
The arrival was alright, I had a friend that was already at the resort so she was able to show me where to go to check in for the premium guests. There was a bit of confusion as she had already checked in but the staff were able to figure everything out after a couple of minutes and have me sign the contact and get my wristband. When we got into the room our fruit plate and rum were waiting for us.

Rooms
The room were great for what we needed them for, Sleep! We didn't stay in our room very much as we were outside enjoying the sunshine. We did request 2 beds however when we got into the room there was one big giant bed. We didn't bother asking to change rooms as the bed was huge and it wasn't a problem. The room also had a very nice balcony overlooking the other buildings. The bathroom was your average bathroom sink, toilet and shower. Make sure to put both curtains in the bathtub when your having a shower, we made that mistake and there was water everywhere. We didn't have any problems with anything breaking or was broken when we were arrived so we were very happy with the rooms.

Restaurants and Bars
The a la cart restaurants were to die for, We were able to try every one and enjoyed them all equally. Make sure on your first day to go and book your reservations as it does book up very quickly. If i had to pick a favorite it would be the oriental it was amazing and also very hard to get into so book it right away. The buffet was also very good, we loved the omelet station in the morning it does create a bit of a line up however it's worth it, they were very yummy. I found that the buffet was always changing, yes there were some of the same things everyday however they did change the hot food a lot and we found that there was quite a variety. The buffet is huge there including a very yummy dessert section for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bars were really great, we became friends with a couple of the bar tenders so they knew what we drank as soon as we would come up to the bar. I found that they were happy if they were getting tipped or not getting tipped and you never felt pressure to tip. We waited until the last day and gave our bartender a really big tip and some merchandise from Canada. The lobby bar is quite busy at times but i found if you headed over to the theater bar it was less busy. The swim up bar got crowded at times but there was always a place to squeeze in and order a drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was beautiful, sure it didn't have the white sand found in Punta Cana, but the water was warm and the view extraordinary. They had a team come by the beach everyday to clean up what had washed up on the shore the night before. It seemed like every where you looked a staff was working on something fixing, painting cleaning it was a very clean resort. We stayed poolside for most of the trip but i would recommend getting up early and claiming a lounge chair for the day with your towel or sunscreen. If you look for a chair in the afternoon it's really hard to find one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The resort staff was amazing they had so many activities going on at the resort at every time of the day. We really enjoyed the Crazy games that they would play at pool. Be warned they don't take no for an answer if they ask you to play, you play! :) At night they would have their shows which were pretty good, our dinner time was at 9pm so we missed half of the shows but we were able to sit in the theater for the preshow where the staff would come and pick girls and guys to dance with them. Again they dont' take no for an answer! :)I didn't go on any tours as i was pretty content on staying poolside for the week however we did head down to the little market on the beach it's about a 20 min walk away from the resort but very worth it. There is about 30 little shops most of them carry the same things but some shops have different stuff, this is where you can bargain your little heart out. We did and we got some very good stuff for very cheapy cheapy

Other Comments
I would recommend this resort to anybody, i went with my friend and we had the best time. We were able to grow friendships with some of the staff as well as some other people who were at the resort. If you have some time really try and get to know the staff and the culture as it is much different then home. They are a lot of fun and they really do remember you, we made friends with Bobby Brown right away and every time he saw us walking around the resort he would come up to us and give us a big hug and ask us how we are doing. The atmosphere of the resort was great and i felt very safe in the resort and there was plenty of things to do. My only negative thing was the vendors they were everywhere and always trying to get money out of you however if you just say no thank you and keep walking they were pretty good at leaving you alone. I was very surprised to see just how many of the staff did know English and french as well and the vendors are all very good at English. I would go back to Barcelo in a heartbeat this was a great resort that made our week away paradise :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We sure had a great time."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  TK, Hamilton  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
365 people found this review helpful

The check in was pretty quick and painless, although no one there told anyone about the ďPremiumĒ check in which was around the corner from the main reception. I only knew to check there after reading other reviews here, so a big GRACIAS to those that mentioned it!!!. Of course our rooms were not ready until 3pm but we were poolside and enjoying ourselves within 20-30 minutes of arrival. We were located in Building 10 on the top floor overlooking the pool. I was concerned as it was right beside the entertainment area, and was concerned about the noise, but it ended up being just fine as they always finished by 11 and then it was quiet. It was a very spacious room with high vaulted ceilings, 2 comfortable beds with 4 pillows to choose from, what decadence. The bathroom was quite large and spotless and we had trouble getting hot water the first night, but I think that was because the hotel was so full as we had no problem after that. Another nice touch to the Premium package was we had a bottle of rum and fruit tray waiting in the room; we also got snacks left, it wasnít much but some days that chocolate and chips were just perfect and we also got turndown service and fresh towels each night.

We encountered a problem right away with our room or rather with the door to our room, the deadbolt lock would not lock. Iím not sure if it was from humidity or what, but we got one of the room maids that was in the hallway and she put in a call to maintenance, and he was there in no time and fixed the door. I was impressed with such quick service, so in the first few hours they really set the tone for the service we were to receive the whole week there. The staff was just awesome, friendly, accommodating and really made the resort!!! The bartenders were awesome: Front lobby- Roman and Aristalco who made ďmi bibidos especialĒ every day; Swim up bar -Leo; Pool bar - Placido & Jeffrey and I canít forget Nelson the chef at the pool snack bar. He greeted up with hugs/kisses everyday and told us what was on the menu for lunch and would search high & low for salsa picante for us. Faustino down at the beach bar/restaurant was always there to fill up our drink or water glasses at lunch.

I thought the resort was nicely laid out, with gardens, walkways, especially down to the beach there was a lovely fountain area. The pool & surrounding area was one of the nicest Iíve been to. The pool itself was huge and kept clean, and it was easily accessible with the sloped in area, a great swim up bar and even a waterfall. There always seemed to be plenty of chairs around, and yes I did reserve chairs at 6am, but I wanted good positioned chairs in the sun, I didnítí want to be anywhere near the palapas. It was also nice that the deck around the pool didnít get so hot in the afternoon, you could still walk around in barefeet.

As far as the restaurants they were all very nicely decorated, clean etc. The buffet I found was fine for breakfast with the usual fair, but for dinner I found the food so so, I didnítí find as much choice there as I have other places. I sure didnít starve, but some nights I found there was way too much fish and not enough other choices. The beach restaurant was nice at lunch if it wasnít too windy. They had a simple buffet with soup, fries, hotdogs/hamburgs, a veggie, pasta, meat of some sort and usually a paella. They also had the breads, cold cuts, cheeses, ice cream & desserts. The pool snack bar had a good choice for lunches with the usual hotdogs/hamburgs, fries, some days fried chicken or some other meat. The Brazilian restaurant was not the best, the night we went, there were quite a few of us that left part way through as the meat was dry & tough and not very enjoyable. The Oriental however was very good. You got a nice tray of appetizers with the hottest hot sauce Iíve every tried. We had the chicken chowmein and there was so much there, more than we could eat. The pizzeria was nice, outside up over the buffet and you didnít need a reservation there, you just showed up and placed your order and they were pretty quick getting it out to you.

The entertainment staff were really friendly and tried to get people to participate but they did take a no gracias and left you alone. The nightly entertainment was some of the best Iíve seen in quite some time. The music, the dancers, the costumes, they really went all out. They had a band that played nightly and it was kind of funny, they looked miserable playing old American lounge music, but later when they played meringue, bachata, boy did they rock, it was awesome.

We were there for Easter and we had a great time. I know some people donít like going over Easter, but we did not have a problem at all. There were quite a few locals in and they were just there to have fun too. There were extra security around and they kept the youngsters in check around the pool, didnít let them get to rowdy.

We sure had a great time here and will certainly return and recommend it to others. The one thing that would have been nice would be water coolers around the resort to refill your bottles, it would be much more convenient that having to bother them at the bars for it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube