Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Barcelo Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

3.9 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 9, 2013

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

Barcelo Puerto Plata  

Playa Dorada , Puerto Plata P.O.Box 547, Repķblica Dominicana

"great attitude from the staff"
Posted by: carey on Jul 7, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Barcelo Puerto Plata Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#6
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 2.6

Based on 24 reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Information


The Barcelů Puerto Plata is located on the north coast, in Playa Dorada, famous for its calm blue waters, beautiful landscapes and fine sand.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Puerto Plata Reviews

Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.6 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  5
Average
  10
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
11 - 20 of 24

"Loved the Premium section adn so worth the upgrade!!!!"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Apr 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
842 people found this review helpful

Totally enjoyed our stay in the Club section of the Barcelo. Definitely worth the upgrade. Absolutely great service from all the staff, quick check in and check out, great suites, loved the cook to order private restaurant available for breakfast and lunch, appreciated easy access to the internet, enjoyed the specialty drinks our wait staff created for us, and enjoyed the large hot spa area. As far as the restaurants in the resort, they were all right, but nothing exceptional. Enjoyed the Mexican one the best.
Pool and beach were easily accessible and typically we had no problems finding loungers early in the day. Grounds were immaculate and staff were always working on them. I visited the doctor at the resort because of an injury off of the resort property and she was great. She was very helpful in arranging appropriate services in the local hospital, too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice place"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shaun  on Mar 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
779 people found this review helpful

The resort was very nice. It was little dated, but very clean. The workers were very friendly and if you had any issues were quick to resolve them.

Your Arrival:
Very fast curteous check in. We were with Air Transat Premium. Our room was ready upon arrival. A couple of couples had to wait an hour for there room, but no big issue. we arrioved at noon time and generally rooms are not ready by then anyway.

Rooms:
A little dated, but clean and roomy. Our toilet broke part way through our vacation, but the fixed it right away. Service was always very prompt.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ala cartes were very good. Buffet could have a better selection at evening meal.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and pool were great. Seats were at a premium. You had to be early for chairs.

Other Comments:
We were very disappointed with the some of the Quebec people. We travel pretty well every year and this was the worst we have seen it. Some were very rude, cut in lines, steel chairs, nasty to the workers. I am Canadian and proud of it and very disappointed with them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great resort for the price."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert, Nova Scotia  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
592 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 12 - 19
Flight was excellent via Halifax aboard Air Transat - Lots of leg room, very comfortable, no turbulance, quick flight. Check in at the resort was very slow - 2 1/2 hours wait.

Rooms
We booked the excellence club package, however BE WARNED, we did not get what we paid for. Our itinerary included private part of the resort with own jacuzzi and pool, lounge with chef services, and bigger rooms. The front desk on check in advised us the CANADIANS do not qualify for this package. I find this hard to believe as we booked our trip through a reputable travel agency. I'd advise anyone booking this package contact the hotel before traveling to ensure you get what you've paid for. The room we received was adequate - I was fine with it - just not what we booked.

Restaurants and Bars
The hotel is rated 4 1/2 stars, however, I feel the buffet restaurant is very repetitive with the same menu everyday. I am not a complainer but I've stayed here twice and it's always the same! The seafood restaurant is superb - high quality food and service! The bars are understaffed at peak times, and I found myself waiting in line alot (With the exception of the pool bar = great service here)!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach and pool area are top notch - very clean and pool bar is very prompt. The grounds are imaculate, there are staff constantly working on the shrubs, flowers, lawns etc. This beach is amazing for walking, there are some rough tidal areas, however there are also calm areas for snokelling and swimming. You won't be disappointed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The entertainment provided by the Barcelo is very good. They have a house band with a full horn section, awesome stuff!!! Beware of the local "taxis" who will offer you an up front charge for a tour of the local area - they often times try to double the fee (or triple) once the tour is finished!

Other Comments
This resort is located in the Playa Dorado Complex, which is a compound composed of many different resorts. They are literally side by side by side - so before you book any resort in this compound do lots of research. This resort is right on the beach however there are many that are behind these resorts and it may require transport or a 15 minute walk to reach the ocean.

This is a great resort for the price, and even with all the problems listed above I would still recommend it! I enjoyed my stay, however I may think of traveling elsewhere next year, just to see another part of the island! Cheers & Happy travels!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My rating is a 3 and that's being generous."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Katya & Misha  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2009
374 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 09
Although I had a good time overall and met alot of really nice people I would never stay at this hotel again or any other Barcelo, just to be sure. My rating is a 3 and that's being generous. We felt like people constantly trying to get something from you which is not the most pleasant feeling and although I love Cuba and Mexico I probably would not go back to Dominican again.

Rooms:
The room was older even though we were told it was supposed to be newly renovated. Nothing worked in the room the air condition broke down several times sometimes in the same day, a shelf was broken, the hairdryer, the coffee machine and the toilet also had to be fixed. We had 2 single beds which we pushed together instead of the king size bed we were supposed to have.

Restaurants and Bars:
We had the prestige package so we had unlimited ala carte of which we took full advantage the Brazilian as stated elsewhere was terrible, raw chicken and over cooked, low quality beef which you can't chew. We ordered lobster which we paid 20$ for in the seafood that tasted like porridge it was so soft and it tasted like it was old and had been frozen and refrozen several times. The steak in the Italian (also paid for) suffice to say-it was unedible. The front bar and the 2 bartenders Marciello and Jose were the best part of this hotel they are very funny and entertaining unfortunately it closes at 1:00 every night and after the disco at 2 you cannot get a drink anywhere in the hotel. The nightly entertainment was quite good I thought, the only night we watched Misha got dragged onto the stage and into a spanish speaking contest (his spanish is terrible) looks like they enjoy making fun of the tourists, but all in good fun. All the alcohol is of the cheapest quality unless you pay for that; the white wine is so sweet it isn't drinkable and actually comes out of a large silver bag with a spout i saw this with my own eyes. The vodka was some very low quality brand that I never heard of and tasted terrible so i had to pay $4 a shot for grey goose and spent about $20-40/ night on bottles of wine with dinner. Suffice to say I drank rum most of the time I was there, the only thing you can get half decent which you don't have to pay for. (Paying for food and alcohol sort of negates the point of staying at AI, don't you think)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We never sat by the pool which was always very busy; lots of kids families and game playing went on. We just prefer the beach that's why we go to tropical countries we love the ocean. The Beach was nice and could always find loungers to lay on. The water usually warm, was beautiful but not nearly as nice as Cuba or Mexico I gotten bitten alive by mosquitoes i must have had over 100 bites on me by the time i left (mostly happened at night I think) We were constantly harrassed on the beach and a polite no gracias does not usually work as it does in Mexico, alot of them are very aggressive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Do not buy excursions from the beach. They are cheaper but you have no guarantee what you are getting they tell you one thing and you can end up getting something completely different. We went to paradise island which we were told would be 1 hour on the bus but turned out to be 3 hours each way and then instead of a catamaran we went for a half hour nightmare ride on a very bumpy speedboat? where all my stuff got soaked including my camera. We also booked horse back riding on the beach but when we went there we were told nobody informed them we wanted to go on the beach so we got taken to the mountains where we weren't allowed to ride hard, so we ended up having to pay again for the beach and we did have a really lovely day.

Other Comments:
There were alot of Dominicans staying there especially on weekends which doesn't bother me except for the fact that we and other europeans staying there felt that they were treated better and usually served 1st. I was surprised how little most of the staff spoke English, luckily i can get by in Spanish but it was very difficult for other people we met who also didn't speak english well. The people who worked the front desk were downright rude most of the time. We stayed for 2 weeks and after 1 week my bracelet ripped off when i asked for a new one they wanted to charge me $40 for a lost bracelet!!! Lucky i had kept the one that fell off but i thought that was ridiculous but typical of our experience. DO NOT pay what they tell you for taxi's from the hotel they charge $17 us to Puerto Plata but i only paid 200 peso ($6) for the way back also they ask $33 to airport but its really only 500 peso or less than half that. Do not buy US dollars to go there you will lose money buying and selling. Anything you buy on the beach be very wary and pay only 1 third to a quarter of what they ask you this will be closer to the true price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We sure had a great time."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  TK, Hamilton  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
361 people found this review helpful

The check in was pretty quick and painless, although no one there told anyone about the ďPremiumĒ check in which was around the corner from the main reception. I only knew to check there after reading other reviews here, so a big GRACIAS to those that mentioned it!!!. Of course our rooms were not ready until 3pm but we were poolside and enjoying ourselves within 20-30 minutes of arrival. We were located in Building 10 on the top floor overlooking the pool. I was concerned as it was right beside the entertainment area, and was concerned about the noise, but it ended up being just fine as they always finished by 11 and then it was quiet. It was a very spacious room with high vaulted ceilings, 2 comfortable beds with 4 pillows to choose from, what decadence. The bathroom was quite large and spotless and we had trouble getting hot water the first night, but I think that was because the hotel was so full as we had no problem after that. Another nice touch to the Premium package was we had a bottle of rum and fruit tray waiting in the room; we also got snacks left, it wasnít much but some days that chocolate and chips were just perfect and we also got turndown service and fresh towels each night.

We encountered a problem right away with our room or rather with the door to our room, the deadbolt lock would not lock. Iím not sure if it was from humidity or what, but we got one of the room maids that was in the hallway and she put in a call to maintenance, and he was there in no time and fixed the door. I was impressed with such quick service, so in the first few hours they really set the tone for the service we were to receive the whole week there. The staff was just awesome, friendly, accommodating and really made the resort!!! The bartenders were awesome: Front lobby- Roman and Aristalco who made ďmi bibidos especialĒ every day; Swim up bar -Leo; Pool bar - Placido & Jeffrey and I canít forget Nelson the chef at the pool snack bar. He greeted up with hugs/kisses everyday and told us what was on the menu for lunch and would search high & low for salsa picante for us. Faustino down at the beach bar/restaurant was always there to fill up our drink or water glasses at lunch.

I thought the resort was nicely laid out, with gardens, walkways, especially down to the beach there was a lovely fountain area. The pool & surrounding area was one of the nicest Iíve been to. The pool itself was huge and kept clean, and it was easily accessible with the sloped in area, a great swim up bar and even a waterfall. There always seemed to be plenty of chairs around, and yes I did reserve chairs at 6am, but I wanted good positioned chairs in the sun, I didnítí want to be anywhere near the palapas. It was also nice that the deck around the pool didnít get so hot in the afternoon, you could still walk around in barefeet.

As far as the restaurants they were all very nicely decorated, clean etc. The buffet I found was fine for breakfast with the usual fair, but for dinner I found the food so so, I didnítí find as much choice there as I have other places. I sure didnít starve, but some nights I found there was way too much fish and not enough other choices. The beach restaurant was nice at lunch if it wasnít too windy. They had a simple buffet with soup, fries, hotdogs/hamburgs, a veggie, pasta, meat of some sort and usually a paella. They also had the breads, cold cuts, cheeses, ice cream & desserts. The pool snack bar had a good choice for lunches with the usual hotdogs/hamburgs, fries, some days fried chicken or some other meat. The Brazilian restaurant was not the best, the night we went, there were quite a few of us that left part way through as the meat was dry & tough and not very enjoyable. The Oriental however was very good. You got a nice tray of appetizers with the hottest hot sauce Iíve every tried. We had the chicken chowmein and there was so much there, more than we could eat. The pizzeria was nice, outside up over the buffet and you didnít need a reservation there, you just showed up and placed your order and they were pretty quick getting it out to you.

The entertainment staff were really friendly and tried to get people to participate but they did take a no gracias and left you alone. The nightly entertainment was some of the best Iíve seen in quite some time. The music, the dancers, the costumes, they really went all out. They had a band that played nightly and it was kind of funny, they looked miserable playing old American lounge music, but later when they played meringue, bachata, boy did they rock, it was awesome.

We were there for Easter and we had a great time. I know some people donít like going over Easter, but we did not have a problem at all. There were quite a few locals in and they were just there to have fun too. There were extra security around and they kept the youngsters in check around the pool, didnít let them get to rowdy.

We sure had a great time here and will certainly return and recommend it to others. The one thing that would have been nice would be water coolers around the resort to refill your bottles, it would be much more convenient that having to bother them at the bars for it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had an extremely relaxing trip."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
267 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 26 to Mar. 12
Arrival was speedy and efficient, only a 20 minute ride to the resort, our rooms were ready and waiting.

Rooms
Rooms were spacious, clean and modern-- very nice. Mini bar was stocked every day with Coke, Sprite, water, Presidente Beer. They even left a small bag of chips and a chocolate bar each day. A small bottle of premium Barcelo rum and a fruit plate was delivered upon arrival. They also offered 'Turn Down' service every evening - a nice touch!

Restaurants and Bars
Food was very good- NOT spectacular, especially the a la cartes. The Oriental was excellant as was the Mexican, Brazillian and Itallian. The bars have good service with refreshing Presidente beer on tap. The best drink for us was a 'Tai Pina', basicly a Mojito without the mint.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool was huge with a waterfall and swim up bar. The lounges were reserved early as they also were on the beach. You have to get up early if you want shade.
The beach (Playa Dorada) is very nice with mountains and palm trees making a spectacular vista. Keep in mind that the beach sand is light brown instead of white as it is in Punta Cana.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Lots of trips available but are quite expensive, we chose to stay on the resort. There was lots to do there if you desired, beach vollyball, games, aerobics etc.
The evening entertainment was by far the best we have ever seen in the DR. a live 10 piece band, 4 singers, 10 dancers --NO lip syncing here!

Other Comments
We had an extremely relaxing trip and will be returning, obviously we will also highly reccomend this resort to our friends. This property is spotless with a very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were highly deceived!"

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gilbert, Montreal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
237 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2009
Barely a 3 stars

We spent a 2 weeks vacations at the Barcelo Peurto Plata last March, and unfortunetly were highly deceived. We have been in D.R. 5 times now, and in various Barcelo's hotel 4 times. But this one doesn't live up to Barcelo Premium standards. I can't beleive you are giving this hotel a 5 stars rating !

Rooms:

The rooms are old and in need of some investment. The rooms were supposed to have been renovated ! Changing the curtains can't be called a renovation, but that's all that was done. We had a large suite on the ground level in building 8. It's was generally OK but no more. The bed was long overdue for a trip to the garbage bin. It was very uncomfortable, and the maid didn't bother to get king size sheets for the bed. So we ended up with sheet to short for the bed. We complained about it and a supervisor came to fix the sheets, but it was back to square one a few days later when they changed the sheets again.
Our bathroom had a drainage problem, so by the time we were done taking 2 showers, the bath was half full of water. Hot water what not always available either. Building 8 was supposed to be noisy because of the Coco Bongo disco across the street. Well the room air conditionner is so noisy, it covers up the disco noise. One advice, bring ear plugs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Since we had the Transat Premium package, we should have had garanteed reservations at the specialty restaurant. The hotel management didn't seem to care about it, so we had to get in line every morning like everyone else the get a reservation. The food at the buffet was OK, but not great. The service is lousy at best, and we frequently had to deserve our table ouselves to make room, since the tables are small and the place crowded. Wine, both red or white is terrible, but I never found acceptable wine at any Barcelo. The general conscensus in our group about the specialty restaurant is way below average. The Mexican and Asian are OK, but the Italian and Brasilian are awfull. In fact in the Italian restaurant, it's the first time I saw a ceasar salad that was brown ! At the sea food you have to pay 20 $ U.S. for lobster, but it was avaible all you can eat for free at the buffet on Friday's ! Go figure this one. We could not try the pizzeria, since it's an open air !
terrace, and was open only weather permitting. In our case we had 10 and half days of cloud, rain and win, so no luck.
Bar service is very variable, and they use the lowest quality alcool they can find.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are nice and clean, but over-crowded. The beach isn't very nice, nor very clean, and is full of vendor that will anoy you every 2 minutes for 8 hours straight. Forget about resting at the beach. The beach is also vey crowded and they lack at least 100 chairs on the beach. Lot's of people had to sit in the sand on their towels. Also, the surrounding swamps around the complex dumps a lot of debris in the ocean. All these debris are washed back on the beach, so some days the water was almost black for the first few feet.
The grouds are generally clean, and well kept. But 2 advices. First, beware of the speeding service cart on the pathways, employees wont slow down for you. Second, one of the pathway leading to the disco is full of holes, and as no lighting. So ladies in high heels beware.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Because of the poor weather wa had, we couldn't do much activities other than shop for umbrella's. In fact boat tours we frequently cancelled because of bad sea conditions. But I admit this is exceptionnal.

Other Comments:
Don't bother buying anything from the beach vendors. You can find the axact same things at the shopping mall across the street, usually for less than they charge on the beach. And there is a Pizza Hut in the mall.
If you hope to find a lounge chair either at the beach or pool, bring an alarm clock and get up at sunset every morning to reserve one, or bring your own one from home.
If you really want to go in D.R. and youre on a thight budget, then consider this resort knowing the drawback, otherwise shop around there are far better resorts that this one even on the North Coast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff here is great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Helena, NS  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
346 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 11 - 18
Hotel is only 15mins from airport so you don't lose a lot of time in transportation. Check-in was uneventful, needed to wait for ~1 hour for room to be avail. but 3:00 check-in is pretty standard. Our bathing suits were in our hand baggage so just a quick changer-oo and then off to the pool we went!

Rooms
It is what I affectionately refer to as Dominican 4* (not to be confused with North American 4*). Rooms were slightly dated, some minor repairs needed, but clean and with all the amenities we needed. Fridge in room was stocked with H2O, Beer and pop, plus coffee maker. Hair dryer, and bedside clock were also handy. Housekeeping was a little inconsistent in keeping it filled but no biggie. When asked, they were quick to respond.

Restaurants and Bars
just keep in mind - you don't go to the DR to get the same as what you eat at home! Accept that it is going to be different and you will be fine! LOTS of choices to meet everyone's tastes. The Oriental is hard to get a res at because there's only about 30 seats. The Brazilian is extra fun as the meat is cooked on a long sword-like skewer which they present at your table and serve from. The pizza place is really good - pizza's are made to order in a genuine pizza oven! yum~

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is cleaned daily, pools were immaculate and groundskeepers were always busy. The usual towel games take place every morning with people 'reserving' their chaises early in the am by placing towels, books on them. Seemed to be plenty of chaises to go around, I guess if you were really picky about where you wanted to lay for the day this would be an idea...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Catamaran day tour with Banana Republic Party Cat. See 'Hector the Protector' on the beach for a good deal. We could've went with AC Vacations at $84/pp but Hector had the exact same tour for $64! We gave him a deposit and paid the remainder on the day of the tour. We also asked him to show us a previous client to get their feedback (which he found for us!) and it was all good. Pick up at 0900 and back by 1530. Sail to the snorkeling area, swim/snorkel, eat lunch then more snorkeling at another location. Great thing to do for the day. The Playa Dorado complex 'mall' is right next door if you want to do a little shopping, $ exchange, etc.

Other Comments
TIP! The staff here is great. Very pleasant and eager to please. Bring a few bills to leave behind to show your appreciation.
You will get asked on the beach for souvenirs, hair braiding, time share, etc. A simple no gracias will usually do.
If you do buy something, remember to haggle - it's expected!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An okay holiday but I would not go back."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle,BC  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
269 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12th
After landing it was quick getting to the resort which was nice as it is a 7 hour flight for us. Our check in was quick but not very friendly or inviting. there was no welcome drink and they just herded you through without barely a hello. You were then told to wait over there for someone to take you to your room which took about 15 minutes.

Rooms
Our room was in building 14 on the second floor and it was very basic.The balcony was nice and large and it had 2 double beds that were very hard!Our first problem that arose was the toilet didn't work. We had to wait till the next morning to get someone to come and fix it.There is a mini fridge in the room with bottles of pop 2 water and 2 beer. We wanted to have a pop but there was no opener so we phoned down and they said they would send one up but it never arrived. Also they have coffee in the rooms but no cream and it was also very difficult to get someone to bring some. It took 2 days!

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet at this resort is very small and the food was always cold! The only thing that we enjoyed was the fruit, cheese and fresh omelettes. They also had a guy that does pasta in the evenings.

We tried 3 of the Al A Cartes. The Brazillian was awful! Cold Rice and lots of very tough meat. The only thing good there was the salad and buns.Next we went to the Seafood Restarant which was okay We didn't try the seafood as anything that I wanted (lobster,crab,scallops) was all around $18.00 extra so we just got the mushroom steak which was petty good. The last one we tried was the Italian. This was good we had Ceasar Salad ,Lasagna. and chocolate Mousse for dessert. We had 2 more that we could have got into but they were all booked solid so the last night instead of the buffet again we went over to the complex and had Pizza Hut! The bars were all good and the bartenders were always friendly.You never had to wait to long to get your drink which was nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach and pools were nice but you could never get a chair! Everyone at this resort does the chair saving thing. It really is aggravating.We ended up just removeing towels and not once did the people come back before we were ready to leave so if you want a seat this is the only way unless you get up before 7:00 am to reserve your own.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Ocean World which we really enjoyed but 5 hours is about all you need there. We spent the last 1 1/2 just sitting having a beer.

Other Comments
Overall it was an okay holiday but I would not go back to this resort as it is definittly not a 4 star. I would give it a 3 star rating and that is pushing it abit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The atmosphere of the resort was great."

Barcelo Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tracy, Vancouver  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
272 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 5 - 12
The arrival was alright, I had a friend that was already at the resort so she was able to show me where to go to check in for the premium guests. There was a bit of confusion as she had already checked in but the staff were able to figure everything out after a couple of minutes and have me sign the contact and get my wristband. When we got into the room our fruit plate and rum were waiting for us.

Rooms
The room were great for what we needed them for, Sleep! We didn't stay in our room very much as we were outside enjoying the sunshine. We did request 2 beds however when we got into the room there was one big giant bed. We didn't bother asking to change rooms as the bed was huge and it wasn't a problem. The room also had a very nice balcony overlooking the other buildings. The bathroom was your average bathroom sink, toilet and shower. Make sure to put both curtains in the bathtub when your having a shower, we made that mistake and there was water everywhere. We didn't have any problems with anything breaking or was broken when we were arrived so we were very happy with the rooms.

Restaurants and Bars
The a la cart restaurants were to die for, We were able to try every one and enjoyed them all equally. Make sure on your first day to go and book your reservations as it does book up very quickly. If i had to pick a favorite it would be the oriental it was amazing and also very hard to get into so book it right away. The buffet was also very good, we loved the omelet station in the morning it does create a bit of a line up however it's worth it, they were very yummy. I found that the buffet was always changing, yes there were some of the same things everyday however they did change the hot food a lot and we found that there was quite a variety. The buffet is huge there including a very yummy dessert section for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bars were really great, we became friends with a couple of the bar tenders so they knew what we drank as soon as we would come up to the bar. I found that they were happy if they were getting tipped or not getting tipped and you never felt pressure to tip. We waited until the last day and gave our bartender a really big tip and some merchandise from Canada. The lobby bar is quite busy at times but i found if you headed over to the theater bar it was less busy. The swim up bar got crowded at times but there was always a place to squeeze in and order a drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was beautiful, sure it didn't have the white sand found in Punta Cana, but the water was warm and the view extraordinary. They had a team come by the beach everyday to clean up what had washed up on the shore the night before. It seemed like every where you looked a staff was working on something fixing, painting cleaning it was a very clean resort. We stayed poolside for most of the trip but i would recommend getting up early and claiming a lounge chair for the day with your towel or sunscreen. If you look for a chair in the afternoon it's really hard to find one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The resort staff was amazing they had so many activities going on at the resort at every time of the day. We really enjoyed the Crazy games that they would play at pool. Be warned they don't take no for an answer if they ask you to play, you play! :) At night they would have their shows which were pretty good, our dinner time was at 9pm so we missed half of the shows but we were able to sit in the theater for the preshow where the staff would come and pick girls and guys to dance with them. Again they dont' take no for an answer! :)I didn't go on any tours as i was pretty content on staying poolside for the week however we did head down to the little market on the beach it's about a 20 min walk away from the resort but very worth it. There is about 30 little shops most of them carry the same things but some shops have different stuff, this is where you can bargain your little heart out. We did and we got some very good stuff for very cheapy cheapy

Other Comments
I would recommend this resort to anybody, i went with my friend and we had the best time. We were able to grow friendships with some of the staff as well as some other people who were at the resort. If you have some time really try and get to know the staff and the culture as it is much different then home. They are a lot of fun and they really do remember you, we made friends with Bobby Brown right away and every time he saw us walking around the resort he would come up to us and give us a big hug and ask us how we are doing. The atmosphere of the resort was great and i felt very safe in the resort and there was plenty of things to do. My only negative thing was the vendors they were everywhere and always trying to get money out of you however if you just say no thank you and keep walking they were pretty good at leaving you alone. I was very surprised to see just how many of the staff did know English and french as well and the vendors are all very good at English. I would go back to Barcelo in a heartbeat this was a great resort that made our week away paradise :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube