Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa  

Playa Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"What do people expect"
Posted by: susan  on Mar 27, 2013
see all reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Pictures and Information
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#29
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.7

Based on 16 reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Information


Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa is a five star hotel facility, located on the eastern side of the Dominican Republic, on the Uvero Alto-Macao beach in the Higüey region.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 3.7 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  6
Average
  0
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 16

"terrible place"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  ashley  on Sep 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
387 people found this review helpful

This hotel is AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do NOT waste your time or money here. People who had good reviews about this place can't be telling the truth. There is nothing good about it.

1. The resort is massive, hard to get around and poorly lit at night. I was nervous to walk to my building where our room was....yes, there are MULTIPLE buildings to have to navigate around. My husband and I are pretty active and enjoy walking but we dreaded having to walk all over in that heat.

2. What little service they have is TERRIBLE! There was no one by the pool walking around getting drinks for people. The "frozen" drinks were in pre-made slushy type machines that didn't keep the drinks cold. They tasted disgusting. While at the front desk PAYING FOR A SAFE, there was a group of people checking in. We were pushed off to the side and stood there until they were done- even though we were there first and in the process of doing the paperwork.

3. Food is DISGUSTING! My husband got food poisoning and was sick for 2 1/2 days. You are only allowed to make 2 reservations in the restaurants the whole week (only 2 or 3 were open during our stay). I made the reservation on the 2nd day and we had to wait 5 days before there was an opening. we lived on snickers, pringles and goldfish crackers from the crappy gift shop. They had birds eating the food by the pool. Walking and pecking at the food, its disgusting.

4. the fridge and fan didn't work in our room. the AC barely kept the room cool. We brought it to their attention but they didn't do anything about it. The elevator in our building was out of order the whole week. we had to haul our luggage up & down 2 flights of stairs. We asked for 4 days for wash cloths in our room bc we didn't have any. We finally got 2 but that was it for the rest of our stay. The lock on our door broke...they actually fixed that thank god.

5. the hotel and beach are dirty. A toilet over flowed on my in-laws floor of their building and they had only 1 guy cleaning up the mess. it was going into everyones room and the place smelled like a sewer. We had these tiny little ants in our room & bed bugs. I had all these little bit marks all over my legs.

6. US airways lost my father in laws luggage and this peice of crap hotel wouldn't do anything to help us or accomodate us. We asked for complimentary laundry service sohe didn't have to wash his clothes inthe sink. they wouldn't even do that! He wash his 2 pairs of shorts, 3 tshirts and few pair of underware in his sink all week. How do you expect people to come back if you are not helping in any way?

7. the hotel is an hour from the airport! in the middle of no where. our shuttle back to the airport forgot to stop at another hotel to pick up more people. So we had to turn around and go back for them. Thankfully, we made it to the airport and didn't miss our flight.

8. They barely speak any english. I

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Need a lot of repairs"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Luisa Guzman  on Nov 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
635 people found this review helpful

This was our first time in a resort in Punta Cana.We went for our honeymoon.This resort is divided in 2 sections the old section is Cocotal and the new one is Tropical.The rooms at the Cocotal were terrible.Hair dryers are full of hair,bath tub is dirty,pillows are just lumps of foam. That is unless you buy into one of their upgrade programs.Service was great our concierge was Edwing and he was awesome.We had to change the room because it was in terrible conditions.We had other couple that we met at the resort that were staying in the same building and their room was worse than ours,but they did not complain.Their walls had lama ,the refrigerator was not working and it had a leak on the bath tub.They called maintenance and they never showed up.If you go to the Sirenis Tropical is 100% better but the rate is higher.These rooms are given to people from Europe.The other side Cocotal please do not let them give you a room there.There are TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
H104

Room Block:
Cocotal

Arrival:
11/17/11 to 11/22/11

Rooms:
Realy Bad.They need a lot of repairs

Restaurants and Bars:
Pretty good.Only one day the food was really bad.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overrated hotel and service"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  mel  on Jan 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
519 people found this review helpful

we decided to go to this resort based on the ratings the sites provided. the grounds are beauiful and the ride is pretty. however once upon arrival we were told three different times to go back to reception to check in over a course of 3 hours. the staff in general appear to be lacking enthusiasum, sometimes outright standoffish, and abrupt. service was slow and sometimes out right dismissed. the house keeping gave us back dirty towels and did not replace all towels. the beds were very hard. the food was at best was okay, some of it was out right undercooked and meat was often overdone. drinks seemed very artifically flavored. overall the service seemed to be lacking hospitality. only a handful of staff made this trip a bit more managagable. we tipped everyday regardless. our room keys often didn't work and the door had to be practically broken in to open it. the beach was beautiful and the rooms are very shabby. minibars only had pop and 1 bottle of water. no snacks or liquor. overall this was a huge dissappoinment and although likley will go back we will not go back nor recommend this place. we spent great $$ for lack of welcome and genuine hospitality.

Room Number:
016

Room Block:
mc

Arrival:
Dec 23/2011

Restaurants and Bars:
only main buffet and beach and only 2 ala cartes, mexican was huge dissapoinment for food, our server not the waiter was really sweet. a few individuals serving in buffett area were really nice and we tried to sit in their area but did not always get them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will NOT return"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherri  on May 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
837 people found this review helpful

I have stayed at many all-inclusives including others in Punta Cana. This is only the second resort I have said I would NOT return to. It is in great need of repair--in so many ways I can't state them all. Even the pool is falling apart, the palapas, Hair dryer blows cool air, pillows are just lumps of foam. That is unless you buy into one of their upgrade programs starting at $25 pp/pd up to $95 pp/pd. They might pay attention to you if you fork over enough money, however the hotel still is in need of many repairs!!! For everything else just fork over the money for amenities that are included at other hotels all over the world!!! The only redeeming feature was a couple of ala carte restaurants--which by the way they said you could dine in 2 times for a 1 week stay...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4 star at all"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  verycoldcanadian  on Nov 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
813 people found this review helpful

We just came back from a week at the Cocotal. Let me start by saying that we are totally beach people that go away from the resort for 4 to 6 hours every day for beach walks and our activities that we do. I would also want to say that all the resort staff ( EXCEPT THE COOKS AND MANAGEMENT ) are amazing and we are very grateful for all they do and try to do .

Arrival:
Check in

Fairly smooth process but there is a walk of about 200 feet from the driveway , thru a tunnel-like archway ( very beautiful ) to get to the front desk. There was nobody there to greet us and we had to drag our very large and fairly heavy bag through the tunnelway. Not a huge deal but we are usually met at the driveway by somebody in other resorts. At the desk they tell us a little about the place and we pay our $ 50 US deposit for the safe and the $ 21 US for the rental fees from the week. This seemed a little steep , but ,whatever , right ? A guy appears and loads the bags onto a push cart and I grab a few drinks for my babe and I and away we go to the room.
After a tip is given we are going to unpack a bit and head out to see our new digs , but , my bag is not in the room. I call down to the desk and the phone reception is so bad that I cannot hear anything but static. So off I go to the desk and my bag is still on the bench right in front of the desk. I tell the staff that the phone is not working and they say they will send someone.
After 30 minutes we say " forget it " and we go out for the night.

Rooms:
The room was okay , very standard really , but we did email a request and did a request thru sunquest that we would like a king bed and a second or third floor room. We were on the ground floor and twin beds. Oh well , our bed at home has aways been a twin so that doesn't matter to us and the ground floor room had a balconey raised about 2 feet from the ground outside. We sleep with the patio door open and do not want too many bugs creeping in. I tried to open the patio door but the track was warped and even after some spray lube , it was still very hard to close it as there was not much to grab onto.
We had a water drip from the ceiling just outside the bathroom all week and down the wall in front of the toilet and behind the toilet for the week as well. We called the desk and a guy came and looked at the piping above the ceiling tiles and wiped them with a towel and left. I though that was pretty funny. The inner door on the safe fell apart too but he managed to stick a piece of wire in the back of it to hold it. Whatever ? right ?

Restaurants and Bars:
The food for the first 5 days was poor at best. Everything was waaaaay over cooked to the point that even the chicken dried out your mouth to the point that you needed water with every bite. The only things that were not overcooked was bacon and the potatoes. These were waaaay undercooked.
We tried the Japanese al a carte and beef and chicken that was cut to approx one quarter inch thick was cooked for 30 minutes on a very hot grill. Pre-cooked shrimp as you get in a shrimp ring was cooked for about 10 minutes.
Pre cooked rice was cooked for 40 minutes and everything was salted down and then soaked in soy sauce. Basically everything was inedible. The appys they had before this meal were good tho. Cold , but good. We ate in the Mexican as well but that at least chewable. I am sorry to say that the food here is the worst we have had in any resort. For the last 2 days , there was a cooking staff change and the food did improve a fair bit but it was still not " good"
They say " you don't go to Cuba for the food " , well , you don't come here either !
They have bars everywhere but the booze is very very watered down. But I guess they don't want drunk people all over the place either.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools and grounds are very well kept. The staff here , as in all the places we have been to , are amazing. The beach has a lot of garbage on it from the ocean. We beach walk every day and we cannot help to think that if the resort owners that pay staff to clean the beach in front of their resorts could spend a bit more , say once a week to clean the garbage only from the beach between each other.
On the beach walks we got all the Mr. Cheapys bugging us every trip to buy their stuff. Mr. Cheapys are spread out here so it is a bit tedious at times but we did buy a couple of nice paintings and some jewellery and I do understand they are only trying to make a buck so , whatever ? right ?

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We have done off-resort activities before and were not willing to waste our time again. Unfortunately the wind was very strong and lots of waves so snorkling was impossible. Boogie boarding was impossible too as the coral was very shallow in the only place that the coral reef ,that stretches all along the coast , had a break in it. We did have one day of rain but this was the first time this has ever happened to us so , whatever ? right ?

Other Comments:
The big deal to us , The NOT " whatever ? right ? , was the time share people.
I am an easy-going person , but these people are told BY MANAGEMENT , not to quit,,,,ever !! When you check in , if this is your first time , you get a blue wrist band , others get a white one. We were met by " our " concierge on the first morning and told us of our free gift that the resort gives to everyone and to be sure to get the $ 80 in resort credit that we were supposed to get. He then said that we could get to stay here again for half the price that we just paid and we could get amazing deals on all Sirenis resorts. I asked him " Is this timeshare ? " , he said " no , no way ! "
I excused ourselves and said we are going to breakfast now and we would think about it. After breakfast we no sooner than left the buffet that another person started in on us. My wife and I both expressed to each other that we are not interested in timeshares and we told them so and continued walking as he walked beside us sying that he gets $ 10 for every person that attends a VIP breakfast at 8 am on tuesday and then a short 45 minute presentation.
Again , we say no thank you. We were accosted 6 more times on that day and the next. I even went to their sales office to explain to them with logic and the fact that we paid $ 1200 per couple , airflight and departure taxes included and there is no way that we could could even just fly down there for that and that would mean that they would have to pay us to vacation there at those prices for it to be just even. They did not listen to me at all and more " concierges " gathered around me until I had about 8 people instead of the one I sat down across from. Still , " $ 80 senor , we will see you and your wife tomorrow !!
I laughed and left.
The next morning at 7 am ,the phone rang and I ignored it. At 730 am ,a knock on the door, I ignored it again. At around 8 30 or so we left for breakfast. As soon as we get to the walkway a guy comes up to us and " My friend come on , come on, we go now !! " I had enough by now so I took a couple of steps towards him and said VERY LOUDLY to " STOP ! NO ! STOP NOW ! " One of his managers saw this and ran up to him and told him to stop. From that point on we were invisible to all of the 24 or so " concierges " that are there.
During our time we saw the pressure room for the sales and it was common to see people inside for 3 to 5 hours getting pitched at. This resort has devoted a huge building that was a ala carte and two bars to a pressure room and another huge area beside the seafood ala carte to a pressure room.

Never will I go back , and I wanted to tell about a mediocre resort trying to piss off as many people as they can. We talked to dozens of people during our stay and our tale was the norm. Sad really .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our second visit to the sirenis"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris  on Oct 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
821 people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to the Sirenis Resorts. We first stayed in the Cocotal side in September 2001 when the resort was new and at its very best. This time we stayed in the sirenis Suites and must admit that the years have taken their toll on the resort.

Arrival:
On arrival due to the time of the year everyone checked in at the Tropical Suites side of recption. We had the usual fruit punch given to us while we waited. Check in was very fast and without any hassle or selling of upgrades etc as previously mentioned in other reviews.

Rooms:
Do to the age of the rooms there was a couple of minor faults. The mixer unit in the bathroom could do with de-scaling and a few of the floor tiles had a hollow sound to them due to the adhesive drying up. Apart from that they room was very comfortable. The maid service was first class and the rooms were always cleaned to a high standard.

Restaurants and Bars:
Again, due to the time of year, there was only one specialised restaurant opened per night. We did not try any of these. The main restaurant was excellent and always had a wide choice of food available. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Drinks were very promptly brought to the table.

The bars were also very good, in particular the Lobby bar where their was always a friendly greeting and service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is one of the best we have seen in the Dom Rep although the tiles are in need of repair and some of the ladders in the pool had missing treads on the rungs. The beach is superb with plenty of beds and cover. We have been to the Dom Rep for the last 10 years and have never seen so many fish in the sea as we did here. Standing in the water with a bread roll you would very soon be surrounded by hundreds of fish.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows on offer we very good although at times they started a little late - after 10pm. There was no pressure to take part in any of the pool activities. You were able to just lie by the pool and read if you wanted.

Other Comments:
We had a very enjoyable holiday. Would I reccommend this resort to people? I would have to say Yes although we found the constent harassment from the Vaction Club Salesmen to be very anoying. This went on from the second day right up to the last hour at the resort. Usually in other resorts once you have been approached and refussed you were left alone. Not here BE WARNED they will not take no for an answer!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort should advertise itself as a family resort."

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Mar 1, 2009  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
283 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 22 Feb - 08 Mar 09
Arrival went very well. Room was not ready for several hours so we ventured out to scout. Of note, the room safe costs 3 US dollars a day which you must pay immediately. You also have to give a 50 US dollar deposit (returned on departure)for the safe key. So your first visit to the desk will cost you,in our case for 14 days, 93 US dollars. Second note, we knew the road to the resort was long and rough but we were surprised at the size of the holes. Our 60 pass buss had to stop at a lot of them before inching through.

Rooms
Room was very tidy and clean and was cleaned early every day. All rooms face towards the ocean with your door at the back so you never have to look at someone elses patio. The lattice work separating each patio area put the crunch on any privacy.

Restaurants and Bars
We visited all a-la-carts except the Mediteranian, vegatarian ang gourmet. All were very good with the Japanese being everyones favourate. The beach snack bars were routine in that they never varied in their selections but needless to say the food was good. The Buffet was large enough to easily feed the masses. The staff were attentive and friendly

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool area was huge and the staff could be found there every morning at 6:30 cleaning. Nicely set up for children and adults alike with depths ranging from about 1 foot to 6.5 feet deep. Two pool bars serviced the patrons.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Did not participate in any activities - just veged for our entire stay.

Other Comments
This resort does not but should advertise itself as a family resort. We figured that 1 of every 3 couples there had at least 2 to 3 children SOme were allowed to run amuk all day long. One child in particular was lost 3 times and the staff were asked to speak with the parents of this child. We are an older couple who met a great many other older couples. The concenses amoung everyone was that we all were baby sitters. One elderly lady on her second day of 14 turned around and had to move abruptly to avoid a child running by. She fell and broke her foot. All in all the resort is beautiful, the grounds are very well maintained and the entire staff want your stay to be enjoyable. Will we go back? Not likely due to the long terribly rough (not bumpy) road and the very large number of children. Plus there are so many other places to visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little bit disappointed with the Casino."

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica from London  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2009
423 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 18 - 25
We booked the trip through Thomas Cook and flew from London (via Manchester, long flight but we were really excited so it didn't bother us!) Arrival went fine, just be prepared with your $10/USD per person for arrival tax. The Thomas Cook representatives at the airport exit were very helpful pointing us to the right shuttle bus. There were a few guests who hadn't done any prior research and complained loudly the entire time about the hour long, bumpy, commute to the resort. But my hubby and I didn't mind at all and enjoyed looking at the sites out the window. We arrived for checkin which was a bit lengthy, but not a problem. We were greeted with cocktails! The main reception/bar area is really nice and impressive. We spent most evenings at the bar and the service was great!!

Rooms
Our room was about halfway down the avenue towards the pool/beach. The rooms are basic but good with two double beds, and several english channels to choose from on the telly.

Restaurants and Bars
The buffet never disappointed. There is a big selection to choose from, and always something new. We really enjoyed the buffets (both the main and the grill down by the pool area). This was another area where we heard people complaining: My hubby and I really loved it because we love trying new foods and are really easy that way. But there were some people there who did not "appreciate" the selection and choice and ended up just with a plate of chips/fries every meal because thats all they would try... So as a reminder, you really need to have an open mind when you go to these all inclusive Caribbean resorts.

There are several a-la-cart restaurants to choose from. They say you get a guaranteed 2 reservations, but we booked 5 for the week we were there no problem. Our favourites were definitely the Oriental and Italian, we also really enjoyed the Mexican and Steakhouse. The Mediterranean/seafood was not very good but we just laughed it off. The house wine at the resort is also not good (not even sure if its wine?) but we were fine with Cervezas and cocktails!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool and beach area was amazing!! The giant pool is maintained to an excellent standard, there were always lots of lounge chairs to choose from, and the 2 swim up bars were a hit. The Cocotal side is the more active side, and the Tropical side a bit more quiet (where we spent most of our time). The beach also is such a relaxing atmosphere. You will not be disappointed with this aspect of the resort.

Other Comments
We were a little bit disappointed with the Casino: It only has one Roulette table and one blackjack table. They had a poker table but only offered "Caribbean" poker (not the popular Texas Hold em'). We are big gamblers so were hopping for something a bit bigger which reflected the name "Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino and Spa" but it was no worries! We kept ourself busy at the beach and bar. We did attend 2 evenings of the entertainment, it was pretty well done for amateur performers! We sat near the back so we were a few steps from the bar :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What do people expect"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  susan  on Mar 27, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
232 people found this review helpful

This was my 3rd visit to this resort and if you do not like it here you are nuts...the place is clean and the workers are awesome people...the entertainment team is the best you can find....our check in took about 5 min and our room was beautiful and clean every day...the only people that were rude were the guests espically the french ones who think you should kiss there ass...these people work from early morning until midnight every day...you should not go to a third world very poor country and expect the best of everything...stay the hell home...you just can not please some people....the beaches...pools...spa and dining was super and there is always something for you too eat...chill people

Room Number:
006

Room Block:
G

Arrival:
All was fast and the staff was friendly

Rooms:
Our room was clean upon arrival and was cleaned every day and we never had to wait for towels or face clothes

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed all the dining and we love Anna in the mornings

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Super and cleaned daily

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We loved all the activities and the animation team is the best...we liked them all....Ping Pong...Blackberry...Cassanova...Tony Montaina...Midina...Alvin ...Big Mamma...Minnie Mouse....The kids club is awesome...and the dancers...WOW....we will be back next year..hope you are all still there

Other Comments:
The ground are beautiful and well kept and we will be returning next year for our 4th visit....and for those of you who say the time share people bother you...well we were there for 8 days and not one person approached us..just do not make eye contact with them...as for the venders..they are only trying to make a living and last but not least Thank you to Jana foe all you did for us

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place was great!"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy from Kanata  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
324 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 13 - March 20
We arrived Friday the 13th around 10pm. As previously stated, the drive is a long and bumpy one, but not as bad going down as expected. No problem checking in, met us, took luggage and given room keys. We were not told about safety deposit keys (had to go back later) and were never offered upgrades of any kind. Met with cold drink and lots of Hola's. We were in room R101, a long walk from reception, but had nice ocean/beach view.

Rooms
The room was on a corner, one side looking over a rundown area with broken fence but looking to the right we got nice garden views with ocean in background. The rooms are tired, they can do with some freshening up for sure but fine for the 4 of us. I asked the porter for blanket and pillow for my daugther who was sleeping in living room area, and when we came back from walk they had brought in cot and set it up for her. It worked out great, and she said it was comfy. The room service we received was a little sad, even though I left money and gifts every single day, we always were short towels, she was pretty cheap with pop in the fridge and never recieved any fancy towels or flowers like friends we made had...but oh well.

Restaurants and Bars
The cocatel side buffet was open, tropical not. By day 5 getting tired of same old, but always managed to find something to eat. Lobby area was awesome, sit and people watch, have a drink and some poco (popcorn) Pool bars (swim up) were great, spent lots of time there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool area is amazing...never had problem getting chairs. Loved everything about it. The tubes we brought were a huge hit, so much so we had to keep eye on them, people trying to take them but the kids and adults alike enjoyed the fun of them. The beach is beautiful as well, walk for miles.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The *Animation SUPER* was the highlight. My daughter already wants to go back to see *Spaghetti and Barney*. These guys are super for sure, not pushy, just darn funny and very very entertaining. It was weird waking up in Canada this morning knowing they would not be around with their high fives and hugs. They gave everyone names, I was Madonna, my son was Ricky Martin, my daughter Jennifer Lopez..and that was what we were for the week, although Barney was calling me mom or mother in law by end of the week....we saw a show every night and they really were great to watch. We did not do any tours, but kids did banana boat ride at resort and had a blast.

Other Comments
This place was great, the goods definitely were much better than the bads. Food was ok, not great but we survived, the rooms were spacious but tired, but the resort is so beautiful it did not matter. The animation team are outstanding, the staff very friendly and the grounds breathtaking. Would we go back? If Ashley has her way, YES, and I probably would but would like to stay another place just to compare. Hola from soccer mom!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube