Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa  

Playa Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"What do people expect"
Posted by: susan  on Mar 27, 2013
see all reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Pictures and Information
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#28
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.7

Based on 16 reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Information


Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa is a five star hotel facility, located on the eastern side of the Dominican Republic, on the Uvero Alto-Macao beach in the Higüey region.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 3.7 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  6
Average
  0
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 16

"This place was great!"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy from Kanata  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
317 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 13 - March 20
We arrived Friday the 13th around 10pm. As previously stated, the drive is a long and bumpy one, but not as bad going down as expected. No problem checking in, met us, took luggage and given room keys. We were not told about safety deposit keys (had to go back later) and were never offered upgrades of any kind. Met with cold drink and lots of Hola's. We were in room R101, a long walk from reception, but had nice ocean/beach view.

Rooms
The room was on a corner, one side looking over a rundown area with broken fence but looking to the right we got nice garden views with ocean in background. The rooms are tired, they can do with some freshening up for sure but fine for the 4 of us. I asked the porter for blanket and pillow for my daugther who was sleeping in living room area, and when we came back from walk they had brought in cot and set it up for her. It worked out great, and she said it was comfy. The room service we received was a little sad, even though I left money and gifts every single day, we always were short towels, she was pretty cheap with pop in the fridge and never recieved any fancy towels or flowers like friends we made had...but oh well.

Restaurants and Bars
The cocatel side buffet was open, tropical not. By day 5 getting tired of same old, but always managed to find something to eat. Lobby area was awesome, sit and people watch, have a drink and some poco (popcorn) Pool bars (swim up) were great, spent lots of time there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool area is amazing...never had problem getting chairs. Loved everything about it. The tubes we brought were a huge hit, so much so we had to keep eye on them, people trying to take them but the kids and adults alike enjoyed the fun of them. The beach is beautiful as well, walk for miles.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The *Animation SUPER* was the highlight. My daughter already wants to go back to see *Spaghetti and Barney*. These guys are super for sure, not pushy, just darn funny and very very entertaining. It was weird waking up in Canada this morning knowing they would not be around with their high fives and hugs. They gave everyone names, I was Madonna, my son was Ricky Martin, my daughter Jennifer Lopez..and that was what we were for the week, although Barney was calling me mom or mother in law by end of the week....we saw a show every night and they really were great to watch. We did not do any tours, but kids did banana boat ride at resort and had a blast.

Other Comments
This place was great, the goods definitely were much better than the bads. Food was ok, not great but we survived, the rooms were spacious but tired, but the resort is so beautiful it did not matter. The animation team are outstanding, the staff very friendly and the grounds breathtaking. Would we go back? If Ashley has her way, YES, and I probably would but would like to stay another place just to compare. Hola from soccer mom!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort should advertise itself as a family resort."

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Mar 1, 2009  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
278 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 22 Feb - 08 Mar 09
Arrival went very well. Room was not ready for several hours so we ventured out to scout. Of note, the room safe costs 3 US dollars a day which you must pay immediately. You also have to give a 50 US dollar deposit (returned on departure)for the safe key. So your first visit to the desk will cost you,in our case for 14 days, 93 US dollars. Second note, we knew the road to the resort was long and rough but we were surprised at the size of the holes. Our 60 pass buss had to stop at a lot of them before inching through.

Rooms
Room was very tidy and clean and was cleaned early every day. All rooms face towards the ocean with your door at the back so you never have to look at someone elses patio. The lattice work separating each patio area put the crunch on any privacy.

Restaurants and Bars
We visited all a-la-carts except the Mediteranian, vegatarian ang gourmet. All were very good with the Japanese being everyones favourate. The beach snack bars were routine in that they never varied in their selections but needless to say the food was good. The Buffet was large enough to easily feed the masses. The staff were attentive and friendly

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool area was huge and the staff could be found there every morning at 6:30 cleaning. Nicely set up for children and adults alike with depths ranging from about 1 foot to 6.5 feet deep. Two pool bars serviced the patrons.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Did not participate in any activities - just veged for our entire stay.

Other Comments
This resort does not but should advertise itself as a family resort. We figured that 1 of every 3 couples there had at least 2 to 3 children SOme were allowed to run amuk all day long. One child in particular was lost 3 times and the staff were asked to speak with the parents of this child. We are an older couple who met a great many other older couples. The concenses amoung everyone was that we all were baby sitters. One elderly lady on her second day of 14 turned around and had to move abruptly to avoid a child running by. She fell and broke her foot. All in all the resort is beautiful, the grounds are very well maintained and the entire staff want your stay to be enjoyable. Will we go back? Not likely due to the long terribly rough (not bumpy) road and the very large number of children. Plus there are so many other places to visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little bit disappointed with the Casino."

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica from London  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2009
416 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 18 - 25
We booked the trip through Thomas Cook and flew from London (via Manchester, long flight but we were really excited so it didn't bother us!) Arrival went fine, just be prepared with your $10/USD per person for arrival tax. The Thomas Cook representatives at the airport exit were very helpful pointing us to the right shuttle bus. There were a few guests who hadn't done any prior research and complained loudly the entire time about the hour long, bumpy, commute to the resort. But my hubby and I didn't mind at all and enjoyed looking at the sites out the window. We arrived for checkin which was a bit lengthy, but not a problem. We were greeted with cocktails! The main reception/bar area is really nice and impressive. We spent most evenings at the bar and the service was great!!

Rooms
Our room was about halfway down the avenue towards the pool/beach. The rooms are basic but good with two double beds, and several english channels to choose from on the telly.

Restaurants and Bars
The buffet never disappointed. There is a big selection to choose from, and always something new. We really enjoyed the buffets (both the main and the grill down by the pool area). This was another area where we heard people complaining: My hubby and I really loved it because we love trying new foods and are really easy that way. But there were some people there who did not "appreciate" the selection and choice and ended up just with a plate of chips/fries every meal because thats all they would try... So as a reminder, you really need to have an open mind when you go to these all inclusive Caribbean resorts.

There are several a-la-cart restaurants to choose from. They say you get a guaranteed 2 reservations, but we booked 5 for the week we were there no problem. Our favourites were definitely the Oriental and Italian, we also really enjoyed the Mexican and Steakhouse. The Mediterranean/seafood was not very good but we just laughed it off. The house wine at the resort is also not good (not even sure if its wine?) but we were fine with Cervezas and cocktails!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool and beach area was amazing!! The giant pool is maintained to an excellent standard, there were always lots of lounge chairs to choose from, and the 2 swim up bars were a hit. The Cocotal side is the more active side, and the Tropical side a bit more quiet (where we spent most of our time). The beach also is such a relaxing atmosphere. You will not be disappointed with this aspect of the resort.

Other Comments
We were a little bit disappointed with the Casino: It only has one Roulette table and one blackjack table. They had a poker table but only offered "Caribbean" poker (not the popular Texas Hold em'). We are big gamblers so were hopping for something a bit bigger which reflected the name "Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino and Spa" but it was no worries! We kept ourself busy at the beach and bar. We did attend 2 evenings of the entertainment, it was pretty well done for amateur performers! We sat near the back so we were a few steps from the bar :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food at the hotel is fantastic."

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Leanne from Birmingham  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2009
441 people found this review helpful

Arrival: june 2006
Also you must pay a tax to enter the country of $10 each and when leaving $20.00 dollars each so make sure save some money for the return trip your deposit for your deposit box will cover most of it. On arriving checking in found it very quick you do however as most places have to pay deposit for safe in room untill end of holiday which is advisable just for safe measure but i must admit left our bags on the beach and pool on their own with no problems. They also have dancers which perform for you with a drink while you check in hospitality is at its best here.

Rooms:
The tropical side are suites which comprises of living room basic, a bathroom and large double bedroom and air con advisable at night to shut door to bedroom for best use of the air con, Mosquitos there are alot there if you suffer with getting bit you will def get bit here. doctor advised a 95% deet in the repellent and as we usually get bit we only got bit when didn't use it. The maids are great they keep everything clean and bathroom looks lovely ( you will have to see !surprise) can tip if you wish leave by television. A bonus here alot of american channels great movies.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food at the hotel is fantastic such a wide range of food to suit everyone healthy to greasy lol will find something to suit everyone. You may suffer with a bit of loose stools but its probably to do with the change of food we had that but no stomach ache. would not drink to much coconut or pineapple drinks not if heavy drinking anyway as water infections and they a natural laxative lol. the reps told us at meeting possible if get a bad stomach it might be to do with dehydration when was the time you suffered with stomach pain from that seemed to me they said it to cover themselves.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Swimming pool - this has a small swim up bar with approx four stools but the pool is the largest pool i have ever seen all different depths and even the tallest of you will be happy you cant touch the floor in some parts upto 7ft7 in places. Its kept very clean with loads of sun loungers and the beach right next to it.

The beach - the carribbean has to be the place for its puriest fine grain sand and light blue oceans with a tropical breeze and you can feel the satin beneath your feet as you walk amongst the tall shaded palm trees you even have waiters sometimes pass and they will get you a drink while you watch the world go by and catch up on your tan, very hot out there so becareful so many people had been burnt the first day looked like lobsters!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The spa offers a gym and massage treatments rangeing from $25.00 upwards but massages are brilliant if been for a two hour gallop on horse back which i absolutely loved then need it for the aches and pains. The jacuzzi was luke warm not as hot as we have here and the long bath had many jets but it was freezing i suppose as its always hot out there they prefer it but again excellent service and lovelly staff they may have had other amenities but this is just what i experienced.

The casino quite a small one but none the less still two roulette tables and black jack and poker the usual and to be served by a waitress as you play without having to get up. about fifteen bandits. you only get free drinks in the casino in your all inclusive if you play the table and machines.

Entertainment - we missed most of the evenings from being to tired from the day but they did have childrens stage shows on about 7pm and then the older entertainment from 9.30 which would include spanish dancing one night then mama mia grease and hypnotists all sorts for the whole family. thomas cook quiz night.

Other Comments:
Money - Money is another thing we decided to get pesos which is their money for the dominican but everything over there is done in dollars so better to get dollars. Also make sure you barter with the locals for jewellery pictures anything trust me they tripple everything epecially if english lol

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A-MA-ZING! WOW with a capital W-O-W!!!"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dawn  on Feb 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
590 people found this review helpful

I have to admit, after reading so many negative reviews before going, I was second guessing my decision but the minute I stepped off the shuttle I knew it was gonna be a good one! With all the little shops that lined the drive, the immaculate grounds, and breath taking lobby, I was pleasantly relieved and ready for a great vacation.

Your Arrival:
Check-In
We were greeted with a happy, friendly “hola” from behind the front desk. Check-in was painless and the bellhop was there ready to take our luggage to our room. We were presented with a package listing all the property amenities, restaurant hours, activity schedule, property map, etc. which came in very handy.

Rooms:
Pretty standard hotel room (L-109). Two beds, small table, three chairs, desk, tv with English channels (not the best reception but really, who’s there to watch tv…you’re in paradise). It was dark when we checked in so didn’t realize until the next morning that we actually had an ocean view room...FABULOUS!!! The sound of the waves and smell of the ocean just made our stay that much more enjoyable! We actually left our patio door open each night without incident of bugs or other creatures coming in. Standard bathroom, plenty of towels each day. Shower leaked on the first day but that was our mistake :S Fridge was stocked with water and pop every day. We did leave the cleaning staff small gifts with a note and/or cash each day to say thanks for cleaning up after us. We received fresh flowers on our beds and in the bathroom every day as well…nice extra little touch!

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants
Lots to choose from. Tried both the buffets which unfortunately are exactly the same but that’s to be expected when you’re catering to 1,000+ guests each day. Variety of foods at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch and dinner were pretty similar and became repetitive after 7 days but nothing to complain about…still lots to choose from. Poolside lunch buffet was really good with different choices (burgers, salads, nachos, etc)…was a nice change. Beach bbq was also really good with burgers, hotdogs and chicken to choose from. We found the buffet hours to be odd – Breakfast 7-10; Lunch 1-3; Dinner 7-10, but again, definitely nothing to complain about, and after all, we were in a different country with different customs and ways of doing things so it was all good. We tried the Italian Restaurant which was very good…super friendly staff…great food…nice atmosphere. We also tried the Steakhouse which again was very good….superb staff who introduced us to the mamajuana (woohooo)…great atmosphere with everyone in cowboy hats…so cute ;D

Bars
ALL the bartenders and bar staff were unbelievably friendly and happy, always singing and dancing…so much fun! I love that! Drinks were great…Coco Loco is by far my new favourite drink…morning, noon and night…mmmm, sooo good :}

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool
Pool is huge and goes on forever. Didn’t actually go in and regret that but did watch people playing and having fun, utilizing the swim-up bar, playing volleyball, etc. Didn’t find it crowded at all and actually thought that the pool was underutilized at times. Lots of lounge chairs around but most are saved and often times, vacant for hours on end which is a shame. We had no problems finding a chair on the days we decided to sit by the pool though.

Beach
Absolutely beautiful…goes on for ever and ever. Hundreds of lounge chairs scattered across the entire length of the beach. Other than the first day, we had no problems finding a vacant lounge chair and hut even in the middle of the afternoon. Most people do get up early to save their chair but it was vacation, we weren’t about to get up early if we didn’t have to!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment / Activities
Non-stop activities all day, every day from morning to night. We didn’t participate in any of it and regret that now but everyone who did, looked like they were having lots of fun. The Entertainment is exceptional. Sooo good…from the Michael Jackson show to Dirty Dancing to the International Dance…WOW…sooo good…can you hear the enthusiasm in my voice…I was totally impressed and wish I would have captured every moment on video – it was that good ;D. They also did Miss Sirenis 2010 one night, Men vs. Women another, a Circus show which I hear was extraordinary (sadly, we missed that night) and a great Dominican show. The Animacion team works non-stop all day and night with the highest of energy levels, getting everyone involved…they are truly amazing and definitely made our stay at Sirenis memorable. I don’t know how they do it day after day after day but I’m glad they do cause we had sooo much fun just watching them entertain :} James Bond, Will Smith, Spaghetti, Omega, Barney, Mosquito and the rest of the team…super hilarious and extremely talented!

Shopping
There are several little shops on the property just before the main building but three out of the four times we went to check them out, they were closed. There is also a gift shop on site with various souvenirs, toiletry items, etc. No beach peddlers but there are little shops beside the Sirenis beach that you can check out. Most have the same merchandise but aren’t pushy or aggressive which is nice. There’s one really quaint shop called “Banana Beach” (if I remember correctly), really nice, beautiful purses, flip flops, jewellery and clothing…very nice!!! There were also vendors set up with paintings and jewellery on the other side of the property at one point. One night during our stay there were various vendors set-up on the grounds which was great…it looked really sharp and everyone was very friendly and not super aggressive so it was enjoyable to look.

Excursions
Keep in mind that the Sirenis is very secluded, about an hour away from the airport so there’s not a lot of interaction with the locals which is great for some people but for us, we like to experience as much of the culture and life of the locals as possible so decided to do three different excursions. We did the Quad & Buggy Adventure and had such the best time EVER!!! Wow…it was so much fun…we came back COVERED in mud, grinning from ear to ear. Would definitely recommend everyone try it out. We also did the Canopy Adventure which again, was amazing. The trip up into the mountain was interesting and rough but fun! Another must. Lastly, we did the Tropical Storm catamaran cruise…beautiful, breathtaking views, time to snorkel, check out the Astron Shipwreck, have a drink in the ocean…great crew and lots of fun!!!

Other Comments:
Staff
Although the Animacion team is outstanding and front and centre at all times, there are so, so many other staff that go unnoticed who do just as much of an amazing job every day. From the front desk staff to guest services to the grounds keepers, cleaning staff, restaurant and bar staff, my cute little boys who put all the lounge chairs back at the end of every day and changed all the garbage cans across the entire beach (they were so cute, I was just fascinated watching them every day) and my favourite buffet restaurant guy Ananio…such a cutie with an adorable smile :D His side kick was adorable too, always singing and smiling with his cute little dimples…I didn’t get his name though :( The soft spoken older gentleman who handed out beach towels every day...what a sweetheart :) No matter where you went on the property, there was always an employee walking by with a smile and friendly “hola”…truly a great experience and everyone deserves a pat on the back for a job well done!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will NOT return"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherri  on May 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
818 people found this review helpful

I have stayed at many all-inclusives including others in Punta Cana. This is only the second resort I have said I would NOT return to. It is in great need of repair--in so many ways I can't state them all. Even the pool is falling apart, the palapas, Hair dryer blows cool air, pillows are just lumps of foam. That is unless you buy into one of their upgrade programs starting at $25 pp/pd up to $95 pp/pd. They might pay attention to you if you fork over enough money, however the hotel still is in need of many repairs!!! For everything else just fork over the money for amenities that are included at other hotels all over the world!!! The only redeeming feature was a couple of ala carte restaurants--which by the way they said you could dine in 2 times for a 1 week stay...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Perfect Vacation"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Warren  on Apr 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
665 people found this review helpful

Stayed at this resort from April4-11 and had a great time. The week was better than what we were expecting.

Your Arrival:
Check in was easy and efficient. Porters were smiling and happy. Did not have to waite to be checked in.

Rooms:
Rooms were adequate. Cleaned daily and had verything we needed. We didn't spend any time in our room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars were excellent. The buffets had a variety of food and changed daily. There was enough choices to suite every one. The Italian and Steak House Restaurants were great. The Tenderloin at the Syeak House was perfect. Main lobby bars and the swim up bars made great drinks and you never waited long to get what you want.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach and Pool was magnificent. You have to see them for yourself in order to believe how beautiful they are.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Vacation Ever"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  emily  on Aug 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
778 people found this review helpful

My father, boyfriend and I stayed at sirenis for a week end of July 2010, which was the best vacation ever. Staff was super friendly. They treated us like royalty. Great food at the 24/7 buffet and Mexican Restaurant (which you have to make reservations). I really enjoyed the freash fruits at the buffet. Grill on the beach was so delicious. There was a bar on the beach. My father would lay out on the beach and just order anything he wanted from the bar without having to get up. The beach is so beautiful, just like the paradise. The water was really warm. This resort had so many activities I really enjoyed the Aqua erobics with MR. Salami.they also had a great entertainment team called" Animacion Super" The room service was so friendly,always left us with clean rooms and towels and flowers on bed and bathrooms. They are very honest too. I left my digital camera on the beach and would go into theocean for two hours and would return with it still being there. also the room service was also honest once i took of my jewlery and left it on the bathroom. I was thinking that it would be gone when i got back. But she just cleaned our sink without even touching it. Very beatiful resort, great beach, great people and a lot of fun. We r definetly going next year back to Sirenis.

Arrival:
Super, awaited with bag carriers and delicious fruit drinks

Rooms:
beautiful clean,

Restaurants and Bars:
loved the mexican restaurant, u got to try the milky cake

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach is beautiful, warm ocean water, pools are super cool with a bar in one of them

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we enjoyed the aqua aerobics, dance lessons, aqua motorized sports,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our second visit to the sirenis"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris  on Oct 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
801 people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to the Sirenis Resorts. We first stayed in the Cocotal side in September 2001 when the resort was new and at its very best. This time we stayed in the sirenis Suites and must admit that the years have taken their toll on the resort.

Arrival:
On arrival due to the time of the year everyone checked in at the Tropical Suites side of recption. We had the usual fruit punch given to us while we waited. Check in was very fast and without any hassle or selling of upgrades etc as previously mentioned in other reviews.

Rooms:
Do to the age of the rooms there was a couple of minor faults. The mixer unit in the bathroom could do with de-scaling and a few of the floor tiles had a hollow sound to them due to the adhesive drying up. Apart from that they room was very comfortable. The maid service was first class and the rooms were always cleaned to a high standard.

Restaurants and Bars:
Again, due to the time of year, there was only one specialised restaurant opened per night. We did not try any of these. The main restaurant was excellent and always had a wide choice of food available. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Drinks were very promptly brought to the table.

The bars were also very good, in particular the Lobby bar where their was always a friendly greeting and service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is one of the best we have seen in the Dom Rep although the tiles are in need of repair and some of the ladders in the pool had missing treads on the rungs. The beach is superb with plenty of beds and cover. We have been to the Dom Rep for the last 10 years and have never seen so many fish in the sea as we did here. Standing in the water with a bread roll you would very soon be surrounded by hundreds of fish.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows on offer we very good although at times they started a little late - after 10pm. There was no pressure to take part in any of the pool activities. You were able to just lie by the pool and read if you wanted.

Other Comments:
We had a very enjoyable holiday. Would I reccommend this resort to people? I would have to say Yes although we found the constent harassment from the Vaction Club Salesmen to be very anoying. This went on from the second day right up to the last hour at the resort. Usually in other resorts once you have been approached and refussed you were left alone. Not here BE WARNED they will not take no for an answer!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4 star at all"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  verycoldcanadian  on Nov 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
798 people found this review helpful

We just came back from a week at the Cocotal. Let me start by saying that we are totally beach people that go away from the resort for 4 to 6 hours every day for beach walks and our activities that we do. I would also want to say that all the resort staff ( EXCEPT THE COOKS AND MANAGEMENT ) are amazing and we are very grateful for all they do and try to do .

Arrival:
Check in

Fairly smooth process but there is a walk of about 200 feet from the driveway , thru a tunnel-like archway ( very beautiful ) to get to the front desk. There was nobody there to greet us and we had to drag our very large and fairly heavy bag through the tunnelway. Not a huge deal but we are usually met at the driveway by somebody in other resorts. At the desk they tell us a little about the place and we pay our $ 50 US deposit for the safe and the $ 21 US for the rental fees from the week. This seemed a little steep , but ,whatever , right ? A guy appears and loads the bags onto a push cart and I grab a few drinks for my babe and I and away we go to the room.
After a tip is given we are going to unpack a bit and head out to see our new digs , but , my bag is not in the room. I call down to the desk and the phone reception is so bad that I cannot hear anything but static. So off I go to the desk and my bag is still on the bench right in front of the desk. I tell the staff that the phone is not working and they say they will send someone.
After 30 minutes we say " forget it " and we go out for the night.

Rooms:
The room was okay , very standard really , but we did email a request and did a request thru sunquest that we would like a king bed and a second or third floor room. We were on the ground floor and twin beds. Oh well , our bed at home has aways been a twin so that doesn't matter to us and the ground floor room had a balconey raised about 2 feet from the ground outside. We sleep with the patio door open and do not want too many bugs creeping in. I tried to open the patio door but the track was warped and even after some spray lube , it was still very hard to close it as there was not much to grab onto.
We had a water drip from the ceiling just outside the bathroom all week and down the wall in front of the toilet and behind the toilet for the week as well. We called the desk and a guy came and looked at the piping above the ceiling tiles and wiped them with a towel and left. I though that was pretty funny. The inner door on the safe fell apart too but he managed to stick a piece of wire in the back of it to hold it. Whatever ? right ?

Restaurants and Bars:
The food for the first 5 days was poor at best. Everything was waaaaay over cooked to the point that even the chicken dried out your mouth to the point that you needed water with every bite. The only things that were not overcooked was bacon and the potatoes. These were waaaay undercooked.
We tried the Japanese al a carte and beef and chicken that was cut to approx one quarter inch thick was cooked for 30 minutes on a very hot grill. Pre-cooked shrimp as you get in a shrimp ring was cooked for about 10 minutes.
Pre cooked rice was cooked for 40 minutes and everything was salted down and then soaked in soy sauce. Basically everything was inedible. The appys they had before this meal were good tho. Cold , but good. We ate in the Mexican as well but that at least chewable. I am sorry to say that the food here is the worst we have had in any resort. For the last 2 days , there was a cooking staff change and the food did improve a fair bit but it was still not " good"
They say " you don't go to Cuba for the food " , well , you don't come here either !
They have bars everywhere but the booze is very very watered down. But I guess they don't want drunk people all over the place either.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools and grounds are very well kept. The staff here , as in all the places we have been to , are amazing. The beach has a lot of garbage on it from the ocean. We beach walk every day and we cannot help to think that if the resort owners that pay staff to clean the beach in front of their resorts could spend a bit more , say once a week to clean the garbage only from the beach between each other.
On the beach walks we got all the Mr. Cheapys bugging us every trip to buy their stuff. Mr. Cheapys are spread out here so it is a bit tedious at times but we did buy a couple of nice paintings and some jewellery and I do understand they are only trying to make a buck so , whatever ? right ?

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We have done off-resort activities before and were not willing to waste our time again. Unfortunately the wind was very strong and lots of waves so snorkling was impossible. Boogie boarding was impossible too as the coral was very shallow in the only place that the coral reef ,that stretches all along the coast , had a break in it. We did have one day of rain but this was the first time this has ever happened to us so , whatever ? right ?

Other Comments:
The big deal to us , The NOT " whatever ? right ? , was the time share people.
I am an easy-going person , but these people are told BY MANAGEMENT , not to quit,,,,ever !! When you check in , if this is your first time , you get a blue wrist band , others get a white one. We were met by " our " concierge on the first morning and told us of our free gift that the resort gives to everyone and to be sure to get the $ 80 in resort credit that we were supposed to get. He then said that we could get to stay here again for half the price that we just paid and we could get amazing deals on all Sirenis resorts. I asked him " Is this timeshare ? " , he said " no , no way ! "
I excused ourselves and said we are going to breakfast now and we would think about it. After breakfast we no sooner than left the buffet that another person started in on us. My wife and I both expressed to each other that we are not interested in timeshares and we told them so and continued walking as he walked beside us sying that he gets $ 10 for every person that attends a VIP breakfast at 8 am on tuesday and then a short 45 minute presentation.
Again , we say no thank you. We were accosted 6 more times on that day and the next. I even went to their sales office to explain to them with logic and the fact that we paid $ 1200 per couple , airflight and departure taxes included and there is no way that we could could even just fly down there for that and that would mean that they would have to pay us to vacation there at those prices for it to be just even. They did not listen to me at all and more " concierges " gathered around me until I had about 8 people instead of the one I sat down across from. Still , " $ 80 senor , we will see you and your wife tomorrow !!
I laughed and left.
The next morning at 7 am ,the phone rang and I ignored it. At 730 am ,a knock on the door, I ignored it again. At around 8 30 or so we left for breakfast. As soon as we get to the walkway a guy comes up to us and " My friend come on , come on, we go now !! " I had enough by now so I took a couple of steps towards him and said VERY LOUDLY to " STOP ! NO ! STOP NOW ! " One of his managers saw this and ran up to him and told him to stop. From that point on we were invisible to all of the 24 or so " concierges " that are there.
During our time we saw the pressure room for the sales and it was common to see people inside for 3 to 5 hours getting pitched at. This resort has devoted a huge building that was a ala carte and two bars to a pressure room and another huge area beside the seafood ala carte to a pressure room.

Never will I go back , and I wanted to tell about a mediocre resort trying to piss off as many people as they can. We talked to dozens of people during our stay and our tale was the norm. Sad really .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube