Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa  

Playa Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"In need of an upgrade!"
Posted by: Shelly on Jan 25, 2015
see all reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Pictures and Information
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#28
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.5

Based on 17 reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Information


Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa is a five star hotel facility, located on the eastern side of the Dominican Republic, on the Uvero Alto-Macao beach in the Higüey region.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Reviews

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 3.5 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  6
Average
  0
Poor
  4
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
11 - 17 of 17

"Excellent resort"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  ian  on Jan 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1854 people found this review helpful

This is the third time we have stayed at the sirenis in the last 5 years we love this resort this time we took our parents who are seniors. they also have stayed with us in punta cana at many resorts from the dreams to the secrects exellence to the catolonia and also the occidental we were all impressed with the food and the service special thanks to yenice at the main buffet and tommy at the swim up bar.We were impressed with the service at the front desk in previous visits they were snotty and unhelpfull this visit they couldnt do enough for you.Its the first time we went more than one week, we stayed 12 days.They are really trying to improve customer relations the front desk comes down to the pool and does random surveys during the day. We love this place and we cant wait to go back this spring.We traveled on Thomas cook airlines wich is operated by jazz ,air canada lots of leg room for a six foot three guy like me.great vacation.The steak house was good ,seafood was great and the italian alacarte was amazing the lasagna excellent.You cant go wrong with this resort if you are not to fussy ,rooms are clean and staff amazing.

Room Number:
M217

Room Block:
m

Arrival:
only 12 of us on the bus in previous visits it was 50 to 60 only 5 minutes to check in

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the pool is still amazing the only real swimming pool in the carribean over 8 feet deep it does have a kids end

Other Comments:
great resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  susan  on Mar 4, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1873 people found this review helpful

i travelled to the sirinis cocotal for the first time ever south and i had the time of my life. the place was very clean..the staffgreat and the entertainment team was awesome..there were no bugs any where ..the beach and pools were great and clean..the food and drinks were all awesome.we were a group of 14 and we all had a wonderful time..too will smith..aguna..snoopy..james bond .happy boy..hong kong and too my favorite potatoe..we love you guys and thank you for the wonderful vacation and i will be back next year...soo.mr potatoe i will be looking for another dance ..ola to all

Room Number:
oo8

Room Block:
b

Arrival:
we arrived on feb 4 th 2011

Rooms:
our room was clean and spacious with iron iron board hair dryer and fridge all stocked and a nice bottle of rum

Restaurants and Bars:
all great and had no problems with reservations anywhere and we had 3 of them..steak house..mexican.and the chinese...all excellent

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
all clean and awesome

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of things too do..loved the shows at night...any one who did not have a good time i say...shame on you

Other Comments:
this was my first time south and i had such a good time here i can not imagine going any where else and i will be back there again next year and have already contacted a travel agent and made arrangements

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Need a lot of repairs"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Luisa Guzman  on Nov 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1749 people found this review helpful

This was our first time in a resort in Punta Cana.We went for our honeymoon.This resort is divided in 2 sections the old section is Cocotal and the new one is Tropical.The rooms at the Cocotal were terrible.Hair dryers are full of hair,bath tub is dirty,pillows are just lumps of foam. That is unless you buy into one of their upgrade programs.Service was great our concierge was Edwing and he was awesome.We had to change the room because it was in terrible conditions.We had other couple that we met at the resort that were staying in the same building and their room was worse than ours,but they did not complain.Their walls had lama ,the refrigerator was not working and it had a leak on the bath tub.They called maintenance and they never showed up.If you go to the Sirenis Tropical is 100% better but the rate is higher.These rooms are given to people from Europe.The other side Cocotal please do not let them give you a room there.There are TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
H104

Room Block:
Cocotal

Arrival:
11/17/11 to 11/22/11

Rooms:
Realy Bad.They need a lot of repairs

Restaurants and Bars:
Pretty good.Only one day the food was really bad.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overrated hotel and service"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  mel  on Jan 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1576 people found this review helpful

we decided to go to this resort based on the ratings the sites provided. the grounds are beauiful and the ride is pretty. however once upon arrival we were told three different times to go back to reception to check in over a course of 3 hours. the staff in general appear to be lacking enthusiasum, sometimes outright standoffish, and abrupt. service was slow and sometimes out right dismissed. the house keeping gave us back dirty towels and did not replace all towels. the beds were very hard. the food was at best was okay, some of it was out right undercooked and meat was often overdone. drinks seemed very artifically flavored. overall the service seemed to be lacking hospitality. only a handful of staff made this trip a bit more managagable. we tipped everyday regardless. our room keys often didn't work and the door had to be practically broken in to open it. the beach was beautiful and the rooms are very shabby. minibars only had pop and 1 bottle of water. no snacks or liquor. overall this was a huge dissappoinment and although likley will go back we will not go back nor recommend this place. we spent great $$ for lack of welcome and genuine hospitality.

Room Number:
016

Room Block:
mc

Arrival:
Dec 23/2011

Restaurants and Bars:
only main buffet and beach and only 2 ala cartes, mexican was huge dissapoinment for food, our server not the waiter was really sweet. a few individuals serving in buffett area were really nice and we tried to sit in their area but did not always get them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"terrible place"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  ashley  on Sep 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1461 people found this review helpful

This hotel is AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do NOT waste your time or money here. People who had good reviews about this place can't be telling the truth. There is nothing good about it.

1. The resort is massive, hard to get around and poorly lit at night. I was nervous to walk to my building where our room was....yes, there are MULTIPLE buildings to have to navigate around. My husband and I are pretty active and enjoy walking but we dreaded having to walk all over in that heat.

2. What little service they have is TERRIBLE! There was no one by the pool walking around getting drinks for people. The "frozen" drinks were in pre-made slushy type machines that didn't keep the drinks cold. They tasted disgusting. While at the front desk PAYING FOR A SAFE, there was a group of people checking in. We were pushed off to the side and stood there until they were done- even though we were there first and in the process of doing the paperwork.

3. Food is DISGUSTING! My husband got food poisoning and was sick for 2 1/2 days. You are only allowed to make 2 reservations in the restaurants the whole week (only 2 or 3 were open during our stay). I made the reservation on the 2nd day and we had to wait 5 days before there was an opening. we lived on snickers, pringles and goldfish crackers from the crappy gift shop. They had birds eating the food by the pool. Walking and pecking at the food, its disgusting.

4. the fridge and fan didn't work in our room. the AC barely kept the room cool. We brought it to their attention but they didn't do anything about it. The elevator in our building was out of order the whole week. we had to haul our luggage up & down 2 flights of stairs. We asked for 4 days for wash cloths in our room bc we didn't have any. We finally got 2 but that was it for the rest of our stay. The lock on our door broke...they actually fixed that thank god.

5. the hotel and beach are dirty. A toilet over flowed on my in-laws floor of their building and they had only 1 guy cleaning up the mess. it was going into everyones room and the place smelled like a sewer. We had these tiny little ants in our room & bed bugs. I had all these little bit marks all over my legs.

6. US airways lost my father in laws luggage and this peice of crap hotel wouldn't do anything to help us or accomodate us. We asked for complimentary laundry service sohe didn't have to wash his clothes inthe sink. they wouldn't even do that! He wash his 2 pairs of shorts, 3 tshirts and few pair of underware in his sink all week. How do you expect people to come back if you are not helping in any way?

7. the hotel is an hour from the airport! in the middle of no where. our shuttle back to the airport forgot to stop at another hotel to pick up more people. So we had to turn around and go back for them. Thankfully, we made it to the airport and didn't miss our flight.

8. They barely speak any english. I

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What do people expect"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  susan  on Mar 27, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1356 people found this review helpful

This was my 3rd visit to this resort and if you do not like it here you are nuts...the place is clean and the workers are awesome people...the entertainment team is the best you can find....our check in took about 5 min and our room was beautiful and clean every day...the only people that were rude were the guests espically the french ones who think you should kiss there ass...these people work from early morning until midnight every day...you should not go to a third world very poor country and expect the best of everything...stay the hell home...you just can not please some people....the beaches...pools...spa and dining was super and there is always something for you too eat...chill people

Room Number:
006

Room Block:
G

Arrival:
All was fast and the staff was friendly

Rooms:
Our room was clean upon arrival and was cleaned every day and we never had to wait for towels or face clothes

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed all the dining and we love Anna in the mornings

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Super and cleaned daily

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We loved all the activities and the animation team is the best...we liked them all....Ping Pong...Blackberry...Cassanova...Tony Montaina...Midina...Alvin ...Big Mamma...Minnie Mouse....The kids club is awesome...and the dancers...WOW....we will be back next year..hope you are all still there

Other Comments:
The ground are beautiful and well kept and we will be returning next year for our 4th visit....and for those of you who say the time share people bother you...well we were there for 8 days and not one person approached us..just do not make eye contact with them...as for the venders..they are only trying to make a living and last but not least Thank you to Jana foe all you did for us

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"In need of an upgrade!"

Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Spa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shelly  on Jan 25, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
424 people found this review helpful

I would not recommend this resort to anyone! The resort desperately needs to be repaired. Our bathroom was covered in mold, the legs of both beds were broken so our heads were lower then our feet. The rooms stunk of smoke so badly we all had sore throats. The beach was so covered in debris, seaweed and other garbage that we were unable to walk on it at all during our week stay. The beach chairs were covered in bid poop and were not cleaned EVER! The pool had SEVERAL broken or missing tiles which would scrape or cut our feet. The lights in the pool had fallen out and were floating around us, still hanging on the wires. The tables and chairs down at the buffet at the beach were dirty and covered in bird poop.Every table was lop sided and shook so badly while trying to cut our food it would end up spilling our drinks all over the place. The people selling items up and down the main walkway were so pushy that at one point after being told "no thank you" very politely and several times, one of them grabbed my arm and tried to pull me over to his table. We had to call and ask everyday to have our towels replaced as well as our fridge restocked even after leaving several items on the bed for the cleaning people. The only positive thing I can say about this resort is in regard to the staff at the main buffet... they were wonderful, very friendly and polite and quick remove dirty dishes or refill our coffee.

Room Number:
204 and 205

Room Block:
H

Arrival:
Very disorganized. People trying to grab our bags out of our hands after being told we could take them ourselves just to get a tip.

Rooms:
Dirty. Stunk of smoke. Bathroom covered in mould. Towels not replenished until after calling EVERYDAY. Broken beds. Beds so hard it felt like sleeping on the tile floor. V

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was mediocre at best. Tables and chairs were falling apart. Staff were fine

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Dirty. Falling apart. Beach so covered in debris it was unable to be used. Water park, which is why we chose this resort, was located off the resort property.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation staff were very friendly and did some fun activities through out the week.

Other Comments:
I would not recommend this resort to anyone. I would give it a 1 out of 5! We are use to the people of the Dominican Republic being pushy when it comes to tips but this was a whole new level.

Photos: http://www.sirenishotels.com/en/info/hotel/sirenis_cocotal_beach_resort_casino_aqua/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube