Iberostar Dominicana Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Iberostar Dominicana  

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Repúblic.

"The Most Amazing Resort & People"
Posted by: Pat  on Oct 16, 2012
see all reviews

Iberostar Dominicana Reviews
Iberostar Dominicana Pictures and Information
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#31
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.3

Based on 14 reviews

Iberostar Dominicana Information


Along with its sister hotel, Iberostar Dominicana is part of a luxurious holiday resort and lies directly on the wonderful, fine sand Bavaro beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Dominicana Reviews

Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.3 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  5
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 14

"The Most Amazing Resort & People"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Oct 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
306 people found this review helpful

If you are reading the reviews of the Iberostar Dominicana wondering if this is the place where you should stay in Punta Cana…don’t look any further. Book this resort now. You will have the most amazing time! We stayed at the Iberostar Dominicana from Oct 4th – 11th. The Iberostar Dominicana is paradise in paradise!!! I have stayed at many resorts in many different locations (US, Mexico, Aruba, Punta Cana) and this was by far the best place I have ever stayed. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The thing that sets this resort above any other I have stayed at was the people that work there. Mellisa, the Guest Services Manager, is the best!

Arrival:
The check in with "Goofy" was quick, smooth and efficient. He had us laughing from the minute we arrived. We were served an ice cold drink while going through the check in.

Rooms:
Our room was right by the pool with a view of the beach beyond the palm trees. The room as beautiful. The beds were comfortable. The room was always clean even though we never really saw the maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was excellent. The breakfast buffet had everything you could imagine and then some. There were so many choices at the lunch and dinner buffets. We ate at 3 of the restaurants, the seafood, the steak and the French. The food was excellent, but we were just as happy at the buffets. All of the food was always fresh and kept at the right temperature. There is also a buffet at the beach/pool. At lunchtime they grill meats and make paella at the beach in addition to all of the food in the buffet. We never left the pool area during the day. Eating lunch while looking at the white sand and blue ocean was amazing. The servers at the restaurants and buffets were so attentive. The bartenders were amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The soft white sand and crystal blue water...what more can you say. The pool was beautiful. There were always a lot of activities going on around the pool if you wanted to join. We never had a problem finding a lounge chair. We spent the whole day by the pool and beach. They had everything you needed right there...bars, buffet, grilling food, activities.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We never left the resort. There was too much to do at the resort. The animation team, “Star Friends” are amazing. I can’t say enough about how wonderful they are. They made the difference between a nice time at a beautiful resort and the amazing, fun time we had at this gorgeous resort. They have all kinds of activities...volleyball, water polo, aerobics, bingo, archery, dance lessons, spanish lessons, etc... You can join or you can rest and relax. The disco tech at night was a lot of fun. The Star Friends are there making sure everyone is having a good time.

Other Comments:
Cheers to the "Star Friends", a wonderful animation team and our new friends…Martin, Evelin, Popeye, Emellio, Santos, Nahomy, Amy, and Israel… They will have you up dancing and laughing and having a wonderful time. I cannot wait to go back and see all of them again. They work from morning to night making sure that you are having a good time and they always seem to be having a great time entertaining you. They are some of the most sincerely nice, fun loving people that I have met in my life. You will feel like you have friends or new family for life. They are what makes you want to come back over and over again. I miss them already!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice beach otherwise terrible"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Traveler  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
491 people found this review helpful

Room Block:
Dominicana

Arrival:
I got back yesterday from the Hotel Dominicana after staying there January 1st-8th. I booked my trip through Apple vacations. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport.

Rooms:

When we arrived in our room, we noticed it was cozy but extremely outdated. We also noticed that our sliding door wouldn't lock (& we were on the first floor which could be dangerous if not fixed). After calling the front desk, they promptly had someone come to fix it. As the week went on we, we learned that the room had little nats and flies by the sliding doors close to the balcony. The second to last day, our bathroom ceiling started to leak and the water got all over our toothbrushes which we were forced to throw out and buy new ones. At this particular incident, the language barrier (we speak English) and the hotel's lack of customer service posed a real problem. A man came to our room and spent an hour fixing it prior to dinner when we wanted to shower. We asked for a new room but were told different stories by different workers (one young man at the front desk said they were full and told us to go to guest services which told us they could move us). By that time, we just stayed put, it was our last night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Many different restaurants to choose from (you will need to make reservations for certain restaurants - try the Asian one, the food there was the most edible. Be CAREFUL, what you eat at the buffets. DON'T drink the coffee or eat the salad. You will like clockwork get a stomach ache after each meal from the buffet. We did anyway... I suggest bringing tums on this trip b/c you will get an upset stomach at least 5x)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was BEAUTIFUL. Free chairs & huts.

Pool: The pool which was large but outdated and filthy at times with bottles floating in it & the bottom not vacuumed. We noticed one young boy try to tell the a staff member that the pool was dirty, and she literally COULD NOT be bothered.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We noticed they had many activities especially for children!

Other Comments:
Other than that here is a quick run down:
Pros:
- BEAUTIFUL beach
- Child friendly in every sense
- Activities for all ages
- Average brand alcohol


CONS:
- Entirely outdated, dingy, sometimes buggy room
- The staff (while some of them especially the maids were EXTREMELY nice. Others, were ignorant and did not want to be bothered. If you do not speak Spanish, you will notice that they are not as kind to you. However, we still tipped through the trip at almost every meal. We also left money everyday for the maid & at the end of the trip, we left her goods that we didn't want to bring home.
- The bathrooms by the beach often flooded
- We were told that the buffet closest to the lobby area flooded during a rainy day while we were there
- The vendors (watch out for them!) - the came every Wednesday and Saturday and they are relentless. They will swarm you.

*Everything there is overpriced. We received massages on beach for 25 minutes at $40 a piece! They weren't real massages, they basically just rubbed oil on us. My lady started 5 minutes late. It was still nice to here the ocean during the massage which made it worth it, I suppose. We went on a banana boat which was $10 a person and totally worth it. But other than that, they are trying to scam you. $27 dollars for sun screen, $6 for a slice of pizza at the airport, $7 for a bag of chex mix. You get the idea...

Weather wise, we received some nice days (sunny or mostly sunny) and other days it was light showers or it just poured completely.

- We walked by two other hotels, the RIU and the Iberostar Grand Bavaro, they looked amazing... As far this hotel is concerned, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Besides the beach, everything was AWFUL"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maria  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
545 people found this review helpful

I just got home from a week in punta cana with my sister. We booked through apple vacations, which I will never do again. I think they have some kind of thing set up with different hotels where they promote them more than they should. On their website this resort had the best star rating they had to offer. If I were rating the hotel it would have been 3 star. We stayed the 1st of january 2012 until the 8th. We have both traveled extensively. The beach at this hotel was gorgeous. Everything else was absolutely disgusting. When we arrived we received a room on the first floor. The sliding door to the balcony was broken and someone had to come and fix it. Additionally, the ceiling in our bathroom leaked. We came back from the beach one day and all of our things were soaked. They would not change our room and were SO rude to us. It was awful. I had to buy new products and toothbrushes, which brings me to my other issue. We brought 100 $1 bills and were tipping throughout the week. However I wish I hadn't. They think we are ATM machines. They are there to scam you in any way shape and form. They don't realize we work hard for our $. Everything and I mean everything was overpriced. A spray bottle of baby sunscreen which is normally $10 max at a drugstore was $27!!! At the airport a small bottle of pringles which is 50 cents at home was $4 which they told you with a smirk on their face. I understand they are poor but I felt like a shmuck they were just sucking us dry.


The last time I had vacationed in punta cana was maybe 7 or 8 years ago and I stayed with my family at The bavaro princess. It was pretty mediocre that time as well but I like to give things a 2nd chance. I will never vacation in punta cana again. Yes the beach in beautiful but you can get a very similar beach on another island with less issues.

All in all, if you can get your $ back, I would do so. If anything, go but do not stay at this hotel. If you aree dead set on it though, stay at the Iberostar Bavaro which is next door and we went to look at, it is luxurious, I think twice as much $ though. Also next door is the Riu Palace, it was way more modern than this resort.

DO not book through apple- it's a scam. Go on the hotel websites and this website and decide for yourself about where you want to stay. I just tried to write a review on apple and I could not. Their reviews are made up.

Room Number:
4006

Restaurants and Bars:
Probably the worst food i have ever encountered in my life (and i am not being dramatic). I don't know why people are giving this resort decent reviews. The food was making me so sick. After I ingested anything at all, even bottled water, I was getting sick. There were ants crawling around the bread station. The only restaurant that was semi-decent was the asian one but you have to make reservations and the line to do so is always so long.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Resort- Painfully out dated. When it rains the floors get SO slippery, they're a lawsuit waiting to happen.

Beach was beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tennis- There are 3 courts, you have to sign up at 8am for a 55minute time slot. Good luck getting a chance to play.

Activities- Massages are $40 for 25 minutes. My sister and I got them on a rainy day because there was nothing else to do. If you ask me $40 is ridiculously over priced. We did banana boating one day. It's $10 a person for 10 minutes probably. It was fun.

Apple will promote excursions. Don't go!!! This wonderful man who was on our charter came up to us and said he booked the half day booze cruise/fishing trip. He said they arrived to pick them up an hour and half late, served them cheese sandwiches and gave them rum and coke andd there were no fish. I felt terrible, he was really nice. Like I said- everything is a scam.

Other Comments:
Crowd- Mostly foreigners. If you think you're overweight, still pack the bikini, no one cares.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar Dominicana - a new favourite"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  zachsmom  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
780 people found this review helpful

We are fortunate to have been to the DR a number of times, I think this was our 10th trip. This resort ranks as one of the best we have been to; here's why:

Older resort, means mature grounds that are very well kept. Beautiful both day and when lit at night. Free range flamingos and roosters - yes, roosters. And yes, they crow before dawn.

Arrival:
Arrival was a bit sketchy; we dealt with 3 different people at the front desk but at the end of the transaction, we got a room that was ready and in a location we had requested. We were provided with a cool welcome drink which is always a nice touch. We chose to pay for the in room safe, $2/day which we knew about in advance and felt was worth it.

Rooms:
Room was very large, on top floor so had a cathedral ceiling, facing the pool area. I'd choose this again, as the other side of the building faces the Caribbean/shopping street. We had three full size beds and still lots of room. Sure furniture is a bit dated and TV very small, but we do not spend a lot of time in the room and it was kept imaculately clean throughout the week as was the bathroom area. Always lots of towels and fresh linen daily.

Bar is re-stocked by maid daily.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was excellent. Main buffet and beach buffet both had a huge variety including stations where a chef would cook on demand. The New Year's Eve buffet was amazing with a huge selection of sea food, ice sculputres, chocolate sculptures - didn't know whether to take pictures or eat it!! (we did both). The a la cartes were all closed that evening, and reservations were required for the buffet as they had 2 seatings. Long pants required for the men - which they enforced and we approved of!

Ice cream "bar"near beach restaurant not to be missed! Daily bbque at the beach restaurant amazing. Things like paella, fish, steak on the huge open grill daily. Very yummy.

As the quality of the buffet was so good, we only tried one a la carte - the steak house. Had no trouble booking a reservation. It is on the beach, lovely location and good food, well presented. A nice change from the buffet. And one evening we ate in the 50's Diner - burgers, sandwiches,wings, salads in a fun atmosphere with pinball, pool tables.

Every evening there was a special drink being served in the lobby - with a server who was a character! He was fun to watch and made it fun to look forward to every evening.

We sat in the same area of the buffet nightly and at breakfast and had the pleasure of being served by Ramonita, Andreas and Hamlet. Wonderful, friendly people who could not do enough for us. We had some good fun with them, and we more than happy to be able to give them tips as a token of our appreciation for their excellent service. One evening, my husband was feeling under the weather from a bit of a head cold, and Ramonita took it upon herself to bring him green and camomile tea mixed with honey. Can't imagine that ever happening in Canada :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is outstanding of course. Resort has a lot of umbrellas at the beach which is a bonus. Miles of beach to walk. We noticed the beach at the Bahia seemed to really have been eaten away by the ocean - very small beach area left.

Resort has lit the base of the palm trees in the main courtyard with tiny white lights. Not sure if this is just for the holidays, but it was lovely.

Pools beautiful - lots of vegitation and structured so there was lots of area to sit around them if you wanted to. Polls cold at this time of year. We swam daily in the ocean, much warmer.

Drink service around the pools; always someone picking up empty glasses. We never had to play the "towel game"and we were there at a busy time of year.... seemed to be lots of chairs to go around.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Star friends provide many options - you can choose to join or just watch the fun. One thing that we really liked, on New Year's Eve at noon they provided baloons for everyone and we had a countdown and released them all at the same time. A really fun thing, and great visual.

Lots of activities if you choose; even a large chess board,bocce balls, the usual aerobics, water games, bingo etc.

We had planned a trip with PC Mike that did not happen - I've posted about that. We would have booked another excursion had we known ours would be cancelled

Other Comments:
We really enjoyed the resort - not only for the beautiful gounds (we've been to other lovely resorts) but mostly for the service of everyone we can across - from bartenders, servers to our maid.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Totally Awesome, Well worth every cent"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on May 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
837 people found this review helpful

The Iberostar Dominicana exceeded both mine and my wifes expectations. We traveled there for our five year anniversary, and were completely blown away at everything, especially the staff. The people work from sun up to early morning hours, and all day long are singing and dancing, while smiling the entire time.

They make you feel like there is no communication or cultural barrier. They make you feel like you are at home. From the time that we showed up, to the time we left, we were joking around and laughing with the staff and other visitors.

Jonny P. and his fellow staff members at the bar are probably the best in the world. He was awesome, and weather you leave a tip or not, you will get the royal treatment. I have read many reviews before we went that said you get better service if you tip. I would say that you get the same whether you do or not. These people treat everyone the same, and I just cant say enough good things about them. Don't get me wrong, we left tips because they definetly deserve them, but I don't want people to miss out on this experience because they think they will get poor service without tipping, you won't.

Overall, this will be the only place I ever travel in the Dominican Republic. The only problem that we had was with our local travel agent, which was our fault for booking through cheapcarribean.com. This guy was a real ass! He scheduled an appointment for our first full day there, to go over what was available to us, and offer the excursions, and stood us up, and then did it again the next day. But that has nothing to do with the hotel.

All in all, I was very impressed, and am usually not with anything.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the best holidays"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on Apr 16, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
801 people found this review helpful

We were at this Resort from February 20th to March 7th, 2010. I must admit that I had become a little "jaded" with visits to the Dominican Republic, comparing the friendliness and courtesy of the people in Mexico and Cuba but, after our visit to this Resort, I am again a fan of Dominican Republic.

We have been travelling since 1988 and we rate the Resorts after each visit. We have four top Resorts; one in Mexico, two in Cuba (Holguin – Playa Costa Verde and Caya Coco – Iberostar Guillermo) and now this one. We so thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff is amazing, the "A la Carte" restaurants were very good – especially the one in the lobby (and I do forget the name of it) and the buffet never failed to live up to our expectations. The grounds were the best of any Resort we have been to.

The ONLY negative thing we have to say (we travel with 3 other people so 2 other rooms) is that we all had problems with the room keys and we all had to change them a number of times.

That said, we will DEFINITELY do another vacation at this Resort and we highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Beach/Palapas - Disappointed with A La Carte Strategies for Gourmet Restaurant"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nicole  on Apr 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
823 people found this review helpful

The pools and grounds are clean and the three friendly flamingos that hang-out make for beautiful pictures.

Do bring large thermos drink cups so that you don't have to go to the bar every 15 minutes for refill.

You need to try "MAMAJUANA". You can get a small shot at the bar, and also buy a bottle and bring some back home. It's a potent drink and here's a recipe if you buy a bottle w. mixed herbs, and want to refill it: 2 fingers (depth) of HONEY, 3 fingers (depth) of SWEET RED WINE then fill the rest of the bottle with DARK RUM (Brandy, Vodka & Gin can also be used if preferred). It's known as the Dominican "viagra", but it's also good for circulation.

Your Arrival:
We flew Sunwing (no leg room) direct from Toronto. We were not too sure what to expect, since Haiti had just gotten an earthquake a few days before, but our trip wasn't cancelled. The mood was grim at the beginning since some Haitian workers have family/friends still in Haiti.

Check-in was quick enough, and they took us with a golf cart to our room with our luggage and back to the main lobby. It was about 10 pm, and we were able to get something to eat in the main buffet kitchen.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean enough but there was a smell, and the maids do emphasize on making decorations/birds and adding flowers over anything else. I had a hard time getting a facecloth. They do put water, club soda, coke, fanta, 7up and a couple of beers in your fridge every couple of days. We asked the maid for more water and she gave us extras (tip). We had a king size bed and I only figured out a few days before I left why my back was so sore every day. There was a ridge on my side of the bed, which accounted for sore back every day :(

We had a small patio w. 2 chairs overlooking the side of the building.

You have to pay for the safe $2/day but it's worth it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets have plenty to eat for all meals, and the waiters are very quick to bring you beverages at your table and get rid of dirty dishes. Both buffets are the same at Dominicana and Punta Cana with a bridge in between them. It's a very nice set-up and for breakfast you can get omelettes with your favourites in them, lunch and dinner they have a pasta bar, and fish/meat freshly cooked (they do have a few non-smoking tables). Smaller buffet for lunch on the beach (both sides) had really good burgers, fries, and whatever they had going on the BBQ, plus salad, nachos and dessert bar. Don't forget the ice cream bar behind the beach bar on the Iberostar side and they had really good coconut ice cream, and the curly ice cream on Punta Cana side.

We tried some of the A La Carte: Mexican (the flanked steak w. cheese was good but don't have burritos with they are burrito/meat that's it). Seafood, I had shrimps in sauce and my husband had the tuna steak, and they were both good. After going a few times to check for the Gourmet (only rest. you can get grilled lobster - no garlic butter) they kept on telling us they were all booked until Friday, the day before we were leaving. Went back Monday afternoon, and they said we had a reservation for that night, but they did not let us know. We had an 8pm reservation, and to our surprise there were 6 empty tables on our side!!! They tell everybody it's all booked since they don't want to serve the lobster, but you pay for it after all.

They say for any A La Carte, you can go and wait and there could be patrons that don't show up, so I would definitely do that for the Gourmet. They don't book all their tables anyways since there was plenty of room.

Lobby bar had some premium drinks, but you have to ask for it. They have the slushy machines mostly everywhere but they're not made with fresh fruit. You can get expresso, capuccino, hot chocolate from there too. My husband would show up at 8:30am before they open at 10am, and w. tip they'll make you anything you want.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The large pool is deep on Dominicana side, put you can walk through it on the Punta Cana side. They are always kept clean. There's no pool bar here.

There are servers around the pool area serving you drinks (tip & they'll come more often).

People play the towel game here and some chairs are empty all day with towels on them, and the hotel keep a blind eye to that, even though it says that you cannot reserve palapas. There's no topless at the pool, but there was a few that still did it.

We did see some people reserving chairs daily both at the beach & pool.

The beach is amazing and you can walk a long time, and we noticed that our hotel was the only one with plenty of palapas on the beach. If you were lucky enough to go and reserve one early in the morning that is ...

We also brought gifts for the ground keepers and they were so happy, since they make the least money (various tools that you can get from the dollar store).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did water aerobics a couple of times. The staff really work hard to get people to join in the various activities all day. They have lots of energy and are also part of the evening entertainment.

Every night they have singers and dancers in their theatre shows (with lots of servers). It was good mostly every night. They do have an airplane inside their night club disco, which is really neat.

We had planned to go on the Outback Safari where you stop at a school, and we brought some colouring books and toys for the kids to give. We then went to visit a typical house, they show us how they prepare the coffee/chocolate, which is really a selling trip. You stop to eat at a ranch (not that great) and then to a beach for boogie boarding, but there's nowhere to sit & more vendors bugging you. You have to share your boogie board. We then did a quick stop at a small shop that sold booze & cigars but was very expensive. This safari cost us over $100 each w. exchange which is too expensive.

Other Comments:
Internet cafe is $10/hour and open late.

If you have late check-out, there's a place to put your luggage & take shower, since heaven forbid they would let you check out later. Tour operators should make these arrangements for you since you pay so much $$ for these trips.

When you check-out, they don't even ask you if everything was ok? They take the key and that's it. They do have to improve on their Gourmet A La Carte Reservation tactics. We heard from other patrons/workers that this place is going downhill because they haven't done any renovations in a long time.

We would definitely go back to Punta Cana since the spanish people are quite friendly and greet you "HOLA"!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is heaven!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sharyn from Manchester  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2009
798 people found this review helpful

The pool areas are constantly kept clean, there are 3 pools; the small shallow pool for young children, the pool on the Dominicana side of which part is used for pool activities, and is quite deep in parts so be careful, and our favourite which was on the Punta Cana side which is completely ˜walkable'. All surfaces surrounding the pool areas are extremely slippery, and often hot too so take care.

The beach is heaven! The sand really is powdery white, and the sea really is as blue as in the brochures! The sun is extremely hot so please be careful as we saw many burnt people. I always used my sunscreen regularly, and never lay in the sun when my shadow was ˜shorter than me' (good advice). I never burnt. Oh I lied! I burnt the tops of my ears! One of the common ˜forgot about' places! : (

The hotel was full to bursting for our first week which didn't spoil it as I thought it might; it just made it more interesting for me (a natural born ˜people-watcher') as there was more to watch! We did have to queue a couple of times at the buffet restaurant but I feel this was maybe due to bad timing on our part, as I noticed a few minutes later there was no-one there!

On the subject of food, all I can say is ˜Thank God for elasticated waist clothing!' One or two occasions we felt there could have been a little more choice but having said that, we never left any of the buffet restaurants with an empty belly! The fish was delicious, and I am not normally a fish eater!

We ate at 3 speciality restaurants; The Oriental, located at the front of the Punta Cana entrance, and which is air-conditioned, and beautifully decorated. Service was very good, and the food was delicious. The Steakhouse, which is located on the beach (Punta Cana side) so is not air-conditioned (obviously) Service is good as usual, and the food again was delicious (we had the sirloin medium rare) Please note, this is partially on sand so wear sandal type footwear. The Mexican, my favourite, is air-conditioned and located in the middle of the Punta Cana and Dominicana main buffet restaurants.

Drinks are fine but you need to ask for premium or branded ones if you don't like the Dominican variety. I'm quite used to the locally produced stuff as this was my 10th Caribbean all-inclusive holiday! I don't recall seeing fresh fruit being blended for cocktails as they did at Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal, but I do recall seeing ˜slush' type machines at each bar. I never had a pina colada or anything similar so I can't comment.

Entertainment is great. If you go expecting Las Vegas type stuff then you'll be disappointed, but it is nonetheless very good especially if you haven't seen it before. The Star Friends work long hours, and always seem to be full of smiles and energy. The daily activities are well planned and there is an Activities Board located in between the pool and beach on the Dominicana side giving all times of each day's sports and games. There's also one of the only clocks you'll see there too! The Star Friends go around getting people to join ˜their' particular game but are not pushy which is good ˜cause sometimes you just want to ˜kick back and relax'. Winners of some competitions such as rifle shooting, and horseshoes receive a ˜diploma' and t-shirt, cap or medal on stage just before the evening show kicks off at 9:30pm. All of the Star Friends were fantastic but my favourites were Pantera, JC, Minime, and Big Mama. (If any of you read this¦thanks for making my holiday special¦love ya to bits!)

The majority of staff who regularly come into contact with guests are able to speak several languages, or at least enough to get you what you want. I always try to speak a little Spanish as it is not only courteous and amusing to try (for them), but it is fun and gratifying too! Be careful with this too¦..some words are similar¦..It's a bit embarrassing to be stood there all done up in your posh frock telling the waiter you're hungry, when in fact you've just told him you're a man! (Hambre = hungry¦hombre = man)

Miscellaneous additions to this review:
Wi-Fi IS available in the lobby area at $14 per 24 consecutive hours, otherwise it's $10 an hour at the internet café in the Plaza near Dominicana's reception end.

The gym now has windows, and so is now air-conditioned unlike my first visit when it was open windows and too unbearably hot to do any exercise!

˜OFF' is a very good mozzie repellent and is sold there.

Vick's Vaporub is good for relieving mosquito bites, and can be bought there at the pharmacy in the Plaza. This info was given to us by our rep!

Drinks found in fridge; Coke, Diet Coke, Fanta, Water, Sparkling Water, Sprite, and bottles of Brahma. Bottle opener is on the wall in the bathroom. (Where else!)

2in1 shampoo/conditioner dispenser can be found in the shower, along with shower gel dispenser.

Iron and ironing board are in the wardrobe.

This one is for fellow brits..if you intend tipping the room maid, do it daily rather than at the end of your stay, as you'll get different maids.

This one is for all SMOKERS¦.please respect the beautiful beach and grounds by using the plentiful sand ashtrays that are provided.

I can't think of anything else at the moment but when I do I'll add it on later!

Oh yeah...just thought of something...The ocean in front of the hotels have areas 'sectioned off' with ropes and floating algae covered white balls. These are to show where it is safe to swim and where the boats (motorised and non-motorised) are coming in and out. The number of people I saw swimming in the boat section, and the number of boats in the swimming section was beyond belief! The Dressel lads shouted or whistled to the 'offending people' but not all were seen. Don't forget, your insurance may be voided if (God forbid) anything should happen, and you were not within the 'safe' boundaries. If you're not sure, ask. sharynkent@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar- will go back again! Best beach and great service!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Giammasi  on Jan 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
912 people found this review helpful

Your Arrival:
PC airport- They are trying to handle the crowds and new technology but it still has a ways to go! Not many airports that you still have to walk on the taxiway to board a plane! It is very unique and does add to the trip though! The workers are very aggressive in wanting to carry your bags!

Rooms:
Nice-clean-comfortable- nothing special but we were not there for the rooms. Don't get me wrong- the rooms are nice and there is nothing wrong with them.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food overall is very good. LOTS of choices and they try to change the selections daily so it keeps it interesting. Most of our dining and breakfast was at the Higuey buffet and lunch was at the outside area by the water sports shack. Both breakfast and lunches are very good.

We did go to the Japanese restaurant for dinner. I had Shrimp in sweet and sour sauce. It was overcooked and bland- kind of disappointing. The building and service are excellent.

Our great meal was at the Steak House on the beach. We both had steak and it was cooked perfect- lots of flavor and great atmosphere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best beach on the strip! Walk both ways from the resort and you will see lack of space, seaweed and no Palapas. Iberostar knows that guests demand a great beach and they deliver! It is clean and the workers walk around and collect used glasses and plates to keep the beach clean. The pools are huge. We are beach people so we did not go in. The grounds are beautiful. I was impressed at the ongoing daily work to keep them looking great. One day we came back from the beach to see they had cleared a bunch of palms in front of our balcony which gave us a completely different view then the morning. Look for the 3 Flamingos, 2 Peacocks and that huge white Rooster that roam the grounds freely. They had wrapped white lights around the trunks of the Royal and Coconut palms to celebrate Christmas [Kings day] it looked cool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities: Bingo, sailing, archery, aerobics, dancing, shows, windsurfing, kayaking, casino, etc. are there. The Animation team is always going the extra mile to make things exciting. We took a tour with PC Mike- look for my review soon on Trip Advisor. If you can get a reservation with Mike- DO IT! There is also: Parasailing, banana tubing, scuba, snorkeling, helicopter tours and a multitude of tours you can take.

Other Comments:
This is our 2nd stay at Iberostar- last time was the Punta Cana side- I really do not see a difference so book either. The "Bavaro" is the next step up which we walked the grounds and looks very nice. The "Grand" is well... grand! Over the top! We tried to walk those grounds and made it about 200 feet before we were snagged by the guard! The buildings are incredible! Marble everywhere! Too foo-foo for us so its back to the Dominicana.
If you want a great resort with good food, excellent service and the best beach go to the Dominicana. Valve is great and the facilities are perfect- not too snooty and people friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beach Paradise!!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barrie from Stockport  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2009
794 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 08
Very welcoming, everybody friendly.

Rooms:
Comfortable. A decent place to sleep,shower, get changed, have a beer before yo go out for the night!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food first class! Service superb! 110 per cent!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach PARADISE!! Grounds perfection! Pools didn't use.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No tours, happy to stay on complex

Other Comments:
£3200 for three people 2 weeks of luxury! Would highly recommend it!! Book it now!

bazandjack@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube