Iberostar Dominicana Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Iberostar Dominicana  

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Repúblic.

"The Most Amazing Resort & People"
Posted by: Pat  on Oct 16, 2012
see all reviews

Iberostar Dominicana Reviews
Iberostar Dominicana Pictures and Information
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#31
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.3

Based on 14 reviews

Iberostar Dominicana Information


Along with its sister hotel, Iberostar Dominicana is part of a luxurious holiday resort and lies directly on the wonderful, fine sand Bavaro beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Dominicana Reviews

Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.3 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  5
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 14

"We found great deals online."

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy from Chicago  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
511 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 2008
My fiance and I traveled to Punta Cana with Apple Vacation. This was my third all-inclusive, his first. We found great deals online, although ordering online through Apple for some reason made us nervous. We never really got any confirmation and showed up at the airport with very little information.

Arrival was totally easy as it usually is with Apple. Buses waiting to take use to the hotel (stopped at the Riu and one other hotel on the way...but as they are all in the same area, this really didn't add any time).

Check in went smoothly - they didn't have a room with a king-sized bed ready for us when we arrived, so we just left our bags with the front desk and got lunch down by the beach.

Rooms:
The rooms were okay. A little old, but nothing worth complaining about. We had a good sized king bed, although it was a little on the hard side. We had a nice balcony, fully stocked fridge and little sitting area. The bathroom was fine. The hair dryer supplied was surprisingly good.

A note on the safes: we were charged for the use of the safe which I was surprised about. Also, our safe didn't work at first, but after a call to the front desk, that was quickly fixed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and bars were nice. The big buffet was fine - you could always find at least one thing to eat. As usually happens at this sort of place, it does get a little boring after a while, but that is what happens with any buffets.

The restaurants were good. We did the seafood one, the steak one, and the Asian one. The Asian was my least favorite, the seafood was probably my favorite. The steak one is nice as you can sit right down by the water.

I did get a bit of a stomach bug for about two days. Nothing serious...but certainly not fun!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds themselves are simply beautiful. The beach is amazing. I was a little surprised with how crowded it was. Thankfully my fiance woke up super early while we were there and was able to go to breakfast and snag us some good chairs by 7am each morning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the snorkeling trip off the resort (bus to the snorkeling place, where you got on a boat, went snorkeling, saw some nurse sharks, then went to a sandbar, and some drinks). It was very fun and very worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nothing but the best!!!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen from Hanmer  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
672 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
30 Min from the Airport we arrived at our Resort greeted with a nice drink and friendly staff. They upgraded our room to a Junior Suite which was apprieciated since we were 3 adults. Fast and very efficient we were in our room within 15 min.

Rooms:
Wow. Very clean, nice, from water to beer already in your fridge. Notes letting us know if we require any replishing of anything not to hesitate to call. We had our hair blower that did not function we called them it was 10 pm and they were in our room within no time. We left the maid little gifts and a token of appreciation of doing such a great job.

Restaurants and Bars:
Wow!!!! Nothing but the best!!! The presentation of the buffet were unreal. The meals we had in the restaurant where so tasty and again the presentation. We requested one night to have a birthday cake for our friend and again nothing but the best the cake was so good but the best part was all waiters coming to sing together with all their instrument etc... The buffet were breath taking..just could not believe it. The waitress/waiters...Veronica,Handel, Victor to name a new were unreal. The service we a receive from their smiling faces, singing to us to making us laught etc... I was a waitress and they are the BEST!!! They spend time with playing with the kids etc... Fresh drinks made right on the spot, eg. Banana, papaya, water melon etc. Chefs at 3 different stations from morning, lunch and diner. Another buffet is available closer to the pool well here we go again nothing but the best. We even had a lobster/mussel/oyster served with pasta..OMG!! I'm telling nothing was missing.
And yes there's a Disco Bar ...it was a blast from the past!! :) This bar was decorated with parts of a plane.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Wow...again breath taking. Clean, nice cabana's, 2 bars, ice cream, showers to rince. Playing volley ball, soccer. Beautiful sand. no weeds. The only thing being a Canadian and not a smoker I would of like to see a spot for the smokers as some have no respect throwing they cigarette butts but they were going around to clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Alot of activities had excercise room facing the ocean. And off the resort also. We had booked with Air Transact and was very happy with who she had booked us with. Had a great tour for Punta Cana.

Other Comments::
When we booked it was rated a 4+ but this hotel s/b rated a 5++++. I have travelled to Cancun, Puerto Valarta and this superceed my expectation. My friend had also gone to Hawaii and said this was much better as the water, beach and everything was unreal. If you decide to visit this resort you will not be disappointed. You are also 5 min. walk to the Market but why try to bargin there when you had all in the Resort. Nice little mall from beautiful gift shops right there and prices were not expensive. Anytime your walking on the Resort any employees passing by you will ensure to smile and "Holla" say hi to us. They are always signing. You can see that their staff is very happy working for them. Even the garden workers we were watching working on the palm trees...well they climb way up the tree picked a coconut for us and cut it up for us...just unreal...anyways I cannot say nothing disappointed me on this trip it was nothing but the BEST. THANK YOU IBEROSTAR!!
Thank you Jose, Mandel, Victor, Veronica from the International Restaurant/Buffet location. To the next time I will return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I wouldn't hesitate to go again."

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  MK from Illinois  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
670 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 21 - 28
Light rain when we arrived. VIP bus was ready and waiting and soon on it's way. Iberostar is the first stop so 30 mins. later we were at check in. That was fast and efficient. We were given a complementary safe. The bell boy was ready to put us in his golf cart and take us and bags to our room.

Rooms
We had a top floor room which has high ceilings. Nice comfy king bed with 4 pillows. A small couch is between the bed and balcony. The room was spacious by American hotel standards. Bathroom was clean and everything worked fine. Blow dryer is not too powerful or hot but did the job. One outlet in bathroom accepted the polarized plugs for my curling iron and flat iron without a problem. The outlet the blow dryer is plugged into accepts round prongs only. We needed an adapter for our cell phones and camera batteries because the outlets are so recessed. You can get several types of adaptors at the gift shop for about $1.

Our mini bar had bottles of Braham beer plus Coke, Coke light, Orange and Sprite and several bottles of water and mineral water. A larger bottle of water was also on the shelf. Our mini bar was filled everyday even though they said it would be every other day. Our room was cleaned well everyday. We had a sliver of ocean view between the palm trees. We were near the beach facing the shopping street and it was pretty quiet at night.

Restaurants and Bars
The presentations at the buffet were spectacular. The selection was good with rotating entrees each night and a plentiful salad bar, fruit selection and sweet buffet. The service was prompt, friendly, and excellent at all times. The made to order omelets until 10:30 am were good and hubby really enjoyed pasta "to our taste" which is made to order from a selection of pasta and veggies, meats, sauces each night. We also ate breakfast/brunch or lunch at the more casual beach buffet several days. The selection there includes more snack types foods as well as sandwiches, pizza (don't bother), salads and sweets. They grill hamburgers and hotdogs and make a huge pot of something on the large outdoor grill everyday. You can eat there in bare feet and swimsuits if desired but most wore cover-ups.

We ate at the Steak House and the food was terrific and I enjoyed the tables in the sand. The BBQ sauce on the appetizer and the ribs was especially good. The Mexican restaurant was also excellent. Long pants required for men, we saw one turned away for 3/4 length pants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful! After walking down to others we noticed the Iberostars are amoung the cleanest and nicest with plenty of chairs, shade or sun and convenience to bathrooms and bars. Lots of activities near the pool part of the beach and quieter down a little ways. All the pools were sparkling clean and we were always able to find chairs with shade.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Sanoa Island with Dressel Divers, the water sports provider at the hotel. The 1 1/2 bus ride is bumpy but you get to see lots of the country. The Sanoa side in the Caribbean and the water was slightly calmer and warmer. The snorkeling boat had about 20 of us. The seats are fiberglass, no padding but were comfortable. The on board laterine was gross. The drinks flowed freely. Lunch on the island was a good BBQ. Then out for more snorkeling and ended at a natural pool where we could play in 4 ft. water.

We also did the Outback Jungle Safari . The guide was extremely knowledgeable and we all had a great time. We visited a typical house where they showed us how they make coconut oil and sold some. Then to another family's small business where they showed cocoa and coffee. The whole time our guide was giving us info about the country, economy, etc. We stopped at a school and they appreciated the school supplies I brought for them. Next a stop at a cigar/rum stand where they said we paid what the locals pay. Cigars were cheap! Ended at a beach good for booggie boarding. What a fun day!

We did our excursions early in the week and met people on both trips that were at our resort so we spent more time with them the following days and exchanged emails to keep in touch. Fun to make new friends!

Plenty of activites at the resort. We enjoyed walking down to the market a mile away and barganing with those vendors. Hotel also has lots of different shops. Beach volleyball, water polo, archery, dance lessons, water areobics, spanish lessons, bingo, etc. were offered every day. The Star Friends kept of entertained day and night. The Broadway show was excellent. Some of the other shows were more silly but fun. The shows were the Star Friends sing and dance are better than the ones where they do audience participation/game show types. Anyone pulled on stage needs to be prepared to be

made to look foolish but you could tell they found it very fun. Other Comments This is my second time at Iberostar Dominicana, which includes full privledges to the ajoining Punta Cana hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to go again. Everything in the DR is geared towards tourists and they really know how to do it right. I just love the people, so hard working and friendly.

Bring bug spray if the occasional evening mosquitoes will bother you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beach Paradise!!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Barrie from Stockport  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2009
1293 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 08
Very welcoming, everybody friendly.

Rooms:
Comfortable. A decent place to sleep,shower, get changed, have a beer before yo go out for the night!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food first class! Service superb! 110 per cent!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach PARADISE!! Grounds perfection! Pools didn't use.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No tours, happy to stay on complex

Other Comments:
£3200 for three people 2 weeks of luxury! Would highly recommend it!! Book it now!

bazandjack@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the best vacations ever"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen from Illinois  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2009
995 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2008
Arrived with a group of 38, and probably the quickest hassle free check in that we have ever experienced.

Rooms:
Typical Iberostar room, but clean and no problems.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were able to make the weeks reservations at one time; we were also able to get into all of the restaurants that we wanted to. One of the best buffets we ever had; infact, we cancelled the seafood restaurant the last night to do the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Impeccable. The beach was magnificent, one of the best and cleanest I have ever seen. The pool was also extremely clean. The only downside; no swimup pool bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Endless activities at the resort. We did not do any tours at this resort because the catamaran tour that we had booked was cancelled. We actually were fine with staying at the resort.

Other Comments:
Great staff; one of the best vacations ever. Out of 38 no complaints! Great casino, much larger than many, including the Paradisus in the area. Judy and Marian must not have gone into this one based on their review!

kdaly1@sbcglobal.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar- will go back again! Best beach and great service!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Giammasi  on Jan 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1421 people found this review helpful

Your Arrival:
PC airport- They are trying to handle the crowds and new technology but it still has a ways to go! Not many airports that you still have to walk on the taxiway to board a plane! It is very unique and does add to the trip though! The workers are very aggressive in wanting to carry your bags!

Rooms:
Nice-clean-comfortable- nothing special but we were not there for the rooms. Don't get me wrong- the rooms are nice and there is nothing wrong with them.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food overall is very good. LOTS of choices and they try to change the selections daily so it keeps it interesting. Most of our dining and breakfast was at the Higuey buffet and lunch was at the outside area by the water sports shack. Both breakfast and lunches are very good.

We did go to the Japanese restaurant for dinner. I had Shrimp in sweet and sour sauce. It was overcooked and bland- kind of disappointing. The building and service are excellent.

Our great meal was at the Steak House on the beach. We both had steak and it was cooked perfect- lots of flavor and great atmosphere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best beach on the strip! Walk both ways from the resort and you will see lack of space, seaweed and no Palapas. Iberostar knows that guests demand a great beach and they deliver! It is clean and the workers walk around and collect used glasses and plates to keep the beach clean. The pools are huge. We are beach people so we did not go in. The grounds are beautiful. I was impressed at the ongoing daily work to keep them looking great. One day we came back from the beach to see they had cleared a bunch of palms in front of our balcony which gave us a completely different view then the morning. Look for the 3 Flamingos, 2 Peacocks and that huge white Rooster that roam the grounds freely. They had wrapped white lights around the trunks of the Royal and Coconut palms to celebrate Christmas [Kings day] it looked cool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities: Bingo, sailing, archery, aerobics, dancing, shows, windsurfing, kayaking, casino, etc. are there. The Animation team is always going the extra mile to make things exciting. We took a tour with PC Mike- look for my review soon on Trip Advisor. If you can get a reservation with Mike- DO IT! There is also: Parasailing, banana tubing, scuba, snorkeling, helicopter tours and a multitude of tours you can take.

Other Comments:
This is our 2nd stay at Iberostar- last time was the Punta Cana side- I really do not see a difference so book either. The "Bavaro" is the next step up which we walked the grounds and looks very nice. The "Grand" is well... grand! Over the top! We tried to walk those grounds and made it about 200 feet before we were snagged by the guard! The buildings are incredible! Marble everywhere! Too foo-foo for us so its back to the Dominicana.
If you want a great resort with good food, excellent service and the best beach go to the Dominicana. Valve is great and the facilities are perfect- not too snooty and people friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is heaven!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Sharyn from Manchester  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2009
1298 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is heaven!"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Sharyn from Manchester  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2009
1298 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Beach/Palapas - Disappointed with A La Carte Strategies for Gourmet Restaurant"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nicole  on Apr 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1310 people found this review helpful

The pools and grounds are clean and the three friendly flamingos that hang-out make for beautiful pictures.

Do bring large thermos drink cups so that you don't have to go to the bar every 15 minutes for refill.

You need to try "MAMAJUANA". You can get a small shot at the bar, and also buy a bottle and bring some back home. It's a potent drink and here's a recipe if you buy a bottle w. mixed herbs, and want to refill it: 2 fingers (depth) of HONEY, 3 fingers (depth) of SWEET RED WINE then fill the rest of the bottle with DARK RUM (Brandy, Vodka & Gin can also be used if preferred). It's known as the Dominican "viagra", but it's also good for circulation.

Your Arrival:
We flew Sunwing (no leg room) direct from Toronto. We were not too sure what to expect, since Haiti had just gotten an earthquake a few days before, but our trip wasn't cancelled. The mood was grim at the beginning since some Haitian workers have family/friends still in Haiti.

Check-in was quick enough, and they took us with a golf cart to our room with our luggage and back to the main lobby. It was about 10 pm, and we were able to get something to eat in the main buffet kitchen.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean enough but there was a smell, and the maids do emphasize on making decorations/birds and adding flowers over anything else. I had a hard time getting a facecloth. They do put water, club soda, coke, fanta, 7up and a couple of beers in your fridge every couple of days. We asked the maid for more water and she gave us extras (tip). We had a king size bed and I only figured out a few days before I left why my back was so sore every day. There was a ridge on my side of the bed, which accounted for sore back every day :(

We had a small patio w. 2 chairs overlooking the side of the building.

You have to pay for the safe $2/day but it's worth it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets have plenty to eat for all meals, and the waiters are very quick to bring you beverages at your table and get rid of dirty dishes. Both buffets are the same at Dominicana and Punta Cana with a bridge in between them. It's a very nice set-up and for breakfast you can get omelettes with your favourites in them, lunch and dinner they have a pasta bar, and fish/meat freshly cooked (they do have a few non-smoking tables). Smaller buffet for lunch on the beach (both sides) had really good burgers, fries, and whatever they had going on the BBQ, plus salad, nachos and dessert bar. Don't forget the ice cream bar behind the beach bar on the Iberostar side and they had really good coconut ice cream, and the curly ice cream on Punta Cana side.

We tried some of the A La Carte: Mexican (the flanked steak w. cheese was good but don't have burritos with they are burrito/meat that's it). Seafood, I had shrimps in sauce and my husband had the tuna steak, and they were both good. After going a few times to check for the Gourmet (only rest. you can get grilled lobster - no garlic butter) they kept on telling us they were all booked until Friday, the day before we were leaving. Went back Monday afternoon, and they said we had a reservation for that night, but they did not let us know. We had an 8pm reservation, and to our surprise there were 6 empty tables on our side!!! They tell everybody it's all booked since they don't want to serve the lobster, but you pay for it after all.

They say for any A La Carte, you can go and wait and there could be patrons that don't show up, so I would definitely do that for the Gourmet. They don't book all their tables anyways since there was plenty of room.

Lobby bar had some premium drinks, but you have to ask for it. They have the slushy machines mostly everywhere but they're not made with fresh fruit. You can get expresso, capuccino, hot chocolate from there too. My husband would show up at 8:30am before they open at 10am, and w. tip they'll make you anything you want.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The large pool is deep on Dominicana side, put you can walk through it on the Punta Cana side. They are always kept clean. There's no pool bar here.

There are servers around the pool area serving you drinks (tip & they'll come more often).

People play the towel game here and some chairs are empty all day with towels on them, and the hotel keep a blind eye to that, even though it says that you cannot reserve palapas. There's no topless at the pool, but there was a few that still did it.

We did see some people reserving chairs daily both at the beach & pool.

The beach is amazing and you can walk a long time, and we noticed that our hotel was the only one with plenty of palapas on the beach. If you were lucky enough to go and reserve one early in the morning that is ...

We also brought gifts for the ground keepers and they were so happy, since they make the least money (various tools that you can get from the dollar store).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did water aerobics a couple of times. The staff really work hard to get people to join in the various activities all day. They have lots of energy and are also part of the evening entertainment.

Every night they have singers and dancers in their theatre shows (with lots of servers). It was good mostly every night. They do have an airplane inside their night club disco, which is really neat.

We had planned to go on the Outback Safari where you stop at a school, and we brought some colouring books and toys for the kids to give. We then went to visit a typical house, they show us how they prepare the coffee/chocolate, which is really a selling trip. You stop to eat at a ranch (not that great) and then to a beach for boogie boarding, but there's nowhere to sit & more vendors bugging you. You have to share your boogie board. We then did a quick stop at a small shop that sold booze & cigars but was very expensive. This safari cost us over $100 each w. exchange which is too expensive.

Other Comments:
Internet cafe is $10/hour and open late.

If you have late check-out, there's a place to put your luggage & take shower, since heaven forbid they would let you check out later. Tour operators should make these arrangements for you since you pay so much $$ for these trips.

When you check-out, they don't even ask you if everything was ok? They take the key and that's it. They do have to improve on their Gourmet A La Carte Reservation tactics. We heard from other patrons/workers that this place is going downhill because they haven't done any renovations in a long time.

We would definitely go back to Punta Cana since the spanish people are quite friendly and greet you "HOLA"!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the best holidays"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on Apr 16, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1323 people found this review helpful

We were at this Resort from February 20th to March 7th, 2010. I must admit that I had become a little "jaded" with visits to the Dominican Republic, comparing the friendliness and courtesy of the people in Mexico and Cuba but, after our visit to this Resort, I am again a fan of Dominican Republic.

We have been travelling since 1988 and we rate the Resorts after each visit. We have four top Resorts; one in Mexico, two in Cuba (Holguin – Playa Costa Verde and Caya Coco – Iberostar Guillermo) and now this one. We so thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff is amazing, the "A la Carte" restaurants were very good – especially the one in the lobby (and I do forget the name of it) and the buffet never failed to live up to our expectations. The grounds were the best of any Resort we have been to.

The ONLY negative thing we have to say (we travel with 3 other people so 2 other rooms) is that we all had problems with the room keys and we all had to change them a number of times.

That said, we will DEFINITELY do another vacation at this Resort and we highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Totally Awesome, Well worth every cent"

Iberostar Dominicana
User Rating:  Iberostar Dominicana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on May 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1368 people found this review helpful

The Iberostar Dominicana exceeded both mine and my wifes expectations. We traveled there for our five year anniversary, and were completely blown away at everything, especially the staff. The people work from sun up to early morning hours, and all day long are singing and dancing, while smiling the entire time.

They make you feel like there is no communication or cultural barrier. They make you feel like you are at home. From the time that we showed up, to the time we left, we were joking around and laughing with the staff and other visitors.

Jonny P. and his fellow staff members at the bar are probably the best in the world. He was awesome, and weather you leave a tip or not, you will get the royal treatment. I have read many reviews before we went that said you get better service if you tip. I would say that you get the same whether you do or not. These people treat everyone the same, and I just cant say enough good things about them. Don't get me wrong, we left tips because they definetly deserve them, but I don't want people to miss out on this experience because they think they will get poor service without tipping, you won't.

Overall, this will be the only place I ever travel in the Dominican Republic. The only problem that we had was with our local travel agent, which was our fault for booking through cheapcarribean.com. This guy was a real ass! He scheduled an appointment for our first full day there, to go over what was available to us, and offer the excursions, and stood us up, and then did it again the next day. But that has nothing to do with the hotel.

All in all, I was very impressed, and am usually not with anything.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube