Iberostar Bavaro Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Iberostar Bavaro  

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Repúblic.

"“Good resort with a few glitches”"
Posted by: Emily09  on Jul 25, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Bavaro Reviews
Iberostar Bavaro Pictures and Information
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#21
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.4

Based on 20 reviews

Iberostar Bavaro Information


This excellent luxury hotel is centrally located in the tourist resort of Arena Gorda (Punta Cana). Situated directly on the wonderful, 1 kilometre-long fine sand beach of Bavaro.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Bavaro Reviews

Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.4 of 5 20 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  11
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (10)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 20

"We would give this trip an 8 out 10"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ted from Wisconsin  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
451 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro from Feb 2nd -13th and enjoyed our stay. This was our annual winter group trip and our group of 41 stayed 7 nights from Feb 6th-13th. This was our 5 year wedding anniversary vacation. The resort had a real nice atmosphere, the grounds were clean the staff was fantastic. The weather was just OK for this time of year. We had rain a few days but we made the best of it on those cloudy days. The temperature was in the high 70’s and low 80’s everyday. The breeze off the Caribbean made it very nice to walk the beach and sleep at night. The rain did make the walkways in the entire resort very slippery……

Airport/Flight: Flight was a direct flight out of Milwaukee on USA3000. Not a lot of leg room but it’s a charter and that is what is expected. You have to pay for all alcohol drinks and snacks if you did not bring your own snacks. Beer/wine was $5.00, premium drinks were $7.00, and the snack box was $7.00. No troubles at the Punta Cana airport. There will be porters waiting for you to take your bags if you can not handle them yourself. We opted to take them to our vacation carrier. There is beer available in a little hut outside the airport but it is not cheap.. The beer was $4 a bottle.

Check-in/Reception: We arrived at the resort at 1:30pm and were able to check in and go to our room. We requested a room near the pool or ocean on the second level with a king bed. We received a room on the first floor with a king bed and near the lobby/Cajun restaurant. Hector and Rosa were a great help at the reception desk. They said we could change our room tomorrow if we wanted to wait and we would be close to the ocean/pool area and on the second level (room 3264). Rosa even help us with some minor problems we had with our safe and TV – Thank you for being so nice to our group!!!

Group Coordinator: The group coordinator did a great job in setting up our reception for our group with welcome drinks and an express check-in. She also set up a nice group dinner in the steakhouse for our last night. I only wish that they would allow 2 group dinners for the week because my group really loves this part of the trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would give this trip an 8 out 10"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ted from Wisconsin  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
451 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro from Feb 2nd -13th and enjoyed our stay. This was our annual winter group trip and our group of 41 stayed 7 nights from Feb 6th-13th. This was our 5 year wedding anniversary vacation. The resort had a real nice atmosphere, the grounds were clean the staff was fantastic. The weather was just OK for this time of year. We had rain a few days but we made the best of it on those cloudy days. The temperature was in the high 70’s and low 80’s everyday. The breeze off the Caribbean made it very nice to walk the beach and sleep at night. The rain did make the walkways in the entire resort very slippery……

Airport/Flight: Flight was a direct flight out of Milwaukee on USA3000. Not a lot of leg room but it’s a charter and that is what is expected. You have to pay for all alcohol drinks and snacks if you did not bring your own snacks. Beer/wine was $5.00, premium drinks were $7.00, and the snack box was $7.00. No troubles at the Punta Cana airport. There will be porters waiting for you to take your bags if you can not handle them yourself. We opted to take them to our vacation carrier. There is beer available in a little hut outside the airport but it is not cheap.. The beer was $4 a bottle.

Check-in/Reception: We arrived at the resort at 1:30pm and were able to check in and go to our room. We requested a room near the pool or ocean on the second level with a king bed. We received a room on the first floor with a king bed and near the lobby/Cajun restaurant. Hector and Rosa were a great help at the reception desk. They said we could change our room tomorrow if we wanted to wait and we would be close to the ocean/pool area and on the second level (room 3264). Rosa even help us with some minor problems we had with our safe and TV – Thank you for being so nice to our group!!!

Group Coordinator: The group coordinator did a great job in setting up our reception for our group with welcome drinks and an express check-in. She also set up a nice group dinner in the steakhouse for our last night. I only wish that they would allow 2 group dinners for the week because my group really loves this part of the trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time, great location."

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Mike from North Carolina  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
467 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 8 - 12
Great time, great location - 5 of us in 2 rooms ( 3 x 20 year olds and parents) This was US college spring break week so was not as crowded as our previous visit during Easter week. Bottom line - great people, nice place, well maintained but getting a bit dated and a bit expensive....Bavaro is on the borderline of not being a good value any longer.

Rooms
Jr Suites at Bavaro are very nice - some are a little dated and could be freshened - overall clean, large and nice

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet is large and good - breakfast is consistently the best meal here, although I had the best fish I have ever had anywhere ( a 'kingfish' - I am guessing a Mackerel?) at the buffet one night...the Japanese restaurant is good, as is the Med restaurant - nothing special, but fine. Lunch buffet at the beach is also very good. The ice creams were surprisingly good

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Well maintained and clean -

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Plenty of activities at the resort. bWE played volleyball (beach and pool), shot taget, archery, played bingo, dance lessons, etc....all well managed by the "Star Friends anmaion team". The only disappointment was sailing. I have been here 3 times and there are always 'bad conditions' that don't allow for use of the resort's boats except for a few hours of the entire week - and then there is a mad rush (they don't take reservations for the water sports)....so a person who hapens to walk upo at the right time gets a boat while the guy who has been there a week waiting for conditions to improve gets nothing.....this would not be a big deal to most, but it is what I like to do, so it is a big deal for me....They need a better system to manage use requests....

Other Comments
We have visited this property several times - love it. Dominican people here are very friendly and welcoming...it looks like the adjacent Grand Bavaro will be a much different resort - very nice, but much more expensive and quieter - no games, activities, etc....I guess you can go next door of you want that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort was great, the staff wonderful!"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Patsy from Wisconsin  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
520 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 8 - 15
We arrived around 3 pm --we traveled with another couple and had no complaints about airport pickup by Apple Vacations --checkin was prompt and we were served a bananna mama as we were given friendly info on what to expect while staying at the hotel.

Rooms
We each had a large room with king size beds. Although neither suite had flat screen TV's the reception was fine. Loved the glass bathroom door. Balcony was nice and peaceful. Fridge stocked with pop. bottled water and beer--we asked for all diet coke and that was done immediately. We never received a welcoming chocolate but the other couple keep getting some every other day. One day washclothes were forgotten and we mentioned it at the front desk and it was immediately taken care of. We tipped the housekeeper almost every day. Both couples had a safe opening problem that was immediately taken care of. There was no charge for the safes.

Restaurants and Bars
Food was very good, especially the steaks from the steakhouse. None of us cared for the Mediterran Restaurant food. Drinks were great, pleniful and so was the service. Found out La Boomba were good for upset stomachs. Enjoyed the beach bar and the bartenders.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was great, and the water was refreshingly warm. Most days the red flag flew but we went in the water[ reason we went] anyway and enjoyed every minute of it. None of us are pool people so we didn't swim in any of the pools

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We didn't do any tours, just layed around on the beach and soaked up the sun. Considered doing the diving tour with the stingrays and if we return will go on that tour. Trip purpose was to relax and do allot of nothing.

Other Comments
The van that picked us up for our return to the airport was to small and too crowded and quite uncomfortable. The resort was great, the staff wonderful and would recommend it to friends. We would definately return to the Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I give it a A plus"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Craig from North Canton, Ohio  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2009
534 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Our room was not ready yet but our wristbands were put on and we were given a nice welcome drink

Rooms
Very nice but didn't have a king size bed as requested but 2 full size pushed together.

Restaurants and Bars
Very good drinks,plenty of food available all the time

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Fantastic beach,big pool and very beautiful grounds

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
snorkle trip to soana island through dressel divers fantastic

Other Comments
This resort is great. The drinks are not watered down and the beach bar is the best. I give it a A plus

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We love the staff at this resort."

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Barb & Gord from Vancouver BC  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
576 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 4-18/2008
This is our 4th time at this resort and we stand by all the comments in our detailed review on this site from January 2008. New to the resort this year are large golf umbrellas in every room and a clock/cd player on the night stands. We did not have a great trip this year as I got strep throat and pneumonia and ended up in the Hospiten Bavaro (hospital) for 4 days. My adventure began with a visit to the hotel doctor, who was very thorough. She had an intern on site with her who spoke fluent English, so communication was easy. They were very helpful and my insurance company (RBC Insurance, underwriter Traveller's Assistance) had this clinic and the hospital on their direct pay system so no upfront payment was required either at the clinic or the hospital. The Hospiten Bavaro was very good about recognizing vacationers and their "unique" needs. Tests and xrays are promptly administered and results were delivered very quicky - much quicker than at home. I believe I received good care during my 4 day stay, and follow up visit that was needed to be cleared for my flight home. It was scary at first, but there are guest services staff on site to assist with any language issues you may encounter at the hospital. I suspect I picked up my bug in the airport or the plane as it was just 3 days into our holiday when I became symptomatic. Because of my illness, we had a really low activity holiday. As repeat visitors to the hotel, my husband was queried often about my absence and there was genuine relief expressed upon my return to the hotel. They went the extra mile by providing free transport to the hospital for my followup/clearance visit and extended our room privileges without charge on check out day (we had an evening flight) to try and recover some "sun time" for me from the days we lost.

Other Comments:
Overall, we love the staff at this resort, the food is first quality, the cleanliness is some of the best I've seen in 20 years of travelling, the grounds are beautiful and nothing beats Bavaro Beach. If you have specific questions you can send a PM to bargo on the forum pages of this site. Will we return? You bet, I'll be booking for Dec 2009 very soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I could write a book about this fabulous resort"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Erica from Maryland  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
598 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 2003/July 2004/August 2007/June 2009
Everytime we have gone we have arrived in the early PM around lunch and have been shown to our room within 1 hour if not less. The wait is minimal and the staff is very accommodating. The last time we went the room was near the part of the resort that had construction going on next door and we requested another room by the pool. The were very willing to move us and there was little delay in getting to our room.

Rooms:
The first two years we were there, the rooms were beautiful. When we went back in 2007 the rooms had been updated and were even more beautiful with new bathrooms (missing were the bedae?(sp??). No complaints whatsoever from this and the staff was very helpful. I asked for more kinds of drinks specific to our tastes in very poor and broken written spanish and they understood and we were supplied with those drinks 10 times over. A small tip of 1 or 2 dollars a day is so much appreciated!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and drinks - excellent!! My husband is lactose intolerant and had a few issues with the coconut milk in some of the drinks and food but that is the nature of his illness, not a resort issue. So those with stomach sensitivity, bring pepto, immodium and anything else you may think you will need.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful and well-maintained! Always working to make even more beautiful. The peacocks are amusing (except for the occasional wake up call that sounds like a cat stuck under a rocking chair!!). Always seats available at the beach and the pool can be tricky but I always went down to the pool at 7 AM and put a towel on some chairs. If you do this make sure you use the chairs your reserve. It is a little annoying if you want to spend the day at the pool and can't because of reserved seats that are never used.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Apple Vacations is the best organization and the reps were always so helpful. Some of the activities we have done include the trip to Manatee park to swim with the dolphins (the wait was awful but the experience was unforgettable!); Outback Safari (Rigo was a very knowledgeable and helpful guide-how he flipped those drinks off the back of a moving truck and caught them I don't know!); my husband was scuba diving certified on our last trip and is now hooked on the sport...He would most highly recommend PADI on the resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would definately return to this resort!"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa from Illinois  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
640 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 2 to June 9
Excellent! We arrived at noon and our room was ready, front desk staff was courteous and helpful.

Rooms:
Nice room right on the beach. Balcony faced the gardens. Very spacious but musty smelling.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great drinks, food and service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immacualate! Water was crystal clear, some coral in spots when entering the water, but you can see where you are walking. Pool water was like a bathtub!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Saona Island tour was great- worth the 2 hour bus ride. Reef Explorer was not very good. The reef has been "beaten up" by snorkel fins, not many fish to see. If you want to see sharks and stingrays in pens this is a good tour I do not reccomend for snorkleing.

Other Comments:
Overall fantastic trip. The weather was perfect- rain and storms after 5pm or overnight. I would definately return to this resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The chefs are just magnificient."

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Tom from US, West Virginia  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
661 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 22- July 1
Delta lost mis-placed luggage but re-directed it the following day. Arrival at the Bavaro wonderful, staff professional, polite, gracious, etc--just wonderful folks; almost like home.

Rooms:
Rooms, spacious, clean, no-mussty smell. Water always renewed. Sheets, towel art changed each day; housekeeping and guest services great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great food. The chefs are just magnificient. The speciality retaurants serve wonderful meals. Great athmosphere. Don't forget the buffet; always, always great: Consistently wonderful meals!! Service: second to none!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immaculate, manicured grounds. Pools water clean. The beach tidied up every day,; no sea weed (except for very early morning)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Catamaran sailing

Other Comments:
Review of the IB-Bavaro, June 22-July 1, 2009. Indeed a WONDERFUL time it was!! The IB Bavaro was gorgeous, manicured, food great!!!!!!!! How could you complain?? Delta forgot our luggage coming as a large missionary group with (it seems) hundreds of duffle bags. Delta pulled through and worked with Apple and Bavaro guest services and had it back the next day PM. The beach was a great as ever; water warm and clear blue torquoise; very close to the Riviera Maya. Actually ther water was warmer than I remembered in 2007, still not as warm as the RM though. The Gourmet, Meditterranean, Chinese, and Japanese restaurants were excellent; Mexican fair. Buffet food great, diversified, and moved the positions of the food every other day. Beach restaurants great again and quality great. The bar and buffets wine are only fair at best; the speciality restaurants had very good wines. Ah... Atlanta customs, security--gotta love them, what a trip in itself; a circus is the best word to use!! The Giant Palapa, the Punta Cana airport, has been upgraded somewhat. The entry area for security has new remodeling; no AC, but hugh ceiling fans that work very well. Overall, a great, wonderful vacation--Delta, Apple people great, and Iberostar Bavaro staff kind, friendly, prompt, courtesy; can't say enough good things. To the future of summer 2010 we are undecided between the DR IB Hacienda Dominicus or the IB MX-Playa Mita.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best in terms of hospitality, activities, and food."

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Roel from New York, NY  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2009
1080 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 31-Aug 4
We arrived to the hotel complex around 4pm. The complex consists of 4 hotels, IB Punta Cana, IB Dominicana, IB Bavaro, & IB Grand Bavaro. If you stay at the IB Bavaro you have access to all except Grand Bavaro, which is also an adults only hotel. We were traveling with our kids, so we didn't go to IB Grand, but it was much more extravagant than the others. Check in was fast and friendly. Received our welcome drinks and were transported by go-cart to our room, nice ride for the kids, lol.

Rooms:
The room was very clean and very spacious, no musty smell or dampness. We had 2 queen beds and a futon. The bathroom had a bath tub and a separate shower, very nice and extremely clean. We were located steps away from the pool area, which was comfortable for us.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was delicious! That first night we were only able to try the buffet and we were so impressed. Well, let me just say that the first dinner there we had grilled lobster tails made to order. We ate the buffet breakfast and let me just say that I am a VERY picky eater and even I was able to find something that I loved. The waitstaff was very friendly and attentive. For lunch we usually stayed by the pool area and had the burgers, hot dogs, etc at the snack bar. I was delighted to see that they had an ice cream stand and even more impressed when I saw it was an Helado Bon stand! (Helado Bon is the equivalent of Haagen Daz in DR, basically the best brand they have)The specialty restaurants were VERY good, I especially loved the Cajun restaurant, since I love spicy foods. Hubby loved the steakhouse.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very nice and clean, the water was warm but choppy the days we stayed there. The pool area consists of 1 big pool divided into sections and a kids pool nearby. The pool was around 4 1/2 ft deep all around, there was a swim up bar section, and activities section. Never seemed to be overcrowded.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They have one of the best animation team I have seen at the many resorts I've been to. The Star Friends are hilarious! The activities included archery, ping pong, chess, rifle shooting, pool activities and Lucy's kids club

Other Comments:
I have been to many resorts in DR (Punta Cana, Bavaro, Bayahibe, Puerto Plata, Las Terrenas, & Samana) and this one has been the best in terms of hospitality, activities, and food. We will definitely make another trip and visit the Iberostar complex soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Laid Back and AMAZING!!!!"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Becca  on Jan 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1180 people found this review helpful

We stayed in Punta Cana at the Iberostar Bavaro. We were there from January 9-16.

Your Arrival:
Very smooth. We were given the arrival application for our tourist visa on the plane to fill out. We booked with Apple Vacations and someone met us by the luggage and directed us to where we needed to be. We were then on a bus and within 20 minutes we were at our resort. Check-in was very smooth. 10 minutes.

Rooms:
We saw pictures of our room through applevacations.com and they were exact to the pictures. Very nice. We decided on the Bavaro because we wanted more room then what the Punta Cana or Dominicana offered but we didn't want to spend as much as the Grand Bavaro. We were very happy with this choice! It took us all of a minute to walk to either the beach or the lunch buffet near the beach. The room was clean with an adequate amount of water and coke. We only had our room cleaned 2 or 3 times while we were there and every time, it was cleaned very well. We walked through the lobby and resort area of the Iberostar Grand Bavaro. It is very nice, but appeared to have a 'Las Vegas' feel to it. Being in a different country, I wanted to experience more of the local vibe, which I feel that we did at the Bavaro. We were traveling from the United States.

Restaurants and Bars:
Amazing!!!!! I was a bit worried because I had read other reviews of people complaining about the buffets because everything was deep fried. I didn't experience that at all!!!!! All the food was amazing. I think the best thing we had was the grouper from the Jumbalaya resturant followed by the huge Lobster dish from the Meditteranean restutrant. And OMG, the endless desserts!!!!!!!!!! That was my favorite part! You have to order a mojito when you're in the carribean, it just goes without sayin! The longest we waited for service at a bar was maybe a minute or two while they were helping other guests.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean. The staff is very efficient and soooooo friendly!!!! We didn't lay by the pool at all, but the beach was great. Other people have mentioned how slippery the walkway gets when wet at the Iberostar Bavaro and that is very true. My boyfriend nearly took a header because it had rained. So be careful walking and if you have kids, don't let them run if the walkway is wet.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The staff do such an amazing job trying to get people involved with the games and activities and the shows. The nightly shows were awesome!!! We saw 5 out the 7 nights we were there.

Through applevacations, we went snorkeling, which I would recommend if you like to snorkel. I had never been before and it was really fun. We went on a cold and rainy day, which wasn't too exciting, but it beat sitting in the hotel!

We drove through town to get to our snorkeling excursion and it was truly humbling to see where wealth meets such poverty just by reaching the end of the resort road.

Other Comments:
I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone greets you. I am definately hoping to go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube