Iberostar Bavaro Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Iberostar Bavaro  

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Repúblic.

"“Good resort with a few glitches”"
Posted by: Emily09  on Jul 25, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Bavaro Reviews
Iberostar Bavaro Pictures and Information
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#21
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.4

Based on 20 reviews

Iberostar Bavaro Information


This excellent luxury hotel is centrally located in the tourist resort of Arena Gorda (Punta Cana). Situated directly on the wonderful, 1 kilometre-long fine sand beach of Bavaro.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Bavaro Reviews

Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.4 of 5 20 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  11
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (10)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 20

"Female Foreigners - Beware of Security Guards"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  DRGuest  on Mar 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Business | Solo
595 people found this review helpful

I stayed at Iberostar - Punta Cana hotel a couple of months back. The security guards at the hotel prey on single female foreigners for money. I was targeted by Manuel Castro and preyed upon. I think that the hotel and foreigners should be made aware of what is going on. This is just bad business.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"“Good resort with a few glitches”"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emily09  on Jul 25, 2014  >  6 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
7 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1326

Room Block:
13

Arrival:
Upon arrival the lobby is very nice and spacious with a nice fountain in the middle and a few shops. The check-in process took over an hour. Everything was so disorganized. Our info was incorrect. Names were right, but our passport #'s were wrong, our address and city/state was wrong. The guy behind the counter was very confused told us to wait he needed to print out the correct info, after at least 30 minutes, he told us just to mark out the incorrect info and write the correct info. However we did receive a welcome drink and the bell boys took our luggage to our room and gave us a ride as well. Not a good way to start the week.

Rooms:
Our room was located close to the beach and diagonal from the kids water park. Our door was across from the house keeping closest so it was very loud every morning about 730am!! I asked for top floor and I booked a king bed. I received 2 double beds on the ground floor, little disappointing considering we were repeat customers. Over all the room was nice, typical Iberostar rooms. Flat screen, stocked fridge, free WiFi. Nice size bathroom with a tub and separate shower. Beds and pillows were very comfy! I had a great night sleep every night. The patio was a nice size, a chair, small table, nice cushioned bench and a dry rack to hang swim suites. It was very safe, never had anything taken from our room or patio, I kept things outside and nothing was every missing. Ordered room service twice and it came within 30 minutes. The fridge get restocked every 2 days, if you need anything stocked before then, just call and they will restock.

Restaurants and Bars:
A week before I emailed for our first night dinner reservations for the Cajun restaurant. We received that. We ate at Cajun, Seafood, steakhouse and Japanese. We liked the Japanese the most followed by the Cajun and steakhouse. WE tried to book the gourmet but had a lot of Mis-communication about the age limits. When we booked they said 12 yrs old, which is the age of my son, after booking they told us sorry its 14, they couple next to us said their daughter was 11 and got in. So I kept my reservations. Upon entering we were told hes a baby and the age is 16 and she would check, she came back and I was told 18. Ok, so I'm very easy going, not hard to please at all, but its a little frustrating when you get the run around and all different types of ages and you see two kids at a table that our clearly under 10!! One was an infant? I can understand the adult only concept but the age needs to be enforced and everyone should know the age requirements. Other then that, it was very good food and the reservations were very easy to obtain. The breakfast buffet and lunch buffet were very good and the food was tasty never boring. We went to the lobby bar every evening and I have to mention one very very good and friendly bar tender, his name is: Gregorio!! Very attentive! He deserves to be recognized for his out standing customer service skills!! The pool bar gets very busy in the afternoon, and so does the beach bar. The beach bar staff are very funny, we went there a couple of afternoons. We didn't get drink orders delivered to our chair, no biggie, I can get my own, I'm not going to get bent out of shape because I'm too lazy to get my own drink! :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are immaculate!! Very nice with all the ponds, fountains and wild life! It was very peaceful to walk around at night. They keep the grounds very well kept. The beach was very beautiful and clean! Nice blue clear water with white sand! Your could walk for miles in either direction. Get up early to get a chair at the beach!! We went out at 1030 and there were no seats at all...the pool we never had a problem getting a chair no matter the time of day. The pools are a little on the small size, not huge like their pools in Mexico, and a little smaller (I think) then Iberostar in Jamaica, But overall in serves the purpose. But the benefit of staying at the Bavaro you can use the other resorts pool next door also.(Dominicana and Punta Cana).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Go book Sanoa Island excursion with Dressel dive shop they are located on the beach. In the lobby book the Caribbean Buccaneers Pirate dinner show...you will not be disappointed!!! If you book the Dune buggie/ATV adventure be aware of the small kids who run beside you selling things. I gave a few bucks to them.

Other Comments:
***Be careful going to the local shops on the beach, I had one guy put a bag inside my purse and told me either I come back and pay later or he can follow me to my room..kind of weird feeling (I did not show interest, he just took it upon him self to place it in the bag).
Over all I think I would return to the Dominican Republic but to a different resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy  on Aug 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
898 people found this review helpful

Beautiful resort.Very clean.Most beautiful beach

Arrival:
Airport went fine.Ride to resort on time.Service at hotel lobby a little slow.Management never told us we needed a key to the inroom safe,therefore 3 days later we got locked out of our safe.

Rooms:
Rooms very large and comfortable.Clean.Room cleaned and sheets changed daily.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very disappointed in all restaurants.Waiters and waitresses did not understand English well.Our orders were wrong quite a few times at most of the restaurants.We got turned away twice because the restaurant times in our room paperwork said 9:30 for closing and the restaurant said 9:00.We wanted to change a reservation time one night and the front desk told us no they wouldn't change it.The alcohol was lousy.No top shelf liquor and some tasted watery.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lovely resort.Grounds immaculate and very clean.Most beautiful beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always something to do,but star staff was always looking for young people.

Other Comments:
My family and myself did not like the food at this resort.There was always food to eat and the presentation was lovely,but we got very ill from the food/and or drinks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice resort"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fred and Coreen  on Feb 11, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
269 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro Hotel for 1 week starting 30Jan2011. This was our 5th stay in Punta Cana. We previously stayed at the Riu Taino (now closed) as well as the Riu Palace Macao. This property is next door to the Rius.
Weather was great. Facility is large and we did lots of walking to get to our room from the beach..but who cares..a walk was nice.

The rooms were nice and quiet with a large king size bed.

I would go back to this resort, however a couple of things may send me back to the Riu Palace Macao instead. The price of this Hotel was about $200 more per person. I am guessing all the positive reviews have caused this!

The food is good but not great. We stayed with the buffet every night. At the Riu there was a theme meal with the buffet every night..not here. Also you are in a large cafeteria style restaurant. There are waiters walking around aimlessly. It would make more sense to assign the waiters to a certain group of tables. We just didn't get the personalized service that we were accustomed to... often grabbing our own coffee because the waiter bypassed us too many times. The steaks were really not good...More like 1/4 inch minute steaks cooked for 30 seconds and still raw.

All in all we love it in Punta Cana but just don't think this place should be worth more than another which has better service and similar food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First Caribbean Vacation Ever, *5 Star*, Stay at 1 Play at 3, Great Hotel, Fantastic Food Choices"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Ann + Tom  on Dec 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
802 people found this review helpful

First Caribbean Vacation EVER! Got all my info from this website, very helpful.
Iberostar Bavaro is 4 hotels in one. If you stay at the Bavaro you get to enjoy all the amenities at the other 2, Dominicana and Punta Cana. Very short walking distance. I HIGHLY recommend this resort.

Room Number:
1075

Arrival:
Sunday Dec 5.2010-10.30pm -- Sunday Dec 12.2010-6.30pm

Weather as 80-85 in the day and 70-73 at night. We had a lot of rain, mostly at night with what might have been a tropical storm where it rained all day, the hotel was flooded with water up to your ankles on some of the paths.

Rooms:
All Suites in 2 Story Buildings. Large Entrance with huge double closet, safe is included. Large bathroom with shower big enough for 2(he he). Shampoo, soap, lotion all include and refreshed daily. 2 Double beds, large sitting area with 2 couches, desk, balcony with table, chair and couch, small clothes line on balcony for drying wet bathing suits. Umbrella included.
Clean, no bugs, fancy towels with flowers (cute). Left presents for the maid.
Lots of water, pop beer. We left a dollar and asked for extra. Says refilled every 2 days but he came every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bavaro Lobby Buffet had a different theme every night. Lots of food. Coverups and shoes must be worn in all restaurants, men must wear long pants for dinner, everyone likes to dressup, I didn't, it was no problem.
The Pool Buffet was always great.
Lots of a la carte restaurants to choose from again at all 3 resorts.
Lobby Bar was fantastic.
Beach Bar was extra fantastic, Julio was the best.
Hot Dogs and Sandwiches at the beach bar too.
All night Bar and disco was at the Dominicana but it was a 2 minute walk.
Nobody was falling down drunk.
24 hour room service (never used it)
The coffee is insanely fantastic. Serve yourself coffee and pastry at the lobby bar at 4pm, don't miss it.
I would like self serve coffee in the buffet,in the morning, sometimes the waiters were slow and it's not the same making it in the room without the warm milk.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best beach ever. A little windy with waves and a small undertow. NO sellers on the beach.
Have to get up early to reserve your pool or beach lounger. Towel service is great.
Great pool, whirlpool, swim up bar, kiddy pool.
Beautiful Grounds
5 star everything!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
non stop activities by the pool from 10am -5pm
Live show every night

took the Monster truck safari tour, 8am-4pm, purchased it at the hotel from our travel agent Nolitours/ Transat Vacations. $90 each. Sammy the guide was great. Lunch was really good, a couple drinks were included but try drinking them on a truck that is bouncing of dirt rods with lots of potholes. Interesting stops, bring stuff for the school. Bring money. Rum was cheaper on the tour than at the airport, sugar cane fields, cigars. Farm stop had coffee, vanilla, coconut oil, cinnamon, cocoa. Last stop at the beach was a waste of an hour. Sellers on the beach were annoying.

Other Comments:
Room 1075 is on the ground floor, the people above us were noisy sometimes in the morning. You could hear the toilet flushing in another room when it was quiet. Tv was bad and had 4 english channels.Workers with trucks, golf carts, bicycles were driving by all the time, it might have been a main service road. The maids would stack the linens in boxes outside our room, it may have been the central point for cleaning the 8 room building, it was noisy and they talk loudly and yell at each other early in the morning. The building was close to the Lobby/main buffet/theatre, you could hear the show but it was over by 11.30pm. Not too far from the pool/beach.
Everything I brought got used so I tried to wash out my clothes but they wouldn't dry with all the humidity and rain, you have to pay for laundry service, I would like to see a laundry facility (only bad thing I can think of)

Airport/Airline/Transat Vacations:
Toronto Airport was a breeze. Big - be prepared to walk. Bars, restaurants and stores in side.Park and Fly was good, look for discount parking coupons online.
We had a 4pm flight but we arrived at 10pm so the day was a waste. I would like an early arrival. We left at 6.30pm but at the end of the vacation you want to get away early too.
Air Transat A310 has a 3-3-3 seat setup, you can book your seat online for free 24hours ahead of departure or you have to pay. We had no problem doing that and printing our boarding pass. Row 14 has no seats in front of it. Club class is extra, you get on first,seats in the front of the plane with leather seats but they don't seem any bigger, and even if you get off first we all have to go through customs, wait for the luggage and find our hotel bus. Meal w/non alcoholic drink is included.Food was outstanding!
Punta Cana airport is unique, no problems, food court, duty free stores, airport cat that came to visit us for a little petting.
Purchased our package at Marlin Travel, (Thanks Trish) even with all my research the travel agent helped a lot, explained things and the reps at the airport and hotel were great. Thanks Oliver and Marie (in Punta Cana)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Almost Perfect - we'll go back"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Jul 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
755 people found this review helpful

This will be an update only - Please see previous review(s) for the full scoop. Iberostar Bavaro continues to be a world class destination resort. Beautiful property, well maintained, friendly people, plenty of activities (if that is what you want) or enough space on the beach to get away (if you don't)

Room Block:
23

Arrival:
Greeted promptly, checked in promptly. I had previously arranged for a bottle of champagne to be the in the room (30th wedding anniversay) It was not there - a bit of a disappointment

You have to que up to make reservations for the 'specialty' restaurants. Can't be done over the phone, and they are only available for this "service" 2 x per day - a small pain when on vacation

Rooms:
Jr Suite is nice, generally well maintaned. Mini Bar is nice. They kept us stocked with water, sodas and cheap beer.(No presidente)

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffett is the best - great breakfasts. All the food offerings temnd to be a little 'euro' which is fine by us.

The Japanese restaurant was just ok - appetizers were good, entre a little greasy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
WELL MANTAINED Grounds are lovely as are the beach and pool

Only negative - the pool closes at 7 each evening for the chemical 'treatment' - we would like to linger at the pool a little later, as the sun has gone down a little and the heat has eased somewhat

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Star Friends are great - you can do as much or as little as you wish

Other Comments:
A very nice resort with wonderful people(staff). Definitely a more European clientele

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would give this trip an 8 out 10"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ted from Wisconsin  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
243 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro from Feb 2nd -13th and enjoyed our stay. This was our annual winter group trip and our group of 41 stayed 7 nights from Feb 6th-13th. This was our 5 year wedding anniversary vacation. The resort had a real nice atmosphere, the grounds were clean the staff was fantastic. The weather was just OK for this time of year. We had rain a few days but we made the best of it on those cloudy days. The temperature was in the high 70’s and low 80’s everyday. The breeze off the Caribbean made it very nice to walk the beach and sleep at night. The rain did make the walkways in the entire resort very slippery……

Airport/Flight: Flight was a direct flight out of Milwaukee on USA3000. Not a lot of leg room but it’s a charter and that is what is expected. You have to pay for all alcohol drinks and snacks if you did not bring your own snacks. Beer/wine was $5.00, premium drinks were $7.00, and the snack box was $7.00. No troubles at the Punta Cana airport. There will be porters waiting for you to take your bags if you can not handle them yourself. We opted to take them to our vacation carrier. There is beer available in a little hut outside the airport but it is not cheap.. The beer was $4 a bottle.

Check-in/Reception: We arrived at the resort at 1:30pm and were able to check in and go to our room. We requested a room near the pool or ocean on the second level with a king bed. We received a room on the first floor with a king bed and near the lobby/Cajun restaurant. Hector and Rosa were a great help at the reception desk. They said we could change our room tomorrow if we wanted to wait and we would be close to the ocean/pool area and on the second level (room 3264). Rosa even help us with some minor problems we had with our safe and TV – Thank you for being so nice to our group!!!

Group Coordinator: The group coordinator did a great job in setting up our reception for our group with welcome drinks and an express check-in. She also set up a nice group dinner in the steakhouse for our last night. I only wish that they would allow 2 group dinners for the week because my group really loves this part of the trip.

Rooms: Rooms were big and they had a nice sunken sitting area. We had a king bed and second floor balcony. The bathrooms are a little small (not a lot of lighting either) and my wife did not like the frosted glass door on the bathroom. The walk-in shower was nice and had shower gel and shampoo dispenser (you will need to bring conditioner). They also had a nice bathtub if you wanted to soak in the tub. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom but my wife indicated it was not great so bring your own if you have a hair problem. There was plenty of closest space with shelves and a few drawers in the dresser. There is an iron and ironing board to use in your room. They do stock you refrigerator every other day but we did receive more water and soda every day with a little tip (refrigerator included diet coke, coke, orange, soda water, water and bottled beer). We had a CD player/alarm clock and a flat screen TV in our room. You also have a safe you can use but make sure you get a key from the front desk at check-in so you can activate it. Some of the people in our group did not have flat screen TV’s. I am guessing they are slowly changing them out.

Pools/Beaches: The beaches in Punta Cana are the best. There are many loungers to choose from and there are two small beach bars that you can get your drinks from during the day. It was nice to have an insulated mug for the beach. You can walk for miles and see all of the beauty of Punta Cana if you wish. There is a little flea market to the right of the resort that you can buy your souvenirs but make sure you check out the shops on Caribbean Street in the Iberostar properties (between the Bavaro and Punta Cana Resorts). The large pool is nice and they had water polo and water aerobics daily. The negative is that there was no water volleyball in this pool. The pool itself needs a little work. The paint is peeling in some areas of the shallow area. The swim up bar pool was nice but there was not enough sun to stay there all day plus it is a small pool connected to the big pool. There are two places you can get your towels replaced near the beach and adjacent to the ping pong tables and kid’s ceramic area. Hopefully during your stay you will not have the problem with toddlers taking over the swim-up bar area with toys and floaties!!! There is a large pool for family activities!!

Bars: In the Bavaro resort there is the lobby bar, swim-up/pool bar and the small beach bar. The lobby bar is nice and opens at 9:00am and closes around 1:00am. The pool bar opens at 10:00am and closes at 6:00pm. I really think the pool bar is not big enough to handle the population of the resort. The atmosphere is not as fun as I have seen in other resorts. They do have music during the day and you can listen to the bartenders sing all day long and every day if you like!!!

Food: The food was fantastic!!! We enjoyed our breakfast buffets everyday with fresh omelets, made to order eggs, pancakes, donuts, fresh breads, and fresh fruits. If you could not find anything you like for breakfast you are a really picky eater. For lunch we ate the pool restaurant most of the time (this restaurant turns into the steakhouse at night) and they throw a nice beach party twice a week with seafood and live music. Lunches consist of salads, cheeses, breads, pork chops, hamburgers, hot dogs, wraps, desserts, soft ice cream, etc….. With dinner you had the option of making reservations at the ala cartes or just doing the buffet. We did an ala carte every other night and really enjoyed them. Our favorite was the Cajun (1), then Steakhouse (2), Gourmet (3), Mediterranean (4) and the Japanese’s (5). The dinner buffet was great too they served a few different types of meats (grilled steak, turkey, salmon) each night.

Entertainment/Activity Staff: The nightly shows were fun to watch and the location was adjacent to the lobby bar. The downfall of having the show near the lobby bar that it was really loud during that time and hard to talk but we had a great time at each show. The activity staff works really hard to keep you involved. The only thing missing in the day activities was water volleyball. You could play water volleyball if you went over to the Punta Cana pool. A big hello out to JT and Machine from the Wisconsin group.

Disco/Casino: The disco did not open until 11:00pm. We venture out a few nights to the disco and the music was good for the first 2 hours and then it changed to techno and that is when we left. We did visit the Hard Rock (sports bar) a couple of times but it was not as nice as some sports bars I visited in other resorts in Mexico. We did hit the casino a few times. The slots open up at 3:00pm and the tables (blackjack and roulette) open up at 8:00pm. Drinks are included in both places for free. The golf cart shuttle to the disco and casino was a nice touch from the Bavaro resort.

Other: We did go on the Bavaro Runners Safari Adventure but it rained all day in the mountains but it was still fun. We did horseback riding, visited a school, cigar factory and tour the country side. We (12 of us) also headed to Steve’s Corner Bar on Wednesday, Feb 11th around 3:30 and had a great time. We drank them out of Presidenta Light and almost Bud Light. We brought school supplies to Mike and both a few t-shirts and wood mugs to hold beer bottles (really a need idea)….

Overall: We enjoyed our stay the Iberostar Bavaro. We did venture out to the Punta Cana and Dominicana at night and enjoyed the atmosphere at there ala cartes and bars. The one thing that needs to be addressed is the slippery sidewalks. They need to put a sand mixture concrete paint or something to stop the slipping. We had four people hurt themselves. This is our second visit to Punta Cana in the past five years and we enjoyed the SuperClub Breezes (now called the Barcelo Premium) better because of the layout of the pools, the oceanview rooms, the numerous lobby bars and the beach bar.

Recommendation: All in All we would give this trip an 8 out 10 and we would go back to the Iberostar properties again. Like to send out a big hello to our Wisconsin, Canada, Ireland, New Jersey, Texas (new) friends. It was nice meeting you all!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Warm and friendly staff with delightful gourmet offerings"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  wellington  on Jul 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
288 people found this review helpful

Traveled with West Jet from Toronto because of their humane departure time. Accompanied by my wife and 3 year old son. In spite of the chaotic check in process, we departed smoothly and arrived uneventfully. Baggage clearance and bus ride to Iberostar Bavaro was comfortable in an air conditioned bus. We were the only arrivals for that resort. The resort was very busy.

Arrival:
Check in was smooth and quick. The weather was very humid and hot. No wet towels or cold drinks greeted us. But on request, the drinks came. The staff spoke comprehensible English and answered all our questions. Room Safety boxes were available at $2 US/dy. We were given a map and directions to our Suite (#1248). It was a bit of a walk but the room was ready and very very cool to our delight. Eight suites were housed in a two level structure. Very few had an ocean view.

Rooms:
We requested an upper floor and this was provided. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The Air Condition was central and with out noise. We had a walk out balcony with an area to hand wet clothes provided. All electrical outlets did not need adapters. A few minutes after arrival, a phone call came advising our baggages were on the way. Subsequently a baby crib arrived also, which we had not even requested. Unfortunately we did not need it, but it was very thoughtful.

Restaurants and Bars:
Let me preface by indicating that we select resorts by choice of dining facilities. Iberostar Bavaro succeeded to our delight. On site there are 5 alacarte restaurants requiring reservations. For a one week stay you are allowed 3 bookings. They were nice and gave us six. Four were air conditioned. We ate at the Japanese,Cajun and Mediterranean. The Gourmet was for couples only and the Steak House was open air (BeachSide) as was the Buffet. The menus were very interesting and food, good as was service. The Japanese was a set back when compared to that in Toronto, but still interesting. What was outstanding was the Buffet. Dinner was great. The menu changed a bit each evening. On Fridays it's Lobster night..delightful fresh grilled lobsters. There was a fresh coconut stall with staff opening up the nuts. There was also a fruit stall.

Lunch was available at the Buffet site and also at the Beach Site(At nights this became the Steak House). Lunch at the Beach Site...excellent. On Thursdays there is a seafood lobster Jambalaya..huge pots with rice topped with half lobsters. A must for pics and dining. There is also an all day ice cream hut near by. At the Italian food station on alternating days roasted suckling pig was served. At the grill station some traditional Dominican food was available as were grilled chicken, steaks and other meats. Lots of vegetables and deserts. There was also a health juice station available all day serving fresh melon and papaya juices next to the towel exchange station.

Food was delightful and remarkable. As usual, dining choices were also available with the adjacent Iberostar Punta Cana and Dominican Resorts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Bavaro beach need no description. Nice sand and water. No Sea weed was noted and the beach was clean. There is one large pool on site and a smaller adjacent kiddie's pool. Beach towels here required a ticket provided on arrival and requested on departure. The resort is mature and has lots of shade. Beach chairs were abundant and thankfully there is no need to grab and secure a chair early before sunrise. The grounds were well kept as with other Iberostar properties. The only set back is mosquitoes. After a rainfall, they are out. Repellant is advised.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the resort, lots of activities. Pool exercises, Latino dancing lessons, Spanish classes and endless activity. A small Casino next door and a small commercial center with Disco. We did not partake in any off resort activities.

Other Comments:
In total, Iberostar Bavaro was a great choice for a vacation. Unfortunately humidity is a factor. Our only misgiving was the Airport. It is not Air Conditioned and HOT..hot.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We love the staff at this resort."

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Barb & Gord from Vancouver BC  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
376 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 4-18/2008
This is our 4th time at this resort and we stand by all the comments in our detailed review on this site from January 2008. New to the resort this year are large golf umbrellas in every room and a clock/cd player on the night stands. We did not have a great trip this year as I got strep throat and pneumonia and ended up in the Hospiten Bavaro (hospital) for 4 days. My adventure began with a visit to the hotel doctor, who was very thorough. She had an intern on site with her who spoke fluent English, so communication was easy. They were very helpful and my insurance company (RBC Insurance, underwriter Traveller's Assistance) had this clinic and the hospital on their direct pay system so no upfront payment was required either at the clinic or the hospital. The Hospiten Bavaro was very good about recognizing vacationers and their "unique" needs. Tests and xrays are promptly administered and results were delivered very quicky - much quicker than at home. I believe I received good care during my 4 day stay, and follow up visit that was needed to be cleared for my flight home. It was scary at first, but there are guest services staff on site to assist with any language issues you may encounter at the hospital. I suspect I picked up my bug in the airport or the plane as it was just 3 days into our holiday when I became symptomatic. Because of my illness, we had a really low activity holiday. As repeat visitors to the hotel, my husband was queried often about my absence and there was genuine relief expressed upon my return to the hotel. They went the extra mile by providing free transport to the hospital for my followup/clearance visit and extended our room privileges without charge on check out day (we had an evening flight) to try and recover some "sun time" for me from the days we lost.

Other Comments:
Overall, we love the staff at this resort, the food is first quality, the cleanliness is some of the best I've seen in 20 years of travelling, the grounds are beautiful and nothing beats Bavaro Beach. If you have specific questions you can send a PM to bargo on the forum pages of this site. Will we return? You bet, I'll be booking for Dec 2009 very soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort was great, the staff wonderful!"

Iberostar Bavaro
User Rating:  Iberostar Bavaro Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Patsy from Wisconsin  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
313 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 8 - 15
We arrived around 3 pm --we traveled with another couple and had no complaints about airport pickup by Apple Vacations --checkin was prompt and we were served a bananna mama as we were given friendly info on what to expect while staying at the hotel.

Rooms
We each had a large room with king size beds. Although neither suite had flat screen TV's the reception was fine. Loved the glass bathroom door. Balcony was nice and peaceful. Fridge stocked with pop. bottled water and beer--we asked for all diet coke and that was done immediately. We never received a welcoming chocolate but the other couple keep getting some every other day. One day washclothes were forgotten and we mentioned it at the front desk and it was immediately taken care of. We tipped the housekeeper almost every day. Both couples had a safe opening problem that was immediately taken care of. There was no charge for the safes.

Restaurants and Bars
Food was very good, especially the steaks from the steakhouse. None of us cared for the Mediterran Restaurant food. Drinks were great, pleniful and so was the service. Found out La Boomba were good for upset stomachs. Enjoyed the beach bar and the bartenders.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was great, and the water was refreshingly warm. Most days the red flag flew but we went in the water[ reason we went] anyway and enjoyed every minute of it. None of us are pool people so we didn't swim in any of the pools

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We didn't do any tours, just layed around on the beach and soaked up the sun. Considered doing the diving tour with the stingrays and if we return will go on that tour. Trip purpose was to relax and do allot of nothing.

Other Comments
The van that picked us up for our return to the airport was to small and too crowded and quite uncomfortable. The resort was great, the staff wonderful and would recommend it to friends. We would definately return to the Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube