Paradisus Palma Real Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Paradisus Palma Real reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2015

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2015

Paradisus Palma Real  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"no selling point, simply amazing"
Posted by: ariana on Aug 25, 2014
see all reviews

Paradisus Palma Real Reviews
Paradisus Palma Real Pictures and Information
Paradisus Palma Real Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#13
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.2

Based on 17 reviews

Paradisus Palma Real Information


Located on the legendary Bávaro Beach in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, the Paradisus Palma Real is the ultimate five-star, all-inclusive luxury Dominican Republic resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradisus Palma Real Reviews

Paradisus Palma Real Review: 3.2 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (9)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 17

"* One of the nicest we’ve stayed at"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2006  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2006
586 people found this review helpful

November 2006

Arrival

Summary

We flew Air Transat Club Class from Toronto. Good flight, everything was on time. We arrived at Punta Cana Airport around 8 p.m. and it was pouring with rain. The plane was close to the airport entrance, but we still got soaked. The girls that take your picture when you arrive weren’t too happy, as we were all soaked and no one wanted their picture taken. Immigration was quick, as usual, and we got our luggage and grabbed a taxi to Palma Real. Not one of our better taxi experiences. We told him we wanted to go to Palma Real and he repeated it, but somewhere along the way, maybe after he stopped at a gas station for 15 minutes to get gas, he forgot where we were going and thought we were going to Ocean Blue. We said no, we’re going to Palma Real, so he had to turn around and spent the rest of the time apologizing in Spanish. Taxi fare was $30.00 U.S.

Paradisus Palma Real is located about 25 minutes from the airport.(depending on your taxi driver). It is just north of Melia Caribe Tropical. With a total of 554 rooms, it is one of the smaller resorts in Punta Cana.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. They had beautiful Christmas decorations and lights everywhere.

As you enter the hotel, the front desk is to the left, and to the right is a large carpeted lobby bar with comfortable seating. A large central staircase takes you to the ground level, where you will find all of the restaurants on the left side, and the Onyx Bar/Disco, Casino, Games Room, and Theatre on the right side, with fountains and seating areas in the middle. There is also an elevator that goes to the ground level.

Checkin was quick and we were given our wristbands and taken to our room with our luggage in a golf cart. The bellboy showed us how everything worked in the room and showed us the “shortcut” across the gardens to reach the lobby/restaurant area.

Our room was a Deluxe Garden View Suite, Room 1051, which is one of their regular suites. It was in a location convenient to the lobby/restaurant area, and about a 2 minute walk to the pool and beach. It was next to a pathway, so was a little noisy at times. I will describe the various rooms in more detail later, but basically the rooms are the same, it’s just the included amenities and room location that are different.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/556453295YGYgRy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* One of the nicest we’ve stayed at"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2006  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2006
586 people found this review helpful

November 2006

Arrival

Summary

We flew Air Transat Club Class from Toronto. Good flight, everything was on time. We arrived at Punta Cana Airport around 8 p.m. and it was pouring with rain. The plane was close to the airport entrance, but we still got soaked. The girls that take your picture when you arrive weren’t too happy, as we were all soaked and no one wanted their picture taken. Immigration was quick, as usual, and we got our luggage and grabbed a taxi to Palma Real. Not one of our better taxi experiences. We told him we wanted to go to Palma Real and he repeated it, but somewhere along the way, maybe after he stopped at a gas station for 15 minutes to get gas, he forgot where we were going and thought we were going to Ocean Blue. We said no, we’re going to Palma Real, so he had to turn around and spent the rest of the time apologizing in Spanish. Taxi fare was $30.00 U.S.

Paradisus Palma Real is located about 25 minutes from the airport.(depending on your taxi driver). It is just north of Melia Caribe Tropical. With a total of 554 rooms, it is one of the smaller resorts in Punta Cana.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. They had beautiful Christmas decorations and lights everywhere.

As you enter the hotel, the front desk is to the left, and to the right is a large carpeted lobby bar with comfortable seating. A large central staircase takes you to the ground level, where you will find all of the restaurants on the left side, and the Onyx Bar/Disco, Casino, Games Room, and Theatre on the right side, with fountains and seating areas in the middle. There is also an elevator that goes to the ground level.

Checkin was quick and we were given our wristbands and taken to our room with our luggage in a golf cart. The bellboy showed us how everything worked in the room and showed us the “shortcut” across the gardens to reach the lobby/restaurant area.

Our room was a Deluxe Garden View Suite, Room 1051, which is one of their regular suites. It was in a location convenient to the lobby/restaurant area, and about a 2 minute walk to the pool and beach. It was next to a pathway, so was a little noisy at times. I will describe the various rooms in more detail later, but basically the rooms are the same, it’s just the included amenities and room location that are different.

Room types at Paradisus Palma Real are as follows:
Deluxe Garden View Suites (regular rooms) 520 square feet – located on right side of property (as you face the entrance to the resort).

Regal Ocean View Jacuzzi Suites – same as above, but with ocean view.

Imperial Romance Ocean View Jacuzzi Suites (honeymoon suites)
As above, but with 400 thread count sheets, romantic room setup, luxury amenities by Etro, his and hers sarong-style bathrobes, fresh flower arrangements and chocolates.

For Families

Luxury Junior Suites – 560 square feet with garden view or ocean view Located on the left side of property as you face the entrance to resort. Includes a Jacuzzi for two, separate living room area with sofa bed, equipped kitchenette, daily stocked minibar, and connection available with a one bedroom Master Suite.

One-bedroom Master Suite with Jacuzzi – This is the only accommodation that allows 2 adults and 3 children. - 815 square feet with Garden View or Ocean View, one kingsize bed, bathroom with Jacuzzi for two and double sinks, Luxury amenities, separate living room with sofa bed, daily stocked refrigerator, equipped kitchen, separate dining area, and connection available with luxury junior suite for larger families. This is really nice, it’s just like an apartment.

Rooms for People with Disabilities
There are specially-equipped rooms for people with disabilities – wider doors for wheelchair access, grab bars, etc. There is an elevator in the lobby area to get to ground level.

Grounds
The resort is built in the shape of an “M” (for Melia). The lobby, common areas and restaurants are located in the middle, with the rooms to the left and the right. It is possible to walk under cover from one end of the resort to the other.

In the area between the rooms and common areas are beautiful, well-manicured gardens, with ponds, fountains, and wildlife – turtles, fish, and flamingos.

Weather and Bugs
The weather was beautiful for the most part. Even though it rained at some point nearly every day, showers were brief. Temperatures were in the mid-80’s, dropping off to comfortable mid-70’s at night. So if you are looking at forecasts for Punta Cana, don’t be alarmed when you see rain forecast every day! There was only one day during this week where it was cloudy and rained off and on most of the day. It did get a little windy the last couple of days of our stay here.

No problem whatsoever with bugs or mosquitos the week we were there.

Beach and Pool
This hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of beach that was kept very clean. The hotel was at about 60 per cent occupancy the week we were there. There was never any problem finding chairs in the shade, either at the pool or on the beach. They also have a couple dozen “Bali beds” (big mattresses under a palapa) . These are so comfortable! One morning when it was raining we got one of these and just relaxed and read, keeping perfectly dry. The pool is very large, with a swim-up bar, and numerous “jacuzzis” (cold) and fountains throughout the pool, as well as built-in tiled sunbeds you can lay on and be partially submerged in the water.

There are no towel cards at this resort! The beach towels are large and luxurious, you just go and get them at the Clubhouse by the pool/beach. You will see wicker baskets with lids throughout the pool area, these are for your dirty beach towels. Some people tended to just leave their towels on the chairs when they went back to their rooms, and pool attendants had to go around and collect them. Be considerate and return your towel when you leave for the day, or take it to your room with you for the next day.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/556453295YGYgRy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* One of the nicest we’ve stayed at"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2006  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2006
586 people found this review helpful

November 2006

Arrival

Summary

We flew Air Transat Club Class from Toronto. Good flight, everything was on time. We arrived at Punta Cana Airport around 8 p.m. and it was pouring with rain. The plane was close to the airport entrance, but we still got soaked. The girls that take your picture when you arrive weren’t too happy, as we were all soaked and no one wanted their picture taken. Immigration was quick, as usual, and we got our luggage and grabbed a taxi to Palma Real. Not one of our better taxi experiences. We told him we wanted to go to Palma Real and he repeated it, but somewhere along the way, maybe after he stopped at a gas station for 15 minutes to get gas, he forgot where we were going and thought we were going to Ocean Blue. We said no, we’re going to Palma Real, so he had to turn around and spent the rest of the time apologizing in Spanish. Taxi fare was $30.00 U.S.

Paradisus Palma Real is located about 25 minutes from the airport.(depending on your taxi driver). It is just north of Melia Caribe Tropical. With a total of 554 rooms, it is one of the smaller resorts in Punta Cana.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. They had beautiful Christmas decorations and lights everywhere.

As you enter the hotel, the front desk is to the left, and to the right is a large carpeted lobby bar with comfortable seating. A large central staircase takes you to the ground level, where you will find all of the restaurants on the left side, and the Onyx Bar/Disco, Casino, Games Room, and Theatre on the right side, with fountains and seating areas in the middle. There is also an elevator that goes to the ground level.

Checkin was quick and we were given our wristbands and taken to our room with our luggage in a golf cart. The bellboy showed us how everything worked in the room and showed us the “shortcut” across the gardens to reach the lobby/restaurant area.

Our room was a Deluxe Garden View Suite, Room 1051, which is one of their regular suites. It was in a location convenient to the lobby/restaurant area, and about a 2 minute walk to the pool and beach. It was next to a pathway, so was a little noisy at times. I will describe the various rooms in more detail later, but basically the rooms are the same, it’s just the included amenities and room location that are different.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/556453295YGYgRy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* One of the nicest we’ve stayed at"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2006  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2006
586 people found this review helpful

November 2006

Arrival

Summary

We flew Air Transat Club Class from Toronto. Good flight, everything was on time. We arrived at Punta Cana Airport around 8 p.m. and it was pouring with rain. The plane was close to the airport entrance, but we still got soaked. The girls that take your picture when you arrive weren’t too happy, as we were all soaked and no one wanted their picture taken. Immigration was quick, as usual, and we got our luggage and grabbed a taxi to Palma Real. Not one of our better taxi experiences. We told him we wanted to go to Palma Real and he repeated it, but somewhere along the way, maybe after he stopped at a gas station for 15 minutes to get gas, he forgot where we were going and thought we were going to Ocean Blue. We said no, we’re going to Palma Real, so he had to turn around and spent the rest of the time apologizing in Spanish. Taxi fare was $30.00 U.S.

Paradisus Palma Real is located about 25 minutes from the airport.(depending on your taxi driver). It is just north of Melia Caribe Tropical. With a total of 554 rooms, it is one of the smaller resorts in Punta Cana.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. They had beautiful Christmas decorations and lights everywhere.

As you enter the hotel, the front desk is to the left, and to the right is a large carpeted lobby bar with comfortable seating. A large central staircase takes you to the ground level, where you will find all of the restaurants on the left side, and the Onyx Bar/Disco, Casino, Games Room, and Theatre on the right side, with fountains and seating areas in the middle. There is also an elevator that goes to the ground level.

Checkin was quick and we were given our wristbands and taken to our room with our luggage in a golf cart. The bellboy showed us how everything worked in the room and showed us the “shortcut” across the gardens to reach the lobby/restaurant area.

Our room was a Deluxe Garden View Suite, Room 1051, which is one of their regular suites. It was in a location convenient to the lobby/restaurant area, and about a 2 minute walk to the pool and beach. It was next to a pathway, so was a little noisy at times. I will describe the various rooms in more detail later, but basically the rooms are the same, it’s just the included amenities and room location that are different.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/556453295YGYgRy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* One of the nicest we’ve stayed at"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2006  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2006
586 people found this review helpful

November 2006

Arrival

Summary

We flew Air Transat Club Class from Toronto. Good flight, everything was on time. We arrived at Punta Cana Airport around 8 p.m. and it was pouring with rain. The plane was close to the airport entrance, but we still got soaked. The girls that take your picture when you arrive weren’t too happy, as we were all soaked and no one wanted their picture taken. Immigration was quick, as usual, and we got our luggage and grabbed a taxi to Palma Real. Not one of our better taxi experiences. We told him we wanted to go to Palma Real and he repeated it, but somewhere along the way, maybe after he stopped at a gas station for 15 minutes to get gas, he forgot where we were going and thought we were going to Ocean Blue. We said no, we’re going to Palma Real, so he had to turn around and spent the rest of the time apologizing in Spanish. Taxi fare was $30.00 U.S.

Paradisus Palma Real is located about 25 minutes from the airport.(depending on your taxi driver). It is just north of Melia Caribe Tropical. With a total of 554 rooms, it is one of the smaller resorts in Punta Cana.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. They had beautiful Christmas decorations and lights everywhere.

As you enter the hotel, the front desk is to the left, and to the right is a large carpeted lobby bar with comfortable seating. A large central staircase takes you to the ground level, where you will find all of the restaurants on the left side, and the Onyx Bar/Disco, Casino, Games Room, and Theatre on the right side, with fountains and seating areas in the middle. There is also an elevator that goes to the ground level.

Checkin was quick and we were given our wristbands and taken to our room with our luggage in a golf cart. The bellboy showed us how everything worked in the room and showed us the “shortcut” across the gardens to reach the lobby/restaurant area.

Our room was a Deluxe Garden View Suite, Room 1051, which is one of their regular suites. It was in a location convenient to the lobby/restaurant area, and about a 2 minute walk to the pool and beach. It was next to a pathway, so was a little noisy at times. I will describe the various rooms in more detail later, but basically the rooms are the same, it’s just the included amenities and room location that are different.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/556453295YGYgRy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our best vacation to the DR. "

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Greg and Cathy from Cobourg Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
627 people found this review helpful

Arrival::
We were to be in Puerto Plata but could not land due to weather. After spending two days in the Punta Cana airport they decided to keep us in Punta Canna for the rest of our week. We flew Skyservice and I would give them a poor review just for the lack of comunication through this ordeal. We were told practically nothing. Unfortunatley, our Nolitours rep was not allowed into the secure area of the terminal to give us updates. Once were let out of the termianl on the second day and allowed to retrieve our luggage, the Nolitour reps were very good. We were put on busses and taken quickly to the Melia Caribe where we were to finish our week. We we relieved as we knew this was a good resort in a good area. We were at the back of a slow moving line at reception when we were aproached by a Nolitours rep who wanted us to change resorts. Aparently, they were going to be short 12 rooms and needed some people to change reosrts. Mos people were reluctant, but once we heard the name of the resort, we were excited. They were moving us to the Paradisius Palma Real. We were a group of 12 that grew to 18 while spending two days in the airport. It took about a half an hour to pick us up and transport us over to the new resort. Once there, we had to wait for the paperwork to be done.It took over one hour to get us checked in, but Nolitours had a rep with us and we were allowed to get a few drinks at the bar. The view from the loby here is the best in all of Punta Canna. Once the paper work was completed, the check in was very fast. Thery did ask for a $600 deposit in case you charged things to your room, but some in our group refused and it was not an issue.

Rooms::
We had family suites with full sized kitchens a dining area a living area and a seperate bedroom area with king sized beds. The rooms were by far the largest and nicest I have ever seen. The linens and towels were very high quality. We were asked what we wanted for our fridge and it was brought imediatley. Things like milk,orange juice, apple juice, all sorts of pop, water , beer up to 18 at a time, chocolate ect were all available just for the asking. We had two walkouts to a nice balcony with an ocean view.

Restaurants and Bars::
The main buffet was open for 3 meals a day and was more than adequate. The dinner was just average though. There were very few people in the main buffet at night.There was a Market Grill open for lunch that had great burgers fries ect. These two restaurants had actual salad bars with quality romaine lettece and many other north amewrican style salad items to choose from. In the evenings this resort specialized in alacarte dining. the selection included Asian,Sushi, japaneese ( hibbatchi grill) Italian, French, Steack and Seafood and Mexican . We ate at most of them and the quality of the food and service was second to none. The food was alomost too pretty to eat.I ate steak that was just like home there was a nice wine list that was included with all meals and a larger list if you want to pay more ( up to $600 us per bottle) We felt underdressed at a few of these. We packed for a much more casual resort. Men needed pants and closed toed shoes.( no sandals of any kind) I had to go purchase a nice pair of shoes at the Palma Real Mall

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was spectacular with more Palapas and chairs than would ever be used. Even around the pool, there were ample chairs and palapas for everyone. There were a lot of actual Balli beds that were avaiable at almost any time. While we were ther, we could go to the beach or pool at any time of the day and get chairs in the shade. There was no towel game being played. You could have as many towles as you wanted all day long. At the end of the day we just left them behind or put them in containers around the resort. The grounds were spectacular as everything is well layed out. This is a small resort for Punta Canna standards.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
This is a quiet layed back resort. There is no loud music or animation team running around. There were acivities, but you had to look for them a bit more. Some of there activities were things like yoga, palates,flower aranging,wine tasting,cocktail mixing,the art of sushi, free horseback riding ect. The music throughout the resort was a peacefull zen type music and could be heard through rock speakers on the beach and throughout the gardens.

Other Comments::
The service at this was unbelievable. We orderd room service several times and they were very quick. They would call nd let you know when it was on it's way and call back to see how you enjoyed it. We had a problem with our airconditioner and they had someone there within minutes. They called later to confirm that it was working and to see if everything else was ok. Overall this was our best vacation to the DR and if we could get a good price, we would go back anytime.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely a beautiful and relaxing resort that is well worth it!"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Megan from Washington, DC  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
681 people found this review helpful

Arrival
The Punta Cana airport is probably the most beautiful I've ever seen, but CRAZY! You must pay a $10 (USD) per person entry fee, and then go through customs. While waiting for our bags, we were bombarded by men who wanted to take the bags to our shuttle. We had heard to be careful and since we had so many bags, we chose to do it ourselves. This choice made us VERY unpopular and in the end, caused a lot of confusion. But we did it and it was fine.

Checking in at the hotel was a breeze. Drinks immediately upon arrival. Lots of friendly faces and all but one room was ready.

Rooms
GORGEOUS! Absolutely EVERYTHING you could want in a room, including TWO jacuzzi tubs (one of which was on our balcony!). Free mini bar with lots of alcohol, snacks, drinks, juice, etc. A nice sink, counter, and huge family dining table. Beautiful view of the pool and very comfortable. We were traveling with kids, including an infant, so the resort made every effort to make sure we had a crib and highchair in the room.

Restaurants and Bars
The main restaurant at The Reserve was a buffet, open for all meals. The breakfast was DELICIOUS and included lots of Dominican specialties. The lunches were great in the beginning of the week and got worse as the week went on. Same thing for dinner. Curiously, a beautiful bar in the pool area remained closed the entire week. ?? The other restaurants at the main resort were nice. Great food at the Thai/Hibachi restaurant!

One word of caution. Most of us developed Montezuma's Revenge by the end of the week, and we were OVERLY cautious with our water, drinks and meals. We did notice a chef serving grilled meat at lunch use the same utensils for serving as he did for transferring raw meat to the grill.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grogeous, immaculate and impeccable. Like a dream.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Great kids center at The Reserve with friendly staff. The snorkelling was a lot of fun (and free!) and definitely worth it. The golf was great too.

Other Comments
Brush up on your spanish, as most people speak English only fairly well. We had several miscommunications which was more our fault than their's. And be sure to make dinner reservations WELL in advance. Although the restaurants are empty, they won't let you in without a reservation (ridiculously annoying and unnecessary).

Absolutely a beautiful and relaxing resort that is well worth it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is very expensive."

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jeannine from Minneapolis  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
677 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Arrival was fine, flew in on Delta from MSP to Atlanta, Atlanta to Punta Cana. I was with a big group so they has a special table to check in

Rooms
The rooms were nice, however there is major construction at the back end of the complex thats starts at 6:00 am anyone who is staying there that has a room that begins with a three get moved

Restaurants and Bars
The pool bar was great. The reservation system at the restaurants was ridiculos, they would be empty and the staff would say that you did not have a reservation and not seat you this was frustrating, you had to stand in line for a the Breakfast and lunch buffets even if the entire place was emply, service was terrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Awesome

Other Comments
This resort is very expensive and I have been to alot of all inclusives, I would not recommend this as a place to stay

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We absolutely loved it."

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Matt from Baltimore  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
685 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 26 - May 31:
My wife and I just returned from a 5 day honeymoon at Paradisus Palma Real, and we absolutely loved it. First, we are not big all inclusive vacationers and generally prefer places where we can kind of adventure around on our own and try many different restaurants, beaches and bars. We decided that for our honeymoon, since we were only going for 5 days due to our wedding being on a Sunday, that we wanted to try an upscale all inclusive so that we could focus more on relaxing. PPR was the perfect place for us to accomplish this. I must also say that I read all of the reviews on various sites before choosing PPR and the conclusion that I reached prior to booking PPR still stands - certain people will work very hard to find things to complain about...at every resort everywhere in the world, things go wrong everyday and the key to enjoying yourself is not to let these minor issues bother you. We are a very easy going couple and the minor things that did go wrong did not bother us at all, we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay at PPR. We did not get Royal Service and I do not personally think it is necessary if you tip well and don't expect to be waited on hand and foot every second of the day. After listening to the Royal Service benefits listed by a few other couples who were staying in the Royal Service Section, our vaction concierge at the front desk did almost everything that the RS butler did for them and our maids left everyting we asked for in the room every day.

Our check in was quick and our room was ready, we were served a delicious cocktail while we met with our vacation concierge who booked our dinner for a few hours later and we were then quickly whisked away to our beautiful room.

Rooms::
ROOMS: Grade A+++ We stayed in an Ocean View Room (not Royal Service) on the 3rd Floor and it was excellent. We requested a 3rd floor room close to the beach while we were checking in and we were very pleased with our room. It was located a short walk from the lobby and beach. The room itself was beautiful, furnishings very nice, nice balcony too. There was a 32 inch flat screen tv, small fridge/minibar loveseat with coffee table, desk with chair and two other chairs with a small table. The balcony also had a small table and two chairs. We had a nice view of the pool and ocean. We tipped our maid $3 - $5 every day and left a list of what kind of drinks we wanted. I usually asked for a few Budweisers and a bottle of red wine and every day when we returned from the beach, our room was impecably clean and the drinks we requested were there. (Room service will also bring you pretty much anything you want if you call). Bed was very nice and comfortable but the biggest surprise was the number of tv stations available. The tvs get nearly 100 channels, most of them in english, including espn, hbo, showtime, starz and other movie channels. The craziest thing about the tvs was that the power goes out almost everyday at the resort and every light, clock etc. would turn off, but the tv would still be running, wow. We usually came back from the beach in the afternoon and enjoyed a few beers or bottle of wine while watching a movie and getting ready for dinner, very relaxing. The Jacuzzi was also excellent, very large and open to the rest of the room. The room also had a nice safe that you use your room card to set your own code to so no one else knows it.

Restaurants and Bars::
BARS: A All top shelf liquor, including my favorites Jack Daniels and Stoly were avaialble at all of the bars, most bars have a few beers but it seems like they run out of Bud and Corona from time to time and only have Presidente. I must say, I did not like Presidente when I had tried it a year ago in the Caribbean, but it does not taste bad out of a tap. They also have Presidente Light and a Dominican Corona substitute that is very good with a lime. We enjoyed the lobby bar a good bit, although it can be a bit hot and muggy and does not get a good breeze. The bar near the Naos buffet and Market Grill is a better bet at night as the ocean breeze makes things very comfortable. The pool bar is a lot of fun beginning around 2pm every day, very nice beds in the pool with tables for drinks and palapa huts overhead. We always met the other couples that we became friendly with at the pool bar in the afternoon for drinks.

STAFF: Grade A+++ I did not encounter any staff that did not speak any English at all. For the most part all of the staff spoke enough English to communicate and give us whatever we needed, absolutely everyone on the staff had a great helpful attitude and gave us great service in all aspects of our stay. A few times I asked the hostess at a restaurant if it was possible for us to sit at a table up near the ocean and the response I always got was anything is possible here. From the bartenders to the waiters to the hostesses and bellhops, everyone was super nice and helpful and always made their best efforts to speak English to us. A few of them even asked us for pointers on their English, which we happily gave.

WINE: Grade A I chose to give the wine its own section because we really enjoyed it. I am not a wine snob by any means, but I am an avid red wine drinker and I drink red wine several times a week with meals and have a fairly educated palette for wine. The wine included in the all inclusive package 5 or so reds and 5 or so whites is very good. While I only sampled one of the whites, I really liked all of the reds. They have a few Chilean cabernets that would stand up to any $20 - $30 bottle of cab you get in the US. Our favorite was the Maipo Cabernet. There were also a few malbecs and blends that were very nice as well.

FOOD: Grade B+ Overall, we really enjoyed all of the food we had at PPR. As many others who have reviewed Dominican resorts have indicated, for the most part, the food is not exactly of the consistent quality that you get in the US, so if you go in with that in mind, you will really enjoy almost everything. That being said, a few of the meals we had at PPR far surpassed our expectations and would rate right up there with some of the finer restaurants in the US.

Passion, Vento and Bana all have different specialty cocktails (bellinies, martinis, etc.) and a bar just outside each restaurant (but still in air conditioning), I would recommend showing up 15 minutes or so early for dinner to these places to sit at the bar to sample the drinks. Also, they request you to wear long pants and collared shirt and closed toe shoes, so pack accordingly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We absolutely loved it."

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Matt from Baltimore  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
685 people found this review helpful

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
RESORT: Grade A+++ The grounds are absolutely breathtaking, the place really does look like it appears to in the pictures. The furnishings and architecture throughout the resort are absolutely top notch. The grounds and landscaping are beautiful, including the many flowers, fauna and lagoons. The flamingos near the lobby were neat too.

WEATHER: Grade A+ everyday was sunny temps in mid 80s and only one night was pretty humid, otherwise there was a great breeze coming in off the ocean.

BEACH: Grade A The beach is very nice and large with plenty of chairs and palapa huts. The sand is sugary and soft. I do not think the resort was very crowded during our stay, but we generally stopped by the beach to claim chairs and a hut around 8am each day and we always got the same chairs and hut for the entire 5 days. The towel stand by the pool never had any problems giving us 4 towels for just the two of us each day, we always got a hut and chairs up close to the ocean. The workers at PPR come out each morning and rake and remove the sea grass from the beach, there is always a little left over but not a problem at all. The clear water only goes up to about chest height and then you can see the sea grass on the ocean floor after that. There was a pleasant waitress at the beach by about 11am or so everyday, that brought us whatever we wanted from the bar, we usually tipped her a dollar or two for each order she brought back. There are also security personnel from PPR on the beach at all times to chase away any pushy vendors or non-PPR guests who pop up on the beach. I will say that the only thing that I was jealous of as far as the Royal Service Amenities was the padded beach chairs and beds on the beach in the RS section, the regular section had only standard beach chairs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
SPA: Grade A+++++++, the 25,000 square foot Yhi Spa is located at the Reserve. You will see a smaller Yhi Spa in the main part of the hotel but once the Reserve section was finished in May 2009, all spa operations are there. First let me say that I had never had a massage before this trip and I was of the mind set that I would not enjoy one. Boy was I wrong. My wife and I booked a 50 minute couples massage for the second day we were there. You want to get to the spa about 30 minutes before your massage (just catch a golf cart at the main lobby) as they have a huge hydrobath area with all kinds of different baths, water pressure, etc. I called it the spa amusement park. We had a great time in the hydrotherapy section playing in all the pools and getting massaged by all the different water pressure outlets. I enjoyed going from the Vitality Pool which was ice cold water into the huge hot tub. They also have huts with beds that you can relax on. We liked it so much we went back 2 days later for a 75 minute couples hot stone massage. I would highly recommend the hot stone massage, it was an amazing experience. My masseuse was Maria and she was awesome, really work the kinks out. We tipped our masseuse $20 each for both massages. Also the fully private but outdoor showers for after your massage were a slice of heaven, the cool breeze coming in from above was invigorating.

CASINO: Grade B, My wife is not a big gambler, but we had a great time at the casino. The casino has numerous slots, video poker machines, Roulette, BlackJack and Caribbean Stud Poker. We mainly played black jack and roulette. It was never crowded while we were there which was nice as you did not feel crowded trying to play. $5 min bet on black jack and outside bets on roulette. It was also always easy to get drinks at the bar in the Casino.

SHOWS: I am not going to grade the entertainment because we only say about 5 minutes of a dancing show, which was ok. Their biggest night is the Dominican Michael Jackson Show, which we did not make it to. However, on a few nights, they had live music on a small stage outside of the casino and it was great, live singers, musicians and salsa dancing.

NIGHTLIFE: We preferred to drink the afternoon away, have drinks at dinner and then a few at the casino and we were usually in bed by 10pm or so, so we never even went into the disco. I did hear from a few guests that it was sweltering hot in there though.

EXCURSIONS: We only did the complimentary horse back riding, which was a lot of fun. We only had 2 other couples on our trip so it was not hectic at all and we were all beginners at riding horses so there was a feeling of comradery among us. It was fun and worth doing, they even let the horses go into a full gallop on the beach. A woman from the ranch follows your group around by car and takes hundreds of pictures, then shows them to you on a laptop afterwards and asks if you would like to buy a cd of the pictures of you and your wife/husband for $20. At first I was like yeah right but once I saw how many pictures of us on the horses there were and how good the pictures were I purchased the cd, it was delivered to our room the same day.

Other Comments::
TRAVEL TIPS:

1. As I said, the power goes off almost every day at some point, so bring a battery powered clock or watch with an alarm, you can't rely on the alarm clocks there since they go off every night with the power.

2. Tip, just a few dollars, especially to the people who you will be encountering every day. Especially if you leave a list for the maids to stock your minibar, leave $3-$5 each day and they will give you what you want. A little goes a long way and a few dollars here and there can really help make your vacation more enjoyable.

3. Don't forget your toiletries/sunscreen, etc. While the resort provides, soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc., my wife wanted better conditioner. The shop at the resort is overpriced, for a bottle of conditioner and one other small item it was $25!!!

4. Go to the spa, at least once, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Honeymoon Nightmare!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joanna  on Sep 27, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
776 people found this review helpful

BUGS, DIRTY, and Rude People. I got so sick from the food or bugs and it was our honeymoon. Coch Roaches everywhere and small bugs on the food trey. Grosse. I was sick for two and half weeks when I returned home. The quality of the food was horrible and they were not friendly or accomodating at all. Total let down. Expected much more. Also, don not waste your time listing for 3 hours about the time share. It's not a good deal, unless you have an extra $80,000 to throw away. We got suckered into this when we arrived and just decided to listen so they would leave us alone. What a waste of time and energy. I have also stayed at the Iberostar in Punta Cana and it was much better, food was great and people were more friendly there for sure. No bugs. I would never stay at a Paradisius again or go back to punta cana now. Too bad of an experience unfortunately.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort but needs improvement"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  April  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1244 people found this review helpful

This resort is beautiful - both architecturally, interiors and landscaping. Lovely. Service was spotty. We had some great service and than again we had some terrible service. We are not the type to complain but you should be aware of the good and the bad with this resort. Don't stay at the Reserve - it's too far from the beach - you will only have a pool. You are better off at Palma Real in a garden suite. We paid for a beach view and you could not see the beach.... Loved eating all the shrimp and mussels at lunch. The fruit was good too. The smoked salmon on toast was delicious for breakfast.

Arrival:
Arrived by cab ($35)from the airport. Had to wait for our suites past the 3:00 time and than the salesman wanted to give us a tour before handing us over to yet another salesman. We were on vacation not shopping for a timeshare.

The Punta Cana airport is very nice and well laid out. Get your own luggage off the carosel and go find your own cab. Otherwise the men hanging around the carosel will take the luggage out and want money.

Rooms:
We had two suites - one for us and one for our two daughters. Missing remote controls for all tv's. Broken lock on girls sliding door. Suite smelled like paint. Overall it was clean but missing washclothes. Ordeal everyday to get them sent to room so we could scrub off sunscreen. Suites were clean and nicely laid out. Don't bother with an ocean view room - they are all garden view.

Restaurants and Bars:
Make sure to make your dinner reservations when you arrive. Even if restaurants look half full - they will not seat you without a reservation. Food is marginal. Lobster was mushy at Gabi at the Reserve and no air - very warm. Aqua was very nice and excellent service by Ezkeial. The tereyaki grill was good at Palma Real. Skip the Market Grill - not good. Tip - eat a yogurt for breakfast - might help you from getting Montezuma's Revenge. The bar in the lobby is the best - wonderful Mojito. For some reason, the restaurants with air are very warm. Turn down the temp a bit so people can enjoy the meal. Gabi Beach was a wonderful restaurant - food and service were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was beautiful and clean. The beach had nice sand but lots of weeds in the water. Only a bit of beach had clear bottom - the rest was grassy. Loved laying under the huts on the beach and having a drink. Don't walk on the beach past the resort - you will be bombarded by people hawking shopping and hair braiding and rides on the banana boat.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did the 2 hr horseback ride on the beach - fun. It was bit disconcerting to see the guy with the gun strapped to thigh accompanying us on the ride and slso the guy in the hut with the gun in his waistband. They were there to protect us and I can live with it. Remember to bring tip money for the guys on the horses who rode with us.

Don't leave the resort on your own - risky at best.

Other Comments:
Did not like the pushing of time shares on us. We spent alot of money on two suites for a vacation and did not appreciate being bothered. Skip it! They are persistant so avoid them at all costs.

Don't buy the Mamawana bottle with sticks in it that you add your own rum, honey and wine to. They WILL CONFISCATE it at the agriculture check point at the airport. Strangely enough - you can buy the same thing at the airport shop on the other side of security.

Service is not so good at this resort. I would ask everyday at breakfast and lunch repeatedly for water and tea - at least 3 times. Same with wash clothes in the room - I would call in the morning before heading down to the beach. Than I would call two more times and they would finally arrive at 5:30.

Make sure to lock all your valuables in your safe (even when you are sleeping). Did hear that someone came into someone's room while they were sleeping and took things out of the room Better yet - don't bring expensive jewelry and watches. And don't bring anything of value and leave it on your lounge chair while you are in the pool or in the ocean. It might not be there when you return.

We made the best of our time and actually enjoyed ourselves. Would I go back? No - once was enough in Punta Cana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"5 star decor, 3 star experience"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lora  on Sep 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1304 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
The usual deal with Punta Cana - get off plane, walk to the main hangar, avoid the photographer that wants to sell you the photo of you after you spent several uncomfortable hours on plane, wait for luggage, scramble to pay your 10$ each to customs, avoid the throngs of taxi drivers and get on bus to the resort.
Check in started off on the wrong foot as we were in the Reserve, but brought to the main hotel and were bounced around several different receptions for about 45 mins.

Rooms:
Am deathly afraid of bugs, so the room at first given to us on the first floor, with direct access to the pool, didn't thrill. They were more or less easy in trying to give us what we wanted, and wound up letting us have a choice of 3 different rooms to pick from. The rooms at the Reserve are truly beautiful, as is the entire resort. Huge, granite and mahogany. Amazing shower. Great balcony with a jacuzzi and couch and chairs - like a second living room. All the rooms we looked at smelled of mold, and we had to dryclean most of our clothes to get rid of the smell on the way back. Maids clean room daily and there is a turndown service, but on the "face" only. Tons of dirt/dust in corners - found out when trying to reach an item that rolled under couch. Probably contributes to musty smell.

Restaurants and Bars:
Beautiful restaurant decor, inedible food. In the lounge of the Reserve, there were usually snacks/coffee/cool drinks provided. It all looked gorgeous. However the food was completely inedible. Blocked the names of the restaurants but with the exception of Gabi Beach, nothing was good. Dont bother with breakfast at the Reserve - 20 minute wait for coffee. Breakfast generally was the high point meal wise, and service was very good in the main restaurant, friendly and quick. Do try the many fresh fruit juices - another high point. If you just want a cup of coffee and juice or fruit for breakfast, go in, get your cup and sit at one of the tables that front the beach - they will not like it, and only "allow" it to spanish speaking families, but once you brazen them out once, they will accept that they'll have to clean there as well. The smallish outdoor restaurant with columns between the manl large one and the "family concierge" pool was mostly decent for lunch. The Japanese Grill at the Reserve was disgusting. So was one of the reservation restaurants by the fountains on the main walkway. Got room service once - came an hour late, brought shrimp cocktail instead of a club sandwich, shrimp texture gave us the heebeejeebies. Went down to the Reserve buffet,which turns into a reservation only wait for service forever place at night. Pointed at stomachs, made faces, and walked out with a tray of plain pasta and bottle of wine to take up to the room. Followed by yearning glances of everyone languishing for service there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful grounds. Cleaned constantly. The pace of the main hotel was somewhat frenetic - way too many people at the pool and by beach.The main pool was very good architecturally. The ugliest area is the "family concierge" pool. Concrete and pounding sunshine. Dont agree with poster saying not to stay in Reserve. True its a 5 minute walk to the beach, but its worth it in complete tranquility you gain, the quiet pool that meanders around the property and is a welcome respite at the end of the day after spending time on the beach. The kiddie pool at the Reserve looked amazing, and so did the inside area for kids (mine are much older, so didnt use the facility itself, just an outside observation). The main pool next to the bar was fun for a post-beach, pre-get ready for dinner hour.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The staff at the water activity hut very friendly, and windsurf instructors great. Didnt do any trips since its not our first time to Punta Cana, and all we wanted was a relaxing beach vacation.

Other Comments:
All in all, the concept of the hotel, especially the Reserve is great. Visually pleasing. Actually whoever was the decorator is a true master. Even the uniforms of waiters at Gabi Beach were perfect. However, it all seems lost 1) on most of the crowd, 2) because of the surly service from most staff 3) terrible food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Azulina in Paradisus Palma Real"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Sep 27, 2010  >  29 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1279 people found this review helpful

We had a good time at the Paradisus Palma Real.
The service was impeccable. The staff were attentive to your needs.
The quality of the food is exceptional.
The restaurants were well appointed and service wonderful.
They have entertainment every night and activities during the day.
It is kid friendly. The beach is beautiful and well kept.
There are plenty of chaise lounge chairs and bali beds for everyone.
I would reccommend this resort for all of the above reasons.
Hotel's administration lacks some knowledge and experience.
However we feel that the hotel is overpriced.
photos on : http://leonardito.com/paradpr1009n/paradpr1009.php

Photos: http://leonardito.com/paradpr1009n/paradpr1009.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible service and management!"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Giovani  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
1218 people found this review helpful

Where to start with my review, let's go from the very first impression:
We have been coming to the sol melia resorts for 5 years straight now ( Melia Caribe Tropical Royal Service) this year we decided to come to the new Melia Resort next door The reserve at Paradisus Palma Real.
It was supposed be an upgrade to the Melia Resort we usually go to.
We booked a concierge family suite with an automatic upgrade to a Concierge 1bedroom master suite, we booked it with American Express Travel as we always do?
Upon arrival at the resort we were told that we had to check in at The Paradisus at Palma Real and not a The Reserve.
We learned that an American Corporation had booked the entire hotel for themselves and we needed to wait until the next day at 3pm to move to be able to move into the Reserve Section.
Nothing really was explained other than we are are sorry, we will make it up to you.
So we could not unpack because the next day we were moving again to the Reserve.
We were promised free spa treatments, free seagway tours, they even offered us a week free at the Paradisus Side of the hotel.
All Good if all they promised would have been true, we were lied to from the beginning of the stay, we would have dinner reservation at 8pm, sit down by 8:30 and be served by 10:00pm with the food all wrong! 
Our kids were asked for money for drinks at the reserve pool bar.   
( all inclusive Resort), massages were schedule by the concierge and never booked at the spa, pool parties scheduled and changed without notice to us and much more grief that is not worth spending the time to write about.
I found out that the reason we were downgraded to another resort is because dish network booked the entire reserve area for some of their executives from the US and were having a Hot time if you know what I mean ( this came from employees of the resort to my ears) 
This is unacceptable, we would never think that a Sol Melia Resort that has what they call Family Concierge service would allowed such thing to happen.
We and the other 50 Families that went through the same thing have been talking and we will never come back to this resort again, if you are thinking about spending family time here, please STAY AWAY!
Upon expressing our feelings on the Paradisus Facebook Page we were blocked and our comments removed completely!
We are still here as I write this review, it is sad that I can not get am Flight Earlier out of this terrible place, but we thought everybody should know the truth about this resort.

Room Number:
5019

Room Block:
5000

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube