Paradisus Palma Real Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Paradisus Palma Real reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 68 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 12, 2013

Paradisus Palma Real  

Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"The worst experience! Do your self a favor look somewhere else! "
Posted by: Manny espaillat  on Sep 19, 2012
see all reviews

Paradisus Palma Real Reviews
Paradisus Palma Real Pictures and Information
Paradisus Palma Real Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#13
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.1

Based on 16 reviews

Paradisus Palma Real Information


Located on the legendary Bávaro Beach in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, the Paradisus Palma Real is the ultimate five-star, all-inclusive luxury Dominican Republic resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradisus Palma Real Reviews

Paradisus Palma Real Review: 3.1 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (8)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 16

"Terrible service and management!"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Giovani  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
682 people found this review helpful

Where to start with my review, let's go from the very first impression:
We have been coming to the sol melia resorts for 5 years straight now ( Melia Caribe Tropical Royal Service) this year we decided to come to the new Melia Resort next door The reserve at Paradisus Palma Real.
It was supposed be an upgrade to the Melia Resort we usually go to.
We booked a concierge family suite with an automatic upgrade to a Concierge 1bedroom master suite, we booked it with American Express Travel as we always do?
Upon arrival at the resort we were told that we had to check in at The Paradisus at Palma Real and not a The Reserve.
We learned that an American Corporation had booked the entire hotel for themselves and we needed to wait until the next day at 3pm to move to be able to move into the Reserve Section.
Nothing really was explained other than we are are sorry, we will make it up to you.
So we could not unpack because the next day we were moving again to the Reserve.
We were promised free spa treatments, free seagway tours, they even offered us a week free at the Paradisus Side of the hotel.
All Good if all they promised would have been true, we were lied to from the beginning of the stay, we would have dinner reservation at 8pm, sit down by 8:30 and be served by 10:00pm with the food all wrong! 
Our kids were asked for money for drinks at the reserve pool bar.   
( all inclusive Resort), massages were schedule by the concierge and never booked at the spa, pool parties scheduled and changed without notice to us and much more grief that is not worth spending the time to write about.
I found out that the reason we were downgraded to another resort is because dish network booked the entire reserve area for some of their executives from the US and were having a Hot time if you know what I mean ( this came from employees of the resort to my ears) 
This is unacceptable, we would never think that a Sol Melia Resort that has what they call Family Concierge service would allowed such thing to happen.
We and the other 50 Families that went through the same thing have been talking and we will never come back to this resort again, if you are thinking about spending family time here, please STAY AWAY!
Upon expressing our feelings on the Paradisus Facebook Page we were blocked and our comments removed completely!
We are still here as I write this review, it is sad that I can not get am Flight Earlier out of this terrible place, but we thought everybody should know the truth about this resort.

Room Number:
5019

Room Block:
5000

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst experience! Do your self a favor look somewhere else! "

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Manny espaillat  on Sep 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
352 people found this review helpful

This is our second time visiting this hotel! 1st time was in 2009 and it was great! 2nd time 9-10-2012 WOW what a mistake! We made reservations since me and my wife always travel for our aniversary. 1st of all they miss-placed our room they gave it to someone else. Once they noticed the mistake they made us wait in the Hot loby for over 1 Hour. ( i said to my self ok things happen its fine lets have fun )

Got to our room and noticed in the mini-bar Maybe 1 bottle of water and a bottle of presidente beer. asked to be replaced and it took them 7 hours to send someone to our room. Ok after loosing 1 hour in the lobby to check inn it was already 5-6 Pm so we decided to get ready to have dinner and hit the bars and club...Buffett was Fine lots of variarity's. Once done we went like every couple to have some drinks and relax --- WOW what a dissapointment! No international drinks! ( such as Johnny walker - absolut vodka - grey goose & more wich are good drinks not the cheap ones the bums drink ) Once i asked the bartender, and we mentioned we have been here before " he stated to me the management is cutting out expenses" And im like WTF? are you serious dude? Boy he was! my wife had 2 drinks of vodka and boy what a mistake! our honeymoon down the drain since on sept 11 she vomited more than 3 times. ( due to their cheap drinks )

I was so pissed off, but what can i do just to suck it up. the hotel has complimentary restaurants wich never has reservations available regardless if you call 24-48 hours advanced noticed. their running a scam. On Sept 11th since they never have reservations available we assummed the buffett near the beach is open. Boy Management did it again! They Sent all the guest's to their other smaller sister hotel paradisus At the reserve and what a mistake!

Its just incredible - i can keep on pointing out more! the staff is great! but the management sucks! and i say this with facts!

Room Number:
2214

Room Block:
2214

Arrival:
sept 10th

Rooms:
1

Other Comments:
do your self a favor, go spend your hard work money to a reputable hotel that doesnt advertise what they dont got! I will never in my life go back there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4 Diamond dump"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maria Isabel  on Sep 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
573 people found this review helpful

Went to my nieces wedding with 26 others in our party. Let me tell you that first impressions always count. When you have terrible management what can you expect from this hotel. Upon check in there were 3 buses full of college students all checking out at the same time. Now i would think there would have had a representatives checking the students out not all the students checking themselves out im talking about 300 people all at once. Once i saw that first thing that came to my mind was I came at the wrong time boy was i right. 2nd thought was going to another hotel however, we had a contract for 3 nights which meant if I didn't stay I would lose my money. So, it was downhill from that point on.

PROS - Beautiful beach and nice architecture and beautiful pool.

CONS - Mangement, i asked for manager never came out
Staff - attended to you when it was convient to them. You would have to go get someone to bring you a drink unless you just got up and got your own drink at the bar.
Food not bad but not hot. Now the reason to all of this is due to the management at the hotel they OVERWORK their staff so, of course they are too tired to help the guest. The hotel staff works 22 days on 8 days off. I wouldn't want to work either.
You would think that a 4 DIAMOND property would have superb service they DON'T. I have been to 4 Diamond properties and 5 star resorts and I would give them 3 stars and that is alot for the service that was given. The only time staff will acknowledge you is to sell you their time share.
The hall ways are poorly lit and they use 25 watt bulbs so, it's hard to see where your going at night. If your on the 3rd floor the water pressure is very low so, you might find that your toilet doesn't work properly nor does your shower or sink. BEWARE on picking up the phone to make a call i made the mistake and made a call within the same country and i spoke for 6 minutes and was hit with a $25.00 US phone bill thank goodness I didn't call to the U.S.
This hotel is OVERPRICED for the terrible service one recieves. Maybe at one time this hotel had great service but they do not now. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Now, those of you that don't believe me go ahead give it a try and prove me wrong.
I had to make the most of this for my niece and her special day but I will not be returning again. I have been to better resorts in Punta Cana,Puerto Plata,Sosua,Samana and Santo Domingo that have 0 diamonds.

Room Number:
3203

Arrival:
Arrived at 12n since we were told check in was at 1pm. When we arrive found out check in was at 3pm. College kids checking out we got our key at 5:45pm

Rooms:
Rooms were alright nothing great. I've seen better

Restaurants and Bars:
Tried the restaurants not impressed one bit. Buffet was better.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach had so much seaweed had to be hauled by tractor. Sand is nice
Pool is beautiful and inviting loved the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
1 activitiy a day to learn how to dance salsa,bachata or water aerobics that's it.

Other Comments:
Staff is horrible. Bad service when it comes to getting service at the restaurants staff will either take 10 to 15 minutes to attend to you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away from Paradisus if you like Food or Good Cocktails!"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barry Alexander  on May 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
455 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at this resort twice, but, this year was particularly horrid. Even after upgrading to their so-called "Royal Service", the liquor everywhere (other than the one Royal Service lounge) was watered down so bad it didn't even taste like liquor--I had to go buy my own bottles of rum off property. Food was never great here--but, this year---terrible (other than breakfast). Twice, I ate something that was so bad I had to spit it out--literally. Room service--good luck. The room (in the Royal Service section) reeked of mildew and we couldn't keep the room cold enough. Two days after coming home, I am still taking Imodium. We even had water bottles in the room where the top seal had been broken and closed again--come on!!

The staff was pleasant and friendly--but, sadly, they simply are not managed well and management appears more focused on how to cram bodies into this resort regardless of quality.

If this place is not turned around soon, it will become relegated to 3-star tourist groups or company boon dongles on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everything was a little bit off..."

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eavon  on Mar 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
514 people found this review helpful

Upon arrival, you are greeted by a gorgeous lobby with plush couches and an archway that reveals the turquoise ocean and the huge pools. As you stand and admire the place, you begin to notice small details that aren't quite right: no one is there to greet you as you stand there for at least 20 mins, the plush couches are packed with people awaiting service, the staff walking around are really loud talking to each other rather than helping guests. That pretty much sums up the entire resort experience: great first impression, but upon further observation all the negative details add up quickly to a horrible experience.

We vacationed with my husband's President's Club which has a huge budget for this sort of awards trip. That being said, the service and accommodations appeared as if we paid bottom dollar for the medium/low quality of service we received. The butler assigned to our room brought us to the room but after that point, we never saw or heard from him again. Usually on vacations, people gain weight from the food and the leisure, but I actually lost weight! The food is barely mediocre - lots of dried out food sitting under heat lamps. Our dinner at their upscale restaurant yielded a night doubled over the toilet puking up the remains of 7 courses of tiny portions doled out very, very slowly. As a result of trying too hard to be upscale, there was a wait time of 20-30 minutes between each tiny course. The food was not fresh because the flourishes of sauce were dried onto the plate and the food itself was dried out. Once again, things looked great but the quality was horrendous.

Room Number:
1069

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Honeymoon Nightmare!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanna  on Sep 27, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
550 people found this review helpful

BUGS, DIRTY, and Rude People. I got so sick from the food or bugs and it was our honeymoon. Coch Roaches everywhere and small bugs on the food trey. Grosse. I was sick for two and half weeks when I returned home. The quality of the food was horrible and they were not friendly or accomodating at all. Total let down. Expected much more. Also, don not waste your time listing for 3 hours about the time share. It's not a good deal, unless you have an extra $80,000 to throw away. We got suckered into this when we arrived and just decided to listen so they would leave us alone. What a waste of time and energy. I have also stayed at the Iberostar in Punta Cana and it was much better, food was great and people were more friendly there for sure. No bugs. I would never stay at a Paradisius again or go back to punta cana now. Too bad of an experience unfortunately.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort but needs improvement"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  April  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
815 people found this review helpful

This resort is beautiful - both architecturally, interiors and landscaping. Lovely. Service was spotty. We had some great service and than again we had some terrible service. We are not the type to complain but you should be aware of the good and the bad with this resort. Don't stay at the Reserve - it's too far from the beach - you will only have a pool. You are better off at Palma Real in a garden suite. We paid for a beach view and you could not see the beach.... Loved eating all the shrimp and mussels at lunch. The fruit was good too. The smoked salmon on toast was delicious for breakfast.

Arrival:
Arrived by cab ($35)from the airport. Had to wait for our suites past the 3:00 time and than the salesman wanted to give us a tour before handing us over to yet another salesman. We were on vacation not shopping for a timeshare.

The Punta Cana airport is very nice and well laid out. Get your own luggage off the carosel and go find your own cab. Otherwise the men hanging around the carosel will take the luggage out and want money.

Rooms:
We had two suites - one for us and one for our two daughters. Missing remote controls for all tv's. Broken lock on girls sliding door. Suite smelled like paint. Overall it was clean but missing washclothes. Ordeal everyday to get them sent to room so we could scrub off sunscreen. Suites were clean and nicely laid out. Don't bother with an ocean view room - they are all garden view.

Restaurants and Bars:
Make sure to make your dinner reservations when you arrive. Even if restaurants look half full - they will not seat you without a reservation. Food is marginal. Lobster was mushy at Gabi at the Reserve and no air - very warm. Aqua was very nice and excellent service by Ezkeial. The tereyaki grill was good at Palma Real. Skip the Market Grill - not good. Tip - eat a yogurt for breakfast - might help you from getting Montezuma's Revenge. The bar in the lobby is the best - wonderful Mojito. For some reason, the restaurants with air are very warm. Turn down the temp a bit so people can enjoy the meal. Gabi Beach was a wonderful restaurant - food and service were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was beautiful and clean. The beach had nice sand but lots of weeds in the water. Only a bit of beach had clear bottom - the rest was grassy. Loved laying under the huts on the beach and having a drink. Don't walk on the beach past the resort - you will be bombarded by people hawking shopping and hair braiding and rides on the banana boat.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did the 2 hr horseback ride on the beach - fun. It was bit disconcerting to see the guy with the gun strapped to thigh accompanying us on the ride and slso the guy in the hut with the gun in his waistband. They were there to protect us and I can live with it. Remember to bring tip money for the guys on the horses who rode with us.

Don't leave the resort on your own - risky at best.

Other Comments:
Did not like the pushing of time shares on us. We spent alot of money on two suites for a vacation and did not appreciate being bothered. Skip it! They are persistant so avoid them at all costs.

Don't buy the Mamawana bottle with sticks in it that you add your own rum, honey and wine to. They WILL CONFISCATE it at the agriculture check point at the airport. Strangely enough - you can buy the same thing at the airport shop on the other side of security.

Service is not so good at this resort. I would ask everyday at breakfast and lunch repeatedly for water and tea - at least 3 times. Same with wash clothes in the room - I would call in the morning before heading down to the beach. Than I would call two more times and they would finally arrive at 5:30.

Make sure to lock all your valuables in your safe (even when you are sleeping). Did hear that someone came into someone's room while they were sleeping and took things out of the room Better yet - don't bring expensive jewelry and watches. And don't bring anything of value and leave it on your lounge chair while you are in the pool or in the ocean. It might not be there when you return.

We made the best of our time and actually enjoyed ourselves. Would I go back? No - once was enough in Punta Cana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst place we ever stayed."

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  cynthia  on Apr 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
731 people found this review helpful

We travel constantly as we are retired and i have to say this is the worst place we ever stayed. upon arrival my husband and i checked into the royal service club and were told we could not have our room till 3;00P.M. at that time it was 11.00A.M. all of a sudden our room became miraclously available. that was the only good thing that happened to us the entire week. we are still here and will leave tommorow thank goodness. where do i begin? the room was nice, we had a butler that was marginally helpful. we had to call for water because they did not replenish it. bottom line the service here is terrible! the food is disgusting,the gabi club lunch buffet was exactly the same everyday no changes at all. they advertize 5 star rating but all they have available for lunch are buffets. they don,t serve drinks around the main pool but the royal service they do if you wave them down. we are spoiled we always go to secrets, zoetry, royal hideaway. if you want good service, good food, and not constantly be aggravated on a daily basis stay away from here! this company does not care for its guests, just what they can get out of you $$$$ i could write a book, but no room we went over to look at the reserve why would people stay there you can't see the ocean, oh and by the way, the food is worse there if that could even be possible. we can't wait to leave!!!

Room Number:
1098

Room Block:
G

Arrival:
sunday april 3,2011

Rooms:
rooms were above average,nothing special, they did not always clean at the times we requested of our butler. did not always gert washclothes.

Restaurants and Bars:
bars nice restaurants awful

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
does not apply

Other Comments:
the most disappointing vacation ever

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"5 star decor, 3 star experience"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lora  on Sep 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
771 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
The usual deal with Punta Cana - get off plane, walk to the main hangar, avoid the photographer that wants to sell you the photo of you after you spent several uncomfortable hours on plane, wait for luggage, scramble to pay your 10$ each to customs, avoid the throngs of taxi drivers and get on bus to the resort.
Check in started off on the wrong foot as we were in the Reserve, but brought to the main hotel and were bounced around several different receptions for about 45 mins.

Rooms:
Am deathly afraid of bugs, so the room at first given to us on the first floor, with direct access to the pool, didn't thrill. They were more or less easy in trying to give us what we wanted, and wound up letting us have a choice of 3 different rooms to pick from. The rooms at the Reserve are truly beautiful, as is the entire resort. Huge, granite and mahogany. Amazing shower. Great balcony with a jacuzzi and couch and chairs - like a second living room. All the rooms we looked at smelled of mold, and we had to dryclean most of our clothes to get rid of the smell on the way back. Maids clean room daily and there is a turndown service, but on the "face" only. Tons of dirt/dust in corners - found out when trying to reach an item that rolled under couch. Probably contributes to musty smell.

Restaurants and Bars:
Beautiful restaurant decor, inedible food. In the lounge of the Reserve, there were usually snacks/coffee/cool drinks provided. It all looked gorgeous. However the food was completely inedible. Blocked the names of the restaurants but with the exception of Gabi Beach, nothing was good. Dont bother with breakfast at the Reserve - 20 minute wait for coffee. Breakfast generally was the high point meal wise, and service was very good in the main restaurant, friendly and quick. Do try the many fresh fruit juices - another high point. If you just want a cup of coffee and juice or fruit for breakfast, go in, get your cup and sit at one of the tables that front the beach - they will not like it, and only "allow" it to spanish speaking families, but once you brazen them out once, they will accept that they'll have to clean there as well. The smallish outdoor restaurant with columns between the manl large one and the "family concierge" pool was mostly decent for lunch. The Japanese Grill at the Reserve was disgusting. So was one of the reservation restaurants by the fountains on the main walkway. Got room service once - came an hour late, brought shrimp cocktail instead of a club sandwich, shrimp texture gave us the heebeejeebies. Went down to the Reserve buffet,which turns into a reservation only wait for service forever place at night. Pointed at stomachs, made faces, and walked out with a tray of plain pasta and bottle of wine to take up to the room. Followed by yearning glances of everyone languishing for service there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful grounds. Cleaned constantly. The pace of the main hotel was somewhat frenetic - way too many people at the pool and by beach.The main pool was very good architecturally. The ugliest area is the "family concierge" pool. Concrete and pounding sunshine. Dont agree with poster saying not to stay in Reserve. True its a 5 minute walk to the beach, but its worth it in complete tranquility you gain, the quiet pool that meanders around the property and is a welcome respite at the end of the day after spending time on the beach. The kiddie pool at the Reserve looked amazing, and so did the inside area for kids (mine are much older, so didnt use the facility itself, just an outside observation). The main pool next to the bar was fun for a post-beach, pre-get ready for dinner hour.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The staff at the water activity hut very friendly, and windsurf instructors great. Didnt do any trips since its not our first time to Punta Cana, and all we wanted was a relaxing beach vacation.

Other Comments:
All in all, the concept of the hotel, especially the Reserve is great. Visually pleasing. Actually whoever was the decorator is a true master. Even the uniforms of waiters at Gabi Beach were perfect. However, it all seems lost 1) on most of the crowd, 2) because of the surly service from most staff 3) terrible food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Azulina in Paradisus Palma Real"

Paradisus Palma Real
User Rating:  Paradisus Palma Real Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Sep 27, 2010  >  17 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
735 people found this review helpful

We had a good time at the Paradisus Palma Real.
The service was impeccable. The staff were attentive to your needs.
The quality of the food is exceptional.
The restaurants were well appointed and service wonderful.
They have entertainment every night and activities during the day.
It is kid friendly. The beach is beautiful and well kept.
There are plenty of chaise lounge chairs and bali beds for everyone.
I would reccommend this resort for all of the above reasons.
Hotel's administration lacks some knowledge and experience.
However we feel that the hotel is overpriced.
photos on : http://leonardito.com/paradpr1009n/paradpr1009.php

Photos: http://leonardito.com/paradpr1009n/paradpr1009.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube