Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"Majestic Colonial Jan 16-30th – A Nice Bonus Experience"
Posted by: Allan on Feb 17, 2015
see all reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#8
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 49 reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Information


Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Beach Resort, Golf, Casino and Spa is a brand new spectacular 5 star resort that will mark the beginning of a new era by combining luxury rooms with the all-inclusive formula at the highest level.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.1 of 5 49 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  24
Average
  6
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Wedding (5)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 49

"Majestic Colonial Jan 16-30th – A Nice Bonus Experience"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Allan  on Feb 17, 2015  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | With friend
60 people found this review helpful

Since this was our 5th vacation in a row at the Majestic Elegance we were given club bracelets for both the Elegance and Colonial so I am writing this review on the experiences we had at the Colonial side while there for our 2 weeks Jan 16-30th. Note -I have also done one for the Elegance as well.
For us we did not see a big difference between the two resorts. There did seem to be more families with younger children at the Colonial. There was no difference in service at the resorts – we were treated the same wherever we went. In fact we received some very good service at lunch time at the French restaurant, where they actually seemed pleased to see us return. There also seemed to be the same brands of alcohol at both resorts and we never had a problem getting the brands we wanted.

The main pool at the Colonial is larger than at the Elegance and runs from the lobby to the beach, so there were lots of quiet spots or active spots depending on what you were looking for. And any time I walked through there seemed to be a lot of empty loungers.
The Colonial Club section is very nice and I always got a nice greeting and good service there, but for me it just is not as nice as the Club section at the Elegance. The pools are long and narrow, but do have swim-up bars, and the Club Lounge is in the middle of the room buildings. So although they did seem to have as nice a food selection at the Colonial Club for light breakfast and lunches it does not have the views that the Elle and Ella lounges do at the Elegance Club.
There were a couple nice touches at the Colonial. Any time we went over in the evenings for dinner there was a special drink of the day table set up in the walkway on the way to the lobby and buffet. Another thing that stood out was the fact that the lobby bars at the Colonial used the hard plastic glasses for the ‘take out drinks’! At the Elegance they still use the soft plastic ones.
The lower lobby bar area is not as impressive at the Colonial but we felt the upper lobby area was just as nice as the Elegance and it seemed the seating here was in better condition than at the Elegance.

Restaurants and Bars:
There also was not a big difference food wise at least in the a la cartes- we never tried the Colonial buffets. We had some nice meals and dishes on the Colonial side, and in fact I had some of my best meals at the Colonial Le Gourmet restaurant for lunch where we ate 3 times. Note that lunch at this restaurant is for Club members only. Stand out dishes here were the Gazpacho Soup which I had 3 times, the Goat Cheese Salad which my friend had 3 times and the Fried Fish which I only had my last time but wish I had done it the other two. Any time we ate here is was never busy.
The only a la carte we did not try at the Colonial was the Steakhouse.
Our best dinner at the Colonial was at Matsuri, the Asian a la carte. The meal and the service were very nice. The only drawback for us was the very noisy Japanese tables which made conversation difficult. We did the Sushi/app bar to start. For main courses we had the Lemon Chicken, the Sweet and Sour Pork and a Fried Rice with Shrimp dish. All were very nice, but we especially liked the Fried Rice.
We also did Taino, the Mexican restaurant one night. We did this one last year and really enjoyed the evening so we wanted to try it again. It is a nice change since there is not an equivalent a la carte on the Elegance side. This year it was a lot busier than it was last year and we had to wait 20 mins for a table, but it was another nice evening. Service and food were again good. We did the app bar to start – which did not seem as extensive as I remembered, but still was good. Last year my friend had the Chicken Fajita and it was way too much food for 1 person, so this year we decided to share it. We of course did the Flaming shots again since it really is part of the evening at the Mexican.
We ended up doing our last dinner on Thu evening at the Colonial Le Gourmet since this was the only time left, even though I inquired on Monday about a booking. Service was good and food was OK. I had a very nice Lobster Salad app but my main Grouper dish was just OK. My friend had a just OK app but his Beef Fillet was very nice. For us there seemed to be a better selection on the lunch menu and in fact I thought there were several items that would have been nice to have access to for dinner.
Our least favorite a la carte here was Tres Carabelas, the Seafood restaurant. We ate here our first night and it was not good. The food was OK but service was terrible. We basically were left on our own to find the app/dessert buffet and water and wine refills were hard to come by. Dishes were not cleared away and there was hardly any time between the apps and the main course. My friend had the Surf and Turf which was just OK. But the weird part was no one asked how he wanted his steak done when they took his order, so it was overdone for him. I had the Mixed Grill which was good.

Other Comments:
All in all we did not notice a big enough difference between the two resorts to say one was better than the other. After having full access to the Colonial this trip I can say that if for some reason the Elegance was not available we would certainly consider staying at the Colonial Club, especially if we could have access to the Elegance like we did the Colonial this time. Of course one bonus the Colonial has is Jordi and he seems as on top of things here as he always did at the Elegance. He dropped by several times to check on how our vacation was going and to say hi while we were dinning at the French for lunch.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst Vacation Ever - broken promises and a waste of money"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emily  on Dec 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
280 people found this review helpful

I got food poisoning while staying here in November from red snapper at the French restaurant. My husband was also served raw chicken (thankfully he realized before he ate it.)

My food poisoning was so bad that I passed out while puking, and severely chipped my tooth off the toilet. Initially, the resort tried to get us to sign a waiver relieving them from liability and that we would have to agree not to post anything about this online! We of course refused to sign.

They then promised that they would stay in contact until the matter has been resolved - and they have not kept that promise. I am now looking at over $2000 repair to my tooth.

This is TERRIBLE customer service. Think twice before coming here, because it could happen to you too!

The rest of the food was ok, the drinks for the most part were nothing special, and the room was nice... but because of the way they have handled my injury I will never go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful but BEWARE !"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  cheryl  on Oct 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

While the resort is beautifully maintained and probably one of the cleanest places I have ever been, the food and beverage quality standards are quite different. Granted, the given fact that one should not drink the tap water is obvious, however, the ice and blended drinks are all made from water, but no one could verify if the water was purified or not. Hence, I became quite ill, and have to attribute my acute parasite infection to the ice. Consequently, all fruit and vegetables on the salad bar are all "washed" in untreated water. Food sanitation standards are quite different here, BEWARE ! Food sits on a buffet or serving table for hours on end without proper temps maintained.....

Other Comments:
Overall, the staff was great. They all spoke wonderful English and were helpful and appreciative of the tips. Fermin was our butler and was most accommodating. If it wasn't for the fact that I became super ill, I would certainly return for another vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The bad"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Jan 22, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
439 people found this review helpful

This is an addition to my previous review. 4 of the 8 of us ended up getting sick and 3 of us went to the hospital for medication and IV fluids. Upon returning we were still unwell so went here and had tests done. We were diagnosed with food poisoning and Ecoli bacterial infection. This is a beautiful resort but even though we were really careful not to drink tap water we even brushed our teeth with bottled water we still got really sick. Beware

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Colonial Club section at the Majestic Colonial"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Jan 9, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
420 people found this review helpful

I will give you the good and the bad

Check in was the worst I have ever experienced we arrived late and there were only two people checking in guest. We were the very last guests to be checked in and considering we had paid for a club section room and were suppose to get priority check in!

We had a ocean room in the Colonial club section. The rooms are large and clean. One of our sinks did not work and there were a few minor repairs that needed to be done. But that is pretty common with a hotel in the carribean.

The Club lounge is nice and well worth the extra $$$

Staff is nice and alway pleasant

Entertainment is pretty good

Food is ok although 3 of the 8 of us got sick which is miserable.

Ocean club room is not worth the extra as they are situated right infront of the wedding gazebo so you really dont have ocean view you have endless wedding. A real turn off for the resort.


Not a bad resort but have some major issues with their most expensive rooms being in wedding after wedding.

Room Number:
3147

Room Block:
colonial club

Arrival:
Dec 27-jan 6 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Bad experience!"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cristina  on Aug 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
523 people found this review helpful

SInce our retirement we travel a few times a year; we love Dominican Republic and have visited different areas and different resorts; this 2 weeks were the worse. We had troubles from day 1.

We will not recommend this resort to anyone and for sure we will not go back!

It should not be rated 5 stars.

Room Number:
3202

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
We had to wait a too long to check in and immediately we noticed the difference in the staff attitude, compared to previous visits to Punta Cana, Samana, Puerto Plata and La Romana.

There was no music or a holiday atmosphere, nobody offered us a drink; we were told that because it was almost 3 pm, we had to walk all the way to the beach buffet (long walk) to get something to eat, every other place was closed.

Rooms:
Once we got to the room : many things did not work, like the lights, the safe, the shower, the sliding door to the balcony did not lock. We wasted the whole afternoon calling and calling for service. The mattress was very uncomfortable, but we did not find that out until that evening.
Spoke with manager Anger Olgado and Teresa (rooms manager) they apologized but did not show concern or suggested to changes us to another room.

The rest of the time, as other problems arise, they ignored our calls and we got tired of complaining.

Very Bad customer service.

Restaurants and Bars:
The service in general was not what you expected; the staff was not happy; like never before we felt pressured to show $ to get better service and not even then. The exception was Jose, he works in the restaurants and he went out of his way to make us feel happy and to enjoy our stay. It was not his job, but he did teach a lesson to management.
The food was average, the a la carte restaurants were OK, but if you wanted a good table like overlooking the pool you have to pay extra.

The drinks were all sugar water and the alcohol drinks were not good; if you were lucky enough to get the right drinks, which they took more than 20 minutes to bring. And on the beach the waiter ignored you totally if you did not tipped him every time and every day. We even tried to talk spanish, but he was rude and unfriendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches in Punta Cana are very nice; lots of palapas, but they did not clean the beach, it was full of see weed.
They did not take good care of the beach area, for example: in the morning you will find food plates from the day before; glasses and garbage left behind.
They closed the pools at 6pm. Bad idea, specially after a rainy morning. They put chemicals even when tourist were in the water. The towel place closed whenever they feel like it; so we had to carry wet towel to our room.
The grounds were nice, fortunately the construction started when we were leaving.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment was very poor; in 2 weeks they had only 3 shows and they were not good or up to standard to a 5 star resort. I would not compare this resort to any other 5 stars we have visited. The rest of the nights they had games or karaoke in the outdoor patio, that could not accommodate many people.

Water sport equipment was supposed to be included; but, we had to pay to use the catamaran, and on top of that, nobody helped us to push it to the ocean or bring it back; and forgot to mention..the catamaran did not work and my husband still has a sore hand for holding the sail in place.

Other Comments:
We will not recommend this resort to anyone and for sure we will not go back!

We met people that were there before and were very disappointed this time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Family vacation - March 2012"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roxane  on Mar 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
681 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Our flight was delayed 4 hours so instead of leaving at 18:30 we ended up leaving at 22:30 which was not good when you travel with a bunch of kids... The good news was that when we finally arrived at the hotel in the middle of the night/early morning hours we were greeted by a friendly person at the reception, got our keys and were sent off to our rooms within minutes. The rooms were ready and clean and we even had a cot ready for our youngest child. If you arrive at the same time we did which might be the exception, just make sure you get your towel cards so not to have to go back the next day...

Rooms:
The rooms are very clean with plenty of towels, toilettries and hygiene paper products, however like in every resort where the climate is very hot, the humidity factor is high as well therefore the bed linens and towels always felt wet/humid... The cleaing staff appreciate a 'daily' tip and will put extra efforts in making sure they leave fresh cut flowers on nicely decorated towels shaped like swans.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is where the opinions in my family start to vary, however overall we agree that the French gourmet restaurant was good (if your over 12 yrs old). The mexican was not that great and the asian was ... okay... The buffet by the beach wasn't the best but we have had worse. It was mostly fast food type and we're not really into that. The other buffet by the reception was very good with lot's of choices at each meal. The servers were always filling up our glasses with water and/or coffee in the morning. The down side is it closes at 10:00am for breakfast for if you're with teenagers they might have to go to the beach buffet instead... After a few days, the food starts to taste the same but they really try to make it different... We especialy enjoyed the pasta station and the the omelette station were they prepare the food to your taste.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is SPECTACULAR, we went for long walks and never saw one little stone...just fine sand. The water is rough at times however they have flags to let you know the condition and they also have ropes to make sure you stay within a safe area. Our biggest point of irritation was trying to find some chairs on the beach OR EVEN by the pool... If you're not out by 6:00am putting your towels on the chairs to safeguard your spot... FORGET about it... We went during March Break so that makes it worse...the hotel was fully booked.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lot's of choices, beware of pirates trying to sell you knock off's. You'd be best to work with your tour operator, not only to they have a the best contacts - they also have insurance should something happen.

Our kids (young adults)went to the bar (disco) every night and had a blast.

We took our 6 year old to play pool every night after dinner and he had fun as well.

My husband and I didn't take in any of the shows because our younger child really NEEDED to sleep after a full day playing, however the older kids went and they said they were "just okay".

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Honeymoon times"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  m  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
742 people found this review helpful

We went August 30th for our week honeymoon, and we got an excellent deal.

Arrival:
August 30th - Sept 6th

Rooms:
The rooms were nice with the separate tub, large walk in shower, two sinks etc. Bed was like a rock, but having a sofa in room was nice as well.
Free drinks in room were nice as well as my husband had GI problems due to tap water.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food - lots of options and things, but the buffet style got to us in the end. It would've been nice to have one night where we could just order pizza, or have cereal in our room. Not have to get gussied up to eat.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Beach was excellent - lots of chairs, umbrellas helped us not burn. Market was bad being harassed by people
Nightly entertainment was funny and good, live music brought in was excellent.
giant swimming pool was fantastic.

Other Comments:
overall, I would go again but try and take part in more water activities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best value in the carribean"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maryann  on Sep 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
806 people found this review helpful

We loved everything about this stay. Junior suite was large and airy and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent especially the lobsters! The pool was enormous and very clean, the beach was perfect, large with very soft white sand. The golf course was beautiful, well kept and an exceptional value.

Restaurants and Bars:
Every one of them was wonderful. The buffet was great for breakfast

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedding at Majestic- Colonial"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jade  on May 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
937 people found this review helpful

This resort was a dream come true. The staff was excellent, the food was excellent, the beach was excellent...room EXCELLENT. Not to mention the wedding coordinator and staff were very organized. Our family and friends had the time of their lives. Every day that my husband and I were there we had a special gift, massage, note etc. It was great! What a beautiful resort and what a magical place to have a wedding.

Arrival:
09/02/11

Restaurants and Bars:
Seafood bar was the best. * Note you had to make reservations for some of the more popular restaruants

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean and crystal blue

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plenty of activities. A list was posted daily

Photos: http://eltonandersonblog.com/slideshows/Burns/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube