Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"Worst Vacation Ever - broken promises and a waste of money"
Posted by: Emily  on Dec 28, 2013
see all reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#8
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 48 reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Information


Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Beach Resort, Golf, Casino and Spa is a brand new spectacular 5 star resort that will mark the beginning of a new era by combining luxury rooms with the all-inclusive formula at the highest level.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.1 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  24
Average
  6
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (24)
Wedding (5)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
With friend (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 48

"* We really liked this hotel"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Dec 1, 2008  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2008
241 people found this review helpful

December 2006 and December 2008

I originally wrote this review in December 2006. We stayed at Majestic Colonial for 5 days in November 2008, as a result of which I have updated some of the information in this review.

Arrival:
Our second week in Punta Cana was at Majestic Colonial, a $15.00 cab ride away from Palma Real.. Majestic Colonial is located immediately south of Grand Paradise Bavaro. (November 2008 – the new Majestic Elegance is right next door to Majestic Colonial). It is about 30 minutes from Punta Cana Airport, 90 minutes from La Romana Airport, and 3-1/2 hours from Santo Domingo Airport.

As you enter the hotel the front desk is located to the left, guest services and the lobby bar and seating is located to the right. There is a staircase down to the ground level, also a glass panel elevator. Checkin was quick, we received our wristbands and an information package consisting of two room keys (don’t lose them or they’ll charge you $90.00), a map of the resort and information regarding the resort restaurants and facilities, and then the bellboy took us to our room.

The rooms at Majestic are beautiful, large and nicely decorated. We were in a second floor Oceanfront Junior Suite, steps from the pool and beach.

The room had a king-size bed, a Jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower with a glass door and separate toilet stall with glass door, 2 double sinks. We always had hot water. The living area had a sofabed, desk, and coffee table. The room is open concept, ie there is no division or privacy between the Jacuzzi tub and the rest of the room, which could be a problem for families staying in one room. It looks beautiful, but it would be nice if they could add a curtain or blinds that could be put down to afford some privacy when using the tub.

Amenities in the bathroom included a basket with shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, sewing kit, shower cap, comb, shoeshine sponge, Kleenex. There is also a makeup mirror and hair dryer.

In the closet you will find lots of shelves and space for your clothes. There are also 3-drawer nightstands to put things in. Don’t put your things in the cupboard closest to the door. This is a room service unit that can be accessed by staff from the outside to deliver room service orders or collect dishes and laundry.

In the closet there is an electronic safe (included), big enough to hold a laptop. I have a 15.4” widescreen and it fit just fine, you just have to put it in vertically on an angle and prop it up at the back of the safe.

Bathrobes and slippers, along with an iron and ironing board, are in the closet.

Glasses and a bottle of champagne awaited us, and later they brought a small bottle of rum. All guests receive a bottle of champagne in their room on arrival, the bottle of rum or whisky is in the upgraded rooms and suites only. Two bath towels and two hand towels are provided (plus you get two extra towels if you are lucky enough to get swans). Facecloths were kind of hit and miss, some days we had them and other days we didn’t. I had brought one from home, though, so it didn’t really matter.

We had 4 pillows in our room. Two were flat and lumpy, two were just flat. I do understand they have ordered new pillows.

The room had a phone, and TV with North American, French, Russian, Italian, Spanish, and South American channels. (They get CNN).

Air-conditioning worked well, and there was also a ceiling fan.

The minibar was replenished daily, and contained 2 beer, 4 pop (they had Diet Pepsi), and 4 bottles of water, along with 2 chocolate bars. Bottled water is also readily available at all the bars.

There were plastic chairs and a table on the patio, mid-week these were replaced with brand new aluminum chairs. November 2008 – we had a ground-floor Junior Suite this time, I like the upper floors better.

Room Descriptions:
All of the Junior Suites at Majestic are the same. size. Upgrades are related to location or whether they have an outdoor Jacuzzi or larger terrace. Following is a list of the various junior suites and suites available.

Standard Junior Suite – 538 square feet
Contains one King or two double beds, Colonial style furniture, Full bathroom with jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, bathrobe and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, direct phone line ($), Hi-speed internet connection ($), Room Service ($), free minibar restocked daily, free safety deposit box, separate door for room service, desk and sofa in living area, balcony or terrace with table and 2 chairs. pool or garden view. Maximum occupancy - 2 adults and 2 children or 3 adults.

Majestic Junior Suite – 538 square feet
Same as Standard Junior Suite on interior, with the following extras:
Outdoor Jacuzzi located on terrace, private garden area with direct access to swimming pool, all located on ground floor, two lounge chairs in garden area.
No children allowed in these rooms, adults only. Maximum occupancy 2 adults (The terrace for these rooms is private in that there is no path in front of you so nobody can walk by, but people sitting around the pool have a clear view of these rooms. Maybe when the gardens grow a little bit more it will be more private. It would be nice if a lattice of some kind was put up in front of the outdoor Jacuzzi to give privacy – I don’t think they’re used too often.)

Colonial Junior Suite – 538 square feet
Same as standard junior suite on interior, with the following extras:
Outdoor Jacuzzi on private terrace, rooms located on 2nd and 3rd floors, pool or garden view. No children allowed in these rooms, only for adults. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. (Third floor Colonial Junior Suites are nice, they have vaulted ceilings)

Majestic Suite – 1,076 square feet
One bedroom suite with two separate areas, living room and bedroom, divided by sliding door. Living room area has a desk with internet connection and telephone, 29” TV, two sofas, and a balcony. Bedroom area is the same as a junior suite. Garden or pool view with large terrace. All suites are located on the 4th floor. Children allowed in these rooms – Maximum occupancy 2 adults and 2 children.

Colonial Suite – 1,076 square feet
Same as Majestic Suite but with an outdoor Jacuzzi on the terrace. Pool view. Children allowed in these rooms – Maximum occupancy 2 adults and 2 children.
They also have a Presidential Suite which is over 1,600 square feet, and has a huge rooftop terrace – very impressive. You could have a party for 100 people up there.
They have some specially-equipped rooms for disabled people, ie. wider doors, grab bars. Clock-radios are being added to all the rooms, both Junior Suites and Suites. Coffeemakers in the suites only are being replaced with Nespresso coffee makers, and DVD players and a stereo system are also going to be added to the Suites only.

Guest Services:
Annemarie is guest services manager at Majestic Colonial (as of November 2008). It is at guest services that you make reservations for the Gourmet and Japanese Restaurants, and they can also make reservations for golf, and help you with any other questions or concerns you have. You can contact guest services at: pr@majesticcolonial.com

Changes to All-Inclusive Plan
Changes were being made to the all-inclusive plan, effective December 23, 2006, as follows (as far as I know this information is still correct in November 2008):

All international premium liquors will be included for North American guests (while we were there only a few were included, the rest were available at an extra cost). There will still be an additional cost for beer other than Presidente and wine other than the house wine.

Room service is available in the Standard Junior Suites at additional cost, but as of December 11 will be included in the upgraded Junior Suites and Suites.

Grounds/Pool
There are a lot of ponds and fountains throughout the resort. Christmas lights were everywhere, with a big decorated Christmas tree in the lobby. It is beautiful at night with everything lit up.

The huge swimming pool runs through the length of the resort. It’s length provides several different areas to sit in, some more quiet than others. Found the pool water cold, but refreshing. It’s quite a shallow pool, less than 4 feet deep I think. There is also a small kids’ pool in the area of the main pool. We liked to sit at the end of the pool nearest the beach, it was quiet there. The area around the swim-up bar in the middle was where the Activities staff hung out, and then there were quieter areas up closer to the lobby.

The hotel was 85 – 90 per cent full the week we were there, and it didn’t seem crowded. There were lots of chairs available, even after 9 a.m. in the morning. (November 2008 – the hotel was completely full and it still never seemed crowded, and we were always able to find a spot at the beach.)

Beach
The beach is beautiful, you see lots of people walking the beach every day. The Bahia Principe hotel is about a 10 minute walk down the beach, and the new Riu Palace is about 20 minutes away. Grand Paradise is right beside Majestic to the north.

There are lots of palapas on the beach, no problem finding a place to sit.

Weather and Bugs
There was no problem at all with bugs or mosquitos the week we were there. The weather was generally good. It was quite windy the beginning of the week, but the winds calmed down toward the end of the week. It did rain at some point almost every day, but didn’t last long. Temperatures were in the mid-80’s during the day, dropped to the 70’s at night, it was very comfortable.

Restaurants:
You can eat at the a la carte restaurants as much as you want (if you can get reservations) There is a limit of 4 bookings under one room number. The Japanese and Gourmet restaurants are the only ones you need reservations for, best to make them as soon as you arrive. While most people did dress up a little for the a la carte restaurants, the only restaurant that enforces a dress code for men is the Gourmet restaurant - long pants and a collared shirt required. No "muscle shirts" allowed at any of the restaurants at dinnertime.

Main Buffet Restaurant
The main buffet restaurant is open from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. for breakfast, 12:30 p.m. to 3.00 p.m. for lunch, and 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. for dinner. It is enclosed and air-conditioned, up near the lobby.

They had a fairly good selection of food. Fresh-made omelettes in the morning were my favourite. The crepes were also good. They did have some pre-made omelettes, fried eggs, pancakes, etc., but I found these were cold. Toast always took a long time, had to put it through the toaster several times. (November 2008 – enjoyed the food in the buffet, felt it had improved from the first time we were there. Their pre-made stuff in the mornings was still cold though). At lunch time they had pizza, salads, cold cuts, as well as different meats, fish and vegetables, fresh bread and rolls. The rice and red beans was my favourite. They also have a pasta bar. I like their French fries, but they’re really greasy.

At dinner there was a choice of meat and fish, vegetables, salads, rolls, etc. as well as pasta. You could always find something you liked. There was fresh fruit and deserts, but not a large selection. We only had dinner here once, as we went to all of the a la carte restaurants.

A hostess will seat you when you enter the buffet restaurant, and then someone will take your drink order. I usually like to drink white wine, but I did not like the white wine they served in this restaurant at all. I did not try the red wine. Some of the a la carte restaurants had a different white wine that I liked better.

La Hispaniola Beach Restaurant
Open from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. for continental breakfast Open from 12:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. for lunch and snacks This is an open air restaurant at the beach/pool area. At night it becomes the Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurants. We had lunch here a couple of times. They serve hamburgs, hotdogs, salads, and usually a paella or something with fish in it., and also have a pasta bar. I had a hamburger here the first day and it was still pink in the middle, so that kind of turned me off. Had pasta another day, that was very good. (November 2008 – they had added a sandwich station, where you could get a sandwich made to order).

Never tried the continental breakfast there, it opens too late, and it didn’t really seem to have “breakfast” foods, there were things like cheese and ham and dinner rolls.

November 2008 – service very good, plates cleared right away, or in some cases before you finished eating, ie. Pat had a hamburger on his plate and picked it up to take a bite and his plate was taken away :)

Steakhouse – Rodeo Grill
Open 6:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. (in half of the Hispaniola Beach Restaurant) This was my favourite restaurant, we ate here a couple of times and had the Chateaubriand, and it was very good. There is also a Caesar salad station where you can get fresh Caesar salad.

We ate here again in November 2008 – was very good, but service was a little too fast in this restaurant.. Someone was there to take our order before we even had a chance to open the menu.

Seafood Restaurant – Tres Carabelas
Open 6:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. (in other half of Hispaniola Beach Restaurant)
We don’t like fish, so didn’t eat here.

Le Gourmet Restaurant – requires reservations
No shorts allowed. No kids under 12.
Open 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
This restaurant is located up at the lower lobby. Had the Surf and Turf and Pat had a chicken dish, both were good. The other entrees on the menu were seafood.

Oriental “Matsuri” Restaurant
Open 6:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

This is actually two separate dining areas – one is the Teppanyaki tables – you have to make a reservation for this. This is show cooking where the food is cooked in front of you. It was good. At the end of the meal they give you a shot of “mamajuana” to try, the Dominican cure-all. Actually, I think they had a jug of it in all the restaurants. (November 2008 – we ate here again, didn’t enjoy it as much as the first time. No mamajuana served.) The other section of this restaurant is the Chinese portion, no reservations are needed to eat here. We had the chicken chow mein and Szechwan beef. Appetizer choices were egg rolls or won ton soup. It was pretty good. There is also a buffet sushi bar.

Caribbean Taino Restaurant
Open 7:00 p.m. to midnight for dinner

This is also a “two-part” restaurant. They have a buffet of Dominican/Mexican food, as well as a menu you can order from. You can just have the buffet if you want, or just order from the menu, or have both. We had a 3-meat entrée with baked potato from the menu, and also sampled some stuff from the buffet.

(November 2008 – we ate here again, it’s pretty much the same)

Bars
Piano Bar (upper level of lobby) – open 9 a.m. to midnight
Lobby Bar (ground floor) – open 5 p.m. to 1 a.m.
Sports Bar/Disco – open 11 p.m. to 7 a.m.
Theatre Bar – open 8 p.m. to midnight
Plaza Bar – open 5 p.m. to midnight
Pool Bar – open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Swimup Bar – open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Beach Bar – open 9 a.m. to midnight

As of December 11/06 all international liquors are included for North Americans.

Beer – Presidente Beer is included in the all-inclusive. Other beers such as Coronna, Budweiser, Bud Light, Miller, or Heineken are $3.00U.S. a bottle.

They make good Caesars, they have Clamato juice! Their welcome drink, the “Majestic” is also really good. In the evening, outside the lobby, they set up a table with hors d’oeuvres and serve a special drink, I think it was something different every night.

Entertainment and Activities:
There is a big board just outside the entrance to the lobby that tells what the activities and entertainment are for the week.

During the day the activities staff has pool games and contests in the area of the swimup bar and on the beach.. On Caribbean Street near the front of the resort is a games area with a giant chessboard, foosball, two pool tables, and a pingpong table. They also have games and books to lend out..

Next to this area is a well-equipped gym (included).

Tennis courts (day and night) are located at the front of the resort, and they are going to be adding a baseball diamond as well as walking trails through the mangroves

At night, after dinner, people would congregate in the lobby areas, or wander through the shopping areas. There is a Harrison’s jewellery store off the lobby on the Reception level, they have beautiful stuff. There is also a clothing store (very expensive) (November 2008 – the clothing store is gone, and has been replaced by the internet lounge), and a cigar shop. On the “Caribbean Street” adjacent to the lobby is where you’ll find a Mini-Mart, souvenir shops, paintings, Internet Centre, the Sports Bar/Disco where you can watch sports games on big screen TV’s, and the casino and theatre. They were in the process of opening up a “café” where you could get late night snacks. We never went to the disco, but drinks are included.

(November 2008 – internet lounge has moved to the lobby, they now have a place here called La Bodeguita del Majestic where you can get late night snacks such as burgers and wings. It is open from 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.) On Dominican night vendors had stalls set up around the lobby entrance.

There is a beautiful theatre where they put on evening shows. The seating is very very comfortable – I fell asleep there one night. We actually only watched a couple shows for a short while. There was an Acrobatic show, a Michael Jackson show (I’ve only seen about 25 of them). Others that we missed – Ideal Couple, His and Hers, Magician show. A waitress will come around and take your drink orders in the theatre.

What we enjoyed the most was the saxophone player that played in the outdoor plaza every evening. There are tables and chairs here, and bar service, and it was nice to just sit back and relax and listen to him play.

There is a casino with table games and slot machines. Drinks are included. Pat played Blackjack one night and ended up about $50.00 ahead.

Kids Club
There is a Kids’ Club for ages 3 to 7, located near the front of the resort near the theatre. Next to that is a Teens Club for ages 8 to 14. They are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. The Kids’ Club looked interesting with its castle and swimming pool. Parents are encouraged to go there with their children

Golf
There are several golf courses in the area – Cocotal Golf Course, White Sands Golf Course, and Punta Blanca – contact Guest Services for information and pricing and to make reservations.

Majestic Spa
A nice full-service spa, with indoor treatment rooms, as well as massage beds at the beach. There is a water entrance that connects to the pool. In this area are outdoor spa tubs and showers that you can use for free. I didn’t discover until the last day that the spa tubs actually had hot water in them. In fact, the whole pool area around the spa entrance is much warmer than the rest of the pool. I did go in one day for a massage – 55 minutes for $80.00 U.S. Also had a nail polish change done for $10.00 U.S. (hands and feet).

(November 2008 – went for a massage which was very nice, also had a nail polish change done)

Hair Braiding and Tattoos:
Next to Mariana Watersports at the beach is a place where you can get your hair braided, or temporary henna tattoos. I paid $7.00 U.S. for 5 braids. Also got a temporary tattoo on my ankle for $15.00 U.S. that’s supposed to last two weeks. She said to come back the day I was leaving and she would touch it up for free, but I never bothered.

T-Shirt Painting(New in November 2008)
Antonio has a place at the beach where he will handpaint a t-shirt for you. We had him make a few with our logo and name on the front and the website URL on the back – he did an awesome job. (If any of the forum members are interested in buying a “Debbie’s” shirt, just ask him about it – you could probably get your forum name added on the shirt as well.

Money Exchange
There is an ATM machine in the lobby as you enter where you can get pesos, or you can exchange money at the front desk. If you take U.S. cash, there is really no need to change it into pesos.

Watersports
Mariana Watersports is located at the beach. Included items are snorkel equipment, boogie boards, ocean kayaks, and a scuba clinic in the pool. Also included are catamarans and windsurfers, but these require a security deposit, ie. credit card, and must be reserved one day in advance. Here you can also book fishing trips, parasailing, boat trips, etc.

Tours
The tour operators have desks in the upper lobby area where you can book excursions – jeep tours, boat trips, 4-wheelers, day trip to Santo Domingo, trip to Altos de Chavon, boat trip to Catalina Island, horseback riding, etc

Internet Lounge
November 2008 - The Internet Centre is located off the lobby. About 8 computer terminals, lots of comfortable seating and tables and chairs. Internet cost is $5. for 30 minutes. If you bring your laptop, you can get internet in your room for $10.00 U.S. a day. (good idea to bring your own cable).

Weddings
There were lots of weddings at this resort while we were there, either on the beach or at the gazebo in the gardens near the lobby. Information on their new wedding package will be posted shortly on our Weddings Page along with contact information.
Medical Services and Pharmacy Located near the theatre.

Late Checkout
If you have a late flight, you might be able to get late checkout. The cost is $40.00 (up to 6:00 p.m.). You will have to go to the front desk the day before you leave to see if a late checkout is available for your room. Note that you must take your room cards to the front desk and have them re-programmed before 12 noon on the day you are leaving, otherwise you will be locked out of your room at noon, even if you arranged for the late checkout.
If you do have to vacate your room, they have showers adjacent to the reception area.

Summary
We really liked this hotel. Accommodations are beautiful, the grounds and pool are nice, the food was fine, and the staff and service were great. Management seems committed to continually make improvements to the resort. There are lots of things to do if you want to, or you can just “veg out” at the pool or beach.

If you have any other questions about Majestic, you can e-mail me.

Special thanks to Ricardo Espinosa and “Majestic Mike”, for all your assistance during our stay.

November 2008 – the hotel was as great as I had remembered!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff are pleasant but their English is not good."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Janis from Ontario, Canada  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
239 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 9 through 16
We arrived in the evening and the lobby is very impressive and check in was quick and efficient. We were not offered and did not see anyone offered a complementary Magestic drink.

Rooms:
Our room was a jr. suite and very impressive, part ocean view and looking over the pool. The elevator was very small(2 person size) and we preferred to walk the four flights. The second day it was broken and remained so therefore be in good health or take a main floor room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The steak and the seafood restaurants are excellent in our opinion. We ate at each twice and enjoyed each meal and ate the remaining time at the buffets and were pleased with the selections, very good desserts too!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Enjoyed the beach every day and for our "middle age" bracket was happy with no vendors and quite a quiet atmosphere, loved the white sand, the welcoming ocean and walking along the sandy beach not needing to watch or sharp stones or shells. There are no shells for collecting .The pool was welcoming as well, well kept grounds and lots of walkways to "keep fit"

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We had a "r and r" holiday and did not need or want any tours.

Other Comments:
There is not a lot of shopping, enough in the resort shops for us . The staff are pleasant but their English is not good. Speaking some Spanish will help you get your point across but we did alright with little Spanish and truly enjoyed a relaxing and great BEACH HOLIDAY.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fantastic resort."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Karen from Woodstock, Ontario  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 11-18, 2009
Smooth! Flew Signature/Skyservice, to my surprise all the people on the bus were going to the Majestic Complexe, no stopping at multiple resorts. Check in was fast at hotel. Although I was a little uneasy the person asked me to put down a passport no. on the form. I had never been asked this before on past trips.

Rooms:
Beautiful! Huge! Four-poster king bed, jacuzzi tub, huge walk-in shower. It was clean. We had our mini-bar and towels replenished daily. Never had to ask for anything.

Restaurants and Bars:
Fantastic! There was a bar everywhere. Restaurants were very good. Ate at the Steakhouse by the beach twice. Both meals were really good. Steaks cooked to what we asked. Ate at the Gourmet (the one you had to make a reservation for). I ordered Grouper (I never usually order fish off a menu) - very impressed. Not fishy tasting at all. Really enjoyed it! The Taino was good as well. The buffet had different dishes each night we went (I think 3 times). So much to choose from. I can't imagine the pickiest eater not being able to find something. We love food and trying new food - no complaints here. Oh, the burgers are fantastic at lunchtime at the buffet on the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds - beautiful. Pools was very nice - not freezing but cool. Went in only once at the end of the day. We are beach people...beach is totally beautiful! In front of the resort the rope didn't go out to far - seemed to get deep closer to shore than other parts of Bavaro Beach. We walked to the left, down the beach passed the Barcelo - went in the ocean there, tons of waves!!! Big, crashing waves to jump in. We took a walk there everyday. When we needed to cool off, we would go on our beach. There were some rocks in that part of the beach though - in certain areas. There were enough lounge chairs, towels and palapas.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any tours. The activities were plentiful in the resort. We played ping pong, horseshoes, boccia and volleyball. I missed the drinking contest though-darn!

Other Comments:
SERVICE in the buffet restaurant was unbelievable! You never once had to ask for more coffee, water or wine - they were contantly topping you up. Best service I have had in my 6 trips to Punta Cana. Their english was better than anywhere else I have been too - and they seemed proud too. They would ask "how are you tonight", "are you enjoying your vacation", they seemed to like it when you responded in English rather than trying to speak spanish. They knew the more popular sentences - as we would in spanish to communicate is how I took it.

Overall - fantastic resort - they deserve a top notch review in my opinion.
patandkar@sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Could not have had better weather."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne from Toronto  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
250 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan. 17 to 24 2009
Each couple was greeted personally and taken to the check in counter. Great Service!

Rooms:
We were worried that our room was not going to be what we requested - we had phoned the hotel as our travel agent had booked a different room than what we had requested. Our room was spectacular- ocean view outdoor jacuzzi- lounge chairs- a nespresso maker that we loved so much I have already purchased one.

Restaurants and Bars:
We booked our reservations as soon as we arrived as well as a romantic dinner. We really enjoyed the Chateaubriand at the Steak House as well as our meal at Le Gourmet. The romantic dinner was a great way to spend our last evening there! Breakfast was always great, lots of personal choice cook stations. The room service breakfast was huge~ We spent the majority of our time at the swim up bar- fantastic staff there! and the upper lobby bar. There were lots of places to be in the action or have a romantic drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were spotless- the beach was beautiful but the pool was a definite highlight for us. We spent hours sipping our drinks and walking the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No tours- we did go to one show the Michael Jackson one- chairs were as comfotable as promised. We visited the Casino once, but preferred to be out in the night air.

Other Comments:
We had checked the weather forecast before we left and it was calling for rain all week. It only rained for about 2 minutes one afternoon. Could not have had better weather. Guest Services were very helpful with any questions we had. We enjoyed this vacation so much that our friends have just booked it for a week to celebrate their anniversary!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Majestic Colonial is a lovely resort."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara  on Feb 4, 2010  >  9 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
254 people found this review helpful

My husband and I enjoyed our second stay at this resort Jan 11 - 20, 2009. We stayed 16 nights at this resort in Jan 2008 also.

We used IBK Servicios for our transfer from Punta Cana Airport. The driver did not speak any english and he drove very fast but we arrived in one piece.

Upon arrival, Francisco gave us a room in Bldg 3 on the third floor which is what we had requested, however, we had asked for a room closer to the lobby as last year we were in room 3340 and found the Activity area by the pool very loud between 4 and 6 pm when we like to enjoy our balcony and the setting sun. He gave us room 3342 and I asked if he had anything closer to the lobby. It took about 15 minutes, but he was able to move us into room 3319, which was a better match for us.

We loved our room. Yes, the decor is a bit tired and could use some sprucing up. The linens are not of the best quality and the pillows are very bad. But the size and layout of the room is excellent. The balcony is also of a good size and has very comfortable furnishings. Our room had a leather sofa and a large coffee table. We love the bathroom area with double sinks and shelf under mirror for storage. Also, we make good use of the large amount of drawers in the room allowing us to unpack everything we brought. Our safe worked fine.

We did not have any welcoming fruit even though we were repeat guests, but perhaps that was because we asked for a room change last minute.. The air conditioning was adequate for us, although we do not use it much. We were given a bottle of champagne but did not open it.

Our maid service was excellent, we never had any facecloths but we just used a hand towel to wash our faces. The fridge had 2 Presidente's each day until I tipped $5 one day and then we got 4 Presidente's each day. We left a tip of $2 - 5.00 everyday. One day, my husband was sick, (hungover) and we didn't leave the room until about 1:30pm. As we were going out, I went and found our maid and explained he wasn't well and asked her to clean the room right away as I thought we might end up back there shortly, and she said yes no problem, and she cleaned it next even though it was out of her way. She was wonderful, I'm sorry I don't recall her name.

We did have the problem with the clock continually needing to be reset due to brownouts, but no big deal. We found the noise level for us for sleeping was much better this year. Last year, the hallways seemed much noisier in the evenings and we do go to bed early some nights.

My husband ordered flowers for me for our anniversary and although the arrangement was okay, it was not what he asked for and the flowers started to die with a couple of days. So that was a disappointment. I guess we should have gone for the larger more expensive arrangement.

The beach of course is amazing. We spent an equal amount of time laying on the beach or by the pool and both are great. I love the loungers on the beach. You can almost always find a palapas for shade at both also. The pool is fabulous. We swim quite a bit, but mostly in the pool and it is terrific. Bring a floatie and then leave it for the next guest. The crumbling cement around the pool deck though is a mess and I wish they would fix it. Also, I would like to have been offered a drink from a waitress at the pool at least once or twice a day. They do not seem to be busy at all, but its hard to get served. Denny on the beach on the other hand is always running and does a good job.

In the evenings we enjoy the music played by the dance area very much and wish more resorts would have this. The band plays from about 7 - 10pm and lots of people join here to listen or to dance. The entertainment staff also comes out and mingles and dances with the guests from about 830 - 10pm before the evening show starts at 10. We went to two shows, Michael Jackson and Rockstars, both are lip-synching shows done reasonably well. We went to the disco one night and stayed till about 12:30am and it was fun. (Thus the hangover)

Food- well, I felt the food quality had slipped a bit from a year ago. The buffet food was very monotonous. And this year much of it was cold or lukewarm at best. It was a huge disappointment as we quite enjoyed the buffet last year. The pasta is good, the desserts are fabulous. The fresh fruit is plentiful as are the breads and egg stations. Breakfast meats and potatoes were cold EVERY DAY. We enjoyed the chateaubriand very much at the steakhouse and also the Japanese restaurant was excellent. The gourmet restaurant was pretty good with the service being hit and miss. We ate there twice. We did not try the Mexican or Seafood restaurants. The Beach party was rained out. The service in the buffet is generally very good. The House red wine is bad in all of the restaurants. We purchased one bottle of wine for 22.00 in the gourmet restaurant which was fine.

The staff in the buffet are very friendly and enjoy visiting with their guests. They also were very good with bringing around the wine and usually the coffee in the morning.

The Majestic Colonial is a lovely resort, with an amazing lobby area, comfortable theatre, and fabulous layout of the property, but it is probably a four star at best. We will return there I'm sure, but we found there were a lot more children there this year and that was very disappointing, so we may try an adults only resort for next winter. I have some pictures on webshots.com under gemgirlbarbara if you would like to take a look.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The management needs to take a greater interest"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Feb 4, 2010  >  13 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
268 people found this review helpful

Trip Date: February 1st to February 7th 2009

Room #2149 (Ask for room 2150 if possible. The closest to the beach while being pool side)

Accommodation: The rooms are nice and very clean. The standard junior suite and Majestic junior suite share the same arrangement, except the majestic puts you pool side. Other differences between the two are that with the majestic you get:
A mickey of Brugal rum and a mickey of Johnnie Walker Red label. 6ounces per bottle. Room service included – Never tested though
A DVD player. ( Bring your own dvds for the rainy days, as none are available for rent…anywhere)
Located pool side with two lawn chairs (that is the main reason and best part of this accommodation upgrade.
The only problem with the room is that the business end of the washroom is separated by a 3 foot tall glass door.
Which is fine if you are an exhibitionist, but not very comfortable if you are used to washrooms with full height doors that you generally see in North America. My girlfriend and I sent each other outside when we needed the use the facilities. This is what the other guests were doing as well, we later found out.

Restaurants: There are supposedly 5 a la carte restaurants on this resort. The three main ones are the ‘Matsuri’ Japanese, ‘Le Gourmet’ French and the ‘Taina’ Traditional D.R. food. The two others ‘Las Carabellas’ and the ‘Rodeo Grill’ are actually situated in the Beech buffet area, which gets split in two. The 3 main restaurants are very mediocre. In fact, we preferred to eat at the main buffet, which at least had a large selection in case you weren’t happy with your food choices the first go around. The issue with the a la carte restaurants, is that it is abundantly clear, that you are very often eating leftovers from the Buffet. The two a la carte located at the beech buffet are horrible. I have been to the Caribbean 5 times and Cuba twice, and know what to expect. This was a new low. Nothing is made fresh or from scratch. The main buffets are good, but contain a LOT of American food. Pizza, pasta, lasagna, French fries, burgers etc. The breads and desserts are always excellent however. Breakfast at the main buffet was outstanding and huge.

Entertainment: The nightly entertainment was by far the weakest I have ever seen in the Caribbean. The shows consist mainly of clients entertaining clients. For example, there was the ‘Perfect Couple’ show, then there was the ‘Men vs. Women’ show, then there was the ‘Talent night’. All these shows are about pulling people up from the audience and basically asking them to do stupid stunts to get a laugh out of the audience. While I am used to a little of this from having visited other resorts, it usually only ever consists of the first or last 15 minutes of the nightly entertainment. There was however one night where they brought in a acrobatic troop, but they failed to install any lighting where they were setup, and they literally performed in the dark. Clearly a much larger budget and more organization needs to be put towards this aspect of the resort.

Nightlife/Bars: There are 2 lobby bars, 2 pool bars, 1 disco, 1 sports bar and 1 beech bar. Here’s the deal though. The beech bar and pool bars, are only open during the day. There is zero action there at night plus they close early, 10PM. Of the two lobby bars, the main one, is the best place to drink on the resort. It is very busy at night and you can find lots of tourist to chat with there. Plus that is generally where they place their best service staff. The sports bar, which would be awesome as a piano bar, is only open for 2 hours a day to play a movie on a big screen. Clearly for parents and their kids, but it is the biggest waste of a nice bar. The small lobby bar closes early as well. So basically you either drink at the lobby bar or at the disco when it opens at 11PM. The disco is cool. It’s just big enough and has the usually disco amenities. It is shared between the Colonial and the Elegance resort.

Service: The resort is listed as a five star resort. That is completely inaccurate. It is clearly a four star resort. We experienced the entire spectrum of service there. A good chunk of the staff outstanding and very friendly, while an equal amount were extremely uncaring and simply not friendly. This range of service levels, constitutes the greatest weakness of the resort and the area that needs the most work. The front desk managers, as well as the restaurant managers, seem to only point fingers and stand around. While some service, as I said, was outstanding, the ones that don’t seem to care, leave a very poor taste in your mouth.

Tipping: Gratuities are included, this is true. HOWEVER, if you don’t expect to tip at every meal, or the bartender, do not expect good service. It’s just that simple. You will also experience a lot of bartenders that seem to be very spoiled and used to big tips. After a very frank conversation with one guy who we came to like very much, he told us that he makes $300/mo. US. Salary and makes on average $700/week in gratuities. Not bad, even by Canadian standards. Keep that in mind if you get attitude when you tip a dollar.

Aquatic services: Here’s the skinny. The aquatic center is run by an independent company called ‘Marina Caribe’ if memory serve me well. They pay the resort rent to be able to sell scuba tours by the pool and also must provide the other services that are required of this type of resort. They provide the catamarans, windsurfing equipment, snorkeling gear and so on. The problem is, since this is just a pain in the ass service that they are forced to offer, you get treated as a pain in the ass customer there when asking for something that is free. To take out the catamaran, you must book 24hrs in advance, have experience, and leaving a blank signed credit card slip there. We went there and wanted to take out a catamaran, which were all available, but were refused because we didn’t book in advance. The guy was by far the rudest we ran into on the resort. After tearing a strip out of the guy, we were finally allowed to use it, but still had to let them have a signed blank credit card slip there. We did not go there again.

Sports and Golf: While I did not use much of the sporting facilities, I did use the gym. The gym is quite small, but adequate enough for a resort gym. I wouldn’t go there expecting to keep up your regular workout. It is enough to pass the time if you feel guilty about your extra trip to the dessert table. Golf is expensive down there. The costs are $145/round/person. $40 for rental clubs and $45 for any ride along passenger. I found this expensive so I did not partake.

Internet: Access to an internet computer is $5/30minutes. It is a one time use. Once you are logged out, you must purchase another 30minutes. Wireless is $3/30minutes. Lots of folks brought their laptops. I would suggest doing that if you intend to use the internet. It isn’t very fast though. Good luck finding the @ symbol.

Overview:
The hotel is quite large, over 500 rooms and is very clean. The grounds are nice and also well kept, perhaps not as lush as some other resorts I have visited. I wouldn’t return to this hotel mainly because of the service. The other aspects are what you expect from a Caribbean resort. However, the management needs to take greater interest in the service, entertainment and use the facilities to its full potential which is currently not the case.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would return to this resort."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mikedavid00  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
267 people found this review helpful

Ok wow I just got back from the Majestic and am going to give an impartial review and compare it to Grand Bahian Principe next door from time to time just for comparison. Man.. i have like 3 hours of high def video, and over 300 pictures.

Lets just get this out of the way: the Majestic is better. Way better in most things that are important to me that is. I went to GBH on my honeymoon and coulnd't wait to leave because I was getting so tired of eating poor food - hard, improperly cooked pasta, tough burgers, meat chewy like rubber and had to be spit out. Various meats had to be spit out on a daily basis.. even chicken sometimes. Rice that was hard, dry uncooked. For breakfast, scrambled egg that was simply uncooked and more liquid than solid. And most of all, i'm famous for complaining of no bacon. And when it was served the 2 times, it was cold and simply unedible. I can't have eggs, bacon, toast, etc. then what is the point of having breakfast? I dont want omlettes and last nights left over dinner foods. I decided to give the DR one more shot and get the best room and best hotel. I carefully researched and decided that the Majestic Colonial was the best of all that suited our needs. But we still didn't know what to expect.

So let's talk about Majestic.

Ticket Prices/Arrival/Departure Time:
2 people exactly $2999 - Swimup room right outside main pool area where games where. Dates from Jan. 23-29 Booked last September. Arrival at hotel on Friday 1:30pm, left hotel at 6:30 pm on Friday so got to enjoy 2 partial days. Last day fealt like a full day. Used Sunwing departing from Toronto. Flight delayed 1 hour on way back.

Guest Demographic:
The people were about:
85% Canadian
15% 'Other' (US, Russia, Spain, etc.)

The languages spoken around the resort where about 40% French believe it or not. The majority of the guests fealt at times they were all from Montreal (french Canadians). But it was probably about half of the Canadians. Then there's the odd Brit, Spaniard, Russian, etc. At the pool games the animator would say how many here from US? And like 2 people would clap. Then he said.. how man from CANADA! And you heard this big cheer. This is a large contrast to GBP where days would go buy and you would here no English being spoken at all from guests or staff.

Languages (staff)::
I realized this resort was under good management when I heard the impossible: staff... get this.. speaking FRENCH/ENGLISH to bend towards the common language around the resort. I instantly knew this was a very well managed resort.

Contrary to your own opinions, current reviews of any resort in the carribean shows that language is a huge problem for guests and guests will always want staff to bend to speak English to them, NOT the other way around. Keep in mind many are being dragged out for destination weddings etc. or don't like to travel. To think that resorts still have front desk people who speak no English at all is mind boggling.

We are paying the money to be there so we expect the effort to be made on their part to speak some English, not ours. Instead, amazingly, there are still common complaints at the GBH about staff refusing to speak English. I can't believe it's still that bad. At GBP I asked for 'towels' once from a maid and she had no idea what I asked for. 't-o-w-e-l-s' and just a blank stare. How could you not learn ONE simple word that you should know because it's your only job? I was too busy with my wedding and craziness to start learning another language. Come on seriously guys. The Spanish word for towel is very close. There's no excuses for that. I had to refer to my language book constantly for simple items they should already know how to say in English. Often the staff would lecture us on how to say somthing in Spanish when we used hand signals. I'm sorry. That is not the correct attitude to project onto guests spending a lot to be there for a very short time.

At Majestic, the maids will call them 'towels' and then say 'merci!!! Lol! I'm not kidding. Here is a common exchange:

Waitor: "Bonjour/Hello, How are you tonight/would you like some wine"
Guest: "Yes please"
Waitor: "Ok...(pouring wine)
Guest: "Thank you very much"
Waitor: "Your welcome"
Guest: gives tip for the effort and proffesionalism to make it a more comfortable experience for the guest

I would always say 'Gracias' and they would say 'Your welcome' just by habit so we actually switched back to saying 'thank you'.

The animation team spoke very good English and French. Yes French which still amazes me. The games were done in English mainly and important openings and announcements were duplicated in French and sometimes he would translate to Spanish if there was a Spaniard around.

The GBP staff was Spanish language only except some bar and front desk staff so we were lost the whole time and had no clue what was going on when onlooking games. Many would laugh and we wouldn't. The 30% of people not laughing were the large group of guests from Canada/US/Russia/Australia/England/Ireland/Germany that could't speak Spanish and probably won't return. Understanding the games that are going on and hearing the announcements, jokes in English is now a must for me and I will not attend another resort if the animation team does not do its games in English. You really do lose all the entertainment factor.

Chefs, cooks, bartenders, maids almost all spoke some English. I'll get to the chef's later actually. Another wise move with Majestic management.

The fact that the management make staff go through the simple task of speaking English and French common frases speaks volumes (no pun) about the management at the resort and the deep understanding of the hospitality business.

Resort/Lobby/Colonial vs. Elegance::
We got off our bus and got a bad fist impression. The building is showing some age and looking a bit tired. We were like 'oh no what did we get ourselves into'. There was staining parts of the drywall ceilings and a lousy looking coffee station compared to GBP.

The front bar daytime staff, unfortunately, should be replaced as much as I hate to say it. They have long faces, drag their feet, and their service is poor. They act like they don't want to be there. It's a very bad impression for the guests to get when first arriving and not representative of the rest of the resort. Again, this is only the morning/daytime staff at the upstairs lobby bar. Music was often not played, coffee/milk left unfilled, they were very forgetful, very slow, long faces. They need to be replaced by energetic people enthusiastic to be there even if they have to poach them from another resort and pay them more. Honestly it was a bad first imporession on the service. I whitnessed some guests arriving from Russia and being told 'no coffee, only water'. He then saw me drinking coffee and asked me where I got it from and I told him down at the outside terrace bar. She should have told him that. He had a bad first impression.

GBP outshines Majestic by leaps and bounds when it comes to non-resturaunt table service and lobby bar. Majestic throughout its resort decided to cut costs on table service it seems which is a wise move becuase they put those rescources into food services.. more on that later.

The Colonial portion of the resort is larger than the Elegance. Just look at any helecopter picture of both resorts and it's easy to see. The beach is also much larger and 'deeper' so there's more sand and palapas. The gap between buildings is much larger in the Colonial. The Elegance lobby actually looks very similar to the Colonial. Even the same chairs and sofa's. The Elegance seemed more 'dead' and unlively.

Our room was a swim up room and all we had to do was look out the window for action or other happenings. We did get red ants when leaving food out over night. This did not happen at GBP when we left food out. No cocroaches wandering in either. No spiders. We did put a towel under our door this time though after we had that horrid cochroach experience at GBP where it was in the bathtub while my wife was getting out of the shower. It was so large we didn't know how to kill it.

Overall 'Vibe'::
Basically laid back with some fun 'here and there'.

The pool is not crazy and music is not super loud all day. The animators come once at 10am, then again at 4pm to do a game and then arobics. The animators also have to reherse for the night shows in between and will be working 14 hour days. The arrobics are pretty advanced and intense. They should ease it down a bit for people who are sedentary and want to join in.

Also there should be some more dancing lessons as in latin style 'line dancing'. Less intrusive and easy. The beach has some fun with the animators doing arobics and dancing lessons on the beach but no games. The music is also not played throught the day on the beach which is a shame. The people are a mix betweened laid back and light fun.

Lots of wedding party groups so they had more fun. GBP was completely laid back and you would rarely here people talking on the beach. Majestic at night the crowd was.. well.. just converstaing and sticking to their wedding parties. No craziness or anything like that. Not the vibe at this resort altough there were people having 'fun'. The GBP was even more calm with everyone speaking softly and not drawing attention to themselves. I never saw a wedding there the whole week. The Majestic there was like 2 weddings a day and bride walking on beach taking pics. Great entertainment.

Cost Cutting::
All resorts need to cost cut somewhere. Imagine a pie chart that you have to work with and if you incraese one portion, you have to take away another. This is the reality of business and mangement has to decide it's priorities and strategies to work with the pie chart. GBP put it's eggs into more 'bodies' serving and doing room service. Majestic put its eggs into food prep.

GBP, you would leave a door card to clean room, goto the beach, come back, room cleaned. Maids *everywhere*. You would be in the lobby area, put down your drink, and get visited by a server asking if you liked more... since the option was there, the guests often said yes to drinks they didn't want. And I'm not always talking about alchohol.. could be tea, expresso, anything. The server would fetch it, and we would finish half, and then the rest was wasted. Costly to the resort to hire her and us having drinks we didn't really want.

I know it sounds bad but you have to draw the line somewhere. If I put a hot slice of pizza in your face and ask you if you want it, you'll probably say yes. But do you really want it? Probably not or you would be ordering one right now. It's too costly to the resort to serve drinks that aren't 'wanted' or to clean rooms that aren't 'needed' to be cleaned.

At Majestic, it was obvious that wait staff is instructed to come out once an hour. They (meaning 1 person per area) would dissapear for an hour, do a round, fetch the drinks, then dissapear for another hour. Very bad move from management. I see the logic, but it's not a good idea.

People who want drinks can get them themselves and will not be bitter about it. I whitnessed a server who works by the pool come over to us (about 15 steps from the bar) and ask poeople in our area if we would like a drink. We all said.. ..umm.. yeah sure. And I got a diet coke, dude beside me got a rum and coke. We only said yes becuase we were amazed that she finally came around.

Each drink was lost revenue for the resort. We got drinks that we weren't craving or really needed. Same thing with the lobby area. The server comes out once an hour and does not ask you if you would like more when they clean your table. Very wise management cost saving move. If I want a drink, I'll want it enough to walk over 10 meters.

As guests, we all feel where the cost cutting is coming from. At the Majestic, it was definatly 'bodies' as far as room service and non resturaunt table service. At GBP it was hands down the food where they were cutting costs.. using every trick in the book to cheap out on low quality food prep and meats. Seeming to purposely make bad scrambled eggs to people wouldn't eat them. Creating long lines for the omlettes so people would give up and just have dinner left overs. Trying every trick to illogically place or even hide the expensive foods. Hiring chefs that seem to be street pesants looking similar to the people manacuring the gardens. This was GBP's game.

We never got towel art once at Majestic and that was more than fine with us. We got really odd hours of room cleaning but if that means keeping my ticket price low than so be it. The room got clean when it needed to be. The staff was stretched thin, but worked longer hours.

A resort cannot hire loads and loads of staff and managers to fix all the problems. That would result in higer ticket prices for all of us. You can't have that amount of staff then expect trained chefs and sushi platters nightly. You can't have both without the ticket prices running them out of business. With the amount of competition, ticket prices need to stay as low as possible or bookings will slow down and they will get in the red.

(I understand this happenning in Jamaica at one Sandles where they actually had to lay off many staff due to decreased bookings. I suggest Sandles rethink their $6200 CAN for 7 night. per couple ticket pricing if they want to survive and take up some cost cutting practices like they do in the DR. People don't need a conceirge to book a dinner or reserve a palapa for them! Lol.. even the reviews said they weren't needed and people didn't really use them)

Food::
The Majestic seemed to place their money on food services which is the right thing to do. The meats the resorts purchased are of a high grade (unlike GBP). Everything is cooked properly including the bacon and scrambled eggs. Bacon was nice and soft as it should be. Steak was very good. Hamburgers grilled and meat soft and nice: not rubber and hard with a gamie flavor. Just read any review and you'll see.

At GBP we whitnessed a couple send back their steak, leave, and my wife simply could not chew hers so it went in the garbage. Low quality meats and lack of cooking skills were the issue at GBP. No care went into food prep. Also tap water seemed to have been used in their cooking as I'm still reading reviews of people complaining about travellers diahreah.

At Majestic my wife didn't even take immodium once. Me only 3 times and had diareah only once (because of my over eating I think.. not the same thing we had at GBP). The tap water creates water born diahreah pretty much. It seems the food prep staff really took care not to make their guests sick and used filtered water.

The buffet at Majestic simply blew away GBP and so did the a la carts. The a la carts were never full. Simply walk in, sit down, and you will be served within 10 mintues. The staff is not streatched thin when it comes to the a-la carts. I read on another review that the hotel manager (a Spaniard) tasted a wine and ordered it to be thrown out and not served. He's obviously a foodie.

The food was really good. Not amazing, but just good to really good. We are at home right now wishing we could eat the food at Majestic. This is a HUGE contrast to our last days at GBP wanting to go home so we can eat some real food.

The main buffet had food there that was so good almost everything was yummy and worth eating. No having to search for the 1 or two good items. The japanese resturaunt had a sushi platter where you can just walk in, get the sushi, eat it, then leave for the buffet. No reservations needed.

Chicken was tender, beef was too. Potatoes were cooked properly. Fries were good. Rice was soft and cooked properly. Lasagnia tasted good. Stuff was deep fried properly. Pizza tasted good. Pasta was soft and boiled properly. Egg plant was good. I can go on and on. No cost cutting in this department. Then I realized why so many people book their weddings here - the food services, catoring, and chefs.

There's not much point going into reviewing a la cartes because they were all no reservation and food was on your table in 10 min. All the food was 'good' or better. Just go elsewhere if you dont like it. At GBP it was a joke and the dinners were honestly for laughs and something to do. Much of the time leaving 2/3rds the plate for the garbage and heading to the buffet.

(Note that Majestic had lettuce. Yes.. simple iceberg lettuce to make a salad with. GBP had no lettuce, yet strangly, all the bowls of toppings for a salad on display making it look like ther was a lot of food and a big salad section. And suprise suprise, no one ate it! What am I going to do with olives, green pepper, crutons, and all these other salad topings when there is NO LETTUCE? Ah yes.. it's done on purpose to you wont eat that food and use the dressings. All those topings are for filler display and then used the next day for dinner dishes. This is just one of the many, many tricks they used at GBP and man they don't realize that you should never cost cut in food services. Big, big mistake on their part. Majestic has their priorities straight and understand between where to cost cut and where not to)

Beach:
The beach at GBP was better. More deeper water, no rock, more palapas, more deep, more sand, better looking guests, easier to find a palapa, more nudity. Just an overall better experience in probably every way.

The Majestic Colonial beach was better when compared to the Elegance and the other neighbouring resorts. Palapa's were usually full and should be reserved before 9am. 7:30am and you will be one of the first ones there.

Colonial did have a beach waitress and the GBP did not. Great for impulse drinks I really didn't need . Maria came so seldom that when I wanted a drink I got one myself. When she did come and ask, well.. I used her services because it was right there. I gave her a tip to see if she would come more and she didn't. Oh well..

I'd much rather they do away with beach service if it isn't going to be done properly and put those recources into something else (like someone in the kitchen who manicures and peels the prawns and clams: they mostly end up in the garbage so I dont know why they continuasely put that in their seafood dishes. People end up not eating or trying the best tasting dishes. Such a waste of money and good meat. Poeple don't want hard shells, eyeballs and wiskers in their food. It always ended up in the trash or left over on peoples plate. The staff must notice this and should remidy that one problem becuase it's money down the drain and also gives people something to complain about when the pool/beach service is very slow and the food doesn't look appetising.

Rooms:
We had the swim up room looking out to the main pool area. I didn't like how cramped the toilet was when closing the door. We had the red ants if food was left out over night and a weird misquito problem. I only got 5-6 bites the whole time so I wouldn't consider that even a problem. Twice at GBP I got bites. Go read about Cuba and people being eaten alive with the strongest misquito repelant and you'll be glad they spray for bugs in the DR. Air conditioning stayed on all the time unless there was a brown out. The air worked faily well.

Maintanance Problems:
During our week we saw a lot of differnet things break down:

-An ice machine
-2 elevators
-Electricity in the beach bathrooms
-Keycards malfunctioning
-Other small things.

Naturally things are slow to get fixed and I feel sorry for the cost and management burden this must have on the hotel manager. A light in my shower was dangling down from a bare wire but I wasn't about to bother anyone with it because it wasn't a big issue for me. Keycards seem to need to be reprogramed. Ours twice and another guy came up having the same problem on a seperate day. These constant repairs are going to be costly on the resort. Plus all the money they owe the bank for the Elegance.

In closing::
I would return to this resort. If the prices are too high (as they are right now) then I will try Mexico or Jamaica.

They really need to focus on being the #1 rated resort and keeping prices LOWER than they currently are if they want to have more bookings and stay in the green. They have set the bar so high and are doing everything right. It's hard to cost cut already but there is room for improvement:

-Replace the morning/daytime lobby staff immediately.

-Keep the main loby bar open 24 hours serving coffee/snacks 24 hours. Very cheap, yet goes a long, long way in reviews and customer satisfaction. Better first impression for guests that arrive all times of the night/morning and would like a coffee or softdrink or sandwich.

-Stop the waited service by pool and beach becuase it's not being done properly and re-allocate those recources to the new 24 hour lobby bar. You're only giving people ammunition to say the service was really slow and you'll save money with less drinks being served that people weren't going to order anyway.

-Start an environmentally friendly cleaning selection service so people can choose 'bed only'/towels only/ etc. etc.. They are starting to do this in major hotel chains and it's working. You can turn down your room being cleaned. Many people don't want anyone in their room and will let their towels dry natrually. Give them that option and your maid staff will be cleaning less rooms so there isn't a partial job being done (as was the case with me never getting my towel art and 2 days not getting the room cleaned at all). It didn't bother me, but your just giving other people ammo to complain about poor service. I was never given the option not to have my room cleaned. I was at GBP and we got our room cleaned once only and just asked for towels when we needed them changed.

Well that's my review and opinion. Please feel free to ask me any questions about the resort or anything else - mikedavid00 on the Dominican forum..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I found the service to be impressive."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Robyn from Hamilton, On  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
246 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 24 - 31
We made our third trip to the Majestic Jan 24-31. We brought hubby's mother with us, and knew she would love the Majestic. We found out only hours before departure that our flight was delayed by almost 8 hours and were not happy campers. Were supposed to depart at 6:05 am, be on the beach by noonish :), but that didn't happen. Oh well, we got a full night's sleep and headed out to the airport. As it turned out, our problems were minor compared to others who got caught up in Skyservices' problems that week.
I had arranged transportation with IBK Servicios even though shuttle was included in our package. How nice to avoid the line up of people, the waiting, and the stopping at resort to resort. So, everything started out nicely. We arrived at dusk. Since we beat the rush to the resort, we arrived to an almost empty lobby...how lovely. We were greeted with their signature Majestic slushy on our way to the front desk. No problems at check-in. Staff very pleasant and friendly. What a beautiful lobby, and then the walk down the stairs to the lower lobby and the view of the resort. The resort was lit up beautifully, and looked so elegant...

Rooms:
The reason we originally came to the Majestic the first time in 2006 was because of the newness and size of the resort, and the rooms. I wanted a large room, nicely appointed, and wasn't dissapointed. I won't go into the room descriptions, that has been covered so much in the reviews, and all the junior suites are the same inside. We were both in building 2, closer to the beach...rooms 2348 and 2234. Room 2234 had a minor musty smell, 2348 did not. Our maid and mini-bar man came every morning while we were at breakfast, and did a wonderful job every day. Different towel art every day. Left a note in spanish for the mini-bar man requesting a lot of some things, and none of another, and every day after that it was stocked exactly how we wanted it.

Restaurants and Bars::
I gained five pounds that week, so yeah, the food was good.

I find that there are a lot of food choices at the buffet. Some people complain that it's the same boring thing every day. I did not find that at all. When there is so much to begin with, what else can be added? Yes, there was fish every day, but a different type of fish. Potatoes every day, but cooked differently every day…you get the picture. You could always find something being cooked fresh, whether it be at breakfast, lunch or dinner. I looked forward to my surprise of the day' for lunch and dinner at the buffet. Depending on our mood, lunch was either at the beach or the main buffet. The service in the buffet was excellent, our glasses were never empty.
Went to the Steakhouse 3 times for dinner - sirloin is a fav. Le Gourmet was very good. Be prepared for a drawn out dinner. Our 4 courses took about 1 1/2 hours. Tepinaki was also good, and a lot of fun.
The beach party was fun. One tip...don't eat dinner before you go. Save your appetite. So much food there that I didn't even try because I was too full.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
I could pretty well cut and paste what everyone else says about the beach and pool, so I won't go there. They are both awesome and plenty of loungers to go around. Because the pool is so long, you never felt crowded. If you're out shortly after breakfast, there was no problem getting under a palapa. Our biggest decision every day was whether to go to the pool or the beach. The grounds have grown in so much in 3 years. Just beautiful. Always being worked on.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We went to the meet and greet on Wednesday at Steve's Bar. Dropped off some school supplies and finally met Wud and the 2 Mikes, but didn't stay too long. Drinks are good, and cold. If you go, make sure the cabby drops you off DIRECTLY in front of Steve's if you don't want to get 'attacked' by the vendors nearby.
Hubby and I played one round of golf at Punta Blanca golf course. Nice course. Expensive, but we were expecting that. One round of golf each, rental clubs, and one golf glove....$390 U.S.

Other Comments::
I found the service to be impressive, whether it be at the front desk, bars, restaurants, housekeeping, and of course guest services.

We'll be back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort is gorgeous."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy from Oakville, ON  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
254 people found this review helpful

We have been back just over 3 weeks from the Majestic (would go back in a heartbeat) and were married Jan 27/09. We had a great time!!!! The resort is gorgeous. We were given one of the swim up rooms 3 up from the beach, had no complaints. I agree with others will absolutely NOT regret your decision to marry there!!! I had faith in my travel agent and she didn't steer me wrong. This group was also a lifesaver as it answered little things that I hadn't really thought of.

The food at the buffet and the restaurants were very good. For the restaurants you don't have to make any reservations, except for the Le Gourmet and the Tepanyaki cooking at the Japanese restaurant. The Tepanyaki cooking didn't have much flare at all, but the food was pretty good. Room service was included as part of the wedding package but we didn't use it. There was a bottle of champagne, cheese tray and fruit tray in our room when we arrived and a little cake arrived mid way through the week. There was even a banner on our door that said Honeymooners. My sister was celebrating their 1 year anniversary and they had a banner for that too.

The beach was beautiful........as far as the eye could see. We did go snorkeling on the beach and there were a few fish. Some of the group went on a snorkeling tour with the stingrays and sharks and enjoyed every moment. My now husband also did the Dune Buggy trip which he enjoyed but they do take you to a beach were there are locals trying to get you to buy things, if you go offer 30% of what they are asking. He did get some nice necklaces for me.

When I checked in I was told to come back to the lobby the next day (Sunday) to arrange my meeting with Sandra, when I did I was told it was her day off, no problems though as I wasn't getting married until Tuesday. My Mom and I met with her on Monday morning and she had a sheet of paper with all the things we had discussed via email on it. To note if you have agreed to prices or were told you qualified for the free wedding bring the emails with you in case they tell you otherwise then. I had brought my emails but didn't need them, the only thing that was going to be an up charge was my bouquet The meeting took less than 20 minutes, during which time we discussed the, choice of salad for our meal, and music. honestly, it was SO easy!!!!

I gave her the CD with my music on it and she suggested we do the first dance in the gazebo after the ceremony which was perfect as I didn't now when or where I was going to do it. The songs were all labeled on one CD. She then confirmed the time the flowers and photographer would show up at my room and the reception dinner. Sandra is very sweet and easy to work with. By the afternoon before the wedding the charges were on my room and paid for, no surprises.

The wedding day.......although it started out raining was absolutely perfect. By 2pm everything was dry and there wasn't a cloud in the sky. Nobody should have any worries about getting married here. I had originally wanted white lilies and purple orchids as my bouquet but at 1pm the day of the wedding Sandra called to say the florist didn't want to use them as they weren't very nice looking, so they changed it up some. I thought it was very nice that they called first. What I got was absolutely gorgeous, because of the heat by the end of the night they were starting to wilt but lasted till then.. Our wedding was at the gazebo at 2pm. They decorate it beautifully, which rose petals all down the isle and beautiful flowers and music playing. It was very intimate so everyone could see and hear perfectly As the gazebo is off the beaten path there were no sunbathers in our photos, a few people stopped to watch when they passed but we didn't really notice them. I had supplied fans/bubbles and jelly beans for my guests. Even the staff that was playing the music got into it. After the ceremony we had our champagne toast, they even had a fruity drink for the kids in champagne glasses. Then the first dances, it was the perfect location to have them.

We had gone with the resort photographer, KIKO, highly recommend him, he had a few spots and poses already picked out but was open to any photos that we wanted taken, as it was very sunny he was very good at capturing me without my eyes closed. The photos were ready to be viewed the next morning at 11am, I purchased the silver package which came with 100 photos and could have purchased the rest on CD but didn't as many of my group had cameras as well. I wasn't pressured into buying more just given the option which I though was really nice. They were ready Thursday (wedding was Tuesday) at 11am, I got 2 sets of 100 photos (6*8), 10 photos (10*12I think), one CD of the negatives and a DVD of the photos to music. The package didn't say the photographer would be at the reception but he was and took the cake shots and a photo of each of couples with us, very nice to have.

We had our supper at the Steak House and the food was great. I had gone with the Chateaubriand based on reviews from facebook and was not disappointed. We had one long table in the corner that was perfect, I didn't even notice anyone else dining, speeches were okay as well. The cake was awesome!!! We got the chocolate cake with the banana filling as the bottom layer and white cake with the strawberry filling as the top layer. They make THE best chocolate cake!!!

All in all, the day was one I'll never forget. It was prefect and I wouldn't change a thing. We had a small group, but everyone had a wonderful time and enjoyed the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were treated royally from the moment we arrived in the lobby."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tropiclady  on Feb 4, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
219 people found this review helpful

Loved the Majestic Colonial!

We stayed at the Majestic Colonial from March 12 - 19/09. This is a wonderful hotel and I would highly recommend. We were treated royally from the moment we arrived in the Lobby. We were met by one of the Porters steered to the lobby for check in and presented with their specialty Majestic Drink. This is very good and even better with Brugal Rum. We enjoyed several over our stay.

I am going to refrain from mentioning staff names for various reasons. Please be reassured that the staff was all wonderful and very helpful and I will elaborate later in the review.

Check In:
We were greeted by a wonderful fellow and once we said our names, he mentioned and knew that I had contacted Guest Relations and that I frequented Tripadvisor. The lady from guest relations was away on holidays but made sure everything was set up for our stay. I had made a few reasonable requests and all were granted. Once we received our room keys, wristbands, passport to the MC and beach towel cards we were steered to guest relations where we made our reservations for Le Gourmet and the Teppanyaki side of Matsuri the Japanese restaurant. Once this was done we were off to our room to settle in before venturing out to enjoy the Magic of the MC.

Room:
I had requested Bldg 2 or 3 with a view of the pool and that is exactly what we received. We were in Bldg 2 and room #2217 with a great view of the pool. The room was beautiful and we were greeted with beautiful Towel Art. This towel art was gorgeous and in the design of beautiful Heart Shaped Swans decorated with fresh Hibiscus flowers. There was also fresh flowers all over other areas of the room. We were also greeted with a chilled bottle of Champagne and a fresh fruit and cheese tray. This was wonderful after a long flight and the fruit was still cold. They must have their timing down to a science. We had a King size bed, a Jacuzzi tub and we loved the walk in shower. We always had lots of hot water. The open concept of the bathrooms did not bother us in the least as we have been married for many, many years. The mini bar was well stocked and replenished daily. Our safe worked great and never had a problem with it. Bathrobes and slippers were provided in the closet and we did use the robes during our stay. The room had two phones one at the nightstand and one in the bathroom. The TV was great and the hubby was quite happy with the sports channel as he could get the hockey scores. We loved the patio and spent time out there every day. There was no musty smell in our room, not that we noticed anyway. There was also a bottle of rum and whisky in our room upon arrival.

Okay, the downside of the room. The pillows are either too flat or too large and lumpy. I am not sure how else to explain. The bed was very uncomfortable and really, really firm. I do think it is time for some updated mattresses and pillows. We also on a couple of occasions thought that the bed felt damp. I also read someone else mention this on another review. I am not sure if the humidity causes this or maybe the Air Conditioning or even damp sheets placed on the bed. If someone can explain please send me a PM. Our AC never shut off the whole time not even when we opened the patio door and we did not figure out how to shut off or adjust. The maid was great and the room always cleaned well, I however did have to chase her down a few times for bath towels.

Beach/Pool:
We love both the beach and the pool at this resort and spent plenty of time at both. This is the nicest resort pool that I have ever seen as it runs the length of the resort. There is plenty of palapas at both the beach and pool. We enjoyed walking the beach several times. We only played the towel game on our last day as we wanted a certain spot at the pool for a few hours. We probably spent more time at the beach than the pool and were usually down there at around 9:30. There was only one day where we did not get the area that we wanted. I would say that prime spots both at the pool and the beach are usually gone by around 8 but someone’s perception of a prime spot can be different from someone else’s as we prefer the quieter areas and these were usually available for us.

Restaurants:
Our favourite restaurant will have to be the Beach Restaurant whether it was lunch or evening. We ate lunch here every day and just loved the sandwich bar. The chef got to know me well. We ate at the seafood restaurant twice which is 1/2 of the restaurant in the evening and at the Rodeo Grill once. We just loved the atmosphere, staff and food here. I would have to say that our favourite meal was at Le Gourmet though. When it was over my husband said “Wow”. We ate breakfast at the buffet every morning and we both loved their French toast and omelettes. There was champagne every morning to add to your fresh juice if you desired. I don’t see how anyone could go hungry and not find something to their liking. We only ate dinner at the buffet once and there was plenty of items to choose from. The Teppanyaki section in Matsuri was decent as well as the show but hubby thought that they used too much soya sauce. I liked the rice and the chicken the best. They do move you along pretty fast though as I believe they have reservations scheduled about every hour. We did not eat at the other side of Matsuri and did not make it to the Mexican restaurant. We ate dinner on the beach at beach party night. This was a lot of fun and a nice way to end our last night.

Theatre:
We did catch a couple of shows and enjoyed the Michael Jackson show and laughed our heads off at the Ideal couple show but I would not have wanted to be one of the couples participating. We also saw the Tropical show which is mainly just dancing and as much as I like the dancing I found it to be a bit boring and they could easily spruce this act up with a theme or good story line.

Spa:
We did not visit the spa but we enjoyed a massage in the beach hut. They were wonderful!

Staff:
The staff in all areas of this resort are wonderful and like most people we had our favorites. They all work very hard and many go out of there way to make your stay enjoyable either with a hug, a high five or a short chat when they had the time. We would run into a few of them going from one place to another and they always stopped to talk for a minute.

Other:
The Grounds are beautiful and well kept.

The plaza bar is a hopping place in the evening until 10 and the band is terrific. The band also performed at the beach party and we really enjoyed.

I am a huge white wine drinker and was not impressed by the house white wine and felt that this area could certainly be improved on. We did not try the red.

We were surprised a few times by a knock at our door around 6 – 6:30. We were delivered wine and sushi the one night. We really enjoyed this on our patio before going out for dinner; it was a really nice touch and helped make our visit special. The next night we received wine and chocolate covered grapes. They were excellent! We also had to turn smoked salmon and wine away one night as we were headed to Le Gourmet right away for dinner. We really appreciated this special touch and it helped to make our stay magical.

I would strongly recommend this resort and give it a 4.5. We certainly hope to return. I would be happy to answer any questions, just send me a PM.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube