Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"Worst Vacation Ever - broken promises and a waste of money"
Posted by: Emily  on Dec 28, 2013
see all reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#8
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 48 reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Information


Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Beach Resort, Golf, Casino and Spa is a brand new spectacular 5 star resort that will mark the beginning of a new era by combining luxury rooms with the all-inclusive formula at the highest level.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.1 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  24
Average
  6
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (24)
Wedding (5)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
With friend (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
11 - 20 of 48

"A Life Time Experience"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Apr 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
723 people found this review helpful

Our family had the best trip of our life time at the Majestic Colonial! What made it so special were the hard workers who work day and night to please vacationers. Not only were they hard working, but enthusiastic, caring and so happy to have a job. The Animation Team was exceptional in entertaining our family at the pool, ocean, or disco. We lausghed the entire vacation and they made it one to remember. Thank you to Esteban Pochuba and Claudio, whom we called Mario after Mario Lopez. Our family shed tears saying good bye to their kind hearts. We were also pleased with the one on one attention at the work out facility. It was a lifetime experience for our family! We were able to go back to work feeling energized. We pocketed not only the sunshine of their happiness, but what we learned from the hard work ethics and to keep life fun. We hope to see them again next year! It's what keeps us wanting to go back!

Room Number:
3409

Room Block:
middle section

Rooms:
Neatly kept and spacious!

Restaurants and Bars:
Exceptional and conforming to all varieties.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful and breathtaking!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We snorkled off the resort, but booked through the resort was a great experience for our family. We also enjoyed the boat taxi to the destination. This offered a great way to see the other parts of Punta Cana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"March Break with family and friends"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rene  on Mar 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
813 people found this review helpful

I've used Debbies Website in the past years to plan 3 trip down south and they all turned out great.
This time, I joined a group of 12 for the week of march break (Canada) so I feel I should write something down for our group.

I won't describ the resort as you can read below, everything about this place is ''Majestic''. The 4.5/5 start is bang on.

After a week of learning the place, here are our tips and observations for you :

Breakfast at the main buffet restaurant is excellent, try the crepes. For those who wake up later, Breakfast is served at the restaurant near the beach after 10am.

After breakfast, do a quick detour to the lobby to make reservations at the A la Carte Restaurants. There is no limit; we ate 5 dinners à la carte and tried the buffet on the last night. Keep the Mexican as a last option.

There is a good number of chairs on the breach for the number of rooms. Placing towels on a group of chairs before breakfast assured our group the same spot for the week. The beach is deep, with half of it in the shade and half out in the sun. this is not the case next door at other resorts.

Waiters start taking orders on the beach from 10am. $1 tip each run will make them come back all day :) If they don't come, the bar is not far away.

Lunch by the beach is perfect. Later in the week we found out that the lunch buffet was Amasing !

You will not find a volley ball around the net, chase down the animation team to give you one. For the beach or the pool.

Water sports were all there and free.
My favorite was the Catamaran. Reserve one day in advance. Went 5 times, wonderfull waters. You will need some kind of experience to get around to the front of the beach because you need to zigzag upwind between the breach and the reefs.
We also tried the Banana boat for 6 people @ 12$ each. It was fun but not fast like the tubes.
Wakeboard @ 25$ for 10 minutes. Waterski is also available.
Parasailling @ 85 per couple. Look for low times on the boat, as they will keep you longer in the air.

We would move to the pool around 4pm to catch the afternoon animation.Games, competitons, Water aerobix, Live DJ, dancing and a final tanning for the day.
Winners get a bottle of Brugal Rum at the night show.

Back to the room, you have water, soft drinks and 2 beers. If you leave 1-2$ with a note : 4 cervezas por favor. you will get them.

We noticed that early A la carte dinners were rushed. We were served food faster than we could eat. Later dinners, if you can wait till around 7:30pm, the staff became more...alot more relaxed and gives a excellent service.
I don't blame them, they run those restaurants at a 110% production and it still comes out tasting great, but service suffers a little.

After supper cigars are good, but way too expensive on the

Other Comments:
Anything you want to buy, start by cutting the price they give you by 4 - then you start negociating.

One night in the week, you will get vendors set up tables on the resort. Don't go early, They will all jump at you with all the best sales lines, but high prices.

Don't feel bad of buying goods at a low price, these merchants have money. This tourist town of Punta Cana Bavaro is rich. The people you might want to give to are the grounds keepers, maids, and staff. They mostly all come from Higuey and stay for shifts of 20 something days before going home.

Disco-club shared by Colonial and Elegance resorts makes for an interesting night. There is night clubs in town, one in a cave.... but we didn't venture out.

Enjoy your week.



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First Trip to Dominican Republic"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
706 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic, and after reading numerous reviews, we chose the Majestic Colonial. We arrived at the hotel via a private car service and proceeded to the Check-In Desk. We have reserved a Colonial Jr. Suite Ocean Front room, but that room was unavailable when we arrived. We were upgraded to a 1-Bedroom Suite, which is located on the 4th level and has a view of the grounds and the pool. Although it wasn’t want we reserved, the room was nice and spacious. Although the resort does provide some amenities, you may want to bring the basics like wash cloths and shower products.

There were several restaurants at the resort, and I can recommend the Steak restaurant and the Japanese restaurant (this one requires reservations, so make then shortly after your arrival). The downstairs lobby bar was a great place to hang out before dinner and I would highly recommend ordering “The Majestic”! We also brought our own insulated mugs, and the bartenders were always happy to wash them out before refilling them.

Overall not knowing Spanish didn’t hurt us, however, we encountered a few staff members struggled with basic English. The grounds workers cut down 3 or 4 coconuts for us and carved them up so we could drink the fresh coconut water. We tipped them a few bucks for their service.

The beach was beautiful and the resort pool is very nice. Be prepared to save your seats early, as they tend to fill up by 10 a.m. Overall we had a great experience at the Majestic Colonial and enjoyed our first trip to the Dominican.

Room Number:
3406

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Classy Resort."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Mar 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
697 people found this review helpful

We have been to the Dominican Republic six times in the past, and this resort easily surpassed the other resorts we have stayed at. Our normal budget is around $2400 but this time we upgraded and paid $2850 a couple to travel at the end of January. Well worth the extra money and then some!

Check in was fast and efficient with our group of six being placed in building 4. The only thing I would change about our room placement was to be moved to the second or third floor. People walking by our room during the night could tend to be loud. After the second night, we turned on the air conditioning and the noise dissipated quickly.

Everything is in close proximity, it takes not longer than 7-8 minutes to get from the front desk to the beach.

The grounds and the beach were amazing! Very well kept. Because the resort is on a small point, the beach is much wider and there is tons of room for everyone. (walk down the beach to the Bahia and the Riu and see how packed in they are.....what a difference.)The beach chairs are also high quality compared to other resorts we saw and have stayed at.

Snorkeling is excellent just to the left of the resort....bring out some hard rolls from the buffet and you will have dozens of yellow tail jacks around you in seconds.

Walk down the beach to the Hard Rock Casino Resort (5 minutes) and look for the large breakers.....amazing body surfing area!

The rooms were beautiful with a leather couch, king sized bed, jacuzzi, separate shower and toilet with a large double sink area. They were kept very clean and we received fresh flowers daily. The staff are very friendly even if they don't speak English.

The food is very very good. The Japanese restaurant was fun and the spicy shrimp were excellent. The steak and seafood restaurants on the beach were top notch. We asked for lobster and our waiter asked' "How many would you like?" They were small, but very tasty and my friend and I ate 4 of them while our wives ate grouper. Very, very good!

Lunches at the beach restaurant were awesome with real hamburgers that tasted just like home (Harveys, Licks in Canada). The paninni grill was manned by a guy named Alex. HUGE Blue Jay fan and a great guy,, always happy and smiling!

Our favorite place to gather for a quiet drink before supper was the piano bar in the main lobby. Daniel was our classy bartender and was a true gentleman.

Watched the Super Bowl in a covered outdoor area with 300 other people. Great fun watching the Steelers get beat and watching the Americans from Pittsburgh cry in their beers.

We could not have been happier with our vacation.

Relaxing, classy, pampered, awesome are some words that come to mind!

Room Number:
4112

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had an excellent time at this resort"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
619 people found this review helpful

We had a very nice vacation at this resort

Arrival:
Late arrival, 2:30 am. Fairly speedy check in

Rooms:
Excellent

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent, very friendly and prompt service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good

Other Comments:
this was our 3rd trip to the Dominican, and this was a very nice place to stay. Would definately return again. People were very friendly. For sure a 5 star resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  larry.visneskie@sympatico.ca  on Feb 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
445 people found this review helpful

amazing resort - nicest pool in punta cana - animation team the best i have ever seen - our family adopted Estaban - he is amazing - works so many hours and still has a smile on his face - this will bring us back to majestic colonial next year - dont miss the michael jackson show

Room Block:
buildin g 2

Arrival:
smooth check in - received the exact rooms that we had requested again

Rooms:
spacious, welcome bottle of champagne, always cleaned first think in the morning- beautiful balcony with view

Restaurants and Bars:
loved the buffet, japanese, gourmet went to gala night at the buffet have never seen so much variety of food

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
loved the ocean really wide beach - pool the whole lenght of the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
animation team at the pool was incredible - really made our stay with our family one of the best vacations we had ever taken - Estaban kept up entertained in the pool, while Santa took care of your drinks and Vickianna was our adopted daughter love these people
management really needs to reward them for all their hard work!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Hotel! Would recommend to anyone of any age!"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jess  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | With friend
445 people found this review helpful

The hotel was very nice. The lobby is huge and has plenty of room for plenty of people. The grounds are pretty and kept up. Very easy to navigate around. Resort offers plenty to do for anyone. Beach games, dance floor at night, family activities, spa etc. Everyone is really nice. Customer Service was the best. They aim to please. Many can speak English but some cant. Learn the basic spanish to survive.

Room Number:
1245

Arrival:
The arrival was good. Got picked up by our travel agent company. The ride to the hotel is crazy. Takes 35 minutes. There is like one road everyone travels. Definitely not a well developed area. The drivers are crazy and wild. They pass each other when it doesnt look like they have enough room. People ride motorbikes everywhere so they occupy the road. They ride so close to the cars its scary. When you get to the hotel, there are conceirge people to help with your bags. They will take them to the side while you check in. Dont be alarmed. Check in was pretty easy. You get your room keys and towel cards

Rooms:
Our room was big and nice. Felt a bit muggy. It did have the musty smell many people on here talk about. Wasnt too bad tho. I burned a candle. The jacuzzi was nice. We had plenty of room for our luggage etc. Their is couch, tv, desk, queen size bed, large shower and separate toilet. His and her sinks. The maids are on their own schedule. They clean the room whenever. You may have to call if they dont come. There is a fridge with water, beer and soda. There is champagne in the room when you arrive. They have fresh flowers laid around too.

Restaurants and Bars:
There is plenty of food. There are five restuarants and a buffet. I ate at La Tiana, the japanese rest, the buffett,and the seafood rest. Japanese was the best to me. The buffet is the best for breakfast. Eat there. All the food is free because it is all inclusive. Some food is good some is bad. The desserts are bland so dont expect much. I guess food wasnt the highlight of the trip but its all good. It works.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach pool and grounds are great. Pool is huge and has plenty of room for many. The beach is beautiful and has plenty of chairs. I liked the beach games. Don't drink tap water. The casino was fun. They also have a club. Mini store if you need anything.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plenty of activities to do. We went ziplining and parasailing. Zipline was fun. Took forever to get there. The trip was bumpy and scary. The ziplining wasnt as fun as I thought. Alot fo walking inbetween and stuff. Wasnt as exciting. But glad we did it. Parasailing was ok. Definitely wasnt worth 85 bucks for two people but glad we did it. Only up in the air for ten minutes. We took pics. I can say I did it. lol There is an activity schedule posted so you shouldnt be bored.

Other Comments:
Overall, I would come back again. I had a blast and the people really go above and beyond for you. We attended a wedding and it was beautiful. They work for tips so be generous. Free drinks and food isnt bad at all. Though it took forever to get tipsy. I think the alcohol content is low. Just have a good time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What can you say WOW awesome place to stay"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty Ann  on Jan 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
424 people found this review helpful

Hotel is really clean the food is great Japanese I think was my best choice but don't take it wrong since all the restaurant and buffet was great.
Employees are always smiling and giving a good service I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Majestic Colonial Resort, Punta Cana....superb value for the money"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Dec 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
335 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Arrived at resort after 2 hr. trip from the airport. Check In was disappointing as they had us booked in the wrong room class. Got an upgrade for first night and moved to our swim up suite at 4 pm. Next day. Front desk was courteous and helpful. Provided a free massage and internet.

Rooms:
Both rooms we had were spotlessly clean. Beds were comfortable, couch was leather, lots of room. Layout with Jacuzzi tub in middle of room was strange and frosted glass on toilet and shower doors was also different. There was no privacy if you are so inclined. Swim up location was near beach and of course had small grass area with loungers alongside the pool. Mini bar stocked daily and maid service was excellent. AC worked perfect and could be controlled individually. Best rooms we have ever had in Caribbean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was very good, lots for everybody. Buffet got a little repititious but they all do. The other restaurants were all good and we had no complaints about any of them. I especially liked the 'no reservatons' required in most of the a la carte restaurants at this resort. Bar service was fast, no tipping required and drinks were made to order. Very few international drinks however. Canadian Club was somehow manufactured when a tip was produced but only occassionaly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and grounds were spotless. Pool was clean, huge lazy river but water was always 'cool'. Ocean was warm but very windy when we were there so swimming was limited. Grounds were manicured to perfection and easy to get around.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment nightly was acceptable, something for everyone. Casino was small but functional. Shops were typical souvenir. Lots of side trips but we don't take those so can't comment.

Other Comments:
We are mid seniors who have travelled all over the world, including the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok, Thailand and would recommend this resort to anyone who wanted a beautiful stay in Punta Cana. Only real negative was the fact that it took over 2 hours from the time we boarded the bus at the airport to get to our hotel which is basically a 35 min drive. We had 5 stops and flew with Sunwing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome!"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Nov 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
367 people found this review helpful

This was my first time to Punta Cana, and now i know why people are so addicted to going here. The resort was amazing, clean, friendly staff, enough things to do on the resort to keep us busy for the whole week.

Arrival:
Arrival was a little hectic and scary as we didnt know what to expect, when we went to get a shuttle to the resort and the guy came up and grabbed our luggage and took off to one of the shuttles, i got a little nervous, however a friend had warned me this might happen, just follow him to the shuttle and we got a ride right away to the resort.

Rooms:
Room was very nice, we had a junior suite swim up room, there was a fruit plate and champagne waiting for us, which we found funny because it was 2 women friends , not a couple LOL. the bathroom situation was a little weird, no privacy at all, so lets hope you dont get " sick" while your there .But by the end of our week, we didnt really care where we changed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Plenty of places to eat and drink here, absolutely loved the pool/ swim up bar!! Staff there was very friendly :) We loved all the restaurants we tried, French, japanese and the mexican , all had very good food and awesome service!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach, pool, grounds is all very beautiful and kept very clean, no complaints at all!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Animation team here did a wonderfuljob ( hola lookie lookie, pistacho and ratata ) of keeping us entertained, from the mid afternoon pool games to the evening shows at the theatre.

off resort we went on PCMikes half day adventure, it was amazing, Dave was our guide, and i absolutely loved playing the dominoes :)

Other Comments:
We will Definately be returing to this resort ,only wish it could be sooner!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube