Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"Worst Vacation Ever - broken promises and a waste of money"
Posted by: Emily  on Dec 28, 2013
see all reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#8
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 48 reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Information


Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Beach Resort, Golf, Casino and Spa is a brand new spectacular 5 star resort that will mark the beginning of a new era by combining luxury rooms with the all-inclusive formula at the highest level.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.1 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  24
Average
  6
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (24)
Wedding (5)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
With friend (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
21 - 30 of 48

"robbed"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  gary  on Sep 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
418 people found this review helpful

walking back to my room in the resort from the lobby bar fri nite was jumped from behind knocked to the ground had my blackberry taken injured my hip & thigh digital cameera was broken. the robber was wearing the uniform the employees at the resort wore. had things taken from the room. security did nothing, the resort did nothing. DONT LET YOUR GUARD DOWN. WALK IN GRUPS IF YOU CAN. DIDNT FEEL SAFE THERE.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good but few compliants"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marge  on Aug 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
333 people found this review helpful

Overall we liked the resort. WE had a few complaints but our stay was very nice.

Arrival:
We arrived in Punta Cana International Airport. We had a little problem finding the right booth to go to ( Coco Tours) to get the shuttle to our hotel. After getting on the shuttle it was a breeze. It brought us right to the lobby of the hotel.Check in was quick too and the bell boy brought our suitcase to our room.

Rooms:
Our room was nice. We had a Junior sweet with Jucuzzi. We had a pool view from the balcony. The only problem we had with our room was that the door to the bathroom door didn't close. The shower, toilet and sinks are all sperate. And you can basicly hear everything and there isn't much privacy.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars where good but sometimes it's hard to figure out what drinks they have since there is no menu. People at the bar down by the beach ( in the La hispaniola) weren't very friendly.
I favorite resturante was the mexican one. The chinese place had salty food, but the sushi was good. We didn't get a chance to go to the japanese habachi because it was all booked past our stay. The french resturant was okay but make sure you order your meat medium if you want it well done otherwise they would overcook it. We mostly ate at the Buffet place since it was the only place open at a reasonable time for lunch and dinner. The desserts weren't that great, but if you picked the right foods they tasted good. Most drinks were very sweet so i mainly stuck with water.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The ocean was really clear. IF you take some bread from the resturant you can feed some fishes that swim around there. The pool water was warm, almost air tempreture the first day but seemed to get cooler and cooler as our stay progressed. 12:00- 5:00 seem to be a popular time so make sure you save a place in the chairs using the towel method if you want to go around that time in the morning.( especially if you want to sit at the end by the beach where the swim up bar and volleyball net is.) the grounds where very pretty and well taken care off.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The only thing we did on the resort was use their snorkeling equipment as far as activities on the resort.
We went ziplining, horsebackriding, and swam with dolphins. The ziplining was fun and we got to see a rainforset ( Canopy Adventure). Horsebackriding was cheap and very fun! We got to gallop along the beach and the owners of the ranch took pictures of everyon on horses with your own camera multiple times. Even when we galloped! Swimming with dolphins was the most disapponting but still pretty good. They forgot to pick us up at the time we signed up for from the hotel and so we waited for an hour. The second time we wait ( we had to go on a later one) we still waited. ( the shuttles to the tours aren't very punctual.) I love dolphins but we didn't find it very exciting. The group was maybe a little to big and you didn't really get to spen qualitiy time with the dolphin.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice but not a 5 star hotel"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Jul 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
334 people found this review helpful

Overall it was a nice place. We had a good time. My cousin got married there and it was beautiful. There are a few minor things I could complain about and will explain but I am gonna be detailed as some people are nit picky and I would want to know as much as possible before booking a trip!

Your Arrival:
When we arrived at the airport, we were put on a shuttle that in turn, had to go back to the airport a few minutes after we left to pick up people that were left behind. Wewere exhauted and just wanted to get to the hotel to shower from our red eye flights. (from CA to the Dominican Republic) Once we got to the resort, we were greeted with a drink "the majestic". it was great!The bell boy brought our luggage to our room. The safe was locked and we couldnt get it open to store our valuables so we had to wait for a staff member to unlock it, no big deal. It was fixed within the hour. The room was clean. There was plenty of closet space. The shower was large and nice. Also, there are jacuzi spa in the room which I loved! The tv got quite a few channels, some in English, most in spanish.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice. (9 people total in our group with 5 rooms). It seems like the hotel doesnt have enough towels and supplies to go around. one day you get hand towels, bath towels and another day you are lucky to get more than one. Each person in our group generally agreed with me on this. There is absolutely no privacy in the toilet area, and if you walk in front of it, you may see through the glass a bit. So if you have to go number 2, the other people in the room will hear you unless you run the ssink water. :) The room stayed nice and cool the entire trip. the beds were pretty comfortable. You always had the fridge stocked daily with 2 beers, 5 waters and 3 sodas, although the fridge was not very cold.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was alright. We ate breakfast daily in the buffets, the menu stays the same, but there were some good items and lots to chose from. theres even an omlet man so you can order a fresh omlet the way you like. The service varied from restaurant to restaurant. The first night, we ate at the Steak place, the food was awful! Pork chops were like rubber and hard to cut, meat was flavorless. and the server was not friendly at all! I was so disappointed the first night. On the other side of the restaurant, you can order Lobster and seafood, but you cant eat both in one place. The seafood section was much better than the steak side on our second night when we tried it. The Mexican restaurant was good. The French restaurant was great and so was the Japanese restaurant. You must reserve a night at these places (Japanese and French restaurants) ahead of time though as they book up quickly! We booked both restaurants right away and we were there 7 nights. we got into the japanese restaurant on our last night! Make sure when you book the Japanese restaurant, you ask to sit in the special room where the cook prepares the food right in front of you! its like Benehannas restaurants! otherwise you'll just be seated in the general restaurant area.
Victor, the bartender, and the pool bar was fabulous! so so friendly and loves his job. Very sociable. It was harder to get service at the swim up bar but if you are patient, they will get to you. The main upstairs lobby bar was my favorite bar. great service and as soon as the drink was empty, they would get you another one. Most of the time if it was busy we would order 2 drinks each!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful, totally see-through water! There seemed to alway be lounge chairs to sit on, most with tiki palm trees over them for those who want less sun. We really enjoyed it!!! There are a few topless ladies here and there, but most were on the far side of the beach as that was allowed. We only saw 2 topless ladies laying out by the pool (this place has kids everywhere by the pool so I don't know why that would be allowed). The grounds were kept clean, and were beautiful. We got massages the last night we were there and it was the best massage we had ever had, so relaxing! Also, in the same spa area, the bride and I got our hair done just before the wedding. Our hair both turned out beautifully. i had my husband with me to speak spanish to the ladies to tell them exactly what we wanted. (I read a review before we left mentioning that not all staff spoke English, and the people who did hair and nails were some of them). It seriously was the best updo I've had since high school prom (over 10 years ago!) And I will make sure I show the pictures to another hair stylist for my next updo, I got so many compliments from complete stranger.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activies on the resort were definitley not up to par compaired to recent trips my husband and I went on including jamaica and cancun. We didn't really attend any after our second night as they were not very interesting. (The whole group shared this opinion)
We paid for 2 excursions. One was the ZipLine tour, it was really fun. Eddy Perez from hotel beds helped us book our tours and he was awesome! So friendly and helpful and personable. We missed the time for our second excursion (thanks to the bride who mixed up the time LOL) but Eddy was so cool, he just let us join the next tour 3 hours later, no big deal.
Our second tour was the Doon Buggies, where you can chose either ATV's or the Buggies to ride in. You drive in a single file line to the beach, spend about 20 minutes there, then you drive on a very rocky road to an underground water cave and swim for 20 minutes. There are people at the second location trying to get you to buy stuff but we just said no and walked away. I would recommend ATV's as it was so bumpy on the buggies being so close to the ground.

Other Comments:
If I didnt have other all inclusive places to compare this hotel to, I would have probably thought it was even better! The service wasnt great all around, some people were good, some werent. The food was okay depending on where you go. The deserts were flavorless, except the tres Leches cake slices. They were delicious. We got locked out of our room a couple times, but the problem was fixed pretty quickly. My cousin who got married there, was delivered a bottle of wine every day, also they delivered a fruit platter one day to her, another day they delivered sushi. They forgot to deliver the banner on here door saying congratulations Mr and Mrs so and so. She was a little disappointed but not a big deal.Oh and I forgot to mention there was champagne in every room upon arrival! My husband and I agreed that it was more of a 4 star hotel for the cost (about $3,100 for 2 for 1 week), not the 5 star I was told when I booked it. We don't plan on returning. We'd rather try new hotels/areas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful resort good food and drinks"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  maria- goretti  on Jul 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
313 people found this review helpful

we enjoyed our stay very clean and beautiful beach
pleasent staff.

Your Arrival:
perfect.happy with the room and staff.

Rooms:
very clean and planty of towels.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
alway perfect plenty of chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we did not activties in the resort.

Other Comments:
we will be going back for another vacation at the Majestic Colonial.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HORRIBLE Customer Service! Nothing worked & No one cared!"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joshua  on Jun 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
349 people found this review helpful

Ok, so we got a great deal on what we thought was a 5-star resort for our honeymoon. Elevator didn't work, and the bellhop told us it hadn't worked for a long time. We were on the 4th floor. Batteries in my TV remote died (when does THAT happen??). AC would barely keep the room at 80 degree Farenheit. Had to call TWICE to get a repairman out there on the third day of our stay to fix our AC. Resort website said this was for COUPLES ONLY. Bull! I've never seen more screaming kids than at Disney World! Including next door and right outside our room running around screaming all the time.

Then we get locked out of our room. Key card wouldn't work. So I called using the elevator phone. They told us we had to walk down to the front desk to deal with this (10 minute walk to the other side of the resort), that they wouldn't just send someone to help us or anything. So we get there and they tell us to go BACK, that a technician will change our batteries out in the door mechanism. So we waited for 15 minutes after we got back for him to get there and fix it. The next morning, it happened the SAME way AGAIN! I was a bit upset at this point, and asked them how I knew it wouldn't happen again - they just shushed me up and sent me back to my room. That night...you guessed it! LOCKED OUT AGAIN! This time they had to literally BREAK THROUGH THE WALL to get in (I have pictures).

I raised hell. No manager was ever on duty to do anything, however. Finally, on our way out of the resort after our honeymoon week was over, I found a manager, related all our stories to him, and demanded some sort of refund. NOTHING. He said all he could do was give us some sort of a discount on our next stay there as if we would come back!!! Told me I should have complained sooner, to which I replied that I tried, but there were no managers! He shrugged his shoulders. Nothing I could do. Maybe not as much will go wrong on your trip, but if it does, you're screwed, because they won't do a thing about it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great week at the Majestic!"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Geoff  on Apr 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
319 people found this review helpful

A picture perfect week at a true 5 star resort. The Majestic Colonial lived up to its reviews and fantastic pictures. Maybe even better!

Your Arrival:
Arrival was very smooth. The Sky Service flight was right on time leaving Winnipeg and a bit early arriving in PC. Bye bye Sky Service. I guess we were some of your last customers. We were quickly signed in at the front desk and shuttled to our beach-view, ground floor room.

Rooms:
Very nice. Not too big, but very nicely laid out. Beautiful view of the main walkway and pool just beyond. Water was a bit of a problem. We left a few extra dollars in the mini bar fridge, but never got any extra bottles of H2O. I even left a note with the money asking them to leave more. Oh well, not a big deal. I just went to the pool bar and snagged extra as we needed them. The lock on our sliding deck door was broken, but they had it fixed for us before we got back from supper the first night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Main buffet restarant was very nice. Maybe a bit dark overall, but seating was easy to come by and the temperature was perfect. The food was well...not the best, but we expected that. After a few days you find what works best for you and work with that. The food wasn't terrible, the deserts were great, but the majority of meat was tough, and almost everything else was bland tasting. Great service from the coffee dudes!

There's a big restaurant/bar overlooking the beach that was okay, bu the food here was the worst anywhere on the resort. Usually burnt, or reserved stuff from main buffet?

The Mexican restaurant was our favorite. We ate there twice. Very flavorful food, friendlier service than main rest., and very nice ambience to the place. Loved it!

French restaurant was a disaster. We could only get a reservation on our final night and that was at 9:45 PM. They weren't happy to see us. We were rushed through by waiters constantly checking their watches. You get the picture.

We did the walk-in Japanese (no reservation needed if you don't sit in the area where your meal is perepared in front of you). Pretty good food, but no where near as nice as the Mexican.

What can I say about the bars? There were tons of places to get a drink! Service was always great. I got addicted to the Tucans. Presidente beer was (as expected) excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nicest beach we've ever seen. We walked a couple miles either way (past RIUs to the right), and maybe even further to the left. I loved that you could see the mountains in the distance!

The pool was nice and long. We stayed at the beach most of the time though.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't bother with any activities. Lazing around the beach and drinking beer all day was active enough for us this year. There was very little to be seen of the animation team anywhere during the day. And the shows at night were dreadful. They have a beautiful theatre set up for shows, and we were very disappointed with what they offered. In comparison, the Catalonia Bavaro has a basic outdoor stage with plastic chairs set up. The shows there blew anything Majestic Colonial could muster up. Maybe because they only seemed to have a half dozen entertainers in total? Too bad, the theatre is very nice. A lot of missed potential there.

Other Comments:
If it wasn't for the bad night shows and not-so-good food, we would've easily given this resort full marks. But when you're rated that high, things should be just a little bit better.

Would we go back? For sure! But for the price, I think we'll try Bahia Principe or one of the Iberostars next.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely Wonderful - Truly a Five Star"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth  on Mar 14, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
332 people found this review helpful

This resort has it all, from great food of all kinds, to friendly service, to a fantastic beach and pool and clean, comfortable and very spacious accomodations. This spacious resort was not crowded, features beautiful grounds, and extremely "user friendly" and easy to get around, you can quickly find shortcuts to your destinations.

Your Arrival:
We arrived at Punta Cana Airport with no glitches. After debarking the plane, there seemed to be a delay in entering the airport itself. The delay was due to the locals taking pictures of the each and every tourist standing with another local holding a parrot. Honestly, that could have been one of the things we could have done without. You're anxious to get to your resort and any unnecessary delay is a hassle. We stood in line for approximately 20 minutes unnecessarily after trying to get off the plane for 30 minutes beforehand. They will offer you this photo when you arrive at the airport for your departure back home. But all in all, it went well and aside from the photo shoot, everything went smoothly and expediently. We arrived at the resort and were checked in immediately, without a drink and no fanfare.

Rooms:
We were led to our room and although beautiful, I had asked for a king bed with balcony. We were given a room with two double beds and terrace. I went back to the lobby and the manager, after some "searching" located another room. We were again led to our new suite, which was exactly what we had requested. The only negative issue with the room was that we were facing the parking lot of another resort. Who cares. For the amount of time we would be sitting out there, it really didn't matter but the Cameleon Gold with Nolitours (Majestic Junior Suite) was supposed to provide us with separate check in, preferred room selection with DVD player and selected library, bathrobe, slippers and beach towels in room, and a surprise gift and welcome letter. We never got any of that except for the bathrobes but again, who cares. The room was cleaned every day, fresh towels provided daily, the 4-poster king size bed was comfortable and the mini fridge was always stocked. A 2-person jacuzzi is located right beside the bed, within the powder room section that featured a double sink and a huge walk-in shower with rain, message or stream and a sitting area, and another seperate access for a toilet. The sinks and jacuzzi are visible from the room but the walk in shower and the small area for the toilet each have their own frosted glass doors and are not seperated from floor to ceiling from the rest of the room if you get my drift.

Restaurants and Bars:
Wow, what can I say about the food. Food, food, food everywhere. Reservation required for the Gourmet Restaurant but I was not impressed with the meal and I'll leave it at that. The Japanese Restaurant does not require a reservation but if you want the section where the Chef prepares the meal in front of you, you need a reservation. It was probably the best meal I had during my stay. If you enjoy meeting people, that's a good place to start. If you don't make it to the buffet for breakfast (closes at 10am but OMG what a feast) you can go to the beach bar and they have just as good a selection for breakfast from eggs any style, to pancakes, french toast, healthy stuff, dry cereal, bacon, bacon and more bacon, sausages, beans, etc. You won't go hungry. It is a huge building and the drink bar also opens at 10am. Then they take away the breakfast food and start with lunch. You can get pasta, grilled burgers, mussells and other fish, fries, nachos, etc. This bar converts to a steakhouse and seafood place for the evening and no reservations are required. The food was also good at both of these locations. We never tried the Mexican/Dominican restaurant nor the late night snack bar that served wings and burgers after 11pm. We never stayed up that late nor did we make it to the disco. Not my cup of tea on this trip.

Since my Spanish is very limited, I could only understand that on Friday mornings only, there is this huge frying pan than requires four people to carry to a special grill directly on the beach. You can see this frying pan right behind the chef that prepares the eggs in the beach bar/restaurant. I could not understand what they prepared though. Maybe worth checking into.

We didn't hang around the lobby bars too often but we did have drinks while we waited for our a la carte dining. I didn't find the staff overly friendly at the lower level lobby bar but they were busy and remainded courteous. The upper level lobby bar was good though with friendly servers. The pool bar was another matter. Victor and Micheal were extremely friendly and entertaining. You will get a kick out of Victor with his constant "Yeah, yeah, yeah" and "WAZZ A-A-A-A-P". He was fun to watch and as long as he had an audience, he was happy and therefore, made you happy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We rotated from the Beach to the pool on a daily basis. The beach, upon first site, brought tears to my eyes. It is the most beautiful beach with huge palm trees, and plenty of palapas to sit under. Get there early if you want one though but there seemed to be no shortages for loungers. Servers, once they located you, brought you drinks constantly. We walked for 30 minutes one way on either side of us in the mornings. The other resorts did not seem to have palapas, and if they did, the wave action was more severe at other locations that some. I believe our beach had a reef further up that stopped much of the waves so that made it good to swim in. This resort offers the best of everything so enjoy. And bring your own snorkelling equipment if you have it because you can watch the fish swim nearby. They do provide these at the watersport hut if you forgot them and there really is no need to go on a Catamaran at a cost when you have it right there. There is no coral though.

As for the pool, my goodness, what a huge pool at 400m long. Never too crowded except for the "kids" area, and the other bar which featured the swim up bar. The music was way too loud for my taste in this area, with the DJ screaming in the microphone. All the activities were at this location so if you're up for action, that's the place to hang out. People of all ages too. The pool also has no shortages of loungers but again, if you want a palapa, you have to get there early. We never seemed to have a problem finding one though. Coming in from the beach, we wanted some repreive from the sun and we always managed to find two loungers with some shade. The pool area is clean and the pool itself was refreshing with some jacuzzis in various locations.

The spa also has a little oasis for swimming and lounging in a covered building. It has a couple of small waterfalls and a jacuzzi. You don't have to make an appointment to use this area but I never had a chance to use it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No excursions this time. Our trip was mainly for relaxing and getting to know each other more since ours is a relitavely new relationship (less than 1 year). They do offer many off site excursions though, but I didn't see too much on site activities. As mentioned before, we stayed away from the area of the 400m pool where all the activities took place. We also did not attend any of the evening animation in the theatre preferring to go for an evening walk on the grounds then sit on the beach enjoying the stars and a cuban cigar with an Amaretto. I would have thought that the beach would have been off limits after hours but no one stopped us and there was no other tourists around. Maybe we were not supposed to, but like I said, no one stopped us and no one patrolled the area.

Other Comments:
All in all, it was a most glorious vacation and one I would recommend. I have to admit that checking the reviews scared me as there seemed to be a lot of negativity. You have to remember that a four star or five star in our country is not the same as in the Carribean. If you got there with an attitude that you expect the same kind of service and luxuries as you do at home, then you're going to be disappointed. As long as the room is clean, the food is good, the staff friendly and helpful, the sun shines and the beach is to die for, what more do you want out of a vacation? I give this resort a five star plus, and would not hesitate to take my teenagers next year, which is what I'm seriously considering.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"ALMOST PARADISE"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Feb 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
278 people found this review helpful

I would recommend the majestic colonial to people. Very nice and better than previous resorts i have been to. Only one small complaint, went to have hair put up for wedding at spa - no english. However, with limited english/spanish and hand gestures - i was able to have the hairdo somehat close to what i had wanted.

Your Arrival:
Upon our arrival - check in was farily quick and personnel pleasant. A nice surprise that safes were included free of charge. Information session scheduled for following day re: pickup times, excursions etc.

Rooms:
Room was beautiful - air conditioned, jaccuzzi tub and a huge shower. Plenty of hot water (unlike other resorts which were luke warm at best). Only complaint, no faceclothes? Used large handtowel (not soft!). If you are assigned a corner room close to lobby I would suggest changing rooms, all night we heard entertainment noise, staff, vacationers - it was like being beside a frat party. Rooms were clean and well kept. Some rooms had flowers and towel swans but I guess that depends on your housekeeper. Mini bar had water, pop and max two beers per day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good - better than others i had been to. Ala cart restaurants were good - steak house - chateau briand was awesome and French Restaurant very good! Make reservations upon arrving as they are booked quickly. Personnel were friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and pool grounds were amazing. Pool bar a must try! Daily Water excercise class - great!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities - dolphin explorer a must - very cool. Awesome pictures! Worth the money. Horseback riding at the Pat Ranch also very cool. Very well run - and worth the money (not expensive). Staff were very friendly. They had guides at front, back and inbetween to ensure all riders were comfortable. Personnel also took pictures for riders on their own cameras. Very nice!

Other Comments:
Attended my sons wedding - they chose the gazibo for their ceremony. Beautiful. Wedding planner was very helpful and efficent. The photographer (off site) was amazing. Very organized, pleasant and funny! Unfortunatley do not know his name. I would suggest Gazibo for weddings - I watched three weddings and those on the beach were very nice, but sand/wind /beach people were all factors. the Gazibo, you are surrounded by gardens and a little more private. Pictures of beach still obtained.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a disappointment!!"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah  on Feb 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
308 people found this review helpful

The resort looked like a million bucks when we arrived. Because we picked a Nolitours "Camelion Gold" package, the desk clerk immediately took us away from the front desk to a desk tucked out of the way to check us in and present us with a drink. OK so far. Our bags were taken to our room, 3 doors from the beach. OK looking good, the room was nice, but smelled a little damp, but Ok you're at the beach. We had had a 4 hour flight delay, so our first priority was to have a shower and get changed. My husband went to check our the balcony as I was unpacking, and discovered the door had been broken into from outside and wouldn't lock. so we called the front desk and they sent someone who took a hammer to pound in the frame from the outside and the lock mechanism so the door could be locked. Then we discovered that the taps at the sink didn't work, turn them on but no water. The repair man then started to pound on the taps with a hammer and after about 20 minutes of banging around, got some water to come out. So we've been at the resort for about an hour and we aren't too impressed.

Rooms:
damp and a little musty, well worn.

Restaurants and Bars:
We had heard the fish restaurant near the beach was terrific so we headed for for dinner. It was a little smokey because one side is a grill and the other a fish restaurant. We ordered and service was good, and the food was terrific. So we are back on track. After being up for about 36 hours, we headed to bed. The bedding was damp, but what the heck, we are at the beach. In the morning we headed to the Supreme buffet for an early breakfast. Not too bad, but the eggs are swimming in grease cooked in pans that look like they've never been washed (they were black and disgusting looking, oh yeah and they pour the grease onto your plate along with your eggs. If you like your tea hot, make sure you tell the coffee boy, BOILING WATER please or it will be luke warm. Down to the beach we head and most of the seats with shelter are already spoken for, but that's to be expected. We head to the buffet in the Palapa hut for lunch and find a salad bar, Paella with and without shellfish, burgers, sandwiches, the greasiest nacho chips I've ever seen, rice, beans, chicken and vegetables along with a desert bar - ice cream and pastries. This is the menu for the week and it doesn't change. The lunch and dinner buffet in the Supreme restaurant consists of these items, plus pizza and pasta - again the same every day (oh yeah and most evenings with a few additions here and there) The Mexican restaurant was a disappointment - service was slow and the food was mediocre. If you like Dominican food, they had a buffet of that and salad you could supplement your meal with. The fish house was good on the first try but our second visit was awful, the lobster was covered with something greasy and a bit rancid and was almost impossible to get out of the shell, I asked for rice instead of potatoes which arrived after I had finished my fish and was ice cold. My husband asked for white wine, they brought red and arrived with the white after our dinner arrived. We left without finishing our meals, no one even came to see if our dinners were OK. Serving staff on a whole are disinterested. Some appreciate the tips, others expect them, but it doesn't impact your service at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was not as clean as I expected. Cigarette buts, straws and bottle caps were littered everywhere and they staff didn't have the tools to properly take care of it. You can't clean up small items by walking around and picking them up by hand. The lawn chairs were grubby and the few small side tables were filthy. The water was rough and for a non swimmer, could be dangerous.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My husband and 9 other guys went deep sea fishing, the tour rep recommended a charter, it was about $50 US cheaper than the tour per person, but the boat was well used and the entire event was less than impressive. The guys running the charter were selling beer for $2.50 US per bottle, but pushed the guys to buy a case, 24 for $72 US, elevating the price from $2.50 US per bottle to $3 US. There weren't any snacks or anything provided. If you travel Nolitours, be warned that the Cameleon Gold package DOES NOT INCLUDE GOLF even thought the brochure advertises it and the Nolitours rep will not intervene to sort it out for you. The Nolitours rep, Isabella won't help and sent us to the desk, but the hotel said we didn't have a jr suite and weren't entitled. PS they only have jr suites and majestic jr suites, so beware of their advertising.

Other Comments:
If you are travelling to the Domican, be aware that many of the hotel staff are Hatian and they do not speak sufficient english to communicate well. They are also looking for items to sent to Haiti for the earthquake victims, tylenol, advil, antibiotics, clothing, toiletries, etc. Take what you can and leave behind what you can. Every little bit helps.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff are pleasant but their English is not good."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Janis from Ontario, Canada  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
239 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 9 through 16
We arrived in the evening and the lobby is very impressive and check in was quick and efficient. We were not offered and did not see anyone offered a complementary Magestic drink.

Rooms:
Our room was a jr. suite and very impressive, part ocean view and looking over the pool. The elevator was very small(2 person size) and we preferred to walk the four flights. The second day it was broken and remained so therefore be in good health or take a main floor room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The steak and the seafood restaurants are excellent in our opinion. We ate at each twice and enjoyed each meal and ate the remaining time at the buffets and were pleased with the selections, very good desserts too!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Enjoyed the beach every day and for our "middle age" bracket was happy with no vendors and quite a quiet atmosphere, loved the white sand, the welcoming ocean and walking along the sandy beach not needing to watch or sharp stones or shells. There are no shells for collecting .The pool was welcoming as well, well kept grounds and lots of walkways to "keep fit"

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We had a "r and r" holiday and did not need or want any tours.

Other Comments:
There is not a lot of shopping, enough in the resort shops for us . The staff are pleasant but their English is not good. Speaking some Spanish will help you get your point across but we did alright with little Spanish and truly enjoyed a relaxing and great BEACH HOLIDAY.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube