Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, República Dominicana

"Worst Vacation Ever - broken promises and a waste of money"
Posted by: Emily  on Dec 28, 2013
see all reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#8
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 48 reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Information


Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Beach Resort, Golf, Casino and Spa is a brand new spectacular 5 star resort that will mark the beginning of a new era by combining luxury rooms with the all-inclusive formula at the highest level.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.1 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  24
Average
  6
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (24)
Wedding (5)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
With friend (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
41 - 48 of 48

"Nothing major to complain about. "

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa from Sudbury, ON  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
242 people found this review helpful

Arrival::
Arrival was little scary. Bit of a bumpy landing (first time flie)but not to bad (so i've been told). We arrived at around 9 pm. Once we exited the plane, we were rushed into the airport and through all the steps. People yelled at us (we were the only plane at that time) and we could not even use the bathrooms.. it was rush rush rush... grab your stuff get on a bus..

Once on the bus, our tour speaker was pretty friendly but a little hard to understand. He was funny and polite. The trip to our resort was quick, zooming through a dark countryside and needing to pee was dulling my mood.. lol

Once we arrived at our resort, check in went pretty quick and they (staff) gave us thier signature drink "the Majestic" OMG SOOOOO GOOD!!!! such a bonus after the airport attitudes.

We were amazed at how beautiful and large everything was. When we first walked in, it took our breath away.

Rooms::
After we checked in, we arranged with a porter to bring our bags to our rooms (us and another couple that came with us). Poor guy.. our bags were heavy.. they were loaded with extra things for the kids at a school.

We started the journey to finding our rooms, and the map was pretty simple to follow. We just had no idea HOW large the resort actually was.. it took a good walk to get to our rooms and i was nervous as we had wanted a specific room and we were not sure if we'd get it (there was alot of misunderstanding between our travel agent, the resorts website, and whomever our agent spoke with at resort)

When we finally found our room, waaaaay at the end, hehehe, it was wonderful. Just like the pictures, it was amazing. Of course i was excited to see that we had recieved the right room. We booked the Colonial Junior suite ocean front.

I just about died the next morning when i could actually see the view from our room. It was beyond breathtaking. This trip was to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and to basically be our honeymoon, as we never took one. We've been raising our five children, and this was now some 'us' time.
I totally recommend this room for anyone looking for a romantic time.

The room was clean, and huge. It did have a bit of a musty smell, which i was told to expect. It wasn't a smell that you noticed all the time. Just a little bit.
The bed was a king size and actually comfortable. The pillows needed to be more fluffy, but we just ordered extra's from housekeeping, and of course i brought along a body pillow (i strunk it in one of those space saver bags to bring along).
The terrace was very large and private enough. We really enjoyed the outdoor jaccuzzi tub and used it every night. It was nice that the outside lights on our terrace would turn off themselves around midnight, and it made a nice setting, that much more romantic.

Restaurants and Bars::
We seemed to favor the restaurant closest to the beach (La Hispaniola) as it was the only one serving breakfast when we'd get up. (late risers) At night it turned into two restaurants, steak on one half and seafood on the other.

One night when i wanted to go to the seafood side, hubby realized that it was only seafood on that side. He was going to sit with me, while i had my dinner and then grab himself something at the snack shack after. (He hates seafood).
One of the waiters, realized he had not ordered and came to question us. When Hubby stated that he didnt eat the seafood, the waiter offered to get him something from the 'steak' side. Hubby and I got to enjoy a great dinner together, thanks to a wonderful waiter who made sure that we were happy :)

We ate at least one meal at every restaurant and the food was good everywhere. We were very disappointed in the Ma+suri Teppan-yaki cooking presentation.
Our 'chef' was not very friendly and did not put on a show for us..He just cooked the food and left.
Our whole group wished we were at the cooking show beside us, as that 'chef' was putting on a great show (that we could hear) and everyone in that group had the most amazing time.

The bars were basically the same everywhere. Great drinks, fairly good service. The only we caution people on, is that the services do not seem to know the word "allergies". Our friend is deathly allergic to pineapples, and we always stated none to be served. At one bar, a waitress brought over a drink with pineapple slice on the side, and when we tried to order it without, she took the pineapple off the drink and ate it and said " there..no pineapple". She didnt seem to understand that it even with the slice gone, the drink still contained pineapple now.

That was the only thing we brought to the resorts attention and suggested that they be aware of people with allergies. It would sometime take a few minutes to find the right bar tender who would understand what we were telling him about allergies, but overall it was pretty good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The grounds were well groomed. Very clean and pretty. Lots of flowers and trees and the pool was amazing. Very long and not to cold.

The beach was beautiful and of course, a few seconds into my first ocean experience i was hit by a wave and inhaled the water.. yucky salt.. lol EVERYONE was laughing. It was frustrating that the loungers would all be 'saved' but if i really wanted to sit/lie and i noticed that someone had not come back for a while, i just gently moved thier belongings and used the lounger. I would place back thier stuff later. Some might disagree with me, but i think that it is a worse offense to 'save a seat' that you are not using.

The overall expeirence everywhere was amazing! Beautiful weather, amzing resort and a wonderful time with hubby :)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did two tours. The first was a jeep tour which was ok. We were disappointed in the fact that the school we were to see (and had brought supplies for) was closed that day (apparently the teacher was ill) We left our supplies with our tour operator (which our travel operator suggested) and he was supposed to drop them off at the school at a later date and send us pictures, which we never recieved. oh well. We hope at least that someone was able to enjoy the gifts we brought.
The jeep tour, was quick. Not many bathroom breaks but still nice. We got the short version of everthing as there were only 3 of us who spoke english, and the rest were french. The tour guide would give a very long description of everything in french and we'd get a two-word 'this is this'.

our second tour we did was to Saona Island. I really enjoyed that tour. The don't plan things very well for overweight people, but overall it was a great day. If you do the tour and are overweight, do NOT get out of the boat at the star fish area. It was very hard to get back into the boat on the stupid little ladder they had. We had a lady slip and smash her face because she could not get up the ladder.

Other Comments::
We had an amazing time. Any little situations/annoyances were just that: Little. Nothing major to complain about. In fact, we are trying to book the same room and send my parents there for their 40th anniversay next year. We would go back in a heart beat, although i think we'll find something alittle lessy pricey as we hope to bring the kids next time :) A wonderful resort that was easy to create unforgetable memories in!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would recommend this resort if you are thinking about going south."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin from Nova Scotia  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
227 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 27 - July 04
Our arrival was fine. Being a seasoned traveler to the DR we knew to take our own bags to the bus area and look for our A/C rep. If you are a first time visitor you can be overwhelmed by all the guys trying to take your bags for you but all they are after is your $ so take your own maybe a 1 minute walk to the buses. The bus ride was good only one other stop so it was about 30 minutes. At the Hotel we were greeted by a hotel rep that led to an area for Air Canada Travelers not the main desk, check in was roughly 5 minutes. We were given a welcoming drink kind of sweet but nice.

Rooms:
We asked for a room on the top floor and received it. We ask for the top floor because we find them less musty smelling. Ours was on the fourth floor not a problem with an elevator. The room was large with a whirlpool tub and walk in shower, the only thing I could find bad about the room was the drain for the shower was in the high part of the floor and didn't drain properly. Nothing a couple of minutes with a sandal couldn't take care of. Our air conditioning worked great I set it at 15 and left it there all week no problems. One tip I will give is if the power goes out go back and reset it because it defaults to 21 not cool enough.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of choices, we ate at the Mexican, Gourmet, Japanese, Steakhouse and the Fishhouse (name escapes me) all good. We ate two other nights at the buffet great selection all the favorites. Breakfast at the buffet was great, get have the chef make you an omelet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was nice lots of room to be with a group or be by yourself if you want to. No shortage of huts at the beach or pool. The pool is large I think around 400 meters long, the water at the pool was to warm and to much chlorine so we spend our time at the beach, always a nice breeze there as well. The grounds were well maintained only litter was around the pool lazy people leaving their drink glasses on the sides of the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of beach activities for those who want to take part we are in our mid fifties so we want to relax and take it easy. The nightly shows are okay much the same as other resorts we have visited, lots of audience participation but somewhere to go for a night cap. We have done most of the day trips over the years but this time I decided to try the deep sea fishing, mistake that day any way. No fish and not very comfortable. There was seven people six rods, and only one no seat, outside that is. There was seats in side the cabin but if you are fishing you want to be outside. I wouldn't recommend this trip at this resort.

Other Comments:
Over all our trip was great, I would recommend this resort if you are thinking about going south.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The mojitos were as good as any we had in Cuba."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sophie & Wolf from Montreal  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
254 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 19 to July 3
After an uneventful flight we arrived at the hotel in time for dinner. The bellboy took our luggage to our room 2224 and patiently explained how everything in the room worked, especially how to program the save (rental included in the all-inclusive package). The bathroom robes were missing, but thanks the bellboy, arrived soon after. He deserved the big tip he received. The two key cards for the door had to be reprogrammed the next day no big deal.

Rooms:
The room was excellent in every way. Occasionally a mosquito got in somehow and I got bitten several times. Lots of towels and fresh flowers every day. We did not tip the maid until the end of the first week and then again at the end of our stay. Her service was excellent. Frankly, I don't see the point of having a big bathtub in the middle of the room. Who needs it after swimming in the ocean all day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Well, what can I say? No gourmet food here, but we could always find something edible. Breakfast was fine with crepes and fresh tropical fruits. Lunch in the beach resto consisted mostly of rice, a piece of chicken and some vegetables. Sometimes a freshly grilled hamburger. I had a lot pasta for dinner and stayed away from the precooked stuff. We survived. The red wine was terrible, the white acceptable. We ate twice at the Chinese resto. The duck was O.K., the rest tasteless. Sushi acceptable. The Japanese grill was the best reserve early, the place is very popular. Drinks with domestic liqueur were included, imported premium (cognac) costs extra. The mojitos were as good as any we had in Cuba. We try to cut down on alcohol one beer and one drink a day was enough.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is superb, the best part of the whole vacation. Gorgeous white sand and clear warm water for swimming. We arrived on the beach between 7:30 and 8:30 and had no trouble getting loungers and a palapa. Front-line palapas were usually reserved by then. People arriving after 10 a.m. had to keep looking.We never tried the pool who needs it with that fabulous beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I got a good workout at the small gym every second day. They should have more dumbbells with different weights. Some machines need maintenance badly and the air-conditioning should work better. We went for long walks on the beach daily and had a look at some of the other hotels. The Moon Palace looks raw and uninviting. The Barcelo Premium looked overcrowded with loungers like sardines on the beach. The Majestic Excellence next door seems like a twin sister of the Colonial.

Other Comments:
A well deserved vacation, reasonably priced,we will be back!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would only recommend this hotel if you get it at a great price."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie from New Jersey  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
256 people found this review helpful

My husband and I (both 30 years old) stayed at the Majestic Colonial Punta Cana from 5/16/09-5/23/09. We booked airfare via Continental and hotel/transfers via Orbitz. We have stayed at a number of all inclusive hotels previously and rate our stay at the Majestic Colonial as good, not great. This hotel is a moderate 3.0 to 3.5 star all inclusive. We only paid $1050 for seven nights for both of us, so we were not expecting luxury and did not get it. It is very unlikely that we would return to the Majestic Colonial if/when we return to Punta Cana in the future simply because our experience was not so wonderful that we would not want to try something else. But I do want to make sure it is clear that nothing went terribly wrong on our trip either. It was just an “ok” resort. Luckily, I did plenty of research before going and knew what to expect.

Airport Arrival::
Paid $10 per person upon arrival for the tourist card (a joke). It is purely money making. From there we were harassed by at least five airport baggage employees who wanted to take our bags from us so we would tip them. I knew what to expect ahead of time. Simply say, “no gracias” and keep walking.

Transfers using Coco Tours::
We booked our transfers using Coco Tours (paid via Orbitz). We had no problems when we got to Punta Cana, but had major problems when leaving. We do not recommend Coco Tours. Our scheduled pickup at the MC was 11:00 AM for a 2PM flight. We were waiting for our transfer from 10:30 AM. At 11:00 AM no one showed from Coco Tours. At 11:30 AM no one showed up. The bellhops at the hotel tried to help us by calling Coco, and Coco said that someone would be there shortly. We were not picked up until 11:55AM. (2 hrs before our scheduled departure). We were picked up with 3 other couples- all who also were picked up very late (30 min-55 min late) The lines at the airport are TERRIBLE. We checked in online but still needed to wait to check in our luggage when we got to the airport. (took 20 min) Then we had to wait to go through airport security which meant waiting on an additional three separate lines which took an additional hour and ten minutes. We almost missed our flight because of Coco Tours. We made the tail end of the plane’s boarding. We do not recommend Coco Tours- but if you use them, have them pick you up at least 3.5 hrs in advance.

Hotel Check In::
Hotel check-in begins at 3:00 PM. We had an early flight and arrived at the hotel around 1PM. Three times we were told to come back to the front desk to see if our room was ready. It was not finally ready until 3:30 PM. I was fine with having to wait for the room, but we should not have kept being asked to come back. When we arrived we received the handcloth, but no Majestic drink. No big deal, we walked over to the bar :-)

Room::
We paid for a Junior Suite Garden View but were upgraded (thanks to Annemarie!) to a Pool View. We stayed in room 3322 (third floor of a three floor building). The room is very large, had high ceilings, a large ceiling fan, and has nice marble floors and counters. We loved the large Jacuzzi. These rooms are made for couples- not families or friends traveling together. As we knew ahead of time, the shower and toilet stall have frosted glass doors and the doors do not extend to the ceiling. We had no issues, but others may. We had no musty smell and no mosquitoes. Air conditioning worked well. Our mattress was horrible- very cheap thin mattress. Became very uncomfortable after a week of sleeping on it. Unlike others, we requested extra pillows and had no pillow problems. Our sheets/towels were not stained as others have stated in their reviews. One issue we had were ants. Dozens everyday all along the bathroom counter, bathroom floor area, hot tub area, and mini fridge area. At first I could deal, but then it just got annoying. I know this is the Caribbean and the humidity encourages insects, but this was ridiculous. The hotel needs to spray. Room was cleaned everyday around 11AM. Hotel also had a maid come around between 9PM-10PM asking if you needed more clean towels. This was nice except if you were sleeping or you have kids that were sleeping! TV offered the following English channels: CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, ESPN News, TNT, and USA. The room was nice, but not luxury by any means- cracks in the walls, missing cement and corking in corners, open electrical outlets in the walls with exposed wires. The maid never made any towel animals for us even though we were celebrating our anniversary. Our bath was never drawn and flower petals (or flowers) were never left in our room. We didn't care much though. Our mini-fridge was restocked on a daily basis with soda, water, and beer. If we wanted something in particular, we left a dollar or two on top of the minifridge with a list of what we wanted. When we arrived we had a bottle of champagne waiting for us. Later that first day, we had a fruit/cheese plate delivered (no extra cost). (Not sure if this was sent by Annemarie of if this was standard). Second and third day we were sent (no extra cost) plates of white chocolate covered grapes (a bit unusual but good). Fourth day we received a plate of Italian meats. The first few nights a guy game around with a wine cart asking if we wanted a bottle of wine for our room.

Food:
Breakfast: is excellent- made to order crepes, eggs, omelets plus hot chafing dishes, fresh fruit, fruit smoothies, etc.

Lunch: is ok- indoor buffet has chafing dishes, burgers, one carving meat, made to order pasta, and salads. Outdoor lunch buffet has made to order grilled sandwiches, burgers, paella, made to order pasta, and a few other miscellaneous things. Meat quality was fair. Many foods are not kept hot enough/cold enough.

Dinner: is a hit or miss here. Overall, with a few exceptions, we found the quality of the meat and dishes to be sub par compared to other all inclusives we had been to (the Palace Resorts in Mexico are way better in this respect) There isn’t much seafood, the carving stations serve dried out poor quality meat, and many restaurants serve reheated meat. We tried every restaurant except the Chinese.

Japanese Restaurant: excellent and you should make sure to book your reservation as soon as possible. Great show and great fresh food.

Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurants: At the steakhouse for an appetizer we had the tempura pineapple/chicken skewers which unfortunately did not taste fresh and instead tasted like it had been made hours before and were reheated and tough. The chateaubriand is excellent but its side dishes were fair- overcooked mini corn on the cob and cold, pre-made boxed mashed potatoes. The steakhouse and seafood restaurant are in the same room- steakhouse on the left side of the room, seafood on the ride side. The room has one kitchen- an open air kitchen where all food for both “restaurants” is prepared. I wanted to have lobster at the seafood restaurant, but my husband cannot eat seafood so one night we went and clearly explained this to the hostesses. For ten minutes they refused to seat us at the same table, insisting that we could only pick one. Eventually they caved and sat us with the two menus. My husband again ordered the chateaubriand- excellent. Seafood: I ordered the seafood enchiladas (not good) for an appetizer. I had the grilled lobster dinner which was excellent. Later in the week we again returned and had the same request. We were laughed at and sat at the bar. They refused to seat us at a table. After fifteen minutes I got up and asked when we would be seated and the hostess brought us to the seafood side of the restaurant, handed me one seafood menu and told us that only I could eat (not my husband) and that if he wanted to eat, he’d have to sit across the room. Extremely rude and very unaccommodating for no reason. Luckily, our server didn’t care and happily brought me lobster and my husband chateaubriand (yes, his third that week). Both were excellent again.

French Restaurant: The pumpkin soup was excellent but the lobster bisque was terrible. I ordered the snapper which was good. My husband had the beef tenderloin which was very good. We both had the crème brulee with the alcohol on the side. Very good.

Dinner Buffet: Fair- We were not happy with the dinner buffet because it was almost the exact same as the lunch buffet and did not have high quality offerings. Overcooked fish, no shellfish, overcooked meat, dried out carving station, etc. Like I said, it’s fine, but not great.

Mexican restaurant: absolutely terrible. Don’t bother going here. My husband had the chicken nachos which were ok, my seafood cerviche was horrible. For main course, my husband had the “burrito” which was not a typical burrito and was terrible. I had the Fajitas- overcooked, reheated meat in tortillas.

We certainly didn’t starve, but it isn’t the best food at an all inclusive either. Most of the restaurants offered a dessert buffet. Unfortunately it was always the same and the desserts were only fair. As I knew, room service was not included. We did not use it because the menu was very small and very expensive.

Bars::
We don’t drink that much, but didn’t find the bars here as good as at other all inclusive resorts. First, unlike other better resorts, most of the bars only offer pre-made frozen drinks in large icee machines. No blenders to make fresh drinks with fresh fruit and alcohol. Also, no light beer is offered. Additionally, certain better quality alcohol costs extra. The two “better” bars are the two in the lobby because they have blenders. Make sure to ask for a “dirty monkey” (chocolate/banana drink), “banana mama” (frozen banana and grenadine), and the “majestic” (frozen creamsicle drink). Only regular presidente beer is served at the hotel. As far as wine is concerned, we tried the house white and house rose wine. Both were fine. I didn't try the house red.

Grounds::
The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.

Pool: The long pool is beautiful and is really split into two sections (wall in the middle) and is beautiful. But it only 3-4 ft deep in all parts. One half of the pool has a swim up bar. The side of the pool with the swim up bar is colder then the half without the bar. (we have no idea why). Make sure to bring pool floats with you. While we were there (last week) the entire area around the pool was under construction- the surrounding pool patio area which was made of cracked cement was being replaced with tiles. This will look much better once completed.

Beach: Beach was nice with clear water. We recommend bringing water shoes because there are rocks in some places. If you snorkel you can see/feed some schools of fish. No reef is within swimming distance. We never had a problem getting chairs at the beach/pool around lunchtime. Don’t bother “reserving” chairs with a towel because rude people come by, take your towels, and put their stuff down. Three days we were there the pool towel service ran out of clean/dry towels. (TIP: lose your towel cards? Don’t pay the $20 for replacements. Instead, go get the same towels from the gym.)

Gym: We used the gym a number of mornings: It is very small with 2 treadmills, two ellipticals, two bikes, some free weights, and some equipment. No fans or air conditioning- extremely hot inside. As far as the gym is concerned, the elliptical machines really don't work very well. Make sure you are familiar with the metric system so you don’t try to lift too much. The tennis courts looked nice (although we didn't use them). The softball/soccer field is a joke- flooded and coming apart

Shows: The only show we went to was the Michael Jackson show which we both enjoyed.

Casino: The casino consists of about 24 slots, and 4 table games. Very small, so don’t expect much.

Sports Bar/Disco: The sports bar and the disco are in the same small room. We went to the sports bar one night to kill some time, it has one large projection tv. We never went to the disco.

Internet/Making Calls: Internet costs $5 for 30 minutes in the computer room. If you want to call the US, buy a calling card in the lobby or elsewhere. When using the calling card in your room, you’ll pay a $2 connection fee (when finished with each call don’t hang up- follow calling card prompts to keep making calls to prevent additional $2 fees).

The Beach Party is on Wednesday night, but because it rained it was cancelled. Friday night is vendor night where the locals bring in jewelry/paintings/crafts to sell. Make sure to haggle with them for way less then they ask for.

There is a photography shop on site where you can book a one hour photo session (no booking fee). You meet them, walk around the resort and take photos. Some come out well, some not so well. If you want to buy them, each pic costs $10 for a 6x8 for $20 for 8x10 or $30 for 12x18. Each pic costs an extra $10 to have it on cd. We bought 3 6x8 prints. (they won’t let you pay to put them on cd unless you buy 5 or more pics) So, we bought the 6x8 prints and we’ll scan and blow them up.

Service: Overall, the staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. The only exception was the two hostesses at the steakhouse and seafood restaurant who were actually quite rude.

Day Trips: there are about six “activities” desks at the MC. At each desk sits a representative from the major tour companies. They expect you to book with the person from the tour company that you booked your trip with. However, you can sit down with each of them to see if they offer something that your tour rep does not offer. There may be some difference in price as well. We took the day trip to Saona Island: Don’t waste your money. One of the worst vacation day trips we have ever taken.

Shopping: The hotel has about 10 shops itself: Harrisons’s jewelry (ridiculously overpriced- almost hilarious), cigar store (we were told by smokers that they were ridiculous), and other miscellaneous craft shops that were very overpriced. Instead, walk out to the main gate of the Majestic Hotels and go to the Punta Blanca Artisenal Shops (get souvenirs at WAY less). When we went we were told large oil paintings were $5-$25 before haggling. You can also buy tshirts, jewelry, and crafts.

The hotel does not have a free shuttle to the Palma Real Shopping Mall and we were told it would cost $50 round trip to go, so we didn’t bother. The only shops (outside the resort) within walking distance are the Punta Blanca Artisenal Shops (5-10 min walk) and the ones that are on the beach (30 min walk on the beach to the right).

Weather: I knew that this is the “rainy” month and it was. Out of 7 days, we had one sunny day, five completely cloudy days, and two almost completely rainy days. We also had some terrible thunderstorms at night. Resort lost power and it took the emergency generators a few minutes to kick in while you were in your room in complete darkness.

Overall, as I stated in the beginning of this review, this was a good vacation, but not a great one. For the price we paid, we had no major complaints. However, this was not a spectacular hotel and is only worth what we paid. We would only recommend this hotel if you get it at a great price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We enjoyed our stay at the Majestic and felt that 7 days was not long enough!"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lex  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
257 people found this review helpful

Our group of 4 stayed at Majestic Colonial from Apr 25-May 2. The resort is quite large and overall we had a wonderful time. We have been on a few all inclusives before so the below information is an unbiased opinion of what we experienced.

Flight (4/5): Air Canada Vacations – The seats were very roomy and you could pay extra for first class service, if you wanted. You are able to do an online check in 24hrs before your flight where you get to pick the seats you want. There was food for purchase on the flight (sandwiches, Pringles, etc). You can use your own personal earbuds to plug in and watch movies/tv shows on the screen in front of you.

Punta Cana Airport (4/5)– Very clean and smoothly run from what we saw. As soon as you walk into the airport your picture gets taken, which you can pay for when you get back to the airport for your return flight ($9 or $10US). There are several baggage handlers that try to take your bags for you to the bus, however a firm ‘no gracias’ will let them know you don’t need their service.

MC Checkin (4/5)– We were greeted with a cool, wet facecloth and MC’s signature drink – the Majestic. The cloth was so refreshing and the drink was DELISH! We drank several of these throughout the course of our trip! Checkin was smooth despite the large group of people checking in. We had arrived at about 10:30AM but were told our rooms wouldn’t be available until 330pm. Our luggage was left at the front of the lobby, so we could get into our bathing suits and relax by the bar, pool, beach, etc until our rooms were ready. Our only hiccup was the room we were given. We had requested floors 2 or 3 in building 2 or 3 and it seemed like we were given the exact opposite – 1st floor in building 1. (Building 2 & 3 face the pool – whereas 1 and 4 face the outside grounds. After speaking to someone at the lobby we managed to get a 2nd floor room. We were in ‘1’ (1207 & 1210) which faced a neighboring resort where their trolley often picked up people to go to the beach or somewhere. It wasn’t too bad as we did get to enjoy the sun a bit longer on our balcony.) --the first number is the building number, the 2nd number is your floor and the last 2 numbers are the room numbers. The lower the number, the closer to the lobby, buffet etc. The higher the number (45-50ish) the closer to the beach you are.

Room (3.5/5)– Like many have mentioned, the rooms are very large and spacious. There was a chilled bottle of champagne upon our arrival. We got a King Sized bed, several pillows, 2 robes, a bunch of towels (FYI – no facecloths, we had brought our own). The room also included a large Jacuzzi. Many people have commented on the open concept washroom area (the toilet is enclosed in a frosted glass door, however the tile and doors create a lot of acoustics – so be mindful of this!) We found the bed to be comfortable enough – but we are pretty easy going. Myself, I found the pillows to be too soft, but I just took the extra pillows and doubled up a bit. There is A/C in the room, which I found caused a LOT of dampness. The bed often felt wet from the humidity (which we only noticed in the rooms, mostly). Bring a scented candle or an air freshener as it will freshen up the room a bit – ours was quite musty smelling. We also noticed a lot of dirt (maybe mold) along the rims of the lampshades, which was kind of gross. Perhaps a result of the dampness? The housekeeper cleaned our room daily – we tipped ever other day or so. One day she left flowers in tissue on the faucet in the sink which was nice. I am quite glad she didn’t leave any flowers on the bedding as it seemed there were some teeny tiny bugs that came out of the flowers. They hung around in the bathroom sink all of the time, but we just swept them up with a tissue. No biggie, really. The mini bar was restocked every day with bottles of water, some pop and cervesa. Our first day there were 2 chocolate bars (Monchi) that were exactly like Nestle Crunch bars. There was no extra charge to consume what was in the minibar.

Pool (4/5)– The pool itself was VERY large – my boyfriend even went for a ‘pool hike’ and timed his walk – 9 ½ minutes to walk the length of the pool (this was walking IN the pool). The pool was a comfortable temperature, and VERY refreshing on the hot HOT days! I wish I brought floaties as they are not supplied by the resort. We did end up buying one from the shop for TWENTY dollars, so if you want to float around, go to your local dollar store and pick one up for MUCH less!!!!! (You will find them at the outside vendors which is right outside of the resort which are selling for about $12, and you could probably barter to a lower price). There are several loungers around the pool and only one day we couldn’t find a spot to sit, but we hadn’t gotten to the pool until 1pm. Close to the lobby there was a schedule of pool events which we didn’t find EVER took place. There was water polo and volleyball scheduled usually daily at 4pm but they never ever occurred. There is a volleyball net in the pool but when we asked for a volleyball we were told there wasn’t one. So we also had to buy one from the local store….

Beach (4/5): The beach is fantastic! The resort is situated on a part of the island that is VERY windy, so there are lots of waves. I had heard about Portuguese man o’ wars before I left so I was worried about getting stung by them. Luckily we didn’t see any when we were there, however I’ve heard SEVERAL people say they have. (Google Portuguese man o’war for more info… and be on the lookout!) It was not overly rocky in the water – but there were some rocks towards the center/left of the resort. If you walk to the right a bit, the ocean floor is all sand!

Food (3.5/5): The food was ok, but nothing great. I loved the crepes, French toast and Memosas at breakfast the most. There was no bacon the first two or last day we were there, but there always was ham. I enjoyed the steakhouse and the Japanese restaurant the most. We booked reservations on Sunday morning for the Japanese restaurant and the earliest availability was Thursday night at 930pm – if you wish to eat at this restaurant...book early! At the gourmet restaurant the men must wear long pants. We saw a few men who were asked to go back to their rooms to change. All of the food is included in the AI price, however if you want 'non house' wine, you'll pay extra for it. There is a wine menu at the Gourmet restaurant for bottles of wine ranging from $30+. We had been to Cuba and Punta Cana before without any problems, however this was the first trip that I’d ever had any stomach issues. I had an upset stomach the last few days of our stay, but it wasn’t anything terrible. We’d met someone who had more severe stomach problems and were forced to take runs to their room on occasion. Bring Pepto pills and Immodium to be safe. I can’t say what caused the problems, but something was off. -- Activities(3/5) – the nightly shows were ok. They didn’t last too long but were enjoyable. We never went to the disco or the casino. I heard from a few people that it seemed like almost everyone was losing at the casino. Some people thought something fishy was going on. We’d also heard that some of the dealers were less than pleasant. To the left of the casino there is an outdoor chess set, 2 pool tables, ping pong and fooseball which were fun to take part in at night. The pianist, Pablo, who plays in the upstairs area and in some of the evening shows was fantastic!! He is so friendly and plays amazing music!

Staff (5/5): Although this wasn’t our favorite all inclusive resort, we have to comment on the staff. The staff at the Majestic were fabulous! From what we experienced, everyone was so friendly, smiling and willing to accommodate your needs. At the buffet and restaurants there was ALWAYS someone ready to fill your water, clear your plate, or just engage in friendly conversation. We NEVER got the feeling that tips were expected… We tipped at almost every meal and noticed how sincere the employees were and gave us a genuine ‘gracias’.

Excursion(5/5): This year we only did one excursion which was the Fun Buggies (Pancho Rancho LLano). There was a mix of ATV and Dune buggies. We did the Dune buggies which was SO much fun. It was 2person/buggy and there were a mix of manual and automatic buggies. Everyone else I know who did this tour got to get down and dirty and muddy, however we did not go through any muddy areas. The tour took us to a beach (can’t think of the name of the beach right now) where we stayed for 15 min for some pictures. After this we were taken to a freshwater cave which was so much fun. There were children in the area who gave us drawings they made in school. After the cave dive we went for a brief horseback riding tour. The ranch itself is BEAUTIFULLY kept... a really nice spot to visit. This excursion was about $63US for a ½ day and well worth it! SO much fun!!!


The activities around the pool need to improve and some updates could be done to some of the rooms, however nothing was unmanageable. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Majestic and felt that 7 days was not long enough!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The room definitely had the musty smell everyone talks about."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry from Vastal, NY  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
223 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 15-21:
We arrived at the airport and went through a long, but realtively quick line to purchase our tourist cards for $10, just to hand them back at the next desk- the DR's way to pick up some extra money I guess. We booked our trip through CheapCaribbean and purchased the transport service. So after we got our luggage, we found the representative for Turinter transport and were quickly loaded onto a van. We were disappointed with the scenic drive to the resort due to garabage all along the road side. Check in was quick and simple and they accomodated the room requests we had asked for when booking. We also sent Annemarie an email with our requests. We went straight to our rooms (we arrived around 2:30 PM). No Majestic drink at check in, no biggie. There was a little confusion with Turinter transports- we were told to meet with their rep the following morning at 9:30, after waiting for 30 minutes, we finally discovered that there rep was in an area in the lobby where there are reps booking tours to various places. We were given our pick up time for departure and were on our way after that- they are trying to sell tours along with the transportation back to the airport.

Rooms::
The room definitely had the musty smell everyone talks about. We were on the second floor. I would not rate this hotel a 5 star, more like 3- 3 1/2. The bedding, curtains and pull out coach all need to be replaced. The room was clean and we had brought some candles to help with the smell. It is a very open floor plan, so being very comfortable with your roommate is important! We never had towel problems and the fridge was stocked everyday. We did leave a $2 tip for the maid everyday. Our room was always made up by the time we returned to the room around 3 pm. Our room was at the end of the hall, closest to the lobby and there is a large theater directly across from the rooms. There is a show every night from 10-11pm and it was very loud, so if you like to go to bed early, ask for a room towards the middle or the beach end.

Restaurants and Bars::
We went to the main buffet everyday for breakfast. The staff throughout the resort were all wonderful, friendly people. Many tried to help us with our spanish. The buffet had many choices for breakfast and the coffee is wonderful! We ate at all of the resturants... the main buffet was best for breakfast and lunch. There is a smaller buffet at the Steak restuarant by the beach for breakfast and lunch. This is where we typically had lunch. The food consisted of chicken, burgers, pasta, fruits and salads, and was ok. The French Restaurant was wonderful, though stay away from the lobster bisque- it was awful. The Japanese restaurant was wonderful and the Steak Restaurant was very good. It is not gourmet food by any stretch of the imagination, but good. I am a big white wine drinker and I have to say the house wine was barely ok, the red was awful( that is all that is included in the all inclusive- otherwise there are other options for a price). Presidente beer is the only choice included in the all inclusive. They frequently ask if you want rum in your drinks- well yeah! There is not a lot of consistancy in how a drink is made or how much alcohol there is in a drink. We had Dirty Monkeys and if you give them bananas(just make sure there is a blender- not all of the bars have blenders) they will use the banana for your drink. You should try Mamajuana- it is the Dominican Drink. We did bring our bubba kegs with us and they were fine with filling them up for us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The grounds, beach and pool are beautiful. We walked up and down the beach and it is the best stretch of beach compared to the Moon, Rui, and Bahia Principe. There are palapas everywhere- we did do the towel game and put towels on our chairs early, but there were always plenty of chairs throughout the day. Topless is ok at the beach and we saw some people at the pool- many who should rethink their decision! The water is fairly rough for snorkeling, so we never even tried it. The pool is nice and there were typically chairs there as well. It does tend to be littered with empty cups along the sides, by the end of the day, but that's thanks to the guests. You can exchange your wet towels as often as needed- just remember to collect your towel card prior to check out.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We didn't do any tours, but we did take the 5 minute walk to Playa Blanca- the small shopping plaza by the hotel- go out the main lobby and head down the road to the right, once through the gaits, it's straight ahead on the right. Be ready for 20 or so shops, side by side, and being hearded in by the workers for high pressure sales/bartering. All of the shops for the most part, have the same stuff.

Other Comments::
We brought plenty of 1 dollar bills and tipped everybody, but we too were amazed at how few people we saw tipping. We would see some of the waiters we had at breakfast later at dinner. A lot of these people are bussed in from various parts of the island, work long days and make very little and yet they were always cheerful. A word to those traveling from the US- you cannot take the mamajuana bottles of just the herbs back into the US- you have to add rum to it or it won't get through security at the DR airport. Our friends we were traveling with had to throw their bottle away at security. We have traveled to a number of other destinations and would say that St John, St Thomas and Bermuda are nicer islands. We would not return to the DR.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach wedding was awesome."

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Barb from Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
226 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 27 - April 10
Greeted by nice young lady who gave us a "Majestic" drink, which was very good. We arrived at 1:00p.m. and the rooms were not ready. We were part of a bigger party that was coming for a wedding. We requested a room overlooking the pool and Janet was very accomodating. We were able to get into our room by 3. Unfortunately for the bride and groom, they were not able to get into their room until 5.

Rooms
Room was clean. We had no problem with the fact that the bathroom and the actual room set up. Shower was nice and big. Always clean towels and face cloths. Maid did a great job of keeping us in good supply and if by chance laundry was late, she always came in the evening and gave us the towels that we were missing. Fridge was well stocked and staff was very accomodating when we requested more water to be left. The balcony overlooked the pool which we really enjoyed.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffet had a huge selection. We figured out that it was necessary to tour the entire area before choosing what we wanted, to avoid overeating. There was fresh fish grilled every night, as well as fresh chicken or beef. Fresh pasta section was great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Loved the pool that ran the length of the hotel. Always a chair poolside or at the beach. Never had to search for a chair to sit in. Grounds were well manicured. Staff was on the beach daily to clean up debris that had washed up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We spent our time relaxing and taking part in the celebration of the marriage of our son and daughter in law. Had a great time. The beach wedding was awesome.

Other Comments
We enjoyed our stay. To be honest, there were some small troubles encountered by different people in our party, but it was all correctable. We enjoyed our stay and would return for another visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* We really liked this hotel"

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Dec 1, 2008  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2008
244 people found this review helpful

December 2006 and December 2008

I originally wrote this review in December 2006. We stayed at Majestic Colonial for 5 days in November 2008, as a result of which I have updated some of the information in this review.

Arrival:
Our second week in Punta Cana was at Majestic Colonial, a $15.00 cab ride away from Palma Real.. Majestic Colonial is located immediately south of Grand Paradise Bavaro. (November 2008 – the new Majestic Elegance is right next door to Majestic Colonial). It is about 30 minutes from Punta Cana Airport, 90 minutes from La Romana Airport, and 3-1/2 hours from Santo Domingo Airport.

As you enter the hotel the front desk is located to the left, guest services and the lobby bar and seating is located to the right. There is a staircase down to the ground level, also a glass panel elevator. Checkin was quick, we received our wristbands and an information package consisting of two room keys (don’t lose them or they’ll charge you $90.00), a map of the resort and information regarding the resort restaurants and facilities, and then the bellboy took us to our room.

The rooms at Majestic are beautiful, large and nicely decorated. We were in a second floor Oceanfront Junior Suite, steps from the pool and beach.

The room had a king-size bed, a Jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower with a glass door and separate toilet stall with glass door, 2 double sinks. We always had hot water. The living area had a sofabed, desk, and coffee table. The room is open concept, ie there is no division or privacy between the Jacuzzi tub and the rest of the room, which could be a problem for families staying in one room. It looks beautiful, but it would be nice if they could add a curtain or blinds that could be put down to afford some privacy when using the tub.

Amenities in the bathroom included a basket with shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, sewing kit, shower cap, comb, shoeshine sponge, Kleenex. There is also a makeup mirror and hair dryer.

In the closet you will find lots of shelves and space for your clothes. There are also 3-drawer nightstands to put things in. Don’t put your things in the cupboard closest to the door. This is a room service unit that can be accessed by staff from the outside to deliver room service orders or collect dishes and laundry.

In the closet there is an electronic safe (included), big enough to hold a laptop. I have a 15.4” widescreen and it fit just fine, you just have to put it in vertically on an angle and prop it up at the back of the safe.

Bathrobes and slippers, along with an iron and ironing board, are in the closet.

Glasses and a bottle of champagne awaited us, and later they brought a small bottle of rum. All guests receive a bottle of champagne in their room on arrival, the bottle of rum or whisky is in the upgraded rooms and suites only. Two bath towels and two hand towels are provided (plus you get two extra towels if you are lucky enough to get swans). Facecloths were kind of hit and miss, some days we had them and other days we didn’t. I had brought one from home, though, so it didn’t really matter.

We had 4 pillows in our room. Two were flat and lumpy, two were just flat. I do understand they have ordered new pillows.

The room had a phone, and TV with North American, French, Russian, Italian, Spanish, and South American channels. (They get CNN).

Air-conditioning worked well, and there was also a ceiling fan.

The minibar was replenished daily, and contained 2 beer, 4 pop (they had Diet Pepsi), and 4 bottles of water, along with 2 chocolate bars. Bottled water is also readily available at all the bars.

There were plastic chairs and a table on the patio, mid-week these were replaced with brand new aluminum chairs. November 2008 – we had a ground-floor Junior Suite this time, I like the upper floors better.

Room Descriptions:
All of the Junior Suites at Majestic are the same. size. Upgrades are related to location or whether they have an outdoor Jacuzzi or larger terrace. Following is a list of the various junior suites and suites available.

Standard Junior Suite – 538 square feet
Contains one King or two double beds, Colonial style furniture, Full bathroom with jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, bathrobe and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, direct phone line ($), Hi-speed internet connection ($), Room Service ($), free minibar restocked daily, free safety deposit box, separate door for room service, desk and sofa in living area, balcony or terrace with table and 2 chairs. pool or garden view. Maximum occupancy - 2 adults and 2 children or 3 adults.

Majestic Junior Suite – 538 square feet
Same as Standard Junior Suite on interior, with the following extras:
Outdoor Jacuzzi located on terrace, private garden area with direct access to swimming pool, all located on ground floor, two lounge chairs in garden area.
No children allowed in these rooms, adults only. Maximum occupancy 2 adults (The terrace for these rooms is private in that there is no path in front of you so nobody can walk by, but people sitting around the pool have a clear view of these rooms. Maybe when the gardens grow a little bit more it will be more private. It would be nice if a lattice of some kind was put up in front of the outdoor Jacuzzi to give privacy – I don’t think they’re used too often.)

Colonial Junior Suite – 538 square feet
Same as standard junior suite on interior, with the following extras:
Outdoor Jacuzzi on private terrace, rooms located on 2nd and 3rd floors, pool or garden view. No children allowed in these rooms, only for adults. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. (Third floor Colonial Junior Suites are nice, they have vaulted ceilings)

Majestic Suite – 1,076 square feet
One bedroom suite with two separate areas, living room and bedroom, divided by sliding door. Living room area has a desk with internet connection and telephone, 29” TV, two sofas, and a balcony. Bedroom area is the same as a junior suite. Garden or pool view with large terrace. All suites are located on the 4th floor. Children allowed in these rooms – Maximum occupancy 2 adults and 2 children.

Colonial Suite – 1,076 square feet
Same as Majestic Suite but with an outdoor Jacuzzi on the terrace. Pool view. Children allowed in these rooms – Maximum occupancy 2 adults and 2 children.
They also have a Presidential Suite which is over 1,600 square feet, and has a huge rooftop terrace – very impressive. You could have a party for 100 people up there.
They have some specially-equipped rooms for disabled people, ie. wider doors, grab bars. Clock-radios are being added to all the rooms, both Junior Suites and Suites. Coffeemakers in the suites only are being replaced with Nespresso coffee makers, and DVD players and a stereo system are also going to be added to the Suites only.

Guest Services:
Annemarie is guest services manager at Majestic Colonial (as of November 2008). It is at guest services that you make reservations for the Gourmet and Japanese Restaurants, and they can also make reservations for golf, and help you with any other questions or concerns you have. You can contact guest services at: pr@majesticcolonial.com

Changes to All-Inclusive Plan
Changes were being made to the all-inclusive plan, effective December 23, 2006, as follows (as far as I know this information is still correct in November 2008):

All international premium liquors will be included for North American guests (while we were there only a few were included, the rest were available at an extra cost). There will still be an additional cost for beer other than Presidente and wine other than the house wine.

Room service is available in the Standard Junior Suites at additional cost, but as of December 11 will be included in the upgraded Junior Suites and Suites.

Grounds/Pool
There are a lot of ponds and fountains throughout the resort. Christmas lights were everywhere, with a big decorated Christmas tree in the lobby. It is beautiful at night with everything lit up.

The huge swimming pool runs through the length of the resort. It’s length provides several different areas to sit in, some more quiet than others. Found the pool water cold, but refreshing. It’s quite a shallow pool, less than 4 feet deep I think. There is also a small kids’ pool in the area of the main pool. We liked to sit at the end of the pool nearest the beach, it was quiet there. The area around the swim-up bar in the middle was where the Activities staff hung out, and then there were quieter areas up closer to the lobby.

The hotel was 85 – 90 per cent full the week we were there, and it didn’t seem crowded. There were lots of chairs available, even after 9 a.m. in the morning. (November 2008 – the hotel was completely full and it still never seemed crowded, and we were always able to find a spot at the beach.)

Beach
The beach is beautiful, you see lots of people walking the beach every day. The Bahia Principe hotel is about a 10 minute walk down the beach, and the new Riu Palace is about 20 minutes away. Grand Paradise is right beside Majestic to the north.

There are lots of palapas on the beach, no problem finding a place to sit.

Weather and Bugs
There was no problem at all with bugs or mosquitos the week we were there. The weather was generally good. It was quite windy the beginning of the week, but the winds calmed down toward the end of the week. It did rain at some point almost every day, but didn’t last long. Temperatures were in the mid-80’s during the day, dropped to the 70’s at night, it was very comfortable.

Restaurants:
You can eat at the a la carte restaurants as much as you want (if you can get reservations) There is a limit of 4 bookings under one room number. The Japanese and Gourmet restaurants are the only ones you need reservations for, best to make them as soon as you arrive. While most people did dress up a little for the a la carte restaurants, the only restaurant that enforces a dress code for men is the Gourmet restaurant - long pants and a collared shirt required. No "muscle shirts" allowed at any of the restaurants at dinnertime.

Main Buffet Restaurant
The main buffet restaurant is open from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. for breakfast, 12:30 p.m. to 3.00 p.m. for lunch, and 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. for dinner. It is enclosed and air-conditioned, up near the lobby.

They had a fairly good selection of food. Fresh-made omelettes in the morning were my favourite. The crepes were also good. They did have some pre-made omelettes, fried eggs, pancakes, etc., but I found these were cold. Toast always took a long time, had to put it through the toaster several times. (November 2008 – enjoyed the food in the buffet, felt it had improved from the first time we were there. Their pre-made stuff in the mornings was still cold though). At lunch time they had pizza, salads, cold cuts, as well as different meats, fish and vegetables, fresh bread and rolls. The rice and red beans was my favourite. They also have a pasta bar. I like their French fries, but they’re really greasy.

At dinner there was a choice of meat and fish, vegetables, salads, rolls, etc. as well as pasta. You could always find something you liked. There was fresh fruit and deserts, but not a large selection. We only had dinner here once, as we went to all of the a la carte restaurants.

A hostess will seat you when you enter the buffet restaurant, and then someone will take your drink order. I usually like to drink white wine, but I did not like the white wine they served in this restaurant at all. I did not try the red wine. Some of the a la carte restaurants had a different white wine that I liked better.

La Hispaniola Beach Restaurant
Open from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. for continental breakfast Open from 12:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. for lunch and snacks This is an open air restaurant at the beach/pool area. At night it becomes the Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurants. We had lunch here a couple of times. They serve hamburgs, hotdogs, salads, and usually a paella or something with fish in it., and also have a pasta bar. I had a hamburger here the first day and it was still pink in the middle, so that kind of turned me off. Had pasta another day, that was very good. (November 2008 – they had added a sandwich station, where you could get a sandwich made to order).

Never tried the continental breakfast there, it opens too late, and it didn’t really seem to have “breakfast” foods, there were things like cheese and ham and dinner rolls.

November 2008 – service very good, plates cleared right away, or in some cases before you finished eating, ie. Pat had a hamburger on his plate and picked it up to take a bite and his plate was taken away :)

Steakhouse – Rodeo Grill
Open 6:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. (in half of the Hispaniola Beach Restaurant) This was my favourite restaurant, we ate here a couple of times and had the Chateaubriand, and it was very good. There is also a Caesar salad station where you can get fresh Caesar salad.

We ate here again in November 2008 – was very good, but service was a little too fast in this restaurant.. Someone was there to take our order before we even had a chance to open the menu.

Seafood Restaurant – Tres Carabelas
Open 6:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. (in other half of Hispaniola Beach Restaurant)
We don’t like fish, so didn’t eat here.

Le Gourmet Restaurant – requires reservations
No shorts allowed. No kids under 12.
Open 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
This restaurant is located up at the lower lobby. Had the Surf and Turf and Pat had a chicken dish, both were good. The other entrees on the menu were seafood.

Oriental “Matsuri” Restaurant
Open 6:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

This is actually two separate dining areas – one is the Teppanyaki tables – you have to make a reservation for this. This is show cooking where the food is cooked in front of you. It was good. At the end of the meal they give you a shot of “mamajuana” to try, the Dominican cure-all. Actually, I think they had a jug of it in all the restaurants. (November 2008 – we ate here again, didn’t enjoy it as much as the first time. No mamajuana served.) The other section of this restaurant is the Chinese portion, no reservations are needed to eat here. We had the chicken chow mein and Szechwan beef. Appetizer choices were egg rolls or won ton soup. It was pretty good. There is also a buffet sushi bar.

Caribbean Taino Restaurant
Open 7:00 p.m. to midnight for dinner

This is also a “two-part” restaurant. They have a buffet of Dominican/Mexican food, as well as a menu you can order from. You can just have the buffet if you want, or just order from the menu, or have both. We had a 3-meat entrée with baked potato from the menu, and also sampled some stuff from the buffet.

(November 2008 – we ate here again, it’s pretty much the same)

Bars
Piano Bar (upper level of lobby) – open 9 a.m. to midnight
Lobby Bar (ground floor) – open 5 p.m. to 1 a.m.
Sports Bar/Disco – open 11 p.m. to 7 a.m.
Theatre Bar – open 8 p.m. to midnight
Plaza Bar – open 5 p.m. to midnight
Pool Bar – open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Swimup Bar – open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Beach Bar – open 9 a.m. to midnight

As of December 11/06 all international liquors are included for North Americans.

Beer – Presidente Beer is included in the all-inclusive. Other beers such as Coronna, Budweiser, Bud Light, Miller, or Heineken are $3.00U.S. a bottle.

They make good Caesars, they have Clamato juice! Their welcome drink, the “Majestic” is also really good. In the evening, outside the lobby, they set up a table with hors d’oeuvres and serve a special drink, I think it was something different every night.

Entertainment and Activities:
There is a big board just outside the entrance to the lobby that tells what the activities and entertainment are for the week.

During the day the activities staff has pool games and contests in the area of the swimup bar and on the beach.. On Caribbean Street near the front of the resort is a games area with a giant chessboard, foosball, two pool tables, and a pingpong table. They also have games and books to lend out..

Next to this area is a well-equipped gym (included).

Tennis courts (day and night) are located at the front of the resort, and they are going to be adding a baseball diamond as well as walking trails through the mangroves

At night, after dinner, people would congregate in the lobby areas, or wander through the shopping areas. There is a Harrison’s jewellery store off the lobby on the Reception level, they have beautiful stuff. There is also a clothing store (very expensive) (November 2008 – the clothing store is gone, and has been replaced by the internet lounge), and a cigar shop. On the “Caribbean Street” adjacent to the lobby is where you’ll find a Mini-Mart, souvenir shops, paintings, Internet Centre, the Sports Bar/Disco where you can watch sports games on big screen TV’s, and the casino and theatre. They were in the process of opening up a “café” where you could get late night snacks. We never went to the disco, but drinks are included.

(November 2008 – internet lounge has moved to the lobby, they now have a place here called La Bodeguita del Majestic where you can get late night snacks such as burgers and wings. It is open from 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.) On Dominican night vendors had stalls set up around the lobby entrance.

There is a beautiful theatre where they put on evening shows. The seating is very very comfortable – I fell asleep there one night. We actually only watched a couple shows for a short while. There was an Acrobatic show, a Michael Jackson show (I’ve only seen about 25 of them). Others that we missed – Ideal Couple, His and Hers, Magician show. A waitress will come around and take your drink orders in the theatre.

What we enjoyed the most was the saxophone player that played in the outdoor plaza every evening. There are tables and chairs here, and bar service, and it was nice to just sit back and relax and listen to him play.

There is a casino with table games and slot machines. Drinks are included. Pat played Blackjack one night and ended up about $50.00 ahead.

Kids Club
There is a Kids’ Club for ages 3 to 7, located near the front of the resort near the theatre. Next to that is a Teens Club for ages 8 to 14. They are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. The Kids’ Club looked interesting with its castle and swimming pool. Parents are encouraged to go there with their children

Golf
There are several golf courses in the area – Cocotal Golf Course, White Sands Golf Course, and Punta Blanca – contact Guest Services for information and pricing and to make reservations.

Majestic Spa
A nice full-service spa, with indoor treatment rooms, as well as massage beds at the beach. There is a water entrance that connects to the pool. In this area are outdoor spa tubs and showers that you can use for free. I didn’t discover until the last day that the spa tubs actually had hot water in them. In fact, the whole pool area around the spa entrance is much warmer than the rest of the pool. I did go in one day for a massage – 55 minutes for $80.00 U.S. Also had a nail polish change done for $10.00 U.S. (hands and feet).

(November 2008 – went for a massage which was very nice, also had a nail polish change done)

Hair Braiding and Tattoos:
Next to Mariana Watersports at the beach is a place where you can get your hair braided, or temporary henna tattoos. I paid $7.00 U.S. for 5 braids. Also got a temporary tattoo on my ankle for $15.00 U.S. that’s supposed to last two weeks. She said to come back the day I was leaving and she would touch it up for free, but I never bothered.

T-Shirt Painting(New in November 2008)
Antonio has a place at the beach where he will handpaint a t-shirt for you. We had him make a few with our logo and name on the front and the website URL on the back – he did an awesome job. (If any of the forum members are interested in buying a “Debbie’s” shirt, just ask him about it – you could probably get your forum name added on the shirt as well.

Money Exchange
There is an ATM machine in the lobby as you enter where you can get pesos, or you can exchange money at the front desk. If you take U.S. cash, there is really no need to change it into pesos.

Watersports
Mariana Watersports is located at the beach. Included items are snorkel equipment, boogie boards, ocean kayaks, and a scuba clinic in the pool. Also included are catamarans and windsurfers, but these require a security deposit, ie. credit card, and must be reserved one day in advance. Here you can also book fishing trips, parasailing, boat trips, etc.

Tours
The tour operators have desks in the upper lobby area where you can book excursions – jeep tours, boat trips, 4-wheelers, day trip to Santo Domingo, trip to Altos de Chavon, boat trip to Catalina Island, horseback riding, etc

Internet Lounge
November 2008 - The Internet Centre is located off the lobby. About 8 computer terminals, lots of comfortable seating and tables and chairs. Internet cost is $5. for 30 minutes. If you bring your laptop, you can get internet in your room for $10.00 U.S. a day. (good idea to bring your own cable).

Weddings
There were lots of weddings at this resort while we were there, either on the beach or at the gazebo in the gardens near the lobby. Information on their new wedding package will be posted shortly on our Weddings Page along with contact information.
Medical Services and Pharmacy Located near the theatre.

Late Checkout
If you have a late flight, you might be able to get late checkout. The cost is $40.00 (up to 6:00 p.m.). You will have to go to the front desk the day before you leave to see if a late checkout is available for your room. Note that you must take your room cards to the front desk and have them re-programmed before 12 noon on the day you are leaving, otherwise you will be locked out of your room at noon, even if you arranged for the late checkout.
If you do have to vacate your room, they have showers adjacent to the reception area.

Summary
We really liked this hotel. Accommodations are beautiful, the grounds and pool are nice, the food was fine, and the staff and service were great. Management seems committed to continually make improvements to the resort. There are lots of things to do if you want to, or you can just “veg out” at the pool or beach.

If you have any other questions about Majestic, you can e-mail me.

Special thanks to Ricardo Espinosa and “Majestic Mike”, for all your assistance during our stay.

November 2008 – the hotel was as great as I had remembered!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube