Riu Merengue Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Victorian House

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 30, 2014

Riu Mambo

4.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2014

Riu Bachata

4.1 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 29, 2014

Be Live Grand Marien

4.0 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 17, 2014

Riu Merengue  

Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

"too many locals"
Posted by: rita on Jun 27, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Merengue Reviews
Riu Merengue Pictures and Information
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#10
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 3.4

Based on 18 reviews

Riu Merengue Information


Set amidst tropical gardens and surrounded by mountains, the deluxe Riu Merengue is a beachfront village-style resort, located just 15 minutes from beautiful Puerto Plata.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Merengue Reviews

Riu Merengue Review: 3.4 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 18

"too many locals"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  rita  on Jun 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
27 people found this review helpful

This hotel has been around for quite some time and you could tell but that didnít stop the top notch service they offer to their guests or customers. The only problem I had with this place was that there were too many locals on the weekends. The hotel is quite spacious and so are the rooms and the staff and everybody you meet here was friendly. I really donít like the weekends here because everything changes including the food menu and quality just to accommodate the massive influx and that wasnít cool. Even the staff on weekends look like they canít cope but they really at the best at what they do so no complains there, even the hotel manager tries to make you comfortable but there is only so much he can do. This influx makes the whole thing change and the pool becomes crowded and then you hardly find staff to talk to about any concerns you have. The main restaurant here serves three times a day meal and they taste really nice except on the weekends. The pool is clean and nice but itís not large, it is adequate though. There was free WIFI for us to utilize at this hotel but it was limited to 90 minutes a day and that was more than enough considering Iím in DR. The only problem is that you can only use this internet service at the lobby or at the main restaurant so it was a bit frustrating for me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BEST HOTEL IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  jack  on Mar 22, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
69 people found this review helpful

I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Puerto Plata and have got to admit this is the best of all places. Their property gives you the real Dominican Feeling instead of a plastic hotel.
Food was great and employees are super nice. I only wish I could stay here for 6 months.
They also offer a special treat on weekends. Locals can stay at the hotel and they are a lot of them that come. They are the nices people, and unlike American parents, they really watch their kids. Seeing and visiting with them was like receiving a free trip. We sure learned a lot from them.I look forward towards staying here again in November and again visiting with the locals.
Food was super. I did not go to any of the special restaurants, sin the buffet has anything you may like.
Booze, what can I say. They had enough to keep us happy.

Arrival:
Flaco (he really is real fat) carries you bags and arrives at your room when you do.

Rooms:
Rooms are super sized with a large patio

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant and employees are super in the bugget. Look for Sandy and his brother, they both go out of their way to make you happy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Unlike grounds an other hotels, you have to stay here to realize it is the best grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great shows, but we did not do any activities since we came over to relax.

Other Comments:
We have stayed in every other hotel in Puerto Place during the past 20 years, and I can report if you don't visit this place, you are missing the real Dominican life style.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time."

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  J.  on Dec 11, 2013  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
147 people found this review helpful

This is our fourth trip to the Rue complex, the first time at the Merengue, the experience was good,

Room Number:
1203

Arrival:
From the moment we arrived at the Rue til the time on way to room was 10 minutes. The luggage arrived 10 minutes later.
The welcome drink was nice after the bus ride to the resort

Rooms:
The room was close to Carabean street back a bit from the ocean, about hafeway between the Merengue and the Bashada. It was quite large,two double beds, a nice large balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate in the buffet restaurant, the service was good even on the weekend when the locals came in. They were very pleasant, not rude. In two days the staff knew what you liked to drink and brought it without being asked.

The bars at all the resorts were efficient, again they got to know you and were very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are kept immaculate, the beach was raked each day. There were plenty of loungers, some people put towels on them but it was not really necessary.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not go off the resort having been in the Dominican Republic a great many times to various resorts.

Other Comments:
The experience wa good and we will go back. The staff were interested in us, the Sunwing Rep. was there 6 days out of seven and helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The service was awful. No one came to us to see if we need anything. "

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Catalina  on Sep 22, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
190 people found this review helpful

The first day we had a problem with our air conditioner in the room. We ask to change us to another room. They ask if we needed help with the luggages. They should not have ask. We ask for an iron we had to take it to the room and they had no ironing board. We had ask for bottles of water in our room they gave us a bag and we had to take it to the room ourselves. Another day we called the service desk for bottles of water twice we called never came had to get it ourselves again. Mattresses were outside of hallways next to our room wasn't removed. Radio was not working in room. If we were at the beach or pool no one came to ask us if we needed anything. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Arrival:
Didn't feel welcomed

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. Bartenders as well

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No one came to us to ask us if we need anything.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were a repeat. Same thing everyday. Nothing different

Other Comments:
I would not go there again. And the worst of it. That was my first experience in Donovan republic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best ever in the D.R."

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brandy  on Apr 28, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
457 people found this review helpful

I can not say enough good about this Resort. The rooms were amazing, the Staff so friendly and helpful and definitly go out of there way to help you or serve you.

Room Number:
1087

Room Block:
Suite

Arrival:
I will Start off with our arrival. Upon arriving to the resort our room was not ready but our friends room was so we used theirs until our suite was ready. The staff at the desk we so nice to us and always had a smile on their faces. The bell hops were great as well and work really hard. The grounds are immaculate. The pool is very large and clean. The restaurants we large as well and clean. The bathrooms around the resort are very well maintained as their is a maid posted in every one. The maids are all so friendly even though some of them can't speak much english. We especially like one who was funny her name was Benita.

Rooms:

The rooms were fabulous. We had a suite on the second floor ocean view. Their was different towel art every day which was always nice to see. And if you left a note in your fridge with a tip the gentlemen who fills your fridge will leave you more stuff. Only one tip will get you extra stuff the whole week. The maids didn't always come the same time everyday but that's not a big deal. Sheets were all clean as well as the towels. Also we never heard anyone walking on the path below us so it wasn't at all like others have said in their reviews. Their were however some Canadians there for a wedding who caused allot of trouble by trashing rooms and getting so drunk they were going through other people's patio doors and trashing their rooms and they didn't even know them. I think some people should just grow up that is all that is. Thank god we were not even remotely close to where their rooms were. Yes the t.v.'s need to be upgraded but for as much time as you spend in your room what does it matter. And as far as others saying there are only 1 or 2 english channels. I found at least 6 so there are more then you think. Some times you just have to wait for the commercials to get over with to find out.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was unbelievable. Their was so many options to choose from i couldn't believe it. There were two side to the buffet plus huge areas with desserts, fruits and salads. The breakfast menu consisted of many different items even though i stuck to scrambled eggs and bacon everyday there was still many other choices. The waiters were on the whole fabulous. We only had one time at lunch where we kind of had to get our own water but not a big deal. One waiter who i have yet to see mentioned on here is Rafael. He reserved our table ever night for use for supper, he had our glasses filled with water the minute he seen us coming into the dining room. By the second night he knew our drinks and had them all ready at the time he knew we wanted them he also had little sayings written on the table for us out of lentil beans. I will post pictures for you all to see. We are so sad we couldn't bring him with us. He was so sweet. We also met the manager of the resort one evening in the dining room. He came to our table and started chatting a bit them asked my husband to say 10 words in spanish and he would get us a bottle of champagne so with my help and my friends help we got a nice bottle of champagne. He spoke to us every day there after. His name is Sosa. Great guy.

The bar Staff are so great. They always had my drinks ready before my last one finished and they were very busy but always came to the ones who make them laugh. I have to mention a few. Sexy Boy, Simon, Ramon you are all fantastic.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was so nice not too cold not too hot. Always clean and lots of room until the weekend lol. The pool towels were all clean and the towel guy was there from morning till night.

The weekend yes the locals take over but they have a right to come stay there as well. I never once ran into any of them being rude of butting in front of me at the meal line or at the bar. They did however take over the pool lol. We could of went swimming but there was just too many of them. I did speak to one in the buffet line and he walked in front of me and i wasn't concerned and told him to go a head since his women was in front of me but he looked at me and said no you go a head. So they aren't as bad as they are made out to be.

The beach i absolutely beautiful. We brought water shoes cause so many people said we should but we never used them once. We swam at the mambo beach just down from the merengue. Less coral reef there. Lots of beach chairs as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were plenty of entertainment going on throughout the whole day and the entertainment staff were great and funny and spoke to everyone. I have to mentino Tequilla and Spaghetti and Cheeky Monkey. They were great and up beat and always seen and heard. The night shows weren't the best but they weren't the worst either. Their games or contest at night before there shows are great. Did participate in one and won a bottle of rum so it wasn't all a loss lol.

Other Comments:
The weather couldn't of been better in fact it was too hot two days in a row at 36 feeling like 41. But it didn't rain at all until late monday evening and most of the day tuesday but hey to have sun for the whole week and rain the last day isn't too bad.

All in all i would definitly recommend this resort to anyone and will return again. We met some great friends and locals and will keep in touch with them all. If you listen to all the bad reviews you are missing out tremendously. I am a very picky eater and found something to eat and filled my belly everyday.

Just remember it's your vacation you make it they way you want it to be and make the most of it. Stay grounded remember where you are and enjoy it. It is a beautiful place to be and i have only been home for a full day and couldn't wait to let everyone know what a great time i had.
Room Tip: Any room close to the pool area and beach would be the best only because you are close to everything...


We also met another great worker from the dreams casino on the Riu Bacahata resort his name was Julio. Or as i have nicknamed him Brown Sugar. He was great and enjoyed hanging around with us.

Photos: http://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowUserReviews-g147290-d150853-r128677887-ClubHotel_Riu_Merengue-Puerto_Plata_Dominican_Republic.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The 'Don't care' resort"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Priya  on Jan 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
511 people found this review helpful

We went for a 7 day all inclusive vacation to the Merengue with 2 other families. The resort is very impressive, the food was good and the beach amazing. It is a great place to go to if you only want to spend all your time on the beach. The problem starts if you want to do any activities. The resort offers various activities through Scuba Caribe (or at least we thought it was resort approved as it is on the premises). We signed up for ATV rides. We were planning to take our kids with us (aged between 8 to 13) and wanted to be sure it was safe. The tour operator ensured that it was very safe - that it was smooth, leisurely ride through flat lands. After a lot of debating, we decided to do it. But the rides turned out to be totally different - there were no flat lands - it was all ups and downs. We were accompanied by the guide, the mechanic and the mechanic's 12 year old son. The little kid was generally hyper, jumping on the ATVs (we had 5 ATVs in total) trying to 'help' us navigate. During one such episode involving the ATV I was on, he hit the accelerator instead of the brakes while going downhill and the ATV went out of control. I was thrown off, the ATV flipped and landed on me. The most appalling thing was that the tour operator had no first aid kit or safety procedure in place. It took over 2 agonizing hours for someone to come get us to the hospital.

I escaped without any broken bones, but had numerous injuries that apparently would take months to heal. We tried to meet with the Customer service manager at Riu and tell him that the person operating on their premises wasn't even following basic safety procedures - his reaction shocked us - he said he doesn't care. The only reason we even thought about going on that ride was because it was on their premises and we assumed it would be safe. Wrong! According to the manager, as long as they got rent money, they would rent out space to anyone. He said it was 'business'. He doesn't care what happened to guests - the same applies apparently to food poisoning or anything that happened on the hotel premises. Shocking! He said that the hotel has no responsibility what so ever in regards to safety of guests. And that we 'Anglo-Saxons' expect special treatment everywhere.

We are done with Riu after this experience. It is atrocious that anyone could even talk like that. So future guests - be aware. You are fine and will have a great experience as long as nothing goes wrong. If it does, you are on your own.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"12-23-11 12-28-11"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sheryl  on Jan 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
485 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Riu Merengue. Only one complaint is we were in a room to far from the hotel lobby. It is hard for us to walk back and forth.
The grounds are very neet and clean is all of the resorts in the Riu resort.
Our room was very nice and was kept very clean. We enjoyed the food very much.
All of the staff were very good and very helpful. We would go back again.

We would like to thank VIP tours for the wonderful trips. We went on the
Mega Truck Tour and also the City tour. Both were very enjoyable thanks to the very good staff on each. Thanks Jason for setting them up for us.

We had a wonderful and relaxing time. We spent our 53rd. wedding anniversary enjoying your wonderful hotel and grounds.

Geno & Sherry

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great week with family, new friends, good food and the best entertainment."

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherrie  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
738 people found this review helpful

First time my parents had gone to an all inclusive island instead of cruising and they loved it.

Room Block:
One row from the ocean! Great!

Arrival:
We booked through Sunwing and flew out of Toronto at 5 pm Sunday night. Landed @ 10 pm in Puerto Plata. Quickly got our luggage and got in our coach bus to resort.

Rooms:
Nice room. Tipped the beer delivery guy for more. Disappointed that there now are no liquor dispensers in room.

Restaurants and Bars:
We loved that you can eat and drink at the other 2 Riu hotels and they were all very close. Food at buffet was very good and even had deviled eggs with cavier for lunch one day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Less busy than at Punta Cana with no fighting over chairs any place or at any time of the day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment employees were excellent and really wanted to make your holiday great. We really enjoyed the barbeque on the beach, drinks from coconuts, Caribean Street Dance and the Beach Party.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"check your belongs daily because the maid is."

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  yolette  on Jun 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
893 people found this review helpful

2 twin beds pushed together to make one big bed. Everyday we would put everything up in the room only to come back and find a dresser drawer open good thing we had a safe. She took the things that my kid won playing games.

Your Arrival:
great

Rooms:
2 star the air was a joke in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very pretty

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good!

Other Comments:
They let the islands come in on the weekend these people were right down rude could care less about anybody it was a disgrace....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extended coverage of three Riu resorts a suprising bonus"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Len  on Feb 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
914 people found this review helpful

We were generally very pleased with the accommodations.

A word of caution. Don't leave material lying around. While we used the safe provided regularly, nonetheless, I had $20 US disappear from my pants pocket and my friend had a pack of cigarettes disappear. The maid is the obvious answer but there are others at the resort with access to the room. We reported it to the front desk. They added it to what appeared to me to be a rather extensive listing of this kind of disappearance. I expected nothing to happen and was no surprised by inaction. I think it's a regular problem.

Your Arrival:
Late at night. Porter delivered bags while we had something to eat.

Rooms:
Double bed, balcony bordered noisy street between resorts which, (apparently due to some mishap) was constantly (for 3 days) used by tankers delivering water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Use of bars at all three resort a great bonus. Only the Bachata has a pool bar, so we spent most of our time at this resort area.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach area better at Puna Cana. It's extremely rocky off the resort and hard to sustain footing. However, the walk between the Bachata and Mambo is great (though there are no bars open on the beach itself).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the catamaran and Outback excursions - both sets of guides were extremely excellent and funny.

Videos: http://hci-itil.com/Videos/movies/DR_2010.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube