Riu Merengue Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Victorian House

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 30, 2014

Riu Mambo

4.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2014

Riu Bachata

4.1 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 29, 2014

Be Live Grand Marien

4.0 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 17, 2014

Riu Merengue  

Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

"too many locals"
Posted by: rita on Jun 27, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Merengue Reviews
Riu Merengue Pictures and Information
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#10
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 3.4

Based on 18 reviews

Riu Merengue Information


Set amidst tropical gardens and surrounded by mountains, the deluxe Riu Merengue is a beachfront village-style resort, located just 15 minutes from beautiful Puerto Plata.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Merengue Reviews

Riu Merengue Review: 3.4 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 18

"I would recommend this resort to others"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lena  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
213 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 2 2009
We had a morning flight out with Skyservice which was very good... no complaints. We arrived at the resort for 1pm which was nice as we got to enjoy the day. We did however request rooms near the beach and were put at unit 27.. right at the back. We asked to be changed and were given rooms the next day.

Rooms:
The rooms were ok. They did smell a little musty and even when we got home we had trouble getting that smell out of our clothes. The beds werent the best. Ours definitely due for replacement but we still managed to sleep.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffets were awesome.. a large variety of food and always hot and very tastey. If anyone complains about the food that have to be very picky because I didnt hear anyone say anything negative about the food. We were a party of 6 with kids and no one got sick.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were absolutely beautiful and well kept. The resorts are very lush so if you want shade, never a problem finding some. The pool area was a bit crowded but still very nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didnt go on any tours but there were always activities going on and the team really did work hard to get you involved. We didnt participate as we were with the kids and were busy with them. But if you wanted dance lessons or exercise in the pool to tons of other activities.. they had them

Other Comments:
We didnt us the kids club a lot but it was very good for crafts and activities for the kids. The one day they painted their faces and did a fabulous job. The kids wanted to go back. Every night at 8pm they had a dance party for the kids which they couldnt wait for every evening. All in all was a great vacation and I would recommend this resort to others.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I am not a complaining type but this place is not a 5 star"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on Feb 1, 2009  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
409 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Skyservice flight out of Toronto was 12 hours late leaving. Arrived in Puerto Plata almost midnight and bus to resort took about 1/2 hour. No problem with the connection once we got there.

Rooms:
The first room we were given (not where we requested) had dirty ash trays, wet towels on the floor in the bathroom, beds not made and empty beer bottles on the counter. The SECOND room had garbage on the counters, bed was not made and had no towels !!!! I could not believe a 5 star resort could be this careless.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is ok. Not much variety and not very spicy. The Italian restaurant is not Italian at all!!! Bars were good and fast service, never had to wait in line. Bartending staff was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach has lots of shade from palm trees but the actual "walking area" on the beach is quite thin. It is rocky in the water off the beach. The pool at the Merengue was quite small (no swim up bar) but you could use all 3 Riu resorts and the Bachata had one next door. Pools were kept very clean. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We just did 1 tour, rented ATVs. It was fun but mainly went through paths in fields of sugar cane, not up through the hills and countryside as expected. Our bike broke down and other ones were stalling out.

Other Comments:
This resort is frequented by a lot of older people. The food is average. The shows are average (sound system is terrible so hard to hear what is going on). I am not a complaining type but this place is not a 5 star. We had a good, relaxing vacation but i will not return as I like to go to different places.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would definitely return to this resort"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barry  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009
420 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 1 - 7
Very welcoming, served us with refreshment and to our amazement our rooms were ready and it was only 12:30 their time. Staff insisted on deliverying our luggage to our room which was nice after a long trip.

Rooms
Our room was very nice and very well cleaned.The mini bar was alot more than what we expected. The patio was lovely and the safe was given to us free of charge.Some of the beds are due to be upgraded and my brother complained about their beds and had new ones within two hours.Overall the rooms are a little small but we did not spend much time in it anyways.

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants were awesome, a very wide variety of dishes and lots of each. The alecarts were great and we could book them on the mornings in which we wanted to dine. The service was great they were definitely pushing for customer service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool was cleaned regularly throughout the day. The beach was also cleaned and raked. We didn't have too much trouble getting a sun bed where we wanted. The vendors are located down the beach on both sides of the resorts. If you wanted to purchase gifts you went to them, there was no pestering while you were on the beach trying to relax.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The animation team were awesome. They kept you entertained throughout the day and evening. There was many activites that you could do during the day if you wished. We went on the day excursion "Mega Trucks", which took us into the country seeing typical homes, schools, restarants, art carvings, cigar factory, coffee making. The guides were amazing,"Sexy Eddy" kept us entertained as he showed us parts of this beautiful country.

Other Comments
As this was our first vacation at a resort, we do not have anything to compare to. However, my brother and his wife who travel frequently were also impressed. We would definitely return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would definitely go back there again"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  9 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
503 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 26 - March 5
The drive from the airport to the RIU Merengue was quicker than we thought. It only took about 35 minutes. We were greeted right away with a drink and were told that our rooms were all ready for us. Check in was quick. We were given our keys and told our luggage would be brought to us. It arrived about 10 minutes later.

Rooms
The rooms are clean and big enough for the amount of time you spend in them. The water pressure is great. You have to have an adapter for anything you need to plug in. The maids will shut the power off in the rooms when you are gone. It's the top switch inside the door:) It's Nice to be on the second floor because people walking by can see you through the frosted glass in the shower. They have umbrellas in every room (and we needed them, it sure rains hard when it rains).

Restaurants and Bars
The food was great at every restaurant we ate at. The a-la-cartes were very good.The service is excellent to every where weather it was the beach grill or the a-la carte restaurants. You are always greeted with a smile & hand sanitizer when you enter the restaurants or leave the washrooms. The Bartenders are EXCELLENT. They are always busy but not to busy to great you with a "HOLA" & a smile. They will make you whatever you want. There was a special drink everyday.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool area was always clean. In the morning they were always scrubbing the area down. The beach is well kept up to.The only problem is it is very rocky in the water. When its low tide it is hard to get a place to swim. They would be out raking seaweed in the morning. The Merengue had the best beach area. Very spacious compared to the others. The pool area at the Bachata was fancier but we were there for the beach. There were lots of chairs and you didn't have to be down there at 7 a.m. to get one like at other places. There was lots of shade for those who don't want to much sun. The garden area was well kept. They were always cutting down dead leaves. They are hard working people there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We didn't participate in any of the activities but there was lots to chose from. They had something going on every hour. We went on the OUTBACK SAFARI and we would highly recommend it to everyone. It was a BLAST. They pick you up at the hotel at 8:20 a.m. and you go into town then head up into the mountains. Once you hit the dirt road out comes the RUM or BEER. You see a typical Dominican house, school, lots of scenery. They bring you to a ranch where you have lunch and see some animals on a boat ride. You go to a secluded beach where you go Boogie Boarding (which was alot of fun). The excursion was alot of fun. Try it. Paradise Island was also nice I heard from someone else. I will try it next time we go.The entertainment in the evening was very well done. They give it their all. They did GREASE on our last night there and it was amazing. The music they play is from the past but still nice to hear.

Other Comments
The RIU Merengue is a place for both young and old. We would definitely go back there again. The staff is EXCELLENT. They always have a smile on their face and want to please you no matter what it takes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I expected it to be a little better than it was"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Duane  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
765 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2 - 9
We booked through Sunquest Vacations from St. John's, Newfoundland. The outgoing flight was 2 and a half hours late due to technical difficulties. The return was delayed 3 hours for the same reason. Kinda un-nerving.

Rooms
The rooms were spacious enough, however they had a constant heavy musty smell. Also the AC never worked well, it never got close to cool enough. The shower head kept coming apart and never stayed in place. The water and drinks were not replenshed as promised...2 jugs of water in 7 days even after requesting it from the front desk. Room cleaning often went on into the evening hours which sometimes made going back for a break a little annoying.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants were ok, depending on the theme at the buffet. Empty buffet trays were always replenshed quickly. The buffet usually hada good variety. Steaks at the a la cartes were very tasty.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool was ok....but it was always dirty in the day compared to the Bachata, which had a beautiful pool. Grounds were generally very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The Anamation team was great. Lots of energy, very friendly, they have some fun daily activities like horseshoes and bacchi. We went offsite to do a zipline tour. It was advertised as a 45 minute ride, however with the various stops it turned into almost 2 hours. The tour itself was very professional and safety oreniented and fun. The $30 video promised of all the people doing all the lines was mostly a ripoff however as it was only the group completing two lines put on the dvd with a lot of static, which then switched to some type of advertising of the Dominican.

Other Comments
Overall I am mixed. This was my first AI resort so I can't compare it to much. However, being rated as a 4 and a half to 5 star, I expected it to be a little better than it was. Especially in regards to the rooms. If you get a nice clean, fresh room I would recommend it. Otherwise I might read around a little more carefully.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My experience was not so good"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Sep, 2009
752 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 2007
I was surprised when I read the reports on here about the weddings at the RIU Merengue,Bachata and Mambo, my experience was not so good. Problems started early on arrival, we made a mistake not to contact our tour Rep. Your tour Rep will know how to handle the local mentallity, and for Nerys the Hotel Co-Ord she reminded me of the Matron in Carry on Doctor. Married May 2007 and still waiting for a correct marriage certificates, lets see if Nerys can get it right for the fourth time.
Wish me luck, because without this I cannot legally register my marriage here in the Netherlands, also security for my partner (Wife in Hope)

Rooms:
They where very nice and enjoyed the comfort the rooms provided, but both rooms (we where eventually upgraded to the larger seafront apartment)had problems with the air conditioning. I managed to fix the air-conditioning in the upgraded apartment, did not want to be downgraded.Bar sometimes not stocked. with bottled water.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints here, but the male staff too much into that North American Rap greetings stuff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very good, but did see part of the beach washed away during a storm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation was good.

Other Comments:
No cash machine for guests in the hotels complex, one cash machine is for the staff which is located near the entrance. Often its empty, because its the only one and takes more than a couple of days to get it refilled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall I would NOT return to Puerto Plata"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie  on Dec 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
841 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Very impressive, very organized and we we're all off to our rooms very quickly.

Rooms
Quite good. Very adequate. Had wicker furniture (dust collectors), but was everyday spotlessly cleaned (big plus for me)

Restaurants and Bars
Food was quite good at buffet, but the choices of a la carte was dissapointing. There really is only the buffet and 1 other restaurant. By day the pool restaurant serves light lunches and by night it is split down the middle and 1 half is the steakhouse and the other is Italian. When you book the steakhouse you get to sit closer to the water edge. You can order from either menu regardless.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pools and beach are extremely inadequate. The beach is course, brown sand, very windly, rolling (surfable) waves and too shallow to swim in. Turned out to be a very dissapointing as we are water people. The pool at the Merengue is wall to wall people, tip toe through them. Packed! However, the gounds are truly spectacular. Endless cleaning, exceptionally well landscaped. The bungalows are very nicely situated. I'm an early riser, every morning the cleaning staff pulls all the hotel furniture out cleans behind it, the place is spotless everywhere. Very impressive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The animation staff is wonderful. We travelled with 3 small children, they had a wonderful time and we we're all treated well. Very pleasant and efficient staff.

Other Comments
The casino is just plain bad. About 20 old, old machines. The carribean street shopping area is great. Nice place to stroll in the evenings. The kids loved it. It was also nice to be able to use the other restuarants during the day, saved walking back to your own hotel. Found them to be equally cleaned and well run.

Overall I would NOT return to Puerto Plata,(just because of the beaches) but I loved the resort and would return to a Riu resort again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE!"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Jan 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
906 people found this review helpful

This was the first time my mom and had done an all inclusive vacation and we were not disappointed. We made many friends and would highly recommend the Riu Trio to everyone!

Your Arrival:
Check in was smooth and staff were very friendly

Rooms:
Our room was pretty standard and we did have a little surprise when we arrived - a cockroach - but they came to the room right away and removed it. Other than that it was fine. Hair dryer, A/C, mini bar with 4 types of booze, beer and mix. Restocked every 2 days. Maid service was great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was similar at all 3 Riu's but very enjoyable. None of us got sick. The servers were fantastic!! Big props to Lilo Perez at La Roca! We met him the second night we arrived and then made sure to always sit in his section for breakfast and dinner. He was all around amazing whether people were tipping him or not. We tipped him and encourage you to tip the staff if you can, they say gratuities are included but honestly.. how much do you think these people make? They bend over backwards for you and they do it with a smile on their faces.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ocean was perfect! Beach was clean palm trees offered shade if that's what you're looking for. Pool was clean as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation staff are FANTASTIC!!! It didn't matter if you were 5 or 90, they had you laughing, dancing.. whatever!! We did the simply shopping tour in Puerto Plata and it was okay... would have been better if I knew the city better and could have cabbed it.. but if you want to shop and you haven't been off resort at the DR before, it's safe and fun. Perfect for a rainy day! MEGA TRUCKS!! LOVED IT! We went on the Mega Truck tour and had so much fun. It cost about $87 us for the day but it really was worth it. It rained but I could have cared less. Horse back riding, visiting local schools, homes, cigar factory? more like a hut where they made cigars but still awesome. The tour guide "Sexy Eddie" was fantastic! If you're doing mega trucks (which you should) try and go when Eddie is the guide, although i'm sure they're all awesome.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extended coverage of three Riu resorts a suprising bonus"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Len  on Feb 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
924 people found this review helpful

We were generally very pleased with the accommodations.

A word of caution. Don't leave material lying around. While we used the safe provided regularly, nonetheless, I had $20 US disappear from my pants pocket and my friend had a pack of cigarettes disappear. The maid is the obvious answer but there are others at the resort with access to the room. We reported it to the front desk. They added it to what appeared to me to be a rather extensive listing of this kind of disappearance. I expected nothing to happen and was no surprised by inaction. I think it's a regular problem.

Your Arrival:
Late at night. Porter delivered bags while we had something to eat.

Rooms:
Double bed, balcony bordered noisy street between resorts which, (apparently due to some mishap) was constantly (for 3 days) used by tankers delivering water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Use of bars at all three resort a great bonus. Only the Bachata has a pool bar, so we spent most of our time at this resort area.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach area better at Puna Cana. It's extremely rocky off the resort and hard to sustain footing. However, the walk between the Bachata and Mambo is great (though there are no bars open on the beach itself).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the catamaran and Outback excursions - both sets of guides were extremely excellent and funny.

Videos: http://hci-itil.com/Videos/movies/DR_2010.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"check your belongs daily because the maid is."

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  yolette  on Jun 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
903 people found this review helpful

2 twin beds pushed together to make one big bed. Everyday we would put everything up in the room only to come back and find a dresser drawer open good thing we had a safe. She took the things that my kid won playing games.

Your Arrival:
great

Rooms:
2 star the air was a joke in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very pretty

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good!

Other Comments:
They let the islands come in on the weekend these people were right down rude could care less about anybody it was a disgrace....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube