Riu Merengue Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Victorian House

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 30, 2014

Riu Mambo

4.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2014

Riu Bachata

4.1 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 29, 2014

Be Live Grand Marien

4.0 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 17, 2014

Riu Merengue  

Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

"too many locals"
Posted by: rita on Jun 27, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Merengue Reviews
Riu Merengue Pictures and Information
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#10
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 3.4

Based on 18 reviews

Riu Merengue Information


Set amidst tropical gardens and surrounded by mountains, the deluxe Riu Merengue is a beachfront village-style resort, located just 15 minutes from beautiful Puerto Plata.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Merengue Reviews

Riu Merengue Review: 3.4 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 18

"The 'Don't care' resort"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Priya  on Jan 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
516 people found this review helpful

We went for a 7 day all inclusive vacation to the Merengue with 2 other families. The resort is very impressive, the food was good and the beach amazing. It is a great place to go to if you only want to spend all your time on the beach. The problem starts if you want to do any activities. The resort offers various activities through Scuba Caribe (or at least we thought it was resort approved as it is on the premises). We signed up for ATV rides. We were planning to take our kids with us (aged between 8 to 13) and wanted to be sure it was safe. The tour operator ensured that it was very safe - that it was smooth, leisurely ride through flat lands. After a lot of debating, we decided to do it. But the rides turned out to be totally different - there were no flat lands - it was all ups and downs. We were accompanied by the guide, the mechanic and the mechanic's 12 year old son. The little kid was generally hyper, jumping on the ATVs (we had 5 ATVs in total) trying to 'help' us navigate. During one such episode involving the ATV I was on, he hit the accelerator instead of the brakes while going downhill and the ATV went out of control. I was thrown off, the ATV flipped and landed on me. The most appalling thing was that the tour operator had no first aid kit or safety procedure in place. It took over 2 agonizing hours for someone to come get us to the hospital.

I escaped without any broken bones, but had numerous injuries that apparently would take months to heal. We tried to meet with the Customer service manager at Riu and tell him that the person operating on their premises wasn't even following basic safety procedures - his reaction shocked us - he said he doesn't care. The only reason we even thought about going on that ride was because it was on their premises and we assumed it would be safe. Wrong! According to the manager, as long as they got rent money, they would rent out space to anyone. He said it was 'business'. He doesn't care what happened to guests - the same applies apparently to food poisoning or anything that happened on the hotel premises. Shocking! He said that the hotel has no responsibility what so ever in regards to safety of guests. And that we 'Anglo-Saxons' expect special treatment everywhere.

We are done with Riu after this experience. It is atrocious that anyone could even talk like that. So future guests - be aware. You are fine and will have a great experience as long as nothing goes wrong. If it does, you are on your own.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My experience was not so good"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Sep, 2009
751 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 2007
I was surprised when I read the reports on here about the weddings at the RIU Merengue,Bachata and Mambo, my experience was not so good. Problems started early on arrival, we made a mistake not to contact our tour Rep. Your tour Rep will know how to handle the local mentallity, and for Nerys the Hotel Co-Ord she reminded me of the Matron in Carry on Doctor. Married May 2007 and still waiting for a correct marriage certificates, lets see if Nerys can get it right for the fourth time.
Wish me luck, because without this I cannot legally register my marriage here in the Netherlands, also security for my partner (Wife in Hope)

Rooms:
They where very nice and enjoyed the comfort the rooms provided, but both rooms (we where eventually upgraded to the larger seafront apartment)had problems with the air conditioning. I managed to fix the air-conditioning in the upgraded apartment, did not want to be downgraded.Bar sometimes not stocked. with bottled water.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints here, but the male staff too much into that North American Rap greetings stuff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very good, but did see part of the beach washed away during a storm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation was good.

Other Comments:
No cash machine for guests in the hotels complex, one cash machine is for the staff which is located near the entrance. Often its empty, because its the only one and takes more than a couple of days to get it refilled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall I would NOT return to Puerto Plata"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie  on Dec 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
841 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Very impressive, very organized and we we're all off to our rooms very quickly.

Rooms
Quite good. Very adequate. Had wicker furniture (dust collectors), but was everyday spotlessly cleaned (big plus for me)

Restaurants and Bars
Food was quite good at buffet, but the choices of a la carte was dissapointing. There really is only the buffet and 1 other restaurant. By day the pool restaurant serves light lunches and by night it is split down the middle and 1 half is the steakhouse and the other is Italian. When you book the steakhouse you get to sit closer to the water edge. You can order from either menu regardless.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pools and beach are extremely inadequate. The beach is course, brown sand, very windly, rolling (surfable) waves and too shallow to swim in. Turned out to be a very dissapointing as we are water people. The pool at the Merengue is wall to wall people, tip toe through them. Packed! However, the gounds are truly spectacular. Endless cleaning, exceptionally well landscaped. The bungalows are very nicely situated. I'm an early riser, every morning the cleaning staff pulls all the hotel furniture out cleans behind it, the place is spotless everywhere. Very impressive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The animation staff is wonderful. We travelled with 3 small children, they had a wonderful time and we we're all treated well. Very pleasant and efficient staff.

Other Comments
The casino is just plain bad. About 20 old, old machines. The carribean street shopping area is great. Nice place to stroll in the evenings. The kids loved it. It was also nice to be able to use the other restuarants during the day, saved walking back to your own hotel. Found them to be equally cleaned and well run.

Overall I would NOT return to Puerto Plata,(just because of the beaches) but I loved the resort and would return to a Riu resort again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The service was awful. No one came to us to see if we need anything. "

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Catalina  on Sep 22, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
200 people found this review helpful

The first day we had a problem with our air conditioner in the room. We ask to change us to another room. They ask if we needed help with the luggages. They should not have ask. We ask for an iron we had to take it to the room and they had no ironing board. We had ask for bottles of water in our room they gave us a bag and we had to take it to the room ourselves. Another day we called the service desk for bottles of water twice we called never came had to get it ourselves again. Mattresses were outside of hallways next to our room wasn't removed. Radio was not working in room. If we were at the beach or pool no one came to ask us if we needed anything. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Arrival:
Didn't feel welcomed

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. Bartenders as well

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No one came to us to ask us if we need anything.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were a repeat. Same thing everyday. Nothing different

Other Comments:
I would not go there again. And the worst of it. That was my first experience in Donovan republic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I expected it to be a little better than it was"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Duane  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
765 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2 - 9
We booked through Sunquest Vacations from St. John's, Newfoundland. The outgoing flight was 2 and a half hours late due to technical difficulties. The return was delayed 3 hours for the same reason. Kinda un-nerving.

Rooms
The rooms were spacious enough, however they had a constant heavy musty smell. Also the AC never worked well, it never got close to cool enough. The shower head kept coming apart and never stayed in place. The water and drinks were not replenshed as promised...2 jugs of water in 7 days even after requesting it from the front desk. Room cleaning often went on into the evening hours which sometimes made going back for a break a little annoying.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants were ok, depending on the theme at the buffet. Empty buffet trays were always replenshed quickly. The buffet usually hada good variety. Steaks at the a la cartes were very tasty.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool was ok....but it was always dirty in the day compared to the Bachata, which had a beautiful pool. Grounds were generally very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The Anamation team was great. Lots of energy, very friendly, they have some fun daily activities like horseshoes and bacchi. We went offsite to do a zipline tour. It was advertised as a 45 minute ride, however with the various stops it turned into almost 2 hours. The tour itself was very professional and safety oreniented and fun. The $30 video promised of all the people doing all the lines was mostly a ripoff however as it was only the group completing two lines put on the dvd with a lot of static, which then switched to some type of advertising of the Dominican.

Other Comments
Overall I am mixed. This was my first AI resort so I can't compare it to much. However, being rated as a 4 and a half to 5 star, I expected it to be a little better than it was. Especially in regards to the rooms. If you get a nice clean, fresh room I would recommend it. Otherwise I might read around a little more carefully.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"too many locals"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  rita  on Jun 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
34 people found this review helpful

This hotel has been around for quite some time and you could tell but that didnít stop the top notch service they offer to their guests or customers. The only problem I had with this place was that there were too many locals on the weekends. The hotel is quite spacious and so are the rooms and the staff and everybody you meet here was friendly. I really donít like the weekends here because everything changes including the food menu and quality just to accommodate the massive influx and that wasnít cool. Even the staff on weekends look like they canít cope but they really at the best at what they do so no complains there, even the hotel manager tries to make you comfortable but there is only so much he can do. This influx makes the whole thing change and the pool becomes crowded and then you hardly find staff to talk to about any concerns you have. The main restaurant here serves three times a day meal and they taste really nice except on the weekends. The pool is clean and nice but itís not large, it is adequate though. There was free WIFI for us to utilize at this hotel but it was limited to 90 minutes a day and that was more than enough considering Iím in DR. The only problem is that you can only use this internet service at the lobby or at the main restaurant so it was a bit frustrating for me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I am not a complaining type but this place is not a 5 star"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on Feb 1, 2009  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
407 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Skyservice flight out of Toronto was 12 hours late leaving. Arrived in Puerto Plata almost midnight and bus to resort took about 1/2 hour. No problem with the connection once we got there.

Rooms:
The first room we were given (not where we requested) had dirty ash trays, wet towels on the floor in the bathroom, beds not made and empty beer bottles on the counter. The SECOND room had garbage on the counters, bed was not made and had no towels !!!! I could not believe a 5 star resort could be this careless.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is ok. Not much variety and not very spicy. The Italian restaurant is not Italian at all!!! Bars were good and fast service, never had to wait in line. Bartending staff was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach has lots of shade from palm trees but the actual "walking area" on the beach is quite thin. It is rocky in the water off the beach. The pool at the Merengue was quite small (no swim up bar) but you could use all 3 Riu resorts and the Bachata had one next door. Pools were kept very clean. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We just did 1 tour, rented ATVs. It was fun but mainly went through paths in fields of sugar cane, not up through the hills and countryside as expected. Our bike broke down and other ones were stalling out.

Other Comments:
This resort is frequented by a lot of older people. The food is average. The shows are average (sound system is terrible so hard to hear what is going on). I am not a complaining type but this place is not a 5 star. We had a good, relaxing vacation but i will not return as I like to go to different places.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"check your belongs daily because the maid is."

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  yolette  on Jun 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
898 people found this review helpful

2 twin beds pushed together to make one big bed. Everyday we would put everything up in the room only to come back and find a dresser drawer open good thing we had a safe. She took the things that my kid won playing games.

Your Arrival:
great

Rooms:
2 star the air was a joke in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very pretty

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good!

Other Comments:
They let the islands come in on the weekend these people were right down rude could care less about anybody it was a disgrace....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time."

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  J.  on Dec 11, 2013  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
151 people found this review helpful

This is our fourth trip to the Rue complex, the first time at the Merengue, the experience was good,

Room Number:
1203

Arrival:
From the moment we arrived at the Rue til the time on way to room was 10 minutes. The luggage arrived 10 minutes later.
The welcome drink was nice after the bus ride to the resort

Rooms:
The room was close to Carabean street back a bit from the ocean, about hafeway between the Merengue and the Bashada. It was quite large,two double beds, a nice large balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate in the buffet restaurant, the service was good even on the weekend when the locals came in. They were very pleasant, not rude. In two days the staff knew what you liked to drink and brought it without being asked.

The bars at all the resorts were efficient, again they got to know you and were very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are kept immaculate, the beach was raked each day. There were plenty of loungers, some people put towels on them but it was not really necessary.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not go off the resort having been in the Dominican Republic a great many times to various resorts.

Other Comments:
The experience wa good and we will go back. The staff were interested in us, the Sunwing Rep. was there 6 days out of seven and helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extended coverage of three Riu resorts a suprising bonus"

Riu Merengue
User Rating:  Riu Merengue Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Len  on Feb 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
920 people found this review helpful

We were generally very pleased with the accommodations.

A word of caution. Don't leave material lying around. While we used the safe provided regularly, nonetheless, I had $20 US disappear from my pants pocket and my friend had a pack of cigarettes disappear. The maid is the obvious answer but there are others at the resort with access to the room. We reported it to the front desk. They added it to what appeared to me to be a rather extensive listing of this kind of disappearance. I expected nothing to happen and was no surprised by inaction. I think it's a regular problem.

Your Arrival:
Late at night. Porter delivered bags while we had something to eat.

Rooms:
Double bed, balcony bordered noisy street between resorts which, (apparently due to some mishap) was constantly (for 3 days) used by tankers delivering water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Use of bars at all three resort a great bonus. Only the Bachata has a pool bar, so we spent most of our time at this resort area.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach area better at Puna Cana. It's extremely rocky off the resort and hard to sustain footing. However, the walk between the Bachata and Mambo is great (though there are no bars open on the beach itself).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the catamaran and Outback excursions - both sets of guides were extremely excellent and funny.

Videos: http://hci-itil.com/Videos/movies/DR_2010.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube