Riu Bachata Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Victorian House

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 30, 2014

Riu Mambo

4.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2014

Be Live Grand Marien

4.0 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 17, 2014

Riu Merengue

3.4 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

Riu Bachata  

Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic

"had a great holiday"
Posted by: rob on Jun 29, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Bachata Reviews
Riu Bachata Pictures and Information
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#2
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 4.1

Based on 31 reviews

Riu Bachata Information


Beautiful Riu Bachata is an extraordinary getaway on the spectacular shores of Maimon Bay, overlooking a lush tropical mountainside.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Bachata Reviews

Riu Bachata Review: 4.1 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  12
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (21)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 31

"Riu Bachata"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  bert  on Mar 2, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
954 people found this review helpful

This is the first time we had a late departure in toronto 5.40 pm on the 12th of feb 2011 and arrived at the Riu Bachata at 10.45 pm.
Next time it will be a early departure.
The resort is beautifull well kept and maintained
The staff is like all over the Dominican FANTASTIC.
I was very impressed by the service manager Mr Friedrich who was very much in contact with the guest of the resort,You could see Mr Friedrich walking arround the resort and talking to the guest and during luch and dinner the same thing Mr friedrich would go arround and stop by every table to find if every thing was ok.
I have never seen any other manager in any other resort do this and we have been to a few in Puerto Plata and in Punta Cana

Room Number:
303

Arrival:
Saturday the 12th of feb 2011

Rooms:
the rooms are nice there where a few minor problems which where dealt with asap.
The shower is way to narrow but we managed no problem
Our cleaning lady Elizabeth was wonderfull

Restaurants and Bars:
the bars are great because of the staff that are working in them,the 2 ala carte restaurants where ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
excellent and once again because of the people who work in and arround the pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the entertainment staff is always very friendly and good

Other Comments:
The one thing i do not understand is people in Canada and the USA are very big on tipping their server/waiter/waitress at home some times as much as 20%.(Which i find way to much for a person who bring me a plate with my order)
But when they go to a all inclusive resort they don't find it necessary to tip their server/waiter/waitress and some of the people are even rude to them because they don't understand what you want.Just keep in mind their english is as good as your spanish

Photos: http://www.bertvanderhulst.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent holiday…we will return!"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth (mra)  on Feb 28, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
867 people found this review helpful

Our vacation this year was booked with Sunquest Vacations thru Sell off Vacations & was originally slated for the Riu Mambo. But due to a scheduling change that happened in October, we lucked out and got an excellent price for the Riu Bachata…$1057.00+TX pp for 2 weeks. Our carrier was Thomas Cook flying Jazz Air & as with all Tour Operators, everything is not as smooth as could be. From the time that we booked in August, to the week before we departed from Toronto, our flight time/days were changed 5 times. In the 10 trips that we’ve taken to the D.R., we’ve never had this many changes before!!

Arrival:
Flight/Airport Arrival: Departure time was scheduled for Sunday January 9th at 6:20am from Terminal 3 at Toronto Airport. Arriving at the airport at 2:55am, we were directed to the Priority Check-in where our carry-on was weighed & then our luggage was weighed. We had Silver Service Package on our booking and were allowed an additional 5kgs of checked luggage weight per person…fortunately that wasn’t needed, but was good to have. Our seats were prebooked & even though our SSP allowed us to have Complimentary Advance Seat Selection, we opted to pay the additional $20pp for emergency row seating. Row 10BC gave us lots of legroom both on the flight down & on our return flight. We are ticketed & through Security Screening in a matter of minutes, and waiting in the Boarding Lounge 45 minutes later.
As I mentioned, our departure time “was scheduled” for 6:20am, but due to a Flight Attendant Scheduling issue the flight was 2 attendants short! After waiting an hour for 1 attendant to arrive, we were allowed to board and then waited for the second Attendant. At 8:10am, with a round of applause welcoming him aboard, hatches were then battened down, seat belts were tightened and we were off !! A breakfast of hot waffles with apples, fresh fruit, whole-wheat roll and beverage were offered, with a refreshing mimosa something of a change. The Flight Attendants were excellent, although a bit flustered due to our late departure.
1:00 pm, our plane touched down at Puerto Plata Airport…. 1 hour 50minutes behind schedule. Once we disembarked, we had a quick turn thru Immigration and then onto the baggage carousel, where our luggage was one of the first one’s off the plane. In a matter of 15 minutes we were waiting in our bus for the transfer to the Riu.

Resort Arrival: The Riu’s have check-in down to a science…. very quick & not time consuming. Everything that we needed was in an envelope and waiting for us in the Lobby when we arrived. After a word of welcome from the Front Desk Manager, the contents of our envelope (2 towel cards, map of the resort, Guest Registration Form, Room Key, Safe Key & tumbler) was explained and we were invited to fill in the Guest Registration Form at our convenience and return it to the Front Desk before the end of the day. Our luggage was tagged & off we went to discover our room. 7 to 10 days prior to our arrival to the Bachata, I had emailed the resort with a request for “a king size bed with good mattress, a 2nd floor room with Ocean view” … we got just that, except the 2nd floor was actually a 3rd floor. Room location was in Building 2, room # 241, a corner room, which looked out onto Maimon Bay. It was quite a hike up the stairs for me, but the view from our balcony was breath taking and well worth the effort that we had to go thru daily. The porter delivered our luggage and after changing, we were off to explore the resort.

Rooms:
Rooms: Our room was a good size for 2 people: 2 double beds pushed together to make a King. The mattresses were comfortable, which was important due to my husband’s back problem. Each side of the bed had a bedside table with 2 drawers & a bedside lamp attached to the wall. A wooden credenza with 6 drawers held the television and mirror. A seating area of table & 2 chairs were at the far end of the room, close to the balcony door. The entry way held a closet with plenty of hangers & rack space, with an alcove for the mini-bar and the Liquor Optics. The safe is located in the closet and was free …(if you stay at the Mambo or Merengue, there now is a charge for the safe & the Liquor Optics have been removed from the rooms). The bathroom looked as if it had been refurbished not long ago & we had no complaints. We did request an additional key for our room & that cost us a deposit of $10, which was returned to us when we checked out.
Our maid did an excellent job of keeping our room clean & always surprised us with towel creations or flowers. We tipped her daily, leaving the tip on the bed pillow. The fridge was restocked every other day…we would leave a note & tip for the “water guy” with our request and had no problems getting what we needed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants: Bahia de Maimon is the main Buffet Restaurant. Open for breakfast 7am to 10am, lunch 1pm to 3pm & dinner 6:30pm to 10pm. The resort was not running at full capacity and therefor we did not have long line ups for meals. Staff coped wonderfully keeping everything clean and well stocked. We had a very attentive waiter whose name was Melvin & he looked after us for the full 2 weeks of our vacation. In the evening Melvin would watch for us & by the time we arrived at our table, our wine & water would be poured and waiting for us. One evening close to the end of our stay, Melvin had decorated the table with flower petals and candles….a very nice touch!!
A la carte restaurants were open 6:30pm to 8:00pm for first sitting & 8:30pm to 10pm for the second sitting. Reservations for the a la carte restaurants are made daily at the desk located at the entrance of the Bahia de Maimon between 7am and 10:30am…seating fills up quite quickly!

Steak House- located in the Maracuya Restaurant, which is to the left of the Pool bar when facing the ocean. We did not eat at this restaurant during our stay, so I cannot give a true report.

Italiano: is now located in a new area off the outside patio of the main Buffet Restaurant. The décor was welcoming & the whole room had a very nice ambiance. The menu was a hot & cold antipasto buffet, pizza, lasagna, vegetable soup, with breadsticks or rolls. The entrée was a choice of Salmon filet on a bed of spinach with mixed vegetable OR Chicken breast stuffed with eggplant OR Medallions of Beef. I enjoyed the salmon while hubby enjoyed the beef. Dessert was Tiramisu or Citron Mousse, with either coffee, cappuccino or tea. Wine was also available.

Bars: There are 2 bars open during the day: the Bikini Bar (10:00 to 12midnight) located in the Courtyard just off the main Lobby & the Los Lirios bar located at the pool from 10am to 6:00pm. The Caramba Bar is located to the left of the Theatre just outside the doors to the Casino…hours of operation is 6pm to 7am. But for us, our favourite bar was the La Plaza Bar located at the Merengue.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach/Pool/Grounds: At this time (mid January) there were ample loungers & palapas to choose from both on the beach and around the pool. Lots of activities such as beach volleyball, horseshoes, bocce ball, kayaking, sailing, and snorkeling to keep you busy, but if you are like me a good book was all I needed. The “sports beach” is now almost non-existent, as everything has been moved up front to the main beach. The beach area in front of the Bachata is not the nice smooth sand that people crave, but as you move east towards the Merengue and the Mambo, the beaches get much nicer. The pool is always busy with people playing games, swimming laps, exercising or just floating.
The grounds are impeccable, gardens & grass tidied daily, new palm trees being planted and maintenance on walkways top-notch.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Off the Resort: Because we’ve been to the D.R. numerous times, we were not interested in any of the “usual off resort activities”. The one that did peak our interest was The Bravissimo Show at Ocean World…a Las Vegas type show of colour, feathers, sequins & music. The evening of dinner and show for the two of us was $117.00US….we did not go to the Casino afterwards, but returned on the shuttle that was supplied. A very good evening and well worth the money that was spent.

Other Comments:
Lobby/Reception Area: This is a huge area with lots of couches and chairs or bistro type table & chairs for seating. It’s the hub of activity where you can sit and watch the arrival of excited vacationers as they wait for their rooms or watch the sadness of others as they get ready to leave for home. The Tour Operators have their desks here in the Lobby, with all the information that you need to know of flights and excursions. Also in the Lobby is the store, which has everything from aspirin to alcohol…if you can’t find what you need there, then the shops in Caribbean Street are just a short 2 minute walk. The Internet Café is located in a room just off the Lobby. There are 5 or 6 computers for use & the price is $3.00US for 15 minutes, $5.00US for 30 minutes & $8.00US for 1 hour. If you are a Riu Club member & you book 1 hour of Internet time, you will get an additional 30minutes free. The Internet time must be used within 72 hours. For those who like to read or are like us & don’t want to take their books back home, a book exchange is located in the same area as the Tour Operators. Also off the Lobby is the public washrooms, which are spotless & attached to the washrooms are shower/change rooms. These are an excellent bonus especially if you can not get a “late room checkout”…just bring your luggage down to the secure luggage room, enjoy the beach/pool for the rest of the day & then shower and change in time for your return flight home.

Staff/Management: The staff is one of THE best that we’ve come across in the 10 trips that we’ve made to the D.R. Everyone is friendly, personable and wanting desperately to assist and please you. We had a couple of issues with things in our room that needed to be repaired & they were done expediently and with a smile. Everyone had a smile on their face and love their job….and why not, they have wonderful Management Staff behind them. Friedrich (Freddie) Stieb, Customer Service Manager is a very visible person on this resort. I swear he had roller skates hidden in his shoes, as he was everywhere…at the Pool, along the beach, in the dining room, in the Theatre. And nothing escaped his attention! A very well run resort…thank you Freddie !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A wonderful relaxing week surrounded by friendly people, gorgeous views and perfect weather!"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne  on Feb 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
737 people found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled with three other couples to this resort...our first time in the DR, but it won't be our last. The Riu Bachata is top-notch...immaculate guestrooms, fun and friendly staff, excellent food, cold beverages wherever you were, beautiful landscaping, and there is not a bad view on the resort anywhere. Plenty of space for our group of 8 to sit together anytime of day or night, entertaining shows, demonstrations, lots of opportunity to meet and chat with people from all over the world, or just spend time with my special someone on the beach or on a romantic evening stroll through the grounds. The gazebo on the cliff is amazing...we watched a wedding procession on our last day there. . . my husband and I would be happy to visit this same resort again. We did two excursions with Sunquest. . . we cancelled out on the third one just to have a day to ourselves to enjoy the resort, and Nelso (Sunquest rep) happily and quickly refunded our credit card for that excursion...no problem at all....we did the Freestyle catamaran which was great (but found out I'm not cut out to spend the whole day on the water), but the staff were great and there was always a party going on somewhere on the boat!! And we did the Dune-Buggy riding...it was a long day but no shortage of hills, rocks, mud, dust, you-name-it. . .came back to the resort happy, dirty and tired! This is a resort I would love to bring my teenage girls to, but they don't have family suites, or even adjoining rooms. . reception said they would guarantee us two rooms side by side, though...All in all a wonderful wonderful week with memories we will always cherish!

Room Number:
730

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible food & bed bugs!!"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liz  on Jun 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Business | With Group
728 people found this review helpful

My husband and I travel a great deal, both for pleasure and business. We've cruised and stayed in many resorts. This particular trip consisted of me working a wedding (I'm a wedding planner) for a group of 24 guests. The couple picked this particlar location because they loved the gazebo situation on a cliff overlooking the ocean and mountains, they also believed Riu and Sunquest Vacations when they rated this a 5 Star. This resort is by no means a 5 star resort and if you're use to truly 5-star quality, DO NOT go here!!
I should mention that Dreamfilm Productions from Vancouver, B.C. was present with our crew as they are currently filming a wedding/marriage documentary that will air on CBC in late January 2012. The hotel was made aware of their presence weeks in advance and were fully aware of their presence and reason for being there, yet they did very little to address the following issues. I explained to the staff at the front desk that our experience at this Riu Resort would be televised and shared with all of Canada; however, this seemed to make little impact.

The gym looked as I had stepped back in time to the 1970’s. The equipment was completely outdated, in poor condition and the weights were actually covered in rust. A towel was needed immediately after using them as our hands got covered in rust. Unfortunately towels were not provided at the gym and we were required to bring our own, something we weren’t aware of until after working out. There was no disinfectant available for wiping down the weights or machines after using them, which was quite surprising given how much one sweats in such a hot country with little to no air conditioning in the gym and how dirty the equipment can get. The gym was also quite small, (ie, only two treadmills and maybe a total of 1000 sq. feet) considering this was the only gym for the three Riu properties….a real disappointment! The caliber of gym was by no means one of a 5 star resort and in fact I have been to local community center gyms that look, smell and have better equipment than this Riu Resort.

I will say that the landscaping is well maintained and looks beautiful on this property, but I would expect no less at a “5-star resort.” Unfortunately we don't sleep on grass or near the flower beds, so this really means very little to me. The food and quality of living/sleeping quarters, are in my view two vital areas of a resort which make it a 5-star or not and again, this place is NOT!!

Rooms:
Upon arrival, my husband and I were given a room that had not been cleaned – the bed was unmade, towels were thrown on the bathroom floor and the bathroom itself was filthy. Upon returning to the front desk, we were assigned another room which appeared cleaner at first sight. The following day, however, I realized that the box spring mattress was covered in black mold on one side of the bed, while the mattress itself was starting to form mold also. As if this wasn’t disgusting enough, my legs were covered in bites and welts which I assumed came from bed bugs. We were told we could not change rooms as some buildings were closed down given it was “low” season. I had no choice but to continue to sleep in this dirty and repulsive bed for the remainder of the week. The bites worsened throughout the week and upon arriving in Canada I showed my bites to with a pharmacist who confirmed my worst fear of bed bugs and recommended a mite killing lotion. Both my husband and I have had to apply this lotion all over our bodies twice now. We also disinfected all our clothes, shoes and suitcases prior to bringing them into our house for fear of what might have travelled back to Canada with us.

Our bathroom shower curtain contained mold & mildew and had a very foul smell to it. This promoted me to take action and search the maid’s cart for cleaning products. Much to my surprise I found a can of cockroach killer, a small amount of watered down windex and a water bottle with a cleaning product in it. I was informed this contained “some laundry detergent and water,” these were her only cleaning products. I cringed at the thought of the lack of disinfecting showers, toilets and sinks…a breeding ground for germs and viruses. When staying in a hotel I normally request a change of towels every 3 or 4 days, however, in this case I had to request towels on a daily basis as the towels smelled terrible after the first use, just as soon as they got damp. Again, very surprising for a well-known chain such as Riu and for the rating Sunquest Vacations gave this property.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in this resort is classified as “cuisine,” however, what we ate was the furthest thing from cuisine. Upon arriving I tried several dishes and tried to eat, however, much of the food tasted the same, as it had all been deep fried in the same oil and the sauces were less than tasty. Being Hispanic myself, I am quite use to various spices and “Hispanic” food; however, the quality of this food was in a category of it’s own. For the following 4 days I literally ate one hard boiled egg for breakfast and shredded carrots and beats for both lunch and dinner. Towards the end of my week stay, I simply had to give in and eat some form of protein but ended up sick to my stomach.

The alcohol is a Normandy brand which is like mixing gasoline with coke or whatever your favorite soft drink might be. Nice looking bars for the most part and great service, but terrible alcohol and only one pool bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Generally dirty.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to stay and enjoy DR"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Warren from Central Florida  on Apr 28, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
597 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Flew out of Miami on American Airlines-and it was actually one time. POP-OMG-the last time we were shaken down by customs (paid and then sailed thru). This time-beautiful open and bright airport that is under construction to make it even better. Booked thru cheapcaribbean and transportation was waiting for us. Arrival at resort was smooth. Enroute we were able to see parts of POP and Playa Dorado (where we stayed before).

Rooms:
Comfortable. This trip we were with two grandsons, preteens. We had two double/twins shoved together to make one huge bed that was actually of course two beds that shared a headboard. Pillows-flat, but received more quickly. The boys were ready after several days to watch TV in English (the English stations were news oriented). Cartoons and children's movies in Spanish are good for only so long for those who know no Spanish. Mini bar was replenished every other day with Pepsi (Pepsi on the resort) and with nonPresidente beer. The four bottles of alcohol were there as part of included, but were Normandy brand (tasteless generic, but hit the spot at times). A/C did not work if balcony door was open, which is a good idea. A/C was sufficient. Hot water all the time and plumbing worked fine. Soap and shampoos replenished every other day. Housekeeping was great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of food and wonderful selection. Ask a chef and he'll prepare something special for you. I couldn't wait for when they were going to serve mangu (a plantain dish); had a huge plate to myself at lunch one day. Fish, lamb (we were there for Easter), seafood, beef, and chicken all in various ways. Dominican food, Spanish food, and basic American style. Yogurt, cereals, fresh local tropical fruit for breakfast (along with great bacon). Fresh fruit at every meal. Fresh squeezed fruit juice at breakfast (think beyond OJ). Salads and cheeses. The bars-wonderful folks behind the bars. Daily specials. At the main bar, Bikini bar, near the lobby (everything is pretty centralized) they have a coffee dispenser-I loved the espresso; I passed on the capachino.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is great. Grounds pretty. The point is not to be missed at night! Pools-there are two, one geared for play/ younger folks and one with a swim up bar and great DR music especially in the afternoon. All the bartenders are polite and respectful (one doesn't wait for ever while being passed by for someone else); generally, the two boys were treated no differently than an adult as far as being served (their nonalcoholic drink)-of course at times bartenders would kid a bit more with them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a taxi tour w/ a guide named Sandy. Puerta Plata tour including the cable car ride (we paid for the actual ride) and stops at stores including a grocery store (for rum, coffee, and hot sauces) with driver for half a day. Excellent-prices are on a board in the lobby-established by the gov't. He was the best. We also took tour to Damajagua Falls-take it-a bit a swimming and sliding down waterfalls/ jumping from cliffs into a pond. Check it out on various postings on youtube.com. Our nine year old loved it; his older brother was one of the few who opted to jump as opposed to slide at one spot-a good two story jump.

Other Comments:
We stayed at eh Riu in MoBay, Jamaica last spring break with the same grandchildren. The vote is the MoBay was better . But, this was our fifth time in DR, second in POP, and we really like this resort. They all seem to have their pros's and con's. There is an area at this resort for shopping, which is THE shopping area for all three Riu resorts-they are in a row along the beach. Folks we talked to mentioned this was the best of the three. We saw the lobby and pool area of the Merengue, and, yes, the Bachata is better. There was a fitness center, but the location (and time) didn't lend itself to our visiting it (unlike the other four resort we had been to). If using cheapcaribbean.com; remember that for prepaid tours, you must meet with the representative the day after arrival to obtain the actual tickets for your trip. And if there is an emergency as we experienced and he can't make it that day-hopefully you don't have a trip planned. As far as this resort-we enjoyed it and would certainly recommend it to others and will look at Riu at other places we may stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BED BUGS"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vala  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
494 people found this review helpful

I got bitten by BED BUGS in room 1030 [building 10 room 30]. Be careful if you still decide to go there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We didn't want to come home."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jacques  on Mar 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
487 people found this review helpful

Once at the resort. We had a great time. The resort was busy as heck and people were coming and going every day. The staff was more than friendly and accomodating. We felt like we were treated like gold. We met wonderful people from England and we enjoyed alot of our time with them. The shows at night were not the greatest but you could see they tried hard with what they had. We tried to extend our stay but we were unable to.

Your Arrival:
The arrival was the worst part actually. There were so many people on the two planes from Toronto that we were pushed on to three seperate buses. Then we couldn't even sit together for the drive to the hotel. We were not impressed with that part. However, not a big deal as we couldn't wait to start our holiday. The plane was cramped. No room. However I guess that is economy for you........lol.

Rooms:
The room was nice and large. The beds however could do with some upgrading. We requested a king size bed but had two doubles put together. We didn't complain but you know how it goes when you want to be with your partner. She liked it cause more space for her.......LOL. The room was kept clean everyday and the bar fridge was stocked every other day. No complaints. Bathroom was always clean, floors clean and maids were very kind and polite.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Bars were great. We tipped a bit but not alot. We were always served and never had to wait along time for anything. They even gave us drinks when we didn't ask. The bartenders were very attentitive. They even had time to take pictures of us when we requested. God bless them all. The restaurants were great and there was always something different. When your not cooking, doing dishes and you are being served or at a buffet, How can one complain. It is not what you get at a 5 star in Canada but for what the island has, it was incredible and our stomachs never hurt once. They work very hard to clean the dining rooms and make sure that everyone is seated comfortably and more. You have to try the fresh juice bar in the morning. WOW.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We never stayed at the pool much as we wanted the ocean. We have pools here. However it was a nice pool and we saw others enjoying it very much. The ocean beach could have been raked a bit more to keep it a bit cleaner. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE WATER SHOES IF YOU WANT TO GO IN THE OCEAN. I DIDN'T WEAR MINE THE FIRST DAY AND I SLICED UP MY FEET PRETTY BAD..
Lots of beach chairs and no one left waiting. Not a long beach at this resort, but still very beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on our own excursions in to town and villages. Much cheaper than what they charge for trips. However, try it all if you can. It's not like you can do it every day.

Other Comments:
It's a holiday. Your away from home and work. For one week Ginger and I were able to forget everything and enjoy another world. Just remember leave it all home and enjoy the time there. Create the memories.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you are looking for a five star resort don't go to the Riu Bachata who's five star rating may be accurate if it was based on a scale of 15!!"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marilyn  on Feb 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
458 people found this review helpful

We travelled to this resort to celebrate our son's wedding. We were a family group of 17 including 3 children and one teenager.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was fine - we were greeted with a cold drink. Only glitch was the man who was handing us our luggage said to my husband " you pay me". A omen for what was to come. Our rooms were not together as we had requested.
We went for lunch in the beach restaurant and one of the represntatives came over to "greet" us. I know he just wanted to make sure we weren't a "wild bunch" who were there to party because he asked who was in charge of the group. That was me.

Rooms:
Clean but beds hard. We might as well slept on the floor.
Forget about having your fridge refilled.( by the way at this resort the in- room bar and fridge are replenished every 2 days.) We only had ours refilled ONCE in 7 days. The rest of our group had the same problem, although, miraculously, they were refilled if you paid. Don't stay in building #9. Rooms are moldy smelling and it is beside the bar that stays open 24hrs. Those close to the bar can forget about sleeping. 3 of our group of 5 rooms here, had to be changed, which they were good about. Air conditioners in half the rooms didn't work. My son called for 2 days and finally repaired it himself. Rooms are supposed to have umbrellas, non of ours did. ( It rained for 2 days while we were there)

Restaurants and Bars:
There was very little variety in food at this resort. Not much fruit. The cooks gave you the feeling you were bothering them. I set a serving spoon back on the platter and one cook grabbed it and dropped it purposefully on the saucer it was supposed to be on. Constant little things like that made us all feel uncomfortable. The children could stand in the line as long as the adults then would be ignored by the cook until one of us appeared. All in all the serving staff were unfriendly unless you were forking out the cash - even then, if it was only a dollar or two, they were not impressed!
The two ala carte restaurants are in two sections of one building which is also the lunch buffet. You still have to serve yourself salad/ appetizers. Staff here were very pleasant and professional though. Although you were not limited to 2 meals here, we didn't bother because the food was not very good. Bars serve weak drinks which is OK. Bartenders tend to pick favourites and ignore others. Again, money talks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds and location are beautiful. The wedding in the gazebo was just gorgeous. I didn't use the pool - it was very crowded. Beach was clean and there were lots of chairs. Swimming at the end of the Bachata property is very rocky. Go down towards the Mambo for a sandy bottom.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The off resort activities offered are expensive so we didn't participate. Not many activities at this resort. Only have a couple of paddle boats and couple of kayaks which were not available most of the time we were there because of rough water. Even then, they are shared by all three resorts. Teenagers have very little to do. The younger children do have activities. Tennis courts etc are so spread out between the three resorts, they are hard to find and busy.
The evening entertainment is absolutely pathetic! I've been to many other resorts and this one is the worst by far.

Other Comments:
The wedding and people who helped us were excellent.
Sunquest is not going to be much help if you run into problems. Our son became very ill ( stomach problems ) on our 5th day. (The doctor at the resort was very caring and professional.) Our son, who is 26, was taken by ambulance to Puerto Plata where he was admitted. We were all very worried and having to taxi back and forth. There was a phone for us to keep in touch with him at the front desk. One member of the staff at the front desk would allow us to call the hospital at no charge, and then the next one would charge us $1. I think they just pocketed the dollar when they felt like it. On the 6th night I approached a Sunquest rep to explain our situation - we were going to be late getting to the airport as we had to take a taxi to the hospital and have our son discharged - our flight left at noon. I asked if it would be possible to prebook a seat for my son in which he could stretch out and not be crowded. Also, not have to stand in the long check in line. He would not help me. He told me he could not do anything and that I should look for the rep who would be there. Now, how was that going to help us??
If it had not been for the beautiful beach and lovely wedding I would have called this resort a disaster. We stayed at the Bahia Principe San Juan 2 years ago and would recommend it way before this supposed 5 star. All in all, I have decided I will not be returning to the Dominican Republic.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Puerto Plata Paradise"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Feb 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
480 people found this review helpful

A wonderful time at a beautiful resort. First off, let me say I researched this resort as much as possible before purchasing. There seems to be quite a few poor reviews. I do not understand. Everything is gorgeous, all staff are friendly and eager to please. There are comments about bringing bug spray - I think I saw two mosquitos and that includes walking the resorts and beach in the middle of the night.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was met by Sunquest reps immediately and we were directed to the bus. The sunquest rep went with us on the bus to provide info for our trip. Checking into the Riu Bachata took about 1 minute. Barely even enough time to finish our welcome cocktail. Riu staff took our bags directly to our room and beat us there. Again I do not understand how people can complain. If we had opted not to unpack we could having been suntanning poolside within 15 minutes.

Rooms:
Rooms are OK. Clean no bugs. Air conditioning along with an overhead ceiling fan makes everything comfortable. We had a king size bed. There are alot of complaints about being too hard. Seemed just fine to me. We were in building 8 ground floor facing the pool. I found the balconies a great place to relax with a drink and a cigar.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet restaurant is huge and the amount of food served is crazy. There is so much variety and quantity you will have to hold yourself back. You could easily gain a ton if you ate everything. Two restaurants - Italian and Steakhouse. I found the Italian very good. The Steak I had certainly was not Alberta beef but my thinking is you are not in cattle country so don't complain. Reserve a seat for the a la cartes at the entrance to the buffet when you go for breakfast. A la cartes were never that busy anyway.
There are a number of bars around the resort so you will not go thirsty. The bartenders are great. Friendly, ready to make anything you want. Every drink comes with a smile. If you have fun with them they are ready to have fun with you. You are on vacation - relax. There are comments saying the booze is watered down. Good thing because your glass gets filled to half or more liquor per drink. They have a number of different kinds of slush machines going at the bars during the day. You have to ask for rum, tequila, etc if you want liquor in them. Not a problem, bartenders accommodate without question.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools are very large and clean. Riu claims you cannot layout your towels to hold lounge chairs but everyone does. Layout a couple of towels on your way to breakfast. We were there during University Break Week so the swimup bar was very busy. I must admit the beach is not the greatest. If you want shade it is good. For full sun you would be best to wander down to the Merengue / Mambo beach. Coral washed up on shore makes the first 2-3 feet at the waters edge a bit rocky. Never swam in the Ocean here so I cannot comment.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did three excursions - Outback Safari, Free Style Catamaran, and Ocean World.
All fantastic.

Outback Safari - Junior our tour guide for Outback was super. Always having fun, cracking jokes, and full of local information. Junior's knowledge about his country, the vegetation, how people live was top notch. You finish your day boogie boarding which is alot of fun. This excursion is highly recommended, you will not be disappointed.

Freestyle Catmaran - The crew are great. A completely fun filled day. Bring lots of sun screen. Snorkelling on the reefs is amazing. 15 - 20 feet of crystal clear water. So clear you would never guess you were in water this deep. The beautiful tropical fish feed right out of your hand. If you make it a little difficult for them it almost turns into a feeding frenzy. This excursion is highly recommended, you will not be disappointed.

Ocean World - Some of us swam with the dolphins. They had a blast. The exhibits are very interactive. Make sure you visit the Love Birds exhibit. You will get covered in birds eating right out of your hand. Ocean World feels a little too American (Sea World, Disney, etc) and charges too much for pictures, food, souvenirs, etc. I must admit we had a fun day, however, felt a little too pricey.

Other Comments:
The animation staff are absolutely outstanding. They keep things hopping poolside during the day with different games, competitions, dancing etc. At night there is a very large stage with different shows. We were there 7 days and the shows were different each day. Don't sit too close to the stage if you don't want to be involved in on stage fun. Nothing dirty or risque just good clean fun. I think the animation team have been doing this job for some time so they know who to have fun with and who to leave alone. I'm sure the complainers on this site are the ones they left alone.

We had a great time. Would we go back. Probably not just because we will want to try different countries. I will say that staying at a Riu will be top priority when visiting other countries. I just hope the other Riu's are as fun, clean, friendly, and eager to make your stay enjoyable as the Riu Bachata.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Riu Bachata a very nice surprise"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kyrke  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
356 people found this review helpful

Two families stayed at Riu Bachata between Feb. 7th and 14th. Both families had 2 twelve year olds and 2 10 year olds. All girls...
We arrived on the early flight from Toronto and were at the resort by 11:30 and surprisingly were at our rooms by 12. Best check in of the 6 resorts we have been to. The resort is 35 minutes from the airport but it goes so quickly...the cold Presidente probably helped.

Your Arrival:
Arrived on the 6:10 from Toronto so arrived 10:45 local time. Transfer to the resort was 35 minutes direct and went by very quickly as the scenery was nice. Check in was amazing. By the time I got our bags from the bus, my wife had already checked in and had our keys to our room. A short walk later we were at our room. Very roomy and very clean. Two double beds pushed together but could have separated but we didn't. Very large bathroom and a balcony where we could view the ocean. We were in room 501. Close enough to everything but still away for some quiet time.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was a very nice surprise. There were plenty of choices for your main course. There was seafood, beef, pork, chicken and all the fixings every night. Turkey and mashed potatoes on a couple of nights if you wanted. Who would have thought. Best deserts in the carribean so far....cheese cake and chocolate.....Just remember to mix things up and you will always find something to eat. The ONLY thing I will say about the food is that the Riu's lack in the a-la-cartes. Only two and they were nothing more special than the buffets. Still nice but not as elegant as other resorts we've been to.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The nice thing about the Riu complex is that you get the use all three resorts. The Bachata beach is beautiful but you cannot swim in the ocean without shoes...very rocky as in coral. Awesome for snorkeling but can't swim there and beware of the current. The Merengue beach is better but still a little rocky and the Mambo ( at the other end of the beach 5 minute walk ) is the best beach for swimming. So you have all three options at your disposal....Use them for what you want. You can also use the other restaurants and bars except for dinners. We took in a couple of the other shows at night just to mix things up...needed to walk off dinner too.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Shows were ok but we were too tired with all the daily activities to take in all of them. The animation team was very entertaining and kept things going during the day. There is a wide array of excursions that you can take so make sure to look them up and take in a little local flavour.

Other Comments:
All in all, we were very impressed with the Riu Bachata and it's sister resorts. Everyone had a great time and we were sad to get home except that we can start planning next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube