Riu Bachata Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Victorian House

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 30, 2014

Riu Mambo

4.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2014

Be Live Grand Marien

4.0 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 17, 2014

Riu Merengue

3.4 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

Riu Bachata  

Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic

"had a great holiday"
Posted by: rob on Jun 29, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Bachata Reviews
Riu Bachata Pictures and Information
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#2
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 4.1

Based on 31 reviews

Riu Bachata Information


Beautiful Riu Bachata is an extraordinary getaway on the spectacular shores of Maimon Bay, overlooking a lush tropical mountainside.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Bachata Reviews

Riu Bachata Review: 4.1 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  12
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (21)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
21 - 30 of 31

"Generally OK. Problems...No air conditioning, Sewer smell everywhere."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Feb 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
542 people found this review helpful

January 18th - February 1st.
We liked the area, the food, the beach, the personal, good tours.
Two main disappointments: No Air-conditioning. Bad Sewer smell throughout resort at certain times.
The entertainment was rather poor half of our evenings.
Certainly not even close to a 5 Star Resort as avertised.
John V.

Your Arrival:
January 18th - February 1st.

Rooms:
516

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good

Other Comments:
Lack of Air Conditioning and Sewer Smell must be addressed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A few unpleasent surprises, but nice"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rob & Lauren, Sackville NB. Flight direct from Halifax  on Jan 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
542 people found this review helpful

It was nice to head back to Puerto Plata. In 2005 we were at Sun Village, just down the street from the RIU complex. Our experience there was fantastic, but then again, it was our first time. We found the Bachata lacking in some of the great things Sun Village offered. But nevertheless, the Bachata does offer a great place to stay with a great beach and a fabulous staff. Please keep in mind as you read my account, that it was Christmas week (Dec24-31) and that may have had an impact on service levels at the resort.

Your Arrival:
A 2.5 Hour delay getting out of Halifax put us on the ground in Puerto plata at around 12-1230.

The porter that grabbed our bags outside of the airport was friendly, but when we asked him if any of the stores were open at the airport he brought us to the guy that is on the left hand side of the Arrivals exit at the airport. DON'T buy anything from that guy...I bought two packs of cigarettes and two beers (he insisted I buy the beers...*shrug*), handed him a US 20 and he gave me back two loonies!

Our bus crew was less than great. Our host was attempting to crack jokes but his sarcasm was bleeding through a bit too much. He might as well have come out and called us 'stupid white people'...who can blame him though, it was after 1am on Christmas Morning and the idiots who screamed out "cerevza!" when he asked if we knew any Spanish deserved to be poked fun of.

And then of course there was the obligatory stops in the Playa Dorada complex to drop people off. I think the next time we go to Puerto Plata, we'll just stay at a Playa Dorada hotel, might as well, we spent enough time there (you make several stops there on excursions and on the way home as well).

We arrived at the Bachata late at night, around 2:30am, and in that quirky Domincan way, were greeted by the friedndly front desk staff and the "vigilante' (security guard) toting a very large rifle. The person behind the desk was attempting to have us wait to be brought to our rooms as a group, but seeing how bored the 'vigilante' was, my wife asked him in her perfect Spanish if he'd like to bring us to our room. After telling the front desk guy to stick it, he obliged, and it was great to be escorted by someone who was more willing to help than obey what his boss asks him to do. We later found out that the 'vigilantes' do rounds around the grounds all night.

After changing, we headed out to the late night bar (not a 24 Hour Bar as advertised, I'll explain later) where we encountered the type of people you encounter at 3am at a bar and sat up for a couple drinks then went to bed. 4:00am Christmas Morning by this point.

Rooms:
At check-in, when we found out we had a ground level room, we asked if we could switch. That was until we got to the room. It was a couple of minutes before my wife said "what's that sound?" and we realized it was the ocean! We were about 30 meteres from the water. A beautiful location, and very private as it did not look across at any other rooms. Hint: Request room 1105!

The room was very nice. Nice Cherry wood accents and tables with a great shower with great water pressure and hot water (except at night, we couldn't seem to get hot water after 8pm). There was a definite lack of towels in the room when we got there, and the pillows were a bit impractical for sleeping on (although being so late, didn't pose a problem that evening).

Much to be desired on the patio furniture, but the room did have a terrace (all of Bachata's rooms have a terrace). Take the room chairs from inside and put them out on the terrace. The supplied patio furniture set looks like it could have been purchased at Wal-Mart for $11.97 and is just about as comfortable.

We took advantage of the in-room Rum Dispenser, but missed not having Sprite or 7-Up to have Santo Libres along with the Cuba Libres we had with the Pepsi. RIU is a bit stingy with the mini-bar filling. They only fill once every 2 days. That's 4 litres of water, 3 beers, 3 pepsis, a fizzy water and club soda, but it has to last you 2 days. We were forgotten on our second day and had to remind them to bring us our stuff.

Restaurants and Bars:
No Brugal or Presidente!!! What the heck is with that??!! The beer is Bazillian (Brahma) and the Rum seems to be some sort of private labelled RIU stuff (??Normandy Rum??). I want Dominican product in the Dominican Republic! RIU should be obliged to offer it!

The only good coffee in the whole place comes from Nescafe branded dispensers, of which there is 4. Out of those 4 only 3 get switched on in the morning, but NOT UNTIL 10AM! Before 10am you're stuck with the very bad coffee served in the buffet restaurant, which is only comforted by the smoothie bar and great breakfast selections. The Nescafe machines ALWAYS had at least 4 people queing up to use them at 10. (Hint: get the Cafe con Leche from the machine, it's great!)
RIU advertises a "24 hour Bar". They should change that ad to:
"Late Night Bar. Open til the last drunk person goes to bed and not open again until 530pm. If you want a drink before 530pm go to the bars that are not 24 Hours"

On the restaurants:
The main buffet, Bahia de la Maimon, is quite nice. We had our best dinner experiences there.
The "A la Carte" retaurants are horrible! It seems that RIU thinks that people don't mind dressing up to eat dinner in the same spot that they sat shritless and ate a hamburger in at lunch.

The "A la cartes", if you can call them that, are the two sides to the large all day snack bar. At 5pm, the snack bar is converted into a "Steak House" and "Italian Retaurant". By "converted" I mean they put up dividers, move the tables and chairs around a bit and put down table cloths. It's cheap, but from reading other RIU brochures they do it at alot of their resorts. I guess people don't expect much.

The service at the a la cartes was fine with two exceptions:
When you've converted a self serve "Snack bar" into a full service retaurant you shouldn't ask your guests to get their own apetizers "buffet style". Seriously, serving myself? It's supposed to be something different than what you've been doing all day.
The entrees and desserst are brought to the table by wait staff. I say wait staff, but that's one thing you don't get in the a la cartes at the Bachata is "waiting". They have you in and out of there very quickly. The a la carte wait staff can be renamed 'rush staff'.

My adivce: if you're looking for a pleasent and slow dining exprience, stick with the main buffet restaurant. The A la cartes are not worth the trouble, and you have to serve yourself anyway. It's a shame because the staff that work them rely on the tips.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is fantastic. Great shade, and a very nice long strecth to walk along. At night, it is quite nice to take the pathway that runs along the beach and to the Merengue and Mambo resorts. You get to check out what's going on at the other hotels as well as walk along the water, stopping for a drink when you get tired.

There is also a fantastic stairway/walkway that when followed brings you to a point where RIU has placed a nice gazebo. It's a great walk and great lookout point and is by far the best grounds feature.

The pool is nice. It is large, but if you've been to a place in the past that has a clearly demarcated adult pool and family pool then the Bachata's pool will take awhile to get used to. The pool does have two sides, but both seem open to children. So peacful soaks with a pina colada are out of the question.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Okay, the "Cheapy-Cheapys" (guys who are ostensibly 'selling their wares' on the beach) wear UNIFORMS! What is with that?

Their stalls are also numbered and they openly talk (in Spanish) about one 'stealing' the other's sale etc. etc. Their products are ALL the same. And the numbers on their stalls also follow the sequence of numbers that appears above the shops on the Calle Caribena (Carribean Street).

RIU should try to make the on-resort shopping experience just a little more authentic. Ditch the uniforms for the cheapy-cheapys, and I'm sure you can get around having numbers above all the stalls.

We didn't take part in any other activities other than shopping and entertainment.

The entertainment was...suprisingly good. It had just the right mix of fun and poking fun that it should have. We watched more of the shows than we thought we would.

We went off resort for one shopping excusion..."Simply Shopping" and it seems our tour provider inverted the order of usefulness of the shops we went to.

We started at a relatively boring 'souvenir' shop (where we spent over an hour) and ended at La Sirena (less than 45 mins). La Sirena is a supermarket/department store. We were looking forward to browsing the shelves and taking our time, comparing produce prices, noticing the quirky differences etc...but were rushed in and out of La Sirena because we had spent too much time at other less useful and entertaining shops.

We hope the tour provider inverts the order of this excursion. Yes it is important that we visit small local businesses, but not at the expense of enjoying ourselves.

Other Comments:
All in all, I would suggest staying at one of the less expensive RIUs in the RIU complex. The Bachata is, I think, overrated in a very literal sense. It is NOT a 4.5-5 Star place. Paying the cheaper rate and staying at the Mambo or Merengue will give you the same expereince as the Bachata.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Can't wait 2 go back!"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2009
442 people found this review helpful

Arrival: October 2009
on arrival a was really surprised! it was beautiful! we was great an offered a cocktail an given our keys an shown 2 our rooms! the hotel is set in beautiful surrounds an the grounds are really kept lovely! all the staff are really freindly an allways keen 2 help! it was so clean everywhere u went!

Rooms:
the rooms were really gud an clean! included in ur room is a mini bar an fridge which is kept stocked! all rooms have there own balcony with lovely views!

Restaurants and Bars:
the main restaurant was great the food as lovely! there was so many choices there lots for all tastes! an the waiters are really freindly an look after u really well! the bars are really gud an open 24hrs1 an uv got a swim up bar!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beaches are lovely! kept really clean an lovely! the pools are really good an clean! an the grounds are kept really lovely!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
theres so much 2 do allday the animation team are doin something! darts beach volley! waterarobics danceing an lots more! we went on a few excursions the monster truck safari was really good fun! an the sea world place was really gud day! had a fantastic time!

Other Comments:
we loved it that much we are goin august 2010 2 get married the is over 40 freinds an family going with us an hope they love it an enjoy itas much as we did! cant wait 2 go back!

Email Lisa: lisajayneatiako62@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice place. A good value for the money"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jack  on Aug 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
423 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 2, 2009 to August 7 2009
A good idea is to prearrange for transfers to and from the destination.In my case, I think it saved a bit of time and money. Arrival and check-in at the resort were efficiently and politely accomplished by staff. Nice to have someone bring you a drink at check in. Refreshing and smart. Make sure that all of your necessary documents are handy and things will go quickly.

Rooms:
The rooms were clean and pleasant. A nice touch from housekeeping is the use of native flora to decorate after cleaning. Also creative folding of towels into unique shapes was a surprise. No washcloths, so you might bring your own. The rooms are bright, clean, and pleasant. I've slept on better and worse beds --nothing that would interfere with one's sleep.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was very good. The fish offerings were varied and tasty. Breakfast and dinner were far better than the lunches. The variety of fruits and vegetables was impressive. I particularly liked the choice of juices at breakfast. The atmosphere was excellent in the dinner and breakfast setting. Inside was very nicely turned out and the dining porches were comfortable and scenic with views of the pools and beach. Stocked mini-bars were a surprise --though you will quickly find that the alcohol content at all of the resort's drinking venues is very low. In my opinion, this is a good thing --somewhat unpleasant from my view to have loud, florid-faced guests rolling around. So, one can literally have a number of drinks without doing one's self ill. Staff is attentive and courteous.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Did not go in the pools. The beach was excellent. Scenic and shady with palm trees and uvas (a type of grape tree) growing up very close to the water. Great to get in a chaise and geeze at the water and read some potboiler. The temperature of the water was a little on the tepid side, but there were occasional gentle, cool currents. The bottom is rocky. I would suggest swimming shoes. Still, most people, myself included, did not use them. The grounds are very much what you would expect of your basic tropical paradise.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It may seem wonderful but I would not recommend this spot"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Heather  on Mar 1, 2009  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
458 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 25 - Feb 1
We arrived around 11:00pm and check-in was relatively quick. However, because we arrived late, we departed late on our last day and had to pay an extra $50 to access our room for a shower since our bus only left for the airport on our last day at 8pm. Hidden cost that we didn't expect!

Rooms
Rooms were not very nice. Probably nice in their day but definitely in need of a makeover.

Restaurants and Bars
The a la carte restaurants were extremely disappointing! It was basically the beach restaurant from the day that they put tablecloths on and call it a la carte. The food was not very good at the a la carte - much better at the buffet. We were asked one night by the General Manager who was going around asking questions what improvements could be made. We suggested that maybe "aromatic potatoes" probably shouldn't be french fries with parsley on them. The bars were good. A bar on the beach would've been nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The grounds are beautiful - except for the rat we saw at the pool on the last day. The beach is nice but very shady. The pools were crowded and the animation staff were very good but relaxing by the pool and getting hit by the ball during the water polo game was not so much.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did a 4 Wheeling Adventure and I am highly recommending it to anyone with a sense of adventure. It was not offered by our tour package and we were made to wait a couple of days until someone figured out how we could do the adventure but was well worth the wait. Be prepared to get dirty tho!

Other Comments
All in all this vacation was a disappointment. My last trip to Dominican Republic was to Punta Cana and trust me, I am by no means a high maintenance person, but Punta Cana was much newer and cleaner in comparison to Puerta Plata. The 4.5 star in Punta Cana would be an 8 in Puerta Plata! There is no way this resort should be rated a 5 star. We had to go to the other resorts in the morning to find bacon for breakfast. Again, I can't stress enough that I certainly am NOT a high maintenance person because I've read reviews like this before and thought I had the writer labelled as "fussy" but if given the chance to do it again, I'd use my money to go to Punta Cana instead. For a first time traveller to an all inclusive, it may seem wonderful but I would not recommend this spot.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We still had a GREAT time. Can hardly wait for next year!!"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  8 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
425 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 24 - March 6
Our arrival was without problems. Greeted by smiling faces and prompt service and a cocktail while we waiting for our room assignment.

Rooms
Our room was in building 3. Rm # 314 - overlooking Maimon Bay. It was a great location and just a few steps to everything else on the complex. The room was clean - maid service was great.

Restaurants and Bars
No complaints regarding the food. The salad was always great and with the amount of food offered, everyone should be able to find something they like.
The bars and the bartenders were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Large pools. The pool with the swim-up bar was always packed, but if you didn't want to be were it was so crowded, you could go in the other pool. They were both very nice. I love to walk the beach, but not one for getting in the ocean. Many did say that it was rocky in some spots. The grounds were maticulous - everyone does such a nice job.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The excursions are expensive. This was our 6th time to the Dominican Republic so we have been on many of them already. The only thing we did was go to the city a couple of times - once to the new Super Market...la Sirena....it's like a Walmart and the place was PACKED!! My husband and a friends husband were the 2 white guys with island shirts on handing out the store fliers and the shopping baskets....lots of smiles about that story!!

Other Comments
Even though it was overcast and raining the last 5 days we were there...we still had a GREAT time. Can hardly wait for next year!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The workers at the resort really go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nan  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
443 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 30 May - 05 June
We flew from Baltimore, MD to Newark, NJ and then to Puerto Plata. The flight was uneventful. They served a breakfast sandwich, fruit and drinks. It took approximately 3.5 hours to Puerto Plata. Then from the PP airport, it took about 15 mins to the resort. We arrived around 1pm and our room was not yet ready so we were given our bracelets and were able to eat at the buffet and enjoy the facilities. The rooms were ready soon after lunch. Check in was pleasant and the reception staff were very friendly and courteous.

Rooms:
We were given room 311 which faced the Bay and the mountains. It had a king size bed, a dresser with 6 large drawers and 2 night stands. It also had a huge closet with 20+ hangers which was very nice. It also had a small sitting area with a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was very nice with marble floor and granite counter tops. It was a bit dated but nicely decorated in island motif.

Restaurants and Bars:
We really enjoyed the main buffet. It always had a great variety of fruit, salads and main dishes. I really enjoyed the fresh fish and rice dishes which was always available and delicious. There were several theme nights, Mexican, International and couple of others. The pork dishes were also very good. They also had a carving station which had ham, turkey, goose and roast beef. The baked goods were really terrific. Variety of muffins, breads, cookies and cakes. We tried the A-La-Carte Steak restaurant but we were not really impressed. Although many people complained that it was hard to get a reservation, we had no problems at all. We checked out the buffet after and noticed that they also had steak as well as roast beef that night. Granted, it was nice to be served by a waiter but I felt that the waiters in the buffet were just as attentive. I thought it would be a nice occasion to dress up but found that some people were dressed much too casually in gym shorts and flip flops. So we decided to forgo the Italian restaurant and stay with the buffet.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Monogrammed tableware and good silverware make this closer to a 5 Star than a 4 Star."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Rob and Debbie from Fredericton, New Brunswick  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010
522 people found this review helpful

CanJet was about an hour late leaving Fredericton, the compressor on the starboard engine was broken and required an external boost. Once in the air the flight was smooth, the food good and the latest 007 movie was fun. Emergency exit row 16 has good leg room and the seats recline on this 737.
Landing at POP was as smooth as that runway can manage. Immigration and customs were a breeze and there were beer vendors near the bus. A few stops at Playa Dorada and then on to Riu. Even with stops, the trip wasn’t 40 minutes. Two couples for Bachata and about half a bus for the other Riu’s. We are 50ish and wanted a similar crowd.

Arriving very late, Kelvin, the night manager quickly delivered us to nearby building 9, 2nd floor where sandwiches and fruit were waiting. We had requested a building with a bay or sea view and were told that it would be arranged in the morning.
Room #921 was clean and well laid out. We wandered down to the late bar and had a drink and another sandwich before hitting the sack. Bed was a king and very comfortable.

Next day we were moved to building 1, 2nd floor, #123, overlooking the quiet end of the beach and reef and view of the surf towards the headland with wedding kiosk. Again, a neat and clean room where everything worked; a large safe and a good working AC too. Two double beds made up separately but pushed together. Firm but very comfortable. One soft and one firm pillow each. TV channels 1 to 100 with about 10 English and some sports and golf. No weather channel. Rum, Brandy, Vodka and Gin in the dispensers and a fridge with Brahma, Pepsi, mixes and 4l water. No ice tray. Plenty of closet space and lots of hangers. Hair dryer but no coffee maker or clothes iron. 110V, slightly recessed sockets so an ext cord would come in handy.

This is a beautiful resort; mature coconut palms and mangroves; manicured lawns seeded with a sedge or herb, like thyme. (Hence the “Please don’t walk on the lawns” signs) Flowers in blues, gold’s and reds are everywhere. Petunia and Hibiscus varieties. Green mountains tower behind the property and 270 degrees of ocean, bay and reefs are the signature views from the Bachata.

Every morning the entire property is raked and cleaned. All day, the grounds keepers work at making everything perfect. While researching this property, we used GoogleEarth to have a good look. What we didn’t realize until we got there is the beach is actually much wider than the photos show. There are so many shade trees; it’s hard to see the top 200 feet of beach in the satellite shots. Indeed, the Mambo beach is widest and sandy and the beach narrows towards the Bachata end at the point, but there’s lots of room and more than enough loungers. Wear water shoes at the Bachata end because its beach is sandy but once in the water, the bottom is muddled corals and bits of shell.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Monogrammed tableware and good silverware make this closer to a 5 Star than a 4 Star."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Rob and Debbie from Fredericton, New Brunswick  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010
522 people found this review helpful

CanJet was about an hour late leaving Fredericton, the compressor on the starboard engine was broken and required an external boost. Once in the air the flight was smooth, the food good and the latest 007 movie was fun. Emergency exit row 16 has good leg room and the seats recline on this 737.
Landing at POP was as smooth as that runway can manage. Immigration and customs were a breeze and there were beer vendors near the bus. A few stops at Playa Dorada and then on to Riu. Even with stops, the trip wasn’t 40 minutes. Two couples for Bachata and about half a bus for the other Riu’s. We are 50ish and wanted a similar crowd.

Arriving very late, Kelvin, the night manager quickly delivered us to nearby building 9, 2nd floor where sandwiches and fruit were waiting. We had requested a building with a bay or sea view and were told that it would be arranged in the morning.
Room #921 was clean and well laid out. We wandered down to the late bar and had a drink and another sandwich before hitting the sack. Bed was a king and very comfortable.

Next day we were moved to building 1, 2nd floor, #123, overlooking the quiet end of the beach and reef and view of the surf towards the headland with wedding kiosk. Again, a neat and clean room where everything worked; a large safe and a good working AC too. Two double beds made up separately but pushed together. Firm but very comfortable. One soft and one firm pillow each. TV channels 1 to 100 with about 10 English and some sports and golf. No weather channel. Rum, Brandy, Vodka and Gin in the dispensers and a fridge with Brahma, Pepsi, mixes and 4l water. No ice tray. Plenty of closet space and lots of hangers. Hair dryer but no coffee maker or clothes iron. 110V, slightly recessed sockets so an ext cord would come in handy.

This is a beautiful resort; mature coconut palms and mangroves; manicured lawns seeded with a sedge or herb, like thyme. (Hence the “Please don’t walk on the lawns” signs) Flowers in blues, gold’s and reds are everywhere. Petunia and Hibiscus varieties. Green mountains tower behind the property and 270 degrees of ocean, bay and reefs are the signature views from the Bachata.

Every morning the entire property is raked and cleaned. All day, the grounds keepers work at making everything perfect. While researching this property, we used GoogleEarth to have a good look. What we didn’t realize until we got there is the beach is actually much wider than the photos show. There are so many shade trees; it’s hard to see the top 200 feet of beach in the satellite shots. Indeed, the Mambo beach is widest and sandy and the beach narrows towards the Bachata end at the point, but there’s lots of room and more than enough loungers. Wear water shoes at the Bachata end because its beach is sandy but once in the water, the bottom is muddled corals and bits of shell.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Monogrammed tableware and good silverware make this closer to a 5 Star than a 4 Star."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Rob and Debbie from Fredericton, New Brunswick  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010
522 people found this review helpful

CanJet was about an hour late leaving Fredericton, the compressor on the starboard engine was broken and required an external boost. Once in the air the flight was smooth, the food good and the latest 007 movie was fun. Emergency exit row 16 has good leg room and the seats recline on this 737.
Landing at POP was as smooth as that runway can manage. Immigration and customs were a breeze and there were beer vendors near the bus. A few stops at Playa Dorada and then on to Riu. Even with stops, the trip wasn’t 40 minutes. Two couples for Bachata and about half a bus for the other Riu’s. We are 50ish and wanted a similar crowd.

Arriving very late, Kelvin, the night manager quickly delivered us to nearby building 9, 2nd floor where sandwiches and fruit were waiting. We had requested a building with a bay or sea view and were told that it would be arranged in the morning.
Room #921 was clean and well laid out. We wandered down to the late bar and had a drink and another sandwich before hitting the sack. Bed was a king and very comfortable.

Next day we were moved to building 1, 2nd floor, #123, overlooking the quiet end of the beach and reef and view of the surf towards the headland with wedding kiosk. Again, a neat and clean room where everything worked; a large safe and a good working AC too. Two double beds made up separately but pushed together. Firm but very comfortable. One soft and one firm pillow each. TV channels 1 to 100 with about 10 English and some sports and golf. No weather channel. Rum, Brandy, Vodka and Gin in the dispensers and a fridge with Brahma, Pepsi, mixes and 4l water. No ice tray. Plenty of closet space and lots of hangers. Hair dryer but no coffee maker or clothes iron. 110V, slightly recessed sockets so an ext cord would come in handy.

This is a beautiful resort; mature coconut palms and mangroves; manicured lawns seeded with a sedge or herb, like thyme. (Hence the “Please don’t walk on the lawns” signs) Flowers in blues, gold’s and reds are everywhere. Petunia and Hibiscus varieties. Green mountains tower behind the property and 270 degrees of ocean, bay and reefs are the signature views from the Bachata.

Every morning the entire property is raked and cleaned. All day, the grounds keepers work at making everything perfect. While researching this property, we used GoogleEarth to have a good look. What we didn’t realize until we got there is the beach is actually much wider than the photos show. There are so many shade trees; it’s hard to see the top 200 feet of beach in the satellite shots. Indeed, the Mambo beach is widest and sandy and the beach narrows towards the Bachata end at the point, but there’s lots of room and more than enough loungers. Wear water shoes at the Bachata end because its beach is sandy but once in the water, the bottom is muddled corals and bits of shell.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff is fantastic."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Mar 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
478 people found this review helpful

CanJet was about an hour late leaving Fredericton, the compressor on the starboard engine was broken and required an external boost. Once in the air the flight was smooth, the food good and the latest 007 movie was fun. Emergency exit row 16 has good leg room and the seats recline on this 737.
Landing at POP was as smooth as that runway can manage. Immigration and customs were a breeze and there were beer vendors near the bus. A few stops at Playa Dorada and then on to Riu. Even with stops, the trip wasn’t 40 minutes. Two couples for Bachata and about half a bus for the other Riu’s. We are 50ish and wanted a similar crowd.

Arriving very late, Kelvin, the night manager quickly delivered us to nearby building 9, 2nd floor where sandwiches and fruit were waiting. We had requested a building with a bay or sea view and were told that it would be arranged in the morning.
Room #921 was clean and well laid out. We wandered down to the late bar and had a drink and another sandwich before hitting the sack. Bed was a king and very comfortable.

Next day we were moved to building 1, 2nd floor, #123, overlooking the quiet end of the beach and reef and view of the surf towards the headland with wedding kiosk.
Again, a neat and clean room where everything worked; a large safe and a good working AC too. Two double beds made up separately but pushed together. Firm but very comfortable. One soft and one firm pillow each. TV channels 1 to 100 with about 10 English and some sports and golf. No weather channel. Rum, Brandy, Vodka and Gin in the dispensers and a fridge with Brahma, Pepsi, mixes and 4l water. No ice tray. Plenty of closet space and lots of hangers. Hair dryer but no coffee maker or clothes iron. 110V, slightly recessed sockets so an ext cord would come in handy.

This is a beautiful resort; mature coconut palms and mangroves; manicured lawns seeded with a sedge or herb, like thyme. (Hence the “Please don’t walk on the lawns” signs) Flowers in blues, gold’s and reds are everywhere. Petunia and Hibiscus varieties. Green mountains tower behind the property and 270 degrees of ocean, bay and reefs are the signature views from the Bachata.

Every morning the entire property is raked and cleaned. All day, the grounds keepers work at making everything perfect. While researching this property, we used GoogleEarth to have a good look. What we didn’t realize until we got there is the beach is actually much wider than the photos show. There are so many shade trees; it’s hard to see the top 200 feet of beach in the satellite shots. Indeed, the Mambo beach is widest and sandy and the beach narrows towards the Bachata end at the point, but there’s lots of room and more than enough loungers. Wear water shoes at the Bachata end because its beach is sandy but once in the water, the bottom is muddled corals and bits of shell.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff is fantastic."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Mar 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
478 people found this review helpful

CanJet was about an hour late leaving Fredericton, the compressor on the starboard engine was broken and required an external boost. Once in the air the flight was smooth, the food good and the latest 007 movie was fun. Emergency exit row 16 has good leg room and the seats recline on this 737.
Landing at POP was as smooth as that runway can manage. Immigration and customs were a breeze and there were beer vendors near the bus. A few stops at Playa Dorada and then on to Riu. Even with stops, the trip wasn’t 40 minutes. Two couples for Bachata and about half a bus for the other Riu’s. We are 50ish and wanted a similar crowd.

Arriving very late, Kelvin, the night manager quickly delivered us to nearby building 9, 2nd floor where sandwiches and fruit were waiting. We had requested a building with a bay or sea view and were told that it would be arranged in the morning.
Room #921 was clean and well laid out. We wandered down to the late bar and had a drink and another sandwich before hitting the sack. Bed was a king and very comfortable.

Next day we were moved to building 1, 2nd floor, #123, overlooking the quiet end of the beach and reef and view of the surf towards the headland with wedding kiosk.
Again, a neat and clean room where everything worked; a large safe and a good working AC too. Two double beds made up separately but pushed together. Firm but very comfortable. One soft and one firm pillow each. TV channels 1 to 100 with about 10 English and some sports and golf. No weather channel. Rum, Brandy, Vodka and Gin in the dispensers and a fridge with Brahma, Pepsi, mixes and 4l water. No ice tray. Plenty of closet space and lots of hangers. Hair dryer but no coffee maker or clothes iron. 110V, slightly recessed sockets so an ext cord would come in handy.

This is a beautiful resort; mature coconut palms and mangroves; manicured lawns seeded with a sedge or herb, like thyme. (Hence the “Please don’t walk on the lawns” signs) Flowers in blues, gold’s and reds are everywhere. Petunia and Hibiscus varieties. Green mountains tower behind the property and 270 degrees of ocean, bay and reefs are the signature views from the Bachata.

Every morning the entire property is raked and cleaned. All day, the grounds keepers work at making everything perfect. While researching this property, we used GoogleEarth to have a good look. What we didn’t realize until we got there is the beach is actually much wider than the photos show. There are so many shade trees; it’s hard to see the top 200 feet of beach in the satellite shots. Indeed, the Mambo beach is widest and sandy and the beach narrows towards the Bachata end at the point, but there’s lots of room and more than enough loungers. Wear water shoes at the Bachata end because its beach is sandy but once in the water, the bottom is muddled corals and bits of shell.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff is fantastic."

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Mar 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
478 people found this review helpful

CanJet was about an hour late leaving Fredericton, the compressor on the starboard engine was broken and required an external boost. Once in the air the flight was smooth, the food good and the latest 007 movie was fun. Emergency exit row 16 has good leg room and the seats recline on this 737.
Landing at POP was as smooth as that runway can manage. Immigration and customs were a breeze and there were beer vendors near the bus. A few stops at Playa Dorada and then on to Riu. Even with stops, the trip wasn’t 40 minutes. Two couples for Bachata and about half a bus for the other Riu’s. We are 50ish and wanted a similar crowd.

Arriving very late, Kelvin, the night manager quickly delivered us to nearby building 9, 2nd floor where sandwiches and fruit were waiting. We had requested a building with a bay or sea view and were told that it would be arranged in the morning.
Room #921 was clean and well laid out. We wandered down to the late bar and had a drink and another sandwich before hitting the sack. Bed was a king and very comfortable.

Next day we were moved to building 1, 2nd floor, #123, overlooking the quiet end of the beach and reef and view of the surf towards the headland with wedding kiosk.
Again, a neat and clean room where everything worked; a large safe and a good working AC too. Two double beds made up separately but pushed together. Firm but very comfortable. One soft and one firm pillow each. TV channels 1 to 100 with about 10 English and some sports and golf. No weather channel. Rum, Brandy, Vodka and Gin in the dispensers and a fridge with Brahma, Pepsi, mixes and 4l water. No ice tray. Plenty of closet space and lots of hangers. Hair dryer but no coffee maker or clothes iron. 110V, slightly recessed sockets so an ext cord would come in handy.

This is a beautiful resort; mature coconut palms and mangroves; manicured lawns seeded with a sedge or herb, like thyme. (Hence the “Please don’t walk on the lawns” signs) Flowers in blues, gold’s and reds are everywhere. Petunia and Hibiscus varieties. Green mountains tower behind the property and 270 degrees of ocean, bay and reefs are the signature views from the Bachata.

Every morning the entire property is raked and cleaned. All day, the grounds keepers work at making everything perfect. While researching this property, we used GoogleEarth to have a good look. What we didn’t realize until we got there is the beach is actually much wider than the photos show. There are so many shade trees; it’s hard to see the top 200 feet of beach in the satellite shots. Indeed, the Mambo beach is widest and sandy and the beach narrows towards the Bachata end at the point, but there’s lots of room and more than enough loungers. Wear water shoes at the Bachata end because its beach is sandy but once in the water, the bottom is muddled corals and bits of shell.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great holiday and resort"

Riu Bachata
User Rating:  Riu Bachata Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  zachsmom  on Feb 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
448 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 9 - Feb 16
We had used Isaira tours (www.isairatours.com) last year for a day trip, and contacted them again this year by email prior to arrival to arrange for a cab to pick us up at the airport. Wonderful service - this time by Martin himself! A real treat not to have to take the bus. Highly recommend the company once again.

Rooms
Being repeat guests, we had sent an email to request a room in a specific block. Previously, these requests have always been granted. This year on arrival I was told that the room location I was requesting was an upgrade, and would be $30. USD a night extra. As luck would have it, the person I was dealing with at the front desk was Victor, who introduced himself as the front desk manager. After some pleasant discussion, Victor gave us a lovely room just where we always have it without charge. Thank you Victor.

The room that we had is beginning to look a little worn. Could use some ugrades/paint. Small detail. Super clean as usual, maid was wonderful and remembered to leave 3 towels for us everyday after we asked just once. Left a note and a few dollars in the fridge asking for beer and it was stocked to capacity every day.

Restaurants and Bars

A bit of a change here - and not for the better. Seems more and more people take advantage of the "stay at one, play at all three" advertised by the Riu properties in POP. As Riu Bachata is the only dining room with outdoor covered dining, it seems a lot of people from the other resorts come to eat @ Bachata, making it very crowded. More on this in the Pool review.....

We had a wonderful waiter, Jose in the evenings. Once we met him, we sat in his section each evening and he reserved a table for us. Really a lovely young man. We tipped him well every evening as he worked hard for us, and deserved it. On Valentines Day he even had our table decorated with flowers and extra candles.

Food overall was good - we tried both A La Cartes once again. Really the best thing there is the change from the noise of the buffet area. The food is similar to the buffet. Good, plentiful, somewhat bland. Lots of selection on the buffet, with clean up and food replacement done regularly. Cleaning up of tables at the beach/lunch restaurant was hit and miss - certainly less service than before.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube