Riu Mambo Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Victorian House

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 30, 2014

Riu Bachata

4.1 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 29, 2014

Be Live Grand Marien

4.0 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 13, 2012

Riu Merengue

3.4 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

Riu Mambo  

Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic

"best all inclusive i have been to"
Posted by: philip on Jun 28, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Mambo Reviews
Riu Mambo Pictures and Information
Riu Mambo Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#9
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 4.3

Based on 19 reviews

Riu Mambo Information


Located on beautiful Maimon Bay, Riu Mambo offers a breathtaking view of the ocean and the Puerto Plata mountains.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Mambo Reviews

Riu Mambo Review: 4.3 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  9
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 19

"best all inclusive i have been to"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  philip  on Jun 28, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
29 people found this review helpful

One of the best all inclusive hotels in Puerto Plata and just like other riu hotels I have visited, this is just like them. It is located right on the Maimon bay beach with great staff attending to your needs all the time. As usual, service here was top notch with the breezy atmosphere; it doesn’t get any better than this. The beach has blond sand and transparent waters, it’s a beautiful beach to go visit. The environment is just fun with the exceptional nature surrounding it. There are lots of water activities to take part in and lots of beautiful spots to visit. The all inclusive features breakfast buffet, lunch buffet, dinner buffet and other optional dining if you want. The daytime activities were fun for both adults and children so you know that the place is kid friendly as well. The hotel environment is clean and so is the bathroom and pool. My room had everything in it including a mini bar that was restocked daily and a working air condition with a good view. The pool is clean with a poolside restaurant and bar that were run by friendly staff. There is an internet room but you will have to pay an additional charge to get access but that’s okay. The entire staff was friendly and professional and always available when you need them. I really had a wonderful and fantastic time here during my stay in April; I wish to come back here again next time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great weather great time and good friends"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  J.  on Apr 2, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
451 people found this review helpful

This is our second time at the Riu Mambo for two weeks march 13-27,2012. When we booked with Sunwing, we were a little concerned from the negativity on the web about them, but found them to be very good, excellent service, choice of meals including wine.

Room Number:
2010

Room Block:
2000

Arrival:
Check is was very efficient, they had a package for each person, it included room key, towel tickets and site map, along with a welcome drink, nothing to sign.

Rooms:
The room was large, well maintained. It was kept spotless. The mini bar was restocked every 2nd day. There was no cost for the mini bar or the safe.
The TV had many more english channels that we have seen in the past.
At times it was diffitult to control the air conditioning. The bed was confortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate at the buffet restaurant. We found the food to be plentiful and hot or cold as it was supposed to be. They were always replacing the food with fresh.
Service at the bars was efficient, in two days all the bars knew what you liked to drink. There was no pressure to tip anywhere in the resort. We did tip at the bars at the end of our stay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There is lots of shade, I think the beach here is the best of the three resorts. There were plenty of loungers both at the beach and arround the pool. We never had a problem getting one and did not have to reserve them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We have been to the island manhy time, have dong just about everything. The trip was just of relax and be at the beach or the pool.

Other Comments:
All the people working at the resort were very friendly, always smiling and happy.
Our flight home was very early, pickup was before the resaurant opens for breakfast, however, the resort opened the restaurant early so we could get breakfast. That is really good customer service.
At the airport there were a large number of Sunwing representative to see that all went well without any problems.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wow..Clappy Clappy..."

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  alex  on Mar 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
440 people found this review helpful

First time experience at a Carribean resort. The weather was picture perfect as was the scenery and resort. The staff were all first class, friendly and willing to go the extra distance for my comfort. I had an opportunity to meet some of the locals which only added to the overall experience.
The food was presented in a professional theme manner considering how many international peoples were there.
Our rooms were spotless and clean. We had liquor cabinet as well as water and sodas at our disposal...included. At night when you wanted to sleep, it was sooo quiet. Extermely peaceful
I thoroughly enjoyed the activities, water volleyball, yoga, water aquafitness, darts, bocchi, horseshoes, casino etc.
The walk down Carribe street was a bargining experience. Lots of vendors with lots of good deals if you are careful ahd shrewd!!
I made a lot of aquaintences and look forward to returning. ola!

Room Number:
507

Arrival:
March 01-march 08 2012

Rooms:
immaculate with superb a/c

Restaurants and Bars:
everywhere...the beer was awesome!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
amazing and well kept...pool people constantly cleaning with nets to catch "stuff" that is left behind by tourists, ie plastic cups, paper plates,hair elastics etc., leaves from the numerous palm and almond trees.
Early morning groomers raking and sweeping the grounds to make it estheticly pleasing for the tourists.
Beach lounge chairs were always available and clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tours of rum factory, cigar factory, horse back riding, free university,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved it"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mama  on Feb 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
708 people found this review helpful

Loved this resort. Food was great, other than breakfast and lunch where repeated everyday, but lots to choose from so you should be able to change it up a bit if you care to. Beds a bit hard, but the rooms are very clean.
When our mini bar ran out we called the front desk and with in 5 mins someone was there to stock it up (left before we had a chance to tip him even). Front Desk called up in about 20 mins to make sure we had been restocked.
Grounds are very clean. Pools where also extremly clean. you may have trouble getting a pool chair right at the waters edge if you are not there early.
Went on the Paradise Island excusion and that was amazing. Snorkeled in the reef, and rode through the Mangroves, stopped at a wee shop on the way bach where they where hand rolling cigars (my parner even jumped and and they showed her and allowed how to roll them).
The entertainment staff was out of this world don't know where they get their energy.Lots to do if you want to take part in it but I nevr felt pressured to take part (and never did myself).
Loved that fact that the 3 resorts are all attached together and you can use them all. (attached maybe a 10 min walk form one end to the other)
The only real complaint I have is that check out time is 12pm and we where not being picked up until 8pm. and it would have cost us $10.ooUS per hour to get another room for the 8 hours (still would not have been able to stay in our own room!). I wold recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Number:
510

Arrival:
When we arrived we where all given an envelope with our key and a map of our resort, some papers to fill out and hand back in the next day. Very well organized.

Rooms:
Very clean. Wished they had a king size bed instead of 2 doubles shoved together. Beds a bit hard for me personally.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great. Breakfast and Lunch seem to repeat themselves, but Dinner was amazing and if you eat enought then (which you cold easily just trying each thing) then you would not need much breakfast or lunch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very Clean and well kept. Mambo has the best beach of the 3 resorts that are there together.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff never stops. Kiko, Pepsy and Mama Annie rock.

Other Comments:
Will be back at this or any other RIU resort. We also have a friend in a chair (so we where paying attention)and we are quite sure that this resort would be very accessable if you where confined to a chair.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Trip was Amazing!"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dawn  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
727 people found this review helpful

This was the first trip ever for myself and two teenage sons. Although we arrived at our resort at 11:00pm, the Reception had juice in champagne bottles, along with fruit and light sandwiches ready for all of us once we arrived. Boy they made us feel so welcomed! Even my teens had a huge smile on their face. Checking in was easy and so was finding our suite.

Our room was nice. They set it up with 3 single beds so that the kids and i could stay together more comfortably. The view of the mountain behind the resort was GORGEOUS! The rooms were kept very neat and clean & stocked every day, and the mini bar was stocked every other day (but you could still call and ask for more - No issues at all with that!). When we went to bed, we of course had to close the balcony (darn because the breeze was perfect), so the ac came on during the night. The only issue was that around 430am the room started to feel damp...and a slight musty smell....as soon as we were up - the balcony door was open.

The food was soooo good! Every meal, every day the food was good. Even my picky teen had found many items on the menu he loved!We didnt bother trying the a la carte - we just werent interested. I do have to say, the wait staff are so friendly and attentive (yes i know they want tips), but most genuinely seemed to enjoy their work. They knew exactly what all three of us wanted when we sat down. It felt like we were at home....I really didnt enjoy the coffees at all - way too strong, but the tea was good.

OMG the beach! What can i say other than that it was so beautiful, well taken care of, water was just heavenly. I have never seen the ocean & beach area as beautiful as this was. Even the BACHATA and MERRINGUE weren't comparable, even if they were on the same stretch of beach (have to see to understand). The boys loved the snorkeling!

We did two excursions and I would definitely recommend to anyone with boys and the braver girls to go do the Dune buggie excursion! We had so much fun! Expect to get dirty and expect to yell with excitement! Only downfall was that it was a 1 hour tour :(

The last excursion was the MEGATRUCKS.....This was absolutely amazing and our tour guide "KELLY " and the "bar guy" and "papparazzi" were so much fun!! All three of us loved the tour, and if you want to know more about it, please check the riu websites! Well worth the $....especially since it was from 9am - 5:00pm!

All in all a great experience! The weather was perfect, not one day of rain! The people were so great and warm......the driving was SCARY!!!! but, the interesting part was that not one of the drivers (even those who got cut off!) swore, gave the finger to, or showed any annoyance for the experience!

We will definitely go again!
Dawn

Room Block:
1600"s

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"geweldige vakantie"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Agnes Weijers  on Sep 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
775 people found this review helpful

Fam. Weijers uit Nederland.

Geweldig resort. 3 RIU"S bij elkaar waar je gebruik van mag maken, Mambo, Bachata en Mereque. Mooi aangelegde tuinen,superschoon.2 zwembaden met zowel zonnige als schaduwrijke plekken, zo ook aan het strand. Kamers zien er mooi uit, een gevulde koelkast met water, cola en een alcohol bar, ook gratis. Buffetten met volop keus en prima verzorgd. Vriendelijk personeel, erg behulpzaam. Je kunt sávonds een heerlijke wandeling maken naar de andere resorts via een verhard wandelpad. Animatie voldoende aanwezig en ook avondshows. Excursies gedaan bij Linda van Meltours.Ik had vanuit Nederland al contact met Linda via de mail. Op al mijn vragen antwoord gehad en advies over de excursies. Dag na aankomst kwam Linda naar ons hotel om de excursies door te nemen. De helft betaald en de rest op de dag van excursie. Ook kon er naderhand nog wat veranderdworden door onverwachts bezoek van dochter en vriend ( backpakkers ). Dit was totaal geen probleem voor Linda zodat we met z'n vieren nog leuke excursies konden doen. Hebben Puerto Plata gedaan, Playa Grande Gri Gri Lagoon, Jeepsafari met watervallen, en Paradise Eiland gedaan. Hele mooie excursies voor een betaalbare prijs. Kortom bij Linda krijg je waar voor je geld. Ik kan iedereen aanraden met haar in zee te gaan. Ze komt zeer betrouwbaar over, is vriendelijk, en maakt haar beloften waar.

Linda, dank je wel voor deze mooie tijd xxx

Arrival:
20 Juni 2010 t/m 4 Juli 2010

Geland in Puerto Plata en toen nog een half uurtje met de bus.
Hartelijk ontvangst Bij Riu Mambo. Kregen een welkomst drankje aangeboden.
Daarna werden de koffers netjes naar de kamer gebracht waar een mooie schaal vers fruit stond en een welkomskaartje waarin ons een fijne vakantie werd gewenst.

Rooms:
Mooie 2 persoonskamer. Blok 1 kamer 102, centraal gelegen, tegenover het zwembad. De kamer was ruim, mooi gemeubileerd en schoon. Koelkast gevuld met water en cola en dit werd elke 2 dagen aangevuld. Ook was er een minibar met 4 soorten sterke drank, dit was ook gratis. Een mooi terras, wij zaten beneden met een hordeur erin, ideaal.

Restaurants and Bars:
Binnen een restaurant, zag er netjes uit en met genoeg plaats. Erg goede buffetten en genoeg keus voor ieder. Zag er allemaal netjes en verzorgd uit. Bediening was ook goed, vriendelijke mensen.
Bij het zwembad was ook een restaurant waar je smiddags kon eten. Ook was er een grilsteakhouse, wel even van tevoren bespreken.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
2 grote zwembaden, mooi aanglegd. Plaats voor zon of schaduw en een aantal parasols.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Voldoende animatie aanwezig, voor ieder wat wils. Van s'morgens vroeg tot sávonds laat. De mensen van de animatie zijn de hele dag bezig om de gasten te vermaken.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"lovely resort"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dixie  on Mar 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
904 people found this review helpful

Dixie,Kitchener,ON

This resort was very pretty and well cared for,The rooms were clean and kept that way all week.The pool was clean with lots of chairs. One thing we really liked was that the pool was a nice depth. with a separate pool for kids.The entertainment staff was excellent with always something happening if you wanted to participate or just watch.
The buffet was the best I,ve had on the Islands Something different every night.For breakfast there was a good selection, I especially like the homemade donuts.
The ala cartes were not the best.
The beds were quite firm.
Other than that we loved it and we will definately return and bring our family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't like smokers"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
859 people found this review helpful

Reviews we read are pretty accurate. Arrived and upon entry to room was overwhelmed by the cigarette smoke smell. Jose at the front desk was great and moved us to a much less, but still smokey smelling room.

The smokers are the one reason we would seriously consider never returning. Dining area has designated areas which is ok...when they haven't blocked off some of the dining areas thus forcing you to eat in the smoking area.

Night shows...well we skipped most because again the smokers. There was no designated area which would have allowed non-smokers to breath! That would be one recommendation for improvement.

Don't get me wrong, there is alot going for this resort but the smoking issue kills it for us. This is the first trip EVER the wife didn't go in the pool...because the proximity to smokers. The bars, surrounded by smokers. etc etc etc.

Lots of positives, but we've read about them which prepared us. Even the smoker issue has been written about. I'd have to say that is a bigger problem for families with kids (there were some) because, although one group of smokers moved when we started coughing during the info meeting, there are truly some ignorant smokers. I have no problem with them killing themselves, just don't take me with you. Lighting up immediately after getting off the arrival bus, in the mdst of kids, and others is just plain ignorant.

The sooner lung cancer rides the world of this kind of smoker, the better. Not all smokers are like this but the ones that are, who enjoyed their vacation at the expense of others, well, I wish carinoma ends your life soon. Harsh, perhaps, but that is what ruined this vacation. The rain, no problem, it was warm. Food great, staff great etc etc.

Your Arrival:
Plane tried landing twice due to bad weather had to suddenly accelerate and take off again,

Rooms:
Nice but VERY smokey for first room. Jose at front desk was great finding a less smokey room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent selection of food,fruit,veg,smoothies.
Bad- SMOKERS, just can't get a drink without being exposed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool - avoided entirely, first trip ever never went in once due to the smokers.
Beach was nice. Very wavy, and undertow but there is a section cordoned off for swimmers. Sand like Lake Ontario/erie which is fine to us.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Most self directed to avoid the smokers. 1/2 Day city tour was interesting, visit an old fort, amber museum, go up the mountain in a cable car about 800m up.
Ocean world was great as well. Sea lions, sharks, dolphins, birds etc. Cool man made corel reef for snokeling in.
Lots of shops on either end of the beach.

Other Comments:
Can't do much about the smokers, other than to find another resort until this one decides to provide non-smoker areas other than in the restauant.
Took lots of med and clothes for Haiti which could be left with the Sunquest rep.
Internet cafe was fine. Signed up for the RIU card based on reviews read here prior to the trip.

The smoker comments may be harsh but not when some of us have asthma or respiratory issue, kids, etc. The one thing I hope anyone reading this will take away from the review, (that is different from others) is don't enjoy your vacation by lighting up, at the expense of others comfort and enjoyment of their vacations. It is possible to smoke without imflicting your choice on others.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Riu Mambo"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Feb 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
849 people found this review helpful

Your Arrival:
From Ontario, Canada. Arrival was good.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and maid service was excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good but it was the same for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. They could change it up a little. If you're a beer drinker, they no longer serve Presidente, they have opted for another beer. We are both beer drinkers and found that this beer was not something we could really drink. We switched to drinking rum. We found more of a variety of foods at the other resorts for breakfast and lunch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The ground were beautiful and very well maintained. Beautiful walkways between all 3 resorts and the beach in the cove closest to the Bachata was awesome!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The catamaram tour to Sosua beach was excellent! It included lunch, snorkelling and all the booze you could handle. I would not recommend the dune buggies because they were stopping every 5 minutes because someone was breaking down. The road into the mountains was very rocky and dry.

Other Comments:
Overall this is a nice resort in a beautiful setting. It was very clean and the staff were all very nice. Go and see Cheepy Cheepy Henry at the beach in the cove nearest the Bachata for a good deal.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"After one week in all inclusive, I needed to go out for dinning!!"

Riu Mambo
User Rating:  Riu Mambo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ste33  on Jan 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
972 people found this review helpful

Restaurants and Bars:
After one week at the hotel, i wanted to find some good places to eat to change a litle bit.
I have talk with some local and show to me a web page : www.dr-restaurants.com, where you can find all the restaurants in Puerto Plata, Sosua, Cabarete with the type of food etc..
Then we could find some good place like, Chez Arsenio in Cabarete, Jack in Sosua, or Aleph in Puerto PLata.
Good Luck!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.