Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Sosua > Sosua Hotel Index > Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sosua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sosua Bay Resort

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata  

Sosua, Dominican Republic

"best holiday in minute"
Posted by: mathew on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Sosua Dominican Republic

#1
of 26 Hotels in Sosua

User rating 3.8

Based on 28 reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Information


The Breezes Puerto Plata Resort is 130 miles northwest of Santo Domingo. This seaside resort offers 466, fully air-conditioned rooms and suites all with either a patio or balcony. On-site facilities include five restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, tennis courts, pitch & put golf, evening entertainment, a nightclub and a wide range of watersports.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.8 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  13
Average
  11
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 28

"best holiday in minute"

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mathew  on Jul 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
51 people found this review helpful

I visited here with my partner and stayed for about 5 days, we had a great time here. I can honestly say that it is one of the best holidays we have had in a while since traveling to Caribbean countries. The hotel has a great pool with slides for more fun and the pool is very clean. The rooms are clean, they are large and we have no complaints about the rooms. All the restaurants here are nice; I enjoyed the food served at the Mexican and Japanese restaurants. We also loved the French restaurant, the staff there was great. The buffet breakfast was great, various options and they were delicious since we ate there almost every day. Sometimes the meals are repeated and you might get bored of it easily especially if you are staying for a long time. The beach is great, unlike other hotels where you have locals trying to sell stuff to you; this place was calm and has good waves. We just stayed by the beach or took walks to calm our minds and after that we just relax. The staff working here are all great and polite and also extremely helpful. There are excursions offered by the hotel that you can take part in such as the ocean world dolphin swim and the catamaran trip, it may sound expensive but its well worth it. It’s a lifetime experience you shouldn’t miss out on; we will be back here again in the nearest future for more amazing holidays.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I loved this resort, and would return in a minute."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy & Roberto from Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
727 people found this review helpful

We flew AirTransat, and wow, have things changed for the better with this airline. Good food, and more leg room. Thank you AirTransat!
After departing at 6:15am, we were given a Quizno breakfast sandwich, very delicious! We sat in 27A and B. My husband is over 6 feet, and he had lots of extra room for his legs, and the washroom is closeby.

RESORT:
I loved this resort, and would return in a minute, although we try to visit new places every year.

JEWELLERY:
I purchased a pair of blue larimar drop earrings in US cash, 14 k gold, (for cash, they will deal) but be smart about what you buy. One man bought a $70.00 ³Rolex², that fell apart the next day. A few times a week, they hold a ³craft² fair in the Piano Bar area. Don¹t forget to haggle!

ROOM:
Because we were renewing our vows, we were upgraded by the wonderful Ramone, to ocean view ground floor by the Beach Bar.
Bring some CDs for the CD player. Wakeup calls were made to us, no problem, but bring a battery alarm clock, just in case. If there is a clock in your room, the electricity goes off sometimes, so it¹s unreliable. One time there was no water, so we called the front desk, and they fixed it promptly. Most of the time, the water was warm or hot, rarely cold. We are so spoiled in Canada!

BEACH:
For me, the beach was the best part, rolling waves, and wide open Atlantic Ocean in front of us. The main beach was too crowded, so we relocated to a palapa in front of the Villas by the sea wall. Nice and quiet place for reading, with an amazing view.
The beach staff helps you get your lounge chairs set up on the beach, which is nice. Last year in El Salvador at the Decameron, our packsack and towels were stolen from our beach chairs; our rep had not told us the Columbians came in for 2 or 3 day visits. So I was careful not to leave valuables on the beach chairs, but did not hear of any problems at this resort.

TROUBLE IN PARADISE:
There was one little glitch the first weekend we were there, but thanks to Debbies Trip reports, we knew about it, and reserved a la cartes for Saturday and Sunday. The hotel offered 2 for 1 to the Dominicans, and they were there in droves. We heard 500!!!! You could not get near the beach bar for food, and some Canadians had to wait for 2 hours to eat at Jimmy buffet.

The Dominicans can not eat in the a la cartes, so we had wonderful meals, and were not crowded. This was an isolated incident, and the next weekend was fine, with just a few locals, but the hotel does offers 2 or 3 etc day stays to Dominicans, so the locals are always coming and going.

FOOD:
We found the food and service at all restaurants was wonderful, NO complaints at all. And we did not get sick at all. It was great over Christmas and New Years, as you needed to reserve for Christmas Eve and Day, and New Years Eve, so we had many more wonderful meals served to us.

24 HOUR BAR: The beach bar, right by the ocean, (at night it is the Mexican Restaurant), is open 24/7. The snack bar offers burgers, hot dogs, fried chicken and delicious fries.

SHOWS: We did not make it to many shows, but I heard they were well attended. They work so hard!

WINE:
The wine was fabulous, Italian white and red. Available at all bars, as well as meals. The waiters would go to other bars to get it, if they did not have it at their bar!!

TIPPING:
We tipped the maid one US dollar daily, and the same at the a la cartes. But we did not feel we had to. We found all the staff warm and helpful.

VOW RENEWAL:
We renewed our vows after 10 years of marriage, and the Wedding Coordinator Yesenia de la Cruz, made it very memorable, complete with a live band, champagne in a bucket, ceremony in location of your choice, special menu at the a la carte of your choice -- we choose the Mexican by the ocean.

The vows they read are beautiful. They set up the table with a huge bouquet and more champagne, and we could stay as long as we wanted. The 3 layer white cake was delicious, and we shared it with many people, especially a warm and friendly group from Scotland, who hugged us and wished us well.
The renewal included breakfast in bed!!
We paid a administration fee of $150 US in cash, and brought a copy of our marriage certificate. It was well worth it!

OCEAN:
The Atlantic ocean is a force to be reckoned with! The red flag really does mean danger. Waves are huge and powerful, and can knock you down, even if you are careful. We watched as one man was caught in the undertow on Christmas Day, and had great difficulty getting back to shore. Two lifeguards motioned him in, and he finally did make it!. We also heard of a woman and her son, one who had already gone under the water, they were rescued by a tourist. We did go in, as we love the ocean, but wouldn¹t go past the first wave! They will not give you boogie boards, with good reason, when the red flag is up. Some bought their own at the local stores for about $25.00 US.

SIDETRIPS:
We visited Sosua for an afternoon on the free shuttle. Make sure you ask when the driver is coming back, as pickup times can differ from the schedule. You can rent 2 chaise lounges for $3.00 US for the day. It¹s about $20 US for a taxi if you miss the bus.

The shuttle to Cabarete was interesting, it was FULL to overflowing, and the same on the way back. There was lots of windsurfing going on.

Harrison¹s Jewellery is here, a reputable place. You can rent chaise lounges for the same cost as Sosua. You can snorkel to the right by the rocks, but we did not. We found the waves strong when we were there. We took the Camel, Jeep Safari, in our own Suzuki Sidekicks, about 6 jeeps in total. This trip is not for the faint hearted. You drive for about 20 minutes in Puerto Plata, a very scary ordeal. Dangerous passing is a way of life, blasting horns to tell you to get out of the way!

We did make it back safely. Driving is shared with another couple -- 4 to a Jeep. We saw an amazing double rainbow in the hills, and drove through rivers and mud. That part was fun! And they asked us to NOT give candy to the kids, as it only makes them into beggars, rots their teeth, and they could get hurt chasing the jeeps. Some boys actually jumped onto the lead jeep to hitch a ride!

FYI, They sell GatorAid in the pharmacy, ($5.00 US) which I needed the next morning, as I got very dehydrated (electrolytes low?) sitting in the hot sun, even though I wore a hat, and oversized shirt. There is no alcohol offered. Lunch was at a small restaurant in a little Village off the beaten track. You need your drivers license, but did not need to show it. The company insures you, and they warn you that mopeds or people could try to cause an accident with the jeep to collect insurance. Scary, but it did not happen.

WHO WAS THERE:
We met tourists from Scotland, England, Regina, Quebec, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Vancouver, Calgary, USA and even the Jersey Islands.

DEPARTURE:
Departure was seamless -- we got to the airport on time, no line up, and we got the same great seats as on the way down. Duty free was everywhere, good deals on liquor. Again, food on AirTransat was delicious.

GENERAL TIPS:
For the hungries at the airport, take your own sandwich or fruit from breakfast (bring ziplock baggies). One small order of fries cost $5.00 US and drinks were $5 US.
There can be sudden downpours, so bring a small umbrella. We also keep a large green bag in our beach bag to keep things dry, just in case. The weather can start out cloudy and rainy and be sunny and bright in an hour. Ladies, bring a pashmina or wrap for evening. Nights can be chilly, and the a la cartes have the airconditioning quite cold sometimes.
Paris restaurant is the only one that men need to wear long pants. Sandals were fine for men in all restaurants. A flashlight is helpful for those dark areas going home. We used only US dollars, as we brought 50 $1.00 bills with us. They don¹t usually have change at the hotel.
There is a supermarket in Sosua where you can buy almost anything, cheaper than at the hotel.
(Supermarket takes US dollars, no problem) The red and white wine the hotel uses, ³De la Casa² is for sale at $3.00 US.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort was okay but not the 4 star it claims."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jo from Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
699 people found this review helpful

Arrival: December 25 2008 - Jan 1 2009
Everything went good at the airport a guy asked to carry our luggage we just said no thanks was a little worried that people would be all over you to get your luggage but it was no big deal. Arrived at the Hotel around 12:30 PM thought we might have to wait till after three to get our rooms but no they were ready a man even carried our bags to our room.

Rooms:
The rooms were nothing fancy a little tried looking but okay for what we needed. We were in Villa 10000 which was quite a walked from everything but i didn't mind and everything else in the room worked fine so no sense and asking for a new room. We had two double beds which were quite firm I brought my own pillow. The tv had quite a few english channels. The air conditioning was great we had it set on low and found it every comfortable even a little chilly sometimes. The only problem was the lack of hot water most days it was luke warm 2-3 times including our last day morning there was no hot water at all what a way to end the trip.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was not great by any means I am a picky eater and realize we are in a differnt country so not that big of a deal. The breakfast was the best getting fresh made omelettes and a t lunch and diner the pasta was pretty good. We missed the christmas diner having got there that day and not knowing we had to book for that night but the New Years Eve diner was very fancy with a lot more selection. We ate at the paris and italien restarants the paris was excellent very fancy. Bars were good lobby bar had the best made drinks I found there slushie drinks not very slushie. They did not have presidente beer I guess times are tight and can't afford it all the other alochol was a classic brand the lobby bar had real international drinks but didn't hand them out too often.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was great the reason I choose this resort, the lazy river was great but 5 feet deep so we ended up buying floaties at the store for $8 US. Beach was great the ocean was rough only the last two days were yellow flag all the rest were red as long as you don't go out really far it is fine to play in the waves.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: We went to Ocean World which was good but they drop you off in the morning and pick you up at 5:30 which is way too long to be there. It was also about an hour bus ride from the resort

Other Comments:
The resort was okay not the 4 star it claims to be maybe a 3. The young boys in charge of entertainment around the pool were great. We didn't get bothered by timeshares people. There wasn't many locals at the resort either New Years there was a few families came in, I think with it being Christmas holidays the resort was very booked so they didn't have room for locals. All and all it was an good holiday but I would not return to that resort mostly because I would like to travel to different places.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I didn’t like how most of the male workers at the resort would whistle at us."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tiffany  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
771 people found this review helpful

Arrival: December 25 2008 - Jan 1 2009
Airtransat was amazing and very fast. Nolitours was amazing to travel with they take great care of their travelers. And are very personable.

Rooms:
Alright, I found sometimes the cleaning ladies would come by very early but they were very nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
the 24 hour snack bar, I arrived at the hotel at 10pm and all that was opened was the 24 hour snack bar… a choice of overdone burgers and fries.. I’m a vegetarian… next I found the people working at the Mexican restaurant to be very rude. We changed our reservation from 2 to 4 people.. and the man freaked out at us when there was no one in the restaurant. He said we could only have a main dish. It was very hard to make reservations for the a la carte restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the pools and facilities were great and the very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
breezes dance team were very interactive and made it fun and tried to get everyone involved

Other Comments:
I didn’t like how most of the male workers at the resort would whistle at us and always make rude comments. Also you have to be very careful at night in the resort if you are a single woman walking alone I suggest you be very careful. On the last night I felt there was someone following me back to my room and the next morning I heard of a woman being attacked. There aren’t always guards around.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never could swim in the water off the beach. Always had a caution flag."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra from Chicago  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
785 people found this review helpful

Arrival: November 2008
The arrival to the hotel was fine.

Rooms:
Checked in and immediately had to get our room changed - TV was not working. Rooms were nice. Asked for an upgrade for Beach View. Was given the run-around - Said they were booked but no lights were ever on in some rooms. HARDLY EVER HAD HOT OR WARM WATER. COMPLAINED TO NO AVAIL.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was a little to be desired. For breakfast it was the same thing everyday until the weekends when they got more people into the resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Never could swim in the water off the beach. Always had a caution flag. Had to take the bus to another beach to snorkel.

Other Comments:
Would never go back to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I find it hard to read some of the less then perfect reviews on your site."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kim from Halifax  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
710 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 18 - 24
We arrived via CanJet from Halifax, our flight out of Halifax left early we arrived at the airport at 11 PM and were at our resort by 12:15ish, we had a very easy check in as there was only about 6 of us checking in. We were taken immediately to our rooms with the help of a bell hop.

Rooms:
We had two rooms one for our kids and one for us, our rooms were further apart then we were comfortable with, so once we dropped our bags we went back to check to see if we could get something closer and the desk clerk asked us to check back in the morning. Which we did and were given new rooms side by side. The rooms were clean, a bit worn down, but we really didnt come for the rooms and spent only enough time to sleep in our room. We had not problems with water, the water was hot every day but one. We actually had to turn off the air conditioner because it was too cool in the room

Restaurants and Bars:
We had great service in every restaurant and bar, can't say a single negative thing about any of it. The food was good , we are all fussy eaters and everyone found something to eat. The kids enjoyed the french fries at the beach bar and the pasta bar at Jimmys Buffet the most. The Omletes in the morning were great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was excellent, we had red flags up the entire week but it didn't stop us from getting in the waves. Our kids ages 12,14,17 never got out of the water I think if there were not waves we might have had some very bored kids on our hands. We didn't spend much time at the pool because the beach was so fun. But the pool is amazing it rained for three of our days there and one afternoon there was a party in the hot tub, it was so much fun everyone took turns bringing trays of drinks from the bar to the hot tub. A great way to spend a rainy day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Paridise Island- it was awesome a very long bus ride however, but we had a great tour driver who spend the entire two hours talking about the country, in both french and english I was very impressed. Amazing for us and the kids to realize how many people in the dr live.

We also went on the Puerto Plato Runners Safari Adventure, it was a great way to spend a rainy day. Horse back riding in the rain was a bit uncomfortable but still alot of fun

Other Comments::
I would highly recommend this resort and I find it hard to read some of the less then perfect reviews on your site. We found the employees friendly, happy and helpful. The entertainers each night were great and they took time during and after the show to talk to us and others. I felt save at the resort , and even let my kids move around on their own (together of course) we left our bags on our chairs at both the beach and the pool and did not have any issues. The locals when they came were happy, friendly and made the trip even more enjoyable. I will return to Breezes

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An old destination."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nicolas from Montreal  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
710 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 20 to January 27
great fast within 5 minutes in our room

Rooms:
old need some work, ac not that great also no hot water before 8 am

Restaurants and Bars:
the a la carte restaurant where great for the buffet, jimmys restaurant, things had not great taste . except for pasta and salad, pool bar was great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was red flag every day, but the pool is great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we went to ocean world with our 8 year old , really expensive to swim with the dolphin but worth the price

Other Comments:
Old destination i recommended this destination and hotel for family, and if you dont want to pay to much, but not in january, we had two full days of rain

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Disco was not a disco."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura from Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
709 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 23 - 30
The bus that picked us up at the airport was too small, there were not enough seats for the number of passengers. Check in was not until 3:30 but we waited until 4:30 for our room to be ready. I booked 3 rooms on the second floor with king beds but only got 2 rooms on 2nd flr with 2 single beds pushed together and one room on ground flr with a king bed. I was unable to speak with the manager and I am not even sure one existed. There were so many others complaining about their rooms that I accepted what they gave me because at least we were in the newly renovated building.

Rooms:
The layout of the room is nice, our toilet plugged up every evening. Our telephone didn't work. I could dial out but they could not hear me. They changed the phone and the same thing happened. I complained every day and each person at the desk tells you that they have authority to take action but not one person came. In case of emergency I could not call for help. I even redialed the front desk repeatedly to see if they would come after seeing my room number but they just kept hanging up when they couldnt hear me and never sent anyone to investigate.

Restaurants and Bars:
I have stayed in Dominican before so I have something to compare to. The serving staff are always so friendly and helpful. The main buffet was below average in both quality and presentation. When you read of the child who liked the pasta at the main buffet and the fries from the beach bar its because you can at least have the pasta custom made and who can mess up french fries. Thats what I ate too, along with just fried eggs, a croissant and fruit at breakfast. We tried the Mexican and the Paris alacartes, Paris won. The bars were great but understandably ran out of ingredients constantly. "All Inclusive"

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was awesome, the grounds were well kept, the beach was par for the area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our trip to Ocean World was great. The horseback riding left us wondering if they used any of the inflated fee to care for what appeared to be malnourished and ungroomed animals. The casino was nice but had alot of machines out of service. I understand it is not owned by the resort. The Disco was not a disco. Their entertainment budget was obviously small judging from the quality of the nightly performances.

Other Comments:
We are "young" middle aged, not picky or hard to get along with, we only want what we paid for. We tip handsomely at every meal and leave things for the housekeepers. Upon checkout I was told that the manager would not be in until 9am. Too bad I was leaving then. No apology about my room, no nothing. I will never go back to this resort and I recommend Bahia Principe San Juan as a "better value for your money 4 star resort".

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The rooms are disgusting, the layout is rediculous, and the food needs work."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin and Odessa from Nova Scotia  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
803 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 25 - Feb 1
The bus that took us to the resort was very small. We got checked in the first time fairly quickly and the staff was friendly.

Rooms:
The first room they put us in was a Villa (if they tell you that you are in a Villa, decline right away...these are disgusting). We then got put in a room with two single beds pushed together and on wheels, so you couldn't even pretend that it was one bed cause you would end up on the floor between the two. We had to call everyday for towels as the maid never put any in the room. They were never facecloths either, and you can't get any. We left her things everyday but that didn't do anything. The coffeemaker was broken, we called three times and finally someone came to fix it. They tried 4 different makers before they found one that worked. The toilet plugged up at least once a day. The minifridge in the room gets 3 bottles of water, 1 bottle of pepsi, and 1 bottle of sprite. We requested to have more water and unless we caught the maid outside she never gave us any extra. My husband is diabetic so we asked for diet pop in the fridge and they declined this request as well, telling us that they do not offer diet drinks or alcohol in the rooms. We lost power at least 4 times a day as well. It only stayed out a few minutes each time but it was very annoying.

Restaurants and Bars:
Jimmys Buffet - Poor selection compared to other places we have been, the quality was not that good either. They never had diet coke half of the time, but they gave my husband regular coke and passed it off as diet. This really frustrated me. The staff again was very friendly. The Paris a la carte was very nice. Their pizza is very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was clean and the workers were there constantly trying to keep up with the leaves and garbage. The pool was very nice. The grounds were clean...too bad they didn't have as much care for the rooms.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any tours. We did take the shuttle into Cabarete twice to go shopping. There is a little store on the same side of the road as ScotiaBank just down a little piece. You will see a set of concrete red stairs and the sign says Liquidation. If you are looking for souveniers, this is the best place to go. Very nice stuff for little money. Also, there is a beautiful beach in Cabarete that you can go to, the are alot of peddlers and they are pushy but it is worth it for the beach.
We went to the shows that they have in the theatre and they are very good. We enjoyed these immensely. There is a performer there named Saul, he is the absolute funniest person ever.

Other Comments:
We will not return to this resort. It is unfortunate that is so rundown because the people there are the friendliest that we have had in the 3 years that we have been going to the Dominican. If they would just put some work into the resort it could be very nice. The rooms are disgusting, the layout is rediculous, and the food needs work.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I love this resort and your vacation is what you make of it!"

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kimmie from Sudbury, Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
841 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 29- Feb 5th
This was our second time at Breezes, we went 4 yrs ago. This time I booked the trip here because of traveling with 9 others (2 other couples, 2 teens, 3 children).
Check in was fine, the staff was great and prompt, I didn't expect our room to be ready when we arrived but they were.

Rooms:
We we're all placed in Villas, the rooms are outdated a bit, but as long as I had running water, a washroom, a place to change and a bed to sleep in WHO CARES!!! You're in Dominican!!! First time there, we did have 2 single beds pushed together, but this second time, all 4 rooms had actual King sz beds...which we're great!
Minor details like toilet running, power going out, fridge stopped working did happen, but nothing bothered us? It's what you make of your vacation, and it depends on how positive you are!!!
I did have a water problem, but noticed that they were working on plumbing outside the villa next door, I called the front desk and a plumber was at my door in no time. He instructed me to go and check my water and all was fine!

Restaurants and Bars:
I love Jimmy's buffet, breakfast was wonderful, DOMINICAN coffee is the best!!! Jose DeLa Cruz was the greatest dinner employee ever! He catered to our table and I think he actually watched for us as we arrived for dinner. He always hugged the women, shook hands w/ the men and paid lots of attention to the kids. Coco's was good as well, although I didn't eat too much meat there, others in our party did! No problems...They have a sandwich press and you can make grilled cheese sandwiches (which was big w/ the kids), but you have to leave it in the press for longer than usual to get it nice and gooey...again nothing to complain about!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No complaints here what so ever, there is no garbage lying around either!!!
I am a smoker and actually felt bad putting my cigarette on the ground!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The animation team was not active this trip at all....I watched on a few different days and when something would be a hit, they would only do it once, ie: water balloon game, if it goes well, then do it again. I noticed several times, girls would hang out around there waiting to do some dancing and not much would go on, sort of dispointing =( We did Karaoke on Sunday night in the piano bar area, it was great, so much fun, people were getting up dancing and it seemed to be a big hit, but then all of a sudden it ended? Again if something is going well....keep it going!

The shows were wonderful and we looked forward to them every night! We actually debated on canceling out Paris reservations to watch the show on our last night there, we know of others that did. Saul gets you really involved and it's a great time laughing at people you know on the stage!!!!

Other Comments:
I would definitely go back to Breezes, I love this resort and your vacation is what you make of it!

I seen others complaining (actually throwing fits) during my stay there and you can't help but shake your head in disappointment....

Enjoy your stay and don't let anything bother your vacation, you will have a much better time this way!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube