Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Sosua > Sosua Hotel Index > Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sosua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sosua Bay Resort

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata  

Sosua, Dominican Republic

"best holiday in minute"
Posted by: mathew on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Sosua Dominican Republic

#1
of 26 Hotels in Sosua

User rating 3.8

Based on 28 reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Information


The Breezes Puerto Plata Resort is 130 miles northwest of Santo Domingo. This seaside resort offers 466, fully air-conditioned rooms and suites all with either a patio or balcony. On-site facilities include five restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, tennis courts, pitch & put golf, evening entertainment, a nightclub and a wide range of watersports.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.8 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  13
Average
  11
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 28

"We were really unhappy at this resort."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Feb 2, 2010  >  8 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
222 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 4 - Feb 11
This is my second time trying to post my review, first review did not post Arrived via Air Canada from Halifax. Flight ok though 5 hours late

Rooms
The furniture and bed sheets in room old and worn looking. Clock radio, tv , toilet, lights not working on arrival. Calls to guest services finally fixed toilet. There were plenty of towels the first day but got less and less every day until we had absolutely none! Many calls to front desk, guest services to obtain towels. No towels last 2 days. Beach towels came in handy. We did not change rooms as we started to hear people changing rooms many times to find conditions worse. Leaking roofs, bugs in room, flooded rooms, no hot water, phone not working to call for assistance. We had brown water to shower in for most of our stay. The maids did the minimal while cleaning rooms. Water usually stocked but not coke or sprite. We tipped the maids well but the service got worse and worse every day. One exception though was the maid who cleaned lobby bathroom, she did a wonderful job and always had a smile. Guest services was always busy with lineups(what does that say?) People were unhappy with services provided at this hotel. Every day we would talk to fellow canadians and hear how unhapy they were with the resort. Then we started hearing about robberies on the resort and our building. People's safes and rooms broken into, money, cellphones, ipods stolen. We did not feel safe at all! Many stories that the resort did not care and denied it. We finally opted to take all money and passports with us when we went out. This gave us some peace of mind.

Restaurants and Bars
Food recycled from evening before and offered nothing of taste. We used the pasta bar alot and omelettes in the morning at Jimmy's buffet. Food low quality. There were a la carte restaurants but good luck getting into them. The servers most times would not let you in even if people didn't show up and empty tables. Service in buffet not good. Difficult to get a coke in the morning or a coffee. Sometimes we got up and served ourselves. Bring lots of snacks with you. There were some friendly servers at the lobby bar but also some just looking for tips. There was not alot of fresh fruit for drinks and sometimes the bar ran out of mix and alcohol. One thing we didn't like was the wasps flying around everywhere landing on the taps for drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool is quite large and certainly a focal point of the resort. We never used it as it rained every day during our stay. Too bad. The beach was dirty and littered with plastic cups, cigarette butts etc. Not too much attention to cleaning. It was rough every day but people did swim at their own risk. Also, if you like to take long walks on the beach, this is not the beach for you. It is very short.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The animation team on this resort was not very good. They did not seem organized and did nothing to relieve the boredom of the guests. It rained our whole vacation and no extra activities were planned while everyone sat under big tent. Many days we went back to our room to watch tv or take a nap until evening. The dancers though did a wonderful job in the evening show. We looked forward to their show every night. Thank god for them. We tipped them well for this.

Other Comments
We went to Breezes to enjoy relaxtion and sun. We read the reviews of this resort prior to leaving and thought it can't be that bad, well we were wrong! We are not picky people. This was my first trip south and my siter has been to the Dominican and Cuba many times before. Overall, we were really unhappy at this resort. We think it must be closing it's doors. I can't believe it is part of Superclub Breezes. We actually had thoughts of going home mid vaction but we stuck it out thinking it would get better. My advice, go elsewhere! We still need a vacation from this vacation! Also I would advise all people who stayed here at Breezes and were unhappy write a review! It would be nice for other vacationers to know the truth about this resort so they can book elsewhere. This is not a 4 star more like a 2-2.5 star resort. Good luck on your vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4 Star my foot!!!! I'll stick to the Bahia Principe San Juan."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia from Windsor, Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
825 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 5 - 12
The bus from the airport was fine, the greeters were very nice, rooms were to be ready at 3 but we didn't get them until almost 4. Staff was unfriendly and quite curt.

Rooms
Terrible - dirty. Two small beds on wheels shoved together. The bedding was gross. We couldn't seem to get clean towels on any day. The coffee maker was disgusting but they wouldn't leave coffee anyway. Ask for water or pop and you might get one bottle. The ceiling leaked like a sieve. The bathroom was disgusting and by day three the water in the sink, toilet and shower was a strange brownish colour. I understand that there was a tropical storm but come on. The maids did a terrible job of cleaning even though we tipped and left small gifts (even though there isn't supposed to be tipping it is expected)

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet was terrible. Reheated food from one day to the next, the bread was so stale you couldn't eat it and whatever they serve for butter/margarine tasted like lard. You would expect lots of fresh fruit and veggies - wrong!! At breakfast you could get freshly made omelets and eggs but everything else was pretty gross. Lunch was more of the same, dinner - no variety to speak of and we are not picky eaters. Each of us got sick from one thing or another. The bars ran out of rum, tequila, vodka and mixes. The a la cartes were very hard to book but we managed the Japanese which was good and the Italian which had some pretty awful food except for the chicken.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The grounds keepers were pretty busy but the area around the pool was swarming with bees - one of our group is deathly allergic but that didn't seem to bother any of the staff.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We were a group of 16 and had planned this trip so we could all be together for some sun and fun. It rained every day but that certainly was not anyone's fault. The staff did nothing to alleviate the boredom. Good thing we had each other. We had trouble getting dry towels for the pool and when we did get them were worned not to take them to the pool because there was too much rain.

The morning and afternoon activities were so lame that even the youngest of the group was bored with them. A couple of the evening shows were pretty good and worth attending. We went on a Jeep Safari Tour - the jeep turned out to be an old truck with some seats bolted on and a very leaky canvas roof - they took us through a shanty town (supposed to be the jungle)on what were the worst roads imaginable (we all had bruised backs thanks to this) and then to a school where they tried to sell us stuff - then to a cigar factory which was really a shed where they tried to sell us the darnest junk - then we went for lunch which was the best food we had while there (if you could overlook the starving dogs wandering in and out and a toilet that defies description). We then went to the beach for horse back riding (which is what we really wanted), we got on some poor old horses with broken saddles, went for 5 minutes down the beach and back - and that was it for the ride. Then we stopped at another beach - all of this in the pouring rain. When we mentioned it to the tour operator on our return she told us they never had complaints - funny, everyone on the tour was very angry about the tour. We also went into Cabarete and found Jose O'Shea's which was pretty neat. The shop keepers are the pushiest people I've every met and this is not our first trip to the DR.

Other Comments
The floors were so slippery we had two mishaps where one of us ended up on crutches and the other had to have her ankle wrapped.
The Club VIP group hounded us during our stay trying to get us to buy into the program - 25, 50 or 100 vacations with Breezes. Believe me none of us will ever set foot in another Breezes hotel. 4 Star my foot!!!! I'll stick to the Bahia Principe San Juan.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not return to a Breezes again."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana from London Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
234 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 5 - 12
Skyservice flight and baggage pickup were very good. Bus trip to the hotel was very good. check-in was at 3:00 as stated.

Rooms
villa room 3003 horrable. Strong mildew plus smell, gloomy and very damp. Went straight to complain and wanted a differnt room. We decided we even wanted a different hotel after having time to walk around because our check-in was after 3p.m. It was late and Angel said to come back after 11a.m. the next day and we could discuss moving. He did find us another room that we felt we could at least stay in. Had difficult time getting our luggage to room. It was around 8p.m. before this was done and we could finally go out to find food. My husband stepped on what he thought was a pebble by the bed tried to rub it of on the top of other foot and instant blood because it was a hunk of glass. He gave himself quite a nasty cut. The water in our room was very brown for three days, we had NO hot water and the door to the outside had to be slamed for it to close. The toilet ran and made other crazy noises which we complained about at the front desk. Nothing was done during our stay

Restaurants and Bars
We were suposed to be able to book 4 ala cart resturaunrs. we were able to book the Mexican and finally for our last evening the Japanese.The girl at the bookings was always telling us they were full, come back tomorrow. We saw at night that they were not full. When on vacation you normally have better things to do than constantly beg for something you are intitaled to. In our case it wasn't too bad it gave us something to do! Bees were at the pool bar big time. They were always out of limes. Drinks were not the best,Beer was good. Buffet was not good. Pulled a piece of net like cloth out of a muffin. Thought it might be a piece of hair net but after eating there a few time decided they wouldn't know what that was. Ate to survive

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grounds dirty, cups blowing around . others full of bees. Pool looked very nice. No problems here at all. The layout of the pool was a very nice attraction.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities limited to the rain. Found there were no back-up programs in place. We needed to hear music and see some smiling faces this might have helped us through all the rain. We have been on all the tours offered but the rain kept us from doing them again. The ocean was so rough every day boating was out of the question.

Other Comments:
Due to rain leeking through the roof there were huge puddles on the slate tile causing very slippery conditions and no-one seemed ready to get it mopped up. Putting a sign up was not the right way to look after the saftey of the guests. The luggage was a problem because of lack of porters and in some cases the long distance that was necesary to lug them.We were on the third floor and we are seniors so it was quite a difficult time getting them to the main lobby We have tried to complain to Breezes and our e-mail was fist on delay and then was failed so we can't find a way to tell them directly how we feel. We will not return to a Breezes again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I did not feel safe here at all."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie from Northern Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
242 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 29th to Feb. 5th
No problems at all.
Check in wasn't until 3pm, but we knew that ahead of time
Rooms
DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING OF VALUE IN YOUR ROOM UNLESS IN THE SAFE!!! I will explain below!
Although we only paid for regular rooms, we were upgraded by guest services (thanks Leslie) to the ocean front villa's, three of them side by side.
Gorgeous view.
Villa's themselves are in very rough shape.
Broken sinks, mouldy tubs... badly in need of repairs.
Lots of tiny spidrs too...
Mine was missing an interior door lock... took 3 days to have one installed.
Thankfully you don't spend much time in the rooms!
Maids did a great job cleaning, and my fridge was always well stocked... although I also tip well and bring gifts as well!

Restaurants and Bars
Jimmy's buffet was good... lots of repetition in the food, but you could always find something to eat.
Service was excellent!
Pasta/Paris/Mexican were all good.. didn't eat at Japanese.
Booked when we arrived the first afternoon... had no trouble getting in at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Red flag almost everyday... one yellow.
Beach is kept clean though.
Pool is cleaned continuously.
lots of chairs, never had a problem finding an umbrella either, although they do need some repairs!
THere was a lot of wind when we were down, so the ground crews were kept very busy rakeing up the leaves and such.
Flowers were lovely!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Sosua Beach, and to Cabarete... both were great.
We went scuba diving one day through the hotel, and our teens loved it!
Also did the Free style Cats... and had a great time.

Other Comments
One of our rooms was robbed while the room was occupied. A Blackberry was taken off the charger while the occupant was in the bathroom. Yes the door was locked! When security investagated, they called the phone and had a nice chat with a spanish woman, got a name and everything... nothing ever came of it except the $90 bill for the call when we got home!

My room was entered three times at night while I was in the room... I yelled each time and the door was immediately closed. I did not feel safe here at all.
Although we enjoyed our vacation, (I believe that you can make or break your vacation)I will not return to Breezes, and will NOT recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst excuse of a Breezes ever."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gisele  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
228 people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife are frequent travelers to Breezes resorts {Jamicia,Bahamas} so we decided to try the Dominican,well the Peurto Plata Breezes resort is the worst excuse of a Breezes ever.I would say it is a two star resort.Why you ask?Well when we arrived we found our room to have two single beds,great if you like to sleep by youself,so we go to the main desk and they upgrade us to another room,when we get to the next room there is already someone in the room,so we go back to the main desk and tell them the situation,they give us another room,this time the new room is empty.So we move our luggage to the new room {no porter} by ourselves.The new room is a little better,but very noisy,also there was ants and spyders in the room,no stalked fridge like they had told us,the bed was as hard as the ground,there was no face clothes all week and the towels were far and few between.So after we get settled in we go for a walk to the beach,as we were walking along the buildings we see raw sewage coming out of a pipe along the building,very discusing.Then we notice there were no chairs to be found on the beach,{not enough chairs for the amount of people at the beach}The food aso had to be the worst,we had one good meal all the time we were there.I would not recommened this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The rooms are disgusting, the layout is rediculous, and the food needs work."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin and Odessa from Nova Scotia  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
777 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 25 - Feb 1
The bus that took us to the resort was very small. We got checked in the first time fairly quickly and the staff was friendly.

Rooms:
The first room they put us in was a Villa (if they tell you that you are in a Villa, decline right away...these are disgusting). We then got put in a room with two single beds pushed together and on wheels, so you couldn't even pretend that it was one bed cause you would end up on the floor between the two. We had to call everyday for towels as the maid never put any in the room. They were never facecloths either, and you can't get any. We left her things everyday but that didn't do anything. The coffeemaker was broken, we called three times and finally someone came to fix it. They tried 4 different makers before they found one that worked. The toilet plugged up at least once a day. The minifridge in the room gets 3 bottles of water, 1 bottle of pepsi, and 1 bottle of sprite. We requested to have more water and unless we caught the maid outside she never gave us any extra. My husband is diabetic so we asked for diet pop in the fridge and they declined this request as well, telling us that they do not offer diet drinks or alcohol in the rooms. We lost power at least 4 times a day as well. It only stayed out a few minutes each time but it was very annoying.

Restaurants and Bars:
Jimmys Buffet - Poor selection compared to other places we have been, the quality was not that good either. They never had diet coke half of the time, but they gave my husband regular coke and passed it off as diet. This really frustrated me. The staff again was very friendly. The Paris a la carte was very nice. Their pizza is very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was clean and the workers were there constantly trying to keep up with the leaves and garbage. The pool was very nice. The grounds were clean...too bad they didn't have as much care for the rooms.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any tours. We did take the shuttle into Cabarete twice to go shopping. There is a little store on the same side of the road as ScotiaBank just down a little piece. You will see a set of concrete red stairs and the sign says Liquidation. If you are looking for souveniers, this is the best place to go. Very nice stuff for little money. Also, there is a beautiful beach in Cabarete that you can go to, the are alot of peddlers and they are pushy but it is worth it for the beach.
We went to the shows that they have in the theatre and they are very good. We enjoyed these immensely. There is a performer there named Saul, he is the absolute funniest person ever.

Other Comments:
We will not return to this resort. It is unfortunate that is so rundown because the people there are the friendliest that we have had in the 3 years that we have been going to the Dominican. If they would just put some work into the resort it could be very nice. The rooms are disgusting, the layout is rediculous, and the food needs work.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Disco was not a disco."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura from Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
687 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 23 - 30
The bus that picked us up at the airport was too small, there were not enough seats for the number of passengers. Check in was not until 3:30 but we waited until 4:30 for our room to be ready. I booked 3 rooms on the second floor with king beds but only got 2 rooms on 2nd flr with 2 single beds pushed together and one room on ground flr with a king bed. I was unable to speak with the manager and I am not even sure one existed. There were so many others complaining about their rooms that I accepted what they gave me because at least we were in the newly renovated building.

Rooms:
The layout of the room is nice, our toilet plugged up every evening. Our telephone didn't work. I could dial out but they could not hear me. They changed the phone and the same thing happened. I complained every day and each person at the desk tells you that they have authority to take action but not one person came. In case of emergency I could not call for help. I even redialed the front desk repeatedly to see if they would come after seeing my room number but they just kept hanging up when they couldnt hear me and never sent anyone to investigate.

Restaurants and Bars:
I have stayed in Dominican before so I have something to compare to. The serving staff are always so friendly and helpful. The main buffet was below average in both quality and presentation. When you read of the child who liked the pasta at the main buffet and the fries from the beach bar its because you can at least have the pasta custom made and who can mess up french fries. Thats what I ate too, along with just fried eggs, a croissant and fruit at breakfast. We tried the Mexican and the Paris alacartes, Paris won. The bars were great but understandably ran out of ingredients constantly. "All Inclusive"

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was awesome, the grounds were well kept, the beach was par for the area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our trip to Ocean World was great. The horseback riding left us wondering if they used any of the inflated fee to care for what appeared to be malnourished and ungroomed animals. The casino was nice but had alot of machines out of service. I understand it is not owned by the resort. The Disco was not a disco. Their entertainment budget was obviously small judging from the quality of the nightly performances.

Other Comments:
We are "young" middle aged, not picky or hard to get along with, we only want what we paid for. We tip handsomely at every meal and leave things for the housekeepers. Upon checkout I was told that the manager would not be in until 9am. Too bad I was leaving then. No apology about my room, no nothing. I will never go back to this resort and I recommend Bahia Principe San Juan as a "better value for your money 4 star resort".

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bugs in my room all the time.."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
291 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2-9
Very excited to see our resort & when I arrived was very disappointed.

Rooms:
Bugs in my room all the time...complained at the front desk but nothing was done.

Restaurants and Bars:
Service at the bar was good & the waitress very friendly. Meal at the french restaurant was really good.The buffet at jimmys restaurant was horrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Was not impressed with the beach.

Other Comments:
I visited Dominican republic before & stayed at Ibeorstar...this resort was awesome.I would not recommend Super Clubs Breezes to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The service has deteriotated since my last visit."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Noel  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
236 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 22

Rooms
Clean. However, in the last week of my stay as I was there for 2 weeks, I found cockroaches in the bathroom. Although it was fumigated twice, I saw these disgusting bugs still running around the bathroom sink.

Restaurants and Bars
The service has deteriotated since my last visit from the previous year. You can get the same food the next day and the menu was basically the same over the 2 weeks I was there. I also found that dusting of the mail bar in the lobby was done prior to the opening which should not be.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There were no activities for you to take part in especially on the rainy days. I went to my room and looked at TV instead. There should be a co-ordinator to find things for guests to do on when there is inclement weather.

Other Comments
The standard at Breezes has dropped from the previous year I was there. Management has to be fumigated all the rooms in the off season to get rid of the bugs and ensure additional activities are added such as archery, etc. Also the food could be improved and not be recycled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barely a 3 star"

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patrick  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
273 people found this review helpful

April 2 - 9 , 2009: Super Club Breezes, Puerto Plata (NOT a 4 star. Barely a 3 star)

Arrived on April 2nd. Very excited. First time at an all-inclusive resort. We are the typical "travel to Florida" folks from Canada. So, this was totally new. We booked this with a wedding group. The couple that were getting married were experienced Dominican travelers and we figured this must be ok, even though it's only a four star. We soon found out that this place was a nightmare. Travel from the airport to the resort was problem free. Check in at 10:30 but no rooms available until 3:00 pm. Luckily, my wife and I brought our swimming suits in our carry-on bags and changed in a washroom there. They did manage to get us a room by noon which was pretty good. The pool was great! Lots of twisty little canals to swim around. Had the swim-up bar etc. However, you may ask for a "screwdriver" at any of the bars and get something completely different (language was an issue).

Rooms:
When we walked into our room, it was large and well laid out. Nice tile on the floors, little sitting area with a love seat, etc. The door to the room required slamming to close. We could hear other doors in the complex slamming throughout the stay at all hours of the night as this was the only way to get them to shut. Ours was cracked from this repeated slamming and a piece of wood that broke previously was now taped with masking tape. Behind the nightstand was extensive water damage. We were on the ground floor. The air conditioning worked well. Lots of hot water in the shower - never ran out. Curtains, bedding and furniture were dated. Beds were lumpy and not top quality. Pillows were horrible and lumpy (thank goodness for the all inclusive liquor).

Restaurants and Bars:
Oh the restaurants !! Bring one suitcase with food !! We are not high class eaters. MacDonalds is great food compared to the crap they served here. When I saw the chef (using the term loosely) cooking steaks (some sort of grey meat, not nice and brown), I became suspicious as to what it was. It certainly was not beef. It was so rubbery. Then mysteriously, a "beef" stir fry the next night with strips of the same chewy crap. I truly believe they just cut these steaks up and re-fried them the next day. Same rubber. I began to notice people leaving half full plates of food. What a waste of food. Then chicken would be served one night and then some chicken stir fry the next day. We can guess where the chicken came from the next day. The omelets in the morning were edible. However, seeing this sweaty, unenthused chef slop a ladle into a big bucket of eggs and pour it onto a big greasy flatiron grill kind a turned my stomach. I thought I was back in the military. Only difference was, military food was better ! This booking for restaurants was a joke. You could never book for the same night. Yet, when you showed up, lots of empty tables? We argued with one of the staff when we tried to sit at an obviously empty table at 6:30, when our reservation was for 8:30. When we came back prior to 8:30, nobody had even sat at the table (stood around and saw several tables that had not been used). The only two places to eat were the Mexican - get the chicken tortilla and nothing else. Then leave. The other place is the Japanese stir fry. Again, these are so mediocre that they are not worth the trouble or anticipation of waiting two days to eat there. At the Jimmy Buffett, get used to cantaloupe and orange juice at most every meal to fill you. There is so much salt on everything. Basically, bring your own bags of potato chips, chocolate bars, granola bars, something to snack on to get you through the day. The hotdogs and hamburgers are sitting in water all day and rubbery. I think the hamburgers are made with the same rubber meat that doesn't get used at the Jimmy Buffett. There are birds flying in and around the food. They just love to sit on the edge of the bread baskets picking away and shitting. The bars are great. The aren't afraid to put liquor in your drink. Although, you might not get what you asked for. If you stick to rum and coke or something simple, no problem. Once you start asking for "Blue Lagoons" or "Sidecars" etc, it's a hit and miss. Lots of staff around. Very friendly. Drove my wife crazy. She said she didn't want to hear the word "O-la" ever again. I felt that this friendliness was for tips. Not sure. We didn't tip any of the waiters as we were SO upset with the food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was one of those drop off type where the water smashes into the shore. It was wavy, but, actually made it fun and an alternative to the lazy pool atmosphere. Like going to a wave pool. It was not deep and on calm days, snorkeling was possible and pretty cool. The coral is dead from pollution I suspect. It's all brown. No colorful stuff like Hawaii. There are a few fish to see. Nothing spectacular. They have rinse off showers on the beach to get the sand off your feet. That was good to see. The resort offers free SCUBA lessons (about 15 minutes of instruction) in the pool. Very scary. Not sufficient at all - I was a certified diver and know that it took a month to get proficient and comfortable in a pool before going into the open water. IF you wish to SCUBA that is extra. I didn't check on the price. There is not much to do but lay around at the beach. No jet ski, no parasailing, no boating. Just a couple of kayaks. So, be prepared to lay at the beach or the pool and wait for the hunger pains to be sufficient enough to make you WANT to go eat. The pool is very nice. Clean and unique. Twisty little canals all around. Lots of places to lay in the sun, no shortage of chairs. Don't bother getting a towel (using the supplied card) as you will be charged a fee if someone walks off with your towel while you're in the pool. It was so warm there that you dried off within minutes of coming out of the pool. The grounds were ok. Nothing spectacular. Well kept. Clean. Few flowering bushes and trees. But the resort didn't go all out with anything either.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are a bunch of kids they have hired to do the entertaining. I feel so bad for them. They try to get people to play the most basic of games around the pool. Tossing water balloons between guests getting progressively further away, with the last person with an intact balloon wining a prize. Or throwing darts at balloons with prizes listed on a piece of paper inside. It's like being at a little kids birthday party. Pretty bad. The evening entertainment is laughable. These poor kids practice all day to do a "Village People" or "Michael Jackson" routine. Or some other dated act. The costumes are so old. I watched one night of this and then was in bed by 9:30 or 10:00 each night as there was nothing to do there. Don't even go to the casino. I heard the odds are so bad, you might as well just walk in the door, hand them the money you planed to spend and leave. Off the resort, Sosua is a great place to go if you like "Dollar-Store" junk and being followed around by sad looking people looking for money. It's like being on the phone with a telemarketer but you can't hang up until the bus comes back to pick you up four hours later ! There are kids walking around with shotguns. Very comforting. Nothing to see here folks. We also made the mistake of spending $220 to go on a catamaran trip (Tip Top). The trip to the "coral" took two hours. Then, you should have seen the dead, brown clump they took us to. Oh my God ! What a waste of money. It was the same stuff to see at our resort for free. Then for lunch it was a bunch of cold cuts and fruit. Very basic, worth about $5. They were charging a buck for small bags of chips (like you hand out at Halloween). Not free. Then we dropped anchor in Sosua and could snorkel again to cool off. Then back to or departure port. Other parties in our wedding group went on the four wheeling trip. The buggies broke down so often, they pushed them so far, that the staff gave them their money back.

Other Comments:
This place is on it's way out. Don't go. It's in the middle of nowhere. Nothing to do but lay around the pool or beach. No food worth eating. It's not even worthy of a 3 star. STAY AWAY. Wait until the new management/owners take over in a year or two. Then check Debbie's Dominican Travel to see if anything has improved. What a nightmare. As this was our first Dominican trip, we have decided it will be our last. I'm sure there are other fine resorts there. However, I'm sticking to the good ol' USA ! I feel safer there. Clean. I like the idea of going to different restaurants each night when I want to go, not when someone tells me. (Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Applebees, MacDonalds, Dennies, etc, etc, etc). Also, picking a nice hotel/motel on the beach. Going out in the evenings to some real entertainment. Maybe go to the mall on a rainy day. See a theme park. So, resorts are not for us. Sticking to Florida for our winter get-a-ways. Lesson learned.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube