Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Sosua > Sosua Hotel Index > Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sosua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sosua Bay Resort

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata  

Sosua, Dominican Republic

"best holiday in minute"
Posted by: mathew on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Sosua Dominican Republic

#1
of 26 Hotels in Sosua

User rating 3.8

Based on 28 reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Information


The Breezes Puerto Plata Resort is 130 miles northwest of Santo Domingo. This seaside resort offers 466, fully air-conditioned rooms and suites all with either a patio or balcony. On-site facilities include five restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, tennis courts, pitch & put golf, evening entertainment, a nightclub and a wide range of watersports.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.8 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  13
Average
  11
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 28

"The resort was okay but not the 4 star it claims."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jo from Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
673 people found this review helpful

Arrival: December 25 2008 - Jan 1 2009
Everything went good at the airport a guy asked to carry our luggage we just said no thanks was a little worried that people would be all over you to get your luggage but it was no big deal. Arrived at the Hotel around 12:30 PM thought we might have to wait till after three to get our rooms but no they were ready a man even carried our bags to our room.

Rooms:
The rooms were nothing fancy a little tried looking but okay for what we needed. We were in Villa 10000 which was quite a walked from everything but i didn't mind and everything else in the room worked fine so no sense and asking for a new room. We had two double beds which were quite firm I brought my own pillow. The tv had quite a few english channels. The air conditioning was great we had it set on low and found it every comfortable even a little chilly sometimes. The only problem was the lack of hot water most days it was luke warm 2-3 times including our last day morning there was no hot water at all what a way to end the trip.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was not great by any means I am a picky eater and realize we are in a differnt country so not that big of a deal. The breakfast was the best getting fresh made omelettes and a t lunch and diner the pasta was pretty good. We missed the christmas diner having got there that day and not knowing we had to book for that night but the New Years Eve diner was very fancy with a lot more selection. We ate at the paris and italien restarants the paris was excellent very fancy. Bars were good lobby bar had the best made drinks I found there slushie drinks not very slushie. They did not have presidente beer I guess times are tight and can't afford it all the other alochol was a classic brand the lobby bar had real international drinks but didn't hand them out too often.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was great the reason I choose this resort, the lazy river was great but 5 feet deep so we ended up buying floaties at the store for $8 US. Beach was great the ocean was rough only the last two days were yellow flag all the rest were red as long as you don't go out really far it is fine to play in the waves.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: We went to Ocean World which was good but they drop you off in the morning and pick you up at 5:30 which is way too long to be there. It was also about an hour bus ride from the resort

Other Comments:
The resort was okay not the 4 star it claims to be maybe a 3. The young boys in charge of entertainment around the pool were great. We didn't get bothered by timeshares people. There wasn't many locals at the resort either New Years there was a few families came in, I think with it being Christmas holidays the resort was very booked so they didn't have room for locals. All and all it was an good holiday but I would not return to that resort mostly because I would like to travel to different places.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never could swim in the water off the beach. Always had a caution flag."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra from Chicago  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
764 people found this review helpful

Arrival: November 2008
The arrival to the hotel was fine.

Rooms:
Checked in and immediately had to get our room changed - TV was not working. Rooms were nice. Asked for an upgrade for Beach View. Was given the run-around - Said they were booked but no lights were ever on in some rooms. HARDLY EVER HAD HOT OR WARM WATER. COMPLAINED TO NO AVAIL.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was a little to be desired. For breakfast it was the same thing everyday until the weekends when they got more people into the resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Never could swim in the water off the beach. Always had a caution flag. Had to take the bus to another beach to snorkel.

Other Comments:
Would never go back to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I didn’t like how most of the male workers at the resort would whistle at us."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tiffany  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
753 people found this review helpful

Arrival: December 25 2008 - Jan 1 2009
Airtransat was amazing and very fast. Nolitours was amazing to travel with they take great care of their travelers. And are very personable.

Rooms:
Alright, I found sometimes the cleaning ladies would come by very early but they were very nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
the 24 hour snack bar, I arrived at the hotel at 10pm and all that was opened was the 24 hour snack bar… a choice of overdone burgers and fries.. I’m a vegetarian… next I found the people working at the Mexican restaurant to be very rude. We changed our reservation from 2 to 4 people.. and the man freaked out at us when there was no one in the restaurant. He said we could only have a main dish. It was very hard to make reservations for the a la carte restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the pools and facilities were great and the very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
breezes dance team were very interactive and made it fun and tried to get everyone involved

Other Comments:
I didn’t like how most of the male workers at the resort would whistle at us and always make rude comments. Also you have to be very careful at night in the resort if you are a single woman walking alone I suggest you be very careful. On the last night I felt there was someone following me back to my room and the next morning I heard of a woman being attacked. There aren’t always guards around.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I loved this resort, and would return in a minute."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy & Roberto from Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
708 people found this review helpful

We flew AirTransat, and wow, have things changed for the better with this airline. Good food, and more leg room. Thank you AirTransat!
After departing at 6:15am, we were given a Quizno breakfast sandwich, very delicious! We sat in 27A and B. My husband is over 6 feet, and he had lots of extra room for his legs, and the washroom is closeby.

RESORT:
I loved this resort, and would return in a minute, although we try to visit new places every year.

JEWELLERY:
I purchased a pair of blue larimar drop earrings in US cash, 14 k gold, (for cash, they will deal) but be smart about what you buy. One man bought a $70.00 ³Rolex², that fell apart the next day. A few times a week, they hold a ³craft² fair in the Piano Bar area. Don¹t forget to haggle!

ROOM:
Because we were renewing our vows, we were upgraded by the wonderful Ramone, to ocean view ground floor by the Beach Bar.
Bring some CDs for the CD player. Wakeup calls were made to us, no problem, but bring a battery alarm clock, just in case. If there is a clock in your room, the electricity goes off sometimes, so it¹s unreliable. One time there was no water, so we called the front desk, and they fixed it promptly. Most of the time, the water was warm or hot, rarely cold. We are so spoiled in Canada!

BEACH:
For me, the beach was the best part, rolling waves, and wide open Atlantic Ocean in front of us. The main beach was too crowded, so we relocated to a palapa in front of the Villas by the sea wall. Nice and quiet place for reading, with an amazing view.
The beach staff helps you get your lounge chairs set up on the beach, which is nice. Last year in El Salvador at the Decameron, our packsack and towels were stolen from our beach chairs; our rep had not told us the Columbians came in for 2 or 3 day visits. So I was careful not to leave valuables on the beach chairs, but did not hear of any problems at this resort.

TROUBLE IN PARADISE:
There was one little glitch the first weekend we were there, but thanks to Debbies Trip reports, we knew about it, and reserved a la cartes for Saturday and Sunday. The hotel offered 2 for 1 to the Dominicans, and they were there in droves. We heard 500!!!! You could not get near the beach bar for food, and some Canadians had to wait for 2 hours to eat at Jimmy buffet.

The Dominicans can not eat in the a la cartes, so we had wonderful meals, and were not crowded. This was an isolated incident, and the next weekend was fine, with just a few locals, but the hotel does offers 2 or 3 etc day stays to Dominicans, so the locals are always coming and going.

FOOD:
We found the food and service at all restaurants was wonderful, NO complaints at all. And we did not get sick at all. It was great over Christmas and New Years, as you needed to reserve for Christmas Eve and Day, and New Years Eve, so we had many more wonderful meals served to us.

24 HOUR BAR: The beach bar, right by the ocean, (at night it is the Mexican Restaurant), is open 24/7. The snack bar offers burgers, hot dogs, fried chicken and delicious fries.

SHOWS: We did not make it to many shows, but I heard they were well attended. They work so hard!

WINE:
The wine was fabulous, Italian white and red. Available at all bars, as well as meals. The waiters would go to other bars to get it, if they did not have it at their bar!!

TIPPING:
We tipped the maid one US dollar daily, and the same at the a la cartes. But we did not feel we had to. We found all the staff warm and helpful.

VOW RENEWAL:
We renewed our vows after 10 years of marriage, and the Wedding Coordinator Yesenia de la Cruz, made it very memorable, complete with a live band, champagne in a bucket, ceremony in location of your choice, special menu at the a la carte of your choice -- we choose the Mexican by the ocean.

The vows they read are beautiful. They set up the table with a huge bouquet and more champagne, and we could stay as long as we wanted. The 3 layer white cake was delicious, and we shared it with many people, especially a warm and friendly group from Scotland, who hugged us and wished us well.
The renewal included breakfast in bed!!
We paid a administration fee of $150 US in cash, and brought a copy of our marriage certificate. It was well worth it!

OCEAN:
The Atlantic ocean is a force to be reckoned with! The red flag really does mean danger. Waves are huge and powerful, and can knock you down, even if you are careful. We watched as one man was caught in the undertow on Christmas Day, and had great difficulty getting back to shore. Two lifeguards motioned him in, and he finally did make it!. We also heard of a woman and her son, one who had already gone under the water, they were rescued by a tourist. We did go in, as we love the ocean, but wouldn¹t go past the first wave! They will not give you boogie boards, with good reason, when the red flag is up. Some bought their own at the local stores for about $25.00 US.

SIDETRIPS:
We visited Sosua for an afternoon on the free shuttle. Make sure you ask when the driver is coming back, as pickup times can differ from the schedule. You can rent 2 chaise lounges for $3.00 US for the day. It¹s about $20 US for a taxi if you miss the bus.

The shuttle to Cabarete was interesting, it was FULL to overflowing, and the same on the way back. There was lots of windsurfing going on.

Harrison¹s Jewellery is here, a reputable place. You can rent chaise lounges for the same cost as Sosua. You can snorkel to the right by the rocks, but we did not. We found the waves strong when we were there. We took the Camel, Jeep Safari, in our own Suzuki Sidekicks, about 6 jeeps in total. This trip is not for the faint hearted. You drive for about 20 minutes in Puerto Plata, a very scary ordeal. Dangerous passing is a way of life, blasting horns to tell you to get out of the way!

We did make it back safely. Driving is shared with another couple -- 4 to a Jeep. We saw an amazing double rainbow in the hills, and drove through rivers and mud. That part was fun! And they asked us to NOT give candy to the kids, as it only makes them into beggars, rots their teeth, and they could get hurt chasing the jeeps. Some boys actually jumped onto the lead jeep to hitch a ride!

FYI, They sell GatorAid in the pharmacy, ($5.00 US) which I needed the next morning, as I got very dehydrated (electrolytes low?) sitting in the hot sun, even though I wore a hat, and oversized shirt. There is no alcohol offered. Lunch was at a small restaurant in a little Village off the beaten track. You need your drivers license, but did not need to show it. The company insures you, and they warn you that mopeds or people could try to cause an accident with the jeep to collect insurance. Scary, but it did not happen.

WHO WAS THERE:
We met tourists from Scotland, England, Regina, Quebec, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Vancouver, Calgary, USA and even the Jersey Islands.

DEPARTURE:
Departure was seamless -- we got to the airport on time, no line up, and we got the same great seats as on the way down. Duty free was everywhere, good deals on liquor. Again, food on AirTransat was delicious.

GENERAL TIPS:
For the hungries at the airport, take your own sandwich or fruit from breakfast (bring ziplock baggies). One small order of fries cost $5.00 US and drinks were $5 US.
There can be sudden downpours, so bring a small umbrella. We also keep a large green bag in our beach bag to keep things dry, just in case. The weather can start out cloudy and rainy and be sunny and bright in an hour. Ladies, bring a pashmina or wrap for evening. Nights can be chilly, and the a la cartes have the airconditioning quite cold sometimes.
Paris restaurant is the only one that men need to wear long pants. Sandals were fine for men in all restaurants. A flashlight is helpful for those dark areas going home. We used only US dollars, as we brought 50 $1.00 bills with us. They don¹t usually have change at the hotel.
There is a supermarket in Sosua where you can buy almost anything, cheaper than at the hotel.
(Supermarket takes US dollars, no problem) The red and white wine the hotel uses, ³De la Casa² is for sale at $3.00 US.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not return to a Breezes again."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana from London Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
234 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 5 - 12
Skyservice flight and baggage pickup were very good. Bus trip to the hotel was very good. check-in was at 3:00 as stated.

Rooms
villa room 3003 horrable. Strong mildew plus smell, gloomy and very damp. Went straight to complain and wanted a differnt room. We decided we even wanted a different hotel after having time to walk around because our check-in was after 3p.m. It was late and Angel said to come back after 11a.m. the next day and we could discuss moving. He did find us another room that we felt we could at least stay in. Had difficult time getting our luggage to room. It was around 8p.m. before this was done and we could finally go out to find food. My husband stepped on what he thought was a pebble by the bed tried to rub it of on the top of other foot and instant blood because it was a hunk of glass. He gave himself quite a nasty cut. The water in our room was very brown for three days, we had NO hot water and the door to the outside had to be slamed for it to close. The toilet ran and made other crazy noises which we complained about at the front desk. Nothing was done during our stay

Restaurants and Bars
We were suposed to be able to book 4 ala cart resturaunrs. we were able to book the Mexican and finally for our last evening the Japanese.The girl at the bookings was always telling us they were full, come back tomorrow. We saw at night that they were not full. When on vacation you normally have better things to do than constantly beg for something you are intitaled to. In our case it wasn't too bad it gave us something to do! Bees were at the pool bar big time. They were always out of limes. Drinks were not the best,Beer was good. Buffet was not good. Pulled a piece of net like cloth out of a muffin. Thought it might be a piece of hair net but after eating there a few time decided they wouldn't know what that was. Ate to survive

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grounds dirty, cups blowing around . others full of bees. Pool looked very nice. No problems here at all. The layout of the pool was a very nice attraction.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities limited to the rain. Found there were no back-up programs in place. We needed to hear music and see some smiling faces this might have helped us through all the rain. We have been on all the tours offered but the rain kept us from doing them again. The ocean was so rough every day boating was out of the question.

Other Comments:
Due to rain leeking through the roof there were huge puddles on the slate tile causing very slippery conditions and no-one seemed ready to get it mopped up. Putting a sign up was not the right way to look after the saftey of the guests. The luggage was a problem because of lack of porters and in some cases the long distance that was necesary to lug them.We were on the third floor and we are seniors so it was quite a difficult time getting them to the main lobby We have tried to complain to Breezes and our e-mail was fist on delay and then was failed so we can't find a way to tell them directly how we feel. We will not return to a Breezes again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were really unhappy at this resort."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Feb 2, 2010  >  8 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
222 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 4 - Feb 11
This is my second time trying to post my review, first review did not post Arrived via Air Canada from Halifax. Flight ok though 5 hours late

Rooms
The furniture and bed sheets in room old and worn looking. Clock radio, tv , toilet, lights not working on arrival. Calls to guest services finally fixed toilet. There were plenty of towels the first day but got less and less every day until we had absolutely none! Many calls to front desk, guest services to obtain towels. No towels last 2 days. Beach towels came in handy. We did not change rooms as we started to hear people changing rooms many times to find conditions worse. Leaking roofs, bugs in room, flooded rooms, no hot water, phone not working to call for assistance. We had brown water to shower in for most of our stay. The maids did the minimal while cleaning rooms. Water usually stocked but not coke or sprite. We tipped the maids well but the service got worse and worse every day. One exception though was the maid who cleaned lobby bathroom, she did a wonderful job and always had a smile. Guest services was always busy with lineups(what does that say?) People were unhappy with services provided at this hotel. Every day we would talk to fellow canadians and hear how unhapy they were with the resort. Then we started hearing about robberies on the resort and our building. People's safes and rooms broken into, money, cellphones, ipods stolen. We did not feel safe at all! Many stories that the resort did not care and denied it. We finally opted to take all money and passports with us when we went out. This gave us some peace of mind.

Restaurants and Bars
Food recycled from evening before and offered nothing of taste. We used the pasta bar alot and omelettes in the morning at Jimmy's buffet. Food low quality. There were a la carte restaurants but good luck getting into them. The servers most times would not let you in even if people didn't show up and empty tables. Service in buffet not good. Difficult to get a coke in the morning or a coffee. Sometimes we got up and served ourselves. Bring lots of snacks with you. There were some friendly servers at the lobby bar but also some just looking for tips. There was not alot of fresh fruit for drinks and sometimes the bar ran out of mix and alcohol. One thing we didn't like was the wasps flying around everywhere landing on the taps for drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool is quite large and certainly a focal point of the resort. We never used it as it rained every day during our stay. Too bad. The beach was dirty and littered with plastic cups, cigarette butts etc. Not too much attention to cleaning. It was rough every day but people did swim at their own risk. Also, if you like to take long walks on the beach, this is not the beach for you. It is very short.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The animation team on this resort was not very good. They did not seem organized and did nothing to relieve the boredom of the guests. It rained our whole vacation and no extra activities were planned while everyone sat under big tent. Many days we went back to our room to watch tv or take a nap until evening. The dancers though did a wonderful job in the evening show. We looked forward to their show every night. Thank god for them. We tipped them well for this.

Other Comments
We went to Breezes to enjoy relaxtion and sun. We read the reviews of this resort prior to leaving and thought it can't be that bad, well we were wrong! We are not picky people. This was my first trip south and my siter has been to the Dominican and Cuba many times before. Overall, we were really unhappy at this resort. We think it must be closing it's doors. I can't believe it is part of Superclub Breezes. We actually had thoughts of going home mid vaction but we stuck it out thinking it would get better. My advice, go elsewhere! We still need a vacation from this vacation! Also I would advise all people who stayed here at Breezes and were unhappy write a review! It would be nice for other vacationers to know the truth about this resort so they can book elsewhere. This is not a 4 star more like a 2-2.5 star resort. Good luck on your vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I did not feel safe here at all."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie from Northern Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
244 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 29th to Feb. 5th
No problems at all.
Check in wasn't until 3pm, but we knew that ahead of time
Rooms
DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING OF VALUE IN YOUR ROOM UNLESS IN THE SAFE!!! I will explain below!
Although we only paid for regular rooms, we were upgraded by guest services (thanks Leslie) to the ocean front villa's, three of them side by side.
Gorgeous view.
Villa's themselves are in very rough shape.
Broken sinks, mouldy tubs... badly in need of repairs.
Lots of tiny spidrs too...
Mine was missing an interior door lock... took 3 days to have one installed.
Thankfully you don't spend much time in the rooms!
Maids did a great job cleaning, and my fridge was always well stocked... although I also tip well and bring gifts as well!

Restaurants and Bars
Jimmy's buffet was good... lots of repetition in the food, but you could always find something to eat.
Service was excellent!
Pasta/Paris/Mexican were all good.. didn't eat at Japanese.
Booked when we arrived the first afternoon... had no trouble getting in at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Red flag almost everyday... one yellow.
Beach is kept clean though.
Pool is cleaned continuously.
lots of chairs, never had a problem finding an umbrella either, although they do need some repairs!
THere was a lot of wind when we were down, so the ground crews were kept very busy rakeing up the leaves and such.
Flowers were lovely!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Sosua Beach, and to Cabarete... both were great.
We went scuba diving one day through the hotel, and our teens loved it!
Also did the Free style Cats... and had a great time.

Other Comments
One of our rooms was robbed while the room was occupied. A Blackberry was taken off the charger while the occupant was in the bathroom. Yes the door was locked! When security investagated, they called the phone and had a nice chat with a spanish woman, got a name and everything... nothing ever came of it except the $90 bill for the call when we got home!

My room was entered three times at night while I was in the room... I yelled each time and the door was immediately closed. I did not feel safe here at all.
Although we enjoyed our vacation, (I believe that you can make or break your vacation)I will not return to Breezes, and will NOT recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst excuse of a Breezes ever."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gisele  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
228 people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife are frequent travelers to Breezes resorts {Jamicia,Bahamas} so we decided to try the Dominican,well the Peurto Plata Breezes resort is the worst excuse of a Breezes ever.I would say it is a two star resort.Why you ask?Well when we arrived we found our room to have two single beds,great if you like to sleep by youself,so we go to the main desk and they upgrade us to another room,when we get to the next room there is already someone in the room,so we go back to the main desk and tell them the situation,they give us another room,this time the new room is empty.So we move our luggage to the new room {no porter} by ourselves.The new room is a little better,but very noisy,also there was ants and spyders in the room,no stalked fridge like they had told us,the bed was as hard as the ground,there was no face clothes all week and the towels were far and few between.So after we get settled in we go for a walk to the beach,as we were walking along the buildings we see raw sewage coming out of a pipe along the building,very discusing.Then we notice there were no chairs to be found on the beach,{not enough chairs for the amount of people at the beach}The food aso had to be the worst,we had one good meal all the time we were there.I would not recommened this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The service has deteriotated since my last visit."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Noel  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
237 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 22

Rooms
Clean. However, in the last week of my stay as I was there for 2 weeks, I found cockroaches in the bathroom. Although it was fumigated twice, I saw these disgusting bugs still running around the bathroom sink.

Restaurants and Bars
The service has deteriotated since my last visit from the previous year. You can get the same food the next day and the menu was basically the same over the 2 weeks I was there. I also found that dusting of the mail bar in the lobby was done prior to the opening which should not be.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There were no activities for you to take part in especially on the rainy days. I went to my room and looked at TV instead. There should be a co-ordinator to find things for guests to do on when there is inclement weather.

Other Comments
The standard at Breezes has dropped from the previous year I was there. Management has to be fumigated all the rooms in the off season to get rid of the bugs and ensure additional activities are added such as archery, etc. Also the food could be improved and not be recycled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time meeting people from all over Canada."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on Feb 2, 2010  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 30,to February 13
We flew Air Transat out of Toronto. Travelling J Class was just what we needed for my son who is disabled using a wheelchair full time. Arriving on time at Puerto Plata the airport staff were great help at getting us off of the plane, through Customs and to the bus taking us to the resort. Check-in at Breezes went quickly and we were off to our room in short order.

Rooms
We requested a Junior Suite on the first floor that was Handicap Accessible for our son. It was a nice room with all the needed accessories in the washroom for him. There were plenty of grab bars around both the bathtub and toilet. The only problem was the washroom door was not wide enough to allow his wheelchair through. The room my wife and I got was another thing. The door was open when we got there, buckets and mops just inside the door and water raining from the ceiling. We returned to the lobby and requested another room and were given one quickly in the next building. The two Junior Suites that we had were very roomy, kept clean, had a king bed and a pull out couch, a fridge stocked with pop and water, a walkin closet and two dressers. The Washroom was large and stocked with soap and shampoo. Over the tub was a clothes line. The water was generally warm and hot late in the afternoon, so we could have a good shower before dinner.

Restaurants and Bars
Jimmys Buffet is a long setup and devided into three serving areas with a good selection every day. Off to one side for lunch and dinner was a pasta bar which we enjoyed. The service of the staff was great and friendly. After the first day we would find a table and go to get our food and when we returned to the table we had drinks from the bar already waiting for us. We only went to two of the ala carte's. The Italian and the Mexican. The French was on the second floor above the Italian and only accessible by a long staircase, so they could not accomodate us with my sons wheelchair. All of the bars were very good with friendly staff who served my son without him having to wait very long. We really enjoyed the swim-up pool bar and the beach bar that was open 24 hours. At the lobby bar there are two wide screen tv's where we watched the Superbowl. The drinks were generally pretty good. The bartenders seemed to become more generous with the alcohal as the day progressed. We took our Bubbas with us and they would sometimes fill them more than halfway with alcohal.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is quite nice, but we used the pool mostly because of the weather. It was breezy and we had six days of rain. The ocean was very rough most of our stay. My wife and I enjoyed several long walks along the beach. The pool was great. It has two main swimmimg areas and a long lazy river around the whole thing. There are four hot tubs. Well only one is hot and very popular. There is a small kids pool with air jest in it. In the main area there are two waterslides, waterpolo, basketball and volleyball. The pool bar has several seats under an roofed in area and two pool tables where many people would stand anround and party all day. During the rainy days the action crew sat around and did nothing. Didn't even try to have fun with the people who came down to the pool. The grounds were kept in good condition even with all of the rain we had. The pool was cleaned every morning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There is lots of things to do everyday. There is a trapeze, rock climbing wall a skating rink that is really a plastic floor that had many ball hockey games. There is a basketball court, two tennis courts, a nine hole chip and putt golfcourse and a soccer field. The evening shows are fun for both kids and adults. We participated in one show during our stay. We had a walk through the Casino one night. It looked pretty good, but I am not really into that kind of entertainment. We used the free shuttle to go into both Sasoua and Caberete to look around and go shopping. We found a Liquidation Store in Caberete that had good prices and you didn't have to barter for deals. Everything had a price tag on it. The stores on the resort were very expensive. We have been to this area of the Dominican, so we didn't go on any tours this time.

Other Comments We found that the Resort was more than 98 percent filled with Canadians. Had a great time meeting people from all over Canada. The layout of the resort was easily accessible and we would deffinately return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube