Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Sosua > Sosua Hotel Index > Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sosua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sosua Bay Resort

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata  

Sosua, Dominican Republic

"best holiday in minute"
Posted by: mathew on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Sosua Dominican Republic

#1
of 26 Hotels in Sosua

User rating 3.8

Based on 28 reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Information


The Breezes Puerto Plata Resort is 130 miles northwest of Santo Domingo. This seaside resort offers 466, fully air-conditioned rooms and suites all with either a patio or balcony. On-site facilities include five restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, tennis courts, pitch & put golf, evening entertainment, a nightclub and a wide range of watersports.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.8 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  13
Average
  11
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
11 - 20 of 28

"4 Star my foot!!!! I'll stick to the Bahia Principe San Juan."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia from Windsor, Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
832 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 5 - 12
The bus from the airport was fine, the greeters were very nice, rooms were to be ready at 3 but we didn't get them until almost 4. Staff was unfriendly and quite curt.

Rooms
Terrible - dirty. Two small beds on wheels shoved together. The bedding was gross. We couldn't seem to get clean towels on any day. The coffee maker was disgusting but they wouldn't leave coffee anyway. Ask for water or pop and you might get one bottle. The ceiling leaked like a sieve. The bathroom was disgusting and by day three the water in the sink, toilet and shower was a strange brownish colour. I understand that there was a tropical storm but come on. The maids did a terrible job of cleaning even though we tipped and left small gifts (even though there isn't supposed to be tipping it is expected)

Restaurants and Bars
The Buffet was terrible. Reheated food from one day to the next, the bread was so stale you couldn't eat it and whatever they serve for butter/margarine tasted like lard. You would expect lots of fresh fruit and veggies - wrong!! At breakfast you could get freshly made omelets and eggs but everything else was pretty gross. Lunch was more of the same, dinner - no variety to speak of and we are not picky eaters. Each of us got sick from one thing or another. The bars ran out of rum, tequila, vodka and mixes. The a la cartes were very hard to book but we managed the Japanese which was good and the Italian which had some pretty awful food except for the chicken.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The grounds keepers were pretty busy but the area around the pool was swarming with bees - one of our group is deathly allergic but that didn't seem to bother any of the staff.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We were a group of 16 and had planned this trip so we could all be together for some sun and fun. It rained every day but that certainly was not anyone's fault. The staff did nothing to alleviate the boredom. Good thing we had each other. We had trouble getting dry towels for the pool and when we did get them were worned not to take them to the pool because there was too much rain.

The morning and afternoon activities were so lame that even the youngest of the group was bored with them. A couple of the evening shows were pretty good and worth attending. We went on a Jeep Safari Tour - the jeep turned out to be an old truck with some seats bolted on and a very leaky canvas roof - they took us through a shanty town (supposed to be the jungle)on what were the worst roads imaginable (we all had bruised backs thanks to this) and then to a school where they tried to sell us stuff - then to a cigar factory which was really a shed where they tried to sell us the darnest junk - then we went for lunch which was the best food we had while there (if you could overlook the starving dogs wandering in and out and a toilet that defies description). We then went to the beach for horse back riding (which is what we really wanted), we got on some poor old horses with broken saddles, went for 5 minutes down the beach and back - and that was it for the ride. Then we stopped at another beach - all of this in the pouring rain. When we mentioned it to the tour operator on our return she told us they never had complaints - funny, everyone on the tour was very angry about the tour. We also went into Cabarete and found Jose O'Shea's which was pretty neat. The shop keepers are the pushiest people I've every met and this is not our first trip to the DR.

Other Comments
The floors were so slippery we had two mishaps where one of us ended up on crutches and the other had to have her ankle wrapped.
The Club VIP group hounded us during our stay trying to get us to buy into the program - 25, 50 or 100 vacations with Breezes. Believe me none of us will ever set foot in another Breezes hotel. 4 Star my foot!!!! I'll stick to the Bahia Principe San Juan.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Many of the tourists as well as the staff were very outgoing and friendly."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Glenn from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
202 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Check in was prompt and our room was ready for us.

Rooms
The rooms are showing some signs of age (some water stains, chipped paint, etc) but nothing seriously wrong. We didn't have to pay a deposit on the safe which was nice. The beds were firm, but quite comfortable. There was no clock in the room so you should bring an alarm clock.

Restaurants and Bars
The buffet was not a five star quality, but we always found good stuff to eat. I found the beef a little tough, so I stuck to the seafood or chicken. The pasta bar was also very good. The a-la-carte restaurants were good but could be hard to reserve.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool was great as was the beach. There were staff throughout that were constantly cleaning. The weather was poor throughout our stay and the ocean was red flagged throughout - it was still fun to play in the waves, but no kyaks or boogie boards.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The animation staff seemed a little hit and miss. They were great when they got an activity going, but didn't repeat activities often enough. The rock climbing and trapese were fun, but not promoted enough. We took the shuttle into Cabarete and enjoyed our trip. We had been told that the vendors are not as agressive as at Sasoua. Prices and selection were good as the Liquidation store but many vendors have caught on and call out 'liquidation' trying to get you into their store. We had food and drinks at the irish pub which was very good and you get to watch the beach where there are lots of kite boards and wind surfers.

Other Comments
Unfortunately, the weather was cloudy and raining most of our week. Being in a resort where many of the tourists as well as the staff were very outgoing and friendly definitely helped make our stay an enjoyable one. No matter where we went there always seemed to be someone happy to visit with us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I did not feel safe here at all."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie from Northern Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
250 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 29th to Feb. 5th
No problems at all.
Check in wasn't until 3pm, but we knew that ahead of time
Rooms
DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING OF VALUE IN YOUR ROOM UNLESS IN THE SAFE!!! I will explain below!
Although we only paid for regular rooms, we were upgraded by guest services (thanks Leslie) to the ocean front villa's, three of them side by side.
Gorgeous view.
Villa's themselves are in very rough shape.
Broken sinks, mouldy tubs... badly in need of repairs.
Lots of tiny spidrs too...
Mine was missing an interior door lock... took 3 days to have one installed.
Thankfully you don't spend much time in the rooms!
Maids did a great job cleaning, and my fridge was always well stocked... although I also tip well and bring gifts as well!

Restaurants and Bars
Jimmy's buffet was good... lots of repetition in the food, but you could always find something to eat.
Service was excellent!
Pasta/Paris/Mexican were all good.. didn't eat at Japanese.
Booked when we arrived the first afternoon... had no trouble getting in at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Red flag almost everyday... one yellow.
Beach is kept clean though.
Pool is cleaned continuously.
lots of chairs, never had a problem finding an umbrella either, although they do need some repairs!
THere was a lot of wind when we were down, so the ground crews were kept very busy rakeing up the leaves and such.
Flowers were lovely!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to Sosua Beach, and to Cabarete... both were great.
We went scuba diving one day through the hotel, and our teens loved it!
Also did the Free style Cats... and had a great time.

Other Comments
One of our rooms was robbed while the room was occupied. A Blackberry was taken off the charger while the occupant was in the bathroom. Yes the door was locked! When security investagated, they called the phone and had a nice chat with a spanish woman, got a name and everything... nothing ever came of it except the $90 bill for the call when we got home!

My room was entered three times at night while I was in the room... I yelled each time and the door was immediately closed. I did not feel safe here at all.
Although we enjoyed our vacation, (I believe that you can make or break your vacation)I will not return to Breezes, and will NOT recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not return to a Breezes again."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana from London Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
238 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 5 - 12
Skyservice flight and baggage pickup were very good. Bus trip to the hotel was very good. check-in was at 3:00 as stated.

Rooms
villa room 3003 horrable. Strong mildew plus smell, gloomy and very damp. Went straight to complain and wanted a differnt room. We decided we even wanted a different hotel after having time to walk around because our check-in was after 3p.m. It was late and Angel said to come back after 11a.m. the next day and we could discuss moving. He did find us another room that we felt we could at least stay in. Had difficult time getting our luggage to room. It was around 8p.m. before this was done and we could finally go out to find food. My husband stepped on what he thought was a pebble by the bed tried to rub it of on the top of other foot and instant blood because it was a hunk of glass. He gave himself quite a nasty cut. The water in our room was very brown for three days, we had NO hot water and the door to the outside had to be slamed for it to close. The toilet ran and made other crazy noises which we complained about at the front desk. Nothing was done during our stay

Restaurants and Bars
We were suposed to be able to book 4 ala cart resturaunrs. we were able to book the Mexican and finally for our last evening the Japanese.The girl at the bookings was always telling us they were full, come back tomorrow. We saw at night that they were not full. When on vacation you normally have better things to do than constantly beg for something you are intitaled to. In our case it wasn't too bad it gave us something to do! Bees were at the pool bar big time. They were always out of limes. Drinks were not the best,Beer was good. Buffet was not good. Pulled a piece of net like cloth out of a muffin. Thought it might be a piece of hair net but after eating there a few time decided they wouldn't know what that was. Ate to survive

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grounds dirty, cups blowing around . others full of bees. Pool looked very nice. No problems here at all. The layout of the pool was a very nice attraction.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities limited to the rain. Found there were no back-up programs in place. We needed to hear music and see some smiling faces this might have helped us through all the rain. We have been on all the tours offered but the rain kept us from doing them again. The ocean was so rough every day boating was out of the question.

Other Comments:
Due to rain leeking through the roof there were huge puddles on the slate tile causing very slippery conditions and no-one seemed ready to get it mopped up. Putting a sign up was not the right way to look after the saftey of the guests. The luggage was a problem because of lack of porters and in some cases the long distance that was necesary to lug them.We were on the third floor and we are seniors so it was quite a difficult time getting them to the main lobby We have tried to complain to Breezes and our e-mail was fist on delay and then was failed so we can't find a way to tell them directly how we feel. We will not return to a Breezes again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time meeting people from all over Canada."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on Feb 2, 2010  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
244 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 30,to February 13
We flew Air Transat out of Toronto. Travelling J Class was just what we needed for my son who is disabled using a wheelchair full time. Arriving on time at Puerto Plata the airport staff were great help at getting us off of the plane, through Customs and to the bus taking us to the resort. Check-in at Breezes went quickly and we were off to our room in short order.

Rooms
We requested a Junior Suite on the first floor that was Handicap Accessible for our son. It was a nice room with all the needed accessories in the washroom for him. There were plenty of grab bars around both the bathtub and toilet. The only problem was the washroom door was not wide enough to allow his wheelchair through. The room my wife and I got was another thing. The door was open when we got there, buckets and mops just inside the door and water raining from the ceiling. We returned to the lobby and requested another room and were given one quickly in the next building. The two Junior Suites that we had were very roomy, kept clean, had a king bed and a pull out couch, a fridge stocked with pop and water, a walkin closet and two dressers. The Washroom was large and stocked with soap and shampoo. Over the tub was a clothes line. The water was generally warm and hot late in the afternoon, so we could have a good shower before dinner.

Restaurants and Bars
Jimmys Buffet is a long setup and devided into three serving areas with a good selection every day. Off to one side for lunch and dinner was a pasta bar which we enjoyed. The service of the staff was great and friendly. After the first day we would find a table and go to get our food and when we returned to the table we had drinks from the bar already waiting for us. We only went to two of the ala carte's. The Italian and the Mexican. The French was on the second floor above the Italian and only accessible by a long staircase, so they could not accomodate us with my sons wheelchair. All of the bars were very good with friendly staff who served my son without him having to wait very long. We really enjoyed the swim-up pool bar and the beach bar that was open 24 hours. At the lobby bar there are two wide screen tv's where we watched the Superbowl. The drinks were generally pretty good. The bartenders seemed to become more generous with the alcohal as the day progressed. We took our Bubbas with us and they would sometimes fill them more than halfway with alcohal.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is quite nice, but we used the pool mostly because of the weather. It was breezy and we had six days of rain. The ocean was very rough most of our stay. My wife and I enjoyed several long walks along the beach. The pool was great. It has two main swimmimg areas and a long lazy river around the whole thing. There are four hot tubs. Well only one is hot and very popular. There is a small kids pool with air jest in it. In the main area there are two waterslides, waterpolo, basketball and volleyball. The pool bar has several seats under an roofed in area and two pool tables where many people would stand anround and party all day. During the rainy days the action crew sat around and did nothing. Didn't even try to have fun with the people who came down to the pool. The grounds were kept in good condition even with all of the rain we had. The pool was cleaned every morning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There is lots of things to do everyday. There is a trapeze, rock climbing wall a skating rink that is really a plastic floor that had many ball hockey games. There is a basketball court, two tennis courts, a nine hole chip and putt golfcourse and a soccer field. The evening shows are fun for both kids and adults. We participated in one show during our stay. We had a walk through the Casino one night. It looked pretty good, but I am not really into that kind of entertainment. We used the free shuttle to go into both Sasoua and Caberete to look around and go shopping. We found a Liquidation Store in Caberete that had good prices and you didn't have to barter for deals. Everything had a price tag on it. The stores on the resort were very expensive. We have been to this area of the Dominican, so we didn't go on any tours this time.

Other Comments We found that the Resort was more than 98 percent filled with Canadians. Had a great time meeting people from all over Canada. The layout of the resort was easily accessible and we would deffinately return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst excuse of a Breezes ever."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gisele  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife are frequent travelers to Breezes resorts {Jamicia,Bahamas} so we decided to try the Dominican,well the Peurto Plata Breezes resort is the worst excuse of a Breezes ever.I would say it is a two star resort.Why you ask?Well when we arrived we found our room to have two single beds,great if you like to sleep by youself,so we go to the main desk and they upgrade us to another room,when we get to the next room there is already someone in the room,so we go back to the main desk and tell them the situation,they give us another room,this time the new room is empty.So we move our luggage to the new room {no porter} by ourselves.The new room is a little better,but very noisy,also there was ants and spyders in the room,no stalked fridge like they had told us,the bed was as hard as the ground,there was no face clothes all week and the towels were far and few between.So after we get settled in we go for a walk to the beach,as we were walking along the buildings we see raw sewage coming out of a pipe along the building,very discusing.Then we notice there were no chairs to be found on the beach,{not enough chairs for the amount of people at the beach}The food aso had to be the worst,we had one good meal all the time we were there.I would not recommened this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The service has deteriotated since my last visit."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Noel  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 22

Rooms
Clean. However, in the last week of my stay as I was there for 2 weeks, I found cockroaches in the bathroom. Although it was fumigated twice, I saw these disgusting bugs still running around the bathroom sink.

Restaurants and Bars
The service has deteriotated since my last visit from the previous year. You can get the same food the next day and the menu was basically the same over the 2 weeks I was there. I also found that dusting of the mail bar in the lobby was done prior to the opening which should not be.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There were no activities for you to take part in especially on the rainy days. I went to my room and looked at TV instead. There should be a co-ordinator to find things for guests to do on when there is inclement weather.

Other Comments
The standard at Breezes has dropped from the previous year I was there. Management has to be fumigated all the rooms in the off season to get rid of the bugs and ensure additional activities are added such as archery, etc. Also the food could be improved and not be recycled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were really unhappy at this resort."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Feb 2, 2010  >  8 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
228 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 4 - Feb 11
This is my second time trying to post my review, first review did not post Arrived via Air Canada from Halifax. Flight ok though 5 hours late

Rooms
The furniture and bed sheets in room old and worn looking. Clock radio, tv , toilet, lights not working on arrival. Calls to guest services finally fixed toilet. There were plenty of towels the first day but got less and less every day until we had absolutely none! Many calls to front desk, guest services to obtain towels. No towels last 2 days. Beach towels came in handy. We did not change rooms as we started to hear people changing rooms many times to find conditions worse. Leaking roofs, bugs in room, flooded rooms, no hot water, phone not working to call for assistance. We had brown water to shower in for most of our stay. The maids did the minimal while cleaning rooms. Water usually stocked but not coke or sprite. We tipped the maids well but the service got worse and worse every day. One exception though was the maid who cleaned lobby bathroom, she did a wonderful job and always had a smile. Guest services was always busy with lineups(what does that say?) People were unhappy with services provided at this hotel. Every day we would talk to fellow canadians and hear how unhapy they were with the resort. Then we started hearing about robberies on the resort and our building. People's safes and rooms broken into, money, cellphones, ipods stolen. We did not feel safe at all! Many stories that the resort did not care and denied it. We finally opted to take all money and passports with us when we went out. This gave us some peace of mind.

Restaurants and Bars
Food recycled from evening before and offered nothing of taste. We used the pasta bar alot and omelettes in the morning at Jimmy's buffet. Food low quality. There were a la carte restaurants but good luck getting into them. The servers most times would not let you in even if people didn't show up and empty tables. Service in buffet not good. Difficult to get a coke in the morning or a coffee. Sometimes we got up and served ourselves. Bring lots of snacks with you. There were some friendly servers at the lobby bar but also some just looking for tips. There was not alot of fresh fruit for drinks and sometimes the bar ran out of mix and alcohol. One thing we didn't like was the wasps flying around everywhere landing on the taps for drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool is quite large and certainly a focal point of the resort. We never used it as it rained every day during our stay. Too bad. The beach was dirty and littered with plastic cups, cigarette butts etc. Not too much attention to cleaning. It was rough every day but people did swim at their own risk. Also, if you like to take long walks on the beach, this is not the beach for you. It is very short.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The animation team on this resort was not very good. They did not seem organized and did nothing to relieve the boredom of the guests. It rained our whole vacation and no extra activities were planned while everyone sat under big tent. Many days we went back to our room to watch tv or take a nap until evening. The dancers though did a wonderful job in the evening show. We looked forward to their show every night. Thank god for them. We tipped them well for this.

Other Comments
We went to Breezes to enjoy relaxtion and sun. We read the reviews of this resort prior to leaving and thought it can't be that bad, well we were wrong! We are not picky people. This was my first trip south and my siter has been to the Dominican and Cuba many times before. Overall, we were really unhappy at this resort. We think it must be closing it's doors. I can't believe it is part of Superclub Breezes. We actually had thoughts of going home mid vaction but we stuck it out thinking it would get better. My advice, go elsewhere! We still need a vacation from this vacation! Also I would advise all people who stayed here at Breezes and were unhappy write a review! It would be nice for other vacationers to know the truth about this resort so they can book elsewhere. This is not a 4 star more like a 2-2.5 star resort. Good luck on your vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food at the buffet is not great."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Harry Back 3 from Halifax  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
279 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Uneventful flight via A/C the inflight TV in each seat helps pass time quickly, check in was quick and our luggage was delivered to our room. we arrived at 2pm apparently night arrival isn't so great.

Rooms
Our biggest fear was security, however each building has a security guard or Junior Army member who questions each visitor until they recongize you. Very safe! Building 10 looks pretty good, we were on the 3rd floor, very quiet, everything worked, however keep in mind no hot water means no water flows from the tap until 7:30 AM. The shower was exceptional. Bring something to keep the ants occupied, they are the mico versioned ones that are everywhere but don't bite or bother you. We put down pennies and they disappeared.

Restaurants and Bars
Well, the Breezes was a 4 or 5 star, it's now a 3 star, needing paint, repairs, general fix up and a buffet chef. The food at the buffet is not great, the food at the 4 ala cartes is very good and you must book these immediately at 7:30 AM to 2 pm the day of arrival, otherwise you will miss 4 good evening meals! The beach bar is very basic and on day 3 they ran out of fries, the staple food of everyone wary of the buffet, and substituted mashed potatoes. The Bars are great and everyone very friendly and helpful. Waiters were happy and eager to serve.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
the pool is great, the hot tub is hot the lazy river is cold and deep. This resort is huge and be prepared to do alot of walking. The beach is private and vendorless, waves are warm and rolling, the sand is cleaned daily and is the soft brown type, vey nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The nightly entertainment is two fold, early evening band that plays easy listening dance music in the large common area meanwhile the kids are doing their coconut dance on the big stage. At 9 pm the shows start with good quality entertainment.

Other Comments
If the buffet food was improved this resort would rate 4.5 stars with my experience, I'd go back at a 3 star price or guarantee of 7 nights Ala cart.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would go back in a heartbeat!"

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Patty and Wayne from Winnipeg, Manitoba  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
279 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 24 to March 10
Our flight was very good out of Canada, arriving in Puerto Plata at three thirty and quickly to the resort . We have been to Breezes before , and it sure looked wonderful to see again. Familiar faces and familiar places.

Rooms
We were given rooms in Building 7, renovated rooms, one king bed, with new sheets and towels . very clean, fridge was stocked, main floor and keyless entry. During our two weeks at this resort, we had hot water everyday. sheets changed everyday, swept and polished and a lovely friendly maid . Pillows were on their last leg, just ask for more..

Restaurants and Bars
The buffett had something for everyone , some days better than the rest. and the a la cartes were just super. Great food, perfect ambiance , friendly, happy people to serve and take good care of you. Don't miss this wonderful experience. These people are there to please you and give you a great time. They will never disappoint. Just fabulous. We enjoyed every one of them. Book early.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool is one of a kind. lush trees and plants surrounding the blue, blue water...clean and maintained constantly. Lots of chairs , lots of shade. and sun . Enjoy the hot tubs and slides. The grounds of this resort are lush and lovely . Such an enjoyable walk around . Always being raked, and cleaned.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There's lots to do on this resort, We used the golf pitch and putt a few times. fun to get those clubs going. Didn't use the gym but it looks great. spa too. The Rock climbing was always in use, We rented a taxi from the resort , and went to Puerto Plata , saw the fort and amber and larimar musuem, great shopping , a beautiful church and centre of town. Lots to see. We had him for most of the day , could have gone anywhere. great price. again. Friendly guy. We especially loved the free shuttle to Cabarete and Sosua. Don't miss the beautiful beach at Cabarete, you'll never forget it.

Other Comments
This resort is showing signs of wear and tear. needs some painting , new chairs and some rooms redone etc. but REALLY. we would go back in a heartbeat, Beautiful Breezes and the wonderful Dominican People . Thankyou for a memorable holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube