Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Sosua > Sosua Hotel Index > Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sosua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sosua Bay Resort

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata  

Sosua, Dominican Republic

"best holiday in minute"
Posted by: mathew on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Pictures and Information
Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Sosua Dominican Republic

#1
of 26 Hotels in Sosua

User rating 3.8

Based on 28 reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Information


The Breezes Puerto Plata Resort is 130 miles northwest of Santo Domingo. This seaside resort offers 466, fully air-conditioned rooms and suites all with either a patio or balcony. On-site facilities include five restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, tennis courts, pitch & put golf, evening entertainment, a nightclub and a wide range of watersports.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Reviews

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.8 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  13
Average
  11
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
21 - 28 of 28

"Breeze's was a fine resort that commends 4.5 stars from our visit!"

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Greg from Maine  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
284 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 19 - 23 First off - We are first time Dominican Republic vacationers! Arrival at the airport and greeting by the *pre-booked tour company (Isaira Tours)was PERFECT. I did learn later that we could have saved time by pre purchasing our Tourist Card at JFK Airport - thus no waiting in line after getting off the plane in Puerto Plata. Make sure you have $10 CASH for the card (one time fee). No problems at all at airport. Our tour driver took us right to Breezes Resort and gave a ton of verbal information about "Do's and Don'ts". Martin Espinol was great. Our Arrival at Breezes was just fine. The Porter instructed us to go directly to the front desk, check in and then come back and let him know the room number and he would ensure that our bags were brought directly to us. The front desk was very busy and yet we were greeted immediately and with enthusiasm! All questions were answered and we were on our way to a great vacation. Indeed the bell boy brought our bags up within 3-5 minutes after we got into our room. We tipped him $2US, as he answered additional questions and was quite polite Rooms There is the need for some maintenance (mainly cosmetic from what I saw) at this resort. But nonetheless - it is beautiful! Our room was clean and had a King size bed (a must for a couple!)... Bathroom was sufficient, closet space was more than adequate with hangers already there for our clothes, room safe was used and appeared to be quite secure. We did not have any "security breaches" or items stolen from our room. Indeed we left our room several times with my wallet out in the open (no money in it though!) but we did not have any problems. Our room (Building 4, room 4101) face the Pool area and was quiet with a great central location to all ammenities. I highly recommend this building, but make certain that you are on the side that faces the pool and not the 24 hour Beach Bar side. This beach bar is the hub of noise after 11pm or so

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at Jimmy's Buffet every night accept the last night. The last night we ate at the French Restaurant. Get your reservation EARLY. The reservation desk (for Italian, Mexican, French) is located at the entrance to Jimmy's Buffet. I believe it is open for making reservations from 7am to 3pm daily (*GET THERE EARLY)! Jimmy's buffet was a great place to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast - Usually with the custom omlet and fruit. Lunch - Tried it all, but liked the Pasta Salads the best. Their hamburgers were known as mystery meat and I did not like the taste at all (and I am not a picky eater by any means!). Dinners- I loved the custom Pasta Dishes, you combine your ingredients (like tomatoes, ham, onions, ect) and hand the bowl to the chef, then you chose from a cream sauce (like alfredo) or a meat sauce like a spaghetti sauce, he cooks it all up and it is awesome! They (at dinner) had a different meat that they were carving for you and serving off the bone.

Great Ham by the way! The French Restaurant was just like being at home at a 5 star Restaurant. Service was just perfect. I recommend that you arrive 30 mminutes prior to your actual reservation time. I do not fully understand their reservations, but we had one for 9pm, and were told to be there 30 minutes early! Well we got there 20 minutes prior to our reservation time and we almost did not get a seat (although there were plenty of seats in the dining room). We did get seated and were treated like royalty!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool and grounds were imaculant! Crews were constantly doing the grounds keeping and the pools were cleaned/vaccumed each night after they closed (at 6pm). The beach (keep in mind that this hotel is on the North Coast and subject to high winds and seas) was great except for the fact that it was too rough to go into the water. We did venture in on our last day and enjoyed it. We spent half a day exploring the beach. I was disapointed in one area (far left just prior to rocky area) that had a tremendous amount of garbage on the woodline. I think the locals use this for partying??? There were plenty of beach chairs at the pool and beach. BUT, if you did not get the two that you needed by 10am, you may be out of luck. But I will say that people were constanyly cycling from the pool area, so you don't have to wait long. When you check in you are giving two plastic cards to be used for beach/pool towels. Get these right away and then first thing the next morning - go out and mark your claim of pool or beach chairs! Make sure that you bring the towels back (they will give you fresh ones each day). On your last day simply return the towels back and get your cards back. If you do not have your cards at check out, they will charge you $20USD for each towel

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the free shuttle into Cabarete and spent 3 hours haggling with the "vendors". At the end of the day we discovered a shop (on left side of street across from Irish Pub) that had EVERYTHING in it and then some more. The prices were alot lower than that of the Vendors on the street and beach. We did have some fun haggling with the vendors though! A simple "no thank you" and constant walking by worked. Dont stop and stare or pick up something unless you are READY to talk price! LOL! We also spent one day in Sousa. I liked Cabarete much more than I did Sousa. I learned that on Sundays the locals go to the beach at Sousa and there is not a speck of sand left to be seen! Vendors are much more aggressive here. I can say that we have been to sousa, but I don't desire to go back to there. Perhaps in a "tour" mode it would be better? Tried to go on the fishing trip with "Gone Fishing", but the weather was too rough that day. I would like to do the Horseback Riding next time, along with the fishing trip of course!

Other Comments:
I do not recommend going into the Casino at Breezes. It is very small and does not offer very good odds at all. There are also Hustlers in there just ready to offer you great odds and then all of a sudden - you have spent $100 or more and you have no idea how it went that fast. I know how to gamble at casino's and I almost got taken! There was hardly EVER anyone in the Casino while I stayed at this resort. The staff is great at Breezes. I only had one complaint and that was in reference to the inability to call back to the United States. I finally figured out to call the front desk - ask them to connect me with the Operator and then ask the operator how much for 5 minutes call... Ended up costing me only $3USD for 5 minutes and they charged it to my room. I did immediately go down to the front desk after my phone call and verified the charged amount and then paid it in full, getting a receipt.
The tiles and stones that make up the pool patio, walkways, ect... are VERY SLIPPERY. I fell once and I saw numerous people almost fall (I did manage to save my drink, and my girlfriend blamed my fall on the liquor intake!!!). The Rum was great, Mamajuana was the drink that kicked my butt though!, (It is a combination of their rum and honey and some other herb ingredients). Buy your liquor out in town (for those of you that want to bring some home). We did and we saved alot of money in doing so. The Brugal Rum (dark) was incredible!

Money:
I recommend, based on my experience and watching/listening to others, that you bring a minium of $10 one dollar bills for each day that you are staying. You will be tipping (discreetly, so as to not get them in trouble) the waiter of your chose (not required, but I can't imagine these people get paid very much), I also tipped the bartender a couple of times during the day (just a buck each time), I also put $1 on my pillow each morning for the maid(s). The exchange rate at Breezes Cambio (located in lobby entrance) was the same as it was out in town at a local bank, but Breeze's did charge a percentage fee (low, though I can't remember exactly what it was). We used US dollars every where we went. Most vendors out in the town areas would give an exchange rate of 32 dom pesos to a US dollar (I did get 34 pesos to the US dollar out at a Bank Cambio in Sosua. I found that everything in Sosua and Cabarete were marked in Pesos and you had to rely on the calculator "skills" of the vendor to give you the conversion! Highly recommend that you bring a calculator of sorts to ease your mind. Soon enough you get the general conversion down in your head. Breeze's was a fine resort that commends 4.5 stars from our visit! Job Well Done! Feel free to email me for pointers or just general questions. Greg (Newcastle, Maine, USA)

Oh, yeagh... we are DEFINETLY going back to the Dominican and will most likely go to a resort in Punta Cana (more to say that we had been there and experienced it... not to mention the fact that the water/beaches are supposed to be better)

More Photo's:
http://travel.webshots.com/album/570704454SBZrUn

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/570706030BUMNvd

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I cannot overstate how accomadating the staff were at the resort."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Earl from Ottawa  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
273 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 12 - 19
We arrived on a beautifful day around noon. Since we were in Peurto Plata before we knew not to let the porters take our bags for the 10m walk to the shuttle bus.

Rooms
We had 3 rooms as we were a family of six travelling. Rooms were clean butr perhaps a little outdated. We had a room in Biulding 7 .. but more on that later :-)

Restaurants and Bars
There really are only two places to eat during the daytime .. Jimmy's Buffet ( main one) and by the beach. Both were fine and everyone was able to find something to their liking for breakfast and lunch. The "a la carte" restaurants were great except for the Mexican one. The Mexican one had a great desert but nuked food for main course. The French restaurant offered a wonderful atmosphere and food to match. Try the stuff mushrooms ... absolutely tiny but delicious. The kids loved the Japanese soshi restaurant the best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
As usual, lots of red and black flags most of the week. The pool was fine but with a lot of clouds that week perhpas a little on the cool side. Did not seem to stop many from going in thou.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
No tours this time as we did lots last year in Punta Cana. We did walk down the beach as far as we could, followed by an armed securioty guard. At one point he siad " no mas" and we turned around. He was great and let us take a picture with him and the sawed off shotgun. We also played gold on the par 3, 9 hole. Also my first time playing tennis on clay courts. Very cool. Kids played enough volleyball to last a year. Evening shows were lots of fun as one of our new friends won " best couple" in the show and all had a great time. We also wnet into town and wnet to Sousa beach. That beach is every bit as spectacular as what is found in Punta Cana.

Other Comments:
My Father-in-law came with us and age is starting to show. HE could not climb the stairs to the 3rd floor in building 7 ... we asked the folks at the front desk to move him and only option was one of the beach villas. Wow, 65 feet from the water, facing the ocean and nothing but palm trees in between. Unfortunately he forgot where he was at and next day we asked and he was moved again to a new beachfront villa closed to the beach bar. Again, he got lost and now the resort proposed moving us (4/6) into a Junior suite on the main level of Building 7. This comprised of two stories, each with a full bedroom / full bath and tv, fridge and micorwave. I cannot overstate how accomadating the staff were at the resort. They did everything possible to ensure we enjoyed our vacation. With some TLC, the actual physical part of the resort could go back to being a 4+ or 5 star as the beach is private, layout very easy and accessible to all amenities. Lastly, did I mention the staff were FANTASTIC ... we love the Dominican, third visit in three years, all to different resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barely a 3 star"

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patrick  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
274 people found this review helpful

April 2 - 9 , 2009: Super Club Breezes, Puerto Plata (NOT a 4 star. Barely a 3 star)

Arrived on April 2nd. Very excited. First time at an all-inclusive resort. We are the typical "travel to Florida" folks from Canada. So, this was totally new. We booked this with a wedding group. The couple that were getting married were experienced Dominican travelers and we figured this must be ok, even though it's only a four star. We soon found out that this place was a nightmare. Travel from the airport to the resort was problem free. Check in at 10:30 but no rooms available until 3:00 pm. Luckily, my wife and I brought our swimming suits in our carry-on bags and changed in a washroom there. They did manage to get us a room by noon which was pretty good. The pool was great! Lots of twisty little canals to swim around. Had the swim-up bar etc. However, you may ask for a "screwdriver" at any of the bars and get something completely different (language was an issue).

Rooms:
When we walked into our room, it was large and well laid out. Nice tile on the floors, little sitting area with a love seat, etc. The door to the room required slamming to close. We could hear other doors in the complex slamming throughout the stay at all hours of the night as this was the only way to get them to shut. Ours was cracked from this repeated slamming and a piece of wood that broke previously was now taped with masking tape. Behind the nightstand was extensive water damage. We were on the ground floor. The air conditioning worked well. Lots of hot water in the shower - never ran out. Curtains, bedding and furniture were dated. Beds were lumpy and not top quality. Pillows were horrible and lumpy (thank goodness for the all inclusive liquor).

Restaurants and Bars:
Oh the restaurants !! Bring one suitcase with food !! We are not high class eaters. MacDonalds is great food compared to the crap they served here. When I saw the chef (using the term loosely) cooking steaks (some sort of grey meat, not nice and brown), I became suspicious as to what it was. It certainly was not beef. It was so rubbery. Then mysteriously, a "beef" stir fry the next night with strips of the same chewy crap. I truly believe they just cut these steaks up and re-fried them the next day. Same rubber. I began to notice people leaving half full plates of food. What a waste of food. Then chicken would be served one night and then some chicken stir fry the next day. We can guess where the chicken came from the next day. The omelets in the morning were edible. However, seeing this sweaty, unenthused chef slop a ladle into a big bucket of eggs and pour it onto a big greasy flatiron grill kind a turned my stomach. I thought I was back in the military. Only difference was, military food was better ! This booking for restaurants was a joke. You could never book for the same night. Yet, when you showed up, lots of empty tables? We argued with one of the staff when we tried to sit at an obviously empty table at 6:30, when our reservation was for 8:30. When we came back prior to 8:30, nobody had even sat at the table (stood around and saw several tables that had not been used). The only two places to eat were the Mexican - get the chicken tortilla and nothing else. Then leave. The other place is the Japanese stir fry. Again, these are so mediocre that they are not worth the trouble or anticipation of waiting two days to eat there. At the Jimmy Buffett, get used to cantaloupe and orange juice at most every meal to fill you. There is so much salt on everything. Basically, bring your own bags of potato chips, chocolate bars, granola bars, something to snack on to get you through the day. The hotdogs and hamburgers are sitting in water all day and rubbery. I think the hamburgers are made with the same rubber meat that doesn't get used at the Jimmy Buffett. There are birds flying in and around the food. They just love to sit on the edge of the bread baskets picking away and shitting. The bars are great. The aren't afraid to put liquor in your drink. Although, you might not get what you asked for. If you stick to rum and coke or something simple, no problem. Once you start asking for "Blue Lagoons" or "Sidecars" etc, it's a hit and miss. Lots of staff around. Very friendly. Drove my wife crazy. She said she didn't want to hear the word "O-la" ever again. I felt that this friendliness was for tips. Not sure. We didn't tip any of the waiters as we were SO upset with the food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was one of those drop off type where the water smashes into the shore. It was wavy, but, actually made it fun and an alternative to the lazy pool atmosphere. Like going to a wave pool. It was not deep and on calm days, snorkeling was possible and pretty cool. The coral is dead from pollution I suspect. It's all brown. No colorful stuff like Hawaii. There are a few fish to see. Nothing spectacular. They have rinse off showers on the beach to get the sand off your feet. That was good to see. The resort offers free SCUBA lessons (about 15 minutes of instruction) in the pool. Very scary. Not sufficient at all - I was a certified diver and know that it took a month to get proficient and comfortable in a pool before going into the open water. IF you wish to SCUBA that is extra. I didn't check on the price. There is not much to do but lay around at the beach. No jet ski, no parasailing, no boating. Just a couple of kayaks. So, be prepared to lay at the beach or the pool and wait for the hunger pains to be sufficient enough to make you WANT to go eat. The pool is very nice. Clean and unique. Twisty little canals all around. Lots of places to lay in the sun, no shortage of chairs. Don't bother getting a towel (using the supplied card) as you will be charged a fee if someone walks off with your towel while you're in the pool. It was so warm there that you dried off within minutes of coming out of the pool. The grounds were ok. Nothing spectacular. Well kept. Clean. Few flowering bushes and trees. But the resort didn't go all out with anything either.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are a bunch of kids they have hired to do the entertaining. I feel so bad for them. They try to get people to play the most basic of games around the pool. Tossing water balloons between guests getting progressively further away, with the last person with an intact balloon wining a prize. Or throwing darts at balloons with prizes listed on a piece of paper inside. It's like being at a little kids birthday party. Pretty bad. The evening entertainment is laughable. These poor kids practice all day to do a "Village People" or "Michael Jackson" routine. Or some other dated act. The costumes are so old. I watched one night of this and then was in bed by 9:30 or 10:00 each night as there was nothing to do there. Don't even go to the casino. I heard the odds are so bad, you might as well just walk in the door, hand them the money you planed to spend and leave. Off the resort, Sosua is a great place to go if you like "Dollar-Store" junk and being followed around by sad looking people looking for money. It's like being on the phone with a telemarketer but you can't hang up until the bus comes back to pick you up four hours later ! There are kids walking around with shotguns. Very comforting. Nothing to see here folks. We also made the mistake of spending $220 to go on a catamaran trip (Tip Top). The trip to the "coral" took two hours. Then, you should have seen the dead, brown clump they took us to. Oh my God ! What a waste of money. It was the same stuff to see at our resort for free. Then for lunch it was a bunch of cold cuts and fruit. Very basic, worth about $5. They were charging a buck for small bags of chips (like you hand out at Halloween). Not free. Then we dropped anchor in Sosua and could snorkel again to cool off. Then back to or departure port. Other parties in our wedding group went on the four wheeling trip. The buggies broke down so often, they pushed them so far, that the staff gave them their money back.

Other Comments:
This place is on it's way out. Don't go. It's in the middle of nowhere. Nothing to do but lay around the pool or beach. No food worth eating. It's not even worthy of a 3 star. STAY AWAY. Wait until the new management/owners take over in a year or two. Then check Debbie's Dominican Travel to see if anything has improved. What a nightmare. As this was our first Dominican trip, we have decided it will be our last. I'm sure there are other fine resorts there. However, I'm sticking to the good ol' USA ! I feel safer there. Clean. I like the idea of going to different restaurants each night when I want to go, not when someone tells me. (Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Applebees, MacDonalds, Dennies, etc, etc, etc). Also, picking a nice hotel/motel on the beach. Going out in the evenings to some real entertainment. Maybe go to the mall on a rainy day. See a theme park. So, resorts are not for us. Sticking to Florida for our winter get-a-ways. Lesson learned.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice quite beach but the water was too ruff."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Chris from Alliston, Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
276 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 6 to April 13
We were greeted at the Airport by a Nolitours agent when we came out of the Aiport and were directed to the Bus that would take us to the resort. It was about 15 minutes to the resort (maybe a little less). At the resort the check-in was quick and painless, everything was ready at the front desk.

Rooms
We were in Building number 4 room 4106, our friends that traveled with us were in room 4112 (both on the second floor with balconies. Our room faced the beach with a real nice view, their room faced the pool. As both rooms were identical I will describe them together. Very clean and bright. King size bed, Water pressure and temperature were great the whole time.

This building is the one I would recommend as it is about 150 feet to the beach and beachbar, or 150 feet to the pool and pool bar

Restaurants and Bars
Jimmy's buffet: was good, no complaints with it. there was always a good selection of food.

Beach bar: was nice and they hosed it down everymoring and very clean, no wait for service.

Pool bar: busy place if you consider a couple of minutes a long wait..... open from 9am until 6pm

Lobby Bar: open from 10am until 6pm, make sure you check out the coctail of the day

French Restuarant: Service excellent and food good, but take a long sleeve shirt as the temperature of the air is cool due to the air conditioning.

Japanese Restuarant: Very nice try and get it so that you sit in front of the chef, otherwise you are looking at a wall, as there is no one accross from you and conversation with anyone past the person beside you is difficult, food was excellent.

Mexican Returant: excellent food and desert. This is at the Beach bar location.

Italian Resturant: This one I would not be in a hurry ot go to, I had the sea bass and was not impressed with it. My wife had the lasogina and was not too impressed. Go for the Pizza as I hear it was good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pool: Very clean, and yes a floatie is a deffinate if you want to float in the lazy river or in the pool.

Beach: very nice quite beach but the water was too ruff while we were there all but 1 day for swimming.
Grounds: very well cleaned, they were constantly cleaning lawn, patio etc...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Did the Dunebuggy tour. It is worth the money, take some candies to hand out to the kids. Got muddy but it was a lot of fun. Make sure that you wear old cloths that you don't mind if you have to throw them out after. it took a bit of washing to get us clean, but that was partly due to the fact that I found the most mud i could and loved it. Cost is $55 us per person for this $35 us for a video of the trip, video nicely put together. $5us for the picture they take of you at the begining.

We did the intro to scuba (refresher for me as I am already certified), then went on a nice introductory dive where my wife fed the fish with bananas. Lots of fish, and a very safe dive with very capable dive master and assistant. My wife was nervous about the diving part of it, and the Dive Master stayed with her the whole time making sure that she enjoyed her experience.

Other Comments
At Jimmy's buffet, make sure you sit outside as you will be taken care of by Edwardo and Cristian, they seem like a tag team operation and take very good care of you, they would see us come and get our table and drinks ready for us. The cost for this service was $1 per couple each time we went to the buffet, now this is what we tipped, I don't know if the service would have changed if we had not tipped but the tpps are shared so we did not mind, and as I said the service was great.

At the Lobby bar Recardo is the Bartender there, he will take care of you.

If you have any questions that I can answer feel free to e-mail me at willybgh@rogers.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is getting bad write ups it doesnt deserve."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew from Saint John, New Brunswick  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
272 people found this review helpful

Arrival
we flew out of halifax air transat[westjet] left at 6:30am arrived 10:oo am good flight every thing went very smoothly as it usually does we arrived at the resort about 11:00 the was a seperate check in we very quickly we di not recieve our room until2:30 we new this going down we had pack our carry on with what we needed to enjoy the day unil the room was ready

Rooms
our room was 6115 by the pool not one of the renovated rooms it was very nice king size bed flat screen tv every thing was very clean worked properly nice view of the garden [geese vist at supper time ]

Restaurants and Bars
the buffet restaurants main and pool we both very good every night there was something different look on the back wall be the pasta bar this is were they set up to carve turkeys roast beef [very good] breakfast was great the service was very good we didnt do any of the alacarte this time they were good before and i spoke to alot of people this time who really enjoyed them the bars were very good service was great dorretao and henry at the pool bar are hats off and will give excellent service

Beach/Pools/Grounds
as always the beach and pools were spotless the new pool is really geared up for people traveling with kids

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
the dive shack has been moved to the right of the property it was very busy with guest using the activities provided in your package the off resort trip to the marinium were you snorkel a reef with rays and sharks is excellent the activities team at the resort had the people very active good participation

Other Comments
this was our third time here and i was a bit concerned after the negative reviews that have been posted in the last month or two i was glad to see those people dont know what they talking about i dont know how some one could complain about this resort unless you are not willing to be patient and polite if there is any language problems or other issues because that is all it takes to correct things and a little tip for the maids [ who were usually later afternoon but very good] and bartenders i spoke to alot of canadians mostly maritimers and some very nice british families who agreed with me this resort is getting bad write ups it doesnt deserve

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Breezes stands out for it's wheelchair accessiblity and exceptional staff."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Feb 2, 2010  >  8 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
277 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 9-24
Front desk staff professional and friendly.

Rooms:
New furniture,king bed, newer countertop sink etc in bathroom. Curtains and bedspread dated but in good shape. Cleaning staff in building 5 was excellent. I can't remember her name but she had short bright red hair. Once she saw that we had a baby she put an extra sheet in my son's playpen, gave us extra towels and water for his cereal. A very kind lady who I enjoyed seeing everyday.

Restaurants and Bars:
Jimmy's Buffet had made to order omlettes/eggs and delicious freshly made juice for breakfast. The banana milkshake was excellent. There are many tables undercover but we prefered to eat outside. At lunch and dinner chicken, beef, pork, or fish was freshly grilled and pasta could also be ordered. There were a few really tasty things such as a spinach casserole and beans with cilantro in the ready made part of the buffet. It took a while to figure out what to pick but by the end of the first week we realized that the food in the buffet was better than the a la cartes. The Japanese a la carte was very good and the chef put on a great show. He even made a tiny little plate for my infant. The other a la cartes were not even close to as good in my opinion. It is difficult to get reservations for the a la cartes, however, Crystal the lovely woman who makes the reservations tried hard to accomodate us when she could.

The lobby bartenders seemed to have more experience making drinks. A lot of the alcohol tasted similar. If you like rum you will be happy with the drinks! My only complaint is that the juice tasted like chemicals. No fresh juice. If you don't like organge tang or similarily flavoured drinks I suggest pop for mix instead.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great pool with different sections so many people could enjoy the pool at the same time. Lots of shade except for the kids pool.

The beach was very nice and had lots of shade as well. Plently of chairs and huts. The water was rough most days. Fine for teenagers and adults but not suitable for young kids. Aside from the French a la carte. All of the grounds were accessible by my mom who uses a wheelchair. I could even easily push her chair onto the beach which was a few feet off the path. I highly recommend this resort for people who use wheelchairs or have baby's in strollers.

Other Comments: I have traveled quite a bit and found the staff at Breezes to be the most genuinely friendly of anywhere I have been. I don't think I passed by one employee who didn't give a smile or say hola. Both the men and women were so kind to my eight month old and took the time to play games with him even when they were busy.

The resort is closing next week (I heard different rumours about why). I am not sure if the same employees will be back next season. If you go to the"new" resort I highly recommend looking for Christian who mostly worked the outside section of the buffet. He is a wonderful person who gave us exceptional service. It was a pleasure seeing him each morning. He even taught my son to give high fives! Also Jerimiah and De La Cruz at the buffet during dinner made our evenings special. Their service was so good that we stopped going to the a la cartes because dining with them was such a fun and enjoyable experience. They played little jokes on us and other guests which kept us entertained. These three employees (along with Crysal at the a la carte reservations) made our trip memorable.

I find that many "four star" all inclusives are similar. Breezes stands out for it's wheelchair accessiblity and exceptional staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is not much to do in this area and there was not much to do at the resort."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sheila from New Hampshire  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
261 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 26 - March 7
It was quick and easy the bell boy brought us to our room within 15 minutes and it paradise from that moment on.

Rooms:
We had an ocean view room and it was awesome (6109) it was very clean, we always had lots of clean towels. They only change your bedding 2x week not daily. We had a full size bed and the next day they gave us a bed that was soooo big it was like 2 full beds together. We also left trinkets and money daily for our maid Gloria. We lft stuff out and it was never taken from the room

Restaurants and Bars:
The Italian and the Japanese were great, the Paris and the Mexican rest were just ok. The buffet had enough food for everyone from veggies to making your own pasta. The Bars were good, the alcohol was grose it was more than bottom shelf stuff. They need to better the booze because you dont know what you are drinking.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach always had a red flag and was really rough water it was clean with some rocks there is no beach to walk because you get stopped by a guard holding a AK47 so we could not take our morning walk that was a bummer, we stayed pool side with our rafts and floated in there enormous pool to the pool bar which was pretty cool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Run Runner tour that was really cool and sad because you saw how the real dominican people live in the country and we also went to one of the schools where I gave them SUGARLESS candy and kudos snacks and they were so appreciated of it

Other Comments:
I would not go back to the Puerto Plata area, there is not much to do in this area and there was not much to do at the resort, but it was a very relaxing trip. We are partial to the Punta Cana area and the La Romana area.

orrs4@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bugs in my room all the time.."

Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata
User Rating:  Superclubs Breezes Puerto Plata Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Feb 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
292 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2-9
Very excited to see our resort & when I arrived was very disappointed.

Rooms:
Bugs in my room all the time...complained at the front desk but nothing was done.

Restaurants and Bars:
Service at the bar was good & the waitress very friendly. Meal at the french restaurant was really good.The buffet at jimmys restaurant was horrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Was not impressed with the beach.

Other Comments:
I visited Dominican republic before & stayed at Ibeorstar...this resort was awesome.I would not recommend Super Clubs Breezes to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube